RACE Talk Surfaces, AGAIN

Reverend Gerry Seale

There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female. An observation of online fora and on the ground the conclusion is the same, why must Barbadians always distil events through a prism of Black and White. There is a simple answer to those of us who wants to be honest.

Barbadians understand the divide separating Blacks and Whites. There is a tolerance level both sides slavishly respect. We come together to cavort at Crop Over and at a few social events on the calendar but for the most part we live separate lives, the Whites at Cattlewash, Kendal, Brighton etc. and the Blacks wherever. Of course we have some Whites and Blacks who socialize at the margin. The fact Whites and other minorities control a disproportionate control of the social and economic influence in Barbados adds to the dynamic. It explains the chain of events witnessed in the Karen Harris episode if compared to Kyla Weekes for example. Kyla who you asked?

A global audience witnessed the re-enactment of the walk 50 years ago across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma – read President Obama’s speech. The speech by Obama acknowledged that institutionalized racism does not exist any longer in the USA but there is also a recognition that the United States is perceived by many to be more polarized on the issue of race in 2015, coincidentally under the first Afro American president Barack Obama.

The release of the US Department of Justice report on Ferguson paints a picture of how Blacks in the small town – the scene of the Michael Brown shooting –accounted for  93% of arrests made in 2012 to 2014.  There are the emails shared by police and ancillary staff which portray the first family in a negative light. The point to note, the race conversation is ongoing and constructive dialogue is the important ingredient required to build an integrated and cohesive society for our offspring to experience a quality life.   It is not enough to say our young people have cultivated different attitudes making race relations palatable, we the older generation have a responsibility to earnestly strive for reconciliation because we are living in the moment and therefore should not disengage from any process to improve our way of life.

Last week the Reverend Gerry Seale, a White Bajan Caucasian, stoked public debate on race in Barbados by suggesting racism is alive and well in Barbados. He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented. BU tried unsuccessfully to locate the report online to share with the BU family. The journalists and others who boast they have a copy serve to expose the cesspool of ignorance we find ourselves.

Barbados is a 90% Black country and we understand the fears of Whites and minorities to talk about issues related to race. It makes them uncomfortable and it has the potential to affect the economy because of our reliance on foreign investment and international business. The USA and the town of Ferguson is a good example of what may result if we inform decisions solely on economic considerations.

Rest in Peace Lindsay Holder!

339 comments

• Exclaimer not negro friendly hardly its not idiot friendly, and far as debating just giving another perspective not racist not plantocracy just some guy with no real dog in the fight, and time to kill between tv shows
    BT of course its money terms , are you stealing Wi-Fi how else you connected with no money and if you know that guy that stole my mothers car ask him if he would like to buy the engine that I had taken out to do an overhaul.

• LOL @ Miller and Lawson…
    haha ha …ohhh shirttt… tek um easy fellows…
    Wunna going kill Bushie…?

“The same reason you cuss brass bowls for swallowing every “Shiite” they hear from politicians and crooks.”
    Touche Miller…. yuh got Bushie there…. ha ha ha

@ Lawson
    ….ask him if he would like to buy the engine that I had taken out to do an overhaul.
    ha ha ha …even in this, you have to make some more money nuh….?
    ,,,good one….

@ Pacha
    John is a good fella but he does type before he think……
    LOL…
    ..or rather – he does type when he think that Bushie out…. Ha Ha Ha… 🙂

• This is what I think is going on.

Trevor Prescod and his constituents live in fear and darkness ….. they would not be seen dead with the Police looking in the Belle Gully where the ganja farmers plant because they feel they will become targets.

Those who went looking regardless live in light.

It isn’t that they know no fear but rather they know what the right thing is and then do it.

White and Black ……. rubbish ….. think Light and Darkness

• We all know that race is a hot topic in all countries. There will be a controversial screening this week of an interview between Trevor Phillips (ex-head of the UK Commission for Racial Equality) and the Right-Wing, White, Politician, Nigel Farage.

Here is an extract from some of the documentary.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2996235/At-man-dares-tell-truth-race-Ex-race-tsar-says-silencing-debate-devastating-harm-Britain.html

By the way, Trevor Phillips is another high profile black married to a white Caucasian.

