The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. Huge Oil Import Bill A Threat To Barbadosโ€™ Competitiveness

Managing Director of Solar Dynamics, James Husbands, explaining the benefits of solar energy to Barbadosโ€™ development to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart; the Inter-American Development Bankโ€™s Country Representative, Joel Branski; and Chairman of the National Petroleum Corporation,Sir Harcourt Lewis. (C. Pitt/BGIS)
    Faced with a staggering oil importation bill to the tune of $787 million, Barbados has no choice but to press ahead with energy initiatives if it is to maintain its competitive edge.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart sounded this warning today while addressing a wide cross section of energy experts during the launch of Energy Week at Hilton Barbados
    He added: “This expenditure has undermined our competitiveness and distorted electricity rates to an unprecedented extent. This situation has become the greatest challenge of our time and we cannot continue business as usual,” Mr. Stuart emphasised..
    In light of this situation, the Prime Minister reminded the audience about government’s efforts to develop indigenous
    energy resources that would feed renewable energy gradually into the energy mix.
    Mr. Stuart also outlined the factors that were integral to the realisation of this effort including: the intensification of efforts to maximise production of crude oil and natural gas both onshore and offshore; the diversification of the energy mix to make the use of natural gas and other non-liquid fuels more pronounced in the economy; the
    island-wide introduction and maintenance of energy conservation and energy efficiency measures aimed at maximising efficiency in the use of energy; and the on-going promotion and management of policies and strategies designed to ensure that renewable energy played a more significant role in the economy.
    “We must be cognisant of the reality that fossil fuels will be with us for some time. That is why we are seeking to develop Barbados’ offshore petroleum sector which seeks to access the benefits from the island’s potential natural resources now and in the future,” he observed.

2. The political yardfowls believe WE the citizens do not have a right to express concern about the lack of transparency and environmental concerns about this new technology (plasma gassification). See what is happening in Ireland.

Plug could be pulled on Ireland’s first waste gasification plant

24 July 2015 by Luke Walsh

IRELAND: Local authority is to investigate whether it can terminate a lease signed earlier this year with US-based developers covering land for the proposed facility

Limerick City and County Council has announced an "immediate and comprehensive" review of its signing of a lease with American company Cadence Enviropower for the building of waste gasification plant.

This week the local authority issued a statement saying Limerickโ€™s chief executive was to investigate if the agreement, signed in May this year for land for the proposed development, could be terminated.

The local authority confirmed to ENDS in May it was entering into an agreement worth a total of โ‚ฌ120m to lease the land for 30-years to the company.

But, the authority now appears to have got cold feet, following a backlash from councillors, residents and negative local media coverage.

Its statement says there is "public concern" about the proposal and options "including the question of the termination of this agreement" should be investigated.

However, it may not be able to stop the development now is has signed the lease, as under Irish planning laws the future of the facility will be decided by national planning body An Bord Pleanala โ€“ not the local authority.

It is understood Cadence Enviropower has not yet put in a formal planning application to An Bord Pleanala for what would be the countryโ€™s first waste gasification facility.

If built the plant will have an electrical capacity of 36MW generated from processing 350,000 tonnes of waste per year.

3. RastaR August 3, 2015 at 2:44 AM

Who is Liz Spencer?

4. St George's Dragon Avatar

Cost of electricity from oil – $0.19/kW
    Cost of electricity from Cahill – $0.45kW

5. Barbadians want to hear in Parliament from PM Stuart if the WTE is a reality.Only then would there be a move to the High Court with a bariffle of objections.Until then,Lowe Boyce,Sinckler and Kellman can remain free to walk about.

6. Site sought for $300 million Caribbean clean energy plant

Published on July 15, 2013 Email To Friend Print Version

London-based 7th Heaven Properties, specialists in residential and commercial Caribbean real estate, has been exclusively appointed by Cahill Energy to source and evaluate sites across the Caribbean Basin region to build a US$300 million waste to energy plant utilising the most innovative technology available to transform all kinds of waste into clean, renewable energy.

