The government and DLP supporters are pleased for the distraction the Maria Agard disagreement with her political party offers. […]While there is possibly a majority view by Barbadians everywhere that the mauling of the affairs of the country is the worse we have experienced in the post Independence history by a government,
a politically fatigued citizenry appears eager to be distracted by the political class yet again. Political conflict is nothing new in our system of government and in the same way the DLP, on the surface it seems, appears to have recovered from the Thompson vs Mascoll episode so too will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).
Of greater concern to the citizenry should be a governance system that is failing. The current state sees an inability of the citizenry to hold elected politicians accountable, demand transparency read Cahill deal, facilitate policy direction to stoke innovation and creativity, increase national productivity, insightful use of physical resources, align the private and public sectors to breed global competitiveness… Law and order have been enduring characteristics of our small island and have defined our way of life as Bajans – now gone like the wind.
Mia Mottley should recall the period when the gang of 5 deselected her as Opposition leader. She struck a tone that endeared her to Barbadians everywhere. She was particularly strong on the need for governance strengthening. We should be concerned that Maria Agard is being railroaded out of her safe seat because she dares to veer from the party line. It is not the first time members of a political party have expressed differences with the party line. In the USA the party Whips have their hands full to build consensus on many issues to support party positions. The fact that we have political parties demanding sheepish adherence to party positions and allow for zero space to entertain different positions – shaped by conscience for example – is where national debate should be the focus. If change is required to how political organizations are structured and ‘new blood’ is encourage to infuse the political parties with ideas why should the establishment not disengage from predictable behaviour and resist gang banging members who hold different positions.
The BU household has observed the interventions from the traditional players concerning Agard and her altercation with the BLP. Whether it is Wickham, George Bell, traditional media it all appears to be so orchestrated and disingenuous to those who are close to the issues. Take David Ellis and his position on air yesterday. How does one place so much faith in the workings of the executive of a constituency in Barbados? If Agard is prepared to challenge the influence less than a 1000 partisans bring to the table in order to defend principle issues why should the political party – represented by Mottley who was a proponent for change of the BLP constitution not so long ago – not discomfort itself to accommodate those who canvass for said change?
It is obvious to ALL there is conflict between Agard and Mottley. Those who follow local politics are aware of the dissent which has been fermenting from the time Agard by dint of hard work won the nomination from Bishop. Herbie and his establishment gang have never forgotten Agard the upstart. Didn’t the great Arthur have to ask Herbie to backoff in 2011 when she kicked Bishop’s ass? It appears Mia does not have the same long coat tail of Arthur to command order in that constituency and his heavily dependant on Jerome Walcott. It is payback time. It is clear Agard is seen as a trouble tree whose political head should be lopped of. And the BLP machinery is well on course to achieving that objective. It is the nature of politics, Machiavellian politics. Barbadians should not be so blind to not probe more deeply what is at play here. What has Agard done to deserve political assassination you ask? From where BU sits we see a young, bright female who is prepared to defend her positions even if it means butting heads with colleagues and or sacrificing her political career. How many sitting MPs are prepared to do the same? Mia Mottley as leader should be able to meet with Agard and negotiate a compromise position with the disaffected parties. The idea of killing an ant with a hammer, encouraging the infighting by siding with factions within the party is immature and gives insight to Mottely’s unwillingness to depart from the old way of practicing party politics in Barbados. Imagine Agard sitting in a Cabinet and or Parliamentary Group meeting giving her willingness to veer from the party line. How refreshing that would be to force decisions closer to the interest of the people!
BU will deal with Peter Wickham on another occasion. He has used his several platforms to spew perspectives on the Agard issue which are nothing more than he being disingenuous.
It is time Barbadians, educated Bajans, speak out about the injustice being meted out to the few who dare to challenge the establishment. To those who are lobbying for Agard cross the floor, where is the precedent that it will act as a catalyst for change? Have we seen it with Symmonds, Mascoll, Lashley, Prescod et al? Those who are members of the BLP need to step up and support the good lady. Even if she suffered a few indiscretions – as accused by the party – the point is she appears to be a committed a BLP supporter.
