Personally I think the Speaker should do the right and honourable thing (pending the decision of the committee of privileges) and vacate the chair of Speaker. Morality and dignity should not have to be forced, negotiated and the subject of legal gymnastics – Grace Fuller

The Michael Carrington saga has shifted a gear.

Last week when Speaker of the House recused himself from the Chair to allow Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson to refer his matter  – Speaker of the House Michael Carrington MUST Go! –  to the moribund Committee of Privileges, there was high expectation the sordid matter of Griffiths Vs. Carrington was being ‘processed’ in a dignified manner by the highest Court in the land.  To the surprise of many Carrington presented himself today to carryon business as usual in the House on the pretext that he is still the Speaker of the House. Carrington’s decision aroused the passion of the perennially taciturn Prime Minister who in a passionate defence of the Speaker, on the floor of what was once an august chamber, questioned how a personal matter was being used to bar the Speaker from doing his job.

Obviously the decision by the Prime Minister to support Speaker Carrington is politically motivated. He continues to lead a weak government with a 2-seat majority which leaves no wiggle room to flex the muscle of the office of Prime Minister, an office Barbadians have come to regard as primus inter pares, until now. Seven years in office and what we have is a deeply polarized country which has forced national priories to be forgotten.

Surely any 7 year old knows that individuals who hold an office of public trust must be sensitive to activities undertaken in a  private capacity which may injure the office and is therefore open to censure based on the breath of the breech.  Employees of most organizations are aware if codes of conduct are contravened there is a consequence one has to endure.

If we accept the House of Assemble is the highest court in the land responsible for enacting laws and shaping government policies. Further, if we accept a key responsibility of Speaker is to maintain the integrity of parliament then one is left to surmise the decision by Carrington to fight for his job supports the growing view that Barbados has become a banana republic or in Bajan vernacular, poorakey.

How on this earth and anywhere in the galaxy a Speaker of a House of Assembly in the Commonwealth – acting in a private capacity as lawyer has to be ordered by a High Court to pay $200,000.0 plus to a wheel chair bound client withheld for 2 years, and he has the effrontery to defend his right to preside over the highest court in the land. To compound the problem, the prime minister and other members of parliament see the matter through politically tinted lenses while ignoring what is obviously wrong by the loosest value set.

Then there is the wider issue of governance. The Opposition correctly ‘walked out’ of parliament to demonstrate opposition to the decision by the Speaker – which sides with public opinion –  but the government continued to crunch out laws in our system of democracy. What flavour of democracy can this be?

The BU household weeps for our once proud little country.

207 responses to “Speaker Michael Carrington Saga: Day When Morality Drained From the House of Assembly”

1. We await with bated breath the comments of the former Dean of St Michael’s Cathedral Harold Edmund Crichlow,now Deputy President of the Senate.He must be sought out for his comments on this matter of Morality and the Law. Dare we expect a “Mene,Mene,tekel upharsin” once again directed against the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party?

2. David,
    Before you let off more steam…remind us what rule of the House Assembly the Speaker broke?

3. I have become a very sad thinking Bajan who was once so proud of this country just a few years ago. I also bragged to others about this country. I am wondering now whether it is a prudent thing to continue doing. I am somewhat hurt with the direction that this country has taken. But I was also told that things were like this for a very long time. It is just that I was not involved in these particular issues before. Hopefully there can be some change going forward.

4. After today’s phantasmagoria …whereby ‘that which is’has been delineated to ‘that which is not’ by our pedagogue of momemuntal silence…..Parliament has been desecrated to a land of wild boys and despots no longer with clear demarcations…..a fun for all where all that is wrong can now be glissaded to right…

Which and whatever from here on in can fall from the sky, and with any ignoble utter from ona these classical glibbers shall transform them like King Midas to golden tides of emlets or meretricious fish sides …..Banana republic indeed we reach boys…..

See look this Senator fractured talking bout what rules were broken….nuttin bout morals no longer important to DEM…is if we feel it right and no rule broken, um right…handicapp or not!…down right pissy…just like the downgrades,. if we feel dem is garbage…um is garbage….phantasmagoria at its best…ga long.

