The Jeff Broomes Affair, Again–What About the Children?

Submitted by Anthony Davis
Jeff Broomes, Principal of Parkinson School

Teachers at Parkinson Memorial Secondary are expected to go on the picket line tomorrow morning to protest principal Jeff Broomes’ failure to take disciplinary action against students who took knives and other weapons to school.” – Barbados Today 9 Feb 2015. It is incomprehensible to me why the teachers unions are always ready to strike. Is it because about twelve weeks’ vacation – plus about an additional three days as “Teachers’ days” – are not enough?

I don’t see any other profession getting extra days every three months, so why should teachers? The most of the tax payers who pay them, and whose scions they are supposed to teach, do not even get a quarter of the time off for vacation. They seem to have utter contempt for the parents/guardians of their charges, and by extension the students. They already have their education – paid for by the said people whose children they seem bent on depriving of theirs.

Mr. Broomes is concerned that the action may “leave too many children unsupervised”, but they are not the least bit concerned. Barbados must top the list for teacher strikes in the Caribbean – if not worldwide. This situation comes again during the time when students are preparing for exams. Will the BUT and its cohorts be able to alleviate the additional stress being placed on the tax payers who pay them, and on their scions/wards? Will the BUT help pay for the extra lessons for which the parents/guardians will have to pay? I doubt it.

What is the other reason for the strike?

Is that just a red herring for the strike?

I don’t know why so many things in this country are being done covertly!

On the other hand, weapons of any kind do not belong on a school compound, and those who are found with them should be punished. However, it is no excuse for striking if the students were not punished because there are so many things that go unpunished in this country, and no one goes on strike because people are not punished for them. Last year the BSTU and its members played the grand old duke of York and his men, so it seems to be your turn this year. It seems to be nothing but callousness on the part of the teachers and their unions!

For me our children are of paramount importance as they are the most vulnerable in our society, and I have very little sympathy for anyone who wants to deprive them of their education – no matter for what reason. They are an integral part of our society, and some of them are deviant like some adults, so that is no reason to put all of them in the same basket and put stumbling blocks in their way. They are already being deprived of tertiary education by this “people-centred” Government, and now you want to deprive them of their secondary one.

You must remember that you should not put stumbling blocks in children’s way!

I think that teachers should take more responsibility for those whom they are supposed to inculcate with what is set out in the curriculum. Why are you always attacking Mr. Broomes? He seems to be running his school with a tight rein, because before he was appointed principal of the Parkinson Memorial School one used to see many Parkinson students lingering in the Fairchild St. Bus Terminal, at bus stops, and elsewhere. Nowadays that is in the past, so he must be doing something right – perhaps more than some of you who keep haranguing him.

Do good, reap good; do evil, reap evil.” Chinese Proverb

180 comments

• @ ross February 14, 2015 at 11:52 AM
    Think of Bush Tea – every Sunday morning he says “I believe in God the Father…..” and in his heart mutters “brass bowl”.
    Close….
    Actually …every single morning he says “brass bowls – another day of them”
    …and in his heart mutters .“BBE…give Bushie the patience…..”

@ Caswell
    ..stop picking on the CCJ just because they may have erred in their early days. It is a work in progress and so far, they are doing much better than Bushie expected to be honest…
    In any case, why should public officers have such cushy protections? If they get treated unfairly they of all people should know how to access the law courts…

Any top Judge who can consistently say in OFFICIAL JUDGEMENTS what we have been saying here on BU about the Barbados judicial system has Bushie’s respect…..and Sir Dennis Byron seems to be a damn man among men …in his direct judgements against the riff raff we have bout here calling themselves officers of the court…
    Can’t we adopt him ….as CJ?

@ DeeWord
    Boss, you are causing Bushie to seriously consider retiring from this BU blogging business yuh…. and just reading your stuff looking for the occasional typo…

• Mr. Broomes retire when you are good and ready, do not let these teachers who do not want to be governed by any standards force you into early retirement,i have not heard of any students or their parents complain about your style of management, if there are any such complaints someone please enlighten me.

• Never did ac say that during the Mandella and MLK era there was no violence
    my point however was to emphaise that both these men did not advocate violence .so for thise who belive set out to turn history on its head to those ac say poppy cock.
    just go and read the books about these two made who made change but not by any way necessary.

• millertheanunnaki

@ Caswell Franklyn February 14, 2015 at 11:14 AM
    “I hold no brief for Hal Gollop, to be honest, I don’t like him but there is some merit in his reported call to other countries to stay away from the CCJ. They have too little to do to be delivering such shoddy judgments. If their decisions are so poor when they have so few cases to adjudicate, what do you think would happen if and when other countries subject themselves to their inept judgments.”

So Caswell, if in your “judg(e)ment”, the CCJ leaves a lot to be desired in terms of its competence why then did Hal Gollop stop short at only advising the potential Caricom member States to stay away?

Why not go further and advise Barbados to withdraw from the same Court?
    Why should Barbadian litigants continue to run the risks of suffering injustice, incur huge legal costs and undergo shame and indignity from a court deemed defective in the eyes of a losing QC?

Can we expect both QCs to never appear again in a case before this incompetent and biased court? Not even to represent Leroy Parris in any shape of form?

• Miller & Bushie

Our entire legal system leaves a lot to be desired: Parliament is composed of mostly nitwits and consistently violate the Constitution that the members are sworn to uphold; the CCJ a is a good idea gone bad where the court seem to make it up as they go along; the local component of the judiciary is headed by a man who parliament had to amend the law so that he would qualify for the post of Chief Justice, by the way the amendments were not crafted with sufficient precision and he still was not qualified when he assumed office; it is my understanding that we will be losing one of our best judges (Crane-Scott) to the Bahamas; and rumour has it that there will soon be a vacancy on the Court of Appeal and that the DPP is being considered.

