mariaThe government and DLP supporters are pleased for the distraction the Maria Agard disagreement with her political party offers. […]While there is possibly a majority view by Barbadians everywhere that the mauling of the affairs of the country is the worse we have experienced in the post Independence history by a government,

a politically fatigued citizenry appears eager to be distracted by the political class yet again. Political conflict is nothing new in our system of government and in the same way the DLP, on the surface it seems, appears to have recovered from the Thompson vs Mascoll episode so too will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Of greater concern to the citizenry should be a governance system that is failing. The current state sees an inability of the citizenry to hold elected politicians accountable, demand transparency read Cahill deal, facilitate policy direction to stoke innovation and creativity,  increase national productivity, insightful use of physical resources, align the private and public sectors to breed global competitiveness…  Law and order  have been enduring characteristics of our small island and have defined our way of life as Bajans – now gone like the wind.

Mia Mottley should recall the period when the gang of 5 deselected her as Opposition leader. She struck a tone that endeared her to Barbadians everywhere. She was particularly strong on the need for governance strengthening.  We should be concerned that Maria Agard is being railroaded out of her safe seat because she dares to veer from the party line. It is not the first time members of a political party have expressed differences with the party line. In the USA the party Whips have their hands full to build consensus on many issues to support party positions. The fact that we have political parties demanding sheepish adherence to party positions and allow for zero space to entertain different positions  – shaped by conscience for example  – is where national debate should be the focus. If change is required to how political organizations are structured and ‘new blood’ is encourage to infuse the political parties with ideas why should the establishment not disengage from predictable behaviour and resist gang banging members who hold different positions.

The BU household has observed the interventions from the traditional players concerning Agard and her altercation with the BLP. Whether it is Wickham, George Bell, traditional media it all appears to be so orchestrated and disingenuous to those who are close to the issues. Take David Ellis and his position on air yesterday. How does one place so much faith in the workings of the executive of a constituency in Barbados? If Agard is prepared to challenge the influence less than a 1000 partisans bring to the table in order to defend principle issues why should the political party – represented by Mottley who was a proponent for change of the BLP constitution not so long ago – not discomfort itself to accommodate those who canvass for said change?

It is obvious to ALL there is conflict between Agard and Mottley. Those who follow local politics are aware of the dissent which has been fermenting from the time Agard by dint of hard work won the nomination from Bishop. Herbie and his establishment gang have never forgotten Agard the upstart. Didn’t the great Arthur have to ask Herbie to backoff in 2011 when she kicked Bishop’s ass? It appears Mia does not have the same long coat tail of Arthur to command order in that constituency and his heavily dependant on Jerome Walcott.  It is payback time. It is clear Agard is seen as a trouble tree whose political head should be lopped of. And the BLP machinery is well on course to achieving that objective. It is the nature of politics, Machiavellian politics. Barbadians should not be so blind to not probe more deeply what is at play here. What has Agard done to deserve political assassination you ask? From where BU sits we see a young, bright female who is prepared to defend her positions even if it means butting heads with colleagues and or sacrificing her political career. How many sitting MPs are prepared to do the same? Mia Mottley as leader should be able to meet with Agard and negotiate a compromise position with the disaffected parties. The idea of killing an ant with a hammer, encouraging the infighting by siding with factions within the party is immature and gives insight to Mottely’s unwillingness to depart from the old way of practicing party politics in Barbados. Imagine Agard sitting in a Cabinet and or Parliamentary Group meeting giving her willingness to veer from the party line. How refreshing that would be to force decisions closer to the interest of the people!

BU will deal with Peter Wickham on another occasion. He has used his several platforms to spew perspectives on the Agard issue which are nothing more than he being disingenuous.

It is time Barbadians, educated Bajans, speak out about the injustice being meted out to the few who dare to challenge the establishment. To those who are lobbying for Agard cross the floor, where is the precedent that it will act as a catalyst for change? Have we seen it with Symmonds, Mascoll, Lashley, Prescod et al? Those who are members of the BLP need to step up and support the good lady. Even if she suffered a few indiscretions – as accused by the party  – the point is she appears to be a committed a BLP supporter.

