“I Have Nothing to Say to the Nation Newspaper”

Leroy Parris declared he has a 5 million dollar deposit with the Central Bank of Barbados
There is the feeling of déjà vu. To use the Bajan vernacular, the more things change, the more they remain the same. A brief article in the Nation newspaper yesterday [18 December 2016] must have jolted many who read it. In response to a journalist Maxine McClean, Minister of foreign affairs responded, “I have nothing to say to the Nation newspaper”. The import of the statement …
Her statement followed that of Ambassador to the United Nations Tony Marshall a few days earlier who offered a similar curt “no comment” to the Nation newspaper in response to a question about why he has occupied the official residence in a plush area in New York.
BU is always concerned when a fissure appears in the relationship between key government players and the media. The BU household was motivated to launch this blog when VoB agreed to separate Adrian Loveridge from Minister of Tourism Barney Lynch in order to facilitate an interview at Lynch’s request. It is obvious the ‘government’ has an issue with the Nation newspaper although it has not been publicly expressed. When Delisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank had an issue with the Nation newspaper he displayed the courage to declare the reason, ignorant though it was.
The media plays a critical role in any society as a purveyor of news – the purpose of journalism is thus to provide citizens with the information they need to make the best possible decisions about their lives, their communities, their societies, and their governments. If key players in the government trivialize the role of the media it means the citizenry will be the poorer for it. Could it be that our political leaders do not care about educating the people? Now perish that thought!
What is scary is that we are shackled with the most taciturn government since Independence in 1966. It is therefore ‘interesting’ that the government has decided to champion all year activities to celebrate our 50th year of achieving Independence. The government does see the value in communicating with Barbadians about being an Independent nation, to educate the nation. It is fair to conclude therefore that the government’s reluctance to share information about Cahill waste-to-energy, the CLICO Heist, Leroy Parris’ deposit of 5 million dollars with the Central Bank of Barbados, hold regular press conferences etc. is a careful manipulation of information to achieve a less than honourable outcome.
The challenge for the citizenry is to discover ways to pushback against obvious wicked practices by sons and daughters of the soil who hold high office. We have a situation playing out where our brothers and sisters have sold us up the river motivated by greed, power and a lot of ignorance. The educated class we reasonably expected to lead the charge – having invested billions in education – have retreated to the comfortable life with its underpinnings supported by popular values and conspicuous consumption. There is no appetite to defend and grow the Bajan identity. We have prostrated ourselves to embrace anything that is foreign.
We have no credible media to represent the people. What we have is a media easily manipulated by others. What we have is a government who is upset when it experiences difficulty manipulating players in the media fraternity a al The BarbadosAdvocate.
What change what! It is déjà vu.

Vincent…I gotta tell you, I agree with Exclaimer, if you have a cancer growing or grown in your body, eating you alive and sucking the life out of you, would you not do everything in your power to remove that cancer to save your life, this all of us are one crap will see that cancer rotting your body and killing it.
All the signs are there, it’s terminal, Bizzy and other business people have publicly told everyone that they bribe the politicians, that is how bold and confident they have become because they know the corruption is now so condensed, that they cannot be arrested what more do you need. I am not trying to convince you, but just stating facts….the island is on the brink.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 21, 2016 at 7:57 PM #
Chuckle….girl chile,guh sleep,yuh ain know wuh yuh talking ’bout.
LikeLike
Exclaimer January 21, 2016 at 7:36 PM #
I have not a clue as to what you are talking about……no where have you responded to my points………………you have reinforced the point that pigmentation does not mean commonality……we will never agree……..enjoy
LikeLike
Vincent…let’s stop talking color for a moment and just start talking corrupt, greedy politicians as Bizzy etc highlighted, local parasites as Bizzy et al are, and the electorate that are being disenfranchised, robbed blind, by the aforementioned, maybe you will understand that, cause ya ducking everything else.
