Submitted by David Weekes
LIME customer service questioned.

I would be grateful if you would publish this for me.

Last year around September 26th 2014 after going to Surepay to pay a bill, a conversation with a Surepay attendant led me to review all my bills and services with LIME. Suffice it to say, I found that I had overpaid LIME close to$100,000 over the past 10 years for phone lines that had been withdrawn for close to five years, other services I no longer had, data plans that were oversized, even though I had writing for 7 years asking for them to be properly sized and a number of issues that form 11 pages in an affidavit.

I went to LIME to get my matter addressed and to get my money and spoke to the highest management at the company.

In what others have called the “inimitable LIME style” i.e. engaging with clients (who they owe money)ย  even in the face of their trail of email from Cable&Wireless/Bartel/LIME, LIME employed various strategies that another person, I forget who, calls “How not to Repay a Client monies Owed”.

Imagine that you have records showing you are owed $100K yet a company who you believe owes you that money, not only will not pay you your money, but then proceeds to turn off your phones, whenever they deem fit.

After seeking the assistance of the Fair Trading Commission whom I now inclined to believe that their mandate, and commensurate powers of enforcement seem to fall short of the mark, I was advised to use my final recourse, the Barbados Courts.

My matter was heard on the 10th of April 2015, just a month ago and an order issued by Justice Chandler (see attached Court Order) which instructed LIME to immediately reconnect all my phone lines.

That was the 10th of April and today, on the 13th day of May

1. one line, 2362002, has not only been disconnected but has been issued to a company called Rainbow
  2. the second line 2331001 remains disconnected and
  3. the third which had been reconnected is now disconnected again

We have become a country where, depending on who you are or which firm you represent, customers are treated like trash akin to being the famed cockroaches which Tom Clarke, in his book “Growing Up Stupid under the Union Jack” spoke of and he would position his behind over in the outside WC (Water Closet) and seek to bombard with faeces emanating from his behind.

We are more slaves now that we ever were when our hands were manacled by massa.

Where else in the world would an order by the Courts of the land be so flagrantly disobeyed without anyone having any recourse?

Respectfully

David Weekes

78 responses to “IS LIME Exempt from the Laws of Barbados? Even the Barbados Courts Can’t Constrain Them!”

1. LIME now FLOW is busy dishing out free iPhones and Samsung mobile devices to all and sundry including local media, the conspiracy and soft corruption continues.

2. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Well Look at the rest of the crooks , Why you think no one looking to invest in Barbados unless they sign more paper off to the side than the agreement itself,

The bigger Truth of the Picture is coming and help is on the way,

Soon we hope to run all who crook the people and give another a chance with out the the same named people under a different company , We need T Mobile or Sprint ect, These nasty crooks send you bills one after another, Looking to cut off before its even time to pay the bill,

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

It is called 30 pieces of silver.

Free Phones or “deep discounted” phones to Permanent Secretaries, families of said PSes, entire Commissions, Fear Tricking, Fare Picking, Trading whatever you want to call it, we have lost our souls.

You know, when de ole man up in the front row wid de madam pun a Sunday, she does be pinching my right leg during the “open session” especially when de subject matter is about “render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s…” or “come you out from among them…” you know them sort of topics where de ole man does be wanting to call all them Prayer Warriors and Pastor D&E The Apostle of God, hypocrites and enemies of THE LIVING GOD.

As simple as it might appear on the outside these issues speak to a pandemic across the face of Bajan (even world) society where we are abdicating our individual responsibilities to speak out for what is the right thing because we fear the retribution of the current minister of Parliament or wusser, he wife or outside woman retribution

A time will come when our 1100 policemen will NOT BE ABLE to drive anywhere in Bulbados EXCEPT IN CONVOYS of 3-4 armoured plated vehicles because our criminal element will be armed with bazookas, in addition to the cop killer Kevlar piercing bullets they already have

4. Kammie Holder Avatar

Barbados corruption is like a man who fails to get his yearly PSA then to discover that prostate cancer has taken over his body. Kickbacks and Graft coupled withnover invoicing is now the norm in Barbados for all the stories just cannot be malicious gossip.

5. Over the past few years, Barbadians have been allowing Cable & Wireless, Bartel and LIME to take advantage of them. Recently, LIME has been calling land line customers and they are greeted by a pre-recorded message urging them to pay their telephone bills by the due date or the service would be disconnected.

