Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for meโ€”and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemรถller (1892โ€“1984)

One thing the late Prime Minister David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social media and the opportunity it gave ordinary people to participate in our democracy. Of course some will abuse the privilege but the majority for the most part use social media platforms to discuss issues and exchange information which the traditional media is constrained to leave on the editorial floor. BU can only speculate if we were to have a conversation with the late David Thompson resting comfortably in the great beyond, what his view of the charge brought against Omar Watson and instigated by the Hon. Michael Lashley would be. What if private citizens were able to bring charges against members of parliament who hide behind the protection of parliamentary privilege?

BU remains hopeful that this matter will be sandwiched in the bureaucracy of court files like all the other high profile cases. Even if Omar Watson committed an error in judgement there is scope for amends without Mr. Watson having to be incarcerated. BU understands Douglas Trotman has offered his services at no cost to Mr. Watson.

See relevant documents:

248 responses to “Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley”

1. Omar Watson

2 hrs ยท Edited ยท

Jokes aside. Now I guess by now most people would have heard that I was arrested and charged for sharing a status on Facebook. I know many of my close friends would be trying to reach me via my cellphone, through the various instant messengers, but my phone is still in police custody. So don’t be distressed if you get no response. I’m not unmannerly.

Just letting you know after spending the night in a cell at the CID in Station Hill, which against many people’s beliefs wasn’t so bad. I will say I did not have any bad experiences while in their custody or witnessed any. I got bail this afternoon and I am supposed to appear in court tomorrow at 9am. I will fight this thing, so don’t think my silence signifies otherwise. Just prudence. Thanks for the many messages of support, I really appreciate it.

I will however say this. That computer misuse act is a piece of work. You all need to take a serious look at that act since it puts so many of us at risk for prosecution, doing normal every day stuff Facebook and other forms of communication electronically at risk.

Here is a link for those who are interested in reading up on it.

http://bit.ly/1y33DIn

2. SMH. Nothing is said on social media that hasn’t already been said in rum shop conversations, on street corners, in people’s verandahs and living rooms, etc on a daily basis since there was a Barbados. Is the government going to start sending people to eavesdrop on the rum shop talk and arrest people there too?

3. This single act may yet prove to be a blessing for those who hope Barbadians can shed its passive nature and become rights activists. The lathery shown by the youth towards politics may be ignited.

4. Barbados is truly an extraordinary island we live in.

The Deloitte Canada-led forensic audit into the operations of the insurance company revealed former chairman of CIL and CHBL approved an invoice for $3.33M issued to CIL from the law firm Thompson & Associates in respect of what were recorded in CHBLโ€™s accounting records as โ€œprofessional feesโ€. Parris acknowledged this sum of money was actually to his benefit, relating to partial payment of gratuity owed to him under his employment contract.

Ironically, the Barbadosโ€™s Financial Intelligence Unit has under its jurisdiction, the Anti-Money Laundering Authority (AMLA), which was established under Section 8 of the Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act, 2011-23 to supervise financial institutions in an effort to prevent money laundering and terrorist financing.
    The FIU is charged, on behalf of AMLA, with receiving information from financial institutions relative to suspicious or unusual transactions, for analysis and reporting to the relevant law enforcement agency.

This transaction is a clear case of money laundering and merits some sort of investigation. Yet, AMLA. FIU and the police have allowed Parris to remain free and unpunished after he walked away from CIL with a tidy sum of $3.33M, while policy holders are yet to be paid the amounts due on their policies.

5. On August 29, 2014, a Democratic Labour Party [DLP] operative, named โ€œDouglasโ€, submitted an article [which was also published on the DLPโ€™s official web-site] to BU entitled โ€œLisa Marshall โ€“ Retrenched worker from the Transport Boardโ€.
    Douglas and the DLP used social media [BU and DLP official web-site] to attack Lisaโ€™s character and to maliciously make available to the public, correspondence from her personal file, only because she used VOB as a forum to plead with the Transport Board to pay her severance, which by law she was entitled to.

