Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley

Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemöller (1892–1984)

One thing the late Prime Minister David Thompson will be remembered for is his love of social media and the opportunity it gave ordinary people to participate in our democracy. Of course some will abuse the privilege but the majority for the most part use social media platforms to discuss issues and exchange information which the traditional media is constrained to leave on the editorial floor. BU can only speculate if we were to have a conversation with the late David Thompson resting comfortably in the great beyond, what his view of the charge brought against Omar Watson and instigated by the Hon. Michael Lashley would be. What if private citizens were able to bring charges against members of parliament who hide behind the protection of parliamentary privilege?

BU remains hopeful that this matter will be sandwiched in the bureaucracy of court files like all the other high profile cases. Even if Omar Watson committed an error in judgement there is scope for amends without Mr. Watson having to be incarcerated. BU understands Douglas Trotman has offered his services at no cost to Mr. Watson.

See relevant documents:

248 thoughts on “Omar Watson Charged for Malicious Communications at the Instigation of Minister Michael Lashley

1. From: http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=40195

“PM assures right to silence is not in jeopardy

11/29/2014

Any claim that the right to silence is being ousted by the amendment to the Evidence Act is a false claim.

So says Prime Minister Freundel Stuart. Making his contribution in the House of Assembly yesterday evening to the Evidence (Amendment) Bill 2014, just moments before that Bill was passed, he explained that the right to silence is protected in the Constitution and in the Bill in question as well. His comments came in the response to suggestions from the Opposition that the right to silence was being undermined by the one aspect of the proposed amendment.

“It is just not true that these amendments impose any judgement or enlarge any risks of accused persons or suspects if they elect to remain silent. The right to silence is an old right; the right against self incrimination and the Constitution of Barbados protects that,” he said.”

Right to silence is not in jeopardy.

BUT, use of right to free speech or freedom of expression in social media is is police (criminal) matter.

2. @PDR
    People does leave a space of 3 to 6 feet around de ministers and it is only when de said minister mek it he business to shake a body hand, de body dat he single out does shake dem hand and pull out dem hand real quick.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Ably demonstrated yesterday on CBC after the Independence service. The GG , broke away from being escorted out , to stop and unpretentiously shake hands with the clergy and greet many others around. When the PM’s time came, he walked straight, briefly pausing to juck his hand in that of one of our 10 % populationist.
    But do know why people are so quick to pull their hands out of that of a politician ? Not that they are afraid, but they will will less of a job later when sanitising their hands, as many politicians hands, we know are a bit soiled.
    And that the very reason, too that you would never see a politician,especially Ministers who are entitled to such pomp, returning a salute to any member of the security forces, as these guys salute with the palms of their hands in full view indicating that their hands are clean and that all is above board. Maybe some day when we adopt the American type salute, our politicians will be able to respond likewise.

3. michael lashley could get rid of some of those ugly tooth in his mouth. he always looks like his mouth is stuff with bread or he just came of chimpanzee making machine…puke…black and totally ugly

4. @Smooth Chocolate
    puke…..black……and totally ugly.
    I do not know about the others on BU, but my mother always told me that I am a handsome fellow, so the totally ugly bit does not bother me at all. What bothers me, and many others on BU I am sure, is that you find a black person or persons so revolting to the point where it will make you puke.

5. Today the Boss of St. Philip North pulled off another successful carnival along with his Legundz Boys posse.
    kudos to the Hon. Michael Lashley MP.

The jealous people like David of BU canh stop you.

6. @ Wait Fractured

I did lookin for in today’s procession…..knowing you doan miss nuttin dat free (ur words)…..To tell ya D trute I neva see so many long and forlong faces for a celebration..Is like evabody either vex or fart frighten….so ya went carnival too nah …knowing you …(dat did free too) U did dey …. black cat in a bow tie escorting a fowl cock….carnival ent trute

7. Smooth Chocolate | December 1, 2014 at 4:18 PM |

michael lashley could get rid of some of those ugly tooth in his mouth. he always looks like his mouth is stuff with bread or he just came of chimpanzee making machine…puke…black and totally ugly

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    smooth chocolate have u looked in the mirror recently. cause u are one ugly baboon fuh real. before u disk people, first take a long real hard look at yuhself from the inside out,,,,

8. @GP

Smoothie putting ppl on “DISKS” but your nemesis “de donkey” putting words in my mouth [fingers really :)]. He’s now accusing me of attacking him on this thread when to my knowledge this is my first and only comment on this thread. He must really have ol’ hoodie on his mind! Lol.