Could you imagine calling LIMEโ€™s customer service only to be answered by individuals whose native language obviously is not English, thereby making communication extremely difficult.
    Their service is so poor to the extent that if you use the directory enquiry to seek assistance with a telephone number of a business that has relocated, you are either told the system is โ€œdownโ€ or they give you the old telephone number. Then you are charged for using this service.

Why canโ€™t Barbadians send a message to LIME by cancelling their subscriptions, while telling the companyโ€™s management they need to get their act together and address all these issues before giving consideration to having the services re-installed.

But Barbadians suffer from โ€œcustomer loyalty syndromeโ€, whereby, since LIME has been on the scene for a number of years and many of us grew up knowing the company, Bajans have developed loyalty to them, even though customer service is terrible.

We will complain about LIMEโ€™s service but at the same time will find all types of excuses to remain with company. Hence, the status quo remains the same.

6. When a Large Corporation in Barbados refuses to obey a court what is the consequence to the company ? It’s pretty clear that a Government is not obliged to abide by a Court’s findings, so has the example been set ..?

7. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Pieces, how profound that your ambivalence as shown with , “when de ole man up in the front row wid de madam pun a Sunday, …where de ole man does be wanting to call all them Prayer Warriors and Pastor D&E The Apostle of God, hypocrites and enemies of THE LIVING GOD” is symptomatic of our overall malaise.

We know those standing before us are invalid and devious but we go along to get along…whether to keep the peace of a spouse, establish a life for a child or to maintain our own self-worth.

Getting out of that vice-grip can be a hard road to travel!

8. With all due respect, nothing about this is new!

Corporations and governments have always been exempted from the laws their contrive to enforce on the rest of us.

However, what is new is the fact that the above truism is more diffused. That’s all!

Governments and corporations were always the biggest criminals on earth. Together they make those behind bars look innocent.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

1 x 20
    2 x 10
    4 x 5
    5 x 4

Blogmaster you might wonder what the five lines above means.

They all provide an answer of 20.

I can guarantee that any article which is about “we” issues – things that peak to Barbados as it descends into a pit rather cesspool will not secure more than 20 responses.

You would ask me why.

The answer is quite simple really.

Anything distant, racism issues, cops killing blacks, if Obama will get a second term, if Jenner is a woamn, Oprah get a bubbie job, anything that has nothing to do with Barbados will generate comments not because they are not worthy of response BUT because of this fear that Bajns have about commenting on things like

(i) Miss Ram’s Kirpalani’s – because they fear her
    (ii) Unfair business practices by “big people” in Barbados – because they fear them
    (iii) Allegations of Police Brutality or Cops with a License to Kill – because we fear them
    (iv) Politicians for whom there isa file showing how they are tiefing the government’s money – because we fear them

So we stay in our comfort zone so that issues where we have been similarly unfaired with the Barbados Light and Power overbilling you or charging you for 2 months of electricity for a place you ceased renting 2 months prior.

Or the Barbados Water authority glitches which caused you to pay $5,000 in water consumption that you did not use.

Such is our fear of these entities, hardened by our knowledge that the Water Utilities Commission or Fare Picking Commissions are useless wastefoops that we play it safe and comment on “things that really dont change the price of bread” in Barbados with record breaking 1000 comments, secure in the knowledge that it will not offend any one local.

10. Former Justice Frank King walked away from chairmanship of the FTC during the reign of King Arthur of Benn Hill castle,Mile and a Quarter,Sen Peter. Ronald Toppin reputed to be a hard working,responsible Member of Parliament who as Minister of Commerce,Consumer Affairs and Business Development introduced the Fair Trading Commission Act,the Utilities Regulation Act,the Fair Competition Act,the Small Business Development Act,the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act,the Office of Public Counsel and the Consumer Claims Tribunal among other important pieces of legislation,walked away from the Fair Trading Commission soon after King left.Neither of these honourable gentlemen saw it fit to share /express publicly their reasons for “walking away”.It is when people like King and Toppin choose not to share their concern with the public whom they serve, allow people like LIME to rub filth in the faces of the Barbadian consumer and none other but the Prime Minister sit on his ass and do nothing for the people against these apparent leviathans.To hell with principle.Principal talks!!

11. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

It is an old cliche that the day doth run until night catches it. Mr. Weekes will get his new day in court and maybe his lawyers can get him his money back.

