Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak outโ€”
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for meโ€”and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemรถller (1892โ€“1984)

One thing the late Prime Minister David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social media and the opportunity it gave ordinary people to participate in our democracy. Of course some will abuse the privilege but the majority for the most part use social media platforms to discuss issues and exchange information which the traditional media is constrained to leave on the editorial floor. BU can only speculate if we were to have a conversation with the late David Thompson resting comfortably in the great beyond, what his view of the charge brought against Omar Watson and instigated by the Hon. Michael Lashley would be. What if private citizens were able to bring charges against members of parliament who hide behind the protection of parliamentary privilege?

BU remains hopeful that this matter will be sandwiched in the bureaucracy of court files like all the other high profile cases. Even if Omar Watson committed an error in judgement there is scope for amends without Mr. Watson having to be incarcerated. BU understands Douglas Trotman has offered his services at no cost to Mr. Watson.

See relevant documents:

248 responses to “Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley”

1. @old onion bags (NOT)

I want you charged with using the moniker of one of our great BU bloggers.

If you can answer this question charges will be dropped and you will be allowed to pretend to be Old Onion Bags.

What do we call a young Pompa in Barbados.

2. …a swallow tail…..Hants, wha U smoking boi?….LOL

3. Swallow this ole boi…..( if ya is Bajan and ever get LEFT pun a christmas) LOL

4. @old onion bags

correct. charges dropped. lol

5. old onion bags

Please keep those vids coming.

We need something to lighten up this very serious topic

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I really thought the BLP tyrants were bad but now I understand that they got an administration that is worst than the BLP and its called De Lying Party D. L. P. You know when you got something to hide ya got to come out and protect it at all cost. Now I heard many say that Lashley made a steal off of JADA’s housing projects. Some say he got 5 grand for every house built others say 10 grand. Now it makes no sense assuming we need a whistle blower that got proof. Its obvious JADA gine meet the Lashley in some secluded place and give he the alleged or assumed thousands. What ever is the truth Lashley is out to prove a point and flex some power. He has a prey to which he will extend the full weight of the law so the can continue with their “keep in subjugation by instilling fear tactics”.Pity that bajans are such cowards. No wonder the politicians running wild and bragging in Europe and the USA that no one can touch we.

7. Don’t know if to laugh or steupss, let’s hope when the DLP loses their next election charade, if they do, which would make no difference since BLP is the same kettle of rotten fish, the first order of the FBI is to take a flight to Barbados and arrest Lashley for moneylaundering….there…

8. Buh wait….U did fa real?…After I did playing such sweet oldie goldies the whole week pun BU….you really believe I did an imposter? Hants boi like I said The TRUTH is always the BEST defense against LIBEL and DEFAMATION….my only ting is (like Caswell)….I did always think it did a civil matter….Thunder n lightning boi…this case is quite a stir in BIM

9. Ok Due Diligence….. I got piece-a-sweet STEEL (not Steal) for ya bredds..we ent politican

10. @old onion bags you know that I know that you know dat you like dem goochie bags and rotex watches duh does sell pun Canal Street in New Yawk.

Buh I already drop de charges. lol

de music sweet doh.

11. On his Facebook page Omar Watson says he was โ€œcharged for sharing a status on Facebookโ€ . I donโ€™t know much about Facebook but โ€œWhat is sharing a statusโ€ mean?

Is it like sharing a webpage link?

Is he still sharing it or he stopped?

12. When last you hear this Hants…..I digging deep for people like Omar and Fergusson…..

13. lambasting ac does not alter facts or truth of the law, its application can be applied and pursued by those who feel fit to use it,, the only JASSes are the political operatives who are inclined to bend and twist.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    as for Professor Brass BOWL bush tea. the straighten of a good swordsmen lies in the ability to defend oneself .

14. Bush Tea | November 27, 2014 at 9:23 AM |

@Artax

The very fact that the DLP even ALLOWS such a jackass as ac to appear to be their mouthpiece speaks volumes about the level of intellect at the top of that organization.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    ac does have the right and a privileged to exercise my Freedom of Speech..

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Your above comments warrants a concern and maybe indeed be classified as libel… watch your words Professor BRASS BOWL unless u have proof and irrefutable fact that what you posted is true U too can be be weighed in the scales of justice,.

15. Simple Simon

Brother man stop acting as though you’re stupid because you’re well aware of what the term THIRD-WORLD represents in the modern social and political context. When I employed the term THIRD-WORLD up above, I did so to indicated the kind of tolerance and latitude that the Barbados government has given to the freedom of expression.

16. ac | November 27, 2014 at 12:05 PM

making a correction to clarify

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    as for Professor Brass BOWL bush tea. the strength of a good swordsmen lies in the ability to defend oneself .

