BU posted the blog Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam earlier this month. Today local media reported that the police has taken a man into custody for questioning. The latest development follows and earlier report that a key person of interest in the car scam investigation was allowed to leave the island. BU cannot confirm or deny if the person taken into custody today is the bagman (Rodney Wilkinson) of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

Of interest to BU is why the sudden interest to prosecute the individual at the centre of the car scam involving Globe and Nassco at this time. BU has been made to understand this is not the first time financial institutions in Barbados have been ‘taken’ by this prominent individual. Also BU is interested to know why all the supporting actors who colluded with the prominent individual have been allowed to go free. Yes, we want to see ‘nailed’ the big fish BUT all those players at the financial institutions, government licensing authority and the third party entity that supplies financial institutions with the service of searches of bills of exchanges need to be investigated and prosecuted as well. As prominent as the former bagman is he was not able to perpetuate fraud by his lonesome. There obviously has been deep collusion between several players to have been able to perpetrate a scam of this magnitude.

A reaction to the unravelling car scam Minister of Transportation and Works (MTW) Michael Lashley announced on the weekend that a shake up at the Barbados Licensing Authority is in the offing. To quote a local newspaper, “Lashley explained that he was shocked to discover that all a person needed to license a vehicle in Barbados for use on the road for a year was a cover note from an insurance company, which usually provided insurance coverage for one month”.

He went to assure Barbadians in the same report, “I have made it clear that that is not good enough and I will be meeting very shortly with the chief licensing officer and the staff of the Barbados Licensing Authority to bring an end to this dangerous situation”. If Lashley’s reported reaction was not so serious it would have evoked a hilarious reaction from the BU househould. Does ANYBODY believe Minister Lashley read he did not know the process for licensing a vehicle in Barbados? What about the public servants/technocrats who work in the MTW? This is all one big black eye for our hardworking public officers, police, law makers, DPP, politicians and others.

We wait to observe the outcome of the case which is not a first for the bag man.

161 responses to “Arthur’s Bagman May Slip the Noose, AGAIN!”

1. The difference with the car scam and CLICO is that the car scam was perpetrated against the moneyed class while CLICO robbed mostly poor people. Nobody in power really cares about poor people, except at election time. Another significant difference is that CLICO contributed to both political parties. Unfortunately, the persons suspected in the car scam don’t have any friends currently. Put another way, they put all their eggs in one basket. For all intent and purposes, Wilkinson is a leper as far as those in power are concerned.

2. Caswell,
    you may be right,but then why did the current Government agree to give him $409,000 of TIRF (taxpayers) monies?

3. @Adrian

The answer to your question may be answered if you examine the background of those who managed the distribution of the fund.

4. Seems our Trickidadian rulers having problems.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/unrest-in-port-of-spain/

5. Wilkinson appeared in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court today to hear the charges, a process the took some time given the number of offences.
    However, his attorney – Marlon Gordon – is expected to make a plea for bail in the High Court on Monday.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/09/27/wilkinson-remanded-on-fraud-charges/

Bail?

Please.

6. When will Leroy Parris be arrested as well?
    NEVER.

Is the P. M. still his friend?
    YES SIREE.

And it is a good thing too, because when the Prime Minister is your friend even when you are widely believed to be a big theif you still have enough money to afford to send your duncy kid to this nice Catholic Church run private schoolhttp://www.conventschoolsbarbados.com/content/view/11/12/

instead of to this very ordinary public school:
    http://www.deightongriffithschool.com/about.htm

That way daddy does not have to rub shoulders with those criminals at Dodds, and little kiddie gets to develop relationships with the cream of Bajan and international society. Did I really say
    cream?”

Having a Prime Minister as a friend is a real, real good thing.

7. As with the CLICO matter one can only wonder at the roles of the Accounting House, Inland Revenue now BRA, financial institutions and other agencies which have interacted with the bagman as he accumulated his many automobiles.

