I guess the washing services at Case de Suckay isn't working either..
Laundry services @Casa Grande

Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Is this a case of deja vu or some new mumbo-jumbo all over again? How come every time visitors from the motherland set foot here in Barbados there is  some controversy? Yes I speak of the 90 or so African (Nigerian) students who have unfortunately somehow found themselves temporarily sojourning at Casa Blanca.

While one would willing admit, that all facts and circumstances surrounding are still unclear, one cannot help but ponder WHY in a country whose number one revenue earner is tourism, this mishap would not have been somehow nipped in the bud by now. Have some ever heard of damage control or contingency management? Is this not what is supposedly being taught at our School of Hospitalities Studies nowadays….how to pamper one’s guest and go all out wherever possible, to see that they are comfortable and adequately accommodated? Ironically, some of these  very students are said to be here to learn from us the  social science of Hotel Management and Hospitalities.

As stated before all circumstance are not clear as to how  these ‘our visitors’ found themselves in the circumstance, however one would tend to believe that by now all would have been resolved. Finger pointing at this stage does nothing to end the mix up, damage control should be paramount. “Postponing the solution does nothing to resolve the problem”..that by now should be clear.

105 responses to “Oulatunje?… yes brother I am here”

students-at-casa-grande

90 Nigerian students to be quarantined

THE 90 Nigerian students are to be quarantined after one of them tested positive for scabies, a contagious skin infection.

READ MORE

carrington00

High Court rules against senior lawyer

QUEEN’S COUNSEL Michael Carrington, who is also Speaker of the House of Assembly, has run into hot water with one of his clients.

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David Esteemed Blogmaster

I said that once de ole man took de insulin I would try to write more coherently on de IPad

I gots a bone to pick wid yo…

Man how you cud put two articles, both of whic de ole man want to write bout, here are you lead ins?

scabies among my Nigerian brethren who may or may not acknowledge me as their brother given that I am the son of a slave and they are not

And Michael Carrington, Speaker of the House possibly tiefing 250,000 dollars of client funds

Dis article deserve a page fuh heself.

Man AC and Legion gine have a field day pun dis one…

I was wondering how Fast his case was progressed by Madame Justice Cornelius through the erstwhile inept courts , maybe Plantation Deeds’ case might experience equal alacrity and decision if he were to have her hear his matters, you think?

2. The Nation reports that the BCC is not ready for the Nigerian students. Should the applications be submitted and accepted prior to arrival according to the BCC calendar or were special arrangements made by the representative of the students. Who failed the students for a second time?

3. What came first the chicken or the egg, did they get the scabies at the hotel or home.

4. Donna St.Hill needs to properly explain what has gone wrong with this transaction. Did she not read TripAdvisor before making the decision to accept Casa Grande? Has she been paid?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@lawson

You like you is a gallows bait doah lol

You like you inferring dat, given the fact dat de Ram got prior history, and is known to the court of public opinion euphemism for lies and slander, given that that history includes the possible killing of “already dead chickens” that it is possible that the Nigerians contracted it at the “hotel”?

Shame pun you man, shame…

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Forgive de ingrunt ole man dis observation

When unna get to emigrate from Bulbados to Englant Canada or Amurica, you does hafts go through some very extensive tests befo you get de stamp to lef Bulbados

Whu de ole man want to know is if, wid all de experience dat we got begging fuh lodging in a strange land, if we immigration practices gots equal standards and rigors or if we is a banana republic in trufe?

7. Weren’t the Nigerian students quarantined in Trinidad because of Ebola concern? What was the process for getting the all clear?

