It is hard not to develop a negative outlook to the medium term prospects of humankind if we pause to scan world news for just 5 minutes. Whether the rise of ISIL as a consequence of the leadership vacuum created by the Western coalition led by the USA assassinating Saddam Hussein. There is the takeout of Muammar Gaddafi. Two years later Libya has two factions warring for the right to rule. The latest: the United Nations will attempt to broker a deal to delay a Gaddafi stable country from slipping deeper into civil war. Some will say this is part of the growing pains of a democracy taking root. What is democracy anyway? We could easily have highlighted the Israeli Palestinian conflict, the destabilization of Syria, volatility in Afghanistan and many others.

While the Western Press has decided to give 24 hour coverage to the attack on Charlie Hebdo and the ensuing events, the BU household remains numb struck at the report hundreds of Nigerians were murdered in what has been described by Amnesty International as the ‘deadliest massacre’ in the history of Boko Haram. In this part of the world – Barbados included –  intoxicated by newsfeeds from CNN, BBC, FOX and affiliates, little mention and public commentary is generated out of Africa. And when we get information it is of the negative variety. We sit back and debate the USA’s right to invade countries in the Middle East which aligned with geopolitical interest BUT we ignore what is happening in other places. And we know why.

Boko Haram has been around for for a decade and is described as a militant Islamist movement sworn to eradicating and preventing Western education. Interesting is that it is enforcing anti Western education philosophy on Nigeria, a predominant Black country. Boko Haram’s approach rubbishes the argument by White apologists that the problem arising from different dogmas like Islam and Christian can be delineated on race.

What is playing out in Nigeria is reminiscent of the Rwandan tragedy when the Western world turned its back and permitted the Hutu and Tutsi to massacre themselves with an estimated1 million Rwandans killed. If we believe the West, namely the USA and the British, that the reluctance to aggressively move against Boko Haram is because of the fear of hostages being killed or acts of recrimination on villages.  What prevents the Western media – including the Caribbean – giving events in Nigeria adequate coverage on humanitarian, our lineage and other grounds?

We continue to engage in petty perspectives forgetting that we live in a fishbowl where ideologies, religions and philosophies transcend national boundaries. Why do we feel justified constructing the process referred to as globalization with the goal to integrate countries across the world, BUT, we forget to do the same when a member of the international community needs help on humanitarian grounds?

108 responses to “Boko Haram: Hundreds of Blacks Killed and Why WE Continue to Turn Our Backs”

1. It should not be too difficult for us to appreciate the problems that Nigeria face….corruption in high places and pissy leadership.
    We are well on track…

Our lucky break is to be small, poor and insignificant and to not have found any significant oil or other valuable natural reserves which would have REALLY brought the big time scamps with their associated evils.

As to the corruption and overall pissy leadership however, we are down there with the worst…..

2. Bush Tea January 11, 2015 at 12:36 PM #

It should not be too difficult for us to appreciate the problems that Nigeria face….corruption in high places and pissy leadership.
    We are well on track…
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….

BT….you are aware that half of our ancestors are from west Africa and the other half from Madoff’s ancestors country.

3. Bookworm, I can’t help but to validate your position on this atrocity. There is a tendency in the Black world to accuse the west of an unwillingness to focus attention on instances as we have witnessed in Nigeria. When we ourselves ought to be blame but we prefer to shift the blame elsewhere to appease ourselves? Now, where was the collective-moral-outcry from the nations within the African continent which might have drew international attention to this atrocious act of human cruelty?

4. I watched the film ‘The Odessa File’ this evening. The film begins on the day Kennedy was shot. In the face of the suicide of an elderly Jew, a police officer says to Jon Voigt, the hero: “People are dying all over the world tonight but people are only interested in Kennedy.” I thought that was appropriate for this debate.

I also telephoned a Nigerian friend in Nigeria. She made the point that things were on hold at the moment because of elections. She also suggested there was evidence that BH are shipping arms to the south using cattle drovers.

5. Dompey

Happy New Year.

Anthony

Your info culled from the internet sounds very accurate.

