Barbados Brand Tarred by Speaker Michael Carrington and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson, REPURCUSSIONS

Speaker and Deputy Speaker Michael Carrington and Mara Thompson
Barbadians continue to be part of the charade which sees Minister Michael Carrington being allowed to preside over the highest court in the land AND third oldest parliament in the Commonwealth. A reminder: Speaker Carrington was ordered by the High Court of Barbados to pay $200,000.00 to a wheel chair bound septuagenarian former client; monies he had withheld for years. The government via its agent, deputy Speaker Mara Thompson, deflected the matter to the Committee of Privileges. We have been promised a report soon. The working of Parliamentary Committees in Barbados can accurately be described as supine and considered by many to be a big reason the Westminster version of government practiced by Barbados is seriously flawed.
To add to the national embarrassment. Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson was named recently in a Court filing by applicant Leroy Parris in her capacity as executrix of the late David Thompson’s estate. A case of a good thing gone bad. To lean on the position of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur AND current Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, no House rules were broken. In other words it should be business as usual. Are we surprised at the moral and social decay that has taken root? How can we expressed horror in response to a murder accuse giving the thumbs up yet ignore the poorakey behaviour of members of parliament being witnessed by our children?
Surely the time has come for good sense to prevail and for those elected to behave like HONOURABLE men and women. A time will come very soon when Barbadians will have to paint all members of the government side with a broad brush if they continue to operate as a collective on this matter.
Barbados has always been regarded by others as a small proud Black nation whose affairs have been managed with aplomb over the years – the envy of many. Yes CLICO and the myriad of issues in the news is important BUT so is this one. It strikes to what has defined Barbados and Barbadians over the years; that is, dignity, order, respect…
The sight of Michael Carrington and Mara Thompson conducting the affairs of the highest court in the land given their personal issues (to borrow the prime minister’s view) before the Court is an embarrassment of galactical dimensions. To add insult to the current state of affairs, it is being supported by members of parliament – who were educated at great expense by Barbadians – opting to toe the party line in the face of a blatant wrong being perpetrated on Barbados and Barbadians everywhere.

Pingback: Barbados Brand Tarred by Speaker Michael Carrington and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson, REPURCUSSIONS
You seem to be missing the glue that is holding this Government together. Some will say that the glue is qualifying for pensions. Yet others would say that the glue is the access to kickbacks, mind you I have to stay away from that because I only have anecdotal evidence which is not enough to level a charge no matter how compelling.
These “honourable” members qualify for pensions after eight years’ service at 50 years of age, at which point they are set for life. That is a compelling reason, in their minds, to stay in Parliament even though they must be aware by now that this Government lacks the skills necessary to bring about meaningful change. They will stay the course if it kills more of us.
LikeLike
@Caswell
BU’s guiding principle is what is right.
LikeLike
recently i heard the Minister “OF KNOWING IT ALL”The rght hon, Caswell Franklin, sounding off illustriously concerning himself to being victimized by the laws of the land as in respect as one not being allowed to circumvent or bypass the rules and guidelines necessary to obtain a passport on behalf of one of his overseas sibling. speaking with gusto and furor and conviction devoid of literal commonsense those rantings can be consider that of galactic improprieties of the highest order that shoots way past the moon
LikeLike
Does anyone here really think that the opposition is seriously desirous of giving full ventilation to this, a matter of national shame? I shall hold fast to my belief as stupid as it seems to some. This country cannot change until we change the political class. A FEW GOOD MEN AND WOMEN WANTED. Barbados continues to be raped by the DLP and the BLP.
LikeLike
AND YOU THINK PLANTATION LAND HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH HOW THEY BEHAVE TODAY, OR IS IT DRUG BY WAY OF MONEY.
REMEMBER THE ROOTS THAT FEED THE POCKETS OF THE CROOKS= land fraud money , banking , sir cow and sir ham now its out o control and the DBLP covering up all crimes, It will be a good election next time.
LAWYERS IN BARBADOS AS MANY MARRIED AND LOVING THEM LIVE WELL AS THEY FEEL THEY WILL NEVER HAVE TO ANSWER TO THEIR AND FOR THEIR CRIMES AGAINST THIS STATE,
LikeLike
“Dignity, order, respect”…..and Pharisaism.
You HANG an ACCUSED person because she gives an ‘I’m OK’ signal to someone?
Yeah got it….dignity, order, respect. Sweet Jesus.
LikeLike
robert ross;
Its the symbolism, stupid
Here’s an accused person who does not cast herself in the mould of most persons in her position.