A good place to begin for Mottley is to recollect her position of a few years ago when she called for a overhaul of the BLP Constitution and was ignored. Agard and Mottley are probably not that far apart on the issues IF Mottley was genuine in her earlier positions.

496 responses to “The BLP Purge: Maria Agard Appears to be Undaunted”

1. Page 6 of BarbadosToday

David Com…. sounds like he is a senior member of the BLP.

2. The political parties in our country are so “dysfunctional” and “underdeveloped”, that opportunists can skip form one to the other with tremendous ease. The question which therefore arises is: Do these “dysfunctional” and “underdeveloped” parties have the internal organisational structures to effectively control or discipline its members? If the constituencies branches are so poorly organised or considered by the parties and MP’s, that they cease to effectively function after the elections, the next question that arises is: How can such party organs be expected to effectively govern the actions of elected MP’s ? Since the MP represents the entire constituency, technically, it is a stretch, to demand the removal of a MP, simply because he or she has fallen out of favor with one segment of the constituency. The simple truth is that without the power of recall , the MP is a law unto him or herself and can ignore the rules of the party. It is now clear from this spectacle involving Dr. Agard, that the dysfunctional political parties , when elected as governments, carry their dysfunctional pedigree and traits into the corridors of government and proceed to function as they are accustomed in their political parties. No wonder good governance has escaped us. After all it is impossible to harvest corn if we plant peppeers.

3. Well said William.

However is the FUNDAMENTAL problem not located in the fact that the reservoir of members for these political parties is so piss poor in principles and morals, that it is impossible to have any other results?
    This, after all, is why a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

When a serious political party could bring such SHIITE charges against ONE OF THEIR OWN high ranking members …..can you imagine what they will charge Bushie with when they are elected…?
    Just when it becomes crystal clear how clueless, dishonest and inept the damn DLP has been, we are presented with an EVEN WORSE scenario from the blasted BLP.

Well right now Bushie voting for Adamson’s party unless Walter, Caswell and Grenville step forward….
    lotta shiite…!!!

4. Mia promised to democratized the BLP by amending the constitution, she has not. It appears it has been left to a 2-year rookie member of parliament to draw a line. The partisan nature of thinking and the polarization around this matter exposes our comfort level with the status quo. Surprised though to read Comissiong is not on Agard’s side.

5. Nutron Sky Plane Avatar

Doctor Agard is about to make MAM look both good and decisive at the same time. The woman is a fool.
    CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ELECTIONS.

6. Why are you surprised …..?
    Come-and-sing-a-song is a lot like Mottley….

This shows that the position taken by Enuff here on BU about joining the existing parties and effecting ‘change from within’ is total and complete shiite….
    It also shows up the other 29 parliamentarians as lacky, lapdogs, and pimps who are nothing but party yes-men and puppets that toe the line…like it or not…

…all like Kellman so, who has had his ‘know-it-all’ mouth zippered – like the little hard-ears boy that he clearly is…
    ..and Estwick who ain’t worth shit when the gully out… lotta shiite talk ..and then is told to go and sit in a corner – and sign the CAHILL paper…
    …and ‘Hats’ Pain – who has been grumbling at the side now for DECADES ….and not contributing one shiite..

It is looking more and more that this woman Agard and Arthur are the only two REAL people in the whole shiite parliament…

7. Actually Agard is refreshingly intelligent and we need more like her coming forward, people who bear no allegiance to manipulative interest.