A good place to begin for Mottley is to recollect her position of a few years ago when she called for a overhaul of the BLP Constitution and was ignored. Agard and Mottley are probably not that far apart on the issues IF Mottley was genuine in her earlier positions.

496 responses to “The BLP Purge: Maria Agard Appears to be Undaunted”
@Bush Tea
please understand, some people in Barbados are hypocrites , you can’t criticize or state a fact about the people that get makeup,the woman should be lauded for getting two degrees then getting handpick to heights beyond criticism by joining the worst DLP government to date that govern Barbados, but some how her integrity is still intact because she is blind can’t see the suffering of the people, remember what kind of gentleman Parris is, who said it, and what he was to the DLP, what Sandiford done to Barbados from 1987- 1994 yet he is call Sir , I can go on about people from a certain class that was rewarded , for what?
So Bushie is being ‘insensitive’ to state the FACT that a lady happens to be blind….!!
@ Piece
You outed the bushman…
Thanks for your usual perspicuity, but Bushie was actually waiting to flush out some more of the confirmed brass bowls who parade around BU on a daily basis (as well as those who slink around quietly waiting to identify bloggers 🙂 )
It is a SIMPLE unquestioned and NON INSULTING FACT that Ms. Ifill is blind. Perhaps Bushie could have said ‘visually challenged’, but it would NOT have made the point.
What is THE point….?
Only Brass Bowls can miss the SYMBOLISM of a country that has as Speaker of it’s lower chamber, a man – with whom the high court had to intervene in order to to force him to return property stolen FROM HIS OWN DAMN client.
Only Brass Bowls can miss the significance of the FACT that thousands of CLICO policy holders are currently BROKE ….because we allowed a “chicken-feed-maker” to be appointed as Supervisor of Insurance…. (mind you, a very NICE chicken-feed-maker)
Only a Brass Bowl idjut would miss the IMAGERY of David Thompson, who we now know had stolen $3.3M of those same CLICO funds, appointing an albeit special, unique, talented, and “Cawmere graduated” LADY to the position of Senate chairmanship – when the SENATE is the WATCHDOG chamber designed to OVERSEE our legislature……
Who in their right mind appoints even the nicest, wisest, most impressive, person to the job of watchmen…..if they happen to be visually impaired…? …..ONLY a BB!
But then again we made a man Prime Minister after he complained on TV about being unable to feed his family….
..and we allowed a man to DEFER being made PM because he was making so much money otherwise – he was TOO GOOD to be PM….
Bajans are the very DEFINITION of brass bowls …. and people like Carl Moore and GP are the finest exponents of the art….
…and as the Ingrunt Word, he is just ……. lukewarm …as usual.
Neither here nor there……
…just talking…. 🙂
Bush shit shut up u sound like a blasted fool
@BushTea
I made that same observation here on BU years ago and I got your point. Welcome to the club.
The “big guns” on BU never cease to amaze me.
Here we have Bush Tea, a man of indomitable spirit, who juxtaposed the Barbados’ leadership and where they are taking this island to the President of the Senate (leader) being blind (if I agree or not, it’s Bushie’s OPINION).
Then we have the “BU Policeman,” De Word, (who seems to think he has the patent for morality) to “arrogantly and sanctimoniously criticize” (as usual) anyone who does not confine their thoughts or opinions “within his context.”