5. In the USA the billionaire owner of a basket ball team paid the ultimate price for expressing aa personal opinion about black people in a private conversation with his girlfriend. The head of the IMF (?) resigned his office after being accused of having physical contact with a black room attendant. Chinese officials are jailed for taking bribes etc. etc. etc.

In Barbados the Prime Minister condones and defends ……. My God Almighty, what have we come to? That poor excuse for a PM and the sordid lot surrounding him should be banished to hell forever. Anyone who will defend wrongdoing in others will likely be willing or have already done similar. Go chew on that.

6. Fractured @ 4.52pm
    The 8th Commandment. Just to refresh your memory,the 8th commandment says “THOU SHALT NOT STEAL”…The Chaplain of Parliament should do a Canon Hatch the fearless white bajan priest who prayed for deliverance from the wicked and evil doers occupying high office in that Parliament of the 80’s.Barrh fire he right away.Hatch din kay.Barrh ded and he still alive,praising the Lord everyday.Do I hear an Amen………….

7. This is Dems till the majority of the Barbadian electorate says otherwise.

Dems NOW…..Dems…..Again!

Thank you PM Stuart for asking…what House Assembly rule have the Speaker broke?

I recall William Duguid did.

8. @ Fractured BLP

FYI: S38 Barbados Constitution might be a start

I think once you’re in parliament, and receiving government pay, and a potential pension you should not be allowed to practice law, or be associated with any law practice, or be engaged in any other outside employment, or associated with any other company until your term is completed, expired, or you’ve resigned.

Additionally, for what it’s worth the Bar Association has a code of ethics: http://www.uianet.org/sites/default/files/Barbados%20Legal_Profession_Code_of_Ethics_0.pdf

9. David

It seems to us that there is a deep crisis in ‘democracy’. This is just but one example of such.

10. The biggest irony occurred in the House a moment ago when the Speaker expressed obvious annoyance to Opposition members walking out on his return after the House was in Committee. He shouted to the Clerk, ‘let them learn the rules of the House, learn some manners’. O the irony of it all.

On Tuesday, 20 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. OSA was so right. A bunch of wild boys!

12. Very sad,in all democracies the speaker would have resigned, financial, sexual
    Or other the Honorable thing to do, if not willing the prime minister should fire him. Come on fumble he may not have broken any parliamentary laws, how about God given or judicial fraud.time to do the right thing you are quickly losing the faith of your people

13. …………….Fractured BLP January 20, 2015 at 5:17 PM #
    This is Dems till the majority of the Barbadian electorate says otherwise.

Dems NOW…..Dems…..Again!

Piss NOW……Piss AGAIN …..seven Fkucn years gone and not ONE SHOITE dun but overtaxation and scruffage…..

14. @Simple Simon January 20, 2015 at 3:33 PM # In Barbados we have a saying “you can buy land in private but you can’t work it in private.”…but once a child is born of the sexual union, the sexual act is no longer private. The result of the sexual act (the child) becomes public … Once a public court is involved a matter is no longer private and I am surprised that a a lawyer of the Prime Minister’s experience would say otherwise.

Really.

No one can dispute that the PM is being less than transparent regarding the impact this affair has on the Honorable House and absolutely this matter is about the integrity of an officer of our highest legislative body. On which point the PM obfuscates shamelessly.

However, the palaver over private and pubic is off-balanced.

After the land is ploughed privately and we become aware of the crop’s owner at the birth registration that public awareness does not make the act of ploughing itself public. That’s still a private act of which we know nothing but the result.

So yes we are all now aware that Carrington has this matter outstanding with Mr Griffith but the business dealing itself between him and his client is still a PRIVATE matter between them (and now the courts).

It has no DIRECT public connection whatever on Mr Carrington’s role in Parliament. Repeat NO DIRECT connection.

I am no lawyer but the simple confidentially of lawyer-client is a well known dictum; methinks it was that base concept of being a personal matter to which the learned PM referred. NOT the apparent disconnect that the case is in court and thus public knowledge.

Not trying to play semantics simply pointing a simple truism of how private and public are valid in PM’s remarks. After all as you said he is a senior lawyer.

