Reverend Gerry Seale

There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female. An observation of online fora and on the ground the conclusion is the same, why must Barbadians always distil events through a prism of Black and White. There is a simple answer to those of us who wants to be honest.

Barbadians understand the divide separating Blacks and Whites. There is a tolerance level both sides slavishly respect. We come together to cavort at Crop Over and at a few social events on the calendar but for the most part we live separate lives, the Whites at Cattlewash, Kendal, Brighton etc. and the Blacks wherever. Of course we have some Whites and Blacks who socialize at the margin. The fact Whites and other minorities control a disproportionate control of the social and economic influence in Barbados adds to the dynamic. It explains the chain of events witnessed in the Karen Harris episode if compared to Kyla Weekes for example. Kyla who you asked?

A global audience witnessed the re-enactment of the walk 50 years ago across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma – read President Obama’s speech. The speech by Obama acknowledged that institutionalized racism does not exist any longer in the USA but there is also a recognition that the United States is perceived by many to be more polarized on the issue of race in 2015, coincidentally under the first Afro American president Barack Obama.

The release of the US Department of Justice report on Ferguson paints a picture of how Blacks in the small town – the scene of the Michael Brown shooting –accounted for  93% of arrests made in 2012 to 2014.  There are the emails shared by police and ancillary staff which portray the first family in a negative light. The point to note, the race conversation is ongoing and constructive dialogue is the important ingredient required to build an integrated and cohesive society for our offspring to experience a quality life.   It is not enough to say our young people have cultivated different attitudes making race relations palatable, we the older generation have a responsibility to earnestly strive for reconciliation because we are living in the moment and therefore should not disengage from any process to improve our way of life.

Last week the Reverend Gerry Seale, a White Bajan Caucasian, stoked public debate on race in Barbados by suggesting racism is alive and well in Barbados. He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented. BU tried unsuccessfully to locate the report online to share with the BU family. The journalists and others who boast they have a copy serve to expose the cesspool of ignorance we find ourselves.

Barbados is a 90% Black country and we understand the fears of Whites and minorities to talk about issues related to race. It makes them uncomfortable and it has the potential to affect the economy because of our reliance on foreign investment and international business. The USA and the town of Ferguson is a good example of what may result if we inform decisions solely on economic considerations.

Rest in Peace Lindsay Holder!

339 responses to “RACE Talk Surfaces, AGAIN”

1. John March 9, 2015 at 6:54 PM #

One race many tribes/species.,….do not be confused….it is quite simple

2. Derby’s dose was a form of torture used in Jamaica to punish slaves who attempted to escape or committed other offenses like stealing food. According to Malcolm Gladwell in his 2008 book Outliers, “The runaway would be beaten, and salt pickle, lime juice, and bird pepper would be rubbed into his or her open wounds. Another slave would defecate into the mouth of the miscreant, who would then be gagged for four to five hours.”[1] The punishment was invented by Thomas Thistlewood, a slave overseer and named for the slave, Derby, who was made to undergo this punishment when he was caught eating young sugar cane stalks in the field on May 25 1756.This pathological racist raped numerous black women

3. From Thom Thistlewood’s diary, author Douglas Hall narrates:

In July, Port Royal, who had run away, was taken and brought home. ‘Gave him a moderate whipping, pickled him well, made Hector shit in his mouth, immediately put in a gag whilst his mouth was full & made him wear it 4 or 5 hours.’
    Next day, the 24th, a woman slave, Phillis, caught breaking canes, was similarly treated, but spared the gag.
    Friday, 30th July 1756: Punch catched at Salt River and brought home. Flogged him and Quacoo well, and then washed and rubbed in salt pickle, lime juice & bird pepper; also whipped Hector for losing his hoe, made new Negro Joe piss in his eyes & mouth &c.
    On the 4th, Derby was again caught, this time by the watchman as he attempted to take corn out of Col Barclay’s Long Pond cornpiece. He was severely chopped with a machete, his right ear, cheek and jaw almost cut off. On the 27th of the same month Egypt was whipped and given ‘Derby’s dose’ [that is Derby was made to shit in his mouth] for eating cane. On Thursday, 5th October, Hector and Joe and Mr Watt’s Pomona were similarly punished for the same misdemeanor. [2]

4. Bro Franklyn you have hit the nail on its head
    Cries of racism surfaces ad nauseam again–and as usual we blacks are begging whites for acceptance without tackling the classism which is evident among the black race. Even when my grandmothers were servants as they were then called for the Spencers and Emptages I felt more accommodated than when in the company of the negrocrats of the day like the Scotts and Harold Fordes and those of such ilk. In crickting circles we had the shameful spectacle of Dr Harold Forde because of his professional profile captaining a team of redlegs which was not open to blacks. Then there was another shameful spectacle of negrocrats clamouring to join the yacht club of which they were critical only because they were not accepted forcing the black and redleg bastards to form their own shindig in the yard of the Aquatic Club to accommodate whom you decide.

