It is hard not to develop a negative outlook to the medium term prospects of humankind if we pause to scan world news for just 5 minutes. Whether the rise of ISIL as a consequence of the leadership vacuum created by the Western coalition led by the USA assassinating Saddam Hussein. There is the takeout of Muammar Gaddafi. Two years later Libya has two factions warring for the right to rule. The latest: the United Nations will attempt to broker a deal to delay a Gaddafi stable country from slipping deeper into civil war. Some will say this is part of the growing pains of a democracy taking root. What is democracy anyway? We could easily have highlighted the Israeli Palestinian conflict, the destabilization of Syria, volatility in Afghanistan and many others.

While the Western Press has decided to give 24 hour coverage to the attack on Charlie Hebdo and the ensuing events, the BU household remains numb struck at the report hundreds of Nigerians were murdered in what has been described by Amnesty International as the ‘deadliest massacre’ in the history of Boko Haram. In this part of the world – Barbados included –  intoxicated by newsfeeds from CNN, BBC, FOX and affiliates, little mention and public commentary is generated out of Africa. And when we get information it is of the negative variety. We sit back and debate the USA’s right to invade countries in the Middle East which aligned with geopolitical interest BUT we ignore what is happening in other places. And we know why.

Boko Haram has been around for for a decade and is described as a militant Islamist movement sworn to eradicating and preventing Western education. Interesting is that it is enforcing anti Western education philosophy on Nigeria, a predominant Black country. Boko Haram’s approach rubbishes the argument by White apologists that the problem arising from different dogmas like Islam and Christian can be delineated on race.

What is playing out in Nigeria is reminiscent of the Rwandan tragedy when the Western world turned its back and permitted the Hutu and Tutsi to massacre themselves with an estimated1 million Rwandans killed. If we believe the West, namely the USA and the British, that the reluctance to aggressively move against Boko Haram is because of the fear of hostages being killed or acts of recrimination on villages.  What prevents the Western media – including the Caribbean – giving events in Nigeria adequate coverage on humanitarian, our lineage and other grounds?

We continue to engage in petty perspectives forgetting that we live in a fishbowl where ideologies, religions and philosophies transcend national boundaries. Why do we feel justified constructing the process referred to as globalization with the goal to integrate countries across the world, BUT, we forget to do the same when a member of the international community needs help on humanitarian grounds?

108 responses to “Boko Haram: Hundreds of Blacks Killed and Why WE Continue to Turn Our Backs”

1. Boko haram numbers from a few hundred to a few thousand the Nigerian army is 300000 why cant they have a massive offensive and eliminate them?

2. We already can assume Barbados’ official position on anything Nigerian … “Not important ..!”

3. Has Nigeria requested help? Remember the complexities – a Moslem north, a Christian south, a high level of ‘go it alone’ in a mix of tribes with some history of conflict and rivalry.

Who are the “white apologists” to whom you quite unnecessarily refer? And what precisely are they rationalizing?

What “petty perspectives” do you have in mind?

“And we know why.” Why?

4. Oh BAF, Lawson, you’re here. Happy New Year to you both.

5. Hope you had a good newyear, was second st hopping

6. lawson January 10, 2015 at 12:08 PM #

Boko haram numbers from a few hundred to a few thousand the Nigerian army is 300000 why cant they have a massive offensive and eliminate them?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    The British Army was 100,000 strong , the Provisional Irish Republican Army(PIRA) only a few hundred. Why couldn’t the Brits launch a massive offensive and eliminate them? Why did this offensive took 38 long years?
    Easier said than done.

7. They were the 3rd man in the fight

8. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Great Tribulation
    http://youtu.be/C7x3m2AADJ0

9. “And when we get information it is of the negative variety.”

What positive news have we had out of Africa in recent times?

And BTW, we have blacks killing blacks but somehow whitey gets the blame again?

10. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

The World meeting said that 1 Billion must die for the World to keep going , So until that numbers is reached they will leave it , till Nations kill their own or nations go to war to meet the target numbers , Many Must die as the Top 1% have it , So the World Will watch till everyone is Happy, Geneva Geneva where they have meeting to thin out the World of People and very few of their own Nations, Sperm is something they want to stop from meeting the eggs, As you can see , Men , Women, Children are being Killed,

11. St George's Dragon Avatar

“What prevents the Western media – including the Caribbean – giving events in Nigeria adequate coverage on humanitarian, our lineage and other grounds?”
    Nothing. It’s covered by the BBC, Telegraph, Guardian, New York Times, USA Today to name just a few I looked at.