Cahill Energy, which was established to finance, build, own and operate utility-scale waste to energy plants in key markets, has appointed 7th Heaven Properties to initiate a search across the Caribbean islands and Central America for the ideal site which would provide a leading edge, environmentally sound solution to two of the regionโ€™s most pressing challenges: waste management and energy security.

Landfill is currently the most commonly used waste disposal method in the Caribbean and Central America, but with waste generation rates rapidly rising as a result of population growth, urbanization and economic development, many landfill sites across the region are reaching capacity. With the Caribbean Basin region producing approximately 60 million tonnes of solid waste each year, governments recognise that more efficient, sustainable and environmentally-friendly waste management and disposal solutions are required as a matter of urgency.

Most Caribbean and Central American countries and territories also face an energy security challenge. Largely reliant on imported sources of fossil fuels to meet soaring demand for energy, they are vulnerable to fluctuating energy prices and struggling to meet renewable energy targets.

Cahill Energy’s waste to energy technology represents a solution to both these challenges. Across Europe, where waste to energy goes hand in hand with waste minimisation and recycling initiatives, waste is commonly diverted away from landfill sites to about 400 plants in countries such as Germany, Denmark and the Netherlands. A continuous stream of new sites is coming online in Europe, as well as China, Japan and India. Sweden has even begun importing garbage from neighbouring European countries, which is transformed into clean, renewable energy to power homes.

Cahill Energy plans to invest US$300 million of its own funds in the development of a waste to energy plant utilising proven, patented waste to energy technology already in use in four commercial facilities worldwide; with additional plants under construction in the UK and China. Using plasma gasification technology (the most effective and environmentally friendly method of waste treatment available) the plant would transform almost all kinds of solid waste into clean, renewable energy, providing a new domestic energy source for the selected location and reducing reliance on imported fuel. Unlike landfill, incineration and other less efficient waste to energy technology in use elsewhere, plasma gasification produces almost zero emissions.

Walter Zephirin, managing director of 7th Heaven Properties, commented: “We are delighted to have been appointed by Cahill Energy and to be working with Cahill on realising a clean, green solution to the Caribbean’s waste management and energy security challenges โ€“ issues of critical importance to sustainable development and economic growth in the Caribbean.”

Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy, added: “I am delighted to be working closely with 7th Heaven Properties, our exclusive representative, to develop opportunities for us to invest in the Caribbean region. We consider that the Caribbean has considerable potential as it has both major challenges in reducing waste going to landfill and a recognised need for renewable energy.”

7. So speckled fowl David what was the point of the article outside to trigger speculation.

8. Thine hignorance knows no bounds, Simply Barbados welcomes you.

9. Cahill was to invest its own money. The only problem is that Cahill does not have any money, Jesus man it does not even have an office and its registered address in Canada is a budget airport hotel in Ottawa.

10. The local population could not get a credible answer on emissions and e mission control from the builder who openly admitted they could not guarantee the level of toxic emissions from this plant

11. Interesting in the U.S. there is a debate about to fly about reducing emissions and integrating greater clean energy solutions. It is a amazing that as a SID Barbados would not want to lead the effort to move to a sustainable waste solution.

12. Liz Spencer is the former cco of Cahill who fell foul of crazy lady and left being owed a shit load of money by the Cahill
    She was a shareholder in Cahill international that was tanked by Cowan to avoid her bills

13. Is Liz Spencer receptive to coming public with concerns?

14. I will reach out to her and see what she has to say

15. Bajans against $700M Waste to Energy Plant

PRESS STATEMENT

The Facebook Group โ€œBajans Against $700M Waste to Energy Plant,โ€ was started to educate Barbadians about the dangers of gasification plants and their effects on health and the environment. The group has approximately 8,000 members on Facebook and is led by Kammie Holder. The group has started two initiatives, one to Say No to the Cahill Plant and two, the introduction of Zero Waste Barbados.

On Kadooment Day volunteers will be seeking signatures for our petition which is asking the Government of Barbados to abandon the proposal to build the Cahill Plasma Gasification Plant. The petition is also located at https://www.change.org/p/the-government-of-barbados-abandon-the-proposal-to-build-a-700m-plasma-gasification-plant-in-barbados.

