David Granger - Guyana's President elect
David Granger – Guyana’s President elect

Regional politicians were quick to call on former Prime Minister Denzil Douglas of St. Kitts and Nevis to jump ship when the results were obviously being suppressed. Did we hear a similar clamour directed at Romotar in the wake of the confusion in Guyana? The Caricom Secretariat is located in Georgetown for those who look to symbolic arguments.

Based on the latest news coming out of Guyana the National Unity and Alliance for Change Coalition (APNU+AFC) edged the Romotar led PPP/C by 5,493 votes and therefore ended 23 years in office.

We pray for sanity to take root.

PRELIMINARY RESULTS FOR GENERAL ELECTIONS:

CHART-1

PRELIMINARY RESULTS FOR REGIONAL ELECTIONS:

CHART-2

22 responses to “Romotar Led PPP/C Booted Out of Office”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

They did not Hire GT worker to work on the Hotel , Well now they may get back in to clean Banking , Barbados will be the next to fall from fraud,

2. We have the silly situation where former President Ramotar is claiming the PPP/C won the election,yet the simpleton does not recognise his and his party’s folly of calling for a total recount.If the PPP/C won why would he call for a recount.Another example of the JA’s which Caribbean societies throw up to run in elective politics.
    The simple reason why there is not a peek from anybody is that the Guyana Indian does not identify with the Caribbean as much as they do with India.Kamla Persad-Bissessar the same stupidity.Now put in her place by the deputy DPP in today’s Express.

3. Fractured BLP Avatar

Gabriel

Talking about Kamla Bissessar the shocking revelation from the Dep DPP about the way the PP misled Trinbagonians about the Emailgate saga is a case study in itself.

Say what we want about the politicians on both sides of the political divide ….I am sure that the way the losing incumbent parties in St. Kitts and Guyana behaved recently
    we can be sure you would not see from a BLP or DLP administration in Barbados.

Just reprehensible behaviour by Douglas and Ramotar.

4. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ Fractured BLP. ..You are so right that you couldn’t imagine. The present bunch of misfits is so overwhelmed by the act of biting off more than it can chew that the date when they become eligible for pension can’t come fast enough. If it be God’s will I hope to witness a collapse before that date. This admiinistrationnneeds to be put out of its misery.

5. Is it our imagination or are all issues in the Caribbean steeped in the political.

6. I service and diesel up my pickup truck to join hosay,hines and dem to bring dese damn Dems to dey nees.my insurance and road tax pay so let oral williams try he foolishness like how he threatening ppl yesterday at Paragon.

7. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

There will never be a big fuss over which party wins in Barbados in the streets or in the NEWS , Both the BLP and DLP are the same animals,. We may see something in the Street when 3rd Party or NEXT party wins , that have nothing to do with the DLP or BLP , Then to expose the crooks liars and scumbags crooking the People money in their own PVT pockets , By way of building agreements , VAT and TAX stick ups,

8. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Barbadians are familiar with spontaneous combustion. They have now been exposed to ignition of desperation. It’s gonna take much more than that to frustrate the will of a battered people.

9. Why do they become so greedy after holding office for X amount of years and never want to give up leaching off of and being parasites on the taxpayers…steupss

10. The humourous column Dem Boys Seh in Kaieteur News today sez:-
    “The death is announced of de PPPC that had been in power for 23 long years as de former government of Guyana.It fell in a coma on May 11 and was pronounced dead,yesterday May 14th following a major defeat.De injury was caused by the apnu+afc coalition
    De leaders were Bald Head Jagdeo,Donald Duck and Madea Harper.It carried with it Blind Sam and all de ministers including Beri Best,Ashley Singh,Analisa Nandalall,Dutty Beard Luncheon,Goat Mouth Rohee Nightin Gail,Rob de Earth,Irfaat and others too corrupt to mention.
    Friends of Babbie,Brassington,Boyah,Fip Mootilal,Bai Shan Lin,Wong On,Bryanna Yong and others too corrupt to mention.Relatives of theives,liars,grabbers,abusers,
    cheaters,scamps,contractahs,such as Bee Kay,Dax,and others too corrupt to mention.
    The funeral of the late PPPC will take place on Sunday May 17.Burial will take place at de mansion of Bald Head Jagdeo,de man who resemble de devil,at Pradoville 2,East
    Coast Demerara.
    No wreaths by request;too corrupt to have that.TODAY WE SAY GOODBYE PPPC.U CAN’T REST IN PEACE.From ashes to ashes,dust to dust,may you forever remain dead.
    Talk half and please note,wake is being held at Babu Jaan.”