15. Now hear this prime minister, Carrington maybe your pal but as long as BU exist you/he will be reminded by the BU household of the most egregious act ever perpetrated by the speaker of the House of assembly of Barbados on a wheelchair bound septuagenarian. The Internet will forever record your ignominy for your children and your children’s children to know of your errant ways.

You bastard!

16. @DeeWorld

What the hell are you smoking?

The public reaction is to the Court Order, a public matter Sir.

The conventions of the Westminster system of which we boast requires is ass be removed from besmirching the Chair.

17. @ David January 20, 2015 at 5:51 PM #

The biggest irony occurred in the House a moment ago when the Speaker expressed obvious annoyance to Opposition members walking out on his return after the House was in Committee. He shouted to the Clerk, ‘let them learn the rules of the House, learn some manners’. O the irony of it all………….

……………………………………………………….

Oh no, David, say it aint so! Tell me he did not say that.

The Opposition can “learn” manners but when will he learn to be honest and dont thief his clients monies especially the disabled ones?

18. David, haven’t had any tampy, spliff or anything for ages. Well ever actually. Poor me.

Please reset, I am not disputing that everything is PUBLIC knowledge. I was simply responding to Simple Simon’s dismissal of the PM comments re it being a ‘private’ matter.

Can you go to the court and be recognized as a legitimate representative of Mr. Griffith re his land claim with Mr. Carrington?

Can any other BU member. Of course NOT.

It is a private matter. As all such affairs are.

Of course its in the public domain but the business between them is STILL a private matter.

That’s all I am saying. What’s so hard about that.

19. @DeeWorld

Your point is moot in the context of the debate.

20. People, including the educated ass we have for a PM are just splitting hairs with this nonsense that this thieving was done in Carrington’s private life and has nothing to do with his public life.

He offered himself to the people of Barbados as a clean honest man promising honest representation. Any normal person who has been accused of stealing, withholding, thieving their clients monies…..however you want to put it, would be ashamed to show their face in their neighbourhood, far less in the esteemed third oldest Parliament in the Commonwealth.

Carrington, have you no shame?

Carrington, do you really think anyone should call you honourable?

You, sir are a fraud and an arrogant one at that!

21. “So yes we are all now aware that Carrington has this matter outstanding with Mr Griffith but the business dealing itself between him and his client is still a PRIVATE matter between them (and now the courts).”

Do you understand the meaning of PRIVATE?

22. Someone who has withheld a property and monies from his client for 14 years is telling the opposition that they have no manners? Look how low our Democracy has sunk! Where are the clergymen in the house? Why are they so silent?

This fiasco if allowed to continue will see more abuse of basic human rights in Barbados. This government is so desperate to stay in office that NOT ONE OF THE ELECTED MEMBERS POSSESS AN OUNCE OF INTEGRITY? Look at what we have come to! The rest of the Caribbean and the WORLD are looking at us and laughing. What a pappyshow our democracy has become.

I am very saddened and disturbed how this country is spiraling out of control.

23. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Mia the one who need to be in jail, Said some good words, I hope she know the same words will be used against her when her time comes,

No Shame in their games of being crooks , liars and scumbags ,

24. And yes of course: “The conventions of the Westminster system of which we boast requires his ass be removed from besmirching the Chair.”

Absolutely no dispute there.

Saw this online today, attributed to Warren Buffet re how he chooses his managers:—–

“You’re looking for three things, generally, in a person,” .

“Intelligence, energy, and integrity. 

And if they don’t have the last one, don’t even bother with the first two. 

I tell them, ‘Everyone here has the intelligence and energy — you wouldn’t be here otherwise. 

But the integrity is up to you. You weren’t born with it, you can’t learn it in school.”

So I guess he doesn’t employ many former politicians.

25. The ugly man called Fumble Stuart is on DLPTV justifying the thief’s position.

26. @ Gabriel January 20, 2015 at 4:51 PM #

We await with bated breath the comments of the former Dean of St Michael’s Cathedral Harold Edmund Crichlow,now Deputy President of the Senate.He must be sought out for his comments on this matter of Morality and the Law. Dare we expect a “Mene,Mene,tekel upharsin” once again directed against the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party?………………………………

You think we would ever hear from the DLP pastor who swore that “two PM’s died in office and another one will not die under my watch”. He should speak up, after all, this is a matter integrity, honesty and virtue!