8. Interesting link.

Delta Takes Human Capital Devt To New Height

BY SUNDAY EGEDE
    DELTA State governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, has said that the 150 youths of the state origin who were successful in the youth training and empowerment programme qualifying examination that was recently organized by the Ministry of Higher Education would soon leave Nigeria for Barbados and Trinidad for skills acquisition training programme.
    Uduaghan disclosed this at Songhai Delta in Amukpe, Sapele Local Government Area of the state during the opening ceremony of a three-day orientation programme organized for the youths.
    According to the Governor, who was represented by the Commissioner for Higher Education, Prof. Hope Eghagha, the successful candidates would be trained in four key areas which he listed to include drilling, welding and fabrication, tourism and hotel management and agriculture with emphasis on food processing and horticulture.
    He urged them to maintain a high degree of discipline before, during and after training programme that would last for 10 months in Barbados and Trinidad, adding that as ambassadors of Delta State and Nigeria, they should not do anything that would bring the image of the state and the country to disrepute.
    “You would be showcasing Delta State positively if you behave well over there. Wherever you are going to be trained in Barbados and Trinidad, remember that you are our ambassadors and that you are the first seeds to be sown on this programme”, Uduaghan said.
    The Governor added that “the future of this programme will, to a very large extent, depend on how well you conduct yourselves, what you say, what you do and how you respond to the training”, saying that the state government was setting a very high standard for them.
    While disclosing that there would monthly evaluation of their conduct, he warned that anybody who indulges in unethical behaviours such as absence from lectures, drunkenness and disappearance among other negative behaviours would be withdrawn from the programme.
    Dr. Uduaghan, who noted that 775 applicants applied for the training programme, congratulated the 150 candidates that were successful at the end of the qualifying examination, even as he implored them to take the programme very seriously as is designed to transform their socio-economic status in line with the state government’s vision of ‘Delta Beyond Oil’.
    In an interview with journalists during orientation programme, the Commissioner for Higher Education, Prof. Hope Eghagha, said that the beneficiaries of the programme were selected based on merit and discretion, adding that all the local government areas in the state were represented in the selection process.
    He disclosed that his ministry was working in conjunction with the Directorate of Poverty Alleviation to explore the possibility of providing starter packs to those that would need them at the end of the 10 months training programme in Barbados and Trinidad.

http://thepointernewsonline.com/?p=31419

9. @ Alien \Lawson

re: your scadies talk…..looka here bro.scabies is nothing more than a skin reaction due to a vitamin deficiency…my lawyer had a bout of scabies in November as he explained to me the reason for the continual itchin on his hand as he drove to work… maybe like U, I heard the report on the media yesterday.

This is just a red-herring…chikengunya is a more worrisome challenge and by now 150,000 bajan have\had it….so cut the crap do..

I worry as to the Nigerian brothers plight….even more so, in light of prevailing circumstances in their country. Barbadians need to be more understanding- Lawson.

…..”they came for the Jews but I was not a Jew”…

10. Wait …your lawyer had an itchy palm and he told you it was scabies…LoL Trust me I am all for these kids learning new trades. I for one never thought email scams as a career was sustainable. Having said that I used to stay at the abbeyville hotel 30 years ago so the casa grande looks like an upgrade to me.

11. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 11, 2015 at 6:13 AM #

“And Michael Carrington, Speaker of the House possibly tiefing 250,000 dollars of client funds……… Dis article deserve a page fuh heself.”

I agree with you Piece, that article deserves a page for itself.

Leading up to, and during the 2008 election campaign, the DLP went the length and breadth of Barbados accusing the then BLP administration of corruption. “Mobile cinemas” were set up at political meetings to show all and sundry, the $75,000 cheque Owen Arthur deposited to his personal account, among other things. Then after being elected to the form the government, the DLP spoke of “all the mess” they found in every ministry, as well as former BLP ministers having vast sums of money in foreign accounts.

Against the background the alleged corrupt practices said to have been perpetrated by the former BLP administration, the DLP members have found themselves in a similar predicament, since we now have the following instances of corruption, some of which were revealed by legal procedures:
    The CLICO forensic audit revealed Thompson and his law firm [as an associate and related company respectively] received money from CIL for services rendered, which were subsequently paid to Leroy Parris; Denis Lowe allegedly depositing millions of dollars on his mother’s bank account; Michael Lashley allegedly attempting to take a large sum of money into the USA; the apparent increase in wealth of DLP parliamentarians during a recession [evidenced by the luxury cars and SUVs they are now seen to be driving]; Richard Byer charging CBL $766,855.24 for rendering a legal opinion on a loan contract; and now Michael Carrington, as a senior lawyer and speaker of the House of Assembly, illegally with-holding funds from a client for 2 years.