If people of the same colours and races and ethnic backgrounds and families find difficulty in accommodating each other; how much more difficult would it be for persons not of the same persuasion.

We need to stop trodding a dead horse and accept reality.. you cannot legislate against what is in my mind.

Racism and its inherent difficulties would always be with us until black people unite and respect and love themselves and stop seeing the white race as a race to adore and emulate.

5. “He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented.”

Pray tell me realistically speaking what implementation of the recommendations would do to improve race relations in Barbados or elsewhere for that matter.

6. Boyu:

You would never see the “white wunnah bees” on BU comment on your pieces. When as a young teen I read the works of these slave owners, Fanon and others, I rankled!! Yet as Blacks we come still smiling and knee dipping to their Halls of Mendicants. We refer to them as the places where we “work”:hotels, shops etc…….. But Piece, Fanon was right they (whites) can never understand the Black Man; yet they think they do!!!

7. Vincent Haynes March 9, 2015 at 8:52 PM #

John March 9, 2015 at 6:54 PM #

One race many tribes/species.,….do not be confused….it is quite simple

You missed the point about species!!!!

Man … I thought it was clear.

Membership of a species is not dependent on membership of a tribe.

Many tribes, one species!!!

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance March 10, 2015 at 5:27 AM
    “Racism and its inherent difficulties would always be with us until black people unite and respect and love themselves and stop seeing the white race as a race to adore and emulate.”
    And whom then would black people adore and emulate? Who will spend the hundreds of millions of dollars for Remi and dead people ‘straight’ hair? Who will provide entertainment dressed up like monkeys and other objects of laughter and derision to white people?

This will never happen as long as blacks continue to worship and adore the god the same white man made in his own image and foisted on blacks. How could have that god made the white man and the black man at the same time?

Until blacks, my friend, come to the ‘spiritual’ understanding that the god to be worshipped and to be adored is the same God that gave them their black skin in the first place.
    Now, balance, pick sense from that. Maybe Bushie can help you by pointing you in the direction of his dear beloved BBE to further obfuscate matters in the higher realm of his metaphysical madness.

9. “But Piece, Fanon was right they (whites) can never understand the Black Man; yet they think they do”
    There is no need for the white man to understand the black man even though evidence suggests that they understand the black man beter than we might be led to believe. All the other races/ethnicities/cultures what have you understand themselves- we need to understand ourselves first and stop dreaming that one day black children and white children would sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

10. @ Miller
    Boss, you can’t hear that you need to leave BBE and Bushie out of your business?
    The lotta racism talk is just a distraction.

The fact is that white people love MONEY. It is almost their defining characteristic.
    (That is why it is possible to have some black “white people”.)
    They hate ANYTHING and ANYONE who threatens their wealth, potential wealth or their perceived rights to wealth
    Black people sitting comfortably in Africa, on endless natural resources were obviously easy targets.

Additionally, the white people ain’t foolish…. they can SEE the strength, potential and resourcefulness of the blacks – and their asses feel THREATENED that should Blackie ever decide to be as mercenary as they are, their will come second.

It is their lot in life.

Life is however MUCH MORE than accumulating wealth. Such characteristics as CARING for others – especially the weak; contributing to the overall society; building a righteous character…. are EVEN MORE IMPORTANT and valuable than accumulating dollars…and Blacks tend to intuitively understand that…

THAT is our lot.

The problem with the lotta inter-relationships is that we now have a wide range of intermediate positions…you don’t know who is black or white….

Perhaps GP or Zoe would wish to give us an exegesis of 2 Kings Chapter 5 …where the Bible actually gives a very insightful perspective on the relative value systems of righteousness and wealth….. and a relationship with colour…..
    Check out the fella called “Gehazi Lowe…” LOL ha ha ha

….or we could just read Lawson, John and Money B on BU…… 🙂

11. Poor Trevor Prescod can’t understand why people from the same district as the missing man didn’t turn out to help in the search which was made by other Bajans and the police in the Belle.