27. …you mean boggly squared…..or cubed LOL

28. @Enuff January 20, 2015 at 6:48 PM #…Do you understand the meaning of PRIVATE?—————

I do sir, only too well. You should do a Webster reference and you may be surprised to see how something that is ‘public’ can still be very easily defined as ‘private’.

But as David rightly said the point is moot. I was simply touching on Simple S’s remarks about PM Stuart’s comments to explain why his words were not contradictory. All means nothing at end of the day.

What is not moot is whether the groundswell of public anger can force a resignation.

If BU’s outrage is indicative of a poll across Barbados then the question is how can that be translated into action?

Can the opposition force action?

Those are the real issues.

29. THE BU COURT IS NOW IN SESSION
    WILL ALL PLEASE BE QUIET

JUDGE zzzzzzzz Presiding

ORDER IN THE COURT ! ORDER IN THE COURT!

Would the lawyer for the claimant please step before the bench

Sir as a skilled lawyer i know that your are fully aware and cognizant of all the rules and laws that governs the judicial system.. Moreover i am tempted to find You in contempt of the court for your verbal abuse and offensive manner in addressing one of the witnesses for the defendant,
    Please be advice the use of terminology to malign or demean would not be tolerated (as in)your verbal chastisement to characterize a witness using the word “bastard” while addressing the court. such outburst for or against any people /persons witnesses connected to this case will be dealt with forthwith and maybe cause for either a heavy fine or an order of contempt against your person
    Be advice accordingly,
    Thank YOU,

30. @DeeWord January 20, 2015 at 6:44 PM “Of course its in the public domain but the business between them is STILL a private matter.”

Dear Dee Sweetie Pie: Once a big able public court has inserted itself between Mr. Carrington and Mr. Griffith it is no longer a private matter. We no longer have Star Chambers. You know what is a Star Chamber? And do you understand why they were a bad thing?

I don’t care how senior a lawyer the Prime Minister is. In this matter he is incorrect. And he is being disingenuous.

31. Context Dee, context. The PM never realises when the debate is over and reality has kicked in.

32. PM, senior lawyer what? Senior in years maybe! In all his years as a lawyer, I have never heard of him as no major player. In fact he was a 2×4 lawyer. I have a friend who had him as a lawyer in a matter.

Fumble sat on the man’s matter for years, he then became AG, he turned the case over to another lawyer, the person retired and the matter still was not resolved. II think my friend has now given up…………and friend is a Dem, you know. I told my friend, serve you right!

33. Horace was a moral and honorable man….

EST you should think that verse shall die,
    Which sounds the silver Thames along,
    Taught on the wings of truth to fly
    Above the reach of vulgar song;

Though daring Milton sits sublime,
    In Spenser native Muses play;
    Nor yet shall Waller yield to time,
    Nor pensive Cowley’s mortal lay.

Sages and chiefs long since had birth
    Ere Caesar was, or Newton named;
    These raised new empires o’er the earth,
    And those, new heavens and systems framed.
    Vain was the chief’s, the sage’s pride!
    They had no poet, and they died.
    In vain they schemed, in vain they bled!
    They had no poet, and are dead.

Quintus Horatius Flaccus) (65-8 B.C.)

34. BUt some have convenient eyes…..”he who has ears, let him ear….and eyes let him read”

35. What we are witnessing is the genesis of a failed state. Go and ask a Nigerian, a Jamaican, a Trinidadian, a Kenyan, a Guyanese and whomever you may choose to ask and they will all tell you that this is how it commenced in their country. There was no sudden bursting of a pipe; just a slow, constant and steady drip.

Barbados Underground (BU) and those who contribute to this forum should be applauded. It is clear that that there are many amongst you who delight in hurling abuse at our honourable Prime Minister (PM); I empathise with you.