So again, what to do? I’m sorry David doesn’t like the idea of marching. What about car stickers or arm bands like ‘I am Charlie’?

Doesn’t horror begin at home? And then registered publicly? It’s all very well to gripe on here but isn’t that at root just posing – the flexing of virtual muscles with an open mouth?

6. Robert I don’t know about the marching thing in barbados a quarter of the people will know what happened in france and are upset about this attack on free speech, a quarter will be marching for the innocents lost by radical misguided islam and the last half will be marching because they think they are a tuna.

7. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

8. Attacks on Muslim targets have started.

9. @David January 12, 2015 at 8:53 AM…Attacks on Muslim targets have started”—

David, I am not sure how you are defining ‘have started’ because since the attack on the US in 2001 the focus on persons of Islamic faith became the norm and both personal and country wide attacks were carried out ferociously.

That has continued to this date with ebbs and flows of news in the general media but for all practical purposes the intelligence services have continued to focus their energies where the greatest threats have been and military incursions has been directed at those threats. Islam terrorists.

There are undoubtedly other terrorists group who pose serious threats’ e.g. in US the white militia a la McVeigh.

But the simple fact is that the threat of Islamic sponsored mayhem has clearly become a shared terror that every citizen in the Western world fears. This attack in France crystallizes that well.

More impactful than the soldiers killed in England and Canada by similarly lone-crazed terrorists because an attack on free-speech is an attack on every one of us.

So now we are in for another round of determined, no-holds-bared government sanctions. Privacy rights will be assailed, people detained under national security restrictions, quasi martial-law where the military are very highly visible in domestic policing and so on (well above the recentnorms, that is to say)

Big difference now though to after the 911 in US is that we SHOULD be very scared. Now there are many radicalized men and women already among us and we have no idea who they are or when they will attack.

Emblematic of that situation is a comment allegedly said at a recent NYPD roll-call re ISIS threats to law enforcement: “Remain alert and …Pay close attention, and look for their hands”.

We are screwed folks because if we checking hands it’s already wayyyyy too late.

So David, I can only pray that the attacks stop rather than start.

10. @DeeWorld

The definition is tied to what has occurred since the recent attack.

11. Boko Haram crisis: Nigerian archbishop accuses West

Children stand near the scene of a recent explosion in a mobile phone market in Potiskum, Nigeria, on 12 January  2015 Potiskum in the north-east was among the towns hit by explosions

Continue reading the main story

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-30777066

12. Charlie Hebdo Reveals This Week’s Cover Image, Features Prophet Muhammad

Charlie Hebdo

Charlie Hebdo revealed their cover image for this week’s issue, printed just days after two gunmen opened fire on the newspaper’s Paris office, killing 12 people. Four of the Charlie’s cartoonists were killed in the attack.

The cover shows the Prophet Muhammad holding a "Je Suis Charlie" sign with the caption, "All is forgiven."

The newspaper said that it will print over 1 million copies this week, with financial help from Google, Le Monde and other organizations. It usually prints around 60,000.

Read the whole story

13. Ours is not an isolated view?

14. Please could you expand on your comment @ 6.34pm. Put some flesh on the bones.

15. Some will attack BU that ours is a fringe view, away from the reality of the situation. It is good to read we are aligned to some who are in the thick of things.

16. It is urgent that an international coalition enter Nigeria to restore order and assist the Government remove the terrorist group Boka Haram

Or is this terrorism ‘different’?

What is that you say? Nigeria does not have oil? But it does!

Why then? Why wont you save the poor and downtrodden from wickedness?

17. Black lives are worth nothing in the eyes of the establishment or so it seems.

18. @David: “Some will attack BU that ours is a fringe view…”

I wouldn’t say for one moment that your position that the Boho Haram massacre was not given full media vis-a-vis the terrorist act in France is a fringe view.

You were right that it initially passed under the radar.

But as other commenters have said the French matter was hot NEWS whereas Boho Haram was old news despite the rising level of their depravity.

An attack on a magazine is an assault on free speech and is an affront to the raison d’être of not only the French but to the psyche of all western civilization, as far as the press is concerned.