8. @ Bush Tea,
    “However is the FUNDAMENTAL problem not located in the fact that the reservoir of members for these political parties is so piss poor in principles and morals, that it is impossible to have any other results?
    This, after all, is why a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.”
    This is the point that truly progressive people have been making. However, the national discourse has been hijacked by the new rulers of the plantation, who are all cut from the same cloth. They have the ability to run with the hare and hunt with the hound. Hence in any power struggle they will always side with the establishment. I am in no way surprised by the positions being taken by some operatives who have been responsible for extending the political lives of both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party. Your point about “piss poor principles and morals” is therefore on point from a political perspective. There is only one member of the current parliament (Mr.Trevor Prescod), who is known for adhering to any particular philosophy/ideology and he cannot seriously challenge the establishment. All the rest are there for their own self interest and to protect the fortunes of their political party be it BLP or DLP.
    Indeed, I find it most interesting, that some of the current commentators on the issue have been intimately involved in exploiting the same system when it suited them. For example, they used the same constituents and they now criticise, to get the same BLP or DLP into office and then they retreated form the same branches and enjoyed some astonishing perks handed down by the establishment.
    There is therefore a pervasive hypocrisy running through this Agard issue.

9. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar

Miller the nuki or whatsoever the title, first let me rebuke you in the mighty name of my lord and savior Jesus Christ, for some of you the word church send you ballistic guess you operate in darkness,so much for that but why do you support the action against Agard ?,I viewed you as someone who believes in fairness guess i was wrong.About the devil dealing with me, my GOD trampled the old dragon every since and will continue to protect those who loves him, take care Miller.

10. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar

Nutron sky plane or peter wickham how is every thing in France?Will you be back in time for the lynching? I guess so you have to have your front row seat.

11. So @William, what are you saying exactly, that politics (of governing a country) is not all that it’s cranked up to be and that the political leaders are manipulative, greedy, arrogant and self-serving…just like leaders in all other endeavours?

I was amused to read that, “The political parties in our country are so “dysfunctional” and “underdeveloped”, that opportunists can skip form one to the other with tremendous ease”.

Considering that there was a Governor down in Florida that skipped from Democrat to Republican and as I recall back again over a few election cycles. Then there was another US Senator (Ben Nighthorse, as memory serves) who also did the Democrat to Republican switch and of course in Russia there is the wonderful Putin hop-scotch (well not party really, but Political arrogance nonetheless).

So I hear you but just don’t understand the apparent ureka moment; Isn’t this type behavior as ‘normal’ as night following day!

12. In as much as i support agard on standing up for principle and would defend her constitutional right to freedom of speech i cannot endorse her approach or alternative methods which can only be those counterproductive to the destruction of party cohesivness and unity

13. re Colonel Buggy November 16, 2015 at 10:31 PM #

It has now become increasing difficult to distinguish between a Minister of Religion and a Minister of Government, as well as, between Religion and Politics.

THIS IS TO BE eXPECTED SIR c.f Revelation 17

re Jesus really has his work cut out when he returns ti this earth, in ejecting many of these charlatans and hypocrites. NOT AT ALL SIR again see Revelation 17&18 HE WILL TURN OVER THE WHOLE APPLE CART IN AN HOUR

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LT.HORATIO CAINE. November 17, 2015 at 11:33 AM

Miller is enough for you, Sir!
    In your attempt to be disparaging you have only done like the proverbial monkey and further exposed your deceitfully hypocritical tail while climbing further up the tree of evil.

This is the position I support:
    Let Ms. Agard resign from the BLP and either sit as an Independent or cross the floor and become a member of the governing party. Since she has all the solutions to the problems at the QEH and the wider health sector she should be made Minister of Health.
    According to you and your ilk she is also very popular among her constituents should even be the DLP’s candidate for Ch Ch West constituency in the next elections.

Are you prepared, Lieutenant of the Army of DLP hypocrites, to accept Ms. Agard into the foal of the dear loving party of the people or would you not touch her with a barge pole as long as St. Matthias is far from Archer’s Bay in St. Lucy?

15. So really and truly wunna mean tuh tell me dat only members of this branch vote fuh Ms. Agard in de Genearal Election, and dat dese same members then turn round and vote for an executive dat doan like she, and now dem vex because she seh she in wukking wid nuhbody dat get elect behind she back; becausing sumbody call and cancelled uh previous meeting dat looked like it was gine to elect an executive dat did like she and she wudda like dem… dah is wuh wunna trying to tell me?