Below are some of the scathing remarks made by Douglas:

โ€œSEE THE FILES ATTACHED: she is a rotten apple and if you think these are the only charges against her, think again, she has a further six on file. In my book before she receives her full payment she should first be made to repay the monies SHE HAS STOLEN from the Transport Board.โ€

By publishing 6 memoranda from Lisa’s personal file in a public social media forum [i.e. the DLPโ€™s official web-site and BU] and insinuating she is a thief, even though no charges or disciplinary action was taken against her, will obvious present her with some difficulty in obtaining a job in the near future.
    Lisa has not only suffered the loss of a job, but public humiliation, delay in payment of her severance and the prospect of being labeled as a thief.

Where were the police, โ€œComputer Misuse Actโ€ and โ€œMalicious Communicationโ€ charges when, under circumstances similar that that of Michael Lashley, Lisa also experienced โ€œannoyance, distress and anxietyโ€, as a result of a message appearing in social media, which was menacing in character?

Canโ€™t the police conduct an investigation to determine the true identity of โ€œDouglasโ€, who was responsible for divulging information from Lisaโ€™s personal file to social media and who in the DLP was responsible for posting the article on their web-site?

I guess Michael Lashley think he has a better status than us normal citizens. Perhaps he should bear that in mind at election time.

6. @ David (BU)
    After reading this story in the Nation online edition, I checked in to see if BU was still in business (lol).
    The RBPF can’t be as short of man-power as it claimed if it has the personnel to police the social media.
    Watch your back David (BU)!

7. Is the Lisa Marshall article still up? Cause I think Lisa should be able to get somebody charged under Section 14 of the computer misuse act.

8. Bajan in NY

I am sure the Special -Branch has had its eyes on BU for quite some time. But the day the Prime Minister of Barbados labels BU a medium which promotes civil unrest. BU would have buried itself.

Now, given the fact that Barbados is a Third- World Nation. I am quite surprise that the government of Barbados has allowed such media the latitude and liberty to besmear the image of the country and the institution of government before an international forum.
    But this case sends a message and serves as a warning to those elements which have ears to hear.

9. Cherise Unique Rock
    Section 14 of the Computer- Misuse- Act; is this some kind of a joy? Ross, we are asking for your legal expertise on this subject matter.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This got me cracking up because this charge is evoke fear in the blogosphere. I would love to read wuh this fella Omar wrote that caused Lashley to come after he. I mean if the fella Omar let he tongue wagged and left he brain then that is his fault to put he self in trouble. After all, if you defame a man’s character in slander without proof than ya know ya gone looking fuh trouble. But Lashley ya bettas be careful here because you and your ministers are not always gonna get away with what we know all a wunna doing. I tell ya now, a day coming when wunna scheming gine be revealed and it will be day when I finally see wunna crooks behind bar. The climate in Barbados is increasing in temperature and temperament. Its just a matter of time before the uprising against injustices take to the streets in protest against actions that are deem not in the best interest of the people. Fuh years ya subdued the people with fear but times are desperate and desperate people do desperate things. You won’t be able to keep the lid on this pressure cooker tightly seal no more my “good” ministers. Retribution is a bitch and sooner or later the whistle will blow on all a wunna nasty dealings. ON that day, the walls of protection will come crashing down.

11. David

It is important that the government of Barbados sends the message to the populace that Freedom of Speech is liken to a two edged sword, of which one edge expressive Freedom of Expression and the other Responsibility. Listen! It has been said with much justification that Freedom of Speech means what the ruling arm of government says in mean and not the Constitution in of itself. Oneโ€™s Individual as well as Constitutional Rights, falls under the weight of State Emergency or what the state defines as a National Crisis.

12. @SSS

You can only push people so far before they say enough enough. The dumb politicians and their misfits for supporters do not have the capacity to appreciate this point. When you enter public life as a politician you open yourself to ridicule, and yes, speculation which gives rise to lies sometimes. If in this case Lashes believe the comment was made with maicious intent, the courts will decide but as a politician he should expect fallout when an action is seen as attacking the people.

13. @Artaxerxes November 27, 2014 at 12:40 AM “This transaction is a clear case of money laundering and merits some sort of investigation. Yet, AMLA. FIU and the police have allowed Parris to remain free and unpunished after he walked away from CIL with a tidy sum of $3.33M, while policy holders are yet to be paid the amounts due on their policies.”