This present scenario is reminiscent of De Word’s “written abuse” towards me when I mentionedI am not in favour of share ownership. However, I am forced to use Bushie’s comments when he rose to support De Word’s admonishment of me:
De Word, “Over to you…. you have been doing a good job of upbraiding (Bush Tea)” [Bush Tea October 27, 2015 at 7:26 PM #]
“Dee Ingrunt Word, shiite fella … you have been on a roll here, and most impressive has been your steadfastness in the face of obstinate objections. (Artax) is suitably impressed…” [Bush Tea October 28, 2015 at 8:22 AM]
I must also quote De Word to Bushie, since the Bush Man seems to be unapologetic for making his comments:
“That’s fair. It’s also amusing or hypocritical – depends…when a guy who carved out a niche on this site with his long list of credentials, supposed objective reviews and insightful critiques can opine on a discourse on the fundamentals of investor/employee relations with the indifferent remark “Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!” How quickly we are infused with the Animal Farm behaviour and sound so much like those we condemn and criticize. Amusing or hypocritical … we talk sweet but when it gets in our own kitchen we can’t stand up objectively with a strong, proper argument to validate our views. All your education reduced to: Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!! Reduced to puerile retorts. Steeups!” [de Ingrunt Word October 28, 2015 at 12:07 AM #]
One of my favourite sayings is: “What goes around, comes around.”
Hahahahahaha
Bushie ,sometimes the truth hurts. But we have 30 people in the House of Parliament , with all of their God given senses in place, and they are like the man who was given a talent ,and who hid it under a rock for safe keeping .
How do we change anything in Barbados if we continue to do it the Bajan way, so prim and proper.
Carl Moore should hush, when certain people down Fontabelle screwing all the women/interns with his wife working at the same place did he or Harold fire the man? No they promoted his ass. Carl don’t get BU started you hypocrite.
@ Bush Tea et al, this is blogging so its all about..just talking.
In your case however its also about a heavy dose of hypocrisy and a strange mix of misogyny, homophobia and the like. You are quite justified in having your views…just seems strange that when others call you on them then – whaplax…they are all sort of whatever.
I have been deep into the lives of differently able people for a long time, so I have moved past simple terms since many years now and embrace more PC terms.
On the one hand you pretend that you haven’t embraced a PC terminology but on the you unequivocally say: “Who in their right mind appoints even the nicest, wisest, most impressive, person to the job of watchmen…..if they happen to be visually impaired…?
With respect bro that statement validates your bigoted and discriminatory remarks – which originally I did not think was your intent.
To link Ms Ifill sight impairment to the context of being a ‘watchman of a chamber where verbal cues are the main order of the day is beyond intelligent commentary. Thus you must be being deliberately ridiculous.
You are better and more intelligent than that so I am unclear why you would say such utter nonsense.
The remarks by @watchman also critical of Ms. Ifill are absolutely acceptable. He calls her on her politics; whether she is fat, lesbian or in her case blind is IRRELEVANT.
You sir – on this issue – are indeed as small minded as I earlier said you WERE NOT. I look forward to your mind regrowth on other matters.
How do we change anything in Barbados if we continue to do it the Bajan way, so prim and proper.
NOTHING IS GOING TO CHANGE SIR
THE CLOCK IS RUNNING DOWN
THE GAME IS OVER
YA CAN TALK TILL THE COWS COME OVER
IT DONE!
@David, ” so prim and proper ”
Barbados has always been full of hypocrites.
@BushTea
It is a good thing you ain’t a woman. The problem with you men is that you think that because you have balls, you have to show them. But what you need to accept is that balls cannot take a hit like the way a vagina can take a pounding. You should know better to draw reference to the disability of the honourable lady of the senate. regardless if you right and right. The naysayers on here will draw from their uprightiness to lambast you tail hole for referencing the differently ableness of the esteemed lady. Shame on you BushTea for pointing out a possible ploy on the DLP administrative part. The lady is more than capable, but this role needs an eye to be kept on things and not the dependency of others to tell her what is going on. After all, she could be led to see what others want her to see.
@Bushie,
Are you really a graduate-or alumnus-of the University at Waterford, the same as the President of the Senate? And talking that way of her? I am “shame” of you!
Dee word
Bushie has no partiality towards ANY blogger. As far as the Bushman is concerned, we are all BU family and the more diverse the views, the sweeter the discussion.