Furthermore, we want me tuh belief dat uh branch of a political party cud remove uh MP dat got elected by a whole constituency?
    Wuh ef dat is truly so how come nuhbody ent start proceedings to remove de Honourable Rip Van Winkle aka Stuart Little?
    How come Ed, Edd and Eddy still downgrading we country and nuhbody ent moving against dem?

Try as I might, I cannot see this as anything other than preparation by those counting chickens before that all important vote, i.e. Who is first among equals?

16. Miller
    Agard is a political novice, not even smart enough to resign when all other sensible politicians would do just that. She can’t even bring herself to save face and her reputation so as to fight another day, even now when she is clearly and totally wrong on so many fronts she behaves like a wild lone wolf.
    I think Dr. Agard would be an excellent candidate for the DLP in the next elections for Ch Ch West…………….the only problem is what to do with Verla? Maybe Verla could be the DLP branch chairman for Ch Ch West, its not as if Verla (or Dr. Agard) has a realistic chance of being the MP for that constituency when the next elections are over and the Parliament is constituted.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the intelligent sounding AC

I have been enjoying some of your contributions because you express them with clarity and thought. But the mere fact that you did a cockroach on Agard’s approach as being counterproductive, which is obviously your attempt to strike a balance, is indicative of the type of yardfowl commentary that tends to define you ACs. All of you have chosen to view the Agard defiance as deviance. When will you detractors see the Agard stance as standing on principles that are intent on defying a system of party politics that practices divide in order to rule?The real issue coming out of all of this is that in the face of tyrannous practices, one has dared to stand up for something and will not fall at the Mottley feet for all the somethings that she purports as proper BLP direction. Mottley is affected by a self-servient mindset that she tries hard to cloak with a pseudo aloof performance. Mia Mottley is rogue and rogues cannot hide too long in pretense.

18. @ Miller
    So there is NO place in your BLP for dissent? Everyone must conform to party propaganda?
    How the hell wunna will ever see reform?
    How does BLP democracy work boss?

How do you know that Dr Agard is not the catalyst for the party to decide on the LEADERSHIP of Ms Mottley ……rather than making a big fuss about a new MP who should be enjoying full support …rather than being cannibalised internally ?

Don’t come with that foolish argument… why the hell should she resign? Have you EVER heard of standing on PRINCIPLE?

19. @ de ignorant word
    “So @William, what are you saying exactly, that politics (of governing a country) is not all that it’s cranked up to be and that the political leaders are manipulative, greedy, arrogant and self-serving…just like leaders in all other endeavours?”

I am just saying that everybody uses a system they describe as dysfunctional and underdeveloped , for their own purposes.

20. @ Lt. Horatio Caine.

“How can you profess to support the Word of the Living GOD yet incredibly come here to sound off on an MP who seems to be fighting against the very thing that you took vows to uphold, or is it that you yourself form part of the new party that will be marching later this month Gays and Lesbians of Barbados all part of the fourth sex?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    QED. “It is becoming increasingly difficult to distinguish between a Minister of Government and a Minister of the Cloth.”

21. Listen standing up for principle is all well and good as a matter of fact it is a normal catorsise that gets to the root cause for change
    However their might be systems which one used which can inhibits rather than cleanse.Therefore one must be careful in formulating methods which are not of a destructive nature almost like throwing out the baby with the bathe tub.
    So far what i have a perceived is that Agard has set a reasonable foundation one on which can garner sympathy by not sufficient to repair damage to herself the party or the leader

22. @Bush Tea

Well stated, history is replete with examples of individuals who dared to change the world, and many have.

23. Another first for Barbados.

“Queries made among attorneys and police officers revealed that none of them could recall any occasion when a person had been accused of three murders.”

24. Well Dr. Duguid was never censored under rule 81 of the BLP Constitution when he used profane and obscene language on the floor of Parliament.

Rawle Eastmond was never censored under the said rule when he took the media to explain the challenges he was having with the St. James North branch.