Volunteers will also be handing out arms bands. We have chosen the environmentally friendly color green to make it known that we are against the plasma gasification plant and advocating that a zero waste policy be adopted. We will be therefore asking band members to show support for these two initiatives by wearing the green arm bands.

Kammie Holder can be contacted at Tel. no. : 246-429-9100

16. It is quite interesting to read the comments relating to this fraudster Claire Cowan. I totally agree that she should be called to account for the sham she’s pushing, but I think that real pressure should be put on those four corrupt politicians who signed off of the so-called contract. They are the ones who should be feeling the heat from all this mess.
    There are some very informative posts coming from the likes of Bush Tea, Artax,Gabriel, Piece of de rock among others. What I can’t understand is why do these posters bother to comment on the trash written by Alvin Cummins, Dompey and the many ACs. I said many because the rubbish coming from AC is reflective of more than one writing style. Basically all foolishness anyhow. I’m convinced that the main character of the AC consortium is one Cat’s Eyes aka Irene Sandiford-Garner

17. Sea Egg

I would expect no less from a man with an intellect as infinitesimal as your own.

18. @ Sea Egg

Listen! I am honestly concern and somewhat perturbed by the level of disrespect that is being left unchecked as well as uncensored by certain favored elements of the BU community, who have been given a license to act without impunity. Now it isn’t my design to malign neither my purpose to take affront to those persons who are forthright in their judgment of the opposing narrative here on BU, but what I refuse to accept is the blatant impertinence which is being manufactured by an individual who makes it his affair to unleash what I would term: a litany of damaging insults aimed fundamentally at the self-esteem of those persons who I would assume, arenโ€™t too sure of themselves. And this I would imagine is disconcerting because it undermines the aim and vitiates the good intentions of BU, and good intentions devoid of the proper moral conduct can undermine the most nobles of goals. Now having said that, I am not proposing that we ought to not have a difference of opinion; it is inevitable and does arise from to time to time, nevertheless; there are respectful ways of dealing with such occurrences. Now with that being noted, it hasn’t escape my notice however, that when David and Bush Tea do dialogue (as their do quite frequently here on BU) the tone of their conversation has always been civil, even though at times their do disagree on matters of impotence. Why then can’t we as a group of forward thinking people of a rational intelligibility, exercise as well as exhibit, the same care and allot the same kind respect to those persons whose opinions affronts the prevailing worldview here on BU? I don’t particularly know what would possess some us to think that it is okay for men as well as women in the vale of years to resort or respond with an attitude of condemnation because another’s point of approach to a given issue before deliberation widely differs from our own? Now that I have identified what I do believe is a culture of impertinence which has been allowed to flourish unabatedly here on BU for quit something now, my only wish and desire is that those with listening ears and receptive hearts give a small measure of consideration to this meager but nonetheless, important concern. Bush Tea, this concern may I add: has little to do with the male inner-steel as well as his testicular and intestinal fortitude, and more to do with the basic respect which every man and woman is entitled to have. There is something about not valuing a person’s opinion because it doesn’t warrants one’s interest or hasn’t met that standard of validation, but it becomes rather disquieting when one assaults a person’s character with a reckless disregard for that person’s emotional and psychological state because of his rendered opinion to the contrary. Do not take for granted or dismiss at face value the fact that just because some of us are in the green of age that we do not harbor some of the same insecurities and fears that are conducive to those in the heyday of youth. And lastly, it is to be admitted that I myself has also been guilt of surrendering my pride and dignity, but in instances where my response to a given issue incurred the unjustified displeasure of the prevailing narrative here on BU. Nevertheless, I shall say this to the educated and ignorant alike: it has no foundation in reality or is it of no vital importance to assault the character of oneโ€™s country man and woman because of difference of opinion.

19. Hi David, my number is 430-4695. We owe a gratitude to you for your support for this Cahill smacks of poor governance and the inability of the citizens to hold politicians accountable. Its impossible to fathom how any brain with a modicum of reasonableness can support this Cahill deal.

