Jeff Broomes, Principal of Parkinson Memorial School

The Alexandra School Saga provoked the intervention of Prime Minister Stuart and led to the establishment of the Alexandra Commission of Inquiry.  Six hundred thousand dollars later many of the actors were transferred hither thither an yon or forced to retire BUT the principle actor has re-emerged, Principal JEFF BROOMES.

News broke yesterday {28/10/2014) that Parkinson Memorial School was forced to close around midday because 39 out of 61 staff members decided to attend a meeting at the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) headquarters to air “grievances over the management style and other practices of principal JEFF BROOMES. For many it evoked a feeling of déjà vu. It was not a strike action but the union obviously sanctioned the meeting.

Many will again take sides, BU prefers to locate the JEFF BROOMES issue in the realm of Barbados’ capacity to solve problems. If JEFF BROOMES has a management style that is creating tension at the school, there are tried and tested management methods to diagnose and inform a solution.

The Parkinson Broomes imbroglio is analogous to the unravelling WICB WIPA dispute. The buck stops with the WICB in the same way it stops with the ministry of education and government.

Barbadians were assured at the time the Waterman recommendations were implemented the JEFF BROOMES problem would be solved. A lot of political mileage was made of it. The fact the problem has resurfaced has however come as no surprise to sensible Barbadians. Many prefer to focus on JEFF BROOMES but the ministry of education and the Barbados Union of Teachers are the other actors who deserve to be thrust under the microscope as well.

The reported exchange which took place between deputy chief education officer David Clement and a NATION newspaper team at the school is instructive. The  security guard was advised to call the police if the NATION team refused to leave the school premises yesterday. The BU household in a similar situation would have approached the media personnel and issued a statement even if it was to state the obvious.

202 responses to “JEFF BROOMES Again”

1. Hants

You ought to know this by now Hants: most universities in America today focuses more on the development and the cultivation of the Critical thinking Skills, rather than adhering to a curriculum which induces or indoctrinates the student into a certain line of thinking. Prior to attending college here in America, I was man firmed planted in my religious convictions. But after attending college, I started through the academic device of critical thinking to question the tenets of my Christian faith.

2. David

On a more serious note David: it seems as though lot of people on the blog, cannot distinguish between what constitutes a joke and what ought to be taken seriously. It called extrapolation which is part and parcel of the critical thinking process.

David here is my reply to you above comment.
    “Ignorance knows no bounds”
    Ignorance can be cured but stupidity is forever.

3. @ balaam’s ass
    since the US educational system is so superior how can a moron like you who failed common entrance, learned very little at St Leonard’s boys get through a university in the US
    Just remember I teach College level students and I dont find them to be so hot at all

4. David

And David just to inform your thinking: ignorance is predicated upon the conventional wisdom of the day. For example: human reasoning is the psychological equivalent of the two edged sword. It can work for you or it can work against you. The moral philosopher Socrates, was viewed by many of his peers of his day as an ignorant man who misled the youth through his “Socrates method” (which it called critical thinking today) And he was even sent to the gallows for holding tight to his philosophical convictions, but look how the hands of history vindicated this man David?What does not lineup with the conventional wisdom of the day, might do so tomorrow.

5. The students love Jeff Broomes, whilst the teachers do not.

6. Georgie Pogie

Who misled you into believing that those persons who failed the Common Entrance Examine, were sent to St. Leonard and the likes? Ask my former teacher Mr. John Sealy, and I am quite sure he will tell you that those who failed the Common Entrance were sent to technical schools back in the day.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Dompey

Man or woman when i read some of your contributions I does really crack up..

8. Here is a question Bushie would like answered…
    What the hell does Jones do for his salary of a quarter of a million dollars a year?
    …what has he accomplished in six years ( for $1.5 Million)?
    …just give us one thing….worth more than $200.00…
    Then again maybe it was worth that to get him out of football….

@ Dompey
    …why don’t you do and do Uncle Sam’s work nuh? …dont you know that they monitor your internet? ….they may find out that you are an idiot yuh…. 🙂

9. SSS, you ought to give me a (B) for effort.

And by the way PG: the Calysoinian Adonijah was a teacher of mine back in the day. He taught at St. Leonard’s Boys fresh out of Harrison College. So you ought to have met him there because you said previously, that you also taught there back in the 1970s right?

10. There goes Mr. Echolalia the former Bush Tea. Boy conversing with you is even best than a wet -dream.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ok Boys and Girls back to Broom-sie

Dompey

You is think that in this new uprising with the Broom that he at fault. Me think that Broom is a progressive thinker who want his teachers to rise above complacency and deliver a teaching methodology that captivates the imagination of the student. Me think Brooms do not want teachers who come to teach out of obligation but could not give to wuk-ups about the children because they right off most of them as bad.