So why is Dr. Agard hounded like this……by this bully called Mia?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea November 17, 2015 at 12:56 PM
    “Don’t come with that foolish argument… why the hell should she resign? Have you EVER heard of standing on PRINCIPLE?”

Ha, ha, ha!!!
    When Owen Arthur resigned from the BLP was he also standing on “Principle”? Why did you support his move to leave a party that lost its very soul?

Look, Bushie, you are now backing a man who has not only thrown your brand of principles through the window but also the modicum of self-respect that was keeping him politically alive and relevant.
    OSA ‘knew’ from 2011- when he saw the opportunity of him becoming P M again- that Ms Mottley was not only bad for the BLP but also unsuitable to be leader of Barbados. So what “principled” act of Machiavellian machinations he adhered to other than to overthrow the then LoO.
    So what principled stance did the same OSA take when he was beaten by no less a jackass than Froon Stuart.? Did he continue as the leader after February 2013 knowing full well what he knew of MAM pre 2013 as not good for the BLP or for Barbados post 2013?

Come on Bushie, Ms. Agard is not standing on any point of BBE-type principles. If she were indeed standing up for principles à la BT she would allow her constituents to decide her political future; not some wicked evil poorly led political party. Her constituents are her real employer to whom she ought to be ultimately responsible and answerable. She is merely being naively manipulated by “dark” political forces bent on ensuring MAM’s ascendency to the throne is never an event to be celebrated by her supporters or (as you would think with vexatious zeal) the BGLAD community.

26. millertheanunnaki November 14, 2015 at 9:52 AM #… And if she does join the DLP she would only prove herself to be stinking untrustworthy totally devoid of any moral principles political prostitute; deserving only of exposure to 5 years of intense radiation up her political backside…

millertheanunnaki November 17, 2015 at 12:23 PM #… This is the position I support:
    Let Ms. Agard resign from the BLP and either sit as an Independent or cross the floor and become a member of the governing party…

27. Bushie

“This shows that the position taken by Enuff here on BU about joining the existing parties and effecting ‘change from within’ is total and complete shiite….”

I am sorry, I never knew you were Dr. Frankenstein or planned to import the members of your BBE or NGO Cabinet. Don’t forget you also thought the late Thompson was the 2nd coming until the $3.3m cheque debacle.

28. Ha ha ha @ Enuff
    Boss, can Bushie take that as an admission that you erred with that thesis of yours which postulates that political change can come by JOINING the shiite parties …rather than fighting them from outside?

@ Miller
    Bushie knows you to well to be misled with you political shiite-talk….

You are a bit too intelligent to get away with such trite arguments here on BU. The CORRECT way for your party to purge itself would be to convene a National strategy convention, place all cards firmly on the convention table – and hold elections at the end of that session, …with the winners BOUND and committed to the PARTY strategic goals established.

That way, EVERYONE gets to make their case to the assembly – no holds barred – and the party gets to CHOOSE the philosophy preferred by most members.
    That is what democracy is all about….

Not about a joke leader – who is YET to achieve a political success in a leadership position after near 30 years – beating up on the EASIEST target she can find (or so wunna THOUGHT 🙂 ) in order to establish some much needed ‘leadership’ credibility….

SHAME on you for supporting shiite Miller…

29. Miller,

you just made me laugh.

“manipulated by “dark” political forces bent on ensuring MAM’s ascendency to the throne is never an event to be celebrated by her supporters”

Do fa do ain’t what Miller? what role or roles did Mia play in stopping the BLP from winning the last election? What role did she play in 2008 with Dr. Mascoll winning his seat?

you can’t expect to work in shit and not touch it.

so spare me the BS Miller.