All I can say to you is keep away from Whitepark Road unless you are coming to my office.

Liked by 1 person

• DeeWord

Sorry, but I think you’ve totally lost the plot. But…err, Sir, if you can’t take it don’t give it.

Caswell

Oh Christ..,,,,Crane-Scott to go and DPP to come????

Do something

• correction
    yes dee sure did lost the plot .jumping out the stable gate like a jackass without a rider

• you know the more ac think about this dee-doo bird the more i got to lol this poor character got up early this morning strap a pitch fork an decided today valentines day would be a perfect day to tar and feather ac,
    all because ac spoke a historical truth that have been recorded many times over about the great leader of MLK and his advocacy of non violence
    this little dee doo bird went all out to characterize me less than honest however i challenge him (now to show wher i was wrong and how did i misinterpret the historical evedience which claims that MKL was an advocate of violence, right now dee ac is ‘up in your face” go ahead provide the proof that says that MKL was an advocate of violence you can also do the same for Mandella,

• Again here I think the problem may be lack of communication with the teachers. It is not logical to assume that Mr. Broomes has taken no action against these pupils. I am inclined to believe that Mr. Broomes does not see suspension or flogging to be the solution to the problem. Many of our children are growing up in environments where it is normal and even necessary to be armed. They know no other way of surviving. I suspect that Mr. Broomes is applying more creative ways of changing the mindset of these students which he believes will have better results. However, as usual, his teachers have not been privy to his plans and hence….

• Donna

This matter has absolutely nothing to do with discipline of students who bring knives to school. How come the teachers are only fearful of their lives in the morning session? This has everything to do with the teacher’s union flexing their muscles in order that the Government would bribe some of them with promotion.

The paying off of BUT has been responsible for placing some of the worse possible persons being promoted to leadership positions in the education system. About a year ago I wrote to the Public Service Commission pointing out that it would appear that a person has to be a member of the BUT or a Dem or both to be promoted in Education. That more so than anything else is destroying the lives of countless young people in this country but nobody wants to address that aspect.

Liked by 1 person

• @ Caswell
    Obviously you are correct about the role of the teachers’ unions. These are clearly used as pathways to promotion in the Ministry and to political office.
    But who should do something about this? …and what should they do..?

You said that you “wrote to the Public Service Commission”

FOR WHAT?????

What the hell was the point of complaining to this useless bunch of political appointees about a problem with political appointments?

You should have brought this to the public with the FACTS (which you always have – or can get – because you live near a hill where stuff falls off trucks). CITIZENS should then have embarrassed the ass of the lackies appointed, the political pimps who appointed them and DEMANDED that a transparent process be implemented.

You played the ass there…
    ….keeping this information to yourself to be used for “I told you so…” instead of using it up front to ensure justice is done.

Same shiite with the Winton Campbell thing… How many people do you think understand what went down there outside of you, Bushie and David (BU) -who knows every shiite anyway….?
    WHY DID YOU NOT BREAK THE ISSUE DOWN SO PEOPLE UNDERSTOOD WHAT WAS HAPPENING AND PUT THEM IN A POSITION TO EXPRESS CONCERN….?

You need to get out of this ‘union’ role and into the political crusader role that you are MEANT to play….

• @Bush Tea

The word is whistleblower. Caswell does not always have to feel he has to use his name to release information. This applies to the Davis Ellis et al of this world who have publicly admitted they are gatekeepers to info which they cant use on the airwaves but instead sit on it. Then what?

• Correct David.
    In the bad old days we all had the excuses about “sub judice”, about letters to the editor being ‘edited’, about political victimization …. all kinds of excuses NOT to pursue the path of JUSTICE and RIGHT.

Those days are long gone….

As prophesied, what was hidden in the dark shall be shouted from the rooftops (LOL or in this case from Underground) and what was hidden from the wise and the prudent shall be revealed unto babes and sucklings….
    ….as Jacob KM penned it….

• LOL
    Caswell is a special case though.
    His is a call to be the good old time prophet who look you in the face and tell you the truth ….and let the chips fall where they may…. FRIG YOU!!!
    ..even Casewell don’t understand it…
    It is just one of those things…

…like how you David(BU) have been able to do this BU thing for seven years now….

Do YOU understand how you have been able….?

HA HA HA
    BBE IS A BOSS!!!!

• @Bush Tea

Have you read the BUT public announcement in the Sunday Sun buried on page 29A? Couldn’t be bothered to read the BS. Why not post the announcement to its website or Facebook page and let the media pick up the story? They prefer to pay the traditional media $5,000 for the paid advertisement.

What JAs!

• David

I feel that if I am going to say something that is damaging about a person, I should be man enough to let him/her know that I am the person saying it. I am never going to publicly say something knowing it to be untrue. That is why I use my name. Sometimes I have information that is true but I do not have sufficient evidence to prove it so I leave it alone. For example, I had information about ministers driving vehicles owned by a company that does lots of business with their ministries. I said nothing publicly. Do you think that I am Countryside Magazine?

Liked by 1 person

• @ac February 14, 2015 at 10:17 PM.. right now dee ac is ‘up in your face” go ahead provide the proof that says that MKL was an advocate of violence you can also do the same for Mandella”.=============

I did say that you should call me out on any VALID instance where I was inaccurate. This is not one of them. So let’s see if we can establish some ground rules for solid blog confab.

NO STRAW-MEN: Wiki describes that as: a straw man argument … covertly replac[es] [the opponent’s point] with a different proposition and then defeat[s] that false argument instead of the original proposition.

I SPECIFICALLY challenged your original comment that Mandela and King did not create CHAOS. Never questioned the issue of their non-violence style.