1) It lacks transparency as espoused under the Rio Declaration Principle 10.

2) 30% baseload is what Barbados Light & Power will have to cede thus the question begs what will happen when the Cahill plant is off grid for 35 days yearly for maintenance?

3) Plasma Gasification is not Green Energy for its not natural and its destroys matter to make energy and also creates a toxic by-product daily thus its really Greenwashing.

4) What impact will the discovery of oil within our territorial waters have on the secret Power Purchase Agreement in lieu of the government having to purchase all the electricity from Cahill.

5) Why would the Government want to purchase electricity from Cahill more expensive than what it pays Barbados Light & Power Co Ltd? Will Cahill be subsidized by GOB to meet the nearly $113M yearly projected revenue.

6) Who will monitor air quality in the absence of environmental justice as well as the current lax enforcement by EPD? Checker Hall residents still suffer daily after 30 years while the High Court tells them to live with the PM10 and PM2.5 for its a public good. Will Cahill Plant cease operation if pollutants are found to be above acceptable standards knowing it contributes 30% of the baseload to the grid?

7) The Late Prof Oliver Headley research shows that due to our location to the equator every 120sq ft of surface sunlight hits can be used to capture as much as 3kwh of electricity.

8) Recycling and Gasification/ Incineration cannot coexist for one promotes a circular economy while the other a linear economy. The more we destroy the more we have to mine.

9) 90% of the municipal waste in Barbados is recycable and if the government really wanted to deal with the waste management issue they would legislate recycling. Thus new recyclers like B`s would collect items for free as it create an income stream and also encourages new recycling startups.

10) What is the commission or finders fee and will FATCA be used to uncover if any persons holding Bajan nationality will be receiving 19% as fees.

Plasma Gasification has its merit but not for a Small Island Developing state so small and dependant on tourism. Just as the foolish man built his house on the sand so too are these fools proposing a plant on a hill above our platinum coast.

I have no time to engage partisans working to defend their political masters ideas. The Future Centre Trust, Zero Waste Barbados Movement and the facebook page ” Bajans Against the $700M Waste To Energy Plant” will be steadfast in demanding transparency, dialogue, good governance and accountability for we have the support of BARP and the Unions. We will not allow another Greenland for its time our politicians understand who truly holds the power!

20. The new Zero Waste Barbados Movement is made up of a wide cross section of Bajans. We will be meeting with retailers to address the issue of the 100 million or more plastic bags used yearly in Barbados. If Peter Gilkes or any persons with strong influence with DLP can facilitate a dialogue the Zero Waste Barbados Movement would welcome the opportunity for a conversation.

.Zero Waste Barbados Movement is seeking volunteers in the following areas as we cannot expect the government to do it all.

Finance
    Fundraising/ Crowdfunding
    Media/ Marketing
    Corporate Secretary/ Legal
    Advocacy
    Business Plan Writing
    Compliance/ Governance
    Project Management
    Business Development
    Engineer/ Chemical or Energy
    Emission Experts.

Persons desirous of offering their skills can contact Mrs Claire Worme, Rae Laurie or Heather Cole via the facebook page ” Bajans Against the $700M Waste To Energy Plant”

Our email is zerowastebarbados@gmail.com

21. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Very well said Mr. Holder. Pellucid, indeed.

And your cute remark “Just as the foolish man built his house on the sand so too are these fools proposing a plant on a hill above our platinum coast” has the making of a lovely cartoon caricature for the entire scam. That truly captures the grave unknowns of the project.

Forward ever…

22. Mr. Holder

I wish you well as Barbados foremost advocate regarding the environmental impact of this new plant. But one would think that the epidemic of Cancer in Barbados ought to supersede the minor environmental concerns regarding the construction of this new plant. Both young and old are succumbing to this pathology, and we arenโ€™t asking for improve treatments and an effective public awareness campaign?

