A Prime Minister and a Minister PROMISED But St. John Polyclinic Missed 30 June 2015 Deadline

The unfinished St. John Polyclinic
Is a promise still a promise even if it was made in a gully?
Minister of Health John Boyce PROMISED the member of parliament for St. John Mara Thompson earlier this year the St. John Polyclinic would have been completed by the 30 June 2015. The PROMISE was echoed by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. Mara Thompson was emboldened by the support she received from her colleagues the David Thompson Polyclinic was closed to becoming a reality, she repeated it for full effect.
Is it reasonable for the member of parliament for St. John to believe PROMISES made by BOTH the minister who owns the budget for health AND the Prime Minister?
<
p align=”justify”>The government is responsible for managing a 6 billion dollar economy, why PROMISE to deliver the St. John Polyclinic by 30 June 2015 if the project plan and available resources didn’t support? Is it because the players do not place value in a PROMISE? Is it the polyclinic is not and possibly was never a priority matter? There was a time not too long a go the timbre a man was made off was defined by his ability to deliver his word.It was obvious six weeks ago the St. John Polyclinic was not being given the resources to support a 30 June 2015 completion.

This government can do anything and get away with it.
They feel that Barbadians are docile people and will not riot, remember the PM said that with all that is happening, there are no riots in the street.
The people are not holding them accountable especially the meek sheep from St John. I heard one resident complaining today on Brasstacks. Corey reminded her that they have had two PM’s as representatives for years.
The dems have said that a manifesto is not a binding contract, so their word is not their bond. They just cannot be trusted.
Can you imagine that the Stinkliar can find every loophole to jump through like declaring a hitherto unknown dividend from the Housing Credit Fund so that Maloney could be paid but could not declare another dividend to finish the polyclinic to take shame out of their faces.
Unbelievable………….these dems are worst than we could imagine.
LikeLike
This government also promised Barbadians that they would have their tax refunds by June 30th. The Stinkliar even gloated during the budget that “as we speak we are stuffing 24,000 envelopes”……………he should be ashamed instead of bragging when Barbadians should have had their returns back since August/September 2014. The 2014 refunds are now due, no wonder he found a way to done away tax refunds in 2015.
A cousin of mine who is a hard core dem is now complaining that he will now have to re-think his position when it is time to exercise his constitutional responsibility as he feels the government he supports has deceived him.
I told him he has waited late to come to that realisation!
LikeLike
Interesting Architecture. The wind mill in the centre is strongest element in the design.
LikeLike
The design is crap, the financing is in a shambles, the contractor is hopeless, the Ministry is clueless and the completion date, as always, is unknown and ever elusive.
LikeLike
The Central Bank of Barbados, in the middle of Bridgetown, was built in less time then the St. John Polyclinic. The better hurry cause at the rate they going people not remember who is David Thompson when the finish and affix the signage.
LikeLike
In a REAL country with REAL honourable leadership, someone would either resign or find an old collins somewhere, sharpen it to a point …and fall on it…
BUT NOT IN A BRASS BOWL BANANA REPUBLIC.
yuh mean to say that the word of the Prime Minister don’t mean one shiite??….Can you imagine THAT…….?
We can excuse John Boyce ….everyone knows that he only talks to exercise his lungs…
But shiite man…. How can a PRIME MINISTER make PUBLIC specific promises and then go off to sleep …?
…like how the matter of the NHC workers would be handled ‘expeditiously’ by some shiite committee that still wasting time as we speak… except for offering ’employment’ to his esteemed lawyer pal…
..like the St John Polyclinic being completed…
Does the Joker have ANY clout????
No wonder he is unmarried … even if he promised to marry someone – any woman knowing him would be foolish to expect him to keep his word …and hence would go and look for a REAL man…
What the hell!!!!
A pox on our collective donkey…
LikeLike
People still looking for that fowl-run to open ? Doan mek muh laff do.
LikeLike
Our old people had a saying………….”if you start wrong, you must end wrong.”
I heard Richie Haynes with my own ears at a meeting in Carrington Village saying that David Thompson started out his political career telling lies so he could not help lying.
He said that on the first night of campaigning in the St John by election, DT got up and said that he and the DLP had crafted a St John Development Plan………..Richie said he looked at Sandie…Sandie asked him…… what is this man talking about………….he is lying, there was no such discussion, they is no such thing as a St John Development Plan.