BE HONEST: Well this follows from #1. State your case vociferously and proudly and always let your comments be based on facts or at least reasonable beliefs. We can agree to disagree on beliefs but lies and BS will be challenged vigorously.

That’s all really.

So for example, give me a reasonable response on this: “a payment for $3.333m made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates pursuant to an invoice purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters… We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, it was in fact to the benefit of Mr. Parris as partial payment of a “gratuity” “.

Explain to me, no straw-men and with facts or your reasonable beliefs why the transaction was completed in this way. On the face of it what was allegedly done constitutes fraud.

Let the true righteous AC speak candidly.

• @Caswell

People who operate on certain pathways become privy to information and although always not in a position to investigate there is nothing preventing that person from passing the info along to others, offline, to investigate.

• I sense that Caswell is being criticized for being cautious and even handed. I respect him for that and also his courage even in face of what I regard as ‘blind spots’.

Having said that, I mentioned to someone this morning the “rumour” about the DPP. His response was “Oh Lord” which caused me to say I’d used the word “Christ” myself. I am tired of appointments to the magistracy from the pool of prosecutors and ex-policemen on ethical and personal grounds since most of them are arrogant dumb heads who think they’re God Almighty. But to the High Court? And to replace one of our finest Judges?

Perhaps Caswell might speak a little more to this in general terms and without, of course, betraying any confidences. But if he feels he can’t, then so be it. I work on the premise that he knows best.

• @ Ross
    Even this moronic DLP administration must be under pressure to see the back of the DPP by now…
    But… you must know that the DPP won’t be moving from there unless it is to some job with 24 hour police protection…. (recall his recent concerns after the T&T incident…?)

Using the kind of logic that has now become the norm from AC and Froon, we would know that they would be looking resolve this by making him a Judge…

So the rumor is likely correct…
    ..it gets worse and worse….

• Baroness Brenda Browne

WHAT IS BBE ?

• DEE

Of course you have tried moving yourself away from the side of evedience you provided and to attacked me, just to refresh your memory you did accuse me of saying no violence happen during the time MKL and Mandella took on the responsibility of leadership roles, (which i did not say),
    You did however took the liberty of trying to put words in my mouth with your arsenic attacks and intellectual persuasions with purpose to drive me into a cowering position a place that many have tried and failed even your favorite ddoo bird bush tea and his ever sharpened swinging bushwahacker have tried that humungous task with no success
    BE that as it may, again i ask you to provide the empirical evidence where MKL was associated with violence,
    from my understanding i believe there was a lot of violence not associated or demonstrated by him but through other groups and causes attached to the many causes he deemed necessary for change

• Pingback: The Jeff Broomes Affair, Again–What About the Children?

• Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

BBE is Big Boss Engineer (aka GOD) who maded birds bees fishes and trees intelligent design (you cannot see him-her he-she is invisible and everywhere)

AC you should join opposition your skills are needed

• @ac February 15, 2015 at 4:03 PM… just to refresh your memory you did accuse me of saying no violence happen during the time MKL and Mandella took on the responsibility of leadership roles===============

Your political palaver is tiresome. This is what I said:

“There was absolutely EVERYTHING about the fight of Mandela and MLK and all those who worked closely with them that was about upheaval, major disruption of the status quo and in some key areas absolute chaos.”

Clearly you cannot understand that states that MLK and Mandela’s actions DID lead to chaos: upheaval and disruption.

This was in response to your remark: “…study social activist like Mandela l and MLK were able to achieve much without bringing chaos into the midst…”

No need to get into a fruitless waste of time.

So let’s agree that Spanish is your first language and French is mine and neither of us can understand what was written.

Enjoy.

• @ DEE

Clearly you are intent of associating the person MKL with the actions of others
    the usual modus oprandi used by the BU court to convict

Adios

I Rest My Case

• Caswell,

I do not have the inside track only my keen observation of human nature to inform me. I fail to see twenty-five teachers withdrawing their services and risking their pay and positions just to further the cause of maybe one or two union leaders. People are too selfish for that. The origin of this action, I would again suggest, is great discontent with the manner in which Mr. Broomes manages the school. The relationship is so fractured that they are kept in the dark about what he is planning or indeed implementing and though his plans and implementation may prove to be good they are past the point of caring. So that brings us to the leadership of the BUT which may very well be manipulating this discontent for ulterior motives. To say however that the industrial action has nothing to do with teacher concerns, in my humble opinion, is erroneous.

• @Donna

What if the same logic rings true at other schools but the principals are cut from the cloth not to rock the status quo? There is a high level of mediocre performance in the teaching service in Barbados. If the MoE is not prepared to lead the charge who will? How do we provoke change in a archaic and irrelevant system?

• donna your response would never come across on BU as “self thought” and not one of coercion , cause in the way things are played on th BU playing field law and order takes a back seat to one personal cries of despair as in the case of the teachers call for protection

• Bushie,

You can count me along with your esteemed self, Caswell and David as being well aware of the ramifications of the Wynton Campbell case. Caswell is correct that the CCJ ruling was flawed and your support for the ruling is misplaced. There are more than adequate procedures for dismissal of unsatisfactory civil servants. Persons found undeserving of pensions and gratuity can lose these if the procedures are followed. What this ruling does is place deserving civil servants in jeopardy of being removed from office for reasons political and having to wait for years to receive their benefits.

Bushie, do not talk down to me. You won’t find me down there.

• David,

I will have to give your questions some thought and get back to you.

• ac,

Come again? Break it down for me, please.

• We have the tendency in a small insular Barbados to focus on the personalities at the expense of the systematic. Long after Broomes depart, and he is 61, the problems will still be with us.