Wait ya know wuh my cousin went to Parkinson. Maybe I should ask her if she ever pursue that peeping through the hole case with the then games teacher who is now head of union.

12. Dompey | October 30, 2014 at 12:17 PM |
    Georgie Pogie

Who misled you into believing that those persons who failed the Common Entrance Examine, were sent to St. Leonard and the likes? Ask my former teacher Mr. John Sealy, and I am quite sure he will tell you that those who failed the Common Entrance were sent to technical schools back in the day.

BALLAAM’S ASS 1 TELL US WHERE WAS THE TECHNICAL SCHOOL BACK IN THE DAY………………RICHMOND AKA ST LEONARDS
    2 10% IS FAILED . YOU CANT PASS THE COMMON ENTRANCE WID 10% IN MATHS AND IO IN ENGLISH %

I HAD STUDENTS WHO COULD NOT EVEN SPELL THEIR NAMES

YOU YOURSELF AFTER GOING THROUGH THE EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM OF “THE GREATEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD EVER” STILL DONT KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN “THEY” “THERE” AND “THEIR”
    YOU STILL DONT KNOW HOW TO STAY ON THE SIDE LINES AND LISTEN AND LEARN

YOU ARE BY FAR THE BIGGEST JACKASS ALLOWED ON BU

YOU ARE NOT A SOURCE OF MIRTH BUT A SOURCE OF DISMAY!

YOU EVEN MAKE JACKASSES CRINGE

13. Caswell, help.

We hear that Dennis Clarke getting the car free, because he look good in it, that Walter ain’t paying a blind cent on the $21,000.00 cell phone bill and Clarke remaining at the NUPW until further notice. Clarke ain’t tell Leroy to go home and let the new GS perform. Clarke your wife ain’t want you at home. You frighten to go home or your only could rule outside the home, especially at NUPW.
    If and when a wrong decision is made by Clarke who will be responsible, seeing that he has put his retirement papers in.
    Or is it a case of affordability. Can’t miss that $16,000.00 per month.

Caswell what we the members who want him gone do.

14. Geogie Pogie

I you were given students who were incapable of spelling their names at the secondary school level. What does that say about our academic system back in the day sir?

Please excuse my many grammatical deficiencies, but take your anger out on GP because he taught English Composition at St. Leonard’s Boys during the early 70’s. Two victims of an educational system designed and planned with the Dark Ages in mind. Lord help us. I only have another fifty to go.

Geogie Pogie

To overhaul the entire system of academics in Barbados is too drastic a measure at this juncture. However, what I would suggest, is the implementation of effective teaching strategies as Damian has pointed out quite recently, and this ought to be done on a tentative basic in order to assess as well as to ascertain the effectiveness of such strategies.

Geogie Pogie

Now let’s stay focus on the topic before deliberation. We have debated the problems which afflicts the current system of academics in Barbados. Now, it is time to put before the forum practical and workable solutions to arrest this failing system of academics in Barbados. Bush Tea being its biggest victim. I have already pointed to the lacking of a curriculum which is geared specifically towards the development and cultivation of the critical thinking skills. And it instead of forced the data down the student’s throat, we must think pensively, circumspectly and meticulously about constructing the intellectual infrastructure that invites those critical thinking skills. I am interesting in hearing GP feedback on this novel approach.

15. Geogie Pogie

Here is a question for you GP: if you being a representative of an academic system which failed in its endeavors to inculcate the basic Math, Reading and Writing Skills, to those students who weren’t the brightest mangoes in the tree. What does this say about you and the entire system of academic in Barbados sir? You should be ashamed of yourself sir because the same failures you have pointed out in those students who have had difficulty gasping the concepts, you ought to point at yourself. Because you were also a failure as a teacher.

16. Geogie Pogie

David, allow me to the opportunity address the last point to this fool. GP, we have realized in recent years, that there is such a thing as “Intellectual Disability” (Autism, dyslexia etc.,) and there is a congenital component which contributes to this disability. So that is where a Team of Professional from the different disciplines (Social workers, school psychologist, parents, Special ED Teacher etc.) come together to assessed the needs and wants of the child in order to provide the necessary services needed to allow the child reach the full potential despite this intellectual disability. So the morale of the story is, instead of physically brutalizing innocent children as was common in the Dark Ages of your pedagogic- profession, we now utilize a commonsense approach to detect, assess and address these intellectual disabilities. That’s my last point on this issue, thank you!

17. Cryus the Virus Avatar

Lets scatter the complaining teachers again, throw them far and wide.

18. So let me get back to work before Uncle Sam booted me out the door Bushie. I am sure I’ll see your negative comments this evening.

19. @ BALAAM’S ASS

RE I am interesting in hearing GP feedback on this novel approach.

your novel approach IS CONCENTRATED BOVINE EFFLUENT PROBABLY BEST USED TO APPLY TO GROWING CANES.