Richie said that after the meeting they had to hustle back to George Street, he said they cussed DT stink and to save face they had to spend all night trying to put together this plan. Richie said the thing that hurt them was that DT did not have to lie as he was going to win the seat anyhow.
My point is that there was never a plan per se, this was a hurriedly put together set of ideas. DT was minister of Finance in the latter part of Sandi’s government and should have finished the polyclinic then. He controlled the finance and could not find the money to finance this project? In his own constituency? The dems will probably get thrown out of office and this monstrosity may never be finished.
Only goes to show you that the dems do not really care about the poor people they brag that they love!
LikeLike
Why is anyone even remotely surprised at this failure? The word ‘failure’ is synonymous with this administration. Can’t wait to hear what shyte the acs come up with as a lame excuse. It is simple. If they gave a flying fu*k, it would have been completed on time.
LikeLike
So who is the architect?
LikeLike
Adrian Christie is the contractor.
LikeLike
@ Hants July 1, 2015 at 9:27 PM #
I don’t believe it is a windmill. I had a look at it during a recent visit to Bim, and I couldn’t determine what it is from the road. It looks like an observatory, but I don’t believe the design call for one.
A big concern is where will the money to equip, staff and keep it functioning come from.
LikeLike
@ Bajan in NY,
Obviously it is not a real windmill. It is influenced by the windmills that used to be part of the Bajan landscape.
http://barbados.org/windmill.htm#.VZTEfvlViko
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon,
http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=13&p2_articleid=10376
LikeLike
Wazobia FM
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
“I heard Richie Haynes said at a political meeting in Carington Village that: David Thompson started out his political career telling lies so he couldn’t help lying.”
Prodigal, so you took Haynes words at face-value like any good domesticated servant would? Could you in complete honesty call to mind any politician in Barbados without such a charge? Of course not brother, demagoguery is part and parcel of the politician claimed to fame and you better believe it, or else you will probably end up like the Jim Jones followers of the 1970’s. I don’t understand some you guys who on the one hand, accuses AC of political partiality, and while on the other hand, ya’ll take as Bible Scripture anything that is spewed and parroted from lips of the members and former members of the opposition party. Talk about the domesticated bird who doesn’t know how to escape his captivity -even when he is free to do so because he has been conditioned to think otherwise.
LikeLike
Prodigal, one good thing I did remember about Thompson who was obviously a very young man when I left Barbados -was the fact that he challenged the late Prime Minister Tom Adams at every turn. And if Thompson is to be remembered as a man who stretched the truth a little, then Adams is to be remembered as a man without the proper moral standing. Need I say anything more Prodigal?
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
I wish to make this final observation: now it is important that we are circumspect with respect to what we write and rewrite regarding the views others hold with respect to our public officials, even those their are subject to a certain level of public scrutiny given the nature of their employment. We ought to be certain that the facts line up(!) Now, I like to think that all my facts are corroborated as well as substantiated, before I employ the negative critique of others to characterized that public officials- who I do not think too kindly of. I think we as the general public owe them that much given the nature of their employment and the challenges which awaites them. You know, there were a lot of things I did disliked about Tom Adams, but what I did respected about him was his quick wit and political vision even if it was aimed at a certain class of Barbadians. Arthur, I cared little for because personally, I thought and still do hold that he is among the most if not the single most inarticulate politicians Barbados has ever seen. In other words, Arthur is the antithesis of what Dr. Don Blackman used to be. A man whose tongue has been sharpened on the Jamaican vernacular- when Tom Adams first slid him into politics in Barbados eons ago.
LikeLike
Adrian Christie?There goes those darn initials AC again.It has to be a coincidence.
LikeLike
There is a mention in today’s press the opening is scheduled for September. Project delayed because of cash flow problems. BU will change the counter on the BU Alert to 30 September 2015.
LikeLike
Wait Dompey, you can’t sleep at night?
…every damn night you holding BU monologues….
What happen? …since the fire you can’t sleep?
LikeLike
June 30th you say —–
The government is still on time, you did not read or listen to the statement CAREFULLY, no YEAR was ever mentioned for the June 30th date, ha, ha, once again Bajans not asking the right questions.
LikeLike
Bushie …The donkey monologues!
LikeLike
Is a promise still a promise even if it was made in a gully?
