Reverend Gerry Seale

There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female. An observation of online fora and on the ground the conclusion is the same, why must Barbadians always distil events through a prism of Black and White. There is a simple answer to those of us who wants to be honest.

Barbadians understand the divide separating Blacks and Whites. There is a tolerance level both sides slavishly respect. We come together to cavort at Crop Over and at a few social events on the calendar but for the most part we live separate lives, the Whites at Cattlewash, Kendal, Brighton etc. and the Blacks wherever. Of course we have some Whites and Blacks who socialize at the margin. The fact Whites and other minorities control a disproportionate control of the social and economic influence in Barbados adds to the dynamic. It explains the chain of events witnessed in the Karen Harris episode if compared to Kyla Weekes for example. Kyla who you asked?

A global audience witnessed the re-enactment of the walk 50 years ago across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma – read President Obama’s speech. The speech by Obama acknowledged that institutionalized racism does not exist any longer in the USA but there is also a recognition that the United States is perceived by many to be more polarized on the issue of race in 2015, coincidentally under the first Afro American president Barack Obama.

The release of the US Department of Justice report on Ferguson paints a picture of how Blacks in the small town – the scene of the Michael Brown shooting –accounted for  93% of arrests made in 2012 to 2014.  There are the emails shared by police and ancillary staff which portray the first family in a negative light. The point to note, the race conversation is ongoing and constructive dialogue is the important ingredient required to build an integrated and cohesive society for our offspring to experience a quality life.   It is not enough to say our young people have cultivated different attitudes making race relations palatable, we the older generation have a responsibility to earnestly strive for reconciliation because we are living in the moment and therefore should not disengage from any process to improve our way of life.

Last week the Reverend Gerry Seale, a White Bajan Caucasian, stoked public debate on race in Barbados by suggesting racism is alive and well in Barbados. He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented. BU tried unsuccessfully to locate the report online to share with the BU family. The journalists and others who boast they have a copy serve to expose the cesspool of ignorance we find ourselves.

Barbados is a 90% Black country and we understand the fears of Whites and minorities to talk about issues related to race. It makes them uncomfortable and it has the potential to affect the economy because of our reliance on foreign investment and international business. The USA and the town of Ferguson is a good example of what may result if we inform decisions solely on economic considerations.

Rest in Peace Lindsay Holder!

339 responses to “RACE Talk Surfaces, AGAIN”

1. Another Reverend has entered the fray!!

He asserts that “Racism was introduced into Barbados in 1625 when 10 Africans and some 60 Caucasians arrived on the same ship.”

However, Al Gilkes contradicts him.

In his column http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64181/al-gilkes-column-history-wrong, …..Al states unequivocally ….

“There were no Africans on that boat with Powell and his 80 Englishmen.”

Both cannot be right.

Al also contradicts the Reverend on the number of other settlers, 80 vs 60 and one refers to them as Caucasian and the other Englishmen!!

Which one is right?

Do we go with the Reverend because he is a reverend or stick with Al who routinely researches and publishes a column in the press each week?

If Al is right then it is clear that racism never got introduced into Barbados as the Reverend claims!!

Me, I used to believe the 80 10 story but no longer do.

I think it was made up because you can’t have only white people at the beginning of Barbados …. it doesn’t suit the politicians.

The Reverend needs to examine his sources critically.

2. I have a serious problem BU. To the world yesterday we sent the images of young black boys portraying themselves as the GREEN MONKEY. We are called monkeys by the Europeans watching soccer games, by their chants and the throwing of bananas at the mostly rich soccer players.
    We are our own enemy. Barbados is the only country in the world maybe where black people portray themselves as monkeys.
    Where is the outrage? Has been going on for too long now. Let’s stop it.

3. St George's Dragon Avatar

The problem with the debate about race in the Barbadian context is that people do not seem to want to do anything about the problem. The debate is stuck at “does exist” / “doesn’t exist”.
    The overwhelming view of Black people is that racism exists and white people should stop doing it. The overwhelming view of white people is that racism exists, including against them, and that they are a vulnerable minority.
    Blacks are seen by whites as poor and uncultured or rich and corrupt. Whites are seen by Blacks as uncaring business owners and exploiters of poor people. Both are stereotypes which are incorrect for the majority of the groups in question.
    I see no signs of improvement. I do not even see signs of any attempt to improve things. Other countries try to do something about racism. They have laws against it and prosecute people who break those laws.
    Josh, a Black woman from the UK, made some uncomfortable comments on another post about how things work in Barbados from her point of view of as a non-Bajan Black. She mentioned the “banana chanting” at football matches in the UK and the measures taken to stop it. Sure, there is racism in other countries but they are trying to deal with it. I suspect that it will never be completely be stamped out but they are at least trying.
    In Barbados, we do nothing except bitch about how we are each badly dealt with. There is no anti-racist leadership and no strategy to deal with the problem. Without it, the country will achieve nothing.
    There has to be something wrong when other countries have anti-racist agendas and laws that would put some commenters on BU in jail for race-hate speech, when in Barbados, we are content to regurgitate the same old hate-filled thoughts “because racism exists”.
    It shouldn’t and we should all do our part to eliminate it. BU as a forum, has a great opportunity to provide leadership and make some small steps towards improving things but does nothing to help. It needs to move on from confirming racism exists to wanting to counter it. As someone else on BU said the other day, “try try try to move on”.