• @ Donna
    Bushie does just wuk his whacker….
    It don’t aim up or down…. Um is up to you how the sound approach you….
    If you hear the sound coming DOWN…. don’t blame the bushman…. and if you hear it coming UP… much respect from bushie….

Most teachers do what the union says they are to do…. especially Bajan teachers. There are NO polls taken for the union to determine the overall sentiment. A meeting is called….attended by the disgruntled, miserable, vindictive minority, who then vote overwhelmingly that ‘the union’ has a problem.

What you may wish to explain is the number of teachers (and parents and students) who DEFY the union.

WRT the issue of the Winton Campbell case, Bushie is not particularly moved to advocate for persons like senior public servants who are disadvantaged by legislation. This is a case of physician heal thyself….
    shiite man…if they can’t seek justice for themselves it is no wonder that poor bajans see such hell getting services from them.

@ DeeWord
    Skippa, by seriously engaging AC, you are compromising all that you have managed to build here on BU in terms of respect and logic…
    …a word to the wise is enough.
    The ONLY blogger who is able to continuously engage ac successfully is Artaxerxes – who seems to have been cursed with the need to prove over and over that AC is an uncompromising and irretrievable idiot. Of course he does it with such flair that bushie actually looks forward to ac’s contributions so that Artax can take the opportunity to expound…. LOL..
    …Like Dennis J on Brass Tacks…. Ha Ha Ha

Liked by 1 person

• David,

Just a funny thought……suppose we move Jeff Broomes to the Ministry of Education and fast track him to the top. Then all the do nothings would strike and he could make all the decisions, and implement them all before they return. Just kidding! I can dream, can’t I?

Seriously though, still thinking.

• Bushie,

After I put you in your place would you be kind enough to stay there?

• donna in your response to Caswell you have clearly decipher rationality out of the irrational response which Caswell gave as enough reasons for twenty five teachers in coohoots with union representation making a move necessary in seeking self serving positions while neglecting the job they supposed to do.
    my response to you therefore was to point out that your clarity. of response irrespective of coercion would not. be well accepted here on BU such being the case as it obstruct and differentiate

However on another point of interest away from the parkinson issue the masses here on B u have no problem with the Mottley crew absenting themselves from the task of doing the work of the people in the house of parliament even though the matter was given a legal order of no crminality and more oversight
    The reason for the latter response is to underscore how matters here are laid out with purpose to generate favourable response from the masses whose point of views are in agreement .nothing to do with law or rights but selserving attitudes to manipulate

• Bushie,

I have personal knowledge that there was a certain prime minister (long deceased)who concerned himself with the placement of every little officer in every little post. Those in his little black book (DLP supporters) had no chance of receiving even the lowliest of positions. I am not worried so much about senior civil servants who were caught napping with the Wynton Campbell case but with a little creativity it is possible to abolish many middle and lower level posts and create new ones which could easily wreak havoc with the lives of many. All it takes is a few seriously petty people to manipulate this situation. This could result in people being afraid to support the part of their choice.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Bush Tea

You would remember from “times aforetimes”, back in de day, when a new boy move in the district how sometimes dem would get catch out by the village’s known idiot girl or goat and look sharp she “pregelent” or breed and he is de fadder.

Dee Word, bless his soul, is new to BU and is essaying to save the unsalvageable

Dis morning I nearly dead while reading DEM sayin “….my mouth with your arsenic attacks and intellectual persuasions with purpose to drive me into a cowering position a place that many have tried…”

“Arsenic attacks!!!” whuloss brother Bush Tea

I immediately had a vision of “Arsenio” Hall (arsenio/arsenic) with he pooch cock off, placing his posterior in an attacking stance trying to smother Legion!!

Man dat sound like sumting dat de Minister of Eddy Kashun Ronald WeJonesing wud say!!

As Robert Ross might say “a galactical term” was peddled by Legion…

• That’s the “party” of their choice.

• ac,
    That’s what I thought you meant.

• Many of us have come to realize that the ACs sole purpose on BU is to defend the DLP and push that party’s agenda, irrespective of how monstrously they pervert common sense.

They politicize every issue into a scenario of “BLP versus DLP”. This is evidenced by the position they have taken in the Leroy Parris “scandal”, for example. Not one comment in support of or in sympathy with the policy holders, the pensioners or those who lost their savings in the CLICO Balanced Fund.

“ac February 15, 2015 at 3:28 PM # ………. what some of the BLP misfits does not realize that people are not dumb and some see this LP sleigh hammer attack a ways to an end and a way TO DECIMATING GOVT AND A CHASTISEMENT OF SORT FOR PM STUART SUPPORT OF LP…..”

The above statement [with a particular emphasis on the upper cased sentence] is evidence enough to all and sundry to substantiate my opinion.

Essentially, the comments of those persons in support of the CLICO victims and admonishment of Parris and his “related parties” for the roles they played in causing the predicament the victims now find themselves, has been interpreted by this legion of demons as “a ways to an end and a way TO DECIMATING GOVT AND A CHASTISEMENT OF SORT FOR PM STUART SUPPORT OF LEROY PARRIS…..”

As I have stated previously, to them this matter is not about the teachers or students, but an attempt to “engage in political assumptions and perceptions” of Broomes’ character and management style. They want to prove beyond reasonable doubt that Broomes is wrong, so as to justify Stuart’s waste of “tax dollars” by ordering a commission of enquiry into Alexandra.

• @ Donna February 16, 2015 at 9:30 AM #

“I have personal knowledge that there was a certain prime minister (long deceased)who concerned himself with the placement of every little officer in every little post. Those in his little black book (DLP supporters) had no chance of receiving even the lowliest of positions.”

Surely you must agree those actions you described, undertaken by “a certain prime minister (long deceased)” is NOT unique to one political party, as many of us would have knowledge of acts of “political segregation” perpetrated by both DLP and BLP.