And yet our Prime Minister Freundel Stuart says of Leroy Parris “The man is not a leper. He is my friend”

And we know in Barbados Prime Ministerial friends are like lepers, untouchables. But in a nice way. The instruments are justice are afraid to touch them even when they deserve to have their rasses locked up in Dodds..

14. Artaxerxes November 27, 2014 at 1:33 AM “I guess Michael Lashley think he has a better status than us normal citizens. Perhaps he should bear that in mind at election time.”

Mikey need not bear it in mind come election time.

We will bear it in mind for him from now until election time.

And you know that we Bajans can quietly, quietly, bear grudges for generations.

We will remember Mikey and the DLP while we are in the polling booth.

And we will vote against Mikey.

And we will and against the DLP.

15. Dompey November 27, 2014 at 5:23 AM “Now, given the fact that Barbados is a Third- World Nation. I am quite surprise that the government of Barbados has allowed such media the latitude and liberty to besmear the image of the country and the institution of government before an international forum.”

What is a third world nation?

What does being a third world nation have to do with anything?

Do you believe that the people of third world nations are less human than people of other nations?

The government does not allow us anything.

We allow politicians 5 years at a time in OUR Parliament?

And at the end of each 5 years we disallow some of them and send them home?

That is our law.

That is our Constitution.

16. Two or three weeks ago the Nation ran a pudding and souse, or co-coo and flying fish column about a man for the east who had to flee from his people.

I don’t know if the Nation meant Jesus Christ or someone else.

Perhaps someone not so Christ like.

17. the BLP defense lawyers are out in full force,, ac suggest they dust off their law books and flick through the pages paying close attention to RESTRICTIONS and LIMITATIONS To Freedom of Speech,……..

18. @ David
    Did you check the drop box?…….

19. Boys……they got a calypso..”We living in Jail” ? I gine in Utube….(murda)

20. Somehow, Bushie is leaning towards the view that this may be a VERY GOOD MOVE by the Barbados Government /Police.
    Very often, in order for brass bowls to come to appreciate their true value, they need to be shaken up, sandpapered, and rinsed out.

Omar’s initial response is impressive….. This sounds like a Bajan WITH BALLS and now that one of the jackass ministers have squeezed these balls, Bushie suspects that we could be about to see some needed action…

Perhaps we can now get Caswell charged… and the “Anti-American” friend of Baffy….. The BUP initiative may at last have been started by Lashley yuh….. ๐Ÿ™‚

Right now, Bushie has no interest in any stinking, sinking Titanic, but the whacker has been recently serviced and re-strung…….um READY to WUK…..

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones. Politicians libel citizens practically every time they give a speech – telling lies…. making promises they KNOW to be lies…..besmirching reputations …. taking bribes from businessmen….

The DPP has spectacularly failed to charge a number of high profile, major criminals bout here, and suspiciously reduced charges on murderers, rapists etc…..but see fit to bring urgent charges against a facebook user…?

The police force must resist being used as a political enforcement arm by the ruling party….this will require strong leadership…..
    …a word to the wise is sufficient, but one suspects that it will take more than a word in this particular circumstance.

21. @ David | November 27, 2014 at 6:30 AM |

โ€œYou can only push people so far before they say enough (is) enough. The dumb politicians and their misfits for supporters do not have the capacity to appreciate this point.โ€

I agree with you, David. I have observed recently, supporters of this DLP administration have been making an effort to insinuate BU is pushing a civil unrest agenda. This is just another attempt to silence critics.
    Although BU gives contributors some latitude to express their opinions, so far I have not seen any contribution that can be described as advocating civil unrest. The blog owner also takes certain amounts of precautionary measures before contributions are posted. Iโ€™m sure many of you have seen a โ€œnoticeโ€ [and some have complained that this notice as has been specifically targeting their posts] informing that โ€œyour contribution is awaiting moderationโ€.

These supporters must come to the realization many Barbadians are fed up of the behaviour and performance of this administration and have a right to express that view. Mentioning civil or constitutional rights and police special branch because one may have lived behind a police station and hear a few policemen talk, does not make any individual an expert in law or police procedure.