Don’t you think they should be ALL removed to save the island and the people, don’t you think that they are destructive and are of no use to anyone but themselves.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 7:56 AM #
Finally we can have a civilised conversation…..from all accounts this country is rife with corruption……there are many stories floating about this country about who bought who and who owns which politician………sadly this is a reality all over the world and for us to eradicate in this incestous 2 x 3 island is impossible…….a willing buyer and a willing seller will always exist…….the best we can hope for is for laws like FOI and transparency to be passed,they still cannot get rid of it,just makes it a bit more difficult.
LikeLike
Vincent…you are waiting for FOI and transparency laws to be passed by the very same corrupt politicians who are owned by the same Bizzys et al…..ok.
Exclaimer…..do you see the depth of the problems the people in Barbados are facing now. They have become a people under seige for the last 40 years, financial hostages……maybe you can think of a solution, but the people in Barbados are unable to because of freedom of thought.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 8:24 AM #
Such are the realities of life in the real world not the utopian paradise you and ex want to create and note just like in animal farm you will always find a new boss……
Humanoids have the same genetic construct irrespective of their melanin content.
LikeLike
Vincent…..I will repeat again…..if your ancestors had sat on their collective asses and did not get up and fight for what is right instead of like you claiming, such is life, we will always have a boss, we cahn do nutten, wha wrong wid dah…..your ass would still be shackled, enslaved and a broken slave and so would your children, grand children and future generations. .
Why are you comfortable with Bizzy et al and 30 corrupt politicians having seige of a population unable to fight back..why are you comfortable with things as they are and dont want those who are capable, effecting positive change, what is your motive.
You yourself allude to the corruption and rot inside and outside the government but also allude to it remaining as is……you cannot have it or keep it both ways.
LikeLike
@ Well Well & consequences
Do you think that the black Barbadian accent is more attractive? would you not consider that black Barbadians are also inbred, although perhaps not to the same degree? One more question Well Well: do you and your husband actually live in Barbados?
LikeLike
@Vincent
You are up a hatred so deep that I suspect it is highly personal. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.
LikeLike
Fly…..why, do you want to come visit me, I will bury you in my back yard. All my husband will do is watch.
Scorned by whom…..a Bajan white, I have them for breakfast, as a matter of fact I have a few bajan white aquaintances, the reason am able to understand their warped thinking. To be honest with you I absolutely hate the Southern US accent, it crawls my skin….the black bajan accent sounds more real, not as faked….you asked.
And Vincent, for your and The Fly’s information, the PEOPLE of Barbados as a collective, are the boss, the clowns in parliament owned by the minorities are the represenatives and employees of the people. That fact got lost somewhere along the line when thoses fake, pretentious, titles and sense of false status started being handed out in the 70s. The politicians lost their way.
LikeLike
flyonthewall January 22, 2016 at 10:07 AM #
Yes,you are quite right,I have already told her so and as you can see she is attracting like minded individuals…….hence the need to debunk her rubbish…..she has a Donald Trump type persona.
LikeLike
“down-trodden black masses in Barbados.”
Remind me, how many in government,government bodies,diplomatic corps and police,BDF are not black?
So who is treading down these black masses? A few dozen Bajan whites? Or could it be the venal thieving corrupt blacks in a position of power?
If someone,regardless of colour offers a bribe and someone regardless of colour accepts that bribe who is the more guilty?
Wake up people, we have a governing class that delights in bombast,lies and a complete disregard for the population.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 10:25 AM #
I have not a clue what you are ranting about…….in a democratic society things have to be done in an orderly manner according to our laws……..change will come,it always has but it takes time…….let Maurice’s fate be a lesson to you and your fellow thinkers.
LikeLike
@ David,
I am not suggesting that the political class can or cannot manage anything. The political class is singing for its supper on a daily basis. I have no doubt that the Nation newspaper has its own political agenda and Advocate has one as well. Quite frankly the media and journalists are getting the treatment they deserve. They have sold their souls to the collective political class. There is not one independent journalist around here. So, like it or not , they have brought this dismissive treatment upon themselves.