Bushie carries a WHACKER…… what does THAT tell you…?
shiite man, even if bushie squeezes the trigger lightly….all hell breaks loose and the nylon does do dixie…
SO BE IT….. it is the tool that bushie was given ok?
Look Boss, this country is in deep doo doo. This is no time for doopsie diddling ….are you some kinda dunce…?
How is it being CRITICAL of Ms Ifill to say that she is blind?
SHE will tell you that…. it is a burden that SHE has been given, and she has borne it with unmatchable charm, poise, and typical Cawmere doggedness….. The woman is a BOSS.
…but she is blind.
…and our Senate SYMBOLICALLY is there to OVERSEE the legislative shiite that is done in the lower house. It is the watchdog agency for new legislation, with the power to reject faulty or flawed drafts.
Do you even UNDERSTAND symbolism…?
David Thompson was a cynical person, as anyone who knew him, knows. Caswell was his close friend and confidante too …. and Caswell is IDEALLY suited for a national watchdog role….. how come he did not appoint someone like Caswell? …because CF ‘sees’ too many papers that fall off trucks…?
You want to see symbolism?
Gabby sang a song about how “Massa day done”
…and Sir Cave Hilary gave him a PhD.
What did the Trickidadians do….? … buy BS&T and rename every shiite to MASSY? …they could have called it TS&B, Trickidad Holdings, ACNE …any shiite…. BUT they called it MASSY ….just turn the last A upside down….. So Gabby LIED….
THAT is symbolism Boss…. Of course brass bowls don’t notice such things. But meanwhile certain folks ‘deading’ with laugh at our asses….
You don’t know that Froon is pushing for a Republic because he shame as shiite that our Government’s main Bank is called REPUBLIC BANK ….and we ain’t no repub-a-lick.
Wuh the Trickidadians could have left the old name too….or called it ACNE Bank, or TBOB or any shiite… what did they call it….. REPUBLIC…..
Symbolism boss….
“But he isn’t wearing anything at all!”
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Emperor%27s_New_Clothes
I cannot fault Bushie ,Piece nor Miller.They represent my views entirely on this matter.It is a fact the goodly lady is blind.It is a fact also that her appointment was politically motivated because a member must still be able to catch the eye of the chair!!
David has properly given the final word on Carl Moore.I would ask Carl Moore why does he not use his massive influence at the Nation to raise the ante on the Cahill WTE project.And what does the BL&P strategy to solarize mean to the WTE selling current to the solarists.And while you are condemning the social media,look how the Jerkman back off of the plantation deal because of the high level of criticism he received on the same said platform…a tad late for Walsh however.
There is a type of personality, bordering on nihilism who thinks that they have some kinda arrangement with God that allows them to sit in some corner looking down at everyone else while awaiting a ‘rapture’ that will somehow remove them from the serious troubles that will engulf our world. Presumably this is because they have a special contract with God.
Actually Jesus describes in his parable of talents as the “buryers”.
The ACTUAL role of ALL believers is to use ALL their talents to better their society for as long as they have the ability to do so. Different people have different talents, but there in NO talent called ‘doing nothing because it makes no sense’.
LOL…so as long as gas in the whacker, who don’t like um…..
just keep wunna heads low…. 🙂
If Bushie sees a whole country about to fall off a cliff …. wunna want sweet talk…?