17. @ ac | November 27, 2014 at 12:05 PM |

I’m somewhat disappointed and surprised at your support of the action taken by the RBPF, since you are guilty of posting accusations on BU that you would have a hard time proving in a court of law if challenged.
    As Confucius said, โ€œDon’t do unto others what you don’t want others to do unto you.โ€

18. Who would have thought the DLP would be in this position after lambasting Mia when she threatened the blogosphere all those years ago. They are all the same, Twiddle D and Twiddle B.

19. old onion bags

Thanx

Dat STEEL REAL SWEET

We want more Onions – with apologies to Grynner

And while I’m at it here is small contribution

20. Every asshole seeking an easy quotation to support their personal agenda gives this Niemรถller quote. It’s always sad to see.

For many years Pastor Martin was an ardent anti-semite. Fuck him, and fuck all racists everywhere, forever.

21. Welcome to Zimbabadoswe. Give the man a Hitler type moustache, and he would pass for the twin brother of Mugabe

22. Mugabe is better looking. Oopsss!!!! I hope that does not cause distress etc.

23. @Observing (quietly) | November 27, 2014 at 10:32 AM |
    continue in the vein of Niemรถller and let not your heart be troubled.

@all others
    read the act carefully.

Where a person uses a computer to send a message, letter,
    electronic communication or article of any description that
    (a) is indecent or obscene;
    (b) is or constitutes a threat; or
    (c) is menacing in character,
    and he intends to cause or is reckless as to whether he causes
    annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the RECIPIENT
    or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated,

So who wrote a law that is so porus that one can drive a Mack truck through it.

One or more of our excellent Bajan lawyers Parliamentarians?

I hope that this post does not cause distress etc.

24. @ ac | November 27, 2014 at 12:05 PM |

โ€œlambasting ac does not alter facts or truth of the law, its application can be applied and pursued by those who feel fit to use it….โ€

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! ……… Iโ€™m happy to know, as proven by your above statement, you finally came to the realization that โ€œDouglasโ€, you and, by extension the DLP, were wrong to have posted an article on social media, which was menacing in character and caused Lisa Marshall annoyance, distress and anxiety.

Itโ€™s also good to know you have essentially agreed that, in Lisaโ€™s case, the โ€œtruth of the law and its application can be applied and pursued byโ€ her, if she feels fit to use it.

Admitting the DLP was wrong and acted irresponsibly, though hurtful to you, must be a defining moment in your life.

25. a word to the wise A claim is just that, Proving that one has been injured or harm by /// is a horse of a different color which few ever choose to ride,,

26. Well Done …Simple Simon……let’s hope you are in contact with Omar’s lawyers…..I hope the others in hay..done Use of English…well done indeed!

27. Any minister of government of the people of Barbados that has been reported in some sections of the local media as having said that there ought to be compulsory home insurance; that has was reported in some sections of the said local media to have said that ALL vehicles must be taken to the Barbados Licensing Authority for officials up there to prove their existence, and that has been reported in the fourth estate as being in favour of the merging of certain aspects of the privately owned state regulated mass public transport system of this country with that of the government run mass public transport system, is really a jackass minister of government and therefore deserves to be pilloried and pummelled left right back and center by any citizen of this country for his colossal and far reaching ignorance in regard such matters.

What a big joke for a Minister of Transport!!

28. After reporting to District A Mr. Watson was told to report to Oistins and hours later he is waiting for his case to be called. The efficient court system that we have.

29. MAYBE THEY GIVING HIM THE RUN AROUND BECAUSE THEY DONT HAVE A CASE AND JUST WANT TO SCARE HIM

30. Georgie Porgie

A lot of people in Barbados do not know that the Special Branch lives on the BU blog. I have friend in the Branch and he is a top dog in that organization.

31. WHO CARES? I CERTAINLY DONT

32. Dompey November 27, 2014 at 4:39 PM “A lot of people in Barbados do not know that the Special Branch lives on the BU blog. I have friend in the Branch and he is a top dog in that organization.”

Who cares?

The Special Branch would serve the people of Barbados better, and really deserve their big time salaries if they spent their time catching murderers, rapists, and some of the big time fraudsters we got ’bout dis place.

Stupseee!!!!!

33. ..eeeerrrrrrrrr Mickey Mouse Avatar
    ..eeeerrrrrrrrr Mickey Mouse

Dompey | November 27, 2014 at 4:39 PM |

A lot of people in Barbados do not know that the Special Branch lives on the BU blog. I have friend in the Branch and he is a top dog in that organization.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    Where was the Special Branch during the last election campaign, when outrageous statements true or false were made against rivals.
    Where was the Special Branch when one member of parliament was accused by another member of parliament of pulling a pistol on him.

34. Mr. Watson got $5.000 bail and is to return to court in Feb 2016.

He was represented by Douglas Trotman, Lynette Eastmond and Sally Commisiong.