I too have personal knowledge of acts of victimization done under both DLP and BLP administrations. For example, during the structural adjustment program of the early 1990s, public sector employees were asked to vote for (or against) the 8% pay reduction in salary.
    Unbeknownst to National Assistance Board employees, this was supposed to be a confidential process. But the board of management, under the chairmanship of Dr. Farley Brathwaite, insisted that the “ballots” be placed in envelopes bearing the names of employees. These ballots were perused by the board members to ascertain who voted for the “8% cut” and who voted against it. Those who voted for the cut retained their jobs, while those who voted against were included in the retrenchment process.

Jobs, promotions and educational opportunities were reserved only for members of the DLP or individuals who lived in constituencies represented by the DLP. A similar practice was undertaken by NAB’s Housing Welfare Program, which saw housing being repaired or welfare houses being granted, specifically, to those senior citizens, the poor and indigent who lived in DLP constituencies.

As you rightfully stated, these actions resulted “in people being afraid to support the part of their choice.”

I denounce such practices, because whether a person supports the Barbados Labour PARTY, Democratic Labour PARTY, Barbados United PARTY, People’s Empowerment PARTY or even the PARTY Monarch Finals (all is PARTY), every Barbadian has the right, if they are eligible and meet the requirements, to receive any assistance offered by the state.

• @ Donna
    Sweet heart ..feel free to put Bushie in his place…..Just remember that BBE has already done so….. 🙂 …so good luck with dat!!

Don’t you think that Bushie is well aware of the various tactics used by politicians to put their yardfowls in place in the public service …and to hamstring those who refuse to kowtow to their whims and fancies?

The solution is NOT to create cushy “politician-proof” positions, but to ensure that MEN WITH BALLS take up such positions in the first place. If the shiite-hounds who fill these positions can’t even defend the integrity of their OWN positions how can they POSSIBLY protect the interests of ordinary Bajans?

Do you think any politician …ANY ONE AT ALL….could continue in office with the lotta shiite we have been having in Barbados if a few Permanent Secretaries were to STAND UP FOR RIGHT?

..EVERY ONE of our PS’s knows of the underhand contracts being awarded.
    ..EVERY ONE knows about the Bridgetown Marina scam
    ..They ALL must know that CAHILL is a daylight robbery
    ..All know that the deal with Bizzy on desalination is a ripoff…
    …and that the shiite tax is but a scam to get more money to Bizzy (who admits to bribing the politicians)

NOT A BOY SAYS A SHIITE!!! (probably because most are “girls” who are PURE ‘YES-WOMEN’….and the rest are complicit in the shiite….

We don’t need protected positions….. WE NEED MEN.

Our fore parents had no “protected positions”….. many did not even have full formal education, …yet they were able to rise above all that and to build a society that attracted the admiration of the world.

….now your “highly educated” and “protected”, eunuch-grade public servants are presiding over the sale of the national silver accumulated by those MEN and WOMEN……

steupssss….

Liked by 1 person

• Artaxerxes
    Voting at election time is supposed to be ‘secret’ but to the unwary,it is far from secret and the EBC is part of the sham.They allow 2 individuals to sit in the voting booth and the official actually tells voters to show your ballot to these 2 party hacks.From the location of the X it can be seen which candidate was voted for so that during the voting process these 2 can notify their camp how the outcome is shaping up and whether a candidate need to spend more grantleys or give away more smartphones etc.Is this democratic?More banana republic style.

• artexeres if you call hyperbole and the act of casting a small net to catch big fish so be it .your persumptious statement of stating that ac,s have not been sympatheti c fliesin the face of ridiculous with anotherbold faced lie
    The fact being that ac have outlined a strategy formed on justice solely that woiuld compensate and deliver justice
    Unlike u and others who have escalated an opinion with the hope of whipping up frenzy. For what it is worth how does applying pressure to one source recoup the millions of policyholders

• We understand teachers have returned to work but the BUT awaits on the MOE. WHY THE STRIKE.

On Monday, 16 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• ac February 16, 2015 at 12:00 PM #

“Unlike u and others who have escalated an opinion with the hope of whipping up frenzy. For what it is worth how does applying pressure to one source recoup the MILLIONS OF POLICYHOLDERS…”

Are you suggesting to Barbadians that by commenting and seeking justice on behalf of those Barbadians who invested in insurance policies, pension plans and their life savings in the CLICO Balanced Fund, and subsequently had to forfeit their investments due to financial improprieties undertaken by Leroy Parris and his “related parties”, I “and others have escalated an opinion with the hope of whipping up frenzy”?

“For what it is worth”, can any member of the consortium present any evidence to substantiate they have made comments expressing some level of sympathy for the CLICO policy holders?

Your comments are just as insensitive as you are. But then again, what should we expect from someone who asked BU to explain why the Judicial Manager did not intervene in the CLICO matter between 2004 and 2007.

• my insensitivies lies on those who have perched themselves high on the window sill looking for a polictical outcome latching themselves on to the victims of Clico who is deserving of better representation and not having to be caught up in a political sideshow whose interest will benefit a few. my advice to you star witness is that you better get this political game right

• millertheanunnaki

@ Artaxerxes February 16, 2015 at 1:23 PM
    “Your comments are just as insensitive as you are. But then again, what should we expect from someone who asked BU to explain why the Judicial Manager did not intervene in the CLICO matter between 2004 and 2007.

To ac the consortium:
    The above comment will be forever etched in the BU annals as the statement of the greatest folly ever made. Your intellectual capacity will forever be blown out of the water.
    You, ac & co, are going to never live that one down. Every comment you have subsequently made or will make from hereon will be laughed at as the ramblings of the biggest joker in cyberspace.

