BU posted the blog Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam earlier this month. Today local media reported that the police has taken a man into custody for questioning. The latest development follows and earlier report that a key person of interest in the car scam investigation was allowed to leave the island. BU cannot confirm or deny if the person taken into custody today is the bagman (Rodney Wilkinson) of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

Of interest to BU is why the sudden interest to prosecute the individual at the centre of the car scam involving Globe and Nassco at this time. BU has been made to understand this is not the first time financial institutions in Barbados have been ‘taken’ by this prominent individual. Also BU is interested to know why all the supporting actors who colluded with the prominent individual have been allowed to go free. Yes, we want to see ‘nailed’ the big fish BUT all those players at the financial institutions, government licensing authority and the third party entity that supplies financial institutions with the service of searches of bills of exchanges need to be investigated and prosecuted as well. As prominent as the former bagman is he was not able to perpetuate fraud by his lonesome. There obviously has been deep collusion between several players to have been able to perpetrate a scam of this magnitude.

A reaction to the unravelling car scam Minister of Transportation and Works (MTW) Michael Lashley announced on the weekend that a shake up at the Barbados Licensing Authority is in the offing. To quote a local newspaper, “Lashley explained that he was shocked to discover that all a person needed to license a vehicle in Barbados for use on the road for a year was a cover note from an insurance company, which usually provided insurance coverage for one month”.

He went to assure Barbadians in the same report, “I have made it clear that that is not good enough and I will be meeting very shortly with the chief licensing officer and the staff of the Barbados Licensing Authority to bring an end to this dangerous situation”. If Lashley’s reported reaction was not so serious it would have evoked a hilarious reaction from the BU househould. Does ANYBODY believe Minister Lashley read he did not know the process for licensing a vehicle in Barbados? What about the public servants/technocrats who work in the MTW? This is all one big black eye for our hardworking public officers, police, law makers, DPP, politicians and others.

We wait to observe the outcome of the case which is not a first for the bag man.

161 responses to “Arthur’s Bagman May Slip the Noose, AGAIN!”

1. Breaking News

A developing story, police are at this time at Dodds prison where they have in their custody, former PM Owen Arthur, who was caught trying to free his buddy Rodney Wilkinson.

More as this story develops….

2. REALY fractured blp
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT ARTHUR WENT UP TO DODDS TO PULL OFF A JAIL BREAK AS THEY DO IN WESTERN MOVIES?

3. Come to think of it where are the god DLP lawyers?

Don’t tell me that the lawyers in Barbados are affraid of what may be a difficult case?

When Marlon Gordon went to court on a relatively minor accusation a few weeks ago the Nation newspaper reported that “he was was flanked by several attorneys.”

And now that it is Rodney’s turn to appear before the court all of the Bajans are scarce? And Rodney has just a young Jamaican to represent him?

Cuhdear man!!!!!!

4. You are such a liar Fractured BLP.

5. A few weeks ago I read on Yahoo News a report that a CEO of a Wall Street firm was diagnosed with mouth cancer.The article named the CEO and reported that it was caused by his cunnilingus habit.

6. Cunnilingus of itself cannot cause cancer, but cunnilingus or fellatio with a partner who has herpes or any sexually transmitted disease is a very bad thing.

But Brother Georgie Porgie is the resident medical expert so I won’t overstep my bounds.

7. Simple Simon……were you there?

8. Simple Simon
    Factors that can increase the risk of mouth cancer include:

Tobacco use of any kind, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing tobacco and snuff, among others
    Heavy alcohol use
    Excessive sun exposure to the lips
    A sexually transmitted virus called human papillomavirus (HPV)

If you consider these together………..well you can see what is likely

9. Mia firing of Maria Agard Avatar
    Mia firing of Maria Agard

GP You concocted that formula specially with Mia Mottley in your thoughts or it is for real ?

10. Oh Maria etc. Surely you know that tobacco, excessive alcohol, excessive sun, and HPV are well known cancer triggers…it has nothing to do with Mia Mottley…these triggers were around long before Mia was born, and will be around long after she s dead.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | September 29, 2014 at 10:25 PM |
    “Simple Simon……were you there?”

Can we safely conclude that you Fractured were there, up front and centre.?After all, where there are males you love being right in the midst of them all. Your voyeurism knows no bounds especially when the prisoners are having a shower.
    Arthur might be there to spring his old gambling buddy because he is a straight guy and can do nothing bent while banged up.