4. Where is the report of the truth commission?

5. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Caswell Franklyn March 8, 2015 at 9:24 AM #

“So far in the hotels I have encountered only Mango Bay as an exception whose human resources manager appear to be human”

i will not add much to this debate because on 3 occasions when my life was in danger, my saviours were 3 WHITE people. however, there were black people around who could have helped and NEVER did. but this was in Canada not Barbados.

i have every respect for the HR manager at Mango Bay because he was of great assistance to my daughter whom he had met only a half an hour before about6 years. he went above and beyond …he even made a point of advising her not to hesitate to call him if she that kind of help again. he did not even charge her a cent for what he did for her which was not his concern..but i respect him 100% for treating her, a complete stranger to him so well and doing what he did. so i would love to heap all kinds of criticisms on the white man but i cannot really in good conscience do it anymore.

6. ST george wuh countries are talking about that put people in jail for any kind of speech, i hope you not talking about communist china or Russia ,,no bozie if you think that racism is bad try living in them country, at least her on BU people can vent and rave and be downright nasty without expecting police to be standing outside their doors,
    Don.t get yuh vision clouded with this false belief that freedom of speech should be curtailed and subjected to harassment by officialdom

As for racism in barbados it would be one of the hardest issue to tackled because barbadians were never giving a chance to be owners of their country and those who now owned barbados are white and foreigners ,,,,, basically barbadians have had their legs chopped right from under them before their eyes and all they can do now is vent and rave, so fuh christ sake let them do just that ,without all the superficial mouthings

7. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

http://financialjuneteenth.com/how-to-know-the-difference-between-a-black-man-and-a-ngger/

And you think it was just US < well you know who we have for the DLP and BLP
    running Barbados to she-it,

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

As for racism in barbados it would be one of the hardest issue to tackled because barbadians were never giving a chance to be owners of their country and those who now owned barbados are white and foreigners ,,,,, basically barbadians have had their legs chopped right from under them
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    So in actual fact our National Anthem is one monstrous lie.

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

Mia Mottley is the cause of all the race hate in Barbados.
    How? ??
    Mia once said……she only eats WHITE meat !!!
    Racist Mia.

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Racism cannot be stamped out,and will never be stamped out . What other countries may be doing , is curtailing those so inclined from openly demonstrating their bigotry. Something akin to Political Correctness. I may not be allowed to openly call you an XYZ, but there is nothing, or no one , who can stop me from saying to myself every time I see you, ” there goes that XYZ.”

11. the national anthem said what it meant for the country, however the movers and re writers of barbados history had another agenda.
    however never know with a newer and more enlightened generation, they might move the earth to prove our forefathers rights,

12. SheriVeronica March 8, 2015 at 9:38 AM #

“I still want to know how 90% is a minority???”

Okay, okay….. you’ve made your point, the writer made a redundant statement and obviously the “90% minority” is a mistake…….. so what???!!!.

Shiite, woman, why don’t you contribute to the discussion if you have something worthwhile to add and stop the “nick picking”.

13. It would be interesting to know what percentage of eligible Whites in Barbados cast their vote in a General Election, and the same goes for Asians.

14. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ ac
    An example of what happens in another country:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2120999/Fabrice-Muamba-Twitter-troll-Liam-Stacey-jailed-abusing-Bolton-midfielder.html
    Was it acceptable for someone to delight in the misfortunes of a Black man. I would say no but perhaps you would support it.
    Should the offender be able to hide behind the “free speech” argument? I would say no, because some actions including things said are unacceptable but you might support it.
    Should something be done about that sort of behavior? I say yes but I see no sign that Barbados wants to change anything.
    You say that “Barbadians were never giving a chance to be owners of their country and those who now owned barbados are white and foreigners ,,,,, basically barbadians have had their legs chopped right from under them before their eyes and all they can do now is vent and rave, so fuh christ sake let them do just that ,without all the superficial mouthings”.
    Your attitude is exactly what I posted about. You support the status quo. We should be looking to change things, not just reinforce the current position. It’s time to move on.