9. Georgia porgie lil girl…dis ,,,is street lingo ,don;t expect u to unstan such thin ,,,uh need to be hangin in the in de hood,,, uh know dem not uh kind of peeps, they too black and backwards,,hav no intelligunce ,,

10. DE HOOD
    THAT FOOL HAS SERIOUS PROBLEMS
    AS WE SAY BACK HOME “HE LOOKING FOR NOTICE”
    HE WAKES UP EVERY MORNING INTENT ON TEACHING YOU ME OR BUSH TEA EXTRANEOUS INFORMATION THAT WE DONT CARE TO KNOW
    I LET HIM BRAY OR GIVE HIM JUICE TO KEEP DEMONSTRATING THAT HE IS AN ASS

11. @Smooth Chocolate December 1, 2014 at 4:18 PM “…puke…black and totally ugly”

Like ya foopin’ mudda

12. @ac

But ac check your post. You did not writ “diss” your wrote “disk” in your original post. I have copied it and pasted it below.

ac| December 1, 2014 at 6:44 PM |
    Smooth Chocolate | December 1, 2014 at 4:18 PM |

michael lashley could get rid of some of those ugly tooth in his mouth. he always looks like his mouth is stuff with bread or he just came of chimpanzee making machine…puke…black and totally ugly

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    smooth chocolate have u looked in the mirror recently. cause u are one ugly baboon fuh real. before u disk people, first take a long real hard look at yuhself from the inside out,,,,

13. look the word in stret lingo can be spelled any which way, no need for professional grammar spies,,.. ghetto lingo is just that, spelling and wording does no matter all that matters is getting the point out, get it,, disc, disk diss ! like piss and pee pea ! also jiobby shite pup poop in street lingo all mean the same thing.

14. I apologise for using attaching the word ‘black’ in a negative form to that person because they are some really beautiful knights in shining armour in Barbados.. never-the-less, the man is totally hideous and i feel like puking whenever i see him on the tv, i literally have to change the channel but then again i change the channel whenever i see any animal from from Party. All they do is grunt, bray and bark..last time i checked I never took those langs. at school.

@ac | December 1, 2014 at 9:24 PM |
    “look the word in stret lingo can be spelled any which way, no need for professional grammar spies,,.. ghetto lingo is just that, spelling and wording does no matter…”

(1) The fact that the word it is ‘ghetto lingo’ is the very reason you CANNOT give it the same spelling as a genuine word, Miss IDIOT.. (2) I look in the mirror several times a day, I am absolutely gorgeous. just because u identify with that hideous animal does not give u the right to be jealous of me..we can’t all be beautiful and intelligent at the same time

15. ”successful carnival” Hmmmm. though I was not pleased to be hearing of people allegedly thumping on a certain car, as it wound its way through the procession.

Inappropriate behavior. But then, people are vexed.

16. Can Lashley spare some time in between abusing his powers to honour his promise to pay UCAL the $3.7m .
    Another minister making rash statements to divert attention from his incompetence

17. The DLP ministers have to lie, you may or may not know but
    most of them got new teeth
    from Clico Policyholders money that was stolen ,
    The teeth in work in yet and are getting in fights with you know what

18. @All who are in the least bit interested

De ole man heah reading De Evidence Act of BULBADOS

Wunna know dat if a nex fellow tek me name and post a ting bout Nuff Teets Lashes dat dem kin cum fuh me en lock me up?

Wunna know dat if de madam, or de maid was to get pun my cuntputer en write an article while logged on as me and post it, you know dat dem cud come fuh me en lock me up?

Member of Parliament of Curacao Herman Wiels was shot to death on Sunday the 5th of May 2013.

If de ole man, in a fit of unadulterated idiocy, was to find heself in a public place, or pun dis here Internet, after not receiving my pension check fuh 2 months and income tax returns, and mek an exasperated statement, someting ingrunt like “dat I wud like to bring de same men’s dat bump of Herman heah fuh Minister So en So” wunna know dat I can get lock up?

Furthermore even if i doesn’t say it, but two nex fellows, like de ones dat de Minister Sinckliar says did plotting to shoot he, say dat it is me dat put dem up to de deed, en dat it din just to be he Sinkliar but de nex fellow as well, did wunna know dat I cud get lock up, just so, pun hearsay?

Does unna know dat de penalty for treason in Bulbados is deaf?

I wonder if Nuff Teets study dis Omar ting through doah?

Teets, you know dat yo gine be a past minister in 2019 and you opening an ants ‘ nest dat gine sting you and de rest uh de crooks in wunna pension years?

19. anybody knows what happened to the fireman thread,, talking about freedom of speech no holds barred, they made michael lashley accusations look like a walk in the park,, time to bring back the fireman thread hilarious,,a great novel in the making, :the Fireman who did all and F,ked all,

20. Increase in PSVs on the Road. Transport Board cannot get their schedule right. UCAL cannot get paid. Government collecting road tax and license fees. Tell ma wa gine on.

21. Those of us who believe in Law and Order MUST understand that there is really NO Justice. I would like to know how much about Transport does the minister of transport know.

22. @ WMGittens

De Minister of Transport knows all he needs to know

“transport all of these suitcases cases that wunnu put next to my table, to grease my palms, to my home”

What else does he or Ralph Boyce, of Gline, Johnny “me boy” Tudor or all of them “ministers” need to know?

Leave a comment, join the discussion.