…not from stinking Bushie…
To stifle your conscience is to stifle an aptitude, faculty, intuition or judgment that assists in distinguishing right from wrong. Moral judgment may derive from values or norms (principles and rules). In psychological terms conscience is often described as leading to feelings of remorse when a human commits actions that go against his/her moral values and to feelings of rectitude or integrity when actions conform to such norms.[1] The extent to which conscience informs moral judgment before an action and whether such moral judgments are or should be based in reason has occasioned debate through much of the history of Western philosophy.[2]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conscience
… There’s a time for everyone if they only learn
That the twisting kaleidoscope moves us all in turn … (Elton John, Tim Rice)
OF course a bunch of gutter rats s in the same sewer would say it does not stink. Bush shit used the word blind in a degrading and derogatory manner ., Who wunna idiots trying to fool. Bush shit needs a lesson in manners and there is no place on this earth that such language in the context and terminology used is acceptable
The ole boar has stuck both feet in his mouth and now it is taking the likes of some of his a,ss lickers to help him pull them out
Wunna ought to be ashamed of wunna selves,
@Artaxerxes at 4:36 PM, I did not realize that you were still aggrieved from that discourse we had back then. Suffice to say that Miriam-Webster says of a blog: “a Web site that contains online PERSONAL reflections, comments..” So sir if one person blogs his personal comments it is generally accepted than others can too. If five disagree and three agree that’s fine too.
But why, pray tell, would you elevate me specifically above all others to be the one: “(who seems to think he has the patent for morality) to “arrogantly and sanctimoniously criticize” (as usual) anyone who does not confine their thoughts or opinions “within his context.”
Don’t you thinks that maybe that’s just a TAD – just a TAD now – biased on your part?
Remember blogging is ALL about each other’s PERSONAL commentary so why oh why should you call me to the carpet for “written abuse towards [you]” for my personal comments which were in response to YOUR personal remarks?
Another ting about blogging re your recap of the Bush Tea comment on Oct 27.
Adults disagree on point A and agree on point B all the time. Blogging is not some personal vendetta sir. Nor is it 2nd form adolescent petulance either. Man up and defend your position; accept the difference of opinions, cuss even if you want to and come back the next day with more vigor. Cut the whining.
I have disagreed at some point with David, Donna, Pieces, Bush Tea, Jeff, Walter, Dr GP (vehemently) and others. Lo and behold I have agreed with them all TOO at other points…and strongly on at least one occasion with Doc GP.
My bro if you are still at the 2nd from stage of ““What goes around, comes around.” then I would sincerely ask you to man up.
I have always enjoyed reading your excellent posts and will surely continue to do so…but clearly engaging with you to disagree and discuss is a no-no. Alas.
So thank you for rehashing this matter and letting me know that petulance and perceived personal slights do permeate the site…I would never have guessed!!!!
Thus I can only but sign out with words from the supposed resident moralist (oh lawd!!):
“… How quickly we are infused with the Animal Farm behaviour and sound so much like those we condemn and criticize. Amusing or hypocritical … we talk sweet but when it gets in our own kitchen we can’t stand up objectively with a strong, proper argument to validate our views. All [our] education reduced to….puerile retorts. Steeups!” [de Ingrunt Word October 28, 2015 at 12:07 AM #]
That’s blogging folks!
de Ingrunt Word November 19, 2015 at 7:02 PM #
I THINK YOUR TIME WOULD BE BETTER SPENT GETTING BUSH TEA TO GO AND FIGHT AGAINST ISIS INSTEAD OF BEING RUDE TO BLIND WOMEN
Sunshine Sunny Shine November 19, 2015 at 5:20 PM #
RE balls cannot take a hit like the way a vagina can take a pounding.
THE LAST PHRASE IN THE ABOVE SENTENCE IS SOMETHING I FAILED TO GET LAWYERS TO UNDERSTAND IN TH COURTS OF BIM IN THE 80’S & 90’S
Can you opine why such was the case? Could it be the lawyers you had interactions were small doggie men and therefore were unable to agree based on personal experience?
Well it seems like Maria is going to get a big scolding there will be a big kiss and hug up,not with a certain person of course, but one thing is clear they cannot afford to expel her.Listening to Ellis’s show this evening it seems to me that persons who support that party at certain levels seem to be very afraid as the interviewee suggested of the party leader so many are hiding and cowering from speaking out and as they put it in case she becomes prime minister,hmmm,i wonder why?