……………………………………………………………………………
A promise is still a promise as long as it comforts a fool, 275,000 of them.
LikeLike
Hants July 1, 2015 at 9:27 PM #
Interesting Architecture. The wind mill in the centre is strongest element in the design.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
That windmill, sir, represents the late Errol Barrow, MP for that constituency, turning, no spinning, in his grave.
LikeLike
Wily Coyote July 2, 2015 at 11:13 AM #
The government is still on time, you did not read or listen to the statement CAREFULLY, no YEAR was ever mentioned for the June 30th date, ha, ha, once again Bajans not asking the right questions.
……………………………………………………………………………….
Almost like the former AG, who did not know if the cost of the new prisons was quoted in Bajan or Yankee dollars.
LikeLike
Babadus gine shut down Monday july 6th.
LikeLike
The young lady in the photograph above, is she the one, Mia Mottley is accused of assaulting ?
LikeLike
Some of you political pimps and JAs accuse BU and other social media sites of maligning the reputation of individuals BUT in you hop and would think nothing of doing the same to others.
LikeLike
Why you don’t do yourself and all of us a favour and check in yourself at the Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre (SBRC).
We will wave the tipping fee for you!
You sure know how to talk and produce a lotta…..SHITE!
LikeLike
@ Fractured BLP
You can’t understand,but you must hear that R in SBRC mean recycling, therefore something will returned that is useful, but things from the DLP farm yard go 6′ underground like your dead king David Thompson can’t be return, he took all of you yard ducks mind with him that the cause of your sickness, Fractured you should check in , the mental await you, there no tipping fee,
LikeLike
Breaking News
NUPW declares protest march on July 6, 2015 in solidarity with the workers at BIDC who retired at age 60.
Here is the clincher…..the said BIDC retired workers have received their retirement cheques.
…and have cashed them!
LikeLike
From my experience with the NUPW that wouldn’t be a surprise.
LikeLike
The planned march may attract a crowd, as it comes during the season of Crop Over, when revellers are expected to take to the streets!
But after the KADOOMENT life goes on…..and the DEMS remain in charge.
David..
..eat yuh heart out!
LikeLike
Was the PM’s latest utterings at the Heads of Government Meeting ,a promise , an undertaking or just the usual “Sound Good Effect”? Can we look forward, before the new year , to seeing him backing his words and putting ” idle hands to work on idle lands”. Course, he might have been referring to the usual De-bushing and crash temporary employment ,we are accustomed to , just before the next general election.
LikeLike
The prime minister indicated we need to put idle lands to work to feed the region, is he serious? Think Clico.
LikeLike
“Prodigal, one good thing I did remember about Thompson who was obviously a very young man when I left Barbados -was the fact that he challenged the late Prime Minister Tom Adams at every turn”
Where you get that from Mr Dompey’ I do not remember that and i was here all the time; but of course everybody knows that Mr Thompson did indeed have a penchant for stretching the truth.
LikeLike
Come to think of it ,were there any persons around with the balls to challenge Tom, except the man who is alleged to have damaged the property of the Crown…MP 1.
LikeLike
Well the Bishop of Barbados says no gay weddings.
The Attorney General, as the Government of Barbados chief legal officer, says no gay weddings.
What is Mia Mottley’s views on gay marriages, as she seek to become the first female PM of Barbados ?
LikeLike
We are waiting to hear the outcome of Adriel Brathwaite’s investigation of Mia and her LEC.
JA
On 4 July 2015 at 20:55, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
@David July 2, 2015 at 1:32 AM
Dear David: I love your retirement/pension cartoon of July 2nd at 1:32 a.m.
But since the people in the cartoon are not wearing traditional Western clothes…does it mean that other people in other places are also being jucked by their politicians? Cuh dear.
I’ve instructed my little Susie who is only 10 to run as a politician at age 18 to hold the pick for 8 or 10 years and to fire the [politician] wuk/retire at 26 or 28.
I’ve bought her a hammock already
LikeLike
Fractured BLP July 4, 2015 at 4:55 PM #
What is Mia Mottley’s views on gay marriages, as she seek to become the first female PM of Barbados ?
……………………………………………………………………………………….
Or the second!