As much as we criticize the Governor of the Central bank for blocking them out, the truth is that , the Nation (Sanka Price), always reported the economic news in a pro BLP slant. On more than one occasion the Nation had to retract portions or entire articles. The Advocate on the other hand is pro-DLP and will do the opposite. We need to stop all of this tomfoolery and accept that nobody in this place is accountable to anybody for anything. Public discourse has been hijacked, so let us stop the crocodile tears and admit that the country has been effectively ruined by the BLPDLP and their collective cronies.
LikeLike
You got it wrong…Maurice’s fate in Grenada was no different to what the eager 11 tried to do to Freundel a couple years ago when he was off island…..Coard was greedy and corrupt just like your politicians….no difference, Fruendel was just lucky they are all cowards hence the chicken coup did not even start before it was exposed…..Fruendel only just managed to get away with his skin.
What I said to the Fly sounded scary right….let it be a warning for those who think they can stop my free thought. Pure intelligence can be more dangerous than any armed uprising.
LikeLike
Doan mine wunna haters. We minister got wite people runnin wid he an de flag.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/76964/trident-run-dipper
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 10:42 AM #
Girl Chile…..sorry tuh tell yuh…..you are no scarier than a fly on the wall and your understanding/comprehension of history is quite poor like eveything else.
LikeLike
Hants….lol…those are Bajan white athletes, they should represent, I wonder if that is enough for Bizzy.
Vincent….do not try to bullshit me, you always put a distorted twist on things. Coard’s white wife Phyllis Coard who should have been hung but instead got cancer and released from prison, wanted him to be leader instead of Maurice, they plotted the coup to get rid of whom they did not want including Maurice’s Minister of Sport Jacqueline Creft, who was at the time pregnant with his child….you are not engaging with one of the local people or with AC who can only think and converse politics and politicians, do not insult my intelligence.
LikeLike
@ Well Well
“I will bury you in my back yard. All my husband will do is watch.”
I’m surprised you haven’t already buried him.
“Pure intelligence can be more dangerous than any armed uprising.”
Your contributions to this thread have made it perfectly clear that you are no danger at all.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 11:09 AM #
Chuckle……… a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing and when there is no comprehension to boot……wuhloss.
LikeLike
“So who is treading down these black masses? A few dozen Bajan whites? Or could it be the venal thieving corrupt blacks in a position of power?”
Bookworm…..in conjunction with, who is forcing the Bizzys to pay politicians bribes, as I know it the bribers are also guility, culpable and locked up….one hand could not clap without the other, even, as Moneybrain eluded to that it started as extortion years ago, how did it morph into bribery continued for decades….who put a gun to the Bizzys head and turned it into decades old bribery, he himself went to the media and declared it is what it is….both are corrupt, both are thieves, both should be imprisoned for their criminal behavior…now I have said all is to be said on the suject unless Exclaimer engages….think on it.
What’s the matter Fly…….the truth bothering you….the fact that other people also think the same way bothering you, so pray tell, what are you going to do about people who want change…..stop them….this I gotta see, calling me Trump will not change a damn thing, though I dislike him, don’t you see how popular he is…
LikeLike
Vincent….am on to you, as long as you don’t want to acknowledge reality, you deny it’s existence, that is more dangerous than knowledge and experience and why Barbados is in it’s present state and why people in a few parishes could have easily died of thirst and cholera could have easily wiped out the island, regardless of color.
Denial…..is very much more dangerous.
LikeLike
@ Well Well
I never compared you to Trump. You have my mixed up with Vincent.
“…people in a few parishes could have died of thirst and cholera could easily have wiped out the island”.
You have now convinced me beyond a shadow of a doubt that you have an IQ equivalent to the temperature of tap water.
LikeLike
flyonthewall January 22, 2016 at 11:52 AM #
Hahahahaha……yup…..you got that one right.
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 11:37 AM #
Chuckle…..girl chile go rest yuhself,you are becoming incoherent now.
LikeLike
Fly…if you are one of the ones benefiting from corruption on the island and don’t want to see it end, people like you usually end up as paupers, on the streets begging from the same people you stole from….seen it happen over and over,, it never fails, one dude was begging for forgiveness after decades of being a crook and losing it all, even with an IQ the temperature of tap water, people will witness karma.