DONT KNOW SIR
BUT THEY SEEMED TO EXPECT YOU TO HAVE FOUND WHEN EXAMINING RAPE VICTIMS TO BE ABLE TO REPORT GREAT DAMAGE TO THE VICTIMS VAGINAS
I USD TO SAY THAT VAGINAS WERE NOT MADE OF WOOD AND THEREFORE YOU WONT FIND SAW DUST OR SIMILAR ARTIFACTS
Blog master this man at the nation news paper, by the way, was this consensual sex? Just curious.
Small doggie men..??!!
Boss you very direct nowadays yuh…. This is not like you…
If the REAL boss holding the fort let Bushie know …cause she don’t make sport… 🙂
@ Gp
Pray tell why Bushie would, or should, be inclined to ‘fight against ISIS’.
Are you not the same blogger who indicated that these end-time troubles were ordained? …and cannot be stopped?
Don’t you think that ISIS has been raised up …or at least allowed to be raised up, in order to execute karma for the decades and even centuries of wickedness that has been executed across this earth by peoples (christians) who called themselves after Christ, but whose actions have been anything but like christ-like?
Bushie should fight that?
Bushie here just trying to fight this BLP witch hunt against one of their own, and to encourage George ‘Hats’ to make the move and put a proper leader in place and start preparing the Party to be of service to the country…. since Walter and Caswell ain’t coming forward…
A woman want putting out ….but is it Maria?
@ Dee Ingrunt Word
True.
You are an equal-opportunity blogger who takes each point on its merit.
Bushie’s problem with you is that you try to go middle-of-the-road on every darn issue.
….everybody does this anyway
…you can’t do anything bout that
…this is only to be expected
…the USA does this too
…Canada does the other thing
lotta lukewarm shiite 🙂
Hot or cold Boss …. HOT or COLD
Lukewarm does get spit out….
@ AC
Thanks for your kind comments.
Any shiite is good….but PLEASE …just don’t agree with “bush shit” …. LOL
de Ingrunt Word November 19, 2015 at 7:02 PM #
“@Artaxerxes at 4:36 PM, I did not realize that you were still aggrieved from that discourse we had back then.”
I think you are wound up a bit too tight…. relax, nuh.
No, it’s not a matter of rehashing and being “still aggrieved.” I could not resist the opportunity to “get under your skin” by comparing your responses to me during our then “tit for tat” with your responses to Bushie in this scenario, and use quotes from his and your responses to emphasize my comparison and use them to comment accordingly.
However, perhaps in your haste to defend, you did not see the “Hahahahahahaha” at the end of my contribution, which served to signify that I was being a bit jovial.
@ ac
Stop being so hypocritical (then again you can’t help).
You did not accord the respect due to a former PM, when you referred to Owen Arthur as being a drunkard and a thief, and, without any evidence, you also called Lisa Marshall a thief as well. You do not accord the respect due to the Opposition Leader as well, since on a daily basis you have referred to Mottley using pejorative terms.
Yet in the “abundance of overwhelming” evidence, which indicated Michael Carrington (a member of your beloved party) with-held (a fancy word for “stole”) his client’s (Griffiths) funds for a prolonged period of time, and Griffiths had to seek the assistance of the court to recover his property, you were adamant Carrington was NOT a crook. And, to your delight, but to the disgust of reasonable people, he remains the Speaker of the House.
Now Bushie referring to the President of the Senate as being blind (and being a member of your beloved party), “you now jumping up and hollering fuh murduh,” because it is politically expedient for you to do so.
But I will go a bit further in an effort to purposely invoke your wrath. As President of the Senate and an influential member of your beloved DLP, what has the good lady done, thus far, to represent the disabled in Barbados?
Before you answer, I must remind you that, after criticisms about the inconvenient location of the Disabilities Unit by three ministers of social care, seven years on, the Unit remains at the same location.
Disclaimer: I AM NOT being critical of the President’s disability, because any of us who are able today can become disabled tonight.
NO MAN WITH BALLS SHOULD LAUGH AT A MAN WITH “GOADIES.”