If I were the PM of Barbados would I be concerned with the contents of BU? No I would not be, I certainly would be annoyed; however, I would not lose too much sleep. The reason for this is evident; those who follow BU are a minority within a minority.

Our PM sleeps comfortably at night assured in the knowledge that the masses are neither protesting, organising, militating nor rioting. He is also been aided by a weak and compliant press, the church, a corrupt political system and the wealthy elite. Hence this is why we have a PM who appears to be so laid back.

BU and her contributors need to develop a strategy to enlist, communicate and to grow her membership whilst politicising the masses.

The two party system as it stands represents a danger to the masses and must be culled.

36. Every time somebody say what a terrific lawyer Freundel Stuart is,I have a good laugh.It always calls to mind V S Naipaul’s House for Mr Biswas.The solicitor knows he will always have money: If I get two dog case or two cuss case a week,I awright yuh know”.Freundel is in that category of lawyer……a dog bite case or 2
    neighbors cussing each other.

37. The return of the Conservative Party to the political front is looking good. They may even change their title to PIG .

38. @ Gabriel

What you sayin girl?…..dat all dis reading Horace, Virgil and Dante is just floss? Ya mean all D ole talk bout foundation neva had classes in treachery did just a front? Man wha U sayin ole girl…dat all is not well wid tis soul and in tis soul lies a dud? So wait U dog eva bite anybody ta rice a man? These thing I wanna know just so that when Examiner ah mean Exclaimer quiz me..she doan holla dat i like to jepordise ee constitution….ya undastan?

39. david
    not trying to be mean or anything, honest, ………………but is the something wrong with Ralph ‘Bizzy’ Williams in that he seems to cry quite easily especially at public events?

I find it bizarre.

40. @old onion bags January 20, 2015 at 7:14 PM #

…you mean boggly squared…..or cubed LOL

You see the new woman leading the NUPW sweet Jesus we know we did not make our selves but the PM is Denzel compared to that woman. Lord come for your world. The man heading BARP you see he features. Despite looks we must respect all people whether boggly squared or cubed or handsome like me.lol

Legally the PM is on firm ground in that Carrington has not broken any laws of Parliament. Although what he’s done is reprehensible let the process takes its course. Let the committee adjudicate on him. Fat boy Duguid’s nasty vocabulary was an instance of dishonorable conduct that actually took place in the House. Carrington’s case of holding on to money that legally belongs to a wheel chair bound old man is revolting but it didn’t take place in his capacity as speaker of the House.
    One hopes Carrington gets his comeuppance in short order.

41. I wish some would stop living in denial……and lookin fa perfume to fresh rotten teet horse…rapist would make terrible babysitter,crooks sick bank managers,….you get the drift?

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Government has clearly decided to stick two fingers up to the electorate.
    Governments can do that however much we like to think they answer to those of us who voted for them.
    Our redress as voters has to wait until the next time we get a chance to vote them in – or not.
    A sceptic would say that the Government has decided that it can do just what it wants as it is either not going to get in at the next election – or it doesn’t want to.
    If that is the case, then sadly we will not really be inflicting any damage on them when we vote against them next time.

43. onions,

Do you know when will the twenty eight days be up for this re-payment?

44. The following excerpt was taken from an article published by “Channel NewsAsia” on November 27, 2014, entitled:
    “Spanish health minister quits over graft scandal”:

“MADRID: Spanish Health Minister Ana Mato resigned on Wednesday (Nov 26) after being linked to a massive corruption scandal involving an alleged kickback scheme at the heart of the prime minister’s conservative Popular Party.
    Her departure was accepted by Premier Mariano Rajoy whose government has been embarrassed by the court investigation into illegal payments for public contracts, the latest in a string of graft cases that have outraged Spaniards.
    “I have decided to present my resignation,” Mato said in a statement, adding that she was stepping down for the good of the government and the ruling Popular Party.
    Mato has not been named as an official suspect in the bribery probe but the investigating judge said earlier Wednesday she had “benefited from” holidays, cash payments and other gifts when she was married to Jesus Sepulveda, a former Popular Party mayor of a Madrid suburb.”

