Submitted by Anthony Davis

LIME is assuming that every household has a computer or smartphone. There are many people who cannot afford any of the two. There are also the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable, and many old age pensioners who will NOT be able to pay any additional fees at this time. This seems to me to be the first of LIME’s volleys as the new monopoly in the telecommunications sector in Barbados!

I don’t think that the FTC should allow LIME to take such a unilateral step!

Submitted by Anthony Davis LIME is assuming that every household has a computer or smartphone. There are many people who cannot afford any of the two. There are also the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable, and many old age pensioners who will NOT be able to pay any additional fees at this time. This seems to me to be the first of LIME's volleys as the new monopoly in the telecommunications sector in Barbados! I don't think that the FTC should allow LIME to take such a unilateral step!

24 responses to “LIME eBilling”

1. The following received from Adrian Loveridge.

Martin Roos – CEO

Cable and Wireless Ltd trading as LIME Caribbean

Like many I have now received your letter dated 1st November today advising of the monthly charge of $4.68.

A number of questions have yet to be answered. We have several lines (5) with you and at least 4 separate bills, so will this charge apply to each number/bill?

In the case of our cell phone this additional charge, if accepted reflects a 20 per cent monthly increase in costs.

I have made several attempts to print out our own copies of the bills showing full details include VAT registration number and amount which is required for refunds, but your system does not seem to allow this.

I would also add having been a loyal customer of C&W for nearly 30 years and being forced to endure the appalling level of service from your company, especially over the last two years, find it almost incredulous that you are unilaterally imposing these extra charges at this time, when all logic suggests you should be compensating users.

At the end of the day this exercise will only produce savings for C&W and not the customer.

Adrian Loveridge

Peach and Quiet (Barbados) Ltd

Copied to: Peggy Griffith – CEO- Fair Trading Commission

19th November 2014

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES

We drop LIME 5 years ago , they are much to SOUR , ripoff , slow, nasty billing practice, looking to mess up your credit , over charging , no proper service , Just looking to bill you under duress, To Hell and more Hell with sour ass LIME,

3. @David @ Adrian

I have been using LIME e-billing for a number of years, for several numbers, and find he service quite effective. I have no trouble printing out a PDF copy of my bills and it’s an exact copy of the mailed bills.

Everyone is jumping on the e-billing ban wagon, unfortunately they all/most now want to move exclusively to e-billing and charge for the old paper mailed bills. If in fact these companies want to use e-billing then they should provide free internet/data service, e-mail address’s using their own servers(not yahoo, google etc.) These e-commerce business’s are passing most, if not all, the costs to the customers.

Barbados government will have to pass legislation like Canada forbidding business from charging for paper bills.

4. Where is the FTC?

5. The FTC needs to stop CW from exploiting Barbadians.

6. Xfiles,

Many thousands of the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados must be at the center of the creation and sustainment of a national political movement to eventually KICK Cable and Wireless out of this country.

The time for Sunday school politics with Cable and Wireless is over in Barbados.

7. Faced with uncertainty over its proposed Lamberts, St Lucy wind farm and limited land resources on the island, Barbados Light & Power Company (BL&P) might resort to floating wind turbines offshore.
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59660/bl-sea#sthash.ehjsy78g.dpuf

8. With the BL&P;s intention to go with offshore wind farms, and the Barbados Government, according Darcy Boyce, looking at harnessing the wave energy, we might run into trouble with our main oil supplier, which we are “tied to”,according to the PM, T&T, as they have made claim, not only to our flying fish, but to the underseas shelves surrounding Barbados.

9. Light and Power is truly sickening.Trying to make producing energy look as difficult as possible to justify it being expensive as possible.

10. LOL
    What offshore windmills what?
    Of late BL&P seems to be more like DL&P ….all talk and no sensible action.
    …..First a lotta hullabaloo about a ‘wind farm’ at Lamberts…
    then when they finally get permission after YEARS of back and forth, we hear that they can’t get the land…
    ……Then they show NO serious interest in moving to solar energy, but now that others have shown it to be a viable option for Bajans, they suddenly discover that that they can do it too..
    ……Now it seems that they have joined the competition to cut into their own core business by selling solar systems
    The whole thing sounds as ad-hoc as Stinkliar’s taxation policies..

Bushie’s prediction….another Almond in the making….

11. Interesting comment from the head of EMERA, BL&P has 52 engineers but in the Bahamas they were a few. They knew what they bought now they will execute the plan.

On 23 November 2014 at 02:47, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. David | November 22, 2014 at 11:25 PM |
    Interesting comment from the head of EMERA, BL&P has 52 engineers but in the Bahamas they were a few. They knew what they bought now they will execute the plan.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    This is a clear message to these 52 engineer, minus the 6 or so already sent home.

13. St Lucia Minister criticises LIME over billing charges
    Monday, November 24, 2014

CASTRIES, St Lucia (CMC) – Telecommunications Minister Dr James Fletcher has criticised the decision by the British telecommunications company, LIME, to introduce a charge for printed copies of the bills to customers.
    Fletcher has written to the company complaining about the decision to charge customers EC$6.18 (One EC dollar = US$0.37 cents) monthly, as of January 1, 2015.
    “This decision by LIME will disadvantage a large segment of our population who use LIME as a service provider but do not have access to internet services, either through mobile or fixed broadband,” Fletcher wrote.
    He said that in a country where broadband penetration was less than 20 per cent and in some communities,  like Canaries on the west coast, as low as 13.2 per cent, LIME’s decision will place the bulk of its customers at a severe financial disadvantage.
    In his letter, copies of which were sent to the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL) and the St Lucia’s National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (NTRC), Fletcher urged the company to revisit its decision to charge customers who opt for a printed, posted monthly bill.
     Fletcher recommended that while LIME should, by all means, “encourage its customers to use the e-billing service; it should not penalise the large numbers who are not able to avail themselves of this option”.