I remind BU of page 49 of the DLP’s 2008 manifesto, under the headline “Good Governance”, where they promised, within 100 days of being elected, to “Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring: a declaration of assets by public officials, a Code of Conduct for Ministers and a new Freedom of Information law.”

If the DEMS were obligated their keep to promise of implementing their “good governance” initiative, then surely there would have been a legal basis for requiring ALL politicians to be held accountable for their nefarious activities.

12. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 11, 2015 at 6:13 AM #

Ironically, the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto was entitled “PATHWAYS TO PROGRESS”.

After the speech about dividing the “fatted calf” amongst the party loyalist who kept faith with the DLP after spending 14 years in the “wilderness”, and all the wealth these fellows have accumulated during half the time the BLP took to accumulate theirs [the BLP had 14 years, whilst the DLP 7 years, so far], and against the background of public sector employees being retrenched and having to wait 7 months before being paid their severance, with former NCC and Beautify Barbados yet to receive theirs, and the “last in, first out”, policy was not used as the agreed basis to retrench employees [which meant most of those terminated were employed prior to 2008]……..

We must ask ourselves, “pathways to progress”, yes………. but for whom?

13. Has Donna St. Hill given her side of the story since she was the main organizer/contractor to the Delta State in Nigeria on the behalf of these students?

As a Barbadian and the main management principal Donna St. Hill has a lot to answer for.

Her silence in the Media speaks volumes.

14. The other side of this discussion is the fact the BCC is not ready to receive the 90 students. What is going on? And what about the missing 1 million from the Delta fund which explains why there is no money to fund an alternative accommodation.

15. @ David

The ONLY other side is Donna St. Hill. she would be the one to answer since Ms St. Hill was the CONTRACTOR/ORGANISER for Barbados activities including Accommodation, and student enrollment at BCC.

Donna St. Hill DEFINITELY as CONTRACTOR/ORGANISER would have to answer why the students were not enrolled at BCC before they flew to Barbados if that is the case.

The $1 million missing from the Delta Fund would have to be answerable by Management of that fund.

16. This case is, to my mind, a hard one to decipher and come to a decision on who’s really at fault here, or who is at the most fault.

Worldwide, Nigerians are not readily trusted or appreciated because of their excessive propensity towards deception and deceit.
    That said, meet Ms R.A. Merchandani otherwise known as “Ms RAM”, who, if examined alongside the Nigerian stereotype, looks no different to many people.
    So, the question becomes, did these students come here infected or, did their stay in the most deplored and shunned hotel in Barbados result in this infection?
    As is common in Barbados, a cover-up will most likely ensue and we will probably blame our Nigerian brothers of deception and other social acts of ill repute, but should we as a nation not act in a manner guided by principles and good conscience?

If indeed, the Nigerians were here on another mission other than the one that they claimed that they were on, or had ulterior motives, we are at fault for not being thorough in our investigations regarding their desire to be in Barbados. After all, Barbados is not known to be a location for Academics to clamor to visit and study in.

What is un-mistakable is our propensity to screw up anything when we exercise greed and corruption covertly. The Nigerian saga has all the hallmarks of someone, or someones trying to cut corners or shave off little “bits” of the top.
    Many questions can be asked about this whole matter, but here’s what we, the pubic want to see before we can come to a concrete conclusion.

1. The total amount paid by Nigeria for the accommodation of their nationals here.
    2. The amount proposed by the original hotel for their accommodation.
    3. The amount paid to CasaGrande.
    4. All incidental costs incurred.

Finally, we would like to have a Forensic Audit of all of the people involved in the handling of money matters regarding this issue.

Enough Said!

17. There is a related article on page 4A of the Sunday Sun entitled ‘One million dollars missing’.

18. The issue here is obviously caused by the fracture in relationship between Sharon Brathwaite and Donna St. Hill. Today’s notice in the press confirms it. Not even an opportunity to get some needed foreign exchange we can’t manage to get right. jAs.

On Sunday, 11 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

19. Okay, missed the earlier reference…

20. Is people like you Alien and you Watcher that would give a dog a bad name…wait crooks and scoundels don’t originate too from Europe and America….give me abreak do…How D hell you come to associate a negative side to this issue beckons….Look how we BIG ABLE Speaker face now up in D newspaper on charges of misappropiating from a handicapp? Does that mean all a DEM is crooks?….I ent hear about CLICO big crook Kwife held pun nah charge either.. manager or not? So how comes you pun des black students’ back like a crab? Shoite man ya too racist…(.if ya white) cuz I can’t see ya face…if ya black like me ya a idijit then.