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. January 10, 2015 at 2:40 PM #
    “The World meeting said that 1 Billion must die for the World to keep going , So until that numbers is reached they will leave it , till Nations kill their own or nations go to war to meet the target numbers , Many Must die as the Top 1% have it , So the World Will watch till everyone is Happy, Geneva Geneva where they have meeting to thin out the World of People and very few of their own Nations, Sperm is something they want to stop from meeting the eggs, As you can see , Men , Women, Children are being Killed,”

You ACTUALLY believe this shit? Really? God help us if there are many more of your sort around.

13. St George’s Dragon January 10, 2015 at 3:36 PM #
    “What prevents the Western media – including the Caribbean – giving events in Nigeria adequate coverage on humanitarian, our lineage and other grounds?”
    Nothing. It’s covered by the BBC, Telegraph, Guardian, New York Times, USA Today to name just a few I looked at.

Well said.
    That is a prime example of the informed and the uninformed.

14. Do you guys really believe if a group had slaughtered 2,000 citizens in the US or the UK we would have to search for the news?

Give is a brassbowl break.

On Saturday, 10 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

No, nor do you with 16 people killed in Nigeria:
    http://m.bbc.com/news
    It’s admittedly underneath the Paris shootings piece, but you don’t have to scroll down to see it.

16. Your barometer is ranking on BBC website?

Really!

On Saturday, 10 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

17. Boko Haram is hell bent on killing anybody who does not go along with thier idealogy. Thier leaders have been seeing this and not taking actio,. When the west intervenes when asked they are criticised. PPl make up your minds. You want them or you dont.

18. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

At The Movies
    Children Don’t You Cry

Soundtrack
    Children Singing..
    La La La At The End

http://youtu.be/_ouJiry3vwE

19. What is playing out in Nigeria is reminiscent of the Rwandan tragedy when the Western world turned its back and permitted the Hutu and Tutsi to massacre themselves with an estimated1 million Rwandans killed. If we believe the West, namely the USA and the British, that the reluctance to aggressively move against Boko Haram is because of the fear of hostages being killed or acts of recrimination on villages. What prevents the Western media – including the Caribbean – giving events in Nigeria adequate coverage on humanitarian, our lineage and other grounds?

Could not have said it better…..The ‘WE’ in title is directed to the super powers I guess…

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ bookworm January 10, 2015 at 4:04 PM

Not so far fetched as you think, bookworm!
    There is too much demand on the Earth’s limited or finite resources (especially potable water and clean air).

If the culling needed to bring about some level of species sustainability can’t be achieved through Mother Nature’s “toing and froing” to keep species populations in check or through some infrequent cataclysmic event, then mankind would have to do its own self-regulating for the species to survive in the near future.
    With the unacceptable limited success through contraception man would have to use his scientific knowledge to achieve the future objective of either zero population growth in addition to a one-off downward adjustment in existing numbers.

BTW, there is a school of thought (Transhumanism) that shares a somewhat similar (but more intellectually refined) view as espoused by John Hanson.

21. @millertheanunnaki January 10, 2015 at 8:36 PM #

BTW, there is a school of thought (Transhumanism) that shares a somewhat similar (but more intellectually refined) view as espoused by John Hanson.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………

Chuckle……mother nature by virtue of volcanoes,tsunamis,etc,etc,is quite capable of deciding her own occupancy levels ……ask the Dinosaurs

I am a bit baffled as to this thread….Tribes have been killing off each other from time immemorial……it is part of our genetic make up…..whats new and as far as western involvement…..only where western interest is concerned…..what is so difficult to understand…..no resources no interest…….note melanin does not play a part,it may be coincidental,remember melanin cannot be eradicated,it will always exist,hence the concept of racism will always be a joke….prejudice yes…….all religions are cults and the quicker they are removed from the face of this planet the better…….

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

So the BBC News website is not worth looking at, then. So what international news websites do you recommend?

23. @St.Georges Dragon

The issue here is not looking at a BBC website, it is more about the collective noise generated to match other events e.g. France, the murder of two or three White policemen etc.