How is that for ha, ha.
Vince, ma boy, I rest and type, no problem, no blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes, nothing…am in the pink of health…lol
LikeLike
@Well Well
Obviously you don’t believe there are any whites in Barbados that have to struggle to make a living, usually by being self-employed or running small businesses. We are not big enough to be part of the corruption, and many of us are not “connected” in a way that would enable us to benefit from it. As well, you don’t seem to understand the socio-economic structure of Barbados today and are clearly unaware of the number of highly successful and affluent black people who live here. You think it’s only whites that are driving Mercedes, BMWs, Audis, jags and SUVs of every description? You think it is only whites living in fort George Heights or Millennium Heights or all along the west coast? Who do you think owns all the apartment buildings have sprung up in almost every village across island, as well as the monster homes? You cling to an outdated paradigm in which a handful of whites act like a cork in a bottle and won’t let blacks come out and progress. You cling to it because it validates your hatred of whites. And this hatred is precious to you. Your husband needs to sit you down and quietly explain how you are coming across on this thread.
LikeLike
Fly…understand something, when I talk about the corruption, bribe taking, bribing, drug dealing, gun running, money laundering etc……it’s mostly attributed to the minorities, but am well aware that others are involved, well aware that many whites are not involved, too many are, but that’s another story, mostly I am concerned about their black enablers, because if all involved were being arrested, charged and imprisoned as they should be, there would definitely be a reduction of criminal activities on the island….don’t get me wrong, I know exactly, who is who on the island and preferential treatment re criminal activities has brought the island to it’s knees.
Will not get into corruption by minorities and politicians as I said, not at this time..
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 12:45 PM #
I had noticed it and it was interesting to see that FOW had as well…….you have a view of Bim that does not exist today and based on that view extrapolated all sorts of things……..yes corruption exists but it is practised across the board.
I wonder if you ever went down martins bay or glenburnie …..you have this overarching need to paint everything with the same brush.
LikeLike
Like in the old movie Jungle Book, with the struggle between ShereKhan the tiger and Bagheera ,the black panther, Bajans are very skeptical of letting go of the tail of the planter class, as, at the other end there are the snarling great teeth of our very own,which have already began to penetrate our backsides, without mercy.
LikeLike
Vincent….as far as I remember, one can drive around the island in one day, that memory is just months old. There is nowhere on the island that would require driving for one hour, hours or days.
My son-in-law was pissed that from he drove through one parish in minutes, he reached another parish, claiming it confused him. I had to tell him over and over without smacking him that Barbados is thisbig and no bigger. Hope that answered your question.
You speak out of both sides of your mouth with forked tongue Vincent.
LikeLike
@ Well Well and Consequences,
For many decades those that governed South Africa were comfortable with the system called apartheid. It took many decades of struggle from both within and outside of South Africa to bring change to that country. Under the “visionary” F.W. De Clerk (I do not apply this word lightly) he saw the futility of the apartheid system and came to the conclusion, rather quickly, that this system was no longer sustainable and had to be both dismantled and destroyed. Of cause there were many whites, and dear I say, some “coloureds” and Indians who were not in favour of this. During the dying years of apartheid all three groups had the right to representation in the South Africa parliament unlike the black majority.
So the balance of power swung inevitably to the blacks. After Mandela relinquished power it has been generally accepted that corruption has become deeply embedded within South Africa’s political culture. A number of blacks post-apartheid have climbed up the social ladder; however social mobility remains a major problem.
Unlike South Africa, Barbados never went through the cataclysmic experience of seeing a political “totem” being dismantled in front of their eyes. The march towards independence which took place in 1966 was insignificant when compared to the fall of the virulent apartheid system.
The endemic quasi apartheid system which reigned in Barbados pre-independence continued serenely post- independence. I have never experienced a country more racially divided then in Barbados. It is evident to me that blacks and whites live separate lives in Barbados. In all the many decades that I have visited Barbados I have yet to see a white policeman, a white postal office worker, a white player who represented the West Indies cricket team – apart from a New Zealander, a white person on a bus, a white person socialising with a black person, or a white person living in a community with a majority black population. On the other hand I have seen several whites working at the QEH.