Of course, this being Barbados the thought of a class-action suit and the heft that would add does not have the momentum that it might otherwise have in other locales.

But back to a broader view of night catching day…

Literally as in:

“The man who strikes fear in the hearts of Sepp Blatter and other FIFA executives lies seriously ill in a New York area hospital, breathing with the aid of a respirator, his body ravaged by cancer and the resulting treatments…Chuck Blazerโ€™s health problems leave him unable to actively cooperate with the U.S. federal agents and prosecutors who continue their investigation into corruption at the highest levels of international soccer…”

and figuratively:

“… Blazer, the once larger-than-life FIFA executive committee member, has provided the feds with enough information into the shadowy financing of international soccer to keep Blatter, the FIFA boss, from coming to the United States, presumably aware that he could be pulled into the ongoing federal criminal probe … But according to a source familiar with Blazerโ€™s activities, Blatter became uncomfortable about visiting the U.S. as early as 2006, when a federal judge in New York ruled against FIFA in a lawsuit brought against the Switzerland-based organization by MasterCard.

“In that case, Blatter asked Blazer to represent FIFA in the lawsuit for a simple reason: โ€œHeโ€™s afraid to come to the U.S.,โ€ Blazer told the source.”

Calamitous, oh lawd. An actual court case against Sepp Blather in US would turn the world – not only soccer, itself – upside frigging down. The oil of money that has greased wheels here (Bdos) and other places is pervasive.

12. sounds like a legitimate case..next round should be the CCJ

13. BU was very deliberate to post the FLOW brand. LIME brand will be replaced by FLOW; we attack the brand and they will take heed. Forget the number of comments, it is the blog message in this case…

14. Barbadians fear victimization from authorities, so they prefer to humble themselves in their little castle called home and keep their mouths shut, their feet off the streets of protest and their hands off the table of direct corrective action. It speaks to the hypocrisy of the fact that there is a church on practically every corner in Barbados, because if the majority of the population are Christians by the “true” definition, not just “churchgoers”, then they ought not to fear man more than God.

That said, even if 100,000+ adult Barbadians were to comment here chastising Cable & Wireless or Lime or whatever their real name is, that would not change anything.

There is only one thing that a mass of oppressed and economically abused people can do to free themselves from said oppression, and that is to UNITE and CREATE an alternative economic reality for themselves. The problem is, that process must begin with a single man who has the vision of how to do that. That man must have a strong spine and resolute faith in his Creator, to boldly set about building a mass consensus and support for his vision and the generation of MEANINGFUL action behind it.

It is a waste of time and energy and therefore a waste of money, to perpetually rant and rave on public fora like this one for no other purpose than to vent frustrations, or ridicule other contributors (childishness), or to try and be seen as some expert or great orator on current affairs here in Barbados or anywhere else.

@BU, you have created a forum here that educates the average Barbadian about scenarios and realities they may have suspected, but never had real proof of. However, IMHO, doing this for the next 30 years, does not constitute the creation/provision of value. This is a foundation that has allowed you to guage the collective minds of the people of Barbados with respect to the ills of our society. It is my hope that persons like yourself are not content to just create a virtual liming spot for the country’s roaming minds to express themselves, without ever seeking to devise, crystalise and actualize viable solutions to the unsavoury issues you so happily report on. It is almost as if the “joy” of this process is to keep finding some new nugget of corruption and scandal that allows you to say “Ahha”, got another one for you, with no real vision, purpose or even ambition, of proactively “engineering” real change in Barbados.

This is of course merely the observation of one infrequent visitor to this site, but every time I do pass here, it is always just expose, complain, rant and ridicule… nothing that speaks to a concerted and strategic movement to change anything.

People, @David Weeks, God is sovereign – your/our negative experiences should inspire you/us to seek His face about how to leverage that negative to create a meaningful positive in the lives of others. God’s wisdom is greater than that of the politicians and the judges. He is more than capable of granting either or both of the Davids here, the wisdom to both make and use a “modern day” slingshot (technology), to launch a small, very smooth stone (strategic economic model/business), deep into the forehead of the Goliath that is the conglomerate of collaborative government/private sector corruption in Barbados, killing it and chopping off its grotesque leviathan head.

One viable stone is “decentralization/transparency” and its corresponding slingshot is “Blockchain” (with its cryptographic components/derivatives). I won’t seek to explain that here but anyone who wants to understand it can research it online.