8. just asking | September 27, 2014 at 11:51 AM |

“In the paper this morning Wilkinson has been arrested, when will Leroy Parris be arrested as well? Is the P. M. still his friend & because Wilkinson was Owen friend he is being arrested? Does all the investors in CLICO have to ALL die out, before any money can be given to the poor people that put their money in this company?”

Ironically, when I read the Saturday Sun this morning and saw that Wilkinson was arrested, that very same thought came to mind. I wondered when [or if ever] Leroy Parris will be arrested for fraud, theft, and money laundering.

Perhaps the opposite may have occurred if Arthur was PM……… Parris arrested and Wilkinson allowed to leave the jurisdiction.

9. Artaxerxes; Nah! Parris would nt have been arrested by any administration. He was a benefactor to all and thereby held many secrets for all.

10. He gave a hell of a lot more to the DLP.

11. Those of us who believe that Parris or anybody else is immune to prosecution are misguided. We know this system. And whereas some will allways be able to get away with mass financial murder, the governing system, as a whole has certain external accountabilities. These present hard limits to internal malfeasance. In a heart beat Parris or Arthur or Stuart could find themselves stripped of all they think they are and be turned into common criminals. Be careful!

12. @Pacha

Why did the Canadian banks refused Parris’ millions but some how he was able to lodge said funds in the system?

13. Mia firing of Maria Agard Avatar
    Mia firing of Maria Agard

David where has he lodged them ?

14. The Parris 8 million was fully discussed here last year:

CIBC First Caribbean International Bank Instructs Leroy Parris to Take a Hike

Posted on December 8, 2013 by David | 158 Comments | Edit

Court Order: Professional Services Inc AND CIBC FICB

15. The lawyer for Wilkinson used the Parris/CLICO argument to defend a bail request for Wilkinson.

16. …and after bail, the case will be set down for August 2045 ……but of course we won’t be told that up front….
    Such information need to be disbursed to brass bowls in proper stages…….
    First it will be February 2015.
    Then adjourned until November 2015
    Then march 2017
    Then the famous….sine die

Finally, after everyone involved is dead, it will be disposed by the high court in August 2045….the year after they realize that the summer recess is a waste of brass bowl time – since the judges don’t do one shiite normally anyway……

What a place….!

17. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Lol Bushie
    You are something else -yes !

18. But the Bushman is speaking the pure truth….if you doubt him, wait until anyone of those Judges screwup any current case in the high court and i hear of it personally, then you will know for sure.

19. Hi David,
    From the photo and video above…..I see that Owen Arthur has been handcuffed and is in the arms of the law?
    How the mighty have fallen.
    I wonder where are his bosom pals…..Miller and Prodigal.

20. @Fractured BLP

Maybe they are not as loyal as the DLP folks who have lepers for pals eh?

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | September 28, 2014 at 4:00 PM |

If R W had used his ill-gotten millions to finance campaigns of political parties and to bribe hungry-ass politicians instead of gambling out his money he would still be free as a bird just like your leper friend Sonny Pookie Greenverbs.

Poor R W, his past dirty habits of fiddling the accounting books have now caught up with him. Now he is broke as a paro and his friends in once high places have deserted him and sold him down the river of shame.
    Do you think such retributive justice would someday visit Greenverbs the leper who is still free to spread his virus of financial contamination?

Which one is your pal, Fractured BLP? The one who would enjoy joining you in jail to share the same cell along with his rotten ass(ets)?
    The only difference between the financial crookedness of Sonny ‘Pokie’ and R W is that one is trained in the accounting art of underhandedness to defraud those with money while the other one used his ‘rear’ talents to climb the business ladder of opportunism in order to swindle the financial ignorant and greedy.

22. Hi Miller,
    I did not imagine you would taken this court case and lock up so hard!
    Cuh dear !!!
    By the way Leroy Parris is an honest man……when compared to your bosom pal RW.
    Leroy Parris only mistake…was to listen to Lawrence Duprey.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | September 28, 2014 at 7:08 PM |

Were you there listening in on their conversations?
    Are you sure it was just only the act of listening to pillow talk?

Now you are confusing us, Fractured. Wasn’t he also listening to Sweetcakes?