Artaxerxes wait bozie ac did not know that being a drunkard and a thief is or was classified as a disability
well maybe so in the instances when the drunk trips over himself.or the thief hand gets caught in the cookie jar, now you gone get uh long list of pet peeves to throw in the mix as disabilities, guh long do before yuh trip over yuh self and i get to laughing at yuh when yuh brek yuh a,sss
Please great one excuse my ignorance on such matters
@Bushie,
Leave Canada out of your conversation please.
I see you don’t know the term “to juxtapose.” However, you did admit that you are ignorant….. but that’s no excuse.
WEll i believe the subject matter was one of Disabilty, So for you to throw drunkards and thieves in the mix shows your level of disrespect with your urgency to mediate or make excuses on behalf of the mentioned names in your comments
I must however give you props for being genuinely supportive of drunks and thieves none of which i can relate or have indulge in the course of my lifetime maybe out of taste or sheer ignorance of not wanting to know of them
FWLIW I agree totally with Bushtea on his posts re. our Blind Honourable Leader of the Senate. It is a matter of symbolism.
Arta
Talking about Goadies,it seems as though GP was trying to convince lawyers that a man’s goadies can’t take repeated hits like a vagina is made to do
Gabriel November 19, 2015 at 10:14 PM #
I DIDNT DISCUSS GOADIES AT ALL OR GROS COCO OR BOSUN OR BALANG
are-we-there-yet November 19, 2015 at 10:06 PM # I agree totally with Bushtea on his posts re. our Blind Honourable Leader of the Senate. It is a matter of symbolism.
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
or maybe the blind leading the blind lol
Bushie in serious trouble. He say a blind woman is a blind woman.
Now he is asked to leave Canada out of his conversations.
BU gettin rough yuh.
RE @ Gp
Pray tell why Bushie would, or should, be inclined to ‘fight against ISIS’.
YOU ARE NOT AS SMART AS YOU SAY YOU ARE
GO AND LET THEM KILL YA AND TAKE THE OLD MAN WITH LUES WITH YA
I thought the time had long passed in Barbados when people were described and referred to by their disabilities e.g. Dummy or Dumb- boy or Finny foot or Finny hand or in the case of the character who used to hang around Haloute’s Federal Racing business in Nelson St.”Nucka” because his hands were missing a few digits. Well I hope that I am wrong but given some of the responses here it may only have been a pipe dream.
Bush Tea hereinafter referred to as Mr. Infallible instead of admitting that perhaps he was wrong launches into a tirade featuring his favourite neologism as if that mitigates the use of the descriptive word in that context.
Others here perhaps fearful of the tart tongue of Mr. Infallible rush to support him, – he didn’t say anything wrong she is blind isn’t she- which proves that despite all the cheap talk floating around the blog that many are sheep still waiting to be led.
Wuhloss i was re-reading Carl Moores comments /attacks on Bush Shite, but the best one was telling the ole dawg bush that his testicles had dried up, Lol ! since such information is only privy to the owner i would like to know how close was Carl in proximity of bush shite anatomy to retrieving that information or who were his sources
bush shite cannot be anonymous afterall when Moore has enough personnel information on him to spill the beans about bush shite dried up testicles
“Bush Tea November 19, 2015 at 7:35 AM #
The Speaker of the House is a court declared thief.
The Speaker of the Senate is blind …leaving Maxine and Depeiza to embarrass themselves..
…and the DLP speaker on BU is a certified jenny-ass.
Let someone with credibility criticise Mia and the BLP do….!!!”
I can find no fault with Bushie’s reference to the President of the Senate as blind. It is a fact. The reference is neither untruthful or insensitive so I can’t understand the fuss. Would it have been more fashionably correct if Bushie had referred to the wonderful lady as visually impaired.
Are we aware that the first schedule of the Immigration Act lists ‘ persons of unsound mind or mentally deficient, dumb, blind or physically handicapped’ among others as persons who are prohibited from entering Barbados. Shouldn’t we be clamouring to have the act amended rather than shedding crocodile tears. Hypocritical bunch we all are.
ac;
You’ve got it. …. and added to it.