21. old onion bags January 11, 2015 at 1:29 PM #: “…Is people like you Alien and you Watcher that would give a dog a bad name…”

I support the students and hope that the persons responsible for their wellbeing will start acting on their behalf.

22. @David et al, Re the alleged ‘Missing Million’

Supposing and surmising,(I am not saying this is so), that the Missing Million found its way EITHER, into a suitcase going to Amurca in someone’s cuitcase, said person to be promptly returned to Barbados with a ‘daon come back’ or into someone’s mudder’s bank account?

Just supposing, I mean?

23. @Crusoe

It should not be difficult even if basic bookkeeping was used to follow the money.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe January 11, 2015 at 1:45 PM
    “Supposing and surmising,(I am not saying this is so), that the Missing Million found its way EITHER, into a suitcase going to Amurca in someone’s cuitcase, said person to be promptly returned to Barbados with a ‘daon come back’ or into someone’s mudder’s bank account?”

The more things look the more it seems like a “people’s smuggling” deal gone wrong. Why would Delta State officials pay over millions in scarce foreign money for people to study hospitality and most shocking of all agriculture (aka bush cultivation in Barbados)?
    How much money has been remitted to Barbados to settle the cost of accommodation and tuition fees?

Did these make-believe students pay upfront fees to the Delta State arrangers for a chance in the lottery for a better life in the quaint exotic but stupid and naïve natives of the slave baby territories?

The people, both local and in Nigeria, that were involved in the solar water heater manufacturing scam can certainly shed some light on the experiences in dealing with Nigerian business people and State government officials.

25. This whole saga is very strange, sad and embarrassing. Nothing does not add up.

As a parent, I would be worried if any of this was happening to my child.

Years ago, when my children were looking to study abroad, we went and check the university out as well as the accommodation prior to selecting the university. Can you imagine the torture these parents would be going through?

It has now been announced by the Chairman of the BCC that they are not ready for the students.

I would like to know, how could this be?
    Who made the arrangements?
    What decisions and assurances were given?
    What was the agreed price for the nine months?
    If the students had come at the prior date, would Infinity be available for them?
    Who selected Mrs Ram place for them?
    Are there no other places available?
    Which ministries were involved in this?
    Did the Nigerian government pay up the US$10 million?
    To whom was this money paid?

Lord knows, this is a puzzle…………….almost as puzzling as the Bermuda Triangle!

26. Can anyone explain on what has minister Byer hinged her response that the government was not involved? Didn’t the group have to apply for Visas?

27. As usual, she opens her mouth and nothing makes sense.

Commonsense would tell you that at least two Ministers should have known about this:

(1) The PM’s office under which Immigration falls would have to be involved……..Darcy Boyce would have to know, he is responsible for Immigration

(2) The Ministry of Education should have known………….they are responsible for Education

She should just resign……..so incompetent!

28. Has the Nigerians met their match in Barbados? Were they outscammed? A lot of questions need to be answered.
    What arrangements were made , in the early stages to accommodate the 90 Nigerians in classes at the BCC, and who made these arrangements? sinec we read that the Principal was unaware of a $3/4 Million deal between the organisers and the BCC.
    In todays papers we read that some lady is no longer associated with the Delta affair. What exactly was her position?
    We also need to hear from the lady who manages Infinity Hotel, who was so disturb with the Barbados Government and the Ministry of Health, when the decision was made to postpone the arrival of the Nigerians, as apprecaution against ebola,as she stood to loose a lot of money. What we would like to know is how much did the Infinity Hotel charge for the 9-Month stay,and how this compared with what Casa Grande is charging.
    Why are we not hearing from the Minister of Foreign Affairs, or the Minister of Education,both of whom would have been well area from the beginning .
    It seems to me that when many persons concern heard that 90 Nigerians from from the rich Delta region were coming to Barbados, brains were disengaged and Cash Register put in gear.
    Probably an explanation should be coming from Obiora Arthur,as to what she meant, as reported in the press that:- Nigeria was the richest nation in Africa and the Delta State ,where the students came from was one of the country’s richest states, ” so if this is properly managed there would be no need to go begging for money for people who have no interest in the people of Barbados”.