We are not on this earth to perpetually grumble and complain about oppression. We are here to loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, to let the oppressed go free and to break every yoke. Those are ACTION FOCUSED initiatives that transcend the wagging of tongues. How is it that none of you here has seen it fit to approach the same “men of integrity” who walked away from the FTC, and/or others like them among you gathered here, to sit down and seek to create a framework for “engineering” real change? Do you automatically assume by their public silence, that they are “lambs” fearful of becoming sacrificed? Do you allow an assumption of failure to paralyze you from even entertaining any thought of taking action?

Bajans seem to think that they are powerless unless they are “the governing party”. That is a myth of gargantuan proportions. All over the world, BUSINESS is more powerful than government. After 40-nuff years of independence, Barbados is an economic joke. After just 7 years of existence, Facebook the BUSINESS was generating 2-3 times more revenue annually than the Barbados government. Only those who create “extraordinary value” for a large number of people, have real economic power. Governments don’t fall into that category, having no understanding of extraordinary value. You do not have to be in power to make Barbados a better, less corrupt place. You only have to forget the self-centred, self-preservation mindset/attitude, be visionary, believe, and ACT IN UNITY OF MIND AND PURPOSE.

NOTHING…. is impossible.

Maybe for most of you many things are…

But not for me.

You have my support @David Weekes, but only in taking action to break the yokes… and not by our own understanding and strength, but by the Wisdom, Power and Favour of Almighty God.

May God bless you all.

15. @Robin

There is merit in a lot of what you posted. We all play different roles to bring about change.

16. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

MR.WEEKES, why not place this matter more forcefully in the local media? That is if the local newspaper would be interested in publishing such a story, but sir this matter needs to be aggressively exposed.

17. AC

You love the DLP so much that instead of calling for the heads of your headless masters you would prefer to duck and send this man, Weekes, to the CCJ. Anything to avoid the real problem!

When are we ever going to be able to ask for the heads of your political masters….with people like you around. People who even in recognizing a clear problem would always prefer to give this wicked, pernicious DLP government a pass.

18. Didn’t Mr.Weekes write to the local media concerning his other matter lodged in the Court? Have they published? When local media houses have they little campaigns/ giveaways they depend on the Limes,Flows,Digicels to supply them with phoned not to mention the large advertising budget spent.

19. My family went to the FTC about an issue in 2013 and it is now 2015 and have never had a conclusive decision about the issue, and never got back our money; but I believe in God’s justice, and I will live long enough to see justice will be served. I am sure most people read the article in the paper this morning the ingrate minister saying the disposable truckers want to hold the country to ransom, pray tell me what is he and his Government doing to Barbadians taking away all of their lively hood and spending it like it is their pocket money. Who is holding Barbadians to ransom?

20. Here in Barbados, we have a situation whereby Cable & Wireless, trading under different names, have been exploiting Barbadians for a number of years. And what has been our response? We grin and bear it, hoping that someone would take up the fight for us, while we remain in the background making suggestions on what that person should do or how they should go about fighting our cause.

Take Malcolm Gibbs-Taitt for example. Say what you like about him and his Barbados Consumer Research organization Inc. [BarCRO], he has represented consumers at PUB and FTC rate hearings in respect of proposals for an increase in telephone and electricity rates.

People choose to close their eyes at the contributions Gibbs-Taitt has been making in this regard, but have chosen instead to focus on his perceived political affiliation as a basis by which to unjustly judge him. Yet none of his critics have decided to take a stand in representing consumers at any level or joined BarCRO in an effort to initiate change.

We heard about a new โ€œvibrantโ€ consumer organisation being formed by affiliates of a political party, to correct the wrongs and misrepresentation they suggested were perpetrated by Gibbs-Taitt. Their introduction was highlighted by CBC, in which there an emphasis was placed on criticizing Gibbs-Taitt rather than focus on helping consumers. However, this organization became inactive just as quickly as it was established.

But to be fair to both organizations, membership seems to be the major issue when considering a lack of support of the activities they undertake. BIPA is a perfect example.

Finally, I have to agree with PUDRYRโ€™s comment re โ€œI can guarantee that any article which is about โ€œweโ€ issues โ€“ things that peak to Barbados as it descends into a pit rather cesspool will not secure more than 20 responses.โ€

I will guarantee if this article was entitled โ€œIS LIME Exempt from the Laws of the USA? Even the American Courts Canโ€™t Constrain Them!โ€, we would have had over 150 responses by now.