Your days are numbered, ac. And like King Belshazzar you will always be associated with the portent: “Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin.”
    You have gambled against the angel of honesty and fair play and have lost completely what little intellectual fortune came your way.
    Not even Lord god Fumble can save your sorry ass from disgrace. But you can always “get a lawyer”.

Liked by 1 person

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Artaxerxes

Have you in your lifetime heard of anyone, in Bulbados that is, teaching Calculus successfully to a 3 year old?

I have found with Legion that it is best to simplify things or they cant understand

So Legion, here goes

A doctor is examining a patient with a suspect case of appendicitis akin to the Judicial Managers “examining” the CLICO matter.

During the examination a nurse comes in and sees the patient and has reason to admire the lovely appendage.

The nurse is the equivalent of the political detractors who while theirs is understandably not the focus of doctor, use the occasion to eye the man’s appendage lovingly or in this case as you are so intent to highlight, the fact that political interest seek to get mileage out of the CLICO incident for their own goals.

What several commentators here have been seeking to point out to you, oh slothful of thought, is that the “main issue” is the appendix/CLICO and while others are focussed on the man’s private parts Leroy Paris and his “relationships”, the appendix, the CLICO fiasco, where “insurance policies, pension plans and their life savings in the CLICO Balanced Fund” have been obliterated/squandered and otherwise disposed of by Parris et al and forms the substantive issue at hand.

Son and Successor of Xerxes, Artaxerxes and the Sage and others here, while they can accept the fact that it is in the interest of certain factions to highlight this matter, for political benefit, have tirelessly sought to point out to you that what is at issue here is the appendix – the shareholders and investors and the discommoded in this Ponzi Scheme, and not your beloved Fumble of Leroy is not a leper, but my friend.

I know that with this simplification you will be able to understand it better BUT will still persist in your path as in “a fool convinced against her will, is of the same opinion still…”

• Just imagine.

A person works for 40 years and during that time makes a rational decision to contribute to a policy that will make his/her retirement manageable.

Then because of the actions of others there is no money to pay their pension.

What if there is a medical emergency?

Why should anyone be punished for doing the right thing?

It is easy to deal with problems you bring on yourself but when others cause you pain it is intolerable.

Let us not forget the real victims in this debacle caused by greed and treachery.

• @Hants

A human view and then they are others who see just the political.

• a reasonable rational view also

• How convenient for you to mention people “who have perched themselves high on the window sill looking for a political outcome latching themselves on to the victims of Clico who is deserving of better representation and not having to be caught up in a political sideshow whose interest will benefit a few.”

Was BIPA’s president, June Fowler, “deserving of better representation and not having to be caught up in a political sideshow whose interest will benefit a few”, when Chris Sinckler, during a political meeting held in February 2013 at Clevedale, Black Rock, St. Michael, said Fowler was as “ignorant as his bald pooch cat? Were you not on BU commending Sinckler for his actions, while at the same time condemning Fowler?

However, despite your usual rhetorical party political diatribe, you have not provided any evidence to substantiate you expressing sympathy for the CLICO policy holders.

My being consistent in effortlessly highlighting your “monstrous perversion of common sense”, is actually becoming quite boring.

• pieceuhderockyeahright February 16, 2015 at 3:33 PM #

“………… while they can accept the fact that it is in the interest of certain factions to highlight this matter, for political benefit, have tirelessly sought to point out to you that what is at issue here is the appendix – the shareholders and investors and the discommoded in this Ponzi Scheme, and not your beloved Fumble of Leroy is not a leper, but my friend.”

Well said, POTRYR. I agree and endorse your comments. Rather than focus on the financial improprieties perpetrated by Leroy and “related parties”, these AC individuals prefer to politicize EVERY ISSUE on BU into to DLP versus BLP scenario.

Quite frankly, “for what it is worth”, after making the following contribution, I think the members of the AC consortium should take a break from BU, and perhaps use the time re-focus:

“ac February 10, 2015 at 7:11 AM # : Question Where were the JM managers between the years of 2004 and 2007 when Clico was failing to live up to their statutory arrangements , It is truly amazing how the JM seem to exempt self from their role of negligence in the Clico collapse but have used the Houdini method in pursuit of justice…”

A monstrous perversion of common sense.

Surely we now have an idea what gives “Fumble Froon” the inspiration to develop such phrases as “sanctimonious hypocrites” or “monstrous perversion of common sense”? Obviously he has been reading AC’s contributions on BU.

• Artax to be fair to AC, this is like a boxing bout with a determined but clearly over matched opponent.

You knock his backside to the canvass sometimes so hard that we at ring-size cringe ourselves from the blow.

But determined he is and up he gets time after time.

As lethal a puncher as you are I suspect he is getting some performance enhancements every time he goes back to his corner.

So, I don’t think you can put him down for the full count and he will hang around to the end of time until we can get an independent official in there to put a stop to the stimulants.

He is imbibing heavily of that political joy juice; he refuses to separate fact from folly and thus constantly leaves his stupidity exposed.

So good sir, pulverize him mercilessly.

We should never brutalize senseless animals but sentient adults who should know better deserve whatever they get.

• so what do you think that a flaw in my comment can deter me from exposing the gawd awful truth upon which the BLP yardfowls has sat high in judgement to villify and execute by use of opportune time as one of seeking justice for the millions of policy holders Artexeres you can pull as many flaws as you want about ac, however the biggest flaw gonna happen when the BLP yardfowls failed in their endeavors to deliver the justice that say is necessary for the policyholders to be compensated on that ac await with baited breath, do not count chickens before thy hatch yuh hear, like dee say it is hard to knock a good person to the ground, so home boy keep trying ac always get the last laugh,

and dee i laughing at you btw you still doing the research to show ac that MKL was associated with violence, n HEE HEEE HEE!

