Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for meโ€”and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemรถller (1892โ€“1984)

One thing the late Prime Minister David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social media and the opportunity it gave ordinary people to participate in our democracy. Of course some will abuse the privilege but the majority for the most part use social media platforms to discuss issues and exchange information which the traditional media is constrained to leave on the editorial floor. BU can only speculate if we were to have a conversation with the late David Thompson resting comfortably in the great beyond, what his view of the charge brought against Omar Watson and instigated by the Hon. Michael Lashley would be. What if private citizens were able to bring charges against members of parliament who hide behind the protection of parliamentary privilege?

BU remains hopeful that this matter will be sandwiched in the bureaucracy of court files like all the other high profile cases. Even if Omar Watson committed an error in judgement there is scope for amends without Mr. Watson having to be incarcerated. BU understands Douglas Trotman has offered his services at no cost to Mr. Watson.

See relevant documents:

248 responses to “Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley”

1. So yuh mean I cuh get sue fuh de tings I write bout O when see more After befo I find de Best Uncompromisin blog ?

2. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

David | November 28, 2014 at 6:36 AM |

@Deeds

Why donโ€™t you read with understanding? The reason the Barbados Today story is being highlighted is because it is erroneous.

David understand no matter what ever the charge for whatever the reason , it will be never as bad as what this same Minister did to All Bajans , He is one one with hurt feelings,
    This Minister is guilty of mush more than any one mans words to him or about him , He has stolen many things from Violet Beckles and think for he in office hes will never see justice?
    He is a crook , for he knew better and went with the dark side to b e a crook , He did such a find job that they removed him?
    Never seen such a bold face liar and CBC have him front and center ,
    We wait for the next elections to remove these scumbags , crooks and liars form the government ,

There is no ERRONEOUS in Violet Beckles or Beatrice Henry, and BU need to stay on top with out long talking every little bit of spit that comes out of these crooks mouth ,,,

3. BREAKING NEWS: Blog Master arrested .
    Blog Master of the Barbados Underground blog has been arrested.
    More details as they come to hand

4. @ The WATCHE!!! You said it so well..

10 points!!!! ”If we, Barbadians, look like we are in the business of persecuting people for their opinions and utterances in Cyberspace, we will be shunned by the International community. They will see a closed, repressive society that is un-progressive and run by oligarchs. ”

Bingo!!! The sad thing is, they cant see it.

5. @The Watcher, as you say, if that is perceived, you could as well close the door and turn off the light on our economy.

As it is, there is no confidence as to where the Caribbean is going.

6. @David November 28, 2014 at 2:24 AM ” the police admonished the public for misusing social media.”

Tell the police they are not our mummies

Nor our Sunday School teachers

Nor our lawyers.

7. @Dompey November 27, 2014 at 10:48 PM “and it causes harm to the good reputation of another”

But what if there was no good reputation to begin with?

8. Artaxerxes November 28, 2014 at 7:37 AM “Yes, it wa and being a member of the ruling party, he has the police and the entire judicial system on his side”

The lady Justice is alwaya depicted as being blindfolded and with scales in her hand because she is supposed to be impartial, she cannot see who stands before her, and the she should be fair and evenhanded.

So the police and the judicial system must not stand on anybody’s side. They should stand only on the side of Justice and Fairness.

9. How a man conducts himself in authority and treats those in lesser position, is the true measure of the man.

By a person’s acts, they shall be known.

10. So now that we know got allegedly the blows, my burning questions are

!; Who shared the blows?

1. What were they fighting over?

11. Mr. Omar Shawn Watson has pleaded guilty because he obviously felt that he has done something wrong. Now the results of this case ought to teach Mr. Watson or anyone who wishes engage in such conduct that the Freedom of Expression has its responsibilities and that speech which falls outside the frontier of constitutional protection is deemed unconstitutional. Listen! I do not know who give some people the twisted idea that they can defame others because their do not necessarily agree with their political worldview?

12. Crusoe

โ€œBy a person acts; they shall be knownโ€
    The statement isnโ€™t necessarily true because you have to understand the motive rather than the acts. The acts are often a means to an end Crusoe.

13. Dompey is it really true that he pleaded guilty?

14. fuh uh minute I thought i wasn’t allowed to type “lashes” and lashley.

Dompey any idea who and what situation the nationnews most recent “flyingfish and cou cou article title “Licks lile peas in the east” was referring too?

15. Dompey wrote
    “anyone who wishes engage in such conduct that the Freedom of Expression has its responsibilities and that speech which falls outside the frontier of constitutional protection is deemed unconstitutional.”