30. Arthur has been elevated to unimaginable heights and have been given a pass when in fact he squandered a real opportunity to surpass even Errol barrow.
    He publicly stated that Mottley was unacceptable as a prime minister after her being his deputy for donkey years. He never said why and the mash potato journalists we have about here just let him get away with that ! Even Mia herself allowed him to wipe the floor with her and took public humiliation because of her only ambition to become the first woman PM.
    I also question why he failed to reform the public service and restructure the economy during the so-called days of plenty.
    Any objective observer would conclude that Sinckler has not and apparently cannot find his footing and Freundel is much the same but this unbelievable elevation of Arthur is totally undeserved. This current administration is as poor as the current opposition if not poorer.
    I am quite sure that Mia will not be any great improvement because she has been already over rated as both a politician and leader. She will follow the predictable path of those already mentioned. To date, I submit ,that our country has only had three exceptional leaders : Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow and Frank Walcott.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Owen Arthur was guided by the same shite that made him squander an opportunity that would have immortalized him as one of the best leaders in Barbados’ history. Instead, the perverted shite became infected by the sickness of greed and pursued a path of absolutism that made him neglect reform of important sectors in pursuit of establishing a name for himself by being the face of his pet peeve CSME. He was not interested in reforming one shite just like the DLP are not interested but are now interested because fate has brought the shite hitting the fan full circle so there can be no more ignore. You really think that in the name of progression Barbados has a right now to be dealing with an outdated sick hospital, alternative transports in light of no comprehensive futuristic road plan development that could help with the daily traffic grid locks; having to be forced to look at agriculture differently when we should be 20 years down the road feeling proud that we are now the export centre and marketing agent for our own brand of breadfruit or cassava power, blackbelly mutton exports, sea island cotton products, golden apple products yada yada yada. You think we have a right now looking for alternative energy sources when wind and solar power should be up and running eons ago, allowing bajans to enjoy a cheaper electricity outcome. There is no way in the world that we should be at this -rushed to find- juncture knowing fully well that we were managing a small economy and that alone dictated that our planning must evolve around commonsense decisions and not shite endeavours that ended up in wasteful spending and corrupt labellings. Owne Arthur did himself a cunt of injustices by his own blind labouring, and where he is now was all orchestrated by his selfish desires.

32. Nutron Sky Plane Avatar

OSA is the chief mischief maker in Barbadian politics today. He is seeking to simultanously undermine and destroy both MAM and FS, thereby increasing his perceived chance of returning to prominence in national politics as Prime Minister again.
    The problem for OSA was/is he could not secure either Payne, Symmonds, Marshall, Toppin or Clarke, the long serving BLP MP’s loyal to him, to move against MAM AGAIN, he was therefore left with the empty, lightweight vessel of Dr. Agard through which to try and create confusion the BLP and orchestrate his RETURN.

33. Political Buffoonery is what OSA labeled the ongoing war in the BLP house He also threw a few punches at Comissiong ! Hoyos and Wickham which he labelled as the big guns of the BLP brought out to fight the war
    His inferences did not lose side of the Fact that indecisive leadership is what has brought the ongoing battle into the public domain.
    However what he termed as childplay was another formal attack on Mia leadership as he pointed to similar incidents under his reign which were far worse and were quell before becoming overblown spectacles in the public domain.
    HIs damaging conclusions on the Agard battle was keeping with his views which he stated that the Blp had lost its soul and Mia was not ready to handle the leadership of the BLP

34. The only useful info Arthur has tossed in the public space is that the BLP should not wash its linen behind closed doors and references a time when three walked out of a Cabinet meeting. The info is not complimentary to how political parties operate in Barbados. These are little clubs which are manipulated by the monied class. We need more transparency to see how these members of the political class operate.

The three who stormed out Mr. Arthur, were they the Powder Puff Girls?

35. Nutron Sky Plane Avatar

ac,
    OSA is smarting from what he knows was a good ass whopping for his ‘faction’ in the BLP by MAM. Dr. Agard is politically dead in the BLP and with her political death goes his best chance to return as leader of BLP and possibly Prime Minister. His ‘faction’ of Payne, Symmonds, Marshall, Toppin and Agard have and will be weakened beyond the point where it can mount any reasonable effort to oust MAM.
    What I like to hear from OSA is why he decided to lie to Parliament when he said he knew nothing about the VECO prison deal and was not at Cabinet when the decision was made to award the contract, if I remember correctly both FJS and CS produced evidence in the House to show that was a BOLD FACE LIE.