But can we vouch for a similar reaction from Sonny Pookie Parris if Fumble was to fall asleep and Greenverbs find himself entering those walls of shame?
    We are of the view that Greenverbs would be the first prisoner in history to be forcibly ejected by his bare buttocks from prison for overstaying his time of incarceration.
    Prison, especially at public bathing times, would be like heaven on earth.
    He is one Mother F*** who wouldn’t have to die to go there.

Why don’t you leave poor OSA alone? The man has given up the political ghost awaiting apotheosis in the form of a knighthood from Fumble.
    Let political dead dogs remain buried or are you going to refute Donville Inniss’s plea of expecting the DLP government to look after him from conception to resurrection?
    Go and, under one of your many pseudonyms, attack Mia or even Prodigal.
    You know the miller can take anything including the 3 inch screwdriver you have to offer.

12. @Fractured BLP September 29, 2014 at 10:25 PM “Simple Simon……were you there?”

Cunnilingus with a healthy consenting partner is completely harmless, and deeply pleasurable.

Goodnight Fractured.

13. “Having a Prime Minister as a friend is a real, real good thing” BASING
    MY COMMENT ON YOUR ANALOGY, THEN HAVING THE PM AS A FRIEND HAS BEEN OF NO BENEFIT TO MR PARRIS OTHERWISE HIS KID WOULD HAVE HAD THE CHOICE OF EITHER SQUEENS COLLEGE OR HARSUN COLLEGE.

14. Wilkinson has to bask at Dodds for another week because he missed getting on the bail hearings this week.

15. ” One of their favourites was ”
    “KEEP THEY HANDS FORM PICKING AND STEALING AND THEY TONGUE FORM SPEAKING GUILE”

But nabady nowadays don’t mind such things”
    Though noble in content we know now that was designed to keep poor and black people in check and were not applicable to the rich or white folk. Rich and white people were prospering off ill-gotten gains in respectable comfort during those times.

16. wait the BLP yardfowls still hanging on by a wing and a pray to leroy parris coat tails, wunna need to stop it,,wuna got plenty thieving skeletons in wunna closet, still 75thousand unaccounted for from the former PM and runaway child OSA also mia accused of stealing money from the BLP treasury, wunna really need to stopit! start looking for real issues that gonna help win the next election,

Hi prodigal see u on the ball again reading and keeping up with ac,,, LIAR time to eat uh prunes yuh still constipated and full a sh,t hav a nice day

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | September 30, 2014 at 5:27 AM |

Come on balance, don’t you think that would have been a clear case of putting square pegs of idiocy into round educational holes of stupidity.
    Thank goodness meritocracy has moved on from the 1920’s Barbados.

Based on their screening test performance those kids of Le Roi de CLICO would have been assigned to the third gang to pick pond grass if Freundel had his way of allocating people back to the cane fields.

Who says Greenverbs is the real ‘rear’ daddy? Sperm donation is a common practice among the pretentiously rich and ignorant.
    How would you expect to get a sugar apple of intelligence from a bitter lemon of stupid sperm. There is only one case of such an event when Mother Nature was sleeping on the job and that is with the unique breeding of that moron called our ubiquitous ac of BU fame and folly.

18. Gabriel

You wrote:

A few weeks ago I read on Yahoo News a report that a CEO of a Wall Street firm was diagnosed with mouth cancer.The article named the CEO and reported that it was caused by his cunnilingus habit.

All of that could have been avoided if he gargled with Listerine or some similar product. You should not go to sleep and leave the bacteria to fester. Mind you, I should say, so I am told. LOL!

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn | September 30, 2014 at 9:47 AM |

Caswell the local distributors of “Listerine” would be proud of you for promoting their product pro bono (gratis).

I would be more generic in my recommendation and just suggest ‘Hydrogen Peroxide’ for better effect.
    This is advice is coming from a old-timer (retired) for an aficionado of cunnilingus . LOl!!

You see where the word ‘cunt’ or Bajan ‘cunny’ derives from?

20. And now that it is Rodney’s turn to appear before the court all of the Bajans are scarce? And Rodney has just a young Jamaican to represent him?
    Cuhdear man!!!!!!..
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Do not forget that it was a Jamaican who represented Myrie ,against the legal brains of Barbados ,and won,

21. Thanks Miller. I am never out of hydrogen peroxide. Now I know of another usage. In case I ever need it for that purpose, I am in your debt. LOL!