• Studies Show: Bone density varies greatly from each individual based on nutrition, sex, age, and race. It is true that men have higher bone densities than women, but African-Americans also have higher bone densities than Caucasians and Hispanic people. The average bone density of African-American women is nearly the same as the average bone density of Caucasian males.

• @miller.

Please focus on the data not on personalities.

Caucasian isolation & inbreeding is responsible for the build up harmful genes in their populations over time. Build up of harmful genes eventually leads to numerous genetic diseases in these populations.
    Red legs of Barbados.
    Amish in USA.
    Finns
    Icelanders.
    White Afrikaners, etc.

• Please focus on the data not on personalities.

Caucasian isolation & inbreeding is responsible for the build up harmful genes in their populations over time. Build up of harmful genes eventually leads to numerous genetic diseases in these populations.
    Red legs of Barbados.
    Amish in USA.
    Finns
    Icelanders.
    White Afrikaners, etc.

• Afrikaner genes could hold key to diseases

CAPE TOWN, Reuters .

South Africa’s Afrikaner population is dogged by a raft of rare hereditary diseases…..

South Africa’s three million Afrikaners are descended from a tiny number of original settlers and their relative isolation and lack of mixing with the indigenous black population led to a small gene pool and an above average frequency of rare illness.
    Some rare diseases are quite common among the Afrikaner population,'' said Paul Brink, a genetics professor from the University of Stellenbosch.

• millertheanunnaki

@ brad March 17, 2015 at 7:27 AM
    “Please focus on the data not on personalities.”

You are the one focusing on the “personalities” because you are limiting your comparative analyses and conclusions to a specific group which makes up approx. 15% of the total human population and falling rapidly

Do you have data that compare the bone density of blacks (a minority race in the grander scheme of global human populations) to East Indians or those of Mongoloid descent?

The data you have presented can apply to any group that isolates itself over time and is forced to replicate using the same gene pool. This point has been argued before using the local closed brethren sect as a referential case.
    Have you ever considered the possibility that black Bajans might be afflicted with
    similar ‘genetic deficiencies’ (to use your colour of language) because of forced incestuous sexual relationships resulting from a limited population on a very small land mass and exacerbated by a regimented plantation system whose guiding business principle was “the more indigenous black hands to grow and reap sugar the sweeter the profits”.
    Can research into the data on Bajan blacks provide the genetic mappings to explain the exceptionally high incidence of diabetes and other blood-related diseases found among this ex-slave isolated population?

• yeh finns and Icelanders have genetic problems …they are stronger than anyone else

• High testosterone levels I have always heard lead to violent behavior and may explain the higher rate of homicide among black males.

… could also explain the greater likelihood of death from prostate cancer but I am not a doctor so don’t know.

Have a look at the differences in life expectancy in this link.

http://www.businessinsider.com/huge-racial-gap-in-life-expectancy-2014-1

• …… if you read the article you will see that it isn’t only the majority on BU who don’t seem to realize that there is only one human race/species whatever!!

Vive le minorité …… or is it la!!

• @ John
    What you need is a woman …or (with your low testosterone) a good hobby…
    You clearly have too much time on your hands….

Black people in the USA die from heart attacks and cancer mainly.
    If wunna white people had to live under the same conditions of stress, institutional poverty, injustice and discrimination…the whole setta wunna would have died out long ago…
    …did you get the comparative $$ spent on white health care vs black health care?

Also, the lotta shiite that goes in the name of ‘food’ down there in the US of A would be funny if it wasn’t so ridiculous. Done know that shiite fuel is more disastrous to high quality cars than um is to old jugga jugas 🙂

You need to compare like with like….
    …call any other race that underwent 400 years of global institutionalized brutality -as did the black race- that even survived intact ….far less go on to produce persons of the ilk of Garvey, Mandela, MLK, EWB ….and Bushie lol…

…have you considered taking up tiddlywinks as a hobby….?

• Just stating the obvious question …. what is the point of having a high testosterone level or bone density if you are dead?

A poodle and Rottweiler will produce viable fertile offspring. I have never seen such a cross but I know from 40 + years of having dogs around me that mixed breeds are usually sturdier, less prone to sickness and far more intelligent than a pure bred dog.

At one time I was concerned when the historians claimed slaves movements were restricted because I realized it would mean that the slave side of my ancestry was probably inbred.