21. Talk about Brass Bowlery….
    Wunna think that Cable and Wireless, FLOW or any such shiite organisation would go into a ‘non-brass-country’ and treat people this way….?
    Imagine a company with MILLIONS of dollars in assets…. laying about all over the damn country – just so….. and able to treat citizens with such disrespect….

well well well…

Fortunately Bushie has had only minor issues so far…..

22. We seem to recall that the company in question is Irish.

So we here have the people the English used to spit on and call dirty now coming here and taking from us what little the English left.

Bajan too like their White masters even the Whites that were seem as ruffians by the English. Wid all this mis-education there can be no emergence of local/global communications networks. This has to be White peoples’ business.

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

If the Barbados Government can do the same,a la Al Barrack,and the Sea Island Cotton among others , and get away with it, why not LIME?

24. Bajans need to be vindictive. Punish the offenders by keeping some of your money in your pocket.

Yes we need land lines and cell phones but we don’t need the latest and greatest to talk shiite and gossip.

Find ways to reduce your spending.

25. You get the point Pacha….
    Imagine after spending so much on education and being misled by the Sir Cave Hilary types, we find ourselves now enslaved by the lower caste whites such as Irish and Canadians…and Tricky Indians…. who were not even the bad-boys of the old slavery days….

Instead of enfranchisement, we are headed into even lower caste slavery….and we are happily going with the flow…..
    …led by a bunch of complete idiots who cannot even get a simple matter of charging for the proper disposal of garbage right….

Only a complete jackass crossed with a female rabbit would go the way of a ‘tipping fee’ as a solution in Barbados when the proper solution is SO DAMN OBVIOUS.

This brass bowlery can ONLY be explained as a curse … resulting from institutionalised wickedness and thievery as exemplified by CLICO, 3S, Greenland, Four Seasons, and numerous other scams that have been either perpetrated or protected by esteemed persons and their protective friends.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This is not a story. This is just some of the same of the same bed fellowing that the government had with CLICO that they also got with LIME. Do not forget he who pays the Piper gets to pick all the tunes.

27. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Pachamama May 14, 2015 at 2:22 PM #

We seem to recall that the company in question is Irish.

So we here have the people the English used to spit on and call dirty now coming here and taking from us what little the English left.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps if you had lived in the UK in those early days , you would have known that West Indians shared the same fate as the Irish at the hands of the English. No Dogs, No Wogs / Blacks and no Irish.
    We should never condemn a whole race of people, because of the actions of a few who come to our shores to exploit us.
    I had the pleasure of “visiting ” Ireland at time when the Irish should have vehemently despised me. They accorded me royal treatment.

http://i.imgur.com/wClVWTg.jpg?1

Left hand inscription. Less we forget
    ” Inspired by two Irishmen to escape from slavery,Frederick Douglas came to Ireland during the famine. Henceforth he championed the Abolition of Slavery, Women’s Rights and Irish freedom.”

28. pacaman sometimes u duz talk bare foolishness. next u wud be saying that obama head should be split wide open on account of the policeman getting away with murder in the usa.mr weekes state that court handed down an order for lime to pay. now tell me in what way would govt intervention make lime pay as a matter of fact in could only serve to aggravate with no positive conclusions. which means a different kind of battle and maybe accelerating a labour move against govt.my suggestion would pre- empt any such disturbances wherby the claimaint would seek resolve by a court which does not have or hold any special interest political or otherwise to claimaint or plaintiff

29. @ AC
    “I had the pleasure of โ€œvisiting โ€ Ireland at time when the Irish should have vehemently despised me. They accorded me royal treatment.”
    shiite…!!!
    …yuh mean you are NOT a blonde Irishwoman then…????

30. AC

We see that you are one of those very intelligent Bajans who really believe that there are firewalls between the political and the legal. As if most politicians were not lawyers, for example.

Do you really think that the CCJ is any different to that which gave the current ruling? Again you have opted to be misled by form and have shown a gross disregard for substance.

All the problems in legal, economic, commercial and other spheres have their genesis in the politics of this and all other countries.

Simply put, LIME could not be ’bout hey unless a ‘political’ decision was made. Their ability to remain ’bout hey is also subject to a political decision or indecision. For the failure to kick them out is in itself a decision of your political masters in the DLP.