15. Artaxerxes March 8, 2015 at 10:23 PM #

SheriVeronica March 8, 2015 at 9:38 AM #

“I still want to know how 90% is a minority???”

Okay, okay….. you’ve made your point, the writer made a redundant statement and obviously the “90% minority” is a mistake…….. so what???!!!.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    I do not think that the writer made a mistake. 90% of Barbadians have to fight for minority rights.

16. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy
    You also say that racism is something we should accept. I don’t.
    When we teach our children not to litter, it is in the hope and expectation that it may achieve something. It may not work but it is the best we can do.
    When some countries try address racism, it is partly to stop bigoted people from saying things they shouldn’t, but mostly it is to try and change their behavior, or the behavior of their children.
    We, on the other hand, are happy to accept that there will always be racism, so there is no point trying to do anything about it.
    That’s sad.

17. @ ST george
    I know reality when it stares me in the face talking about Barbadians changing lifelong attitudes which have all become a norm . due in fact to having no real” power only a power borne out of perception is like chasing windmills, Yes bajans have an absolute right to seek and pursue necessary change , but the reality is that there economic power has stymied what efforts the might have for gain sake and those who have such power never would relinquish it come hell or high water, it has nothing to do with how i think it is just what it is and barbados dependance is neatly tied into those economic tentacles whether u or anyone like it or not, if you can tell me how to disfigure and dismantle this system without all barbadians paying a heavy price i am all ears and dont bring me this childlike approach of comparing other countries that have an abundance of resources to barbados,

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy March 8, 2015 at 9:48 PM #
    “@ac: As for racism in barbados it would be one of the hardest issue to tackled because barbadians were never giving a chance to be owners of their country and those who now owned barbados are white and foreigners ,,,,, basically barbadians have had their legs chopped right from under them
    So in actual fact our National Anthem is one monstrous lie.”

That is ‘exactly’ what I was implying when I sarcastically “recited” the national anthem in a previous but related post.
    Not only is it a monstrous perversion of the country’s brutal history but also a complete distortion of modern-day realities unless the “We” the owners of these “fields and hills” is referring to the Trinidadian ‘foreigners’ and the new arrivals making up the growing crop of the modern business tycoons previously referred to as ‘coolie men’ or, to be more politically correct, itinerant traders from the Indian sub-continent.

It seems the Lord that has been the people’s guide for the past 348 years has finally disinherited (if not yet disenfranchised) the black man. Another case of Ham, or was it Esau, not receiving his birthright in a reverse prodigal son fashion.

I think the calypso renditions of the national anthem by RBP and McFingall does more justice to the economic and political realities of modern-day Bimshire.

19. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ ac
    Defeatist nonsense.
    What would you like to change?
    The rich v poor divide? Raise the minimum wage. Increase the tax credit. Put a long-term plan in place to increase both at a higher rate than inflation for the next 20 years.
    Racism is no different. It is an attitude of mind. It is possible to change attitudes.
    I am half-inclined to think that people don’t want things to change.

20. st george

as to the article you seem to have a preference for dictatorship sorry but i do not, however it does not mean that i am supportive of insensitive behaviuor, putting some one in jail for laughing or tweeting insensitive comment
    is just as abhorrent as the action that was displayed towards the soccer player .

21. Colonel Buggy March 8, 2015 at 10:44 PM #

“I do not think that the writer made a mistake. 90% of Barbadians have to fight for minority rights.”

I read your contribution after posting my comments, and I must say, after looking at the issue from your perspective, I am inclined to agree with you.

22. what is the difference between Albinos and Caucasians ?

1)Both can have red/blonde hair.
    2) Both can have blues/ green eyes.
    3) Both have pale skin.
    4)Both prone to sunburn & skin cancer.
    5)Both prone to eye problems.
    6)Both have melanin deficiency.
    7) Both have mutations that interfere with melanin production /function.
    Genes:
    1) In 2006 researchers found that blue eyes are the result of a “single nucleotide polymorphisms” (SNPs) (mutation) near a gene called OCA2 that encodes a controller of the melanin synthesis, the P protein. The total deactivation of OCA2 causes albinism.
    Blue eyes are genetically recessive, and therefore much less common worldwide ( 8% of the world’s population has blue eyes). They are frequently found in nationalities located near the Baltic sea in northern Europe.
    Blue Eyes Face Higher Cancer Risk
    September 26, 1985|United Press International
    BOSTON .
    — Exposure to sunshine increases the risk of eye cancer, with blue-eyed people more at risk than those with dark eyes, doctors reported Wednesday.