29. Maybe we will hear 2moro on Brasstacks from the semi retard from Sen Lucy who does know everything bout everything bout other people ministries but can’t or won’t say anything on his own menistree.
    And while we on this matter is there any truth that the organizer staying at a West coast hotel at US$500.00 per night

30. Sign the petition against Boko Haram!

Petition update

Ify Elueze just posted an update on the petition you signed, All World Leaders: Bring Back Nigeria’s 200 Missing School Girls #BringBackOurGirls.

Boko Haram’s ‘deadliest massacre’: over 2000 children, women, elderly- all dead in Nigeria

Jan 11, 2015 — In two days, it would be 273 days since 273 young secondary school girls were taken from the safety of their boarding school and families. It would also be one week since over 2000… Read more

Read more

31. why we aint hear from the BHTA? I hope this hotel is not represented by their association.

32. Fix It! January 11, 2015 at 9:00 PM #

why we aint hear from the BHTA? I hope this hotel is not represented by their association.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    This establishment should be downgraded from a Hotel to a Motel. I am surprised that the British tabloid, the Daily Mail did not get hold of this story and splashed it around the world.

33. Who would ever have thought that 40/50/60 years since Barbadians joined the mass exodus to the mother country to work for London Transport among others, and were dumped in some old ,damp and cold houses owned by english famillies, who lived upstairs and accommodated West Indians like cattle in the downstairs rooms,with some six men living in a medium size bedroom, and no facilities to take a bath or a shower,as the space which normally would have accommodated the bath tub/shower was turned into a bedroom and rented out. Being given sparse and meagre meals . I lost 10 lbs in weight in 2 weeks. Seeing those Nigerians scooping water out of the swimming pool to take a bath ,reminded me that in those early days if a bath was required, it was taken at the public baths, which in my case was about a mile away,and it was not free.
    Who would ever have thought that we would be dishing out similar treatment to others in the year 2015.

34. David January 11, 2015 at 10:14 AM “Sharon Brathwaite”

Who is Sharon Brathwaite?

35. @Colonel Buggy January 11, 2015 at 4:35 PM “Have the Nigerians met their match in Barbados? Were they outscammed?”

Dear Colonel Buggy: Yours is the best comment of this issue.

Or as my old man used to say “Bajans too tief”

36. @ old onion bags.

Don’t get your “nickers in a knot here”. You first need to READ carefully and then comprehend the substance of the post that was submitted.
    We are dealing with the Nigerian issue. Not the European or Micheal Carrington issue. So focus is paramount to good and fair discussion here.
    You, my dear sir or madam, have probably NEVER lived amongst Nigerians in your life. I on the other hand, have had the good fortune of meeting many a person from Nigeria and interacting with them over a substantial period of time.
    I refused to paint them all with a single brush, but said rather carefully what the “perception ” of them seems to be in the minds of many other peoples in the world. Even amongst their African neighbours and counterparts, they seem to be widely mis-trusted, mis-understood, or both. I never said I didn’t like them or made any derogatory remarks about them. So, please read carefully and comprehend whats being said so that my comments aren’t misconstrued in any way.

in his/her post, Colonel Buggy wrote the following in their opening remarks: “Has the Nigerians met their match in Barbados? Were they outscammed?”
    Is he/she a racists or bigot also? I have never knowingly spoken to him or her and I dont believe that I have influenced what this contributor has written in any way. But their comment seems to be closely aligned to what I said. So what gives there?
    And, if I am a racist as you seemingly suggest, who do you think I would have learned it from? That is to say, many of us have our own hidden, obscured, or secret beliefs and thoughts about peoples of other races and nationalities. Those feelings surface in times like these when we are veiled or when we think no one other than our “own’ are listening or watching. My comments never said definitively that Nigerians are bad or unscrupulous, they spoke to perceptions and asked questions that need to be asked before conclusions are drawn. So that charge cant find any adhesion.