Neatly framed to give the impression that you are against what the police alleges Mr Watson has done (I don’t know that he has plead guilty) when in fact he has done no worst than what any number of the so called honorable members of the so called “poor rackey” parliament of Barbados done; that any number of it members have openly abuse parliamentary privilege to cuss each other in the worst way and to publicly abuse select citizens of Barbados. You ought to be shame but I wouldn’t expect you to be. The Joker who is claiming relief from the courts is a leading clown in that pantomimic contrivance called the parliament of Barbados, he speaks like a 12 year old and displays that attitude and aptitude of a thug.

16. one more thing Dompey; I’ll challenge you to give you real name as you asked of Bush Tea; bunch of small men with big titles that think they can continue to scare people away from speaking up.

17. @ Dompey
    PLEASE , R I P,.

18. @ Dompey
    Everyone already knows that you are an idiot….no need to continually reinforce the fact…

Bushies real name…
    …Bush …or “Mr. Tea” to you ๐Ÿ™‚

19. Oh shite; Dompey I thought you were someone of importance; beg yuh pardon; sorry for responding to you man! LOL!

20. Bush Tea

Who everyone? Are you talking about estimated 7 billion people in our world today? Man you sound like a real Johnnie for true. Did you bump your head when you were a little boy?

21. Adrian Hinds

Now, I am assuming that youโ€™re someone important? How dear you respond to Dompey? You see how you sound man? You sound like the retard Bush Tea. And by the way, whatโ€™s your criterion or criteria for being an important person?

22. LOL
    On a blog, an “important person” is someone worth listening to…
    …does that answer your question…?
    You are NOT important because you lived behind a police station
    …or because you sneaked into the USA and got away with it…
    …or because a neighbor saved you from an apartment fire…
    …GOT IT?

23. Doesn’t Dompey have a right to free speech.. has intolerance become a way of life for bajan among the “so called intellectuals ” in our society why is it that every thing Dompey says inflames the sensitivities of those who believes that free speech should be unfettered or unchallenged,
    this ongoing ‘unnecessary pile on” of Dompey has become tedious to the eyes and nauseating to the stomach. There got to be a better way for Adults to behave in public instead of increasing the levels of noise pollution across social media

24. AC
    Thanks AC, but trying to reason with someone who hasnโ€™t the intellectual infrastructure to reason soundly, is a hopeless endeavor. You know, someone once said that,โ€ It is not who you are that really matters, but itโ€™s what you answer to that is most important.โ€

Bush Tea
    Bushie, you continue disappoint me day in and day out sir. Where have I claimed to be an important person here? Thatโ€™s the first question you should have asked yourself before your start talking like youโ€™re cerebral-insufficient. I have always seen myself as the kind of person who is cognizant of where he came from and has never forgotten the fact. And finally retard, had I be an important person as you so wrongfully claimed: would I be on this BU blog chat with a backward thinking nincompoop like you? Stupid, had you taken the time a read Adrian Hinds statement above, you would have realized that he was the one person who said: โ€œOh shite Dompey, I thought you were someone important.โ€ Adrian, I am someone important because I am a human being who has intrinsic value and worth, and you ought not to forget that fact sir.

25. Every post the dynamic duo makes it about them.

Ignorance knows no bounds.

26. Bush Tea

โ€œBecause you sneaked into America and got away with itโ€

Oh lordie, I am laughing my ass off listening to this brainfart describing how I entered America. My maternal grandmother lived in America for donkey years, as well as loads of aunts, uncles and first generation of cousins stupid. I visited America in 1974 when I was youngster attended St. Leonardโ€™s Boys Secondary and hated every bet of it with a passion. But in the early 80s my father finally convinced me and my many siblings to come here permanently. And I still miss my friends there in Barbados stupid.

27. @ bloggers
    Please do no response to the Dompey , / Mark Fenty, or who ever it is , it is like asking the dead to think, let him , R I P.

28. Watchman

I admire your audacious impudicity watchman. You somehow think that you have the gifted ability to instruct others regarding their right to personal expression.

29. And to think David (the blog master) is no better than those he crticise .
    There got be a level of conduct governing how others must treat and respond to others with respect being the optimum Holding ill will and disrepect is a failure on ones part to be civil and having a torrid dispensation to rely on bullying tactics to sway or manipulate differing opinion.

30. @ AC…ac | November 29, 2014 at 9:59 AM ..And to think David (the blog master) is no better than those he crticise”

The blogmaster’s critique was mild compared to the vitriol thrown in posts by you or whomever writes under the ‘ac’ handle.

Mr. Dompey is also extremely caustic and often so absurdly complex and didactic with his posts that they say very little and display a clear sense of lack of basic reasoning.

We all write here for various reasons and surely some do so just to pompasette. Unfortunately, the Domps man comes over that way.