Then we have the matter of convenience. Have you considered the implications for people less able to take LIME to court given the criminal political-lawyers they will have to use? Do you at all care that every Bajan maybe, right now, being robbed in broad daylight by LIME? Should there be then 100,000 cases brought against this company when a political determination would suffice? ………………………………

31. There are more than firewalls between the political and the legal. There appear to be one and the same. There is a bigger and more dynamic power who will judge all of us and thanks be to that Judge there shall not be any firewall but the just and the unjust.

32. @ Robin Belle.

I believe in the One God Invisible and Indivisible.

I just returned from the funeral of a dear friend Einstein Inniss, so soon gone, dead, the way of all flesh.

The officiating Priest used Ecclesiastes 2 for his theme โ€œA time to give birth and a time to die; A time to plant and a time to uproot what is plantedโ€ฆโ€

So Robin, I believe that there is a place for both “ranting and action” because it is only when an injustice becomes too โ€œburdensomeโ€ that, in order to get relief of our “load” we throw off the โ€œweightโ€.

What you speak of is โ€œself-relianceโ€, post โ€œself actuationโ€ which, for many, requires a catalyst and in my humble opinion Barbados Underground is part of that catalyst

I am guilty of being one of those people who will โ€œrantโ€ about the wrongs, but after venting, I will do.

In that vein Robin, I will not be โ€œhereโ€ for much longer doing this โ€œrantingโ€.

I have come to the realisation that it is not worth the effort to contend in dear Barbados.

It is time to go where people have an appreciation for one’s efforts, a place where I do not have to contend with minds that think, and mouths that say โ€œdat is Weekesโ€™ ting, let us kill itโ€

33. @ Lt. Horatio Cooke

You ask why not place this more forcefully before the local media?

The answer is I have.

At the same time I sent this to BU, Isn’t it to the Nation the Barbados Advocate, the Barbados Today and I called their editors too.

Twice!!

That is precisely the point sir.

We live in a sort of cabal where say for example you offend the head of EGFL by posting the contents of an email that he might have sent to you when his offices were in the Central Bank of Barbados, you automatically offend his cousin who is the say former AG.

No one really cares if you have invented a Tsunami Damper to help Small Island Developing States when Kick’em Jenny does her thing, the rationale sir is as the head of another agency recently said to me “it is not the project or product, IT IS THE MAN”

No one cares for safety of life Lt. Caine, it is all about showing uppity Weekes, who is who.

That is a mindset that is rampant around our dear country, it is unimportant if Weekes discovers a cure for Dengue (which by the way I do have an invention to lessen the instance of mosquitoes) the thing is that we have to punish the man

34. Einstein Inniss dead? The pharmacist?

35. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I wont identify where I work but I also had this problem. On checking bills plenty lines that were non-existent, ADSL services that were requested to be switched off were still being billed many years after etc etc… Brassbowls do not suffice to describe them, eh Bushie.

36. @ Barbados UnderGround

In war, there are “pincer movements” that are employed to achieve a specific objective.

What you have done, and continue to do, with this BLOG is very much a part of a double envelopment

You have chosen a “high road”, where each day you seek to engage those of our minds that would rise above the political allegiances.

Wishfully so perhaps but I for one congratulate you to promote this type of constant verbal dissent.

Whereas, others will suggest coups and revolutions other of us who have lived, and still live by the precept that “as long as it bleeds it can die”, feel that there is a place for your “relentless” blog.

Let the others be the priests, politicians, educators and academics, you continue to do what you do well here on Barbados Underground

37. Yes Einstein is dead.

He was laid to rest in Westbury today.

38. Do any parliamentarians own a Waste removal company in Barbados?

39. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

Yes Mr.Hants.a politician is involved in a waste management company, actually one Mr. Anderson cherry stated that MIA MOTTLEY is a shareholder or business partner in his business, this was stated by him in an article posted on Barbados Today. Was it the sensible thing to say? You judge, i think his brains left him at the time.His actions seem calculated and intended to create unwarranted mischief,a man who is somewhat under scrutiny for purporting to being a contractor on a certain project should tread carefully lest he mash the wrong corns.

40. Court muzzled

Former magistrate wants greater freedom to speak

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on May 14, 2015.

Saved under Judicial, Local News

It has recently come in for a bashing from various quarters for among other things, its slow delivery of justice.