I reckoned the free side would have been able to choose from a variety of mates all over the world.

However, I have come to realize that historians really do not know what they are talking about so it is safe to discount their thesis regarding restriction of movements of slaves otherwise we would be a nation of idiots.

Sometimes however, given the varied and myriad contributions on BU I wonder if perhaps the historians didn’t get it right!!

• Ethnic Variation in Bone Density in Premenopausal and Early Perimenopausal Women:

African-American ethnicity is associated with higher femoral neck BMD(Bone Mineral Density) than Caucasians, Chinese, or Japanese, all of whom have similar femoral neck BMD. These findings provide a plausible biological basis for the known ethnic differences in fracture rates…..

Race/ethnic differences in bone mineral densities in older men
    Osteoporosis International Nov 2010

“When compared with US Caucasian men, age-adjusted mean BMD measures at all three BMD sites were 8-20% higher among Afro-Caribbean and 6-12% higher among African-American men. Hip BMD was similar among US Caucasian and Hispanic men, but spine BMD was 3% lower among Hispanic men. Hip and spine BMD values were 3-5% lower among US Asian, 7-10% lower among Hong Kong Chinese, and 8-14% lower except femoral neck among Korean men compared to US Caucasians.

Miller I have provided some more data for you ,West Indians are included in one study.

• @John

Studies show dogs with white or merle coats are predisposed to congenital deafness. Most of the dog breeds who suffer from congenital deafness have some white pigmentation in their coats.

• Years ago we had a part boxer that was white …. rejoiced under the name of Muttley

Deaf as a post.

But a real good dog.

Don’t think I ever took her to the vet ….. low maintenance, healthy and only had to give people the look although she wasn’t really fierce!!

I guess it was just the breed ….. maybe the colour of the coat.

• The oldest Bajan I ever came across was in the Ch Ch burial records of 1773.

She was a woman aged 126.

Women usually live longer.

The eldest slave in the 1817 returns was 114, also a woman.

In the first set of Westbury Burials I found a woman who was 120 years old and numerous other super centenerians.

• The shooting by the police in Barbados shows what can happen when ordinary citizens take the law into their own hands.

It is like the George Zimmerman case in the states.

Zimmerman should never have pursued Trayvon Martin.

Blues and his son also should never have chased the suspect.

They had no idea if he was armed or not..

Now there is a mess, people are dead.

At least the police have the thief …… who now says he is sorry.

The world is crazy.

The black guy who shot the two cops in Fergusson now claims he wasn’t aiming at them!!

• We have a man, purportedly, who has stopped at nothing to legitimize bulling, even as racist countries seek to impose this wickedness on African peoples as a condition for aide etc;

Are you seriously suggesting that countries offering aid to Africa are insisting that these countries should become homosexual as a condition of aid? Seriously?
    Really?

Return to Black Rock for your medication before you harm yourself!

• …… and so, we can conclude that generally speaking, women who have lower bone density and not much testosterone live longer than men.

• @ John
    ..bushie notes that you have not yet found a woman or hobby to gainfully occupy your time… perhaps you can try a thing with Simple Simon…. she may be game and if the worse comes to the worse you’d just be another EX-……

Since when did “living longer” become a yardstick of anything? …how it that related to the moot?
    shiite man… women also have bigger hips….. does THAT count?
    …they also carry children …. whoopee!!
    ..wuh most of the really GREAT humans that ever lived …died young….
    and many that lived and lived and lived
    only wasted the damn people’s oxygen and food….

Look Boss…
    BBE made a black man in his own image and set him up in his own yard in Eden.
    But like most men,
    if you give them an inch, they ask for a foot
    if you give them a foot, they ask for a yard
    if you give them a yard in Eden, they want a naked woman in it….

…so up comes Eve (first mistake… but not always fatal…)

After a couple millennia, like typical black people, all the jokers were doing were singing, having sex, lazing around liming and generally playing the ass… smoking things, and giving one another high fives…

Things were moving too slow…. (the damn world wasn’t built to last forever….after all – ever heard of entropy?) so BBE decided to up the ante and as described in 2 Kings Chapter 5, created the ultimate destroyer….. THE WHITE MAN…

…the rest, as they say, is HIS story…… which you seem to want to write.