Poor leadership …. his!

Looks like it was the district he represents in Parliament too!!

The idiot actually admits to his idiocy!

Says he did not expect to see so many Caucasians and Asiatics.

If you want to see what happens when leadership focuses the public on a problem look at the Boston Marathon bombing.

Three days was all it took to get to the perpetrators that’s all.

The police had some info, they shared it with the public and sought its help.

The public responded.

Natural response.

Story done.

12. Cuh dear man John…

You picking on Trevor Prescod….?
    LOL…Little more and you sound like you would administer a “Derby’s dose” in his tail yuh…
    besides…
    You done know that those lotta police and white people only turned out to counter the lotta hullabaloo from the St George incident too…..

13. Boyu:

Who will cry for the blood and tears and sorrows and degradation of Punch, Philis and Egypt. During the discussions about reparation a white group from Europe came to Barbados and “pray” and afflicted themselves for the “sins and cruelty and savagery” of their ancestors. The bajan whites remain cruel to this day. They love it when we do dress up in African garbs (Black History Month) but do not expose our children to the “secrets of their horrors”.

14. “Bro Franklyn you have hit the nail on its head
    Cries of racism surfaces ad nauseam again–and as usual we blacks are begging whites for acceptance without tackling the classism which is evident among the black race.”

I think people are a bit confused about the issue, it’s not a matter of begging whites for acceptance, who the hell gives a shit what whites think, they did not create the earth nor the people on it, they just happened to be in the right place at the right time, got the information from blacks who sold out their own back then and who still sell out their own right now, took advantage and exploited the situation for their own gain for more than a few centuries.

The issue is not allowing further generations, a generation again, is only 25 years, of blacks to witness, experience or be subjected to the delusion that they cannot be self-sufficient and have to be totally dependent on either tourism, or white and indian businesses or jobs and survival. That is what the present day leaders are leading the young to believe, along with the misguided and uneducated parents and grand parents of these young people

The issue is blacks breaking the cycle of believing they need white people to survive, when in reality the handful minority of bajan whites and indians/syrians in Barbados and around the Caribbean, cannot survive without blacks, just like the albino lion.

It has been and is destructive when the black leaders do not understand this and continue to perpetrate human rights violations on their own people through corruption and greed. That is the real issue.

Great example here, just look at Ronald “Jackass” Jones with the IQ of a pest, trying to destroy already confused, hormone filled minds with the idiocy, destructive and corrupting politics practiced in Barbados. In reality, Jones as minister of education should be educating the young about their potential, high IQ’s and hidden creativity that once successfully tapped and revealed will show them how to be self-sufficient and not dependent on minorities for jobs and survival….i rest my case.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64583/jones-lower-voting-age

15. The issue is not allowing further generations, a generation again, is only 25 years, of blacks to witness, experience or be subjected to the delusion that they cannot be self-sufficient and have to be totally dependent on either tourism, or white and indian businesses for jobs and survival.

The issue is also that it’s the leaders/politicians job to make sure these same current and future generations are not subjected to, witness or experience any racism, period, particularly the kind that was visited on their ancestors.

16. I am sure Barbados has quite a few of these geniuses, but will they ever get to show their true potential because of a few selfish, self-centred, greedy politicians who would prefer the young to become corrupt politicians instead of independent geniuses, not in Barbados, that’s for sure.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/10-year-old-uk-girl-begins-college-classes-math-degree-article-1.2143874

By the way, AC is a prime candidate for the Eugenics Program, it’s sacrilegious that any poor, underserving child should carry those idiot genes…lol

17. St George's Dragon Avatar

Look, someone taking action against some racist thugs:
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-31821397
    But we wouldn’t do that in Barbados. We don’t like racism but we don’t believe in doing anything about it.

18. @ St George’s Dragon,

The same article was covered in the UK guardian with a little more coverage.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/mar/10/shut-down-college-fraternities-university-oklahoma-racist

19. Jeremy Clarkson, suspended by BBC

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/mailonsunday/index.html

20. But certainly in the confines of the bushy Belle Gully, fewer people searching could have been more effective.

21. Colonel Buggy March 10, 2015 at 3:11 PM #

But certainly in the confines of the bushy Belle Gully, fewer people searching could have been more effective.