However, the newly appointed Registrar of the Supreme Court Barbara Cooke-Alleyne said yesterday it was a pity that in all cases the local judiciary was not allowed to defend its own name.

As holder of the number two administrative post in the islandโ€™s Supreme Court and a former magistrate, Cooke-Alleyne said she was forced to remain silent on issues, even in instances where the โ€œlicksโ€ the judiciary was getting from members of the public were based on blatant untruths.

The former magistrate therefore feels the time is ripe for the court to break with tradition, and allow officers more freedom to speak their minds.

Registrar of the Supreme Court Barbara Cooke-Alleyne

Newly appointed Registrar of the Supreme Court Barbara Cooke-Alleyne

โ€œSometimes you say things in the Press about us and we would love to respond, but the tradition is we donโ€™t respond, we take the licks, and we canโ€™t respond,โ€ she said.

However, Cooke-Alleyne argued that the court needed to operate as if it was in the 21st century so that officers could โ€œrespond to things that are said to say whether they are true and whether we are fixing it.

โ€œWe donโ€™t have the opportunity under this tradition that we are in to respond,โ€ she stressed.

Among those who have been highly critical of the Barbados judiciary in recent months is the president of the Trinidad-based Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), Sir Denys Byron, who back in February accused the judiciary in Barbados of not delivering justice in a timely manner, while strongly condemning the local courts for โ€œexcessive and inordinateโ€ delays in resolving cases.

Earlier this month, Barbadian Queenโ€™s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim, QC, went as far as to describe the countryโ€™s judicial system as โ€œa jokeโ€, amid uncertainty over whether the Crown would proceed with a murder case that had been pending for the past four years.

โ€œWe are incapable of guaranteeing anyone a trial within a reasonable time,โ€ Pilgrim told acting Magistrate Alliston Seale in the District โ€˜Aโ€™ Magistratesโ€™ Court. โ€œIf you plead guilty to a speeding ticket, you cannot get a trial within a year.โ€

The top brass of the Barbados Bar Association had also complained during a news conference in February that the association had to supply chairs for clients and attorneys to sit on while conducting business in the High Court.

PR Mr. Weekes?

41. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

@ David Weekes your statement, “No one really cares if you have invented a Tsunami Damper … the rationale sir is as the head of another agency recently said to me โ€œit is not the project or product, IT IS THE MANโ€ suggests a naivety but I know that is your affliction.

When is it really ever not the ‘man’ in small countries/communities in major sized projects of the type you proposed/invented. NEVER.

You inherently know that. The fact that unfortunately you somehow pissed off the wrong people at the wrong time is your tragic loss but I suspect that from day 1 when you were touting your proposals to Caricom and beyond you understood the importance of getting the ‘right’ partner or ‘godfather’.

Somehow however that did not work.

It’s always the ‘man’ at the end of the day whether he be the developer, as in your case, or the one who determines that the developer will succeed as let’s say in the case of why the current CJ was able to ascend to his position.

And to a question I alluded to previously: any reason why you did not explore class action status on this matter?

42. This post is apt because I have been having similar problems with Lime not to your extent vis a vis quantum of money indicated but in relation to the effrontery of the company- who seem to be a law unto themselves – to treat complaints from customers with contempt aided and abetted by the agencies of the Office of Public counsel and The Fair Trading Commission who seem to lack balls when asked to intervene by customers who have been disadvantaged by this slimy bag corporate entity.

43. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Oh goodness…a correction re earlier comment: a negative ‘not’ missing in…

@ David Weekes your statement, โ€œNo one really cares if you have invented a Tsunami Damper โ€ฆ โ€ suggests a naivety but I know that is NOT your affliction

44. @ Balance

I looked at you remarks and smiled

“but in relation to the effrontery of the company- who seem to be a law unto themselves โ€“ to treat complaints from customers with contempt”

I have sat down in front of no less that 100 Bartel/Lime/Cable&wireless employees over the years.

C&W had a face in Trevor Clarke and Austin, LIme had a face in Alex McDonald but this creature Lime/Flow is a beast.

It is like a modern day plantation be speckled with a real and present oligarchy where people our Colour are “used” by this new massa who instinctively realizes that we are once again open to the new slavery – economic slavery.

You sit at a desk in front of a black woman who if you were to meet in the street at a party in a church, would be a human and render you the kindness you deserve.

