Dr. DeLisle Worrel

BU seeks clarification, in the public’s interest, on a 5 millions dollar deposit listed on an asset disclosure to the Barbados Court in an Affidavit filed by LEROY PARRIS to overturn an order freezing his assets and those of Branlee Consulting Services Inc. BU is unaware the Central Bank of Barbados is authorized to accept deposits from individuals. Last week David Ellis, a friend of Governor Delisle Worrell, asked the same question on national radio. To date the question, not surprisingly, remains unanswered.

195 responses to “Does Leroy Parris Maintain a $5,000,000.00 Deposit with the Central Bank of Barbados?”

1. David has anyone sent an email to the PR Dept. at Central Bank?

Have any journalist sought clarification?

Has a MP raised a member’s question in Parliament?

Has any of the financial experts been polled on what are the CB regulations?

This is nothing that should be secretive so I am surprised there has been no answer yet.

BTW I am aware that one attempt was made re email.

2. @DeeWord

BU was very deliberate to mention the country’s leading journalist posed the question on the airwaves. The Nation newspaper also has a responsibility to clarify.

JAs

On Monday, 23 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

3. David, I recall a report where the Governor had determined that certain news organizations would not be allowed at his news conferences, in essence displaying a petulance re the public dissemination of the country’s business.

I therefore didn’t consider that anyone at the Central Bank would respond to some general query over the airwaves like that.

With respect that was not a journalist seeing clarification.

They get clarification by seeking an interview or statements in a more direct way.

I am sure David Ellis can do better than that.

This should have been major news to clarify; unless of course the general public are the only ones who are not aware of this option because they do not have the large deposits that are accepted!

4. It is about time that some of our politicians and senior public officers see the inside of a jail cell complete with a horny cell mate. Petty criminals are jailed in Barbados everyday for some very minor offences while the big crooks qualify for generous pensions after a life of crime and refusing to do their duty.

5. @ Caswell
    It is about time that some of our politicians and senior public officers see the inside of a jail cell
    What does the noise made by the closing of the cell doors at Dodds sound like….?

BUP !!

6. Very funny Bushie.

7. The CB website: http://www.centralbank.org.bb/index.htm From a preliminary search there, I can’t see anywhere where individual deposits are accepted. Could this be a deposit requirement with a pending application to establish a new bank, or another insurance startup? That could only be answered by the bank.

8. @David, I wonder who else is hiding funds at the Central Bank. They have all banded together to use fraudulent activity to rob the people of Barbados. They should be imprisoned.

9. Hants, in an early post on this topic suggested that the word “deposit” was probably a mistake by the Nation Reporter and that it should have been 5 million dollars in debentures instead. This sounded reasonable except that I would have thought that the Nation would have clarified and apologized for what would really have been a quite egregious mistake and one which could have landed them in serious financial pucketary if that were indeed so.

How could a senior reporter make such a mistake that arguably could have exposed them to one or more multimillion dollar suits?

The fact that many days have passed and that there has been no correction of the article by the Nation and that David Ellis brought the matter of a deposit up on Brasstacks suggests that it might possibly not have been a mistake.

If it were a mistake wouldn’t we have heard the CB Governor and Parris’ lawyers making some noises already and the Nation making a formal apology?

Seems to me that there might be a bit more in this mortar than the pestle and that the affidavit which the Nation had sight of might indeed have specifically said “deposit” rather than debentures.

Wasn’t there also some media buzz about the Governor being requested to assist LP in finding a reputable home for the 8 million dollars which FCIB had washed their hands of and had returned to him?

Wasn’t the Nation the media house that broke that story?

The timing of these putative matters then becomes very interesting indeed.

Did’nt the PM come out over the weekend swinging daintily about leakage of court documents? Could this be one of the cases he was referring to?

Hmmmm!

10. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Well its drug or land fraud CLICO money, A fool at the top to take the fall ,

When was the money put there? and if put there before this new head of the CB, then we will have to look at Williams ex of the CB who open the account for him under what Name or company if any.

crooks, liars and scumbags , maybe it was also the balance of the vote buying fund,

11. @are-we-there-yet February 23, 2015 at 11:00 PM “In an early post on this topic suggested that the word “deposit” was probably a mistake by the Nation Reporter and that it should have been 5 million dollars in debentures instead.”