A team led by Dr. Margaret Tucker of the National Cancer Institute said a recent study suggests exposure to ultraviolet radiation from the sun increases the risk of intraocular malignant melanoma…..
    Blue-eyed subjects had the highest risk of the eye melanoma and were followed closely by those with green, gray or hazel eyes, the study showed.

2) About 1 to 2 percent of the human population has red hair.
    Scotland has the highest percentage of redheads worldwide, a whopping 13 percent of the population have red hair!glued
    What is more astonishing is that approximately 40 percent of the population carry the recessive redhead gene…
    Research shows red hair usually results from a mutation in a gene called MC1R ( melanocortin-1 receptor).
    People with red hair also tend to have very pale skin, often with freckles, and exhibit great sensitivity to sunlight.
    Red heads are ‘100 times more susceptible to the most lethal form of skin cancer’, warn scientists.
    By Emma Robertson ,22 Aug 2013, Daily Mail Online.

Redheads are at increased risk of skin cancer even if they DON’T spend time in the sun.
    By Emma Innes,10 May 2013, Daily Mail Online.

3) …the gene SLC24A5 turns out to be critical for the production of melanin, the predominant dark pigment of the skin and hair. … 100 percent of Europeans have a mutation in SLC24A5 that impairs the function of the protein….
    Genetics Out of Africa , Dr. Orville Boyd Jenkins .

Journal of Investigative Dermatology (2014) 134, 568–571:
    SLC24A5 Mutations Are Associated with Non-Syndromic Oculocutaneous Albinism.

23. @ David,

Good morning.

Here is the video of the Rev. Gerry Seale that you was asking for.

24. The White mans division of the worlds people into the three Human races (Black, White and Mongol) is false and self-serving. When a group member of a species with a great variety of physical attributes – such as Black Humans – who exhibit ALL Human attributes: Black skin, White skin (Albinos), Broad noses, Narrow noses, Full lips, Thin lips, Wooly hair, Straight hair, Hair of all colors, Hair of all textures, Very tall people, Very short people, People with Mongol features – breaks away, and forms a “Supergroup” of ONLY those with a “Single” particular distinct attribute, and through some type of isolation – forced or otherwise, breed exclusively among themselves, thus producing offspring with only that one attribute. They create a Sub-species containing ONLY that attribute!

So when isolate members of a species ALL share a common trait, such as (White Skin – Albinism). They do not form a “New” Race, they form a SUB-SPECIES. Thus Whites are NOT a RACE, they are a SUB-SPECIES!

So when isolate members of a species ALL share a common trait, such as (Mongol features). They form a SUB-SPECIES. Thus Mongol is NOT a RACE, it is a SUB-SPECIES!

25. Excellent and correct presentation by realhistory….
    …again.

26. SIN permeates the ENTIRE human RACE, bar NONE! There is NO such thing as BLACK SIN, WHITE SIN, or any other colour SIN

“For ALL have sinned and come short of the glory of God.” ( Rom. 3:23)

“For the wages (results) of SIN is DEATH; but the gift of God IS* eternal Life through Christ Jesus our Lord.” ( Rom 6:23)

It IS* the different ‘Cultural’ and religious traditions, etc, etc, that are manifested in each ethnic group of people, that give rise to different ‘behavior’ practices, mannerism, etc.

Therefore, we are ALL ONE in God’s eyes, SINNERS, and we can ALL, be Saved through The Lord Jesus Christ; as IS* the universal testimony of BLACKS, WHITES, and every other colour in between.

27. @ realhistory

Could have added that there are about 6 original African genotypes.

28. Racism has no future (“I have a dream” 50 years on, from Australia)
    Sandy Grant | 28 August, 2013
    mlk i have a dream.

Today, August 28 is the 50th anniversary of Martin Luther King Jr’s famous, “I have a dream speech”.

And I take this occasion to give an Australian perspective and to say that racism has no future.

For that was the theme of his speech: racism can have no future.

Think of arguably Martin Luther King’s most famous paragraph:

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

As a Christian pastor, King’s dream was rooted firmly in hopes that went way back to Old Testament prophets. He knew the time was coming when God would put all wrongs to right, including the evil of racism. And so King quoted the prophet Amos:

“…we will not be satisfied until ‘justice rolls down like waters, and righteousness like a mighty stream’.”

So I take the chance of this anniversary to look briefly at the Scriptures to consider the past and future of ethnicity. Because what sin does with our ethnicity is the basis for racism.

WHAT IS ETHNICITY’S PAST?
    What is ethnicity’s past? King’s speech quotes the United States Declaration of Independence:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal”.

Of course, this truth is not self-evident to racists. But it’s clearly proclaimed from the first page of the Bible. Genesis 1:27,

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” (NIV84)

The first man and woman were created in God’s likeness. And Adam and Eve’s children inherit that dignity. Now from that biological unity came great diversity. The first part of Genesis records how different tribes spread through the world.

