Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemöller (1892–1984)

One thing the late Prime Minister David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social media and the opportunity it gave ordinary people to participate in our democracy. Of course some will abuse the privilege but the majority for the most part use social media platforms to discuss issues and exchange information which the traditional media is constrained to leave on the editorial floor. BU can only speculate if we were to have a conversation with the late David Thompson resting comfortably in the great beyond, what his view of the charge brought against Omar Watson and instigated by the Hon. Michael Lashley would be. What if private citizens were able to bring charges against members of parliament who hide behind the protection of parliamentary privilege?

BU remains hopeful that this matter will be sandwiched in the bureaucracy of court files like all the other high profile cases. Even if Omar Watson committed an error in judgement there is scope for amends without Mr. Watson having to be incarcerated. BU understands Douglas Trotman has offered his services at no cost to Mr. Watson.

See relevant documents:

248 responses to “Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley”

1. @ Hants

TEN TO ONE IS MURDER….video

Whaloss…looka my crosses………

2. I am sorry this issue arose in the context of a minister of an unpopular government. Mit sidetracks the issue of how some want to use social media with impunity to mess up people. Rum shop talk is onetime but putting stuff on the Internet bout people is another thing.

3. Facebook and other social media outlets are being abused by some to play out all kinda of petty fights and quite frankly to hurt people. We need to be concerned about that angle as well.

4. @Observer,

Ever went to political mass meetings in Barbados ?

5. @ ac | November 27, 2014 at 6:16 PM |

My apologies. I took it for granted that some of the past postings cussing P.M. Arthur, M.P. Mia Mottley and other BLP politicians under the “AC” moniker were your contributions.
    Any suggestions as to how I can differentiate your postings from those of your imposters?

6. @Onions

It should be 2015.

On 28 November 2014 at 00:53, Barbados Underground wrote:

7. @hants
    “Ever went to political mass meetings in Barbados ?”

wuh loss don’t kill he.

“MAYBE THEY GIVING HIM THE RUN AROUND BECAUSE THEY DON’T HAVE A CASE AND JUST WANT TO SCARE HIM”

Man you always on the ball! no pun intended.

Any good lawyer worth his salt (even Douglas Trotman) should rest easy knowing that there is no case here under section 14.

Let me muddy the waters a little bit more fa all yuh….

Is there a difference between “computer” and “computer system” under the said law???

@Simple Simon
    “So who wrote a law that is so porus that one can drive a Mack truck through it.”

Yup! Hence why we are where we are as a nation and a country.

Legislation and laws will ALWAYS be 10-15 years BEHIND technology until LEGISLATORS (read politicians, technocrats etc.) appreciate its use and potential positive power and embrace it rather than trying to stifle it.

Go David Go!!! Keep batting like Sobers all around the world and other places.

Just Observing.

8. So you folks have no concerns about social media being used to damage people

9. I teach at a school. I am all for freedom of speech but I aslso see how social media can be used as a vicious tool to frig up innocent people. Some people want to use this very valuable medium with total impunity to hurt others.

10. @Observer
    Two different issues all together.

Gossip hurts people.
    Horning hurts people.
    Tiefing pension checks hurts people.
    Parental neglect hurts people.
    Cost overruns hurt people.
    Not getting income tax hurts people.

The illnesses are there. The “medicines” should be thought out and implemented to benefit ALL patients using clear (transparent) medicinal procedures and protocols…not just for one or two with narrow backs and thin skins.

The point remains, if you want to “legislate” technology and social media, you need to at the very least get with the times first.

Just Observing a fellow Observer.

11. It is not the medium (social media) that frigs up people. It is the as always the message/messenger.

12. @Observer when Bajan politicians on a political platform casting aspersions on the opposition members characters and vice versa they all laugh and cheer.

As a school teacher you should teach the youngsters to be careful how they use social media but this is about ADULTS IN A POLITICAL CONTEXT.