That sir will TRUMP any day of the week the death of 2,000 or 10,000 Africans in what some have started to categorize as an interminable ‘civil war’ .

There is more to the debate of course but in simple terms Boko Haram in Nigeria is a civil strife and certainly has lost its appeal as a head-line grabbing news story as compared to a terrorist act in the heart of a Western metropolis.

The same was true of the atrocities during the protracted strife in Bosnia- Herzegovina.

The news ‘apathy’ can be brutally jarring at times.

19. We shouldn’t forget EBOLA…until the next case hits the White man’s world.

20. @ David January 12, 2015 at 8:27 PM # Black lives are worth nothing in the eyes of the establishment or so it seems…and @ Crusoe January 12, 2015 at 7:43 PM # It is urgent that an international coalition enter Nigeria to restore order and assist the Government remove the terrorist group Boka Haram——

David, which government intercedes in another country unless there is an underlying benefit. None. It’s easy to say this is about black lives but this is not a case of the government systematically killing its citizens and the world turning its back.

In Syria that was the claim and the US had to back off their intent to intervene.

So, yes Crusoe unless there is a need to control the oil wealth or keep weapons out of the hands of terrorists or other geopolitical benefit why is the US or UN Strike force going to intercede in Nigeria WITHOUT the explicit request of the government of that country.

I am not aware that such a request has been made.

21. @DeeWord

Did you read these article?

Nigerian military requests international support against Boko Haram

12 January 2015

Print Email

Baga

The Nigerian military has appealed to the international community for assistance in its fight against Boko Haram, following the recent attack on the north-eastern town of Baga.

The extremist group attacked Baga and the surrounding villages after overrunning the headquarters of the Multinational Joint Task Force, which consists of soldiers from Nigeria, Niger and Chad. The group reportedly killed 2,000 people.

Claimed to be the deadliest massacre in the group’s five-year insurgency, hundreds of civilians were wounded and at least 20,000 were forced to flee.

The attack was followed by two explosions in the war-torn Borno state, one of which was reportedly carried out by a child suicide bomber and killed 19 people.

Nigerian defence spokesperson Chris Olukolade was quoted by Agence France-Presse as saying: "The attack on the town by the bloodhounds and their activities since 3 January 2015 should convince well-meaning people all over the world that Boko Haram is the evil all must collaborate to end, rather than vilifying those working to check them."

http://www.army-technology.com/news/newsnigerian-military-requests-for-international-support-against-boko-haram-4486650

AND

Nigeria leader seeks help over missing girls – Al Jazeera

http://www.aljazeera.com/…/nigeria-appeal-find-abducted-girls-2014…

May 5, 2014 – Nigeria’s president has appealed for international help to find, and ensure the … "The kidnapping of hundreds of children by Boko Haram is an … will invite the world’s best armies to hunt them down and bring them to justice.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DeeWord January 12, 2015 at 8:44 PM
    “So, yes Crusoe unless there is a need to control the oil wealth or keep weapons out of the hands of terrorists or other geopolitical benefit why is the US or UN Strike force going to intercede in Nigeria WITHOUT the explicit request of the government of that country.
    I am not aware that such a request has been made

Presidential elections will soon be due in Nigeria.
    The incumbent president Goodluck Jonathan would not want to see Northern Nigerians voting under peaceful conditions in large numbers. It is in his political interest to see continuing unrest in the North either to cancel the elections or to weaken the electoral chances of his main rival, Major General Muhammadu Buhari, whose political and electoral strength lies in Northern Nigeria.

Such a call for Western intervention would only come about if Goodluck is returned to power either through overwhelming electoral popularity in the more Christian South or the dictatorial intervention by declaring a state of perpetual emergency in the more Muslim North.
    Don’t be surprised if there is another outbreak of civil war in Nigeria. How do you think Boko Haram gets its weapons and equipment if not through corruption in the army and via the support of corrupt State officials in Northern Nigeria and its provinces.

23. David January 12, 2015 at 8:49 PM #…Did you read these article?”

No sir, I was not aware of the a recent request re assistance with Boho Haram. Ok, we will see.

Was aware of the call for help re the kidnapped girls.