She’s proud!
… and signalling to all and sundry that either she doesn’t care; she knows she will beat the rap; or she is innocent.
Take your pick, which for the defence lawyer is that she’s innocent but which for most people is probably that she’s guilty
Carrington and Mara are cast in the same mould. Thumbing their noses at the general public despite the evidence in the public domain.
But they have the powerful on their side. They think that they will beat the rap.
But they might be wrong this time!
LikeLike
Sorry Are-we…you make my case for me.
LikeLike
It is interesting to note the part public opinion should play in a democracy.
LikeLike
Yes David…it plays the part of public opinion…which sometimes says ‘I can see the end of the earth from here’.
LikeLike
@Ross
You have the last word.
LikeLike
I hope all of these dems have seen what took place yesterday in St Kitts/Nevis.
The dems think they are powerful and untouchable right now but look what has happened to Denzil Douglas, he too thought he was untouchable and powerful….so much so he is in hiding now and ashamed to concede. He refused to debate a no confidence motion for over two years. Now the country has had the final say. Deal with that.
Someday the people of Barbados will have their say. We cannot go on like this. We on BU should shame these two bastards before the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. They certainly would not want thieves to be in their midst!
LikeLike
Trinidad & Tobago is also staggered at the recent conduct of its Speaker of the Parliament…see https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/carlton-savannah-swirl/
LikeLike
At the end of the day, does it matter to have “amassed” so much wealth and cannot be happy?
Mara never looks happy and seem to be carrying a ton on her shoulders.
LikeLike
@ Prodigal
do you mean to ask …
“what shall it profit a man to gain the whole world …and lose his own soul…?” 🙂
LikeLike
History always seems to repeat itself, greed.
LikeLike
@Bush Tea February 17, 2015 at 2:21 PM #
@ Prodigal
do you mean to ask …
“what shall it profit a man to gain the whole world …and lose his own soul…?” 🙂
……………………………….
Yea, Bush Tea……you are so right!
LikeLike
@Leroy Parris
At this stage of your life; approaching that time when the body will soon turn to dust you should be relaxing with your feet up enjoying life with family and friends. Just saying.
LikeLike
Now that the pressure is on Mara to explain her role and that of her husband in the CLICO debacle, I wonder if when she looks at a picture of “my beloved husband” every night before she goes to sleep…….whatever does she think.
Does she scream…………….you @$$hole, do you know what trouble you have left me in? I cannot walk the streets without people whispering about you and Leroy.
Or man, you were so smart these people have to go to court to unravel the tangle web you and Leroy wove!!!!!
Man what a mess! But make no mistake, Mara, the web will be untangled and you may not get to spend the millions your beloved husband left behind. He will never rest in peace.
By the way BU, Leroy Parris is reported to have gone to A&E last week and had people laughing at him!
LikeLike
On a side note, not sure the context the MoF just used the word ‘inveigle’ a moment ago in parliament is correct context. He said something like people who inveigle their way into the country….
LikeLike
We have the unthinkable taking place again, the passing of laws in our parliament as if we were being governed by a dictatorship. A dark period, darker than the WI being beaten by Ireland.
LikeLike
Further, government business was concluded today at 4:30pm. Incredible.
Then to add to the unproductivity in the highest court in the land, next meeting will be on the 10 March 2015.
LikeLike
Bushman knows a short version of the ~Lord’s Prayer
Thy Kingdom Come Thy Will Be Done
LikeLike
Man talk to Prodigal and Enuff nuh…
Tell them that the BLP is doing shiite by running away and leaving the other idiots with the keys to parliament…
They played right into the hands of the DLP ….allowing a shiite government with a one vote majority the luxury of behaving as if they have a solid majority….
Mia and her lot needs to get their lazy asses back in parliament and put pressure on the speaker, deputy and other clown pretenders….
What a damned place nuh….
steupsss
LikeLike
@ Easy
Soon Easy…REAL soon….
LikeLike
The reason to adjourn until March 10n is obvious.
The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker have been under a lot of pressure lately, so need a few weeks off to sort out personal financial matters.
And, with the Opposition not being able to raise CLICO in the House, media coverage will die down, and it will be left to BU to keep the matter alive.
LikeLike
As goes St Kitts, so lets hope may go Barbados. Let’s see if the new government will revise the pension laws retroactive to the time the DLP took office. So that for covering there asses for eight years, misleading, and putting hardship on their citizenry they got what they deserved; half of what they expected at 65.