24. @chbrel

I agree with you! And, I for one would like to see the West, and it’s allies not get involved. The only thing we accomplish by being involved, is burying our dead.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Not only are all of the news media involved in covering this carefully orchestrated islamophobic incensing purposed kill spree, outreach to newspaper that speak ill of The Prophet with last stand/fallback position close to Jewish target, but has it not been announced that some significant amount of world leaders are scheduled to attend the funerals?

Callings by natural disasters aside coupled with the overarching fact that none of us lives forever, it is noted that no one is clamor ring to fly to Northern Nigeria to express similar sentiments per solidarity with or liberty for the 2000 Boko Haran victims

Nor is there similar indignation regarding the broken pledges regarding the US$1 billion pledged to eradicate the Ebola scourge currently in Africa.

But this is precisely was is playing out here

Safe sensational news for it is safer to cover “civilized” murders in a non hazardous Paris than do so for 2,000 single instance murders in the Ebola infested Dark Continent.

Let me for a few seconds more comment on this issue of the increasingly optimized tactics of the minds of the terrorists of late and i will borrow the words of our own “BAJAN terrorist” Oney, so called because he was a local fisherman who fished using dynamite and lost one arm to that experience

“Let them gather, they will soon scatter”

Sensational killers kill 17 victims, true killers murder 2,000.

Your solidarity excursions bring many of your state “gawkers” to funeral pyres of the victims, gawkers of an ilk that terrorists, and those masquerading as friendly’s, can use said occasions to attract “persons of interest”

POIs whom the first salvo does no kill but the second and third salvoes will decimate. Old fisherman tactics – Put out a sprat to catch a whale.

THERE IS A WAY TO STOP THIS CARNAGE AND TO FIND, AND TERMINATE WITH EXTREME PREJUDICE, THESE ENEMIES OF THE STATE, IF YOU WANT TO, and I say IF because IT IS EVIDENT that this is your end game

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry David [BU]

The last part was not directed to you the rant about it being evident that ” this was NOT the end game”

27. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

News often seems like scripted Movies suited to Government Agendas and projects already planned and signed off. Beginning scenes in Africa, France is supposed to scare crowd but heroes fight baddies and nail the bird in the end.
    I don’t care too much for movies, I just want to see the end, will she come back to him again

28. @David
    What you fail to understand is that the Paris shootings are a deviation from the norm in Europe. Mass killings are not things that happen every day in Europe, they are an exception.

They are also close to home and threaten the generaly safe world that Europe enjoys.They are therefore of great interest to Europe.

Mass killings and genocide are an almost daily fact of life in black Africa.

Congo,Ruanda,Uganda,Somalia,Angola. The list goes on and on.

There is an inevitable sense of deja-vu when we read of yet another senseless mass killing in black Africa. Add to this the rise to power of despots such as Mugabe and Amin who destroy their country for personal gain and are lauded by their fellow black leaders and you can understand the lack of interest.

Why do you accuse the western media of not highlighting these horrors?
    Why are you not holding the black African leaders to account for allowing it to happen?
    Why should whitey in the form of USA and Britain go in and sort the mess out?

Black Africa must take responsibility for itself.

Oh, and PLEASE do not trot out the usual “old colonial powers are responsible”
    These countries insisted that they could rule themselves, they were given their chance and look at the result.

29. @bookworm

And how do you explain the blanket coverage in the U.S. where it IS the norm?

On Sunday, 11 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

30. @David
    I have not atempted to explain the actions of the American media. There are some things that cannot be explained, the American media is one of them.
    However, you seem to want to deflect the main point of my argument by selectively picking up on one point.
    I have tried, obviously without success, to explain the coverage of Paris and the percieved lack of coverage of African atrocities.
    You have ignored all of this.
    Is it because it is a black on black thing with the blame falling on blacks? Is it because whitey cannot be blamed?
    What about black Africa taking responsibility? You have no views on this?
    Please do me the coutesy of addressing my points and not deflecting them.

31. And you bookworm have refuse to take the point that the killing of 2,000 Nigerians by Boko Haram merits a greater collective noise by world media. IF a White Anerican, just one, had been included in the massacre would the coverage have been different? You know the answer.

32. Oh dear David…you do come over as a loser who to get past the post at all must run in blinkers. And as usual, the first hop is to call those who disagree withyou “brassbowls”. What exactly do you want? The events in Nigeria ARE covered (as St George says) and also by outfits like Jihadwatch. But if you want to march in mourning or to show our disgust at Jihad I’m with you. Indeed, we might ask the intending Moslem enclave dwellers in Clermont to join us. Or would that be mosques in the air?