36. @Nutron Sky Plane

Has evidence not also been produced to show Stuart was less than truthful on the Cahill matter? The political class indeed!

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I did not bother to reply to your principles comment because politics in Barbados is not base on acceptable principles, but those having a mere appearance and form of it intended to convince others that it is operating in accordance with. This shite about Agard might be winning sympathy but damaging herself and party image is bare shite talk. Agard might bring her image into dispute, but this is only at the level of the party. She has gathered a lot of support from people who are fed up with the way politics is acted out in Barbados in recent times. The BLP has brought their illustrious image to a cess pool pitch when they thought that they were bigger than life and larger than the Barbadian public. Agard was not around when blows were sharing and lick like peas were dishing out. Maria Agard was not around when one another was talking sexual orientations who had a propensity for pooch explorations nukecy sucking. She can’t do more harm to this party image than the party themselves has done to it. This mere smoke and guns, shenanigans and cloak and dagger at work here. Mia is a villain with an agenda and she wants that constituency come hell or high water.

38. Nutron Sky Plane Avatar

Certainly you are correct, it appears that FJS was less than genuine when he talked about the Cahill matter. Did he lie, I am not sure………was he playing politics and laughing at the people of Barbados, YES.
    Its going to take another Haggatt Hall moment for OSA to get the point that he is damaging his legacy and all for nothing but the want of revenge against MAM.

Did OSA really expect he was going to win the election in 2013 after the way he resumed leadership in the BLP? He must have known that that act alone (the beheading of MAM) sealed for the BLP any chance of winning the government. In 2013 the people of Barbados spoke when they said, “We don’t want the DLP and FJS but we want you and BLP even less”

39. The word “childsplay” has a stinging effect which carries a hint of simplicity defining a small matter which can be easily resolved, for MIa such words coming from the former leader of the BLP cannot help build confidence within herself or with in her members ,
    Such a terminology carries big weight as it formed negative undertones with pointers and perceptions directed at leadership
    Mia has lost ground no arguing (that much)there is no possible way by which she can come out of this battle unscathed and not be weaken by sheer moments of ridicule and by gloating public perceptions
    When one thought that OSA has taken his final shot about six years ago he comes out firing with all cylinders taking aim at leadership and big guns and reveals a candid and another outspoken view on all things MIA

40. @SSS

Agree with your last statement, why are we surprised that yard fowls and members of the political class will want to defend the establishment. People like Agard are obviously willing to put political career on the line. To focus on her being a lightweight misses the point. Good to see that Kaymar still has access to OSA.

41. Nutron Sky Plane Avatar

What OSA says now is tainted with the perception of him being part and parcel of the ruling DLP, the people of Barbados will view it as nothing less. He has not gravitas left from which to appear to preach to or guide the nation, that is a simple fact.
    The Haggatt Hall massacre by DT cemented in people’s mind the view that he was not the man the marketed himself to be and his beheading of MAM in 2010 and his subsequent vengeful tactics against MAM only confirm those views.
    OSA greatest fear is MAM becoming PM, it eradicates completely the dream he has of returning to the role of PM and leaves him vulnerable to MAM if she decides to repay to him the favours he has extended to her.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nutron Sky Plane November 18, 2015 at 6:51 AM
    “Did OSA really expect he was going to win the election in 2013 after the way he resumed leadership in the BLP? He must have known that that act alone (the beheading of MAM) sealed for the BLP any chance of winning the government. In 2013 the people of Barbados spoke when they said, “We don’t want the DLP and FJS but we want you and BLP even less”

You, NSP, just drop a neutron bomb that would make a solar eruption look like a firecracker.
    This is the same man who again ran away from the leadership of the BLP after getting his ass whopped by the most intellectually stunted, jokey, lying arrogant P M Barbados ever had or will ever have. Now, he OSA, again wants us to believe the woman who he allowed to return to the helm of the BLP is unfit to be the P M.