13. About that police release: I have made more than one complaint to the police about real threats and harassment that clients of mine have received, in most cases repeatedly by the wrongdoer. And I have had to quote said Act for the police because they claim that they can do nothing about it. And they tell me it’s a civil matter. And I have to end up writing a letter to the assailant and copy the “investigating officer” in order to appear as if I have the strength of the criminal law behind me. So I am suspicious of their motivation in this particular case, as to where the clarity of their powers suddenly came from and whether this general warning they have issued to the public to prosecute other instances as crimes will actually pan out.

14. Fayefin

Very interesting! I’m smelling a false flag operation here or something else which is exceedingly scary if one considers the avant garde nature of the criminal cases brought against the Nation executives earlier this year or last year.

15. @ Fayefin
    GP is correct. They are trying scare tactics.
    This is just a bunch of shiite talk designed to change the agenda.

These people have NO clue what they are doing;
    …have now realized that they are in deep doo doo;
    …can see no way out of the jobby.
    … and are panicking…

It HAS to be a difficult position to be in – where EVERYONE now knows that you are a crook, who took bribes in exchange for political favors that sold out ordinary Bajans.
    It HAS to be stressful knowing that EVERYONE now can see that you are a jackass who cannot perform your job.
    and…how the hell do you sleep when BU daily details the anomaly of your sudden wealth as a minister…

So the police (who are so confused and leaderless that they don’t know their Ps from their Qs) are pressured to bring these shiite charges…

As to the actual law…. Name a single law drafted in the last twenty years that did not turn out to be flawed….
    Wait… they fixed the seat belt law yet…?

16. Observer

It is good to encourage David, but let’s be mindful of the fact that the reputation of the innocent are on the line here always. Yes, I do agree that freedom of speech is a democratic right, but such rights come with a responsibility. And if one uses this inviolable right in a manner not prescribed by the civil code and it causes harm to the good reputation of
    an another. He has to give an account through the punitive damages which would be the obviously recourse.

17. Bush Tea

Are you brave enough to give us your real name as you sit behind your computer monitor and spew your cowardly words about the police?

18. Dompey
    Can you tell us whether you got your jackass genes from your mother, your father or both?

19. @ Dompey

The police needs to arrest the BIG Drug Dealers and Human Traffickers who run the stripclubs in Barbados like ‘alias Jersey’ who runs Ace of Diamonds stripclub. He is a deportee from the US who spent 9 years incarcerated for drug trafficking and then sent back to Barbados where he has ‘silent’ partnered with a number of policemen in addition to Stephen alias Bopper from Rehab stripclub also a drug deportee and two main players locally both in collusion with a number of police.

Jamaican girls come into Barbados as visitors and end up dancing and prostituting in their stripclubs. BREAKING THE LAWS OF BARBADOS AND IMMIGRATION status.

A known fact but nothing is done by immigration or police as a lot of them who visit the clubs get ‘special favours’ from the girls and monetary kickbacks from the owners.

This is much bigger crime than what this young man may have been alleged to have done on social media.

‘Jersey’ is known for verbally and physically mistreating the Jamaican girls, for example he tried to unfair one of the Jamaican girls in the last two weeks that was working at Igconito another local stripclub who then left and was stripping at his club Ace of Diamond, they got into a physical argument which he started, after which he called his police mates, this young lady was taken to the Airport and within 48hrs unceremoniously sent back to Jamaica even though she was not at fault.

These guys also have a habit of bringing these young ladies into the island paying for their tickets and then tripling the cost to the girls whilst keeping their passports until money is repaid from stripping and prostituting in their clubs.

This is human trafficking.

Some of the girls from Jamaica are also used as drug couriers by these guys.

The police know this so why you think nothing happens in terms of prosecutions and charges?

20. These guys also work very close with Freddie Hill former owner of Rolex a defunct stripclub and who is a promoter of Jamaica Reggae artists on the island.