• No sir, no further research needed. I closed that out last time around.

And this is another flaw in your comments:”like dee say it is hard to knock a good person to the ground’.

Sorry bro, never said any such thing. But I did suggest it’s hard to knock a cheating drug stimulated AC down. Nothing good about you.

You are just drugged up and thus in your impaired state you are continually displaying your awesome ability to mis-read, mis-lead and mistake basic facts and details.

That remark: “Where were the JM managers between the years of 2004 and 2007…” was not flawed commentary but a clear indication that you are completely out of your depth.

Absolute and impressive stupidity.

That was not a case of you taking the exam and getting the answer partially wrong. Brother, the exam was in January you turned up in April to take it.

You just didn’t know what you were doing. Sorry, but it manifests itself often with you.

And you want me to tussle with you re another of your brain freezes re MLK. I don’t think so.

I’ll leave you to Artax. Enjoy your joy juice!

Liked by 1 person

• Donna, how about that former minister of tourism from the right of evil, who used pay big dollars fah he votes? But I in gine call naa name though becausing I ting yaa know who I mean aa ready.

• so whatever ac will press on to expose the blp flaw in underestimating the intelligence of bajans who knows that BLP intentions in reference to Clico is far removed from the better interest of the policyholder . ac remember MIA stood up badly and said six years ago that she would do whatever necessary to find a solution like a misfired rocket she did nothing, however she left the clean up job for the yardfowls who now have pick up the gauntlet and proceed with one intention purposefully and forcefully to deceive the policyholders that their best interest would be served by catching small fry, a bunch of hypocrites,

and dee stay on what matters most ac await your proper timing and report card on my next comment,

• Artaxerxes,

I merely used the example with which I was personally familiar. This does not mean I believe that the DLP is free from any such behaviour. I was attempting to point out how the ruling in the Wynton Campbell case could be used by any government as a political tool to further control the civil servants in a partisan way.

• Bushie,

No, you haven’t scared me off. You’d need a bigger and more powerful whacker for that!

Sometimes you stray out of the place assigned to you by the BBE. I was merely putting you back in that place. Sometimes you forget that you belong down here with us fallible mortals and assign to yourself all-seeing and all-knowing powers.

I have known many teachers, my father, his friends, my former school mates, my son’s teachers, as a matter of fact I have even been one myself and I am yet to meet one who is so disgruntled or stupid to follow a union in the manner you described. This is not to say that they do not exist but it seems that all of them have been assigned first to the Alexandra School and then to the Parkinson Secondary.

I repeat – even if there is a political agenda manipulating the concerns of these teachers, the fact remains that they do have concerns. Even though I do not share those concerns about Mr. Broomes’ competence in dealing with the students I have to acknowledge that teachers have a right to be concerned and to have those concerns addressed.

As for the rest of your submission – I’ll be back to deal with that later. I suggest you put away your whacker or you might just hurt yourself.

• Donna

How do you account for the fact that over 800 teachers were misled into attending a meeting on the first day of school for the children? Their stated reason for withdrawing their labour that day was that they did not want to disrupt the schools. The teachers are being led mindlessly around by misinformation that is design by the BUT to create a situation where Government would bribe some or all of them with promotion to achieve industrial peace in the schools. It has worked in the past.

• key word +spin= design

Bring the proof ,,Prophet

• Next unrest looming, BAMP and the QEH.

• Caswell,

My experience of the first morning of school was that it took a while to get the children settled. Teachers missing the first morning of school would not have caused any real disruption.

• “create mischief” and misled with a design by the BUT to position self for appointments

the above excerpts were taken from a diary of a madman

• millertheanunnaki

@ David February 17, 2015 at 8:15 AM

Unrest looming what.
    BAMP is just the medical equivalent of BIPA & June Fowler.
    A bunch of selfish cowards easily fooled by the current deceitful lying pompous administration.

Watch and see what will take place. Another set of empty promises by the moribund Minister of Health, backed by the post mortem specialist PM and confirmed by the pathological lying Minister of Finance, similar to what was recently said to the terminally ill CLICO pensioners and policyholders. “The financial morphine dependent QEH will get a big injection of funds in a few days and certainly before the end of the current financial year”.

After these comforts and grandiose commitments to putting the QEH back to sound financial health the BAMP fools will again fall in line and return to rest in its sick bed of comatose silence.

• millertheanunnaki

@ ac February 17, 2015 at 8:47 AM

Nobody is paying you any mind.
    Why don’t you operate within your job description’s realm of ignorance and intellectual pay grade?

Go and cuss BAMP for creating the problems at the QEH and putting the lives of Bajans in jeopardy. It’s never your dear loving party’s fault. Always looking for a scapegoat for the antics of a bunch of monkeys playing at running a government.
    Everything you guys have tried to manage has turned out to be infected with a dangerous level of pathogens killing the body politic called Barbados.

Why don’t you guys just give up and call it a day? I am sure something can be worked out to ensure your pension entitlements are not negated.

• Bushie,

When you refuse to acknowledge statements that I have so clearly articulated I realize that you are trying to dilute my argument. Again I say that I am not overly concerned with senior civil servants who, I agree, should be able to defend themselves and should even have a nest egg to see them through to the next job or until they are vindicated in the justice system. I am concerned with lowlier members of the civil service who could be left floundering through no other cause but political mischief.

I am a woman, so I don’t have “balls” but what I do have is an honest nature which does not allow me to kowtow to any human being. So, fear of losing a position and my benefits never stopped me but then again I have a safety net called “my family” who wouldn’t allow my child to suffer. So who really knows what I would do without that safety net?