33. @ David
    The media report news.The point is that another mass killing in black Africa is not news, it is the norm!
    You fail to accept this and yet again fail to address my points.
    What IS your agenda here?
    Why bring in a fictional white American?
    Admit that black Africa is a festering mess of killing and coruption and that this is everyday life there and therefore not news.Accept that they must take responsibility for their present and future and to stop relying on the West to bail them out.
    You know that I am right but you cannot twist things to blame whitey for these atrocities so choose to ignore.

You really are better than that I think.

34. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Same indifference the European Whites show the African Blacks about murders
    Blacks should reciprocate to their White dead

Don’t get caught up listening to robert ross bookworms rock and roll lyrics
    listen to the originals

35. @bookworm

You have made BU’s point very well. It is not news indeed.

36. Bookworm

Your arguments make perfect sense; and the same goes for coverage of the Far East, which David seems unconcerned about, and even Pakistan. But never mind – David says “you know the answer” to his little hypothetical so I suppose you must. I’m afraid I don’t.

37. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Rock and Roll

38. Yes, ignore all of us and listen to a you tube video. That will take us forward and solve the worlds problems.

39. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Creation

40. @ David
    Yet again you avoid directly addressing the points that I make. Respect for you is waning fast.
    Blacks are killing blacks in vast numbers every day, it is perfectly normal in black Africa.
    Or do you deny this?
    Something that is normal is not news.
    Or do you deny this?
    Any percieved lack of coverage has NOTHING to do with race, it is because it happens every day and is not news.
    Or do you deny this?
    If 20 Eskimos were killed in Nigeria this WOULD be news, it would not be normal.
    Do you see the point?>
    Or do you deny this?

41. @bookworm

Let us agree to disagree that the slaughter of 2000 people in Nigeria by Boko Haram is news, just like the kidnapping of little girls.

42. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

come up with your own points
    let other post their own
    arguing or agreeing with anonymous posters is futile

think about it

43. “And we know why”……”You know the answer”

You know David, if I was a cynic I’d say Pacha was sitting in your chair on this one. So Pacha, tell you what, let’s become mercenaries in Maiduguri.

44. @ David
    These fellows are making good sense…. It is the reality.

Bushie only hope they will remember …cause it won’t be long now when such levels of chaos in their beloved domiciles ALSO won’t be news – because of its regularity…. Karma ain’t easy…

Wuh ain’t catch yuh ain’t pass yuh….
    every dog does got he day.

45. bookworm the word eskimo is considered derogatory just like the n-word

46. @Bush Tea

It has started, the seemingly random shootings in the US by school children.

47. On Sunday, 11 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote: Interesting to read Peter Wickham writing about free speech in his column today.

48. AAll I can do is weep for the Continent of Africa. I am so glad the slave boat docked here. I believe the worst thing that ever happened was when Africans became Muslims. All of Africa would be better without that cult of a religion. I know some might disagree, but the whole group of Boko Haram need eliminating. They are terrorising everyone in Nigeria and the government of Goodluck Johnathan seems unwilling to do anything. It is amazing that so many are dying from Ebola in Sierre Leone and these criminals can still terrorise people. Would be good if they could contract that deadly virus. They have shown no mercy and none should be shown them. Africa is one lost cause. My heart really bleeds.

49. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Significant proportion of enslaved Africans taken to Americas including Caribbean were Muslims

50. Boko Haram exists because there are a number of people in the Nigeria leadership and military benefiting.

If one has been following this story by reading the Nigeria Punch or Vanguard online newspapers it is pretty obvious the military is HEAVILY infiltrated by Boko Haram.

Close to the end of 2014 the Military courts court martialled a large number of soldiers who fired on their commander when ordered to fight Boko Haram.

The commander was not killed however most of the soldiers were later found guilty and sentenced to death.

Also the North where Boko Haram exists primarily is heavy Moslem territory so the desire to stop this by soldiers based in the area may not be so high.

In addition the Nigerian soldiers on a whole complain about very low pay, not receiving wages and that the weapons they have are far inferior to Boko Haram.

The soldiers also complain that Billions of $ have been stolen from money allocated to the military by their high command to pay for better weapons and wages which have affected their morale.