In the UK the problems of race are real however blacks and white socialise and work together, play together, share intimate moments together and marry each other. Yet in Barbados all I see is an uppity clique; who believe that they are superior to blacks.
There are many parallels that Barbados and South Africa share. What I find disappointing are the levels of corruption within both governments. In both societies it is their white communities who hold the “pouvoir”. The white power base in South Africa appears to be more responsible in how they interact with their government unlike the white Bajan power base who exist only to sabotage the government and by extension the country. I get a strong sense that white Bajans could contribute more to their country should they so desire. I recall the story of the two ladies from biblical times who approached Solomon with regard to who was the mother of a baby. You know the story. One gets the feeling that Bajan whites would prefer the baby to be divided into two rather than left whole!
To be honest with you I have driven through some of these white enclaves and appreciate the quality of their gardens; and the overall uniformity and serenity of the environments in which they congregate in. I often ask myself why is it not possible to see this environmental template replicated throughout Barbados.
I would like Bajan whites to be more generous and participate in building an equitable Barbados habitable for all her citizens where opportunities are offered to the many and not the few. Their business leaders must desist from bribing our politicians. Equally important they have to move out of their enclaves and live in harmony with the Negro just as their ancestors do in the UK. I cannot stress to you enough times how embarrass I feel visiting Barbados. You guys may not agree with me but all of my friends and family feel deeply uncomfortable when we arrive on your shores. There is a sense that when we arrive in Barbados that we are taking a journey back in time. All agree that the country has a distinct apartheid feel to it.
@ Well Well and Consequences,
Vincent is set in his ways. You’re best to agree, to disagree with him. And yes I can see the difficulties that you guys face in Barbados. Unlike whites too many of us blacks prefer to isolate ourselves from our own black skin brothers. I have no interest in dissecting Vincent’s brain, after all, I’m meant to be on holiday!
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 5:07 PM #
Not knowing who “hog Food” was,is the clincher you are not even a bajan,you are as bogus as a 3 dollar bill,go and peddle your garbage somewhere else.
We have problems in Bim yes, that we can sove without your assistance thank you very much fraud.
LikeLike
Vincent…what is wrong with you….tourists from around the world knew Dyall, now why would I not know that tall lanky man with his upright carraige and big frame glasses riding his bicycle, pipe in mouth, handkerchief in pocket, hat on head, who would forget such an individual and what in heavens name made you think I did not know him…I am correct about how he was socialized, were you socialized the same way.
And it is correct to describe him as a mascot, he was always in the stands, as a matter of fact, I clearly remember him also traveling to cricket matches in England, he was a mascot, of course that term was not around in those days, what is wrong with you forked tongue Vincent.
LikeLike
“Their business leaders must desist from bribing our politicians”
Exclaimer….I was once in an office speaking to this English dude, he was hired by whomever owned the then newly built Hilton hotel to interview Bajans for various jobs when the hotel opened….the potential employees who acted slave like got the jobs, so I queried what I saw as a problem, he said to me that the 3 most racist countries in the world were South Africa, Barbados and the US, I know he forgot NZ and Australia, but the point is, Barbados, among whites are seen as #2 and that racism is directed at the majority blacks.
I had just returned from quite a number of years in NY, but it took me only a few months to realize what he said was very true, unfortunately, the majority can take some blame, the 2 governments can take most of the blame, they have all been very badly socialized. It’s shameful.
I agree with you the whites who do so can stop bribing the politicians, but they are greedy and as long as the two governments continue to take their bribes, they will continue to pay the bribes to have access to million dollar contracts and also to pretend that they make all the decisions for government, like how Bizzy is demanding that Barbados should not be referred to as a free black nation, Bajans outside are pissed that this crook and briber is allowed to mouth off when he has no right and should be in prison.