22. For quite some time social media has represented a major nuisance for the politically connected as well as the uppity/haughty group we call the Barbadian Intelligentsia. If it were not for social media do you think the average Joe would have known that VAT is seen as an additional revenue stream for a select few? Were it not for social media perhaps the big wigs that accepted the bitter juice of resignation would still be here, and no one would have been forced out, so our private conversations would still not be as private as we thought, and poor “Invader Bowen” would still be seen in certain circles as a villain. Through social media we found out that there is no money to pay those at the very bottom of the totem pole what is rightfully theirs, but we find funds to pay bloated bills. Were it not for social media I certainly would not have known that DOMPEY was such a johnny. Dompey I am annoyed by the music I hear on HOT 95 so I stay with VOB or Q100.7fm. If you are so opposed to BU why don’t you get lost?

23. David

Could you post a copy of the Computer Misuse Act on line?

24. Not to support or discourage! Freedom of speech is not AN ABSOLUTE
    The irony of it all (is))that this Law was passed and fully supported by the BLP govt of the day in 2005 ,it is also ironic that the said law is under attack by the BLP supporters for it’s (use) by a present govt minister .. the irony of all ironies.

25. @ Bush Tea…. Just last night in a mechanic shop in Brooklyn while in conversation with a group of guys one man echoed your exact sentiments. My man while he didn’t use your patented “brass bowl” phrase, nuff times I thought I was reading BU. Perhaps I was able to unmask the character known as the bush man. Lord knows I hope that you are right.

26. โ€œ………….. dust off their law books and flick through the pages paying close attention to RESTRICTIONS and LIMITATIONS To Freedom of Speech,โ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€

The shiite buckets are out in full force to defend Michael Lashley.

The act perpetrated by the DLP on the character of Lisa Marshall via social media is justified and did not breach any restriction and limitation to freedom of speech, but Omar posting on FB that Michael Lashley get โ€œwash in licksโ€ went beyond the those restriction and limitations?

Sheesh…… what a moron. No wonder almost everyone on this forum describes the jackass as an unintelligent individual who is void of ability to think rationally.

27. @Onions

Noted

@Bentley

The link to the Act is posted in the blog.

28. Just a thought, how many people had read the FB post in question? Indeed how many were interested in his FB page?
    Now because a politician got all upset many, many more will become aware what was written. Good move mr minister!
    Not the best judgement call he has ever made.

29. @ Hamilton
    Just last night in a mechanic shop in Brooklyn while in conversation with a group of guys one man echoed your exact sentiments
    ++++++++++++++++++
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    LOL ….this fellow was collecting a just-serviced, four-stroke, industrial-size whacker from the mechanic…?

Don’t forget, it will take more than one bush man to keep the lotta shiite weeds bout the place under control….

30. For public interest calling a person a “buller” without tangible or concert evedience can be demeaning and can cause one personal and psychological harm and does not fall under the protection of , speech Under the rules and guidlines of freedom of speech whether the person is a public figure (joe the dog catcher), that person has an absolute right to seek remedy through the justice system. it is o,k for everyone to sit around the BU table and pontificate about “attacks:” on Freedom of Speech but there are repercussions attached to such Freedom.

31. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Was this the same man Minister as Housing and Lands that wanted to make up deeds for the lands he took over , Land Of Violet Beckles ?
    is this the same man that told all kids of lies , He the one that need to be charged, NHC , UDC, and all others dealing with land need to be charged,
    A vote do not give any of them right to be a crook , liar nor scumbags, ,
    This Minister need to check him self for he about to make a fool of self,
    BLP ands DLP members of the House need to charged on the lies and money they made of the blood of others,
    Violet Beckles plantation lands, and let all look at New up can coming million dollar Man Pat-ticks Toodde, Todd fine mew Wealth on Baxters Road , Action like he buying things he have no right to ,
    All you crook looking to make the people hide their mouth about the voters fraud,
    C.U.P is the NEXT Party vote better get better , All book open to the Public and get to the end of all matter hidden in crime against the People of Barbados and the State,

U.S Embassy know they are crooks and wait for them to fall kn their own Knives,
    Barbados have no CENTS nor PENNY- Pennies and none in the head of the lawyers who are Ministers looking to get rich ,,,By the way how are the 15 ,ROLLS ROYCE DOING,? DID THEY REACH? , RIGHT COLORS? , $350,000K USD EACH , NO VAT ? NOT TAX? CLEARED CUSTOMS?
    HIDDEN ON STOLEN LAND WITH NO DEEDS AND NO TAX BILLS?
    HOW IS THE BANKING UNDER BASEL3 BANKING ?