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sea Egg

Sometimes in the middle of Life’s “play” you have to stop in Act 1 Scene 3 and look at the clouds, admire the flowers, commune with nature and speak and be kind to the animals (both two legged and four legged)

It isn’t that many of us who engage the dauntless duo dont know the cardinal rule here or do not smile when we see the words “thine ignorance knoweth no bounds” I guess that it is a sort of catharsis where with all the Municipal Taxes, the CLICO fiasco, the Cahill WTE, the $5m in we muddah account, the state of the country sometimes…sometimes some of us pause and let off a little steam and entertain ourselves and some others with our remarks.

Ask any one of us if we would engage those people up close in any real real talk, everyone would tell you no, but for the 45 seconds one will glance at the idiocy and the 2 or 3 minutes to respond, it does not take too much off us to engage.

Mind you you cannot do it every day.

You need to understand the reason that BU exists.

It is in these cyberwalls that we can come and vent, and speak truths, and lies, big up ourselves like Alvin Clarke did here the other day, hopeful that no one knows our sins, and then, once someone knows who we are and tells the rest of us of our indiscretions, run for the hills.

BU is truly a place where “For the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can do” can at least peep through the morass of everyday life in Barbados.

And a man or woman can talk (even if we are not doers) we can talk and make ourselves feel good.

This is the village square of 2015 where, even if you cant go to a fellow house and put up you foot pun he sofa, and drink a Owen Arfur, sorry Alleyne Arfur, you can come here and cross swords wid he “poor great” skunt.

Most of us here, be we hunkie, nigger, buckra johnnie, or jes plain johnnie, loves our country. The passion of that love comes through even though some of us cant tie two sentences together if our lives depended on it.

And sometimes in the middle of the quarreling about if COW has racist policies against his staff, or if DownLowe tief de $5M, or Stinkliar is a psychotic liar or Mia did bite out the ting dat dem say that she did, a fellow or lady may not like whu you saying, but will marvel at the fact that you dont ease up in your beliefs.

Many times Irene will be talking bout her party and saying something and then someone brass her up and she eases off (to rise up tomorrow pun a next ingrunt topic but to rise again)

We are here genuinely hoping for some spark of enlightenment or Words of Power that will change “lead to gold” and make Barbados shrug of this state of “bottomless pit” we are in so that all of us can rise and raise our heads again instead of just “surviving”

24. Coepi is gets ignorantia non est numerus.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dompey.

It is really hard for anyone to talk to you ingrunt self.

Yuu is really a piece of Alpine Goat mixed wid some wild boar pig!!

You see whu de topic of this blog is??

โ€œCAHILL ENERGY BARBADOS WTE PROJECT โ€“ CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM MARCH 2015โ€

How de france you get to telling Mr. Holder who by the way is not the foremost environmentalist in Barbados, bout Cancer???

Look I is one of those who pray that before life’s fleeting breath escapes you, as it will soon escape de ole man, and all uh we, be we saint or Prime Minister, it is my hope that you get a likkle common sense

But in the meantime here is some English homeword for your Donkey.

In your earlier post to Sea Egg you said “..who have been given a license to act without impunity” It is not without impunity: impunity means exemption (from punishment), freedom from liability and if you put WITHOUT in front of it, the double negative imputes positive which in this case DOES NOT MAKE SENSE!!

Then you go on later to cast a remark at the libido of the Blogmaster and BU High Priest Bush Tea when you misspoke and said “…even though at times their do disagree on matters of impotence….”

Now it is already known that you have a problem with “their” and “they” but by switching out “importance” with “impotence” you have done these two men a serious wrong in terms of their (not they) prowess and lack of need of Cialis and Viagra.

Unless you will now submit doctor’s records to the Blogmaster about his “shortcomings” I suggest that you take back these libelous comments forthwith especially the Blogmaster who has your IP address and knows where you live

I have it on good authority Bush Tea has a Weed Wacker AND A BUSH MASTER ACR Designated Marksman Rifle and I tink dat you would be advised to say dat you sorry in you next posting and dat you ent gine say it no more…

Or at least teif some Cialis and Viagra from de horspital dat you wukking at in America and send it to de two uh dem Fedex

26. de Ingrunt Word wrote “the foolish man built his house on the sand”.