11. GECOM in Guyana are now saying that in accordance with the law,they have until tomorrow Saturday 16th May to make a final declaration of the result of the Monday May 11th poll,all this despite various local and international bodies calling for the declaration to be made without further delay.The voting process was given the thumbs up by the US,UK,Canadian and Commonwealth observers as well as those from Caricom,OAS and the Carter center.Local bodies such as the Guyana Bar Association,Guyana Association of Women Lawyers,Justice Institute of Guyana,Transparency Institute in Guyana,Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry,and the Private Sector Commission have all advised the PPPC to accept the people’s will and move on.
    Tyrants like Jagdeo don’t give up power.They have to be forced to do so.Jagdeo and a number of Caribbean politicians think they can frustrate the will of the people all the time.As Sparrow sang ………….not this time,not this time,not this time.

12. This is typical Indian behavior.In Trinidad Kamla Persaud-Bissesar is doing all within her powers to hold on to power. A stupid unnecessary suspension of Dr. Keith Rowley from parliament. Trying to force the run-off bill through parliament so that her party would have a greater chance of winning marginal seats.
    In Guyana,the PPP has to be worst government in the history of any Caribbean country.It has further reduced Guyana status as not only the most corrupt country in the Caribbean but also the Caribbean country with the most stupid leader. The imbecile Donlad Ramotar indicated that ‘GECOM’ acronym for Guyanana Election Commission was in cahoots with the Coalition to rig the elections.Total nonsense.I thought if any rigging is to occur,it would have been done by the government in power.I want it explain how can an opposition party rig an election?
    Donald Ramotar,Bharat Jagdeo,Dr Leslie Ramsammy,Winston Brassington,Dr Bobby Ramroop,the idiot Clement Rohee and others have so much to lose as a result of this election loss that they have resort to all sort of means to frustrate the final declaration of a winner.
    Bharat Jagdeo is a racist.He is also under scrutiny for the wealth he has accumulated as President of Guyana.Dr Leslie Ramsammy has connections with the notorious drug runner Roger Khan who is now languishing in a US jail.He is implicated in the killing of hundred of Black boys and men during the crime spree between 2004-2007. Bobby Ramroop & Winston Brassington were the recipients of hefty bogus contracts.I would not even discuss the most incompetent nincompoop Clemet Rohee. A disgrace as a Minister of Home Affairs.A Minister responsible for National Security and cannot get a USA visa.
    Indians where ever they are create havoc. The Indian race is the most corrupt,They always have this belief that they can trick you.They love bribes. They always considered themselves the victims.I hope Black Barbadians are observing the happenings in Guyana and Trinidad.Our turn is next if we do not control the influx of Indians from India,Trinidad and especially Guyana

13. @ Gabriel,

My knowledge of Guyana and her politics are limited. I like you was relieved with the outcome of this election and would like to know if the winning coalition cuts across racial lines. I hope that Guyana can set an example to the rest of the Caribbean region, and wish them well.

I “stumbled” across the article below which was written back in August 2014. This article is telling in that the Author makes an assertion that the forthcoming election (read: “yesterday’s election”) could spell the death knell for those of African descent residing in Guyana. He alludes to a species that could be on the brink of extinction who share the same economic, political and social status of those emancipated slaves from the early nineteen century!

South Africa, Mauritius, Kenya, Uganda, Trinidad and Guyana are examples of countries which confirm that our Indian friends can never be trusted and should never be indulged. The so called Indian hero “Gandhi” was a racist who detested and hated blacks. This is something that is rarely discussed but there is plenty of evidence out there that confirms my point. Check out the period he spent whilst living in South Africa.