24. @ Fractured BLP
    Who are you and where you come from ?you are confusing yourself
    with names, Leroy Parris plus David Thompson and the DLP .

25. Miller, tell the “Brek up Dem” that we are honest people who do not support any form of dishonesty unlike the “Brek up Dems”.

Like Rodney’s lawyer asked…why was this same justice not meted out to Leroy Parris.

But Leroy Parris is beginning to reap what he has sown………..karma is a bitch.

26. Brek up Dem, you should also say that Leroy Parris’ other mistake was taking advice from David Thompson because we all know that Leroy does not have much between his ears and that David Thompson was his brains! One dead and the other going down hill. Karma!

27. Brek up Dem,

Can you explain to the miller and David what is going on with Dennis Lowe and his siblings and the millions over which they are fighting him?

Now that is what you should be discussing. Rodney Wilkinson is not an elected person. He dug his grave, he will pay the price! But dont come on BU pretending that a pin head like Rodney Wilkinson is a BLP problem. Leroy Parris is a DLP problem and a huge Barbadian problem!

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | September 28, 2014 at 8:25 PM |

That should shut up that ‘Fractured’ DLP mouthpiece for a while!
    Black mout Dennis the down-low(e) can always explain his mother’s millions in a bank account through a windfall winning of the Caribbean of some other lottery offered by Nigerian scammers.
    Why isn’t this being investigated under the Anti-Money Laundering legislation or is the jaundiced black mout another non-leper friend of Mr. Integrity?

29. wuhloss prodigal i thought somebody had finally got the sense to put a bolt and chain on yuh mout, but i guess not uh back again sounding like constipated parrot full uh sh,,t talk,good nite

30. Let us hope and pray Wilkinson is the first of many more to fall, hard!

31. @Fractured BLP September 28, 2014 at 7:08 PM “By the way Leroy Parris is an honest man [his]only mistake was to listen to Lawrence Duprey.”

This is a BIG STINKING LIE and you know it.

32. @Prodigal Son September 28, 2014 at 8:16 PM “Like Rodney’s lawyer asked…why was this same justice not meted out to Leroy Parris.”

Because Leroy Parris is Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s non-leper friend, and because Prime Minister Freundel Stuart continues to permit Leroy Paris to hide behind his Prime Ministerial skirts.

That’s why.

At least Owen Arthur has the good sense, integrity and love of party to let Wilkey hang

33. Way back in the day when we old folk were little children the teachers used to write a motto for the week on the blackboard. One of their favourites was ”
    “KEEP THEY HANDS FORM PICKING AND STEALING AND THEY TONGUE FORM SPEAKING GUILE”

But nabady nowadays don’t mind such things.

34. @David September 28, 2014 at 9:42 PM “Let us hope and pray Wilkinson is the first of many more to fall, hard!”

Dear David: It is unChristian to rejoice in the misfortunes of others.

35. @Simple

How does one wish bad for someone who is being punished for crimes committed?

36. @ Simple Simon
    Dear David: It is unChristian to rejoice in the misfortunes of others.
    True dat!
    …but it is righteous and good to rejoice in the triumph of justice over shiite….and The Lord knows that we have not had a lot to rejoice about for decades now….
    Perhaps when these judges come to realize that MOST Bajans want them to deal with these damn crooks…..and are willing to say so publicly, ….they will start locking up more of these shameless thieves…..and stop kowtowing to their Lodge connections.
    …PERHAPS…..!

Now if we can only get someone to provide us with an honest, fearless, competent DPP…..

37. David September 28, 2014 at 11:05 PM “How does one wish bad for someone who is being punished for crimes committed?”

David:

Remember innocent until proven guilty.
    At present nobody has been found guilty of anything.
    And at present nobody is being punished,

38. @Simple

Don’t have time with that BS, he is guilty and it is only a technicality will save him.