I don’t believe that anyone at the Nation would confuse the words deposit and debenture.

If the Nation said deposit why are we trying to say something else?

The Central Bank has nice secure vaults which are used to hold both new and old currency, including foreign currencies.

Since the Central bank’s vaults are large there is no doubt some extra room to hold a few more boxes of cash.

Did not several banks in Barbados ask Leroy Parris to withdraw his money from them? I suppose the banks could have written him cheques, but what if they gave him his deposits back in cash? Since it would not be safe to keep millions of cash under his bed perhaps he asked the Central Bank to hold it for him, and since he the Prime Ministers friend maybe the Central Bank governor who is after all a “creature of the Prime Minister, felt that they could say no.

Maybe this thing is not as complicated as we are making it could to be.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It is quite obvious if you look good at the Leroy Parris friend linkages that those who have no choice but to protect the interests of this Fraud must do so even if they are exposed in the process or have to bend the rules in order to accommodate his current crisis. Why: Too much at stake too much to lose.

It is clear that the CBG even if he is not a friend of Paris or a recipient of any of the Paris” free” money gifts was instructed by some power on high, maybe the Prime Minister, to allow Paris to deposit his large stash base with the bank. Even if the CBG states that it was not standard practice and could raise the level of suspicion, he would not have had much of a choice as he would have been given a directive. And i the assumption is drawn that the CBG is part of the “linkage interest” group he would have more than likely colluded with the other parties to permit Paris keep his stash there because at the end of the day there is just – TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.

The linkages in this matter are clear and the assumptions can be drawn that those who were/are on a Paris payroll are obligated at all cost to protect him or face being exposed in the process. Hence the all out effort to seal the forensic audit report at all cost; why Paris is allowed to deposit all the money he stole from CLICO in the Central Bank; why his linkages and close friendship with David “no good” Thompson and the current silent and secretive Prime Minister was established; why no trace of the 10 million dollar bailout money for CLICO has no accountability or cannot be traced; why the current Prime Minister is so pissed that the news media received a copy of a file court document on the CLICO matter the same time they are provided for court processing after alluding to the fact that this practice is common and can have dire consequences on a poor rakey judicial system he calls reputable and traditional.

This PM could not comment on the occurrences before but this one particular instance involving his friend he highlights indirectly in some held notion that no one would know to what he alludes. WHY -TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.

And last but not least, what part does the DPP play in all of this when there is an overwhelming evidence base that points to actions that did not serve in the best interest of CLICO but fulfill the interests of those whose planS to derive maximum benefits was executed years in advance of the collapse they orchestrated. Even the controversial 3.5 million orchestrated for mutual benefit between CLICO’s then lawyer David “no good” Thompson and Leroy Paris as a gratuity payment warrants a criminal investigation with charges meted.

I would have to say that in the absence of no action on the part of the DPP that he too is either under directive or is a part of the great compromise. WHY – TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.

When all is call to count, the machinery involved in this debacle all translates into one thing with one concern that must never be allowed to take a certain path and that is: ALL PARTIES IN THIS MESS MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COST BECAUSE THERE IS JUST TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.

13. Does anyone believe Parris has revealed all his assets?

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The only person that would believe that is this Johnny who believes that this wicked DLP government cannot do any wrong and all their actions are right and honourable. And that Johnny is the despicable pimp I vow not to cuss openly on here anymore because it’s not the qualities of becoming a lady they say. Like if the SSS gives a rat’s ass…cha but for my piece, I respectfully accepted

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Over the years, I have seen many criticisms of the DPP for failure to institute criminal proceedings against some perceived criminal. The DPP is not an investigator; the offence must first be reported to the police who would investigate and then refer the file to the DPP. Then and only then would the DPP decide if to institute criminal proceedings.