The politicians can also show some restraint and stop the bribe taking, but they are greedy, covetous and have no morals, it’s sad that a prime minister cannot stop corruption in his own government…..Bajans may very well have to wait until they all die out, but then there will be the like-minded just waiting to take their place, waiting their turn to practice more corruption. …the people are between a rock and a harder place.
LikeLike
Vincent…I forgot Dyall’s trademark umbrella come sun or rain..
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2016 at 8:07 PM #
You are a fraud,end of story……..the more a monkey climb the more it shows………..finish the sentence…….I have no doubt that your handlers will assist you.
I do believe this fraudster should be exposed
LikeLike
Ha, ha…handlers, something got you going. You want my identity, you will regret it. Was Dyall a relative of yours. Did I say something you did not want known……or is it that you cannot keep up the pretence any longer….ya see Vincent…with me, what you see is what you get, no pretence. I told my husband that the first time he met me, I have no use for pretenders.
If ya cannot come straight, ya cannot survive me….sleep tight.
LikeLike
King Dyall’s trademark was not an umbrella: it was a white walking stick/cane.
LikeLike
Looks like Exclaimer was right about you Vincie boy, just don’t get a heart attack on my account.
LikeLike
Fly…..thanks for the correction, it was a very long time ago, am surprised that is all I got wrong……right Vincent.
LikeLike
Minister Maxine is on radio waxing lyrically. A lot of generalizations.
LikeLike
David January 24, 2016 at 12:02 PM #
Chuckle……yup,waxing warm……two interesting points so far….
Atlanta Counsel Layne has stated that they are coming up with the way forward for Bim,she had to correct him and inject in consultation with locals.By that statement we now know that this govt has not a clue at present on where we are going …..interesting.
This negates implementation deficit disorder.
A fund to assist people with projects is being discussed with Atlanta…..why?…..I thought the CB were holding/overseeing moneys for that purpose.
LikeLike
What is interesting is the expectation the country needs to recreate that community spirit and embrace black,white blue etc. we need to get Bizzy to champion the cause on behalf of the freest Black Country in the world.
LikeLike
David January 24, 2016 at 12:28 PM #
Chuckle…….why?……Jeff has ably dealt with that nonsensical statement.
LikeLike
What is puzzling if we listen to the Dr.Layne fellow, he is stressing the need to celebrate but he needs to equally stress on the inhibitors and what we we need to do to unfreeze existing behaviours. Bizzy’s recent statement shows there is the practical side of things. There is no doubt the year long celebration is a positive initiative but we need to filter the rhetoric and parochial motives.
LikeLike
The more I listen to this programme the more self delusional members of both parties sound.
The only one making a sensible contribution is the Rastaman,who keeps asking how can you celebrate with Agriculture,the back bone of this countries wealth is in shambles and cost of land is so high.He also wants to throw the trident in to the river.
LikeLike
@Vincent
To borrow from Maxine, please bring solutions man.
LikeLike
David January 24, 2016 at 1:17 PM #
I have said ad nauseam that study upon study has been done in every ministry over decades in order to offer solutions to both party’s when in power.
I heard her glibly state bring solutions,what she meant is bring something that is politically acceptable.
LikeLike
This flipping cuntry got 16 miscreants for pms what ya expect hahahahaha inept bastards…….oh an 16 deputies hahahahaha bim gone to de dogs, plus bim build out of nufffffffffffffff steeLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LikeLike
fumble says nothing, anyone expect that balhead goat to say something, last time anything way said, barbados gov. paid way $77000.00 to S M in jamacia hahahahahaha fool
LikeLike
During 2016 Every Tourist should leave Barbados with a “Barbados 50th anniversary of Independence” souvenir.
I hope wunna entrepreneurs mek nuff “50th” souvenirs to sell.
Don’t just spend and celebrate, mek some money too.
LikeLike
Vincent got that right.
The only one talking anything with sense today was the Rastaman.
Everyone else was just blowing their own shiite trumpets…
…and Maxine in her usual obnoxious style kept blowing hers over every damn one else.
The joke is that they would not let the rasta make his points…
LOL …fortunately the dread real pushy (like Vincent and Bushie 🙂 )
…so dem can’t stop the dread…
LikeLike