LikeLike
I cannot understand this pension law for politicians, they have only to sit in the house once a week, go to all the food that is available from one hotel or restaurant daily, drive the best USV’s in the island, fly first class all over the world, stay at 4 & 5 star hotels, get travel allowances and then get a pension after 8 years, while the people who actually work have to do that for 30 or 4o years before they can even get a lollipop? It isn’t right, something need to be done about this travesty of justice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
“Soon Easy…REAL soon….”
In the name of the Father, The Son and the Holy Ghost
Marcus Garvey & The Upsetter-Conscious Guide
Black Star Liner & Black Ark Production
LikeLike
@ David,
What is going on in St. Kitts ?
LikeLike
Check latest blog.
On 17 February 2015 at 22:45, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
Interesting to hear Denis Kellman complement the Speaker for the good ‘atmosphere’ prevailing in a no-Opposition House. This is a joke.
LikeLike
Sorry David, it is not a joke; Kellman is an idiot.
LikeLike
no House rules were broken, no House rules were broken, no House rules were broken, no House rules were broken, no House rules were broken. The bible says a liar is worst than a thief and no House rules were broken.
LikeLike
Bush Tea
Much as I pontificate on BU, I am not even a member of the BLP. I have no say in BLP politics, BU is my soap box!
But wait, did you all not agree that the opposition did the right thing to stay away? All that has changed is that the poor old man got his money. The two tainted speakers are still in the chair. What a thing! A corrupt speaker and a tainted deputy speaker.
The leader said that they will return when the report from the Committee of Privileges is done and so she will have to stick to that. Any law that these idiots pass can be amended in a new parliament!
LikeLike
What a mean spirited bunch some of you are, surpassed only by Fumble – no, as bad as Fumble or worse. Your self-righteousness is sickening. Bush Tea…for Christ’s sake stop quoting the Gospel – or try living it. Pharisees ….hypocrites……..
LikeLike
i hope that when the report returns it would be time for new elections talk about jas having to tell the taxpayers why thy did not show up for work,
ross what took you so long to figure that out, this bunch of bu troglodytes are self serving mean spirited and callous. if this country life depended on their support for sustenance, well it would be better to ask the help of a stranger, never in my life have i come across a bunch so poisonous and reckless in mentality and to think that some here talk about leadership, give me a fuc king brek.
LikeLike
ac February 17, 2015 at 9:07 PM #
“ross what took you so long to figure that out, this bunch of bu troglodytes are self serving mean spirited and callous. if this country life depended on their support for sustenance, well it would be better to ask the help of a stranger, never in my life have i come across a bunch so poisonous and reckless in mentality and to think that some here talk about leadership, give me a fuc king brek.”
I guess you now know how Lisa Marshall and Jeff Broomes feel about you.
You feel such contempt for BU and its contributors, yet, you are on BU EVERY day, making contributions on EVERY topic. What does that tell you?
LikeLike
David;
There is no honour left in the once Honourable house!
It is led by a speaker who many have weighed on the scales of “Honour” and found wanting
It has a deputy speaker who should not even be in the house as she must have known of and participated in the misdeeds of her late husband as chronicled in the JM’s first report, and perhaps expanded on in the second, but still persisted in running for a safe seat while knowing, in her heart of hearts, that they were playing a sick joke on the people of both constituencies.
It is peopled by some persons who knowingly took part in the charade of the rescue mission without demanding the pound of flesh of resignation as a quid pro quo.
Mia Mottley did and is doing what is honourable.
Most of the people who decry her stance in the matter have mistakenly accepted a sip from the chalice of dishonour. The call should not be for Mia to change her stance to one that compounds the dishonour of the house but should be to the Government to do the honourable thing and remove the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker as well from their honourable positions.
If and when the report of the Privileges Committee is laid in the house and MIa Mottley returns to the house and subjects herself to the rulings of that speaker, it will signal the end of the house as an institution that stood for, at least, the appearance of honor. We would have gone full circle to a point where even appearances no longer matters.
Where is the honour in our PM? Has it been totally replaced by expedience?
LikeLike
ac;
You said above
“i hope that when the report returns it would be time for new elections”
That would be the expected strategy for a house of dishonour. I therefore expect that the report will either never be laid or it will be laid only when elections are about to be called. After all that would be seen by a strategist such as Freundel as being in the best interests of his party’s survival. But I have a feeling that elections might not be called in 2018 as many of us expect but perhaps very much sooner.