Perhaps we might conclude that the different ethnic groups we see today reflect creative genius of God. We don’t just have birds, but many varieties of finches and eagles and owls and parrots.

In the same way, we have huge ethnic variety among humans. What imagination!

And looking back later, Acts 17:26 says,

“From one man [God] made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands.”

John Piper says that when you put Genesis 1 together with Acts 17:26,

…what emerges is that all members of ALL ETHIC GROUPS are made in the image of God.

No matter what the skin color or facial features or hair texture of other genetic trait, every human being in every ethnic group has an immortal soul in the image of god: a mind with unique God-like reasoning powers, a heart with capacities for moral judgments and spiritual affections, and a potential for relationship with God that sets every person utterly apart from all the animals which God has made. Every human being, whatever color, shape, age, gender, intelligence, health, or social class, is made in the image of God.” [cited from Piper, by Thabiti Anyabwile, p299, “The Glory and Supremacy of Jesus Christ in Ethnic Distinctions and over Ethnic Identities”, For the Fame of God’s Name: Essays in Honor of John Piper (2010, Crossway)]

Of course the early chapters of Genesis also record the spread of sin and its ugly impact throughout the world, not least in the confusion of human language into many tongues, and warfare and strife between the tribes and nations. So that is ethnicity’s past.

WHAT IS ETHNICITY’S FUTURE?
    But what of its future? For that we go to the Bible’s end, to its last book, Revelation 7:9-10. That great vision of the heavenly throne room…

9 After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from EVERY NATION, TRIBE, PEOPLE AND LANGUAGE, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. 10 And they cried out in a loud voice:

“Salvation belongs to our God,
    who sits on the throne,
    and to the Lamb.”

Here is John’s glimpse of God’s future. And here is ethnicity’s future.

The ethnic distinctions seem to remain. The tribes and peoples and languages still seem to be identifiable.

But for all that, there is an over-riding unity. In v10, they cry out in a loud voice. And notice, it’s a singular voice. A multitude of ethnicities singing one song of praise directed to God and the Lamb: his Son, the Lord Jesus Christ, the sacrificial lamb slain for our salvation. For Rev 7:14 says we have washed our robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.

Part of God’s glory here is not just how he arranged to forgive us as individuals. That’s true. Thank God for it.

But another great part of his glory is how he has brought the different nations, indeed warring tribes and nations together in Christ.

That is the future. Serbian and Croatian. Hutu and Tutsi. Iranian and Iraqi. Chinese and Japanese. Even Australian and English. Despite the Ashes!

The nations were made to glorify God. And God’s glory is magnified by how he has reconciled us – not only to himself, through the cross – but also to each other, breaking down the dividing wall of hostility, as the Bible puts it elsewhere. And somehow, with many different tongues, we’ll be singing one song of worship to Jesus into eternity, united in worship forever.
    http://www.matthiasmedia.com

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 9, 2015 at 7:42 AM #
    “Excellent and correct presentation by realhistory….…again.”

But wait Bushie, what “realhistory” has presented is based on scientific research and analysis using the theory of evolution as a basis or premise; not on your imaginary(B)iblical BBE pronouncements about Adam & Eve make-believe.
    Unless you BBE is indeed a ‘Master’ race from an alien world that genetically modified a sub-species of ape called “man”. Zoe can cut and paste from the relevant sections of the Genesis story that supports this thesis.

Should our mutually respected realhistory ‘confirm’ your BBE designed humankind shares about 97% DNA with chimpanzee (especially our bonobo cousins) would you still agree with him?

What I would like “realhistory” to do is to also list the genetic challenges facing “black humans”, especially that ‘sub-species’ from the belly of Africa. Or is he implying the genetic dice are only loaded against the sub-specie of Albinos and Caucasians?

30. Rev. Buddy Larrier Avatar
    Rev. Buddy Larrier

Non State Actors Reparations Commission Inc.

The following is a presentation made by Rev. Buddy Larrier during the launch of Barbados’ ‘International Decade for People of African Descent’ held at the National Union of Public Workers HQ. Dalkeith, St. Michael on Sunday, February 22, 2015.

“To be addressing a gathering such as this on Barbados’ launch of the United Nation’s (UN) International Decade for People of African Descent (IDPAD) with its theme Recognition, Justice and Development is a great honour for me. The theme complements the objectives of the organisation I represents – the Non State Actors Reparations Commission Inc. (NsARC), a coalition of human rights and social justice organisations that is pursuing truth, justice, peace, healing and reconciliation.