22. All of that could have been avoided if he gargled with Listerine or some similar product. You should not go to sleep and leave the bacteria to fester. Mind you, I should say, so I am told. LOL!
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    True story. A guy after performing the above asked the girl for a glass of water, presumably to wash it down, “Who ? she asked, “not in one of ma muddah clean glasses!”

23. Blue Boy

So what did you do?

24. In another blog the Miller asked What would happen to Barbados if there is an outbreak of some epidemic that could result in the foreign suppliers not wanting to send processed food to Barbados because of uncertainty of payment in forex or through fears of the spread of the contamination.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    And according to Simple Simon
    Bajan men will always have something to eat

Simple Simon | September 29, 2014 at 11:54 PM |
    Cunnilingus with a healthy consenting partner is completely harmless, and deeply pleasurable.

Goodnight Fractured.

25. Colonel Buggy@ 9.59am
    What best legal brains you talking ’bout.The 3 peddle Ford?He and Fumble can hold hands any day.And God help Her Brittanic Majesty if she had to rely on either of them two QC’s for representation.I would prefer Caswell or Dennis Johnson any day.

26. Credit Union Watcher Avatar
    Credit Union Watcher

OK. I get it. Leroy. Rodney. But I still want to know what is happening at Barbados’ largest credit Union. The Financial Services Commission needs to tell us what is happening there. Former Directors and Managers are fleecing Bajans of millions. They using credit cards, extravagent and frequent first class travel, ultra-expensive hotels and consultants who must pay directors to be consultants. The going rate is anywhere from 10 to 20%. Now there are about sixty-thousand bajans getting fleeced by this credit union. There is a PM involved – PAUL no less. But he too has friends in high places. And he pays them well too.

27. Ironically, there are some REAL ISSUES, if kept in the public domain for continual scrutiny, would surely cause the DLP to lose the next elections.

Let’s examine a few:

1) Promising public sector employees, prior to the February 2013 general elections, that not one would be sent home, and by December 13, 2013 the MoF and the PM announced that 3,000 workers would be retrenched;
    2) Waiting until December 31, 2013 to abruptly terminate employees of the Drainage Unit;
    3) Six months after laying-off public sector employees, they are still awaiting severance payments;
    4) Lowe’s inability to deal with the garbage collection problem;
    5) Students having to pay UWI tuition fees, especially against the background that those retrenched individuals have not been paid severance and their children are unable to attend university,
    6) Continued failure of the implemented economic policies, which was also identified by the Governor of the Central Bank;
    7) Lack of confidence in the economic policies by private sector organisations;
    8) Island being consistently downgraded even after the government said their economic policies are working;
    9) Lack of investor confidence in the economy;
    10) Failure to introduce freedom of information legislation and code of conduct for members of parliament.

There are many more that can be mentioned.

28. Excellent post , Artaxerxes. maybe David can use this as a separate post!

Add no privatization, 500 houses/ spots in 500 days, 40% of all contracts to small black men to the list.

29. @ Credit Union Watcher | September 30, 2014 at 10:27 AM |

Was the person being spoken about in Pudding and Souse the grand old duke of york who went to the sleeping giant begging for a diplomatic posting? Ha ha ha!

How could the sleeping giant be so ungrateful after all the unions did to prop up this wicked incompetent government? The unions sided with the DLP and sold out its workers and this is the thanks he got. But look how the priest who told all and sundry that he was done with the dems…….got the big pick to St James court. He hardly did anything of substance…….. only brought shame to the government and which caused the QEH to pay off hefty sums to the big up doctors in the QEH blow up.

Serve every union leader right. The only time we will see the unions representing their members is when the BLP forms the government.

30. Credit Union Watcher Avatar
    Credit Union Watcher

@ Prodigal Son |

Not “Union”, “CREDIT UNION”. If you are a member your money is being burned by Directors and Managers who use it like it is theirs. As fir the proposed Credit Union Bank. COB and BWU Credit Unions at least understand it is just another pork barrel for the credit union fat cats to feed off. it would be another Board. More Board fees. Maxed out credit cards. Lavish dinners attendance at more bankers meetings in more numbers than any other bank and a failure waiting for its day.