32. @ .David
    Great……BU stand firm do, you going a good job. Ya see people bout hay wanta DO AS THEY LIKE…..HOW DEY LIKE….WHEN THEY LIKE….without comment or interference from those they begged for a vote. But tekk it light, come February they got 3 more yrs ..just now dey gine be back at we doors ..cap in hand……I hope D po full then.

Somebody hit a nerve and somebody feel a pinch…..so D pressure on…No matter how you try to hide infelicities, things will come out….The best defense against Libel is the truth…..so come out tings!

33. โ€œ……..that this Law was passed and fully supported by the BLP govt of the day in 2005 ,it is also ironic that the said law is under attack by the BLP supporters for itโ€™s (use) by a present govt minister .. the irony of all ironies.โ€

Nonsense ………… another shiite argument from the resident shiite bucket who has knowledge about ANY and EVERY TOPIC.

What a load of rubbish!! Sometimes if one does not know what to say, itโ€™s best to keep your mouth closed. This moron must realise, that unlike them, because an individual may support a political party, it does not mean they support ALL actions undertaken by that party.

The law supported by a BLP administration does not necessarily means it was supported by ALL BLP supporters.
    Fruendel Stuart said he was exploring the idea of introducing economic citizenship in Barbados and Donville Inniss immediately express his view, publically, that he was NOT in favour of such arrangements. They both belong to the DLP, but disagreed on an issue.

34. @ Artax
    Boss…. Bushie don’t know what else to tell you…
    NEVER argue with a fool. You cannot possibly win ….because fools are not susceptible to logic or reason….
    Fools are best ignored….

The very fact that the DLP even ALLOWS such a jackass as ac to appear to be their mouthpiece speaks volumes about the level of intellect at the top of that organization.
    Had they anyone who was intelligent enough to have passed the 11-plus test within their leadership, they would have established a clear PR spokesperson to articulate a rational government position.

No wonder they decided to buy an abandoned hotel, pay to demolish it…borrow hundreds of millions to build it back…and give it to a foreigner
    No wonder Bizzy is able to make them impose a shiite tax on us in order to PAY him to take raw materials for his recycling plant….

…no wonder we are French Connected (UK)….

35. We have argued many times previous that Barbados is an elected dictatorship. A country that can’t organize for the millions of Bajans and their descendants overseas to vote but could somehow pass a law which considers it an offense for a Bajan using the internet, in ways they determined illegal, in any part of the world.

If they think that Pachamama could be bowed by such dictatorial missives they got a ‘next’ thing coming. We cannot be brought under the preview of the Public Order Act. We cannot be brought under the remit of the archaic libel and slander laws. We consider them all illegal!

Let this serve as a warning to Stuart, the slimy bastard, and the pact of idiots in his illegal government. You may have your laws. You may think you have power to criminalize internet users. We are warning you right here, right now, that should you not drop these specious charges right away, there shall be a reaction that will cost more than you can bare!

Lastly, we hope the people of Barbados will finally wake up to the war their own government is prosecuting against them and then take the necessary actions, as citizens. We don’t have to wait until an illegal government tells us when we can remove it. We can do that today! We have said in the past that we can form our own interim government and ignore these fools. There is certainly no requirement for us to recognize an illegal government that does not represent us.

36. Buss up shots ..boi

37. The shiite bucket is a lawyer now? The DLP, on their official website, calling Lisa Marshall a THIEF โ€œwithout tangible or concert evidence” could have been interpreted as “demeaning and may have caused her personal and psychological harmโ€.

Using these โ€œquotesโ€ as a guideline, surely all MUST agree, Lisa also โ€œhas an absolute right to seek remedy through the justice systemโ€ and make the DLP and its supporters realise there are INDEED repercussions attached to Freedom of Speech.โ€

These political pimps need to come to terms with the realization that, although they are trying to down-play Marshallโ€™s case and sympathize with Lashley by quoting all type of shiite โ€˜bout freedom of speech, it does not negate the fact both scenarios have similar characteristics.