Much is being said about the decade which is being launched in Barbados and in other CARICOM countries, but how much do we appreciate its background and the role Barbados has played in helping to advance this historic decade? If we can appreciate its background then our government in particular and CARICOM in general should have no difficulties in taking action on the recommendations below. I say this because in 2010 at the ninth session of the UN’s ‘Working Group of Experts on People of African Descent’ held in Geneva when plans were being made for activities in 2011 which was proclaimed the ‘international year for people of African descent’ not a single representative of any CARICOM Government was present and the only NGO of the English speaking Caribbean in attendance was the one I represented. It was at this event that the decade for people of African descent was proposed and given support. Since then I have taken a fresh look at the process of our liberation.

From 2010 I have become more conscious of the fact that Barbados like most CARICOM countries has religious programmes 24 seven but it does not has a single radio or TV programme on education about African Heritage. In an effort to understand why I have been searching the Bible to seek answers and messages of our physical, political, economic and spiritual Liberation that is written in the scriptures for the fullness of time, which to me will manifest during the decade question.

Allow me to start with our physical bondage as reference in the book of Isaiah 20: 3-5; “And the Lord said, like as my servant Isaiah has walked naked and barefoot three years for a sign and wonder upon Egypt and upon Ethiopia; so shall the king of Asayria lead away the Egyptians prisoners and the Ethiopian captives, young and old, naked and barefoot even with their buttocks uncovered to the shame of Egypt; and they shall be afraid and ashamed of Ethiopia their expectation and of Egypt their glory.” The book of Isaiah was written some 500 plus years before the story of Jesus the Christ. One thousand Five hundred years after Jesus, during the 15th Century under the Kings of Europe Africans were led away, young and old, naked and barefoot even with our buttocks uncovered and we have become ashamed of Africa our expectation and our glory.

The liberation process was further made clear to me in the book of Exodus 4:21-23; ”And the Lord said unto Moses, when thou goest to return into Egypt, see that thou do all those wonders before Pharaoh, which I have put into thine hand: but I will harden his heart, that he shall not let the people go. And thou shalt say unto Pharaoh, Thus saith the Lord, Israel is my son, even my firstborn: And I say unto thee, let my son go, that he may serve me; and if thou refuse to let him go, behold, I will slay thy son, even thy firstborn.” We Africans are the first born of the Most High God and He put us into bondage for His purpose and hardened the hearts of Caucasians until the appropriate time. The consciousness movement of the 1960s and 1970s in the USA and Trinidad & Tobago signalled that the time was approaching.

On November 2, 1973 the UN’s passed resolution 3057 (XXV111) which puts the appropriateness of time into context. In essence it states; “a firm resolve to achieve the total and unconditional elimination of racism and racial discrimination against which the conscience and sense of justice of mankind have long been aroused and which in our time represent serious obstacles to further progress and the strengthening of international peace and security.”

That 1973 resolution captures the vision given to me four years later in 1977 while living in England and made public in my book Pride & Unity; “a new political and economic order for the 21st Century; new political awakening for Barbadians and other people of the Caribbean region; the uniting of the Larrier family as a single unit; the acquisition of economic power by black people; the end of Apartheid in South Africa and of global oppression of white supremacy (racism).”

At the time of receiving the vision like most Caribbean people of my age I was ashamed of being African and was also spiritually afraid of Caucasians. Therefore, with such a powerful vision and mission I sought reassurance from the Most High and He informed me of who I am and the reason I came into the world, which I took from the book of Jeremiah chapter 1:4-8 “Then the word of the Lord came unto me saying, before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee, and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. Then said I Ah, Lord God! Behold I cannot speak; for I am a child (I did not go to Harrison or Queen’s college). But the Lord said unto me, say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall sent thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shall speak. Be not afraid of their faces; for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the Lord. The Lord put forth his hand and touched my mouth and said unto me I have put my words in thy mouth.”

That 1973 resolution set in motion a 30 years programme of conferences for the eradication of racism and racial discrimination. The first conference was held in Geneva in 1978 (the same year Barbados held its first international family reunion which I was commanded to organized), the second conference was held in 1983 also in Geneva. These conferences were held mainly for nation states.

In 1990 I was inspired and commanded to put a proposal to the nations of the world for October 12 to be a ‘Universal Day of Hope’ for truth, and justice. It was sent to over 170 world leaders and international organisations. I was also commanded to inform Barbados that it was selected to lead the process. I was commanded to return to Barbados in 1994 with that message. I presented a draft resolution for October 12 to the government in 1995. In 1998 the Government established a Commission for Pan-African Affairs of which I was part. This is the first such Government agency and in 1999 a national consultation on racism was carried out, the only country known to have done such. In 2001 the third UN conference was held in Durban, South Africa because of the changes that were taking place at the time to dismantle the Apartheid system. Barbados played a key role in the 2001 Durban conference which was the first World Conference against Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and Related Intolerance. It was also the first world conference of the 21st Century and unlike the two previous conferences was opened to all people of the world who desired to contribute towards eradicating racism. My draft resolution on October 12 that was presented to the government in 1995 was among those resolutions submitted at the Durban conference.