Freddie Hill is also involved in the drug dealing and human trafficking and was a former roommate with Jersey.

NASTY NASTY BAJAN People.

21. Surprised nobody has critique the police communication, the part where the police admonished the public for misusing social media. It does seem prejudicial doesn’t it?

@Observing

Your comments noted.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Donkey

Earlier You said and I quote “He has to give an account through the punitive damages which would be the obviously recourse.”

Mark Fenty, I have asked the Blogmaster to reprint the article where you defamed Bush Tea, GP (whom of late every one of your diatribes is directed to), and me.

I will speak to Douglas Trotman and have him summons you from Amurica where I have it on good knowledge that, in addition to defaming de ole man by calling he a bulla, you did in fact, commit murder, to wit, remove the plug of a patient’s breathing apparatus, while seeking to recharge your mobile phone

On a serious note Dompey, you have scandalized PUDRYR’s character and suppose de Madam get wind of your claim, not only am I in danger of losing my front seat in de church among de saints but, being dat you call me a Messels fellow, you gine mek me get read out de church as well

23. Did Omar Watson plead guilty? The Nation carried a different story.

omar

24. John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

What lawyer he had to help plead guilty to a civil non matter? Look out for that lawyer stay aways from him or her.
    Had to be part of the DLP or BLP scumbag cover up group? hope he did not pay no lawyer ,This man could have done that on his own,

25. @Deeds

Why don’t you read with understanding? The reason the Barbados Today story is being highlighted is because it is erroneous.

26. We always rush to play politics with every issue. Under the law as it is , can a charge be brought against the accused?
    That is the question, if there is , then let the law change its course or then change the law.

I see some things on social media that really go below the belt and are encouraged by political operatives. The BLP started a site called “Bajan Poppets” where they throw all kind of allegations against people. Of course, the BLP will claim that it is not affiliated by them.
    Democracy in Barbados is alive and well. This is a storm in a teacup and should let people know that while freedom of speech is cherished, you do not have the right to say whatever you want about people and spread it on the net.
    It is Michael Lashley today but you or I might be the victim of a similar smear campaign tomorrow.

27. Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for Michael Lashley, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Dem.
    Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me

28. IF the DLP believes this to be a storm in a teacup then they are clueless to how many feel. BU has never seen social media so perturbed.

29. Michael Lashley is an ass to pursue this when he has bigger fish to fry. BU will highlight a couple for him very soon.

30. David King, I think Michael Lashley will sweat in his boots sooner than he can imagine. The stuff on him will have to come out sooner

31. The Jada and other deals is what the manipulated police should investigate

32. @ ac | November 27, 2014 at 2:18 PM |

“a word to the wise A claim is just that, Proving that one has been injured or harm by /// is a horse of a different color which few ever choose to ride,,”

AC, I’m beginning to like your new way of thinking.

By your above admission, you are clearly stating Michael Lashley’s “claim is just that”……………… he HAS to PROVE he has been “injured or harmed by” the FB post.

33. @ Bajanfuhlife | November 28, 2014 at 6:42 AM |

“It is Michael Lashley today but you or I might be the victim of a similar smear campaign tomorrow.”

You talking a lotta shiite!!!

Yes, it was former Transport Board employee, Lisa Marshall “who was a victim of a similar smear campaign” YESTERDAY, when all you DLP yard-fowls rejoiced after posting information from her personal file on social media, including the DLP’s web-site, to embarrass her and implying she is a thief.

I’m happy it’s Michael Lashley TODAY, ………….. he is obviously experiencing similar humiliation he and his DLP put Lisa through.

WHO THE HELL IS MICHAEL LASHLEY?? Is he more important than Lisa because he is a politician?

The only difference between he and Lisa is that he has the financial means to pursue this case, and being a member of the ruling party, he has the police and the entire judicial system on his side.