You are aware that it is not foolish to build a house on sand if you use the correct foundation.

27. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Dompey, as wonderfully astute as you are I am sure that you caught the news related to Pres Obama’s announcement today re plans to further circumscribe emissions and so on. Just recently of course he was in Africa talking to leaders there about a lot of things: free and fair elections and rights of homosexual couples to name two. He actually took a firm rebuttal from one of the leaders on that homosexual ting.

All the while he was also dealing with the big hiccup with the Trans-Pacific trade deal and lo and behold just y’day there was a hint from one of the news sites that his big supporter in the Senate, Schumer, is leaning towards disavowal on the Iran deal. Oh unleavened bread, that would be a catastrophe if true.

Oh and I am sure you are ware that at least four people have died from the outbreak of Legionnaires disease in Bronx, NY. This thing has killed more people that Ebola and thousands more (even you there) could already be affected even as I write this.

And today is Kadooment in Bim and Rhianna getting us some great publicity as usual jamming up the place with her bod displayed across the net in a lovely costume.

How many people died from cancer in Barbados or your hometown in the 30 secs it took you to read that?

Do you know how many lives could be affected by airbourne particles, contamination of the environment or any other issues related to this plasma plant? No you don’t and neither do I.

So with your astute, multi talented perspectives don’t you believe its possible that Mr Holder can advocate on this project while all the other things of life continue apace.

I am sure he can handle this matter even as he deals with other things. You show us daily how ‘polymath’ you are as Artax said, so why do you perceive this matter stops him or us from dealing with life’s other problems!

That’s a rather limiting perspective for a deep thinker like yourself, isn’t it?

28. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Pieces, I prefer your style of dealing with the Dompmeister. I was trying the soft touch method akin to Artax’s precise, informed approach but without the full throttle scolding.

Alas, I think I’ll leave it to you and Artax. He needs a proper Bajan upside the head sprinkling, really.

And btw as the Latin man here can you trans David’s note! O me miserum, and a few others are my limit.

@Hants, well I do know that it takes deep, deep reinforcements to effect proper foundation on sandy soil.

If you got the time, the view is stunning and the ambiance on-site is heavenly then many a man has made a fool of himself erecting what he thought was the right foundation! But in the end sandy soils sway too much and eventually the best buildings show cracks.

29. Dompey

Have you ever heard of paragraphs? Or do you know what is a paragraph? If so, please use it in your posts……….other posters who want to read your posts can endure them!

30. @ de Ingrunt Word, I think I understand the parable (Biblical) but

There are houses in Barbados that were built on sand one of which was built in 1980 and has not suffered any cracks as yet.

http://civilconstructiontips.blogspot.ca/2011/06/raft-foundation.html

31. @ Hants
    There are houses in Barbados that were built on sand one of which was built in 1980 and has not suffered any cracks as yet.
    Boss, quite apart from the poor foundation, there are other issues related to building on sand …not the least of which is called Kick’em Jenny….

…then there is the possible movement of sand due to wind and waves – such that your house (on your expensive solid foundation) can be covered or left high and dry..

…there is the (now ever increasing) smell of decaying sargassum
    …and there are the ubiquitous beach bum always buzzing around….

Listen Hants, Dee Word is correct, Um is a foolish man that builds his house on the sand…

32. @ Piece
    Bushie was about to upbraid Dompey for his impotent remark, but had second thoughts for two reasons…
    1 – Domps probably can’t grasp the difference anyhow ..so why waste the space..?
    2 – Bushie fully expects Islandgal (if she is honest) to FULLY refute any such charges against Bushie… ๐Ÿ™‚

33. i speak rubbish but yuh know what with all the persuasive power of the environmentalist WTE plants are being built all around the world and you know why govts worldwide can no longer sustain their economies with the staggering cost of energy along with landfills being filled to capacity and with little or no land left to be accessed for land fills,
    AS the technology improves gastification is being endorsed and well received by professionals and expertise in the knoweldge of waste and energy management and govts as well
    Some nit wit was arguing that the 700 million was a lot of money for the plant but if one take a look at the oil import bill which is about a staggering 800million and would increase in the future multiply each year going forward in about twenty years barbados and the taxpayers would have paid more than a billion dollars in energy cost with no end in sight not to mention built in charges applied through purchases and personnel usage
    for some these prevailing and unsustainable facts might mean nothing as long as their interest is being protected ,, but for some who are sick and tired of high energy bills the bottom line comes down to savings
    So to those who opposed and are flying high by the seat of the pants bring some hard facts that can be applied to tackle waste management and energy cost all combined