Now here is our dilemma, the Prime Minister is the person that decides who becomes Commissioner of Police and the politicians make sure that their minions are appointed to all the other post from sergeant up. As a result, nothing of this nature gets to the DPP unless it is vetted by the politicians. Also, remember that Clico made sure that it placed its corrupting money in both parties. All of this equates to no prosecution for the players at Clico.

16. All I can do is shake my damn head. When will this end.

17. If Hal Gollop got any sense he would drop Parris like a hot potato.There is no way that Parris is going to tell Gollop the truth,the whole truth and nothing but the truth.As one of the many suffering the consequences of the Parris grab and greed and dizonest management my wish is that the local policyholders can get Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj appearing on their side before the local court

18. @David February 24, 2015 at 3:48 AM #

Does anyone believe Parris has revealed all his assets?
    ………………………………………………………..

I hasten to say no, David.

One wonders why Parris would expose himself and Thompson to continued scrutiny by filing this motion.

He has now given BIPA’s lawyers information that they did not have before. They now know his worth and can go after it. I believe this is only a portion of what he has, nothing is said of what he reportedly has stashed overseas. He is going to dead and leave it all behind, see what happened to David Thompson?

Why expose himself to get $4.5 million when he has so much more? Greed, greed, greed!

$4.5 million to him is like $100 to most people! $4.5 million is small change to Parris!

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

There is currently a matter before the court concerning Leroy Paris and CLICO. There is questionable activity resonating from the 3.5 million he received from a former Prime Minister and lawyer for the CLICO firm that has more than likely resulted in his Barbados assets being frozen. There was an establish relationship between the same PM and Leroy Paris for which the former dead crooked Prime Minister stated all was well with CLICO Barbados and then when it was not well, justify a CLICO 10 million bailout that did not set well with taxpayers. Up until now no one knows what the bailout was for and where it actually ended up. You have policy holders fighting tooth and nail to get out the little they have with this corrupt organization. You have the banks no longer wanting any part of the Leroy Paris cash stash. You want to tell me that the DPP when looking at the facts of the CLICO case cannot use his office to request the police to take a closer look at the matter after he sums up the evidence as one that has a criminal element in it? At what stage, in spite of what you said about the politicians having their people in place, do the police look at this matter and deem it one worthy of an investigation.

20. and we wonder why we have downgrades from rating agencies.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SITH February 24, 2015 at 11:04 AM #
    “..and we wonder why we have downgrades from rating agencies.”

Bang on!
    One of the most perspicacious observation made on the credit downgrade disease afflicting the sickly economy of Barbados. The present administration has shown itself to be one of the most despicably unreliable and untrustworthy administration ever to oversee the affairs of Barbados. Nothing this administration promises to do can be relied upon. Its leaders have proven to be pathological liars interested only in their own selfish material ends and would go to the bitter ends of the earth to achieve such. The CLICO cover up is just one example of the mafia-style lengths to which this administration would go.

Massaging statistical data and corrupting facts are the hallmarks of this morally discredited and intellectually bankrupt government.
    But night runs until the light of day catches up. Just look at what is happening to Greece and you would see what’s in store for Bim in the coming years.

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” ~Abraham Lincoln

22. SSS

Someone has to make a report to the police to trigger the action that you desire. This is not like a murder where the police investigates without a complainant.

23. SSS;
    Excellent post at 3:41 am.

24. @ Caswell
    Someone has to make a report to the police to trigger the action that you desire.
    Give us a break Caswell….
    …what you probably mean is …”In cases where the police are CLEARLY RELUCTANT to pursue the matter THEN…”Someone has to make a report to the police to trigger the action that you desire”.

The damn police are blind? … or are they from Egypt?
    Wuh …if a simple constable pass down the road and see you holding a little bag and you get on “suspicious” …he could ask you a question and investigate further …and if your answers don’t add up…your ass arrested.
    Shiite man….
    …you trying to suggest that the damn FRAUD SQUAD people need someone to complain to them that the Leper Parasite holding a damn big bag for someone so dense?

….or that If the Canadian banks dump $8M because it was hot, there may be grounds to investigate the source of heat? ..or the new location of the $$$?