34. Simple Simon | November 27, 2014 at 8:08 PM |

“Dompey November 27, 2014 at 4:39 PM “A lot of people in Barbados do not know that the Special Branch lives on the BU blog. I have friend in the Branch and he is a top dog in that organization.”…….”

Simple Simon, don’t pay Dompey nuh mind writing that shiite.

So what if he knows a “top dog” in the Special Branch, the real issue is, if the “top dog” knows him?

And Dompey is a liar if he wants to imply that member of the SB divulges any intelligence to him, since it would be dangerous to do so.

Perfect example, Dompey has insinuated his SB buddy told him that SB officers “live on the BU blog” and where did Dompey expose that information?….. On the BU blog. Hence, why SB officers don’t divulge intelligence.

Not even ordinary policemen have access to the SB offices.

35. @Hants

So Hants……they now saying FURORE TO ONE…..is TEKK OFF..like D Sunjet…..You remember D BWIA Sunjets?…..boi dem did good ole days yes….din want much runaway, remember.

36. Yes it is a storm in a teacup which like all others would dissipated no harm done accusations and allegations would simply be resolved by apologies . This underlying furor(as) of now driven by political orchestration wouldbe left holding the loop an blindsided and asking the usual question” what ever happened to” no body wants their name drag in the mud not even a gang slinger like omar

37. ac | November 28, 2014 at 9:22 AM |

Yes it is a storm in a teacup which like all others would dissipated no harm done accusations and allegations would simply be resolved by apologies . This underlying furor(as) of now driven by political orchestration wouldbe left holding the loop an blindsided and asking the usual question” what ever happened to” no body wants their name drag in the mud not even a gang slinger like omar

AC, whatever it is that’s responsible for your new way of thinking, it’s certainly a “breath of fresh air” from the usual political diatribe to which you are often associated.

You have admitted that the “underlying furor” of the DLP’s post on Lisa Marshall, was “driven by political orchestration”. You are also correct in assuming those events left many of us who are sympathetic to Lisa [the same way the DLP yard-fowls are sympathetic to Michael Lashley] “asking the usual question, whatever happened to” Lisa Marshall… has she been able to gain employment after being accused of theft and had memoranda from her personal file posted on social media by the DLP?

Finally, you have once more admitted ‘nobody wants their name dragged in the mud, not Michael Lashley or even Lisa.

However, AC, you have erred by calling Omar a “gang slinger”, by this comment you are seemingly dragging his name though the mud.

38. For the record Omar Watson pleaded no guilty but the yard fowls have gone with Lashley. Watson is someone who posts frequent updates to his Facebook page; he is not a blogger.

39. David | November 28, 2014 at 4:11 AM |
    https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/omar.png

I wonder if Mr. Watson can get the same RBPF to bring charges against Barbados Today?

40. @Lef Dem

Watson’ s would do well to claim embarrassment and ask for out of court settlement to pay his lawyers. It is good when a plan comes together.

41. David | November 28, 2014 at 10:18 AM |
    “For the record Omar Watson pleaded no guilty but the yard fowls have gone with Lashley. Watson is someone who posts frequent updates to his Facebook page; he is not a blogger.”

I noticed that the Nation headline said “Blogger” . That Newspaper is so absolutely pathetic. So everyone who posts on Facebook is a blogger? I think the Nation’s use of the term “blogger” was intentional. They want to muddy the water and make people think that if they contribute to blogs this could happen as well.

42. @ David | November 28, 2014 at 10:48 AM |

Since the article has since been corrected, he should hit that “Print Screen” button as soon as possible before it disappears forever.

You should charge his lawyer commission for providing the evidence.
    Some will rue the day they opened this particular can of worms.

43. @Nostradamus

The blame is each way, many posting to FB refer to themselves as bloggers.

44. For the record the term “gangslinger refer to one who shoots from the hip without thought or concern of consequences.. and in this case the term fits omar like a glove.