So AC I can agree with you that everybody here on BU has the right to make a fool themselves -as I have as well- but others also have the right to call out people who speak simply because the Lord has blessed them with a mouth (fingers) but often have nothing meaningful to say.

By all means let’s have fun betwixt all the serious stuff but OMG everything isn’t a nail…put away the hammer-head stupidity sometimes

31. Surely ignorance has no bounds?

32. EURICA,! EURICA!……..DOMPEY is Carson Cadogan…….AC + Carson who could forget the dud n dud.

33. In the Saturday Sunday of November 29, page 6 bottom left former Attorney General Dale Marshall is quoted as saying during yesterday’s meeting of Parliament:

“But I wish the Attorney General and members of his Cabinet and his political party wold get up out of these chairs and go outside because one of their Ministers knows full well that there are certain places in Barbados that he now dare not go…Barbadians feel that they could walk peaceably to and fro in this country. Tell that to the Minister responsible for Public Works who dare not how his face in districts in his constituency now”

Does this mean that Minister Lashes can’t show his face in certain places in his constituency because his face is not better looking than Mugabe’s or is it for some other reason?

Can anybody give a real Simple explanation?

34. De Hood

Youโ€™re obviously not a thinking person for you make such an unintelligible statement. Do you honestly believe that I make it my business to come to the BU blog daily, for the sole pleasure of spewing insults at others? How long have you being on the blog sir? Do you not see that a difference of opinion isnโ€™t welcome here? And do you not see the manner in which AC and myself are verbally molested because we are the opponents
    of the prevailing political narrative here?

Old Onion Bag

I have never had any cause to respond to you in any way shape or form, but it would be in your best interest to allow the difference of opinion no matter your characterization.Thatโ€™s if you wish to be thought of as being open-minded and tolerant of the diverse opinion.

No impertinence intended on my part, but the fact of the matter is Ignorance can be cured. But in your case, it seems as though stupidity is forever.

De Hood
    This you ought to know hood: โ€œYour opinion only matters, if I value your opinion.โ€ And guess what: your opinion doesnโ€™t mean dog crap to me Hood. Who are you that myself and another must adhere your individual opinion Hood? Oh please.

De Word

And who here is to judge your level of basic reasoning De hood? Iโ€™ve said to you and others here, that the ability to construct a grammatically proficient sentence has little to do with oneโ€™s ability understand the topic before deliberation.
    I know of young people here in America who is quite capable of construct a sound argument rather than the bullshite you and others much like you yourself refer to reasoning. You know as I do that the blogmaster does not stand upon an impartial principle in his prosecuting of rod of correction.

35. Lashley is an ass for pursuing this matter, what it has done if give wings to an FB status posted originally viewed by a couple hundred people. Now to judge from BU alone this matter has gone viral. Poor decision making especially if the substance of the status post is true.

36. Mr. Domps, I will break my self imposed rule here and engage directly with you, sir.

Your remarks above exactly define why I think you pompasette and simple do not/or cannot apply basic reasoning to a discourse.

You re-phrase the point to suit yourself, set up your own straw argument and then go at that windmill with gusto and often with vitriol.

++ … the ability to construct a grammatically proficient sentence has little to do with oneโ€™s ability understand the topic before deliberation.”

I never said that or suggested that. I said you r ” … often so absurdly complex and didactic”. So you are setting up your own argument.

++..young people here in America who is quite capable of construct a sound argument…”

I am sure they are many who can, after all there are over 300M people there and 20% + can be described as such. So excellent non-point of meaningless trite facts. And the bad grammar didn’t affect it one bit.

And then you get nasty, ” rather than the bullshite you and others much like you yourself…”

Bro, I come here to learn what’s going on in the country of B’dos, so I thank David for this forum; I come to share some thoughts and enjoy a healthy and respectful debate.

Here and in real face to face I find people who just throw around insults to be generally small-minded and rather petty people. I try to stay away from them.

So no problem. Continue to enjoy your bombastic, ad hominem behavior. I am sure it makes you a better person in your eyes every time one of those barbs zings across the zines.

Go for it!

37. Unlike what has been going on for weeks with the ongoing attacks Dompey. ac has (yes) been forced to enter the theatre of absurdity only when unwarranted attacks are level because of a difference of opinion. However ac does not use the bullying tactics and with good reasons exit even when the attacks continue.
    As for the blog master his role is to deflate and not to encourage or inflame a what beco mes an out of control debacle fuled by egos

38. Further comments unrelated to the topic will be deleted.

39. @Dee Word

Interested if you want to elaborate on the following.

