Morgan Stanley now expects prices to drop as low as $43 a barrel in 2015, meaning crude could lose a further $20 in the coming months. Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/oil-drops-to-five-year-low-2014-12#ixzz3LMlro3Ze
Morgan Stanley now expects prices to drop as low as $43 a barrel in 2015, meaning crude could lose a further $20 in the coming months – BusinessInsider 

Barbadian consumers are being bombarded with media reports the price of crude oil has plummeted to a five year low. It continues to befuddle sensible Barbadians when they are able to observe a precipitous fall in the price of gas from Togo to Timbuktu and NOT in Barbados.  We (Barbadian consumers) are appreciative of the occasional five or ten cents fuel reduction given by government in the price of fuel however the time has come to question government’s mechanism for determining  retail fuel price at the pump.

Government’s position that it engages in future contracts and therefore the price  to consumer is correlated to the deal date is questionable given the length of time the world fuel price has been trending down and the significant movement. We have not seen a sensible relationship in the domestic price at the pump given the world movement. The BLP Opposition, non government agencies and regular citizens have all shouted disappointment at the situation with no sensible response from the ministry of energy.

BU supports government’s policy to pass on the real price of fuel to consumers, a policy which differs with the former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to heavily subsidise the retail price and resulted in a large debt on the books of BNOC. So far Barbadian taxpayers wait for an explanation from the government about the status of the BNCO debt which we believe informed government’s current policy. Barbadian taxpayers deserve to be treated with respect. The government is elected to serve at the pleasure of Barbadians. The lack of respect by this government by continuing to withhold relevant information must be regarded as the greatest insult a government can direct at an electorate.

As at the 8 December 2014 Brent Oil price closed at US66.13 the lowest level since 2009.

166 responses to “Whole Wide World Enjoying Low Fuel Price EXCEPT Barbados”

1. @Colonel Buggy,

Cou cou andtTin Salmon a la Hants.

1 tin of salmon,1 tomato,1 onion,2 sprigs of thyme, 1 tablespoon of Aunt May’s pepper sauce. I cup of water.Microwave for 5 minutes.

Add to a bowl of cou cou. with pear and cucumber on de side.

That is fine cuisine for poor Bajans like me.

2. @ Colonel Boo Boo

Cou Cou and Salmon ..Yuk Yuk Yuk……what ?..U maddy….Sweet fa days,,,,Tell him Hants,,,,,I grew up on the cheaper stuff…middle-cut….salmon was for the elite…salmon came sometimes only in the NY Barrel that Irene wanted to Tax…

3. Colonel

From your submission….I know then… you doan want no part of a red herring in sauce and a breadfruit coucou…wid a dash of hot pepper n cucumber …..or better still stew cow brains and a pulp eddoes?….things bajan fa real….sweettttttttt!

4. Hants

How about a plate crispy fried jacks ( wid Ketsup) a pck Eclipse and a red Busta?

or
    A leaf of freshly baked turnovers and a bucket of lemonade?

…these are Bajan !!!!

5. Chk this, Bushie

A piece-a-sea-cat, fried crispy with a wedge of lime, a steak of Dolphin and a portion of fried flying fish melts or two well buttered salt breads…, a Plus to wash it all down…

6. Whaloss …food can’t dun…..

7. ….. a nicely blanche (not too much heat)…sea-eggs tossed upon a white rice..nuff nuff white onions..a touch of black pepper….(Murda.. I hungry now !)…the choice of drink a mauby wid nuff foam on the top……D ice floating like 3 titanics….

Dat is food !

8. @ Old Onions
    interesting…..
    …sounds like a recipe for diabetes and high blood pressure to Bushie..

If you know what is good for your donkey yuh better drop summa the lotta shiite and pack in some raw fruits and vegetables in there..

…and replace the lotta sugary sweet drinks with the REAL stuff
    -BUSH TEA

9. @ Bushie

Diabetes nuh?….you see that is the problem wid a lotta wanna wannabe gigolo…..nuh wait til D horse bolt to shut the gate..what diabetes what man?Onions duz run two miles now eva morning….or swim a half mile straight out to Barracuda Rim…..fit as a fiddle…I hear GP too …one too much suga…..wait how you think I manage to hold on to D sea-cat foe so long?…..still nuff fire in this hearth ….still stinging like a centipede..D hammer man….ask any Island girl ….wait what become of she?

10. But of course…fruits and vegetable, I consume in profusely, however to maintain adequate strength to haul up the anchors in life (D sea too), sometimes one must consume with liberation….what better ways than a dish like our good ole cou cou and dolphin head….or another Bajan delicacy….

Whacker boy….this is an ole salt dog ya talkin to….suga neutralises salt

11. …say you does run two miles…?
    LOl ha ha
    TWO MILES?
    Wuh you couldn’t even run proper when you was 17 and talking bout you was a footballer…far-less now with dat pot belly…

Shiite man onions!! that is about the distance bushie does run to get to the front gate to pick up the mail….
    …and we all know that the exercise yuh does get with the sea cat woman ain’s sayin nuttun either ..
    …. wuh exercise yuh could get in 90 seconds…? LOL 🙂

You best look to get in on the new anti-diabetes campaign that the white people bringing here for the natives…

12. Yeah Bushie

You got jokes nuh….but serious now….I got in more fish blood running in these veins that a Blue-peter…I ent got no Diabetes,like….nor no High Blood Pressure like…..I neva fall down and hollar for.”a mint, a mint bring a mint quick bfoe a dedd”…..LOL Let’s GP examine me any day and report to BU…Onions is a one spring chicken…..

13. Reading yesterday that in a months time the recently launched “inter island” schooner S.V.Ruth will be making its maiden voyage to Dominica, carrying goods and returning with goods. What baffles me is, what goods do we have In Barbados that we can take in any worthwhile quantity to Dominica?
    Cement? Mount Gay Rum? Banks Beer? Hot air?

14. @ Colonel Buggy
    what goods do we have In Barbados that we can take in any worthwhile quantity to Dominica?
    Don’t make sport Boss Colonel
    What we got to export….?

Brass bowls….
    NUFF…..

15. Jean and Dina, Rosita and Clementina……round D corner posing…bet ya life there is something they offering……

Dun know Bushie and Colonel did SLOW…….ole men and yet not street smart yet…

16. “I have summoned the marketing companies for a meeting on Thursday and afterwards, we are going to be meeting with the retailers because it cannot be right, it cannot be fair that when the prices move up, everybody moves, and when the price falls we are not getting a similar reduction on the price,”