Why didn’t he stay on to fight another 2 years knowing full well the economy was about to go belly-up after February 2013? He would have been PM today; or so he is fooling himself.
    Even a reincarnated gearbox in the form Dompey or ac would do a far better job than the current holder of the top job in the land.

43. @ SSS

Take a step back from emotionalism and look at the bigger picture of which that Mrs Agard brought the dispute within the public arena
    Many have endorse and embraced her approach based on several or differing points , However what Mrs Agard has skillfully done is to launched an all out attack on her party even though she has not said what she is fighting for or against,
    Now the word “principle” has been introduced or brought on board as way of trying to understand or define the whole escapade
    it does not necessarily mean that her approach to launch persuasive and on going attacks is right especially when the story remains clouded and muted with speculation and suspicions which simply gives perceptions to the public that she been dealt an unfair disadvantage and for that she is willing to fight for,
    Going forward one must be aware that Mrs Agard would be seen as an out cast . a trouble maker and one who should be avoided at all cost
    Although she might have garnered sufficient sympathy there are few if any organizations or groupings who would be willing to embraced her as a member,
    Everybody likes the rambunctious and rebel rousing no nonsense person but usual it comes with a tag labelled Toxic which most organizations would avoided at all cost

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Agard might be wrong in a lot of ways but no one can say what makes Mia and the BLP right in there’s. How convenient it is for them to throw the hook and sinker at Agard when the track records of members in this party could make a black mark on a charcoal rock. There is no evidence, whatsoever, that Mia Mottley is building a team to serve Barbados, but it is apparent that Mia Mottley is building a team to serve Mia Mottley. All the signs that if this party get’s into power we can expect a firework of accusations, alleges, more transparency issues and opportunistic endeavours to serve self interests is all there to see. Just look at the field of candidates. It is apparent that their interest in politics is a ”me time,” since they predecessors have had their time. I see no mark of serving in them. The old stalwarts still have mark of pompous etched in their faces and so you know their agendas even before they set out on them.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My girlfriend SSS here kicking donkeys and tekking names.

My sweet lady if you come back to run you dun know you got me vote

Sweet fuh days boasie you got me cyber stalking you sweetheart

I going have to stop “liking” you too much cause if de madam come heah and see all me likes I going get put in de dog house and ever doah I am vertically challenged de poodle pen real short

Keep on keeping on my sweet one

46. Is this (http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63904/editorial-eliminating-vote-buying-corruption) a more serious issue for both parties to investigate and discipline the guilty party members?

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Look, I am only talking to you because your views are sensible until they go south for partisan. If you are some type of robot functioning on mechanics I am not. Emotions are interwoven in my very being and so when I assert I do it with passion and conviction. Without emotions you think politicians would be able to speak convincingly to make us believe a lot their shite nonsense?

Now you really believe that this escapade as you put it was not stewing for some time before Agard went the way of the press? There was a bombardment of unscrupulous claims against Agard that was playing out in this party long before the press route. How can you just sit back, when you had a slew of accusations and badgerings coming from her party colleagues that were painting her black, with no shortfall of encouragements to step aside that remained constant? The lady in the face of obvious adversity and absurdity turn to the public domain to expose her debacle to the court of public opinion because her leader incited a large part of the opposing views. Why do you not ask Mia what is her fight in all of this besides hiding behind the party’s constitution she states Agard is in violation of. The story would have to remain clouded and muted because to bring out all the facts would expose some things in this party that could have far more serious consequences for it along with implications for Agard that could affect her livelihood and ability to continue her practice as a dentist. Caution is certainly not being thrown to the wind when both understands the need to thread carefully with what they know can be damaging. Your claim about much would not want an Agard in their camp is bare nonsense. She is in politics not an organization and in politics we all have seen how the shite goes. We need more Agards to oppose those who think they cannot be opposed. Barbados is operating on shitey systems designed and consented by conductors who have enjoyed the rewards for decades.