Safety in numbers …..

….. sounds like 50 soldiers and Police,

…………….. probably armed.

Sad to see we can’t venture into some places in Barbados without an armed escort.

22. And I suspect that more eyes were concentrated towards meeting up with the living, moreso than with a possible deceased.

23. On a point of order:
    The word is SARKY……..not snarky
    Homo Sapiens so called,is one species as John is at pains to point out.Those of the ‘ignorami’,and many are to be found in Barbados,are among those labelled racists.
    I recall EWB introduced a law in Barbados,which made discrimination on account of religion,ethnic origin etc unlawful.This was the occasion when he said he was of jewish origin,his name being Baruch.Even the dipper,did selling out.

24. Here is an example of the subtle racism that exists in The Barbados media.

In today’s Nation, there is an article which announced that the CEO of Credit Suisse, Brady W. Dougan, was going to step down from his post and would be replaced with the current CEO of The Prudential, Tidjane Thiam.

They chose to show a photo of the departing Mr Dougan, yet failed to include an image of Mr Thiam. This article made mention that Mr Thiam was born in the Ivory Coast. By now you can guess why they refused to show this month’s photo: he is a pure uncut and a bloody successful Negro man.

He has been recruited to clean up the mess left by his white predecessor.

I remember when Mr Thiam was recruited by The Prudential; let’s just say that it was probably the most controversial recruitment of a CEO in the history of the UK – period.

The online Nation may be able to get away with this standard of journalism in little ole Barbados. However for those of us who live in bigger countries and have knowledge of what is going on in the real world – well, we remain underwhelmed.

Here are the two links below for you to contrast and compare:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64620/credit-suisse-ceo-leaving

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/banksandfinance/insurance/11462583/How-Tidjane-Thiam-survived-a-military-coup-and-a-botched-36bn-takeover-to-lead-Credit-Suisse.html

25. Racism or ignorance Exclaimer?

26. Christoph Meiners was a polygenist: he believed that each race had a separate origin. He was a very early practitioner of scientific racism. Meiners studied the physical, mental and moral characteristics of each race, and built a race hierarchy based on the evidence that was considered common in scientific and anthropological circles at the time. Meiners split mankind into two divisions which he labeled the “beautiful White race” and the “ugly Black race”. In Meiners book The Outline of History of Mankind he claimed that a main characteristic of race is either beauty or ugliness. He viewed only the white race as beautiful. He considered ugly races as inferior, immoral and animal like. He claimed that the black ugly peoples are distinct from the white beautiful peoples by their sad lack of virtue and their terrible vices.

27. Georges Cuvier

Racial studies by Georges Cuvier (1769–1832), the French naturalist and zoologist, influenced scientific polygenism and scientific racism. Cuvier believed there were three distinct races: the Caucasian (white), Mongolian (yellow) and the Ethiopian (black). He rated each for the beauty or ugliness of the skull and quality of their civilizations. Cuvier wrote about Caucasians:

The white race, with oval face, straight hair and nose, to which the civilised people of Europe belong and which appear to us the most beautiful of all, is also superior to others by its genius, courage and activity.

Regarding Negros, Cuvier wrote:

The Negro race … is marked by black complexion, crisped or woolly hair, compressed cranium and a flat nose. The projection of the lower parts of the face, and the thick lips, evidently approximate it to the monkey tribe: the hordes of which it consists have always remained in the most complete state of barbarism.

He thought Adam and Eve were Caucasian and hence the original race of mankind. The other two races arose by survivors’ escaping in different directions after a major catastrophe hit the earth 5,000 years ago. He theorized that the survivors lived in complete isolation from each other and developed separately.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

You said “They chose to show a photo of the departing Mr Dougan, yet failed to include an image of Mr Thiam…”

And this is the “subtlety of entrenched self deprecation” that we black people, aided and abetted by the usual suspects and negrocrats that I sought to share with Ross and others of his ilk.

I too, like Real History, am aware of the atrocities committed by the Massa, but where I would seek to depart from simple recalll/remembrance, is in the use of this information.

We can use it destructively or constructively and here on the internet is not as effective as my ingrunt Minister of Eddy Kashun seeking to weave the experience into errant black youth, representatives of those ” of black complexion, crisped or woolly hair, compressed cranium and a flat nose… and cranium’s of simians etc” or the boys on the block whom successive governments seek to tief dere votes by buying Stihl Weedwackers for the swine to sell on the black market, post the election.