45. Here goes Barbados again. Picking at straws and making mountains of mole-hills instead of dealing with ISSUES!
    Point one: Barbados has a computer mis-use act which is apparently now being tested to determine how strong, or weak the legislation is. Problem is, Social Media can’t be controlled by the powers that would love to control it. That desire to control is in an effort to stem the tide of opinion which exists in the mind of the public regarding issues which affect them, and which the powers that be “seem” powerless to address or rectify.
    There is no doubt, and consequently no denying, that Barbadians have mis-used this avenue of communication. But one must ask, “Are Barbadians really willing to trust the main-stream media such that their confidence in its ability to deliver to them an unbiased product isn’t eroded?”
    I believe, based on the sheer uptake that Social Media has enjoyed, that Barbadians and their confidence in the mainstream media has been severely eroded to the point that they would almost rather trust the social communication avenues.
    Point Two: Black Berry Messenger, affectionately known as BBM has enjoyed prominence in the hands of many until recently when WhatsApp took over as the communication tool of choice on the go.
    Facebook enjoys so much of a loyal following and use among Barbadians, that it is used as a tool not only to gossip, and sometimes “flame” other people, but as a marketing and advertising juggernaut. Put simply, Social Media seems to be here to stay and its value can me measured economically.
    So how do we control it? Well for one, we need to start to deal with issues affecting people in a controlled and structured forum. People will turn left and right to vent and express all sorts of things if they feel they have no voice or it is not heard. So controlling Social Media is really a matter of strategy and not of inciting fear in it’s use.
    When people learn to post on Facebook anonymously, who will sue whom then? Because what will be needed to track the individual at that point will require nothing short of an expert Cyber-security team to do so.
    Will this pending case open up the floodgates for those people who have gone before Minister Lashley, to seek legal recourse as they too may have been scandaled or unduly “hurt” by comments made by others? Or is this action only for those in prominent public life?
    Mr. Lashley for all his worth does not seem to enjoy the confidence of the people. I am not certain that this latest action of his will not serve to make him more un-popular in their eyes, but there will be backlash from the population on this. I am almost willing to bet. And, as our society is not what it used to be, people are not forgetting as quickly or forgiving as readily. So when he is out of politics, it’s unclear that his business(s) won’t suffer because people will start to shun him for what they perceived he did to a “small man” posting on Facebook.
    If we, Barbadians, look like we are in the business of persecuting people for their opinions and utterances in Cyberspace, we will be shunned by the International community. They will see a closed, repressive society that is un-progressive and run by oligarchs. That will be enough to turn them away and look elsewhere when it comes to investment and association in this country and with this country.
    This issue is getting lots of “air-play” but I believe that we can find more productive uses of our collective time to build this country.
    For one, let’s try drafting a working national policy on Cyber-security to regulate and govern how financial institutions handle our sensitive personal information. Let’s set up or encourage the establishment
    of organizations which monitor and evaluate our national posture on Cyber-matters so that we can start to foster investment in Barbados from abroad by companies who would enjoy being here for the advantages that Barbados has to offer, but are scared of or lack of policy and controls we have on these matters.
    Let’s control how LIME, Digicel, C&W, Flow and any other electronic communication backbone delivers services to us, and at what prices so that value can be realized across the Barbadian landscape. There is so much to do regarding matters of technology in Barbados, that this issue should not be the focal point, but rather how we deal with these matters in policy going forward.
    This is not to say that this matter may not appear to be important, and on some level it is, but it’s to say that it really is not a national issue that will ultimately lead to a positive outcome in the International community, A place where we so badly need to clean up our image. So lets re-focus on things that will really benefit us all.
    But fear ye not, we have it just how we like it. So keep doing it and hope that you get away with it ad-infinitum.
    Only time will tell our fate.

Back to watching how this plays out.

46. @Adrian Hinds,

It would be good if the BU legal maguffees could tell us if the Nation could be sued for that article.

47. There are also numerous videos of Political m ass meetings.

David should include some in this blog.

48. @Hants

He can sue if the story is false.