THEY BLIND? …or is someone tying their hands…?
    In either case, anyone making such a report just spitting in the air …..

Sometimes you does get carried away with this lawyer shiite yuh know…

What “has to make what report to the police” what….??!!

25. @Bush Tea

What about that financial intelligence unit? Does it report to the Central Bank? What purpose does it serve?

26. What about that financial intelligence unit? Does it report to the Central Bank? What purpose does it serve?
    It serves a CRITICAL role.
    It is there to fool the white people from the international agencies who insist on various ‘safeguards’ when loans/grants are disbursed.
    We created this agency so that these overseas scammers have something to write in their ‘reports’ to suggest that we are not a banana republic…

It is a common practice:
    You have a problem with the productivity in the public service:
    …create a department of public sector reform…who don’t do one shiite.

You have a problem with national productivity
    ….create a Productivity Council….a total waste of money

You have a problem with piss poor attitudes
    ….Create a NISE initiative…..LOL Ha ha ha

Your international image is tarnished with bribery, stealing and over-runs
    ….create a Financial Intelligence Unit……Yawn

Your chicken farmer supervisor-of-insurance is exposed as a fraud and idiot
    …FSC…ask Caswell about them…

The idiots running the NCC can’t even cut the grass along a simple highway
    ….fire the WORKERS and hire Maloney ….(while keeping Neblett)

etc etc etc

Meanwhile, the same set of political lackies sit on these bodies allowing the shiite to not only continue, …but to accelerate.
    One wonders when people like Gollop and Justin Robinson find time for their substantive work…..

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

June Fowler was trying to do so from time in memorial and no one paid the woman any mind. So who, therefore, should request the police to investigate the Leroy Paris millions hoarded and the contributing factors to CLICO collapse beside a mere audit. I mean is it obvious that during the life of CLICO Paris made sure he and his cohorts were feathering their nests and feathering them very well indeed?

Also, in the advent of the CLICO collapse, was it not known that Paris was taking out all he could get under various named “schemes” he argued was his entitlement? It is my belief that contained in that Forensic report is his devious deeds, which are sealed by the court under a justification that made me nearly shite myself with laughter. Yet he could get his without trouble or fanfare and others up to this day cannot get there’s without putting up a fight. So if June Fowler could not get the police to investigate who else will- NEMWILL, DEMWILL, or maybe PORNVILLE..stuuupse this is bare nonsense.

28. BU understands a few politicians and prominent individuals were able to withdraw large sums BEFORE cash flow tightened.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

And who you think would have orchestrated that?

30. @SSS

The dynamic duo.

31. Barbados is like a sinking ship, and who do you think will leave the ship first? Can anyone make a guess (LOL). Captain the ship is sinking, can anyone HELP?

32. The song Captain the Ship is Sinking is about the PEOPLE allowing the things to go awry.

33. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine February 24, 2015 at 3:41 AM

“When all is call to count, the machinery involved in this debacle all translates into one thing with one concern that must never be allowed to take a certain path and that is: ALL PARTIES IN THIS MESS MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COST BECAUSE THERE IS JUST TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.”

SSS,

You are so right…………..all parties must be protected at all costs.

The duo went to all lengths to raid CLICO of its funds, it was as if the money was theirs to be use however and wherever.

It was alleged this weekend that a company was set up in the names of the two wives, the document was drafted by the dead king, signed by the wives and witnessed by the personal assistant who is now the present PM’s personal assistant.

So this shell company is another one the JM’s or June Fowler’s BIPA may not even have known about as that company is not mentioned anywhere in the ” he is not a leper” documents. It was also alleged that a house was purchased for $975,000 at Martins Bay with funds from this company. Wow!

Some incestuous behaviour went on in that company! To quote you……”ALL PARTIES IN THIS MESS MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COST BECAUSE THERE IS JUST TOO MUCH AT STAKE TOO MUCH TO LOSE.”

34. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@Sunshine Sunny Shine February 24, 2015 at 11:03 AM #

“… At what stage, in spite of what you said about the politicians having their people in place, do the police look at this matter and deem it one worthy of an investigation…”

when we wake up one morning and here on the news that some politician and Parris had a serious falling out

35. Sure u will die holding your breath for Mr. deceitful from River Road to do anything or say anything concerning his former neighbour and good buddy from the Central bank….I have it on good ground that he had information on Clico long before the collapse but chose to stay silent. Why hasn’t the other paper on Fontabelle said say a word about this whole matter. The son who is a lawyer had the same issue as the speaker a few years ago if u guys remember and who wunnah think pay back the money the same man wid the the big central bank deposit. The same Ministers big friend and the PM friend as well who get all of the contracts around Barbados just repaid the one for the speaker as well..so don’t wait on the DPP,the COP,the PM,the MOF nor the press to make any difference in this matter..Barbados will also get downgraded by corruption International next time keep tuned….

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Meldene.. February 25, 2015 at 12:13 AM

We have a carefully woven system of corruption with operatives in key positions. This ensures that the standard of living for those who have derived wealth in less than ideal means is maintained and guaranteed. If what you say is truly what happened, I am sure that the pattern forming could merit further investigation because it is clear that we will not get any justice by those who are expected to uphold the law. The patterns, the connections, the protections in this matter are all so clear. Paris seems not to have any fear, none at all, in this case against him. It is as if to say, on with the formalities but do not be to surprise by the outcome. I am Leroy Paris and what you do not know is that I well endowed, well informed and perfectly connected.

37. @SSS

This is the nature of the capitalist system we have, it will not change by changing party.

38. perception and Speculations does not make facts, however make good political banter and sensationalism. all the above comments is deserving of A+ for falling into such category

39. Good to see BIPA action e but it maybe a lost cause, the establishment has too much to lose, an incestuous society we will always be.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The pressure cooker is boiling David; the criminal element is on the increase and rising; the boldness to shoot at law enforcers with the gun is a thing unheard of in Barbados; prominence is speaking out against the political scourges and calls for justice to be meted with incarceration (never happened before); politicians are speaking out of context and revealing more of their nefarious and dishonest associations, dealings and disassociation with those who elected them. The people are getting bolder in the face of open tyranny. Whatever should follow next and in whatever form, will be meted at politicians with an intensity we have never seen or heard before. God do not like ugly and retribution comes without favour and favouritism and it certainly is not a respecter of persons. This case with Barbados, more than likely, will open Pandora’s box.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

We have some indications made that persons who witness certain acts during the last election campaign are only willing to assert words of condemnation but in the passage of time, show clearly they condoning of such acts as an acceptable course of action . That person is the esteem Prime Minister – an upholder of principles, integrity, justice, and truth. One who affirms that this and that would never happen and then defend his change of pain with insults and a superfluity of words that incense most when heard.

This PM and others have no problem telling Barbados and beyond that he/them is/are friends with a controversial person connected to the CLICO collapse and who has millions to live off of that is in controversy and high suspicion. A Prime Minster stated emphatically that this man is his friend. As such his friend is able to put his millions in the Central Bank were other banks said we no longer want your accounts and money. Yet here we have an imbecile (Lord I miss my favourite word) talking about assumptions, speculations and “bantings”. As per usual this imbecile comes to defend the fray because it constantly must rub, be rubbed, lick and be licked in order to be a recipient of rewards. It’s so blasted hard to hold back the bitch in me, but I will try very hard. However, I am afraid shortly I will take a turn in the ass of this rabbit called AC.

42. Saw Walter Blackman write in another post last week about insurance agents from Clico who wrote policies from head stones and u guys would not believe that they have brought this dirty habit to the most respectable and oldest insurance company in the Caribbean. Only recently we had a lady who received a notice to pay her premium due from a policy sold by a former Clico agent and to the surprise of management she turned up to say she had no such policy. This has never happened in all of my years at Sagicor and to top it off the two Clarke managers one of who came from Clico have covered it up as though nothing has happened. We are also seeing where these agents as well as the ones from BAICO are now surrendering the policies from those companies to buy policies at Sagicor. Both managers seem fine with with new and dishonest practice that threatens to bring Sagicor to the same level as previously enjoyed by Clico. HELP.