That historic conference must be ranked among the six most impactful events that affected the world’s population. No 1 is the Nicaea Conference of 325 AD, which saw a false image of a Caucasian man as Jesus the Christ becoming worldwide; No 2 is Columbus’ arrival in the “New World” on October 12, 1492, which was followed by unprecedented atrocities due to the racial attitudes of Caucasians; No 3 is the Barbados’ Slave Code of 1661, which influenced all colonies of the British Empire in the belief that black people were inferior to whites and were not full human beings; No 4 is the 1884-5 Berlin conference at which the continent of Africa was carved up by Caucasians and shared among them; No 5 would be the 1914 “World War”, which was a Caucasian family affair, but due to colonization affected most nations of the world. The above events caused untold psychological damage to the world’s people and their attitudes towards African black people.

Due to all that have been said I am persuaded and humbly say that Barbados with its peculiar history has been chosen by the Most High and directed by our ancestors to lead the Global Reparations Movement through the process for freeing our minds from mental slavery. Therefore, in conclusion I speak with confidence that there are four challenges for Barbados and African people that if pursued and achieved during the decade would ensure victory of the two remaining aspects of our liberation, Economic and Spiritual, these are; (1) Barbados to take the lead role in submitting a resolution to the UN on behalf of CARICOM for October 12 as ‘International Day for Reparations’, the World Social Forum started the process for civil society, Barbados must finish it for nations states (2) the relocation of the statue of Lord Nelson as was recommended in the report of the Committee for National Reconciliation of 2000, (3) the removal of the Royal Family as Head of State from CARICOM countries and (4) the removal of the false image of Yeshua the Hebrew Messiah being a Caucasian as Lord and Saviour from places where African black people worship”.

My advice to government is not to take these recommendations likely. I thank you for this opportunity to share my thoughts and the position of NsARC.

31. @ Miller
    You would do well to stay away from things that you clearly do not understand.
    BBE and Bushie are two such that you can start with….

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 9, 2015 at 9:43 AM

I never give a man additional blows when he is down and out.

Just assume Vincent Haynes or Pacha had raised the query and then respond.

33. realhistory March 8, 2015 at 7:10 PM #

And then there is the “MULATTO” Races: which are MIXTURES of all the above, in varying QUANTITIES.

Are you any relation to Adolph Hitler and do you subscribe to his theories on racial purity?

Google Mein Kampf and Mulatto and her is what you will find.

“Not only because she is adding to the strength of her army in a constantly increasing measure by recruiting coloured troops from the population of her gigantic empire, but also because France is racially becoming more and more negroid, so much so that now one can actually speak of the creation of an African State on European soil. The contemporary colonial policy of France cannot be compared with that of Germany in the past. If France develops along the lines it has taken in our day, and should that development continue for the next three hundred years, all traces of French blood will finally be submerged in the formation of a Euro-African Mulatto State. This would represent a formidable and compact colonial territory stretching from the Rhine to the Congo, inhabited by an inferior race which had developed through a slow and steady process of bastardization. ”

Do you think Barbados is a Euro African Mulatto state?

Here is how Hitler addressed what he considered to be a problem.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhineland_Bastard

What do you think of compulsory sterilization?

Al Gilkes, me and hundreds of thousands of other Bajans are the result of European and African frolicking. You would class us as mulattos.

Needless to say, I am very worried to read of your thoughts on race!!

For me, I will never sit down to discuss racism with anyone who believes there is more than one race, the human race. Anyone does hold that there is only one race by definition cannot contemplate racism!!

The problem lies with those of us who can differentiate in their minds …. only those who can differentiate can discriminate.

34. ….. I see the QEH is looking to promote state sponsored euthanasia!!

35. @ Mr. Larrier

Have we now reached the point where ‘truth’ has been defeated by lies. We like to rest on Bushie, our intellectual prop, in these matters. However, it this stated in Isaiah, we seem to recall, that such a time would come. Is this time not here.

As a Holy man, you would of course rely on other Books as well, no! If you do, does the Koran not have something to say about this matter also. On this matter we are assured that our previously cited intellectual prop maybe of any help. LOL

However, is it not the Koran which provides the spiritual response to those circumstances? It suggest a opposite and more powerful spiritual force to confront a racist, spiritual, evil.

Dear Buddy, are we therefore not deluded to assume that the forces running the world could be appealed to using the best of human traits?