Bro, I come here to learn whatโ€™s going on in the country of Bโ€™dos, so I thank David for this forum; I come to share some thoughts and enjoy a healthy and respectful debate.

Why BU, there is the Nation, Advocate etc.

40. David
    โ€œOne thing the late David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social mediaโ€

The late Prime Minister David Thompson may have had the proclivity for social media, but he knew better than to maligned his political opponent of the medium.

41. @ David | November 29, 2014 at 12:38 PM..Interested if you want to elaborate on the following.”

Well bro, I think you know the answer to that really…

First up, of course I read the Nation & others also. I am one of these info junkies. I will read left-wing stuff and right-wing stuff and what’s in between as well.

Your forum is obviously very leading edge on behind-the-news details and that alone brings one back seeking more.

I also appreciate the ‘cadence’ of the site, i.e. the general tempo and tone of the folks who give opinions. All very bajanesque and cool.

I really don’t focus on the outliers who have a particular bias or pompasette, because there is always some meat of real solid info that certainly advances my awareness and knowledge.

So in sum, Mr. Blogmaster good stuff.

I’m sure you have plans to grow and expand so in the immortal words of Jean Luc Picard: Make it so!

42. @Dee Word

Thanks for your feedback. Always open to feedback how we can expand and at the same time preserve all the characteristics which have gotten us thus far.

43. Here it is ban an ban am
    Tings getting worst, tings dread
    Where our Bim going deng

Oh lawd oh lawd, whuh we goin do

De economy streeetth
    De taxes getting worst
    We cyan eat nuh Chef-ette nuh more

h lawd oh lawd, whuh we going do

De horspittle in a mess
    De BAMP so says
    But Guvment say nooooooo

Oh lawd, who we to believe

De country got economic Ebbullah
    De jobs getting less
    Aint no more foreign money

Oh lawd where de hotel indus-try

Magoo Poochie keep saying tings good
    And walking de coun-try talkkin
    Even when some quarrlein bout a two by four wood

Oh lawd, whuh we going do,
    And now, cyan even go pun de internet doo-doo

Bim sad, it sad

Oh lawd, we gotta raise Barra an Adams
    Even if it tek Voo-doo

By the Mighty Brass Bowl
    (Name borrowed from Bush Tea)

Allya welcome to sing and record it.

44. @ Dompey

Dee Word | November 29, 2014 at 11:49 AM |

Mr. Domps, I will break my self imposed rule here and engage directly with you, sir.

Your remarks above exactly define why I think you pompasette and simple do not/or cannot apply basic reasoning to a discourse.

Dompee……you duz play cricket?…..well that was a resonant square cut.

Mind you sonny, I know even little less than he of you….but from what I have observe during this short sojourn…….deservingly so.

Take D old man’s advise laddie\lassie……exit , regroup and maybe when you catch urself from D solipsism… and come again with a new name….

Bark harder than D Bite (LOL)
    OOB

45. A farmer in CT drove to a neighbor’s House and knocked at the door.
    A boy, about 9, opened the door.
    “Is your dad or mom home?” said the farmer.
    “No, they went to town.”
    “How about your brother, DOMPEY Is he here?”
    “No, he went with Mom and Dad.”
    The farmer stood there for a few minutes, shifting from one foot to the other, mumbling to himself, when the young boy says, “I know where all the tools are, if you want to borrow one, or I can give Dad a message.”
    “Well,” said the farmer uncomfortably. “No, I really want to talk to your Dad, about your brother DOMPEY getting my daughter Suzy pregnant”.
    The boy thought for a moment, then says, “You will have to talk to my Dad about that. I know he charges $500 for the bulls and $150 for the pigs, but I doubt he will charge anything for DOMPEY seeing he is so stupid!

TRUE TRUE TRUE
    I AINT LIEMURDAH

46. So much for unfettered and a persons right to challenge free speech.
    The right to delete might be necessary and appropriate but only when applied without bias and prejudice.noting that the principle of fairness and equality should be goal kon aims towards and kept in mind before the deletion process begins
    now in the spirit of fairness i hope that my comment would be process under the banner of free and unfettered speech which is afforded to others.

47. I was just about to leave the house and now I sorry I click into BU cause that joke sweet, too sweet (LOLLLL sweet) but plz oh lord nuh, lay off the Domp man!

He is who he is…he makes life real!

Let the man swing at his windmills in bliss.

48. GPGeorgie Porgie | November 29, 2014 at 2:48 PM |

RFLMAO!!!!!!!!

49. RE ac | November 29, 2014 at 3:06 PM |

YOUR unfettered right FOR free speech IS ALLOWED .
    in the spirit of fairness YOU ARE ALLOWED TO GIVE YOUR INSHITE