I know some will conclude there are no similarities between Mato’s and Carrington’s case. However, it is interesting to note, although “Mato HAS NOT been named as an official suspect”, she decided to submit her resignation “for the good of the government and the ruling party.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Below is another excerpt from an article written by Ian Deitch, Associated Press, December 14, 2012 entitled:
    “Israeli Defense Minister Lieberman resigns after criminal charge”

“Jerusalem —Israel’s powerful foreign minister announced his resignation from government Friday, a day after an indictment for breach of trust was filed against him by the country’s attorney general, in a move that shakes up the election campaign and heavily impacts Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s election calculations. Avigdor Lieberman continued to maintain his innocence in a statement and indicated that he could return to politics in time for the national elections in January if he was cleared or could reach a plea bargain.”

“Even though I know I did not break any law … I have decided to resign from my position as foreign minister and deputy prime minister,” Mr. Lieberman said. “After 16 years of investigations against me I can end this issue quickly without delay and completely clear my name,” he said.”

45. ……No Prodi.sorry

46. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I had almost given up hope for Barbados when the Carrington matter erupted, as I felt that, given the current situation and the traditions of the Political class, that the BLP would make some correct noises but do nothing substantive about bringing Carrington to the realisation that he had to give up the speaker’s position or be scanted out of it.

I was wrong!

Mia and an apparently united BLP have acted most appropriately, imho.

But where do they go from here?

What is the probability of the Speaker being able to raise the funds to make the Court ordered payments within the given time limit? By the way, when does that time run out? Any BU poster knows?

In a matter such as this one would the speaker have to prove that substantial non-cash contributions are not laundered? If he pays up in time will that put an end to the matter? If he does not pay up in time will the PM accede to removing him from office but transfer him to a Ministerial position? Does the speaker have enough time to liquidate substantial assets if he comes up short in contributions? Can he pay small sums on a regular basis and be within the allowable framework of the Judge’s order?

How is the BLP going to handle their coverage of important debates such as the Budget and the Estimates if the matter is not resolved when those debates are on and Carrington remains in the Speaker’s chair? Time-outs for certain debates? U-tube responses? Outside public meeting responses? Will the matter die after a few weeks?

Since the privileges committee is not known for expeditiously dealing with any matter, will it be true to form and will this matter be still before it without resolution when the next election is called? How will the BLP momentum be maintained? Social Media? Partnering with traditional media? Nuff paid advertisements?

I trust that Mia brings out every bit of her political armoury and wits to fight this battle and not back off prematurely. The PM and the Speaker deserve to lose this battle.

47. Has the Committee of privileges ever rule on any matter, ever?

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You all seem to be missing the point. I do not believe that Freundel is as stupid as he made himself look in the House today. The real problem is that the people who were elected to the House for the first time in 2008 have not qualified for their pensions as yet. They will qualify in 2016. It would therefore appear that these people will weather any and all storms until that magic date comes around.

From what I have read about the Carrington/Griffiths matter, it is safe to draw certain conclusion about the man who occupies the Speaker’s chair. First and foremost Carrington, as a lawyer, acted dishonestly in his dealings with Griffiths, to the extent that he was ordered by the High Court to pay in excess of $200,000.

Carrington should conduct his private business in such a manner that it does not bring disrepute to his public office. The office of Speaker should not be allowed to be tarnished by the actions of the current holder. I daresay that both the PM and Speaker know this but choose to put a spin on their interpretation of the matter.

Mind you, I agree with the PM that Carrington has not broken any rules of the House and that the matter should not have been sent to the Committee of Privileges. The leader should have gotten off her lazy backside and introduce a motion to remove Carrington as Speaker. Instead she abdicated her responsibility to lead the Opposition in Parliament by creating a nonsense post of Leader of Opposition Business and entrusted her role to a neophyte who got duped into this foolish referral to the committee.

I I kill somebody in circumstances that amounts to murder and the crime remains unsolved; it does not mean that I am not a murderer. Carrington withheld his client’s money for a number of years and did not account for it and he was not charged with a criminal offence, so what does that make him?

49. @Caswell

If she had introduced the motion what would have the counter(s) by the government side? You make it appear as it would have been a slamdunk.