34. @ Piece.
    Thanks for enlightening me as to why you take those two or three minutes to engage those morons. Must admit that I have very low tolerance for such people

35. @ Dompey
    Did you read over what you wrote @ 3:54 pm? Take a little time and re-read it. Tell me if it really makes any sense to you. I’m sure that you can do much better (I hope) with the content and construction. I shall not be replying to anything else from you untill you up your game. Stop using fancy language to say simple things. Perhaps you are trying too hard to emulate your beloved Prime Minister. I only went to UWI so I may not know much, but try to remember KISS. Keep It Simple, Stupid

36. Prodigal
    I missed your response to Dompey. Just saw it. Thanks. Perhaps he needs to take a course leading up to the eleven plus. He badly needs it

37. pieceuhderockyeahright August 3, 2015 at 5:04 PM #

โ€œIn your earlier post to Sea Egg you said โ€œ..who have been given a license to act without impunityโ€ It is not without impunity: impunity means exemption (from punishment), freedom from liability and if you put WITHOUT in front of it, the double negative imputes positive which in this case DOES NOT MAKE SENSE!!โ€

โ€œThen you go on later to cast a remark at the libido of the Blogmaster and BU High Priest Bush Tea when you misspoke and said โ€œโ€ฆeven though at times their do disagree on matters of impotenceโ€ฆ.โ€

Piece, Donkey mentioned the following in his previous contributions:

โ€œDompey August 3, 2015 at 12:48 PM #: Oh please! Who doesnโ€™t know how to employ the words There, their, and they correctly, within a given sentence (YOU DONโ€™T, Dompey). Man have you heeded my advice as of yet? Listen! I have studied thousands of extraordinary words during the course of my life and best that you can do is to accuse me of employing the word โ€œthereโ€ incorrectly? What a poor attempt to save face Artar (Artax). Shame on you sir.โ€

โ€œDompey August 3, 2015 at 1:05 PM #: I fail to grasp the complexity associated with employing the word โ€œthereโ€ correctly within a given sentence. Come now Artar (Artax), weโ€™re not talking about the quantum physics and the inner workings of the electron, proton and the neutron; nor the differentiation and definition of the gravitation, centripetal and centrifugal forces?โ€

Piece, when yuh geh a idjut nuff rope, he does eventually hang heself. After all a dat highfuluting writing, the idjut hang heself and proved me correct in the process.

Dompey has proven, without reasonable doubt, that he is a pseudo-intellectual who should face the law court on a fraud charge, to wit, impersonating a sensible individual.

38. Prodigal, I am not as fortunate as yaโ€™ll fellas. listen! I was pissed off at Sea Egg comment regarding myself and two others earlier today, so I wrote that piece on my notepad quickly. I hope you know what a notepad is and where it is located on the computer. It take much skill and effort to write on the notepad because there isnโ€™t any spellcheck etc, and few of the features Microsoft Word offers the modern user. So do you have any more questions for me sir? And by the way, I am not writing a thesis paper, so I am at liberty take poetic license.

39. dompey why u let them buzzards get under yuh skin. steupse do like me dont give a rats a,ss wuh they think
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

Plasma gasification: Clean renewable fuel through vaporization of waste

http://www.waste-management-world.com/articles/print/volume-10/issue-4/features/plasma-gasification-clean-renewable-fuel-through-vaporization-of-waste.html

40. Artar,

Man go and hide someway because I have already given my reason as to why I wrote that piece. And by the way: youโ€™re still an egotistical nincompoop in my book, irrespective of the cheap shots youโ€™re taking.