In short and as a spiritual and a practical matter, we have long reached the considered opinion that no amount of non-violent, human effort can appease this great, racist, Satan! Only maximum force and annihilation will suffice!

36. Mr. Larrier

PS.

We do not agree that any human being is or should be revered or is reverent! So please forgive us.

37. Pachamama March 9, 2015 at 10:50 AM #

Mr. Larrier

PS.

We do not agree that any human being is or should be revered or is reverent! So please forgive us.

Lord have mercy ….. another Hitler adherent

38. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64542/sign

Looks like there are still some humans in Barbados!!

No sign of a politician from either party!!!

Hard to believe … maybe the Nation was so busy looking for white people they just missed the potbellied politicians !!

39. https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/posts/10152492051515989

“Christopher Robinson Every time they go looking for a missing person they find weed!”

Interesting observation …. have others noticed too?

40. Wonder what colour the ganja growers are?

Does it even matter?

41. Perhaps the ganja growers have found a way to discourage praedial larceny

42. millertheanunnaki March 9, 2015 at 9:50 AM #

@ Bush Tea March 9, 2015 at 9:43 AM

Just assume Vincent Haynes or Pacha had raised the query and then respond.
    ………………………………………………………….

Miller …..yuh mekkin sport….yuh dun noa dah Bushie dus rafuse tuh ansa muh simple kwestian…..leff ‘e doa.he cummin ‘roun…..lol

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar

St George’s Dragon March 8, 2015 at 10:46 PM #
    What I am saying is that legislation alone will not stop racism, education and exposure are key factors in minimising racism. Yes, It just like TEACHING our children not to litter, and not just pass anti litter legislation and fine them every time they litter. We ,as a race, need also to demonstrate to others that we are as equal in all respects.
    An Englishman once told me that he came from a community, where there were no blacks, and naturally the community had a very low opinion of Blacks, or Immigrants, as we were called then, from the negative portrayal of blacks on the TV and in the Cinema, and by some politicians and comedians in the dance halls and Working Men’s clubs. He went on to say that he had a different outlook of Black people since meeting me. He was a true friend.

44. @ John
    as man….
    …you know you does talk a lotta shiite …. right?

You have the ability to “kolifox” any kind of argument to support your white world view …. no matter how childish, illogical or ridiculous it clearly is….but surely you don’t expect intelligent folk to take you seriously…

As you were told some years ago on BU, the originally designed man was African, and was the colour of the dirt from which he was made…. all else afterwards are mutations.

Who are you trying to impress by bringing up Hitler? …one of your kind?
    Are you saying that anyone who says ANYTHING that Hitler ever said must be just like him?
    steupssss….

Where you just came back from anyway….? Bushie thought that you had decided to boycott BU after the warm licks you took awhile back on this same topic…. 🙂

45. @ Miller
    You could have fooled Bushie there…. thought that was when you REALLY shared the licks Miller….. LOL ha ha hah

But you have not the ability to touch BBE’s anointed
    .. even when he’s down and out…
    Stop dreaming.

46. Bush Tea March 9, 2015 at 3:12 PM #

Where you just came back from anyway….? Bushie thought that you had decided to boycott BU after the warm licks you took awhile back on this same topic….

+++++++++++++++

…. and a good day to you too!!

Been more than a year since the poodle and Rottweiler but nice to know you are thinking of me!!

Thought you were just being stand offish

47. LOL @ John

You know that you and Bushie “tight” too…
    Much respect boss….
    ..and good to see you back, refreshed and fully capable of the licks to come your way….
    …since you seem to have returned in your original ‘unconverted’ state….

48. realhistory March 9, 2015 at 6:53 AM #

So when isolate members of a species ALL share a common trait, such as (Mongol features). They form a SUB-SPECIES. Thus Mongol is NOT a RACE, it is a SUB-SPECIES!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Race_(human_classification)

See if the link helps with your confusion of species, subspecies and race.

I really don’t read too much about biology so I stand to be corrected.

Here’s my simplistic, naive interpretation.

A Poodle and a Rottweiler both belong to the same species because they will produce viable fertile offspring.

They have personality and physical traits which are as different as chalk to cheese.

The test of membership is whether they will produce viable fertile offspring not what they look like or how they behave.

A Mongol and an African belong to the same species, or is it subspecies for the same reason.

I hasten to add in case I am confusing you further that the species which a Poodle and a Rottweiler are members of is a completely different species of which a Mongol and an African are members.

The two different species will not produce viable offspring.

…. I am confident you can figure that out.

49. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Like A Rolling Stone

50. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Wake Up And Live

http://youtu.be/NByqdHVpWlw

If you took the worlds population and ranked them by shade or melanin
    the average mode median and mean would be asian demographics