I am sure that you are aware that inviting foreign forces into your country is a very complex matter re liabilities of law etc etc.

It also requires the true conviction of the government. I can only hope that all the right steps are in place and any international force can be a change for good.

I said recently in a chat with Bush Tea that Mandela could not have been successful without the conviction and groundwork approved by the deposed de Klerk.

The same context is true here. No success without the government’s true intent. I am not convinced of their bona-fides.

Let’s see what shakes out.

24. St George's Dragon Avatar

This Nigerian newspaper says it was 150 deaths:
    http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/news/national-news/193700-nigeria-needs-same-support-as-france-over-terror-says-kaigama
    Still scandalous and probably a lie by the Nigerian Government which appears to want to downplay the problem.
    Are the Nigerians trying to sort the situation out, though? Clearly they want assistance but the first world countries appear to be reluctant to provide it because of human rights abuses (600 innocent civilians massacred by the army in one event in possible retaliation), a lack of Government commitment to resolving the problem and a shambolic army.

25. @millertheanunnaki January 12, 2015 at 9:17 PM #

Thanks for the exposition.

As you set out it’s clear to an objective eye that this talk from the government of seeking international help is wonderful political double speak.

In line with your remarks there will be no international force entering Nigeria anytime soon because of the political dynamics.

The various opposition politicians will not accept it and those Nigerian officials who are calling for it KNOW that. Double speak. No bona-fides.

I would suggest that the civil war is already well apace. When one group can attack with impunity to cause your national army to basically sit helplessly on its hands that sounds like civil war to me. Or anarchy if you prefer.

As everyone here knows, India and Pakistan was once one larger country; nations in Eastern Europe too have been split along religious/ethnic lines. The Islamist want that in Nigeria too. Ideally the whole nation under Sharia law but if they can get a completely autonomous governing North that’s works too.

This is a long standing issue balanced on the head of a corrupt officialdom.

And it’s now ready to explode. International assistance is not the panacea some think it will be. But yes it is needed to get this nation back on some track.

26. they have 300000 govt forces 2000 book haram, yes black peoples lives do not matter…..to other blacks. Sometimes you have to stand up for your own country its Nigeria;s time.

27. So why doesn’t France stand up on its own and disregard a call to world leaders to rally on the weekend was not necessary. So myopic.

28. Did you hear france ask for troops or weapons I didn’t. Trust me if this was happening in france they would sort it out. This was an opportunity to stand with the minorities show radicals you cant devide us and prevent a backlash at the muslim community.

29. This is an extremely interesting report from Aljazeera. It is an explosive report based on how Kenya deals with her Muslim “extremist” community.

Click onto the first clip (48 minutes duration)

http://interactive.aljazeera.com/aje/KenyaDeathSquads/

30. UK defends response to Boko Haram slaughter in Nigeria

Foreign Office minister says Nigerians living in UK can be proud of British assistance in fight against Islamist militants

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/jan/13/uk-defends-response-boko-haram-slaughter-nigeria

31. CNN is currently discussing this same matter. The consensus is that Nigeria is NOT a priority and once it is contained the USA government will not give a damn. Unless it moves regionally the US will continue to ignore this atrocity. The irony is that Goodfellow sent sympathy to France yet said nothing about the slaughter. The reality is that Boko Haram is a threat to the region as it continues to grow. What if it picks up attached itself to other terrorist organizations etc? What about the large immigrant outflow from that region which could destabilize pressure EU and other borders?All things are connected. Do you understand Lawson?

32. The Boko Haram is already aligned with ISIS and Al Qaeda.

33. David January 13, 2015 at 9:47 AM.. The consensus is that Nigeria is NOT a priority…The reality is that Boko Haram is a threat to the region as it continues to grow. What if it picks up attached itself to other terrorist organizations etc?—-

David, there is no dispute with any of your remarks. Your arguments seem however to be in a mini vacuum.

The Muslim intifada which I interpret your “attached itself to other terrorist organizations” was a loose coalition before Osama Bin Laden; it was energized and explicitly refocused by him with 9-11 and has been ongoing since then in every which way. They are all linked, sir.