Project Oasis my derriere!!!

@ David [BU]

I was trying to copy the picture of Thiam and paste it here but de ole man jes doan know how dese fandangled things does work

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/03227/thiamdougan_3227321c.jpg

29. @PUDRYR

How is that?

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ A Few of you…

A few of you have asked me offline why I have such disdain for the men in the cloth.

And find them to be lukewarm soon to be spat out…

I give you this article and other items like these which I would have felt that, in keeping with “go ye out into the (cyber) highways and byways’ and engage with your citizenry AFTER you used the TV media to talk about this issue.

Of course I do not expect any of the laity to be found here in this “the (denary) tool of the Devil spoken of in Revelations” harbinger of that which facilitates that “… no man might buy or sell, save he that had the mark, or the name of the beast, or the number of his name..”

I would not expect the Great Reverend Gerry Seale to come here and to give his take on the subject, as a man of the cloth, and to say what he thinks needs to be done as a solution.

No sir for he is one of the legion that preys on we poor ingrunt folk with these fancy sound bites, like Pastor David Durant and Pastor Eloysius, dem feoolw doan collect any tithes here in cyberspace so their message of “reconcillaition” has to be delivered pun a Sundey when, as a consideration for the spirtual guidance, we have to give a collection for them to give us spiritual food.

“Therefore thus saith the Lord God of Israel against the pastors that feed my people; Ye have scattered my flock, and driven them away, and have not visited them: behold, I will visit upon you the evil of your doings, saith the Lord”

But 6 oclock nearly heah and de insulin awaiteth….form de Madam who gine juck me….

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry David {BU]

I was copying the picture and not the URL so when i pasted the former nothing appeared in my comment so de ole man pasted the url and Whaplax but I forgot the caption so i pasted it again

32. In 2015 the racism is alive.

33. @ David

We should expect racism to get increasing worse as the global economic circumstance continues to go ‘in the wrong direction’. Like it has been!

34. Paca you are right but racism is also becoming white noise, when you are bombarded every day about whitey not doing this or that because of racism you can start to tune it out. Case in point the racist chant, they close down the whole fraternity good and bad now how do you think the guys who did nothing feel at this moment

35. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

A Black man will always be a black man to many white as President Obama found and proved with GOP Congress.

USA GOP Congress also proved Warmongering link with Israel which has manifested in all Covert CIA Conspiracy theories pre and post 911

http://youtu.be/vWlTp3OigRs

36. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit enabled them.

http://youtu.be/DiY29DhcDt8

37. realhistory

It is realsimple!!

Look at what you wrote … I just added a lifespan for Meiners.

Georges Cuvier (1769–1832)
    Cuvier believed there were three distinct races

Christoph Meiners (31 July 1747 – 1 May 1810)
    He believed that each race had a separate origin

You got it down pat and don’t realize it … racism arises out of a belief

The only people who can be racist are those who believe there is more than one race or species ….. like yourself and your idols, Meiniers and Cuvier.

The rest of us who have figured out we can frolic and produce viable fertile offspring know we all belong to a single species.

Now, watch the dates …… 1747 to 1810 and 1769 to 1832.

Your idols lived and professed their beliefs way after Barbados was populated by Europeans and Africans who begun to frolic more than a century before either one of your two idols were born.

Clearly, these guys didn’t know about the viability or fertility of the offspring of the frolic that had been going on in Barbados for more than a century prior to their birth.

They missed the Quakers … 1648 and on …. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inner_light

They appear to have missed out on the declaration of Independence in America ….. all men are created equal …..

These guys were probably closeted in university thinking up theories to cover the light with darkness.

… kind of like what you see happening here today.

38. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Is Racism and Sex inclusive or exclusive of one another

39. Easy squeeze (make no riot) March 11, 2015 at 12:10 PM #

….. Are?

40. See if you can listen to the link below. It explains a lot.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b054qf7d

“The Birth of Capitalism

Promises, Promises: A History of Debt Episode 8 of 10

Anthropologist David Graeber examines the influence of debt during the birth of capitalism and the centrality of debt to the slave trade.

The conventional view is that the innovations during the birth of capitalism led to greater material prosperity enabling us to lead happier lives. David argues that, in fact, these times were marked by extraordinary levels of war and violence. This was an age of giant empires, standing armies and chattel slavery – a time when money came to be seen as a physical thing and debts had to be repaid.