On 27 November 2014 at 21:45, Barbados Underground wrote:

35. Bajan NY in reference to your comment.how can u be absolutely certain that the comments under the monikerr ac are all the same. i suggest u get your facts straight .The person in question to whom this subject is attached used poor judgent and exposed himself to legalities when he used his name to attack and slander. Only goes to show. some peoples egos are bigger than their brains….as to social media underattack one can take solace in the fact that one persons opinion does not impact the longevity of the fomat

36. @ bk

One should run http://www.hotspotshield.com after first downloading and installing on your computer/cell/tablet/ipad etc.

The hotspot shield proxy software when ran each time will give a US/Canada/Europe IP address.

Then download and run https://www.torproject.org/ which will allow one to browse and post anonymously.

When using tor browser do not use explorer browser, firefox etc.

37. This Michael Lashley is an ugly cunt.

I met him at a social event a few year ago and he was trying to hit on all the young women.

Slimy sleazy bastard.

38. Simple Simon

I didn’t ask you to care; I was simply stating a fact. So whether you care or not is neither here or there because it is what it is brother.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh Lawsie,

A body cyan go to de doctor fuh checkups befo’ you gine get lockup fuh saying a body is a mummy why you bite me lesbian of a nex man is a bulla…

@ Donkey

If I recall rightly on Saturday past you who ride this horse of righteousness called GP, me, Bush Tea and I think hants billers who used to prey on your bottom in 1970 when you were first bulled

@AC (not the wise one)

I remember when some months back you said that you were going to kick the ole man round he noggin and I begged the Blogmaster to engage the cyber police for your scunt

The Blogmaster can easily repost these articles as evidence in the case that I or any of the others being defamed seem now able to have brought against you both

It is obvious that the blogs have them concerned, the hits are tremendous and a single sensationally titled article can get 300 comments in two days.

So Dompey call de ole man a bulla and AC threaten me with bodily harm so what?

No one here, mindful of the 1937 riots, as disappointed as we are with this sorry lot, is preaching sedition and treason like Sidney Burnett Alleyne.

Be you coolie, hunkie, chine, buckra Johnny Syrian, bulla on lesbian the sentiment of disgust and a desire for change in our schools, churches, homes, communities comes over strongly from most of us

I am making this appeal to the Lashley-ite crew. as well as the Burnette Alleynes

DO NOT SET THIS PRECEDENCE IN BULBADOS

Either strategy will unleash a floodgate of such proportions that neither DLP nor BLP can get it back into the little garden that this 11 by 16 rock is

We put Sunna there both of you to govern and facilitate the growth of our economy not to do this shite

We know who you are we have the enchashed documents at your banks of choice but we plead with you stop this game of self enrichment and get on with the business you were elected to do.

As inept as Chris is with his decimal points I would be the first man to say that I pray that he was lying as usual bout how a senior office told him two men were planning to kill him

Please, before de ole man cock up a go to where Dompey sending me, if we love this country Barbados, let us pull together the best, brightest and most committed to bring us from the brink of economic morass

40. As this saying goes Rumors are started by haters, spread by fools and accepted by idiots!. Unless you have solid evidence to support your claims, shut to Fcukup! We in Barbados like too much gossip. We use to gossip about Tom Adams, Errol Barrow, Sandi and all who participate in political life. We either have the evidence and embarrass them, causing them to resign and be disgraced or simply shut up. We have more pressing and important things to concentrate on such as bring Barbados back on even keel. Enough said!

41. @Betty thanks

42. At the risk of offending the sensitive thin skinned political class! What the rass going on in Bim? Grow a pair/ Act like a man ! Dem like dem in ready for the cut & thrust of the political game circa 2014. If ya can’t tek dee heat etc…Live by the smear …..wunna know the rest..

43. After 94 comments we still don’t know exactly why Watson was charged.

Bajans in the diaspora be careful if you are still a citizen of Barbados.

44. Dompey November 27, 2014 at 4:39 PM โ€œA lot of people in Barbados do not know that the Special Branch lives on the BU blog. I have friend in the Branch and he is a top dog in that organization.โ€

Dear Dompey: You top dog friends in the Special Branch Branch would serve the people of Barbados better, and really deserve the big time salaries paid to them by the tax payers of this country (remember the Special Branch are not paid by blowhards like you) if they spent their time catching drug traffickers and child molesters.

Stupseee!!!!!

45. @Hants

David | November 27, 2014 at 5:55 PM |

Mr. Watson got $5.000 bail and is to return to court in Feb 2016.

Well bredds now…ya got to wait til 2016…..to find out. Did I hear right 2016???

In future, when ya hear\see licks Hants boi….RUN !…Run like MUDDA…Doan stop til ya put on ya pyjamma.

46. Some of Dem, would like to cut of the pair, to get a better thrust at the game, that aside, Dem can’t do any better ,every one of Dem that got in the house, with the help of Clico Policy Holders Money , is losing the mind, even OWEN,that had a few $,gone cross by them,the prays of Clico policy holders got them.

47. @Old Onions,