39. @Wikipedia “The presumption of innocence, sometimes referred to by the Latin expression Ei incumbit probatio qui dicit, non qui negat (the burden of proof is on he who declares, not on he who denies), is the principle that one is considered innocent until proven guilty. In many nations, presumption of innocence is a legal right of the accused in a criminal trial. The burden of proof is thus on the prosecution, which has to collect and present enough compelling evidence to convince the trier of fact, who is restrained and ordered by law to consider only actual evidence and testimony that is legally admissible, and in most cases lawfully obtained, that the accused is guilty beyond reasonable doubt. If reasonable doubt remains, the accused is to be acquitted.”

I don’t want to hear you talking anymore foolishness about a person having to prove their innocence. Nobody has to prove their innocence.

I know that you know better.

And I know that you respect the Constitution of Barbados.

40. Just watching what happening Avatar
    Just watching what happening

The Ward brothers and brother-in-law aint carr-way about the same amount of money? Dem wasnt suppose to be sentenced in September? Wuh happened in court? Dem aint spend a day in jail.

41. @ac | September 28, 2014 at 8:45 PM |

wuhloss prodigal i thought somebody had finally got the sense to put a bolt and chain on yuh mout, but i guess not uh back again sounding like constipated parrot full uh sh,,t talk,good nite…………………………………….

You are a pathetic human being. I pity you.

I read BU daily, I choose not to comment on every subject unlike you who from your daily ramblings clearly is out of your depth on every subject being discussed. You purport to be an authority on every topic but only show yourself up as an idiot. A conclusion which most on BU have come to from reading your rants. I pity the man that has to put up with you!

42. Why is there so much dishonesty in this country especially at the top. eg NUPW Q in the community once thought to have ‘broke even’ has now shown a terrible loss thus allowing the ao and the awful singers to tour the US this year.
    $21000 in phone bill not yet settled
    Dennis the menace going home end of October but claiming 4 months holiday.
    How he get all them months when he used all his time when he was at death door?
    Dennis the menace stock piling parts for the Audi that belongs to the members, the union but that he is planning to take home…..dishonesty is rife within this small country

43. @Harold

Surely this is a case for the NUPW office staff and others to exercise their rights within the entity or whistle blowing avenue.

44. A little birdie chirped outside my window that a certain Insurance company is having cash flow problems and delaying claims. Does it have anything to do with this saga or does it have to do with recent big purchases?

45. @Mr Whapax,

The whole of Barbados is feeling the effects of a contracting consumer economy.

46. That’s why claims are taking ten weeks for refunds? Should never have left Sagicor. Now themembership has no say.

47. Fractured BLP | September 28, 2014 at 7:08 PM |

“By the way Leroy Parris is an honest man……when compared to your bosom pal RW.”

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…… is this guy serious????? Perhaps your mind is fractured as well.

Fractured BLP, let me remind you of the little money laundering scheme that was uncovered by the Deloitte Forensic Audit of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd. I refer you to page 4, paragraph 3 of the report:

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL authorized the invoice for payment. We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, it was in fact to the benefit of Mr. Parris as partial payment of a “gratuity”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.”

If “Leroy Parris only mistake…was to listen to Lawrence Duprey” and he ended up defrauding policy holders and making illegal payments to himself, then he is not only as guilty as Wilkinson, he is an idiot as well.

FACE IT, RODNEY WILKINSON AND LEROY PARRIS ARE TWO DISHONEST MEN!!!!!

48. Mia firing of Maria Agard Avatar
    Mia firing of Maria Agard

Any one of you out there has noticed a change and weight loss with Mottley ?
    Any is there such a silent hush on BU that she has been travelling to Miami regularly to receive treatment for cancer of the mouth ! Caused from excessive smoking of tobacco and some say herb.
    Her official reason for her numerous tripscfor medical attention has been tood by herself iscthat she is seeiing medical attention for Ulcers of the stomach now tell me guys does that really require American care in an American Hospital ?
    I say absolutely not.

49. Where are the many big shot BLP lawyers. I would have thought that one of them or a team of them would have stepped forward to offer a legal defense for Rodney. After he was helpful to the BLP for very, very many years. And now that he can do with some legal help I ask again “Where are the big shot BLP lawyers?”