This sickness in Guyana has infiltrated Barbados and other parts of the Caribbean; and confirms to me that the African – wherever he resides – has been put on earth to be harassed and persecuted in perpetuity. Lessons are never learned. History has never been our strongest point.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2014/08/01/have-afro-guyanese-become-like-afro-brazilians/

14. Exclaimer
    Recall what happened in Fiji in the recent past.The descendants of Indian labourers assumed political office much to the dismay of the native Fijians.For that reason I wonder why under the administration of a student of history,so called,this present Prime Minister allowed an enclave of musslemen to establish a beach head in Clairmont.Mark my word,that signals the demise of the native Bajan culture and way of life.Just now you will be assaulted not by a church bell summoning the faithful to worship but by a man howling from a tower like a jackal.And they will in another 50 years take over Barbados

15. @ Gabriel,
    The black race is the ultimate neo-liberalist. We are so open to other races/nationalities coming into our countries, establishing businesses, purchasing land and properties, employing us; and over relative short periods of time ruling over us.

I have in my hands, The Nation newspaper dated 12 September 2014 with the screaming headlines: “Muslims’ New Home – Religious group developing community in Clermont”. As a UK born and bred son of Afro-Bajan descent, I was horrified when I read this headline.

It is clear to me that the Barbados government has given up on those of African descent. It would like Barbados to embrace multiculturalism as a means of boosting their economy; but has failed to understand the consequence that such a policy will have on the stability of the island.

By the way your timeline of 50 years is a ridiculous underestimation. If the status quo remains, I would argue that 15 years is a more reasonable prediction.

16. I feel bad for PPP/C. Regardless of what anyone thinks, they lead Guyana out of the economic doldrums. The country is growing, unemployment have fallen, infrastructure is abounding. I guess it was just bad timing. After so many years in power I guess the populace had enough of the PPP/C.

17. BREAKING NEWS!! Locks changed at Housing Ministry

FULL STORY | | DISCUSS

This publication has been reliably informed that the locks at the Ministry of Housing have been changed. Reports reaching this publication suggest that the move was one that was instructed by the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary, Emile McGarrell,… […]

BREAKING NEWS!! GECOM to make declaration tomorrow

MAY 15, 2015 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has said that no final declaration for the 2015 results will be made today.

Instead, the body said that the results of Monday’s elections for a new Government, will be revealed tomorrow (Saturday May 16) after midday when the period for which parties may raise objections would have elapsed.

The results have been declared by the respective Returning Officers for the 10 electoral districts, GECOM said.

“The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is quite aware of the anxiety that prevails at this time in relation to the final declaration of the 2015 elections results. GECOM wishes to inform the public that it shares that anxiety but is constrained by the legal requirements, which it has to observed,” GECOM said.

Already, several members of the ruling People’s  Progressive Party/Civic have reportedly conceded victory to the opposition A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC).

On Thursday, former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud, conceded defeat and urged for new shift in Government- inclusive governance.

Former Ambassador to Kuwait, a long-serving diplomat, yesterday urged the PPP to concede as no recount can change the outcome.

Former Minister of Labour, Dr. Nanda Gopaul,  has also reportedly told foreign news outlets that he is disturbed by statements that the PPP will not concede.  

18. It’s a St Kitts scene all over again.Now if we had strong leaders,the Heads of Government would have met and decreed that in future there must be no intimidatory tactics employed by a losing party especially when it involves an incumbent administration being voted out of office.Douglas the despot still seem so angry at his loss of power that he could not bring himself to attend the opening of the Federal Parliament in St Kitts.Despotic tendencies attend long periods in power.Barbados need to review the Constitution to limit the abuse of power by the political class particularly when the electorate have spoken.

19. It’s official.GECOM has declared APNU/AFC the winners of the May 11th poll and retired Brig.David Granger has been sworn in by the Chairman of GECOM Dr Steve Surujbally.The vote has given the winners a 1 seat majority again…..APNUAFC 33 seats,PPPC 32 seats.
    The Coalition won Region 8 by 1 vote!!!With all the evidence of mafia type corruption,the ethnic divide remains.Lets hope that Moses and Raffie can convince the Indo Guyanese in the coming 5 years to come over to Macedonia.

20. Its rather comical to see in today’s Stabroek News a photo of Ramotar and Nandlall walking in front of the GECOM office building with placards calling for a recount!It’s bloody embarrassing ennit.These coolies are so corrupt that they sold some 28 government owned vehicles to family and friends a week before the election.That was either ignorance or arrogance.