Simply stated, facts are facts, they are disputable, but only to the point of futility. If you argue from a platform of fact, you’re likely to be good. However, if you argue from a platform of emotion and feeling, you are likely to get sidetracked into believing that someone is being disingenuous.
    What I asked for was some disclosure regarding the financials of the transaction to be disclosed. I did not ask for their health reports, just financials.
    Whether the DLP has thieves or dishonest members as you seem to be implying, or whether Europeans are also dishonest or not, is really an un-related matter and is irrelevant here. No aspersions were cast on the Nigerians or their presence amongst us, I just asked pointed questions and suggested why they may be called to account for their claims, whether fairly or unfairly, based in great part on what many of those in the world believe to be true about them.

So, when you want to attack, please do so with facts or with a strong weapon. I stand by what I wrote and certainly don’t see the importance of their colour as being substantially beneficial to our discussions.

There is a situation that needs to be rectified on their behalf, but that situation seems rooted in a deeper issue which we as Barbadians need to see eradicated if this country is to progress.

Let’s continue to have wonderful and meaningful discussions here which mushroom and germinate into strong and decisive actions that are to become the catalyst for change in Barbados.

37. The way these Nigerian students are being treated is past disgusting. Now, to add insult to injury, we are seeing that they are being quarantined allegedly for some ‘disease’?

Where did they catch it, did the individual bring it or catch it here??

I mean really, a person fetching water from a pool to bathe, if newpaper reports with photos are to be believed, is ‘hospitality????????????????

Sorry skip, EBW or Tom Adams woulda have some strong verbal tongue lashing to deliver for this.

38. Colonel Buggy January 11, 2015 at 4:35 PM # …. Were they outscammed? A lot of questions need to be answered. What arrangements were made , in the early stages to accommodate the 90 Nigerians in classes at the BCC, and who made these arrangements? sinec we read that the Principal was unaware of a $3/4 Million deal between the organisers and the BCC.

Questions yes, at the very least, these questions would seem most appropriate coming from the Police, acting on behalf of the DPP.

May turn out to be nothing, or could be more, but the questions need to be asked.

39. Note one of the Nigerian students fed-up with the situation returned home over the weekend.

This is a NATIONAL DISGRACE.

40. Do you realize that if the hotel has been already paid, which one would imagine they have, the devil in hell will have his job cut out getting the money refunded. Take them to court you say – what? In Barbados? By the time the case comes up for hearing, adjournments granted, judgement passed, appeals lodged, adjournments granted etc. most of those lodging the complaint would be dead and buried. Not to mention the owners.

41. 157 Deltans depart for Barbados, Trinidad on technical training

Over 147 young people from Delta State have left for Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago for special training in technical vocations in the oil and gas sector, agriculture and hospitality industry under the sponsorship of the state government.

The students, accompanied by five chaperons and the Delta State Commissioner for Higher Education, Prof. Hope Eghagha, will undergo training in machine drilling, welding and fabrication, electrical rigging and many related fields in oil and gas sector. Fifty seven of the trainees will be in Trinidad which will host the oil and gas training programme that begins on December 8, 2014 and last for 10 months.

The remaining 90 trainees will proceed to Barbados for a series of orientation programmes that will last three weeks before the main training on the hospitality industry and agriculture begins in January 2015. The training programme was approved by Dr. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan, governor of Delta State, under his human capacity development agenda.

The 57 people undergoing technical vocation training in the oil and gas industry form the initial batch of specialized manpower being prepared for the emerging opportunities in the oil and gas sector, especially with the envisaged multi-billion dollar Gas City project in Ogidigben where enormous technical manpower will be required.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2014/12/157-deltans-depart-barbados-trinidad-technical-training/#sthash.UQYAOgSy.dpuf

42. Scabbies is a water borne skin rash, the kid could have gotten it from the stinking swimming pool water at casa grande.