31. Negro .the one with that. socalled shopping list of missteps by the Dlp. them not going to help Blp win the next election.no dic head it is all counter productive and plays well in the yarffowl dance hall.just watch

32. The Trinidad Express carried a story on Sunday that a 3 yr old West Fort Lauderdale Hotel and Residences one of Duprey’s (of Clico) funded 346 room hotel and 171 condo hotel(maybe this this should be called a condotel)was sold for TT$234 million.But wait for the tsumani! Cost of construction was a whopping US$430million that’s about TT$2.7billion!!!!
    Look how the politicians allow a naive public to be duped by the well connected.
    On the other hand ,seeing that the acting Commissioner of Police is not making sport having ordered the arrest of a prominent businessman and now having a traffic cop up before the magistrates(bajan ha’ee up)for doing what is a regular occurrence in Guyana and Trinidad with their heavy bobol influence of the Indos(they call it baksheesh,both words and habit unknown to Barbados)we will see how long it takes the said Commissioner to connect the dots leading to the leperous friend of the Fumble.Or maybe he will make a public announcement calling for the court to meet and determine the case of the promotions made by the former Commissioner and those of the Dean of the St Michael’s Cathedral wearing his other hat of deputy chairman of the PSC.Commissioner will need the extra hands and support won’t he.
    Btw is there any truth in the story that the Rev Guy Hewitt has already put out feelers for a part time curacy at Westminster Abbey or is it St Paul’s
    Cathedral.If true,let’s hope for an increase in FDI and Tourism receipts out of the UK and dare we hope for the abolition of the APD to Barbados at least.Ross.let us pray for wisdom and understanding.These are weighty matters too high for us Robbie Rass.

33. @ ac
    Please go back to St john Church yard,look for David , and ask for a REBOOT ,

34. Prodigal Son

You wrote:

Excellent post , Artaxerxes. maybe David can use this as a separate post!

Add no privatization, 500 houses/ spots in 500 days, 40% of all contracts to small black men to the list.

For your information, this Government is colour blind. How else could they see Mark Maloney as a small black man?

35. ac | September 30, 2014 at 1:27 PM |

“Negro .the one with that. socalled shopping list of missteps by the Dlp. them not going to help Blp win the next election.no dic head it is all counter productive and plays well in the yarffowl dance hall.just watch…”

“Understandably, u would cringe at all my responses. The truth does have a way of making people uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface.”

I could not resist this one…. hahahahaha

36. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

When people are quoting the Nation newspaper, please be aware that this paper is the public relations arm of the opposition BLP stuffed with a set of BLP yardfowls pretending to be columnists offering objective analysis.

Look how the Sunday Sun editor and Mottley lackey Carol Martindale put that attack on Owen Arthur a few weeks ago with a headline “DONE WITH OWEN”.

The nation newspaper is pushing the BLP party line and because Arthur is no longer singing that tune, they have turned on him.
    They are a nasty bunch prostituting themselves like Fox news. Ricky Jordan refused to be a part of that journalistic deceit and they got rid of him.

It is the untold story that you will never read in the Nation BLP Newspaper.

37. But Owen has Kaymar.

On Tuesday, 30 September 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

38. NationBLPnewspaper’s rants reminded me of the back page of today’s Daily Nation, where I read “Laid off Transport Workers: We are being treated like dogs.” I further read further, I saw a photo of one Mark Watson, a former Maintenance Supervisor with 37 year’s service complaining that the TB is treating them “like dogs”.

Mr. Watson’s name was out front and he used strong language against the TB. As such, I began to fear for this gentleman, especially when I remembered what Douglas and the DLP did to Lisa, when she went to VOB to voice her concerns about the non-payment of severance.

My fear came when I wondered what Douglas would do to Mark in reprisal for venting his frustration against the TB and if the DLP will produce his personal files on BU in an effort to tarnish this man’s reputation.

39. National BLP is spot on with the comments about that “germ machine called the Nationnewspaper ,so correct are the comments that they have aroused and disturbed the unnerving salacious spin doctors of the BLP ,the microscopic points which are laid about this dirty rag of a newspaper pin points with accuracy the unsanitized and political bile and version which resonates across this paper on a daily basis..