As such, what applies to Lashley as an action for recourse under the law should be equally applicable to Lisa, even if she is โ€œjoe the dog catcherโ€.

38. Your Honour; Didn’t Micheal Lashley not get his ass cut? Wasn’t Omar not a witness to this ass cutting? LOL! If the answer to both questions is yes; then I submitt that the person or persons administering the ass cutting was the โ€œmenacing characterโ€ and the pain and embarressment due to laughter at his ordeal is the real cause for Michael Lashley’s โ€œannoyance, distress and anxietyโ€. chuspe! LOL!

39. Followed by a Betty Goaty…hear muh!

40. When will ordinary Bajans say enough is enough?
    What would happen if ordinary Bajans were determined to reject and ignore these increasingly transparent attempts at intimidation?
    What happens when ordinary Bajans no longer fear victimization, discrimination, detention or incarceration?

Why wunna ears suh hard?
    Leff Dem Nuh!

41. there are nuisances or annoyances that are a vexation to the spirit and should be dealt with in the appropriate manner,,,

42. Wanna talk……Onions is DJ (not VOB)..Ok cuz des day ya gots to be careful ‘n fart-frighten…Ok Deniss?….

43. @ Bush Tea | November 27, 2014 at 9:23 AM |

โ€œBossโ€ฆ. Bushie donโ€™t know what else to tell youโ€ฆNEVER argue with a fool. You cannot possibly win โ€ฆ.because fools are not susceptible to logic or reasonโ€ฆ.Fools are best ignoredโ€ฆ.โ€

Man, Bushie, you right yuh. Iโ€™m not going to argue anymore. What Iโ€™m going to do is peruse the Computer Misuse Act to determine if there are any violations for fools having access to computers. Surely, you must agree, that a computer in the hands of AC is a definite misuse of a computer.
    And the store that allowed her to purchase it, should also be charged under the act, and after the fact, to wit, providing equipment and associated peripherals knowing such items in the hands of a moron would ultimately be misused.

Hopefully, a guilty verdict will be forthcoming and some much welcomed jail times would assure BU leave of this character.

44. Artaxerxes | November 27, 2014 at 10:02 AM |

And the store that allowed her to purchase it, should also be charged under the act, and after the fact, to wit, providing equipment and associated peripherals knowing such items in the hands of a moron would ultimately be misused.

Murda…..ya got me CRACKIN UP!…….ac..wha loss! LOL

45. David
    You have the dominant narratives as created by the Advocate and the Nation newspapers to thank for this. Between them they have seen all kinds of illegal actions taken against the people of Barbados and there has never been a reaction. There has never been a media campaign against these. They have never protested, unendingly, the presence of the Public Order Act, as enacted by bullen EWB. They never challenged this Computer Misuse Act. It is as if somebody could tell me how the fuck to use my computer. They never challenged the libel and slander laws, even in their own interests. The Advocate and the Nation and other media have long been in league with the Barbados dictatorial regime.

Also know that we have embarked on certain actions which are aimed at sending a clear message that we will not stand for this nonsense.

46. Observing (quietly) Avatar
    Observing (quietly)

Before I comment, is this case about the “story” of Lashes getting lashes?

Observing and musing

47. @ Observing(quietly)

This one from D valesse den……enjoy from.DJ…LOL

48. I am reading here posts that seem to paint this present administration as the only threat to our freedom to speak out. Lets not forget that given her way Mia would have shut this medium down a long time.

49. Observing (quietly) Avatar
    Observing (quietly)

continue in the vein of Niemรถller and let not your heart be troubled.

@all others
    read the act carefully.

1. Where a person uses a computer to send a message, letter,
      electronic communication or article of any description that
      (a) is indecent or obscene;
      (b) is or constitutes a threat; or
      (c) is menacing in character,
      and he intends to cause or is reckless as to whether he causes
      annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the RECIPIENT
      or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated,

As they say, herein lies the rub. If this case is about a “posted story” that “may or may not be true” then under common sense and justice young Omar should have nothing to worry about. Nor should other bloggers in an age of Freedom of Speech and social media.

If he’s to be charged for “the story” it would have to be under another act.

I”ll observe with not so bated breath.

Carry on smartly Mr. Blogmaster.