Walk into Lime or and such new plantation mentality and you see the immediate adoption of inhumanity called self preservation or I need this job and even if I see a report here in my system withdrawing your phone I WILL NOT RISK OFFENDING say my massa Chatten cause I need this pic

You can almost taste it, the abject fear the “this is wrong David BUT if I even side with you and confirm your report, I will be looking for a job!!”

And this is why I feel that we are lost as a country.

When your Irish bosses or Trinidadian or whatever the flavour of this new oligarchy is, when the fire you, no Sir Leroy comes to your assistance to protect your rights.

Slowly and insidiously this cancer of abdication is creeping across this land and, irrespective of Ombudsman or the other offices that are supposed to represent us, we arrive at this place called apathy where we have lost the fight. But Balance these are words emanating from the mouth of “that uppity nigger called Weekes so he must be quashed”

45. @ the Office of Public Affairs in Warrens

I must and will go on record to say this.

While that office is not online like its counterpart in Jamaica one thing that I will say for its employees, they are dedicated.

I won’t mention any names because I would not like the rod of correction applied to the fingers of those who helped BUT the quantum of my matter was bigger than their cap allows

@ the Fair Trading Commission

To your two staffers who advanced my matter as far as they could, my sincerest thanks.

You are part of a machinery which while it should be like the Better Business Bureau in the United States seems to be a neutered lion, with teeth and claws removed

Let me explain this using a real example of one of the several matters I approached the FTC with and got nothing

You are entitled to Two free calls per month for Directory Assistance. If you call lime twice and they give you wrong numbers twice you by law are entitled to two calls but Lime conveniently has no accounting system to record this $4 theft? and the toothless, clawless neutered FTC does not even have the power to enforce a $4 overcharge

46. @Knight of the Long Knives

The point your submission quickly confirms is that there are several David Weekes’ with over billing matters who, like you, cannot, publicly voice what they are experiencing at the hand of ***

Even now in writing this, I the aggrieved party MUST construct sentences which cannot be libelous.

“Blackmail – the action of demanding money from a person in return for not revealing compromising or injurious information about that person. synonyms: extortion; ”

In your home, you find yourself being forced to pay certain utilities say every 21st of the month, for services that you have not received and items that you no longer have yet you find yourself in the peculiar position where, regardless of the wrong you are experiencing, YOU cannot say WHAT it is being done to you.

“rape – an act of plunder, violent seizure, or abuse; despoliation; violation: as I the rape of the people’s rights”

So periodically you find yourself where parties rob you of your goods and your valuables but you are unable to open your mouth?

It would seem to me KOTLK that you are being both blackmailed and raped yet let a lamb to the slaughter yet openeth He not his mouth.

Here we are on an island of 144 square miles like a nation of 300,000 Pavlov dogs so conditionally stimulated to respond to the periodic blackmail and rape of our property that each month as the bell tinkles, we jump to compensate the very massa who enslaves us.

And you Sir Hilary and the other historians say that Slavery ended when?

This is why when we hold these meaningless midnight walks through Bridgetown by Night and stop to show the gate through which the slaves “used to enter” I don’t go because based on the foregoing you can clearly see the new manner of how we are still enslaved.

Hewers of Wood and drawers of Water…

47. Mr Weekes I understand the environment and certainly the dilemma which seem to stand in the way of the workers of the seemingly toothless entities namely Office of Public Counsel and the Fair Trading Commission truly ventilating the concerns of complainants to corporate scumbag Lime. In registering complaints one gets the impression from their questions that they have a fear of Lime.

48. If all commercial operations would request and audit of lines from LIME FLOW and reconcile to billing many will be shocking at the bilking that has been going on for years.

49. Bajans ALWAYS seem to defer to massa to solve their problems for them. Shiite man… It is right and correct to go through the channels and to give the system a chance to work as it should….
    BUT WHEN IT DOES NOT WORK……then alternative tactics are called for…only brass bowls just sit around hoping to be polished…

How the hell can a foreign company, with millions in assets laying all over the place, be so aggressively anti customer? How come it is not in their interest to cultivate positive customer relations?
    ….any bets that such shiite hardly happens in Jamaica..?

How the hell can KNOWN political scamps present themselves talking shiite in public arenas on a daily basis? How come it is not in their interest to cultivate reputations of honesty and competence?
    ….where else are such trash tolerated…

Shiite man…. sometimes one needs to pelt some damn big rocks…