Nice!!!!!
are-we-there-yet November 19, 2015 at 10:06 PM #
“FWLIW I agree totally with Bushtea on his posts re. our Blind Honourable Leader of the Senate. It is a matter of symbolism.”
I do not want to continue “flogging this issue, but I agree with your comments, AWTY.
Bushie’s statement was “a matter of symbolism,” but it was “frowned upon” because (unfortunately) the individual in question is blind. However, those AC idiots (who are suffering from some form of cognitive dysfunction, whereby they are unable to think clearly, concentrate and remember new information), interpreted Bushie’s statement as offensive.
These idiots seem unable to understand that if they are suggesting it is offensive or insensitive to refer to an individual’s shortcomings, which may have manifested itself into a disability, then it would hold to be equally offensive to refer to or assume an able bodied individual’s shortcomings.
In other words, there are not any significant differences between Bushie mentioning the senator’s blindness, (which is true), and the AC idiots mentioning that Arthur is a thief (of which we have to seek proof).
Both statements would have to be considered offensive, since we cannot determine one as offensive/insensitive because a disability is involved.
No!! those who responds to bush shite arrogance with disgust and disdain are not hypocrites, the hypocrites are those who would want all to belief that Bush shite was genuine in his derogatory reference to the Senator as Blind, Furthermore all who lives in barbadois knows she is blind so why the necessity to include.
He made a jack ass of himself (straight up),and there is no need for his apologist to stand in line and defend such ignorance.
Speaking about what is true goes to context and in the way the message goes out,
saying that i am black is true however the color of my skin does not have to be necessarily use to be describe the type of work i am assigned,
This type of mentality goes back to an era of race baiting now we have moved or trying to move past those dark days. However here on BU the intellectual crew stands up with clenched fists and says bring back those days again there is nothing absolutely wrong it is called Symbolism.
s/b I hope that I am right
@ Are-We, re “…I agree totally with Bushtea on his posts re. our Blind Honourable Leader of the Senate. It is a matter of symbolism.”.
Of course it was a matter of symbolism. No doubt. That was never raised as a dispute.
Artax highlighted that the office for the Disability Unit still resides in an upstairs office after so many years of trying to find a new home. So surely we can all question the intent of that DLP passion for those with disabilities and recognize that aspect of the symbolic appointment for what it was: simply being an empty gesture.
However, it bothers me no end that a group of intelligent folks like you, Artax et al gives Bushie a pass on his otherwise patently inane and bigoted remark to wit “Who in their right mind appoints even the nicest, wisest, most impressive, person to the job of WATCHMEN (my emphasis)…..if they happen to be visually impaired…? (notice she is now PC ‘visually impaired’)
If you HC and Cawmere boys and other sharp fellows read the Bushman’s commentary and slide pass the blatant bigotry, then I presume that’s all good…well actually I know it’s not all good but it is to this key BU demographic.
I really don’t mind flogging the issue because we should really be well past this level of personal insensitivity.
This lady is a political appointee so flog her for her political missteps and any and all connections to the corrupt PM who appointed her.
But good gracious what does her lack of vision have to do with any perceived poor administrative skills or her political sycophancy; what does that have to do with the state of the country? It is her brain on MBA which deals with the business at hand not her physical attributes – or lack thereof.
But then again I obviously am not as sharp as you fellows in deciphering the written word so do excuse my harping!
BTW, another rousing remark was: “It is a fact also that her appointment … because a member must still be able to catch the eye of the chair!!
There are blind people like Helen Keller who Ms. Ifill surely would have embraced as one role model who did awesome things despite their life ‘challenges’. Yet in a chamber which can work effectively by ‘voice activation’ the ability of a member to ‘catch the eye’ of the blind presiding officer is highlighted under political critiques. Amazing.
We should all thank God that we can SEE to come here and type such sterling commentary!
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/11/20/escape-route/