41. Okay AC, I will listen to the voice of reason. The only voice here as for as I am concern.

42. Dompey right now them and old man farting bricks because Barbados is seeing the best of times peeps dancing in the street and showing off how much confidence they are willing to give to this 1666sq miles, if i were them lost souls i would be miserable as shit too nobody paying them no mind, the people went out all to make the crop over festivle a huge success and spend money like crazy,
    dompey leave them alone they do what they do best antagonize !mumble and grumble
    Boo! Boo! Ha! Ha!
    Dompey dont forget to read the article. i emailed a copy to all my friends and advice them to do the same,
    These rabblerousers think they have the right and ownership to every opinion and all others is nonsense

43. @ Dompey

It’s not my fault you’re an idiot. That’s not a cheap shot, it’s a FACT. Even Piece and De Word highlighted your ignorance.

And as from today, this “egotistical nincompoop” will critique ALL your contributions just to make you aware how stupid you actually are.

44. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

AC, I give in to the folks who honestly read your remarks expecting to see some semblance of reason and as I am the nitwit you so warmly described in your own engaging way let me discourse with you further.

So, you have correctly identified (as we all have said repeatedly) that there is a definitive need for new energy sources other than oil and better more effective waste management processes. You are convinced the Plasma Gasification is a suitable alternative. Again reasonable.

I agree on your first point but remain unconvinced on the second one for all the reasons that have already been exhaustively noted on these pages and most recently excellently stated by Mr. Holder. He actually presented wonderful points re your assertion ” bring some hard facts …” so no need to repeat all that here again.

But tell me this, how does this plant proposal address our energy needs if the projected cost of the energy per KwH is a multiple higher than what the BL&P are currently producing? The costs allegedly offered are BL&P $0.19/kW vrs WTE/Cahill โ€“ $0.45kW.

That’s 235% increase in cost. Or 168% based on average cost. So a pensioner spending $150/month using this avg cost would spend $252.

But that is a very simplistic calculation (nit wittish even) because it would be asinine to expect an increase in cost of living to that extent after such a project. So clearly you already to know what we don’t that if completed government will subsidise this effort and offer the cost/kWh at the going BL&P cost.

It’s clear why you are so right and we are all nit-wits, speckled fowls, old farts, and all sorts of pejoratives.

So I applaud your awesome strategy to tackle our ‘staggering energy cost’ by subsidizing a higher cost technology.

That certainly is the sort of thinking outside the box strategising that will change our lives for ever!

45. People were dancing in the streets and spending money from the time the Crop Over Festival was conceptualized.

46. de Ingrunt Word August 3, 2015 at 8:14 PM #

De Word, I endorse your comments 1,000%.

The ACs are experts on tourism, economics, WTE plants and EVERY OTHER topic posted to BU for discussion.

“Jacks of all trades, but masters of none.”

47. IF what you say is true why are govts endorsing this kind of alternative energy are you saying that these govts are clueless or mad
    This is not a new model of alternative energy. furthemore their is sufficient proof that what you are saying is not true given the fact that govts have not shy away from the use of WTE plants ands more are being built
    You guys are trying to prove a point against an open window of evedience that says you are wrong.
    Ac does not have to be a wordsmith to present an argument of proof when the proof is open for all to see
    the fact that some might not like Cahill does not remove all evedience that gives relevancy and necessity for WTE plants in a country that is spending million of dollars on energy and have an environmental problem connected to waste management and to which both would only get worse in years
    i am not saying that some questions are unnecessary to be asked but also give a solutions that far out weighed what we have now to sustain our energy and waste problems, and please do not tell me to separate my garbage i do not have time for that,

48. Artaxerxes

Crop Over has been going on for years. Even in the worst of times under the DLP’s Sandi, the hurricane, people were dancing in the streets.

AC does not understand this and that from tomorrow we are back to facing the reality of how HARD life is in Barbados for many people. The dlp yardfowls are only concerned with …we are winning”. I wonder what!

What simpleton!

49. Oh well! sorry guys you were not invited to this party ,,ammmm Security,,, two yardfowls just flew over the fence ,,,