14. @ David
    Interesting comment from the head of EMERA, BL&P has 52 engineers but in the Bahamas they were a few. They knew what they bought now they will execute the plan.
    In the Bahamas?
    Does EMERA own the whole Bahamas electricity company or just the Grand Bahama Island?
    How does the quality of service / load/ reliability of that company (Island) compare with Barbados?

Why should BL&P not be staffed with high quality people? except for the fuel costs…are the rates not comparable (indeed much less) than Grand Bahama?
    How many engineers does the EMERA Canadian company have? Why compare Barbados with Bahamas and not Canada?

It looks to Bushie that we have a clear perspective coming here from EMERA that they are dealing with a third world country that should not expect more than third world standards…

Almond, here we come again….

15. @Bush Tea

Agree 100%.

Note the hue of the Community Relations manager sitting next to Sarah captioned in the press last week.

We like it so.

16. Now that LIME has taken over FLOW, and is about to level a charge on consumers for paper billing, all land owners whose properties contain one of those big ugly FLOW fibre optic cable junction boxes, should seek legal advice in leveling a monthly rental fee on LIME/FLOW for the use of their land / air space. BL&P and LIME (Telephone Co) are probably exempted, due to an old legislation, similar to the Better Securities Act .FLOW is paying BL&P rental fee for the use of space on their utility poles, some of this rental fee paid , by this new guy on the block, FLOW , which is probably not covered under the original utility’s act, should go directly to the land owner. Two can play the game.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@colonel Buggy

In another life and another place I would have said I like your thinking

In Bulbados however the reason it will not work is embodied in four letters

FCTC

Fox Counting The Chickens and you would then ask me how can I liken LIME/Flow to the fox counting the chickens?

Three letters

FTC

Fear Trading Commission a faction that is in league with the merged telecommunications companies, I did not say free phones or kickbacks for certain staff and their families, no siree I am mindful of the recent defamation charges against that fellow Omar

Yessiree de Fear Trading fellow dem under de guise of protecting consumer interests does get bout dey and mek a lot uh noises bout looking into someting dese companies do, until dem monfly data plan get upgrade at dem muddier, or siesta or outside wuman house and den you does get a letter saying dat de matta is not covered under de Cuntsumer Act of Bulbados, ah lie?

18. @ David [BU] the link to LIME Scraps Plan to Implement Paper Bill Fees | St. Lucia Times is going to a Facebook page with an error

19. November 27, 2014

LIME Scraps Plan to Implement Paper Bill Fees

lime telecommunications

In response to customer feedback, LIME has decided not to implement the paper bill fees, as previously advised. Geraldine Pitt, LIME CEO, Southern Cluster, said, “I’m pleased to announce that we will continue free paper bills beyond January 1, for those who prefer this traditional method.”

In a statement today, the CEO said, “LIME is a customer-focused company that listens to feedback and although a number of people are in favour of online e-Bill payment, some customers still prefer their paper bill by post and so we will aim to satisfy the request of both groups.”

We would still like to encourage customers to sign up for e billing and so it remains part of our Christmas promotion which was launched on November 17, 2014. We are also making changes to reward sign up to electronic bills. Customers will receive information about these rewards at a later date.

LIME has upgraded its eBilling system and is inviting customers to choose this environmentally friendly method of receiving their bills. “We want customers to sign up to electronic bills and our team in store can provide assistance to persons wishing to do so; however there will be no charge.”

Receiving bills by email is a growing industry trend that the company hopes it will be able to adopt with greater broadband penetration in the future.

http://stluciatimes.com/article/lime-scraps-plan-implement-paper-bill-fees

20. I wonder how many people in Bulbados realize the power of these social media to make these monarchs change.

Newspapers reach hundred but comparatively e media reaches millions.

” They” don’t like it and seek to legislate away through laws or censorship and as we are seeing in our dear Bulbados by bringing a court case against a fellow fuh he mout.

30 years ago, barring one or two letters to the editor, the response to lime unilateral billing fees would have died in a week.

Media like BU and the ubiquitous Facebook MAKES THEM COME TO ATTENTION and make sure and read these articles every single day, three times a day , 7 days a week, including (and especially) Sundays

Keep up the good work David[BU)

21. Note is also made of the waste foopism of the Fear Trading Commission in this matter as with others of their interventions

22. @PUDRYR

There is not reason a sensible traditional media house can’t intelligently integrate social media with news delivery. Yes they are limited comparative to social media but they can do more. Instead they feel comfortable perched on their pedestal, aloof, while the world changes at pace.

23. LIME, like Banks is giving the boot to Cricket by way of pulling the sporting facilities from under their players feet. When Banks moved to its new facility in Newton, its cricket team had to go a-begging to other teams for a scotch on its ground,as Banks made no effort to accommodate a sports field for its team anywhere.. Now the LIME Cricket team may have to do likewise when Cable and Wireless turns that popular cricket field and sports ground into an office block.
    There was a time when corporate Barbados used to support sports teams as it brought it employees closer together.
    Anyone for Tennis, Golf, Polo, Swimming or Clay Pigeon Shooting.?