The many critics of the Iraq war were concerned of unleashing the very same ethnic uprisings that were the precursor to present instability.

Every practical intelligence service around the world understands and is fighting against just this.

My point sir is that it is very simplistic to cast the issue of Nigeria, and Africa in general. in strict racial terms about countries not caring.

That panders to a base level debate which absolutely does not take in the valid point that Lawson and others have made: Nigeria itself has to take full responsibility first and foremost for the current ‘lawless’ state.

There are not the first government that has decimated its own country to fulfill personal agendas of greed, wealth or ‘tribal’ supremacy.

Let’s be VERY real about that. Yes they need help and yes the western world decimated and ‘under-developed’ those countries as Eric Williams posited eons ago. All still true.

But we are here today and a lot of water has passed under the bridge. Let’s have a real reckoning that asks hard questions about leadership in the countries.

I go back to SA every time. Do we not realize that SA would now be just as big a cesspool of trouble if Mr Mandela, de Klerk and others did not do the right things for their country. That could have quickly devolved into chaos with the literal lost of a heart-beat.

Where is the COMMITMENT in Nigeria, David. Where are the men with balls (that Bushie speaks about) who are committed to move away from the warped thinking that can move their country forward.

Your heart is in the right place sir, but you are more discerning of the real geo-politics than what you present here.

CNN, BBC, Fox or whomever all have agendas. Pundits there, as here, will sing sounds that make the point. Their words are good, catchy and indeed have validity but so too many counter-point words sir: ‘

“So you think you have found the solution
    But it’s just another illusion
    So before you check out your tide
    Don’t leave another cornerstone standing there behind
    We have got to face the day, ooh we come what may
    We the street people talking, we the people struggling” Marley.

34. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Slavery Reparations is one step towards acknowledging inherent Racism and Hypocrisy of West. It is UK’s job to fight terror in their old colonies and France to fight it in theirs (where they still have business interests)

http://youtu.be/NFhphj7wFdQ

35. Reporting in northern Nigeria is notoriously difficult; journalists have been targeted by Boko Haram, and, unlike in Paris, people on the ground are isolated and struggle with access to the internet and other communications. Attacks by Boko Haram have disrupted connections further, meaning that there is an absence of an online community able to share news, photos and video reports of news as it unfolds.
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jan/12/-sp-boko-haram-attacks-nigeria-baga-ignored-media

36. Sometimes I wonder if God really made us or if he found us abandoned in some gutter somewhere. This world is so messed up! Who can fix it? Hard to tell the good guys from the bad guys. One thing I’m sure of is that these extremists are misguided. Those who insult their prophets are being disrespectful but should be ignored. Mohammed, if he is who they believe him to be, does not need anyone to defend him. Why bother about a few people who abuse the right to free speech?

37. What I meant to say also is that if Allah wanted to force people to worship him he sure wouldn’t need any puny humans to accomplish that. As to why the world has paid as much attention to Nigeria – we all know the answer to that.

38. Boko Haram suffers setback in border clash amid growing fears of expansion.

The killing of 143 militants from the Nigeria-based Islamic extremist group could be a major blow to their expansion strategy. Hundreds of people died during a recent Boko Haram attack on a Nigerian garrison town near the border.

http://news.yahoo.com/boko-haram-suffers-setback-border-clash-amid-growing-140007150.html

39. David it seems journalists can find book harem why cant the govt., I read this the other day ..when you kill enough of the other guy that’s when they give up and want the fighting to stop. Pretty simple

40. It is not easy to find out the truth in Nigeria.

The Baga killings last week are a case in point, with politicians and government officials offering vastly different information – from 150 dead to 2,000.

News of another attack by Islamist militants from Boko Haram often starts as a vague one-liner as was the case on 3 January: “Attack on Baga. Loud gunfire heard.”

This first bit of information often comes via social media. The challenge now is to find out the details and there are plenty of obstacles in the way of getting to the truth.

First up there has been no mobile phone connection in Baga for many months after the jihadists attacked mobile phone masts in the north-east.

There are of course the officials whose job it is to tell the world what is going on.