What makes me want to puke is that they would actually house these kids at that dirty woman’s (RAM) hotel, but that is what they allow to happen to anything African in Barbados.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

While there is much to be said regarding (i) past Nigerian and African scams for relatives who are entitled to unclaimed World Bank funds etc (ii) the state of “Fowl Coop Grande” that Mrs RAM got permission to build from our Town & Cvntry Planning Department (iii) slaves/son sons of slaves and their disdain from “freedmen” (iv) dermatological disorders, scabies Norwegian infections, pre Ebola investigations/examinations and a combination of the above the first and foremost fact of this matter remains is “Deltans Depart to Bulbados and Trinidad for Technical Training”

It is amazing the fact that post numerous scams in the past on this same theme that, in this day and age, 90 people and a sovereign government would send its finest halfway across the world, without any sign-offs from authorised parties.

We are very familiar with the incompetence of the Immigration Department, The Minister of Eddy Kashun and the rest of these clowns but sometimes you have to put the blame squarely on the shoulders of those who are to be blamed.

I have a bridge in Bridgetown that I own, do i have any buyers? begs the perennial and pertinent question about “due diligence” that was conducted prior to this exercise which, even in the best of instances, can be tainted when millions of dollars are involved.

While a minor point many of you don’t understand the shame and ignominy that these humans face if they are sent back to the Deltan State post this obviously poorly planned fiasco.

Notwithstanding their mistake does not force the Government of Bulbados to HAVE TO DO ANYTHING to mitigate these circumstances.

Suppose 20 of the students cant meet the matriculation requirements does that mean that our ingrunt Ronald We Jonesing has to force enroll them into BCC?

44. @ Colonel Buggy,
    Your comment ……. “Has the Nigerians met their match in Barbados? Were they out scammed?” Has to be, headline of the year.

I certainly do not agree with you and I will tell you why; and in the process conclude this rather sad affair.

This scam (let’s call a spade a spade – because this is what it is!) was conceived in Nigeria. Some Nigerian government official, businessman (woman) or politician needed a way to launder his/her dirty money. How could this be achieved “legally”? Well, how about creating a bogus educational course which would allow these students to obtain a visa of residence.

Once in the country they would have the opportunity to abscond or perhaps seek refugee status. Barbados would be a stepping stone for these individuals. Their likely destination lies in Canada or the USA.

For this idea to work it would require the assistance of a Barbadian government official, businessman (woman) or politician. Monies would have been promised to at least one Bajan national (though I believe it could have been several individuals) provided they offered up their bank account details in order to facilitate this plan.

The question remains as to whether those Bajan nationals would have received the monies that they believe was due to them?

Colonel Buggy you may have to rephrase your question.

In the meantime we should return those students back to their country of origin and investigate those Bajans who took part in this scam. Those who are found guilty must be given a prison sentence.

45. Exclaimer January 12, 2015 at 1:11 PM #

@ Colonel Buggy,
    Your comment ……. “Has the Nigerians met their match in Barbados? Were they out scammed?” Has to be, headline of the year.

Colonel Buggy you may have to rephrase your question.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Yes, it is beginning to pan out that this scam was conceived, long before the Delta students, arrive.
    But Bajans appear to really have a short memory. A few years ago a plane from Ghania deposited some 80 so Ghanaian in Barbados,and never returned to collect them,leaving the dirty work in the hands of the Barbados Government, who had to round them up and house them at a BDF base. Eventually arrangements were made by the Barbados Government to repatriate the stranded Ghanians. Barbados bore the cost of leasing a plane ,and was given a promise by the Ghanian Government that they would have foot half the expense,when in fact they should have footed the whole bill. Up to now we have not heard from this end, if Ghana had ever kept its promise. Barbados appears to be an easy push over,given what went down with the visitors from Bulgaria last year ,who had a fest day with ATM’s in Barbados.
    Then there is the incident with the joint venture manufacturing partnership in Nigeria ,which went sour to the disadvantage of the Bajan entrepreneur.
    No wonder that the Minister of Foreign Affairs is passing on this one.

46. Research and See why Malaysia wanted them out of their country.

Only a few of these students were selected for Barbados. Some bullied and use corrupted government contacts to get on board. Go figure. 9 months later… see pregnancies and application for immigrant status. Do these students have a return ticket? Someone mentioned money laundering? Why would an official have to come to deal with the issue when the group have several reps including Lawyers?

Some of these programs are legit but scammers jump on board as well.

TNT, Guyana and Jamaica in recent time have issues with Nigerians in their countries.

Stop use the skin thing to act blind. Be open-minded and seek knowledge.