I am saying to you Bushie, that it is very dangerous not only for the government to be able to hire along party lines but now to abolish posts and effectively dismiss along party lines without fear of the immediate expense of gratuities and pensions. In the wrong hands this would be a very dangerous tool. That is double jeopardy!

There are procedures for ridding the civil service of unsatisfactory civil servants. These procedures should be followed. As a leader of my former union once informed us – “All the people have to do is follow the procedures, fully document the procedures followed and there would be nothing that we could do for you. So go to work early and regularly and do the people’s work.”

Bushie there are civil servants who care about their jobs and try to do a good one. Sometimes they are frustrated by inefficient systems and sometimes they are frustrated by small-minded bosses. Sometimes they are frustrated by political interference. These civil servants should not be in jeopardy of being cast aside at age fifty-five without pension or gratuity. They could easily lose their house through no fault of their own. Do you know how hard it is for a woman to find a decent job at age fifty-five?

We all know that the current system is broken. We all know the hiring process should be more stringent. If you can fix that then Bushie, please go ahead. But sometimes Bushie, the right person happens to be placed in the right post and these are the people for whom I am concerned. These people who are appointed to the civil service do not pay into the unemployment fund and therefore do not even get unemployment benefit. I stand to be corrected but don’t think they are entitled to severance pay from the NIS either. Pension and gratuity would have been their only benefits. Caswell, will correct me if I’m wrong.

Stop whacking indiscriminately Bushie, control that whacker before you end up whacking yourself.

• @Miller

The QEH continues to challenge all comers B and D.

• @miller FYI ” paying ac no attention”what a lark couldn,t. careless ac does not eat off nobody table is not sitting looking for govt assistance! handouts!concessions or whatever freebies needed to survive so what is your problem sir you seem to be still snorting from the bashing you endure from last election now with little or if any issues related to rebuilding the economy you have joined forces with the B u kangaro court on escalating verbal abuse on ac. just for the record and you can check with the judge for clarification the same war of words were launched againsta ac but in the end ac came out triumphant.so bro sledge away all u like it will be the final product that counts.
    In the meanwhile bring something to table that would rebuild your economy.leave ac out not going to help

• Please forgive my typos in the last submission.

• Yet again BU calls for some of you to button heads on the issues and avoid the gutter of personal exchanges. It can’t be because it is intellectually stimulating.

• miller people of your ilk like the Caswells pour gasoline on the system however when the system does not bypass its laws to accomadate and single out favourtism towards yourself the very laws that are in place all of a sudden should be done away forthwith .listening to caswellthe great pontificator a couple days seeking discourse while engaing the public as to why he should be given a pass to extract sibling personnel information without proper verification is another reason barbados. is still consider a banana republic because it seems every one musy have and write their
    own laws
    It seems as if some would prefer it that way having a sytem that can automatically allow or disallow at the drop of a hat

• @ Donna

First thing is that we don’t do typos and grammar here on BU…. so no need to apologize….

Second is that your concerns are clear and well understood.
    HOWEVER, all the concerns you raised ALSO exists in the private sector. The reality is that bosses can also be nasty and vindictive if they want to be…

They can give preference to their family and friends; they can be spiteful as shiite to employees who don’t kowtow to their whims…
    Severance pay has been reduced to practically nothing…
    Pension age has been raised until after you die…
    ..same shiite as with the public service….
    How many people have been dismissed from the public service for cause? (except for Winton)
    Steupsss ….
    All we see from these public servants and teaching service people is them complaining and griping over petty selfish issues….
    imagine that stupid BUT union gone on strike for four half-days, and then gone back to work as if nothing had happened, ….and in fact nothing happened…..talking shiite bout he has a tradition to follow….

All those teachers’ asses should be sent long home for a breech of common sense…

What protection what?!?
    …does the Auditor General have more protection than everyone else? He seems to call a spade a damn spade every year…..

You won’t get any sympathy from Bushie on this…. NO ONE FIRES A PRODUCTIVE AND ENGAGED EMPLOYEE, and even if they did, such employees will succeed even better elsewhere…..protection is for sheep and rabbits….we need lions and tigers in our public service.

• Bushie,

I am not looking for sympathy as I retired early and received my benefits.

I beg to differ on that “Nobody fires a productive and engaged employee thing” Small-minded people are capable of anything. Some people want you not only to be engaged and productive but also to kiss their behinds and join them in dishonesty. It all depends on their agenda.

That severance pay which you term as next to nothing if handled properly provides a cushion until the worker can figure out what next to do. So does unemployment benefit. There is an emotional response to losing one’s job. There is a period of adjustment to new circumstances. Being out in the cold at fifty-five with no such buffer is hard.

I have a cousin who left the civil service where she was considered conscientious and efficient. She quickly got work in the private sector. Unfortunately each time she got settled the companies she worked for changed domicile and closed their offices in Barbados. They all wrote sparkling recommendations for her which were well- deserved but at the age of fifty it seemed everybody was looking for young blood.

Bushie, you are too harsh you need to see the human side.

As for the teachers’ strike – I never agreed that they should strike but I still believe they have concerns which need to be addressed. Unfortunately the leadership of the BUT may not be the ones to properly articulate those concerns in a manner that will be conciliatory instead of combative. And the Ministry of Education….. well enough said.

As for Jeff Broomes, I hope he starts his own school or at least an after school programme to help these children. As Deeword said, he should be able to attract sponsorship. I would donate my services free to help in whatever capacity he sees fit. Somebody has to try with these children.

• harsh and unrealistic the same type of domineering and controlling effect Broomes dishes out to grown ups whom he does not treat as his equal
    In the real world that kind of bombastic attiude is challenged and stamped rejected

• Donna

Your comments at 9:18 a.m. are absolutely on point. There’s nothing for me to correct. Do not waste your time arguing with Bushie, he is starting to sound like “ac”.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s