• …… me …. I think after much consideration today I prefer a black dog … preferably with lab in it.

• Easy squeeze (make no riot)

DNA yields secrets of human pioneer
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-29649499

• A couple of weekends ago, we almost lynched three white men who accosted a watchman in the middle of the night while searching for a missing person.The newspapers and Social media, and every gathering had a field day and an opinion.
    Last weekend one man was killed and his son wounded, by an off- duty policeman ,while trying to retrieve some items stolen from their home ……………..and scarcely a word on BU, and the social media condemning this ‘Deep South ‘ type of action by a person who has promised to “Protect and Serve” the people of this nation .
    Black on Black is acceptable. We call each other Nigger ,and that is cool,but we kick up hell when others used what is then termed the “N’ word. Presumably it is also acceptable for a black to kill another “brudder” Tis cool,with a bariffle of excuses on hand.
    When Senator Mrs Sandiford-Garner got robbed in Super Center car park and then chased after the culprit, she should now thank her lucky stars that she did not meet up with some trigger happy policeman or license gun holder.The same goes for the guy who chased the bank robber at the bottom of University Hill

• Speaking of Finns, some 35 rare genetic diseases occur frequently in Finland. This is known as the “Finnish disease heritage,” and it’s attributed to a lack of “genetic diversity” among the Finns. One such disease is cartilage-hair hypoplasia (or “CHH”), a type of dwarfism that brings with it increased cancer risks and a flawed immune system.

One out of every 76 Finns carries the defective gene responsible for CHH. The only ethnic group in which CHH is more common is the Amish. (One out of every 19 is a carrier).

• millertheanunnaki

@ brad March 19, 2015 at 8:00 AM

Brad, good to know these “facts’ about the genetic defects of the Finns and the inbreeding Amish country bumpkins.

Now tell us about the incidence of sickle cell among some black populations.
    You think we can get some research data on the Maroons in Jca?

PS: I have another query for you. But before I pose such let me ask your view on the racial classification of Pres. Obama? Do you consider him black or white and why?

• Bushie you have been drinking too much rum or drinking too much chalice wine. You now cussing the white man that gave you his white BBE that you worship? ROTFLMAO!! Looka go an tek some alka seltzer and lie down do!

• Easy squeeze (make no riot) March 18, 2015 at 10:50 PM #

DNA yields secrets of human pioneer

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-29649499

That’s interesting.

I am not an anthropologist but it sure looks like Neanderthal is not a separate species or sub species as offspring was both viable and fertile and the genes can be found in non African countries today.

The Neanderthals benefitted from a sharing of genes getting African genes and the Africans who left after the Neanderthals and came across Neanderthals in Europe and elsewhere benefitted from Neanderthal genes.

The Africans who stayed put in Africa stayed “pure bred”.

Clearly folks have engaged in frolic for millennia.

• Unfortunately, Ashkenazim are also associated with no less than 19 genetic disorders, according to the Center for Jewish Genetics. Many are fatal and arise from single-gene mutations.
    Compared with Europeans in general, Ashkenazi Jews have a slightly greater deleterious mutation load..

• @john

A website called “Doberman’s Den” which goes into explicit detail about white Doberman pinschers has this to say about the dogs….”Another color that exists in Dobermans is the white or light colored cream dog. The white Doberman pinscher was created from inbreeding and are considered partial albino Dobermans. It’s common knowledge these white Dobermans have health problems and behavioral issues. They commonly have skin and eye sight problems like photo sensitivity. As a result of not being sure of it’s surroundings at times, this leads some dogs to fear biting. Some countries have banned the breeding of this dog mutation and breeders are encouraged not to breed for this color. It is seen as inhumane to the dog due to the serious health concerns.

• Never liked Dobermans

Unlikely I will ever own one but thanks for the head’s up

• Did you know that all pure bred dogs are inbred?

All are thought to come originally from an extinct species of wolf ….. I guess even a chihuahua.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Origin_of_the_domestic_dog

• In breeding also happens with horses where speed is often the trait people try to enhance.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/legacy/wondermonkey/2011/11/bred-to-destruction.shtml

• What would happen if you were to breed a DLP politician with a BLP politician?

• MORON SQUARED

• Good answer

but a trick question

Politicians don’t screw one another.

…… they only screw the electorate.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s