40. ac | September 30, 2014 at 1:27 PM |
    Negro .the one with that. socalled shopping list of missteps by the Dlp. them not going to help Blp win the next election.no dic head it is all counter productive and plays well in the yarffowl dance hall.just watch

ac | September 30, 2014 at 5:12 PM |
    National BLP is spot on with the comments about that “germ machine called the Nationnewspaper ,so correct are the comments that they have aroused and disturbed the unnerving salacious spin doctors of the BLP ,the microscopic points which are laid about this dirty rag of a newspaper pin points with accuracy the unsanitized and political bile and version which resonates across this paper on a daily basis..

The first one is ac for sure…………… can anyone tell me who the second one is?

41. ac | September 30, 2014 at 5:12 PM |

“National BLP is spot on with the comments about that “germ machine called the Nationnewspaper,so correct are the comments that they have aroused and disturbed the UNNERVING SALACIOUS SPIN DOCTORS OF THE BLP ,the microscopic points which are laid about THIS DIRTY RAG OF A NEWSPAPER PIN POINTS WITH ACCURACY THE UNSANITIZED AND POLITICAL BILE and version which resonates across this paper on a daily basis..”

“Beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing POLITICAL STINK BOMBS in the path of those with whom u disagree”

42. Arterexes when are u going to stop quoting ac,,,it makes u look like a half starved mongrel eating out the same bowl as one dyslexic rabble rouser who can’t put two words together to make sense.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

43. @Gabriel | September 30, 2014 at 2:01 PM |

” Btw is there any truth in the story that the Rev Guy Hewitt has already put out feelers for a part time curacy at Westminster Abbey or is it St Paul’s”.
    …………………………………………………….

Yes Gabriel, this is what he has told the church. No one believes him, though. You really think that a pom pass man like Guy Hewitt after he has tasted the good life of being high commissioner to St James Court and after having had an audience with the Queen would stoop to break bread with mere mortals? Not the Guy Hewitt that I know!

On the other hand, he may do it if only to enhance his CV for when he has to come back when this inept incompetent government falls!

44. @Nation Critic,

Instead of you worrying yourself daily over every column and columnist the Nation employ, should you not be more than concerned for your fellow Barbadians who are begging your government daily for their severance pay?

……….Those whom your party bribed and gave money to vote for them and now has turned around and treated these same small black people like dogs?

………..Those poor black people who are at their wits end with unemployment running out and your inept incompetent party refusing to pay them what is theirs by right?

……..Dont you think that we on BU would then take you seriously if you would come on BU….. if only once and defend these poor people and by using your influence in your worst party ever to get some help for them?

…………Does it not pain you to see the sufferings of these poor black people?

Could god, are you and your party going to come to these same people and ask to purchase their votes again?

45. ac | September 30, 2014 at 7:34 PM |

“Arterexes when are u going to stop quoting ac,,,it makes u look like a half starved mongrel eating out the same bowl as one dyslexic rabble rouser who can’t put two words together to make sense…”

“Yet beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree”

46. Prodigal Son | September 30, 2014 at 8:15 PM |

“Instead of you worrying yourself daily over every column and columnist the Nation employ, should you not be more than concerned for your fellow Barbadians who are begging your government daily for their severance pay?”

Good point Prodigal.

47. Its incredible that a country which produced Grantley Adams,Errol Barrow,Tom Adams,Bernard St John,and Owen Arthur,solid, well educated and well intentioned men of honour,would produce a man like Freundel Stuart who does not care a widow’s mite that his lazy,laid back,stupid and ignorant management style is leading Barbados towards disaster!He reminds me of an equally stupid party member who took a delegation to a SIDS meeting in Rio in 1992 and got up and regaled the shocked gathering with something called an ‘Ode to the Environment’.He promptly lost the Government of the day,some 2 years later.Dare we hope?

48. Mia firing of Maria Agard Avatar
    Mia firing of Maria Agard

So with the present leader of the Opposition being unwell and being forced to seek medical attention in Florida, and with here hatred for Arthur does this mean that the next leader of the Opposition will be Kerrie Block Head Boolani Symmonds ? Are we sure that this island is ready for this fraud to lead the one part of the Opposition ???

49. @Mia firing of Maria Agard
    your are a rabbit a yard fowl pen
    Barbados is lead by a set of people from the DLP that are unwell, just look at them, where is your PM today and how well is his mind and body

50. @Watchman,

Our Bajan PM is getting the same level of care as me so he will be fine. eh !