LikeLike
Mia has all but lead her members into a cul-de-sac. influenced by yardfowlism and political back biting. now it would be interesting to see how she digs herself out of the ditch without further causing fraction and losing the confidence of her party. apparently her focus to be always political cut her off from a reality that the country’s business is not about political opportunism but the totality of seeing about the country’s affair,
LikeLike
When nothing was going on Barbados was bombarded with that farce of a series called Conversation With The Nation. Now with much fodder on their plates. ..thunderous silence. The BLP just like the DLP is doing a disservice to this country. Neither group is serious about addressing the malfeasance that continues to plague Barbados.
LikeLike
@ Ross
Bush Tea…for Christ’s sake stop quoting the Gospel – or try living it. Pharisees ….hypocrites……..
++++++++++++++++++
what are you trying to say?…. that we are all a bunch of brass bowls…?
Presumably you know how bushie lives then….?
LOL …you must be David (BU) boss..!!
You are probably correct though….. people have been known to be crucified for this kinda shiite yuh….
@ Artaxerxes
Look boss, common sense is a VERY simple thing.
The ROLE of the opposition is to be a counter-force to a government which can otherwise wreck untold havoc on a country.
When you come across the kind of idiots we currently have in government, IT IS EVEN MORE CRITICAL that an opposition play an ACTIVE, UP-FRONT, role in state affairs.
Instead of David (BU), it should be the BLP consistently raising the issues we see on BU.
THEY have access to state information; opportunities to get questions answered; membership on important committees; and the LEGAL STATUS to play such a role.
This shiite gimmick started by thieving Thompson and continued by Owen when that $75,000 cheque question came up…. of boycotting parliament – is just an excuse to go on strike …. like the damn stupid teachers recently.
It is only obvious that the DLP will delay the report until it suites THEIR purpose. How the hell does it help Barbados that Mia is playing self-righteous?
This is identical to teachers striking “because they don’t like Broomes’ attitude..”
If you accept a job….. DO IT – or resign like shiite!!
…whether you are a teacher or an opposition politician.
Mia…..Karrrr wunna asses back to work do!!!
…..an put some real pressure on the damn crooks in that house.
LikeLike
Thanks to BU for the column Lawyers In The News. If only we could get some if not all these thieves where they belong. …….and I ain’t talking bout parliament. . I
LikeLike
the point made by OSA ” that the BLp has lost its way become obvious when current leadership tries to draw blood from a water fountain.needless yo say her role as leader would always be compromised by her lack of duty to put country first and her avowed diligence to be judge jury and executioner even when her decision ran in contradiction to the laws of the land and suspended with boastful conviction with alluring pleasure to please a few
LikeLike
This is the time Mia Mottley opposition leader should be rocking a no confidence motion, but as I said, she really does not need her name to be called in that hot steaming pile of doo-doo…lol
AC…..hush, you idiot, inbred idiot, what laws contrary to what land what, the laws of the parliament as well as the judiciary are bent by the lawyers and politicians to commit their crimes against civil society who are the taxpayers/voters and then said laws are used as cover to pretend they never committed said crimes, both DLP/BLP are guilty of these crimes, it will just take one loose thread to unravel the whole mess, we are getting close….lol
Both DLP/BLP need to remember that elections are not that far away and the same civil society they are now so arrogantly dismissive of their concerns re Michael Carrington, the nasty lawyers in Barbados, the blatant mockery of the supreme court, the Clico/Leroy Parris/Mara Thompson debacle and stealing of policyholders money, will remember that ish…HA!!
Ya hear that Owen Arthur….civil society = taxpayers = voters…too goddamn arrogant.
LikeLike
@ Well Well February 18, 2015 at 11:11 AM #
What’s the use of replying to a group of idiots? Can you imagine, if some people are not in agreement with some of the policies of this DLP administration, they are labeled as a “bunch of bu troglodytes [that] are self serving mean spirited, callous, poisonous and reckless in mentality.”
However, if these same people were to come on BU to cuss Owen Arthur, Adrian Loveridge, the hoteliers, Jeff Broomes, Mia Mottley and the BLP every day, then they are viewed as fulfilling their “duty to put country first.”
Recall Mottley’s contribution to the 2011-2012 Estimates debate? She did not proceed along the same level as Arthur and the other opposition members. BU was impressed to the point that an article was posted to the blog, on March 15, 2011, entitled, “Mia Mottley Has Moved To Another Level”. The following is an excerpt from that article:
“In contrast BU gives kudos to Mia Motley’s presentation. It should be plain to see that Mottley since being sacked as leader of the opposition is transforming her public profile and it has resulted in her ‘upping her game’. She is speaking to issues which resonate with the PEOPLE. She has not been afraid to disagree with her colleagues in house debates. She was the first to offer any creative ideas to the government on how to reposition Barbados in a fiercely competitive global market. Frankly it was refreshing to listen to her contribution. Her suggestion how government can easily enable a Wi-Fi space as a means to generate revenue is a top drawer suggestion given the demand for that technology across socioeconomic strata.”