20. @ GEORGIE PORGIE,

IF TOO FAR EAST IS WEST….THEN DOMPEY IS A GENIUS

21. you mean a GENUINE -ASS

22. @ Bush Tea

The Minister of ‘Education’ like all other Ministers in this incompetent and corrupt government is living large. looking down at the stupid people of Barbados whom they hold in contempt.

How can you have a Ministry of ‘Education’ using someone else’s former model that they abandoned more than 40 years because they found it was not working and creating the kind of imbalances and gaps in the society as currently exists in Barbados.

Have they not learnt to stop sucking the nipples of the mother country.

That is why there is no innovation or creativity coming from the children in ALL the schools.

Garbage in, garbage out.

Human beings are like computers, you can only get out what is put (program) in.

You have a Ministry(ies) of FAT CATS and jokers that even though we operate in a global world still operate on the level of Barbados before independence.

That is why Barbados will always be several years behind the developed world.

To distract the masses from the real issues politicians create a DLP vs BLP mentality among the majority of the people for their own personal benefit and not for the development of the country for all citizens of Barbados.

23. Georgie Porgie

As a man who is deeply concern regarding the affairs of his fellow human being. Here is my counsel to you sir because it is readily apparent, that you’re man deeply preplexed and conflicted with Self. Now, as you well know: everyone looks in front of him; I myself cannot be excluded from this lot. But I urge you brother to looking deep within and with an aim of continual relection, analysis and pensive contemplation, and in your efforts to rid self of the disease that is never seem to exists, where it is not seen. And with that being said, I shall concluded with the words of the ancient philosopher Socrates: ” An unexamined life isn’t worth living.”

24. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

We live in a day now where you cannot tell anybody anything. People go to work dressed as they like treat clients bad and some teachers are there JUST FOR THE MONEY and most if not ALL of these persons are FEMALE.

FEMALES ARE DESTROYING THE VERY FABRIC OF SOCIETY WITH THEIR STUPID , IGNORANT WAYS.
    THING IS, PEOPLE ARE NOT SEEING THIS FACT

25. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

YOU ARE BY FAR THE BIGGEST JACKASS ALLOWED ON BU

YOU ARE NOT A SOURCE OF MIRTH BUT A SOURCE OF DISMAY!

YOU EVEN MAKE JACKASSES CRINGE

I thought that this was ac ‘s profile

26. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

didnt know Dompey and ac were related

DOMPEY is a guy named Erskine from down by the Indians in town .

ac at least one of the ac is a former DLP candidate

27. DR, THE HONURABLE

And this you ought to know sir: for every opinion, there is always an opposing opinion. And right about now I think you’re the big nincompoop on the blog. NO HARD FEEDINGS, IT IS JUST MY INDIVIDUAL OPINION OF YOU SIR,

I AM QUITE SURE YOU HAVE HEARD ME REITERATED BEFORE THAT YOUR OPINION ONLY MATTERS, IF I VALUE YOUR OPINION. And right about now your opinion worth a little more than Bush Tea and Georgie Porgie.

28. Dr. The Honurable

But my opinion doesn’t really matters in the above statement though? My opinion only matters if you give validity to it sir. You follow my line of reasoning brother? You can’t really say that I haven’t taught you a lesson in logic.

29. David

Here is my last comment to this fool before you kick me off the blog. Dr The Honourable, everyone of us view the truth from different angles of vision. A lot of people here in this country, think that President Obama is the big imbecile to have governed this country. While on the other hand, those who considered him one of the best presidents, if not the best to governed the country. So you see how opinion varies according to who is giving it?

30. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

DOMPEY

cant even spell
    Cognitive problems bro ?
    does not know the difference between their , there they

There go the Boys . They shared their biscuits with Duncy Dompey,

31. I believe that SSS has posited and summed up the matter rather succinctly. What is interested to note that NUPW is backing Broomes , while it would appear that BSTU and BWU are backing the teachers. Union against Union.
    Only God can tell me that Mary Redman is not behind this in some way

32. SOMEHOW THE EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM USED TO WORK WELL BEFORE CO-ED AND MOE LED BY MS BILLIE MILLER, MS MIA MOTTLEY AND MISS JONES

33. So far it appears that Broomes have the BU alumni backing with professor Brass bowl ( bush TEA) leading the charge and spouting his regular s,hte.

34. I dont see anything wrong with the curriculum as described by Broomes. I think community service is important. My son, who is now 33, had to do 20 hours of community service in order to graduate from high school. If he did not do it, he did not get that diploma.

35. Dr. The Honorable

Mr. John Sealy taught me those three perfectly well sir. And please do not go there with respect to spelling and the prper use of words because you’re now in my strong area of academics. It that the best you do? I have studied the concepts of Verbosity, Malapropism and tautology from the good old age of twelve sir.