But for the first few days of the Baga crisis both the military spokesmen and government officials were silent or not picking up calls.

Then, often with help from colleagues from the BBC’s Hausa service, the goal is to get through to people who have witnessed the violence

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-30794829

41. єαѕу ѕqυєєzє (мαкє ησ яισт) Avatar
    єαѕу ѕqυєєzє (мαкє ησ яισт)

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

You should read the BBC article as linked by Anthony 2.47 pm. A nice bit of unbiased practical journalism about a difficult subject.

43. Why is the world media not capitavated enough to report on …

UN Refugee Agency

@Refugees

New report published today. It details the level of poverty among Syrian #refugees in Jordan trib.al/WGvw2ve

44. Boko Haram crisis: African Union to discuss multinational force

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-30854145

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You said and I quote ” Why bother about a few people who abuse the right to free speech?”

I was in agreement with most of what you posted earlier, particularly the point about Allah or in my case The Almighty GOD JEHOVAH, being able to fight his war.

“You muddah is a two penny whore from Bay Street” while an abuse of free speech may put your peaceful coexistence theory to the test.

In fact, if you really want to test that why bother concept, make some death threat against one of the first world cvntries that we does still lie to get a visa from and see if the red lights that illuminate your street on the police vehicles accompanied by resident US Spec. Force officials don’t eclipse the red lights that I purport adorned the place where I said yuh muddah used to work

There is a threshold of tolerance which, depending on your discipline, and training, will affect how many times I tell you bout your muddah and you don’t respond and how quickly you can do a Dr. Duguid and yuh muddah cvnt response.

Couple this with ingrunt, uneducated swine AND a mob mentality and fear that if I don’t show my love for Allah in front of my neighbours dem gine crucify my donkey, and we arrive at where we are – Radical Jihadists

By the way, in these harsh times, has your mother “discunted” her fees at Bush Hill?

Now do you get my drift? For after a while, unless you are extremely disciplined, the constant gnawing at your sense of self WILL ELICIT a response that is not a turning of the other cheek

Fifteen more minutes till de insulin shot…

46. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

The solution is to stop sending hate and fear into atmosphere and love yourself and others and send out love as vibrational frequency love your enemies and pray

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Easy Squeeze

“send out vibrational frequencies…”

Sounds like if you are proposing a Sai Baba-esque obeah vodoo based wishy washy concept to me, Easy Kiki.

@ Anthony

I would wish to ask you what you meant in stating “The Boko Haram is already aligned with ISIS and Al Qaeda.”

What do you mean by aligned?

I would respectfully submit that if ISIL leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, leader of the the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) were to meet with Abubakar Shekau, aka Darul Tawheed, The Abode of Monotheism through some time warp method that the later Islamist leader of the Boko Haram would be summarily put to death

In voicing the word aligned, IF you are speaking of it in a specific light, you would have understood what is baffling all the western intelligence agencies which have, as usual, based on their disdain for non-Caucasian peoples, misconstrued what The Caliphate is and more importantly, how to destroy it.

The CIA and other intelligence analysts have misconstrued the concept of “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”

The BIBLE is the sole positor of military strategy that WILL DESTROY these parties and enemies to civilisation.

De ole man is not “waxing and waning philosophical” (i get de insulin so there is pellucidity of thought, I think) nor (for the benefit of the atheists at large) am I seeking to go into the metaphysics of thePower of The Word of God.

If one simple lesson *** were to be employed from This Timeless Guide, the ISIL, and Boko Harams of this world, would implode, overnight.

Like Tomas Grey the ole man is, of late, inclined to repeat the constant, informative refrain “Yet ah! why should they know their fate? since sorrow never comes too late, and happiness too swiftly flies;. thought would destroy their paradise; No more; where ignorance is bliss….” and those of you more wise can end this well know rhyme

48. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Infinite I together We Are God
    the future the past the present
    the infinite now
    there is no freedom
    until all are free
    love yourself
    respect yourself
    love and respect all
    open your heart to love of self
    and all things and all others
    stop projecting disharmony
    fear conflict hatred aggression
    http://youtu.be/5p6I9JiymW4