The enormous productivity of the era was only made possible by the existence of extraordinary mechanisms designed to pump out more and more disciplined labour. The history of the Atlantic slave trade is a perfect example and debt underpinned the entire process.

In the late 17th century, ship owners based in Liverpool or Bristol would acquire goods such as copper wires and brass rods on easy credit terms from local wholesalers, expecting to make good by selling slaves (also on credit) to plantation owners in the Antilles and North America. Ship owners would then transport their wares to African ports like Ouidah, Bonny, or Calabar. The goods were then advanced to African merchants, again on credit, and those African merchants would pay back what they owed in slaves.

David Graeber also discusses the foundation of the Bank of England, the first successful experiment to create a central, national bank. Since the first loan that the bankers made to King William III, bringing the Bank of England into existence, money has been essentially circulating government debt.”

41. John March 11, 2015 at 12:49 PM #

Easy squeeze (make no riot) March 11, 2015 at 12:10 PM #

++++++++++++

There are both male and female racists.

However, if you believe more than one species of humans exists, a prerequisite of being a racist, then you shouldn’t be running around seeking to have sex with a member of another species.

You don’t know what will result.

If you do and the result is viable fertile offspring, then you risk doing yourself irreparable psychological harm ……. of course you could always change your beliefs.

42. Exclaimer

The largest empire ever, the British Empire, saw to the abolition of the Slave Trade and Slavery itself.

Everything legal and civil.

What made it do that?

Slavery had been an institution for 1000’s of years.

The Old and New Testament is replete with examples of slave ownership.

It was perfectly legal, moral and ethical to own and trade in slaves ….. our own National Hero, Sarah Ann Gill is an example.

Why the change?

Was it sudden or did it happen over time?

What or who was the force behind the change?

43. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

The only good thing about English is it is a language used by many races
    I was alluding / referring to racists raping / sleeping with other races without it establishing equality or contradicting racist or religious hypocritical beliefs

44. john the reason it changed was that the british had to find a way to get rid of all the now … profitless countries they had. You cant turn it over if the inhabitants are your slaves. So freedom for all, heres your own country, what do you want to buy from us?

45. Lawson

Weak, you can do better

46. I have just read an article in The Nation entitled: “OUR CARIBBEAN: Tread carefully in racial thicket” written by Rickey Singh.

I would urge you to read it. In brief it is a propaganda masterpiece to which the infamous propagandist Goebbels would have been proud of. The Author states that as a citizen of a multi-cultured and multi-ethnic country (Guyana) that he believes that the majority should always recognise and respect the rights of their minorities.

He implies that the white minority have the economic power in Barbados and that it would not be in the interest of the black majority population to agitate too much with regard to residual racial issues that exist in Barbados.

The Author than draws up an economic argument making it clear that the Barbados economy is reliant on the tourist trade which is made up almost entirely of white Caucasians. He adds that the private and public sector do not take too kindly to “racial posturing” on the part of the majority who may or may not have every vindication to be upset.

Rickey Singh stresses that his newspaper is a socially responsible one and has covered all stories of missing individuals irrespective of their background and should be applauded for this along with the police and the military services.

He concludes his article stating that the Nation newspapers carries out her duties professionally in the national interest which also serves the interest of regional stability.

Quite extraordinary! Here we have a coolie man telling the natives to keep their traps shut and except their lot!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64632/caribbean-tread-carefully-racial-thicket

47. Don’t worry about Rickey … he hasn’t got a clue about our history …. I suspect like Mr. Sam

48. Perhaps it’s time for BU to go down the printed route. The Nation and her journalists are comics.

49. @ Lawson
    Correct answer above.
    One thing about you …you call a spade a spade

…not like John – who wants us to accept that “spades, forks, hoes, and pick-axes are all the same….”

Give it a rest nuh John…. Quakers shiite….
    If slavery became highly profitable tomorrow, the usual suspects would find a way to re-establish it… just like they find ways, means, and excuses to control other people’s oil…

….and they could depend on people like you to sell it as a benefit to all…

50. saintgeorgesdragon Avatar
    saintgeorgesdragon

Look, another country taking action against racism:
    http://m.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-31843626
    But we wouldn’t do that in Barbados. We don’t like racism but we don’t believe in doing anything about it.