43. @David

Frances Chandlers article in todays Mid-Week Nation is a must read especially her penultimate paragraph,she also touches on a number of other issues…..Might be a good idea for you to post it as it debunks a number of myths re Sugar and Ag.

44. @Vincent

Noted.

Did you listen to PW expounding on the fall of King Sugar in Barbados yesterday?

45. Vincent

I remember being shocked 10 years ago, when I noticed the label on one of those packets of sugar in a restaurant said “Product of Hawaii”

46. “@David, I wonder who else is hiding funds at the Central Bank. They have all banded together to use fraudulent activity to rob the people of Barbados. They should be imprisoned.”

Very good question and statement, particularly with Bjorn Bjerkham of Jada sitting on the board of directors at the Central Bank, this dude is known to not want to pay black workers in Barbados, what the hell is he doing at the central bank, which corrupt politician put him there and just how much money laundering is going on at that institution.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64011/-criminals-heroes

This is all fine and dandy, but there are still mucho modern day, real time issues to deal with like as soon as possible:

What in 2015 are the black DLP/BLP governments in Barbados doing about the white racism still allowed to be practiced and flourish against the majority blacks by the minority handful of wealthy white foreign business people, only because they are wealthy;

Racism still practiced by the minority handful of descendants of the local white underclass red legs who in their delusions, because of wealth, believe themselves to be the wealthy, superior, white upper class in Barbados; who had not for the same majority black population and corrupt politicians, would never attain such wealth and be encouraged in their delusions by the black DLP/BLP political class;

Racism still practiced by the minority handful of foreign and local indians with businesses on the island who see the majority blacks as $ signs to exploit for their own gain only, and vocally explain among themselves that blacks should have no money unless it’s to fill the coffers of the local and foreign business indians.

CGI’s Peter Harris comes to mind with that explanation.

Exactly what is the black DLP/BLP governments doing to stamp out this nasty white racism besides taking bribes from the same racists, in their own self-interest, to allow them to freely practice racism against their own people.

Politicians in Barbados are an abomination to the island and it’s people; how much lower are they willing to sink to sell out their own. It’s bad enough that there are still too many African despots selling their people for guns, bullets bombs and paper money and are rightfully called savages by the same politicians in Barbados and across the Caribbean.

It’s worse and downright ugly when Caribbean leaders who proclaim themselves educated intellectuals (though I fail to see any sign of that in most of them) civilized and democratic, lawyers, doctors and business people, engage in this subtle but more dangerous practice of allowing white racism to continue and flourish, that racism has the potential to continue for several more centuries….we know that the slave traders were evil criminals, we know why they did what they did, but what is the excuse for allowing their descendants idea of modern racism to stay alive in Barbados in 2015, for what? a few shitty jobs?

Explain that Fruendel and Mia, you claim to be intelligent, it’s not a paradox, if y’all are serious about stamping out white racism against the black majority and not just continue to pay lip service and look for the next payout and bribe, show some balls and end the racism.

Corrupt politicians are the weakest link, there should not even be pockets of white racism existing against the black majority in Barbados or anywhere in the Caribbean in 2015.

Now that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is out of the country, it’s the perfect time for the leaders of the Eager 11 chicken coup Donville “Dumbville” Inniss, Mara “thief money” Thompson and Ronald “Jackass” Jones et al to try another chicken coup against Stuart, since the black cat and all the blind men have escaped out of the dark room……lol

47. Wait until I put information out there about FSC, Frank Alleyne and his band of rag-tag wannabe insurance regulators who do nothing to regulate anything insurance in Barbados and the backroom shenanigans certain insurance companies practice to accumulate and retain wealth.

48. Interesting to note based on today’s press report reveals only 230 Clico policyholders out of 20,000 are members of BIPA.

49. 230 bajans only out of 20,000 willing to stand up for their rights against greedy corrupt politicians and Leroy Parris, need we say more.