36. Dr, The Honourable

Brother were you confused between the words Cognitive and Cognizane?

37. Dr. The Honourable

The focus of the discussion here ought not be on me because it is must begger than me sir. It is about the posterity of our country and an academic system that is still enveloped in antquity. So let’s hear your workable solutions to address the existing problems within the system because any imbecile can criticize, condemn and complain sir.

38. I’ll say good night at this point because when I start to spell small words incorrectly, then I know that it is time to cease all activity as far as cognitive exercise is concern.

39. Surprise! Surprise! Bush T is backing Broomes and is regurgitating the same arguments that he used in the past.

Bush T I know it is hard for you as you are inflexible in your thought process but this is the 21st century and nothing is gained by continuous conflict. Broomes failed spectacularly in his last assignment and was given the opportunity to start anew, instead of employing a little introspection and examining where he ran afoul of his subordinates he brought the same methods to his new school. What’s the definition of insanity again? Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Running roughshod over people doesn’t work any longer, has he ever heard of Dale Carnegie’s “How to win friends and influence people”

Whether his ideas are great or not is not relevant, it’s the deployment of those ideas that is the issue, his personal leadership skills have been on an extended sabbatical, he is unable to convince those who are his direct reports that those ideas have merit and is unlikely to achieve consensus from his confreres.

Bush T, I understand that Neanderthals became extinct about 40,000 years ago, care to submit to DNA testing?

40. Someone said above – and it’s critical – that the children love him. If that’s true, why do they love him? My experience is that kids respect (a) honesty of intention, (b) standards applied impartially, (c) self-evident ability and (d) the man who is demonstrably ‘working’ for you even if he’s known to be tough and as someone who won’t put up with nonsense.

Now does that profile fit JB? See if both the teachers AND the kids dislike him, how can he stand? If the kids love him, do the teachers feel diminished?

Dompey

After your little holiday it’s nice to see you again. I see you’re in good form – indeed you are self-evidently in good form when the parrot is “bovine excrementing”. I think the phrase you were looking for is ‘quot homines tot sententiae’.

41. Sargeant

Your argument is a powerful one. And yet (totally impartially) we are what we are aren’t we? And to be anything other than ourselves would be living a lie. Why should you cow tow to inferior minds? And yet – maybe JB must become a teacher to his teachers – and lift them up not pull them down. Then I suppose (as you imply) he would really be a good teacher – and loved by all. But then again, the crowd will never follow the prophet for more than five minutes. I suppose.

42. Reading through comments, like watching a days replay, enjoyed seeing that Bush Tea seems to have scored a century before lunch.

That is it, Bush Tea.

School underperforming, cat put in the mix, something surely going happen.

A lil car pun a dirt road wont do much, but put a tractor pun it and dust going fly.

What is the school doing if results are poor? What? And y’all cussing de man. Lol

Until attitude changes, productivity will not increase.

And Broomsie is just the catalyst. Unless wunna weak-kneed jokers jump on the ‘he hit me teacher’ bandwagon.

Jokers.

43. Anthony, good contribution, you got a good fifty supporting Bush Tea there.

David | October 30, 2014 at 9:38 AM | @Hants
    poor management practice which includes adequate performance management system.

And, to be sure, it seems that has been Broomes issue all along,……..he is looking for accountability from teachers, no?

But in Buhbayduss, looking for accountability is like looking fuh the proverbial need in the haystack.

Even de Guvnor nor Bare Pooch ent accountable fuh the flailing economy.

We like it so.

44. David, I see you are being even handed here, well done.

45. The whole barbados agree the school system is not working and needs change. A man comes along that the school system want to get rid of.
    For me the school system is not working so anything/person the school system does not like deserves to be looked at closely.

If cell phones were in schools we would know what really going on.

Has anyone asked the kids? Set up a facebook page and ask them if they like him and why, after all likeing is not really nessessery. It is resluts we looking for. What has the resluts say? Are children doing better? What is the changes this man ask for? Are they resonable? What is the PTA take on this? Second time around put the facts out on the table, don’t hide it like the last time.

46. per Nation News ”. I came back to school and expressed my concerns. I heard that I changed things ”

Lol. The man actually wanted to CHANGE things for the better???

How could he??? We does like it so.

Mock sport!!!!!

47. And what about the other schools who are high performers /doing well that do not have the chaos and outbursts associated to their principals , what are these principals doing that is in totally contrast to broomes method. yet they seem to have a very good repertoire with they students and teachers,
    it seems as if Broomes have lost his way and expect others to follow ,

48. Thanks Crusoe, the purpose of management is to manage and in this regard the MOE has scored a Big Fail.

49. how can the MOE failed when others school governed under the rules and guidlines of the Moe are not embroiled with the chaos that seems to be systematic and associated to broomes management style,l