Ironically, because Mottley chose not to make comments similar to those of her colleagues, she came in for SUPPORT and high PRAISE from none other than the same ACs, who are now consistent in attacking her EVERY day in EVERY article posted on BU.
The following are some of the contributions made by the ACs in response to that article:
“ac March 16, 2011 at 8:16 PM # : Truly Mia has arisen from the ashes . The gang of five must be having sleepless nights trying to find ways to take the spotlight off Mia. I saw the shortman delivering his speech but hardly paid attention to much of what he was saying. Simply put “He needs to give it a rest” Mia speech was excellent! Seem to be speaking to the issues of now and necessary resolutions. You go girl!”
“ac March 18, 2011 at 6:33 PM # : Liberal and Prodigal the two of you are conspiracy theorist or what? MIA DIDN’T CREATE THE PROBLEM WITHIN THE BLP . The good old boys club did it themselves. Now she doesn’t have to get along with them. They need Mia now. She doesn’t need them.”
“ac March 18, 2011 at 11:54 PM # :@Prodigal Did you hear Mia rebuttal to the proposed amendment. She spoke on behalf on the people those whom would agree with her point of view Mia seems to demands respect from those who might have thrown her overboard. Her rebuttal tonight even though I disagree with her had delivered a sense of integrity into the debate more often having the ability to engaged the viewing public. ANOTHER STELLAR PERFORMANCE!”
“ac March 19, 2011 at 6:14 AM # :@AdrianHinds: “Mia the latter day statesman was thrown out of the house for conduct unbecoming of a FEMALE let alone a Statesman” “in part she was thrown out because she was a FEMAle who had the guts to take no nonsense from those who wanted her out . Nevertheless not to forget that the men of Parliament had fist fights and gun fights in parliament and still are members of the club. Being a FEMALE gave her not such priviliges. However With all the pitfalls and innuendos she has endured Mia is standing head and shoulders above those who did her wrong like the Owen Arthurs and his loyal court the Gang of Five.”
Sanctimonious hypocrisy!!!!
LikeLike
Well Well February 18, 2015 at 11:11 AM #
“This is the time Mia Mottley opposition leader should be rocking a no confidence motion, but as I said, she really does not need her name to be called in that hot steaming pile of doo-doo…lol”
This is one of the usual consortium’s contributions that criticize Mottley.
ac February 18, 2015 at 9:40 AM #
“the point made by OSA ” that the BLp has lost its way become obvious when current leadership tries to draw blood from a water fountain. needless yo say her role as leader would always be compromised by her lack of duty to put country first and her avowed diligence to be judge jury and executioner even when her decision ran in contradiction to the laws of the land and suspended with boastful conviction with alluring pleasure to please a few”
The following is a contribution by the same shiite hounds, praising Mia Mottley:
“ac March 18, 2011 at 6:33 PM # : Liberal and Prodigal the two of you are conspiracy theorist or what? MIA DIDN’T CREATE THE PROBLEM WITHIN THE BLP. The good old boys club did it themselves. Now she doesn’t have to get along with them. They need Mia now. She doesn’t need them.”
In their own words “never in my life have i come across a bunch so poisonous and reckless in mentality and to think that they come here to talk about leadership, give me a fuc king brek”.
LikeLike
@ Artaxerxes February 18, 2015 at 1:00 PM #
I did not realise that I was such a thorn in the ac (absolute crap) consortium. Wow, they seemed to be always on my case. What a sanctimonious hypocrite!
LikeLike
Just when it would have seemed we were at the end of our tether along come some manganese balls to save our economy!!
http://news.yahoo.com/vast-bed-metal-balls-found-deep-sea-115523287.html
LikeLike
Mia Mottley is a political opportunist. I am surprised that she has not called a public meeting to try to blame the Barbados government for the seaweed on the beach or the delay in the election results being announced in St. Kitts.
From all the political stunts which Peter Wickham is telling her to engage in: Rubbing Shoulders, People’s assemblies is part of a non stop political campaign for political power. It is Mottley first, Barbados and the BLP second. That is her agenda.
LikeLike