LikeLike
@http://solutionsbarbados.com/solutions/
“To address the concerns of bribery, a 3-month amnesty will be provided for both the payer and receiver, where each of them can confidentially pay a fine of the value of the bribe. Thereafter, the fine will be 10 times the value of the bribe. The statute of limitations on bribery and other corrupt practises will be Barbados’ date of independence. All investigations, charges, and prosecutions will be confidential.”
Why the amnesty for payers and takers of bribes? Is is because only the wealthy and/or the well connected demand and/or pay bribes?
If my neighbours unruly 17 year old son comes through my window and steals $100 from my wallet (or if I maliciously accuse him of such) does he get a 3 month amnesty also? And if not why not? And will his investigation, charges, and prosecutions be held confidentially? And if not why not? And if the investigation, charges, and prosecution takes place in private how will we the people know that justice has been done?
Why the secret investigations, charges and prosecutions for bribery? Who is solutionsbarbados.com trying to protect and why?
And as a matter of principle I don’t like secret investigations, charges, and prosecutions. Does Solutions Barbados know what Star Chamber means? In modern usage it means legal or administrative bodies with strict, arbitrary rulings and secretive proceedings. This is a pejorative term and intended to cast doubt on the legitimacy of the proceedings.
LikeLike
Lest we forget,job no 1 for EWB in 1961 was to send people to Seawell Airport to pick up rocks near the runway and its environs.Rocks,immortalised in song by Emile Straker.
LikeLike
@http://solutionsbarbados.com/solutions/ “To address teachers’ concerns about very disruptive (eg rude, drugged and violent) students, such students must leave the classroom so that the others can learn. The disruptive student will first receive counselling. If there is no change in the student’s behaviour, then they will be enrolled in the National Youth Service for two weeks where they will receive additional counselling. If there is still no change, then they will be enrolled in the National Youth Service for one year and will have to repeat the school year.”
So lemme give you an example from human services. What if as happens the rude disruptive student has been extensively sexually abused by his/her parent. What if that student requires 3 years of psychotherapy to learn to live with the severe trauma or what if he/she requires a lifetimes worth of psychotherapy?
What then?
If Grenville and his pals think that some Bajan parents do not sexually abuse their own elementary aged school children, and that these children don’t arrive at the school gates deeply, deeply traumatised then he has he has never had a real, real conversation with a school teacher, or a social worker. If he thinks that 2 weeks or one year of counselling can heal these children…
If he thinks that mental illness starts in adulthood…I have to ask where has he been living.
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon,
You sharing some serious licks doh.
I was going to ask the youngster if he firstly and foremostly created his Freedom of Information an Integrity legislation proposal and have it ready to be posted at least on BU but I did watching F1 an Tennis an Soccer an baseball an listening to cricket .
LikeLike
Dear Hants: Multi tasking then. I see that you had a nice sporting afternoon
Actually Grenville/Granville does not have to wait for integrity legislation.
He can give us a list of his assets and liabilities right now. And he can give us the names and addresses of the people or companies to whom he owes money. He can tell us to which clubs or associations, or religious and fraternal organizations he belongs. He can tell us how he acquired his assets. He can tell us where he went to school and where he went to university. Look I had no idea that David Thompson was partial to the Barbados Turf Club until he wrote off a $19 million income tax debt for them. Nobody has ever written off a single cent of tax debt for me.
If Grenville/Granville wants to be seen as different and or better than our current parties, he must come clean and come clear right now. He and all his cohorts.
Because if we don’t get this information from aspiring politicians before we elect them there is no way in hell that we are going to get it after.
There is no need to wait for any integrity legislation. Since integrity cannot be legislated anyhow.
Either you have integrity or you don’t.
And I’ve never belonged to a political party nor lodge in my life. But I vote at every election. And I’ve worked in many elections, both in Barbados and elsewhere in the Commonwealth.
LikeLike
@DAVID AND THE YARD DUCKS; LIKE BUSHIE. (BY THE WEY WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO MILLER?
ANYHOW, THERE ONCE WAS A RIOT AT THE only major prison facility. The prisoners burned the facility, the army was called in. A new prison had to be constructed (Cost was not even debated to any great extent. When the decision was taken (in Cabinet) to award the contract to a crooked company with a crooked head) the Chairman of Cabinet, The Prime Minister was not even in the country, and when he returned the deal was already done. Who was the Attorney General at the time? Why didn’t she resign; as she should have done under the “Rules” of Parliamentary democracy, under the Westminster system, and to this day she has never been called to account?
LikeLike