The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation.
The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation – Barbados Today

OCTOBER 25, 2002 – Mascoll attacks Arthur on his connection with close friend, GEMS boss, Rodney Wilkinson, and accountant David Shorey. How could you not know that your best friend [Rodney Wilkinson], who was in your ministry, who then turned around and got a job as chief executive officer of Gems that was under your portfolio, how could you not know of his elevation? . . . There is lots to be revealed. I am a researcher and I intend to research this to the boneNation News 2002

Did Clyde Mascoll ever reveal what he discovered in his role not as politician, not as economist but as a researcher? BU suspects it was the usual rhetoric espoused by politicians who often see there role to engage the public in aimless palaver.  Since making the promise history has recorded that Mascoll resigned  from the Democratic Labour Party when it became imminent parliamentary colleagues were about to switch support to the late Davis Thompson.  The move effectively shunted his career.

Ordinary Barbadians do not want to witness Barbados earn the label of a banana republic where corruption and malfeasance becomes the norm, yet all the signs point to the fact we are well on the way. This week a report appeared in a section of the local press and has gone ignored by many. The story has piqued the interest of the BU household because of relationship of an actor mentioned to prominent others.

Ian Bourne who manages Bajan Reporter uploaded  a post titled 10 questions recently asked by a would-be 18-year-old first-time voter whenever Elections happen… Questions 5 and 6:

5 – Why was no action taken against former GEMS boss Rodney Wilkinson, despite issues of monetary accountability being raised in successive Auditor General Reports and questions raised by Sir Harold St. John?

6 – Is there a connection between Owen Arthur, his confidant Rodney Wilkinson, the red-flagging of operations at GEMS of Barbados and the opening and operating of Executive Car Rentals at Worthings, Christ Church?

The article carried in the press this week reports that several finance companies in Barbados have repossessed over 100 cars from Executive Car Rentals effectively closing the business.   According to the report Executive Car Rentals owes MILLIONS to creditors.

BU’s concern will dissipate if the questions posed by the Bajan Reporter article are answered and when Mascoll shares the conclusion of the research he promised in 2002.

131 responses to “Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam”

1. Georgie Porgie

What a change of heart my trusted friend, so you have found it in your heart to confabulate with an illiterate irritant like me? I am greatful, now keep on reading your Bible sir because the Good God is doing a great work in you brother. I hope to see you in the Great-Beyond, when I shed this earthly tabernacle and start my climb to the stairway of heaven to meet my Maker. If God could turn around a man with such a far-reaching- ego, you ought to know AC, that there is some authenticity as well as validity surrounding the idea of God.

2. When you vote you condone a process that is inept,
    Why continue to do the same thing time and again and expect a different result in the end…? Help push the percentage of no votes to 60% and see what transpires. A statement would have made at the very least, far better than voting out a group of incompetents only to have replaced with a group of self serving jackasses with white shadows to feed

3. @BAFBFP | September 8, 2014 at 4:26 AM |

And what then. Will total chaos be better. And then too, if only 10% vote, each constituency will STILL get a representative, even if he only has ten votes.

That is what will ‘transpire’.

No, the issue is:
    – keep voting out governments, no more than 5 years
    – push to have the 5 years reduced to three or four, less time to …whatever
    – push to have the transparency legislation implemented, promise that if not implemented, the government will surely NOT be voted in
    – silly people should not take voting enticements, say, Ipads, that is the issue. If someone is going to pay you to vote, what the heck do you think they will do when they get in, where yuh tink the money come from
    – push for legislation for the Auditor General to be protected further and have the power also to seek removal of a public officer, by applying to the GG, with reasons to be published and the reasons for granting or refusal also published.
    – Auditor General to be appointed by a public widespread panel, based on requisite qualifications (current one is good, but if he retires sometime, what then?)
    -public financial results of each ministry AND overall to be published and available at Government Information Service on a quarterly bass, including projects, including a listing of payments made to companies and individuals, for each Ministry, above 10,000 or cumulative amounts that total 10,000 for each individual or company
    – published analysis of VAT and NIS owed (net basis)by company and individual which is over 3 months in arrears.

How is that for a start?

4. Both these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP disorganizations must ABSOLUTELY PERMANENTLY be removed by the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados from the parliament of this country in less than 4 years, or else this country will become – between the next 7 and 12 years – more and more like Jamaica, in many more regards – a virtual failed state.

5. Crusoe

Even with transparency legislation on the books in Barbados, do you honestly believe that that would address the problem of self-interest over the collective-interest of the masses? Come on now, transparency legislation has been implemented in places such at the United States of America and still intelligent minds interlaced with corruptive motives found ways and means to undermined the system of goverance. Nevertheless, I am not trying to be dialectical, philosophical nor am I ideological in my efforts to advance this point, but until you fixed man’s corrupted nature, you will be forever face with the problem self-interest over the collective-interest. Listen! Man have been grappling with this problem since the beginning of our human existence and still we haven’t found the appropriate methods to address it, Adam placed his self-interest before God’s divine instructions and contravened God’s laws in the process.

6. Dear moneybrain:

What’s up here?

7. @ Baffy
    What a defeatist position to adopt….from a normally progressive and innovative fellow like you.
    That is like being a prisoner and taking action by not eating the low quality food provided.
    For a prisoner, it may well be the best positive action available, but are we just a set of brass bowl prisoners?
    Don’t we have other options?

OPTIONS such as having a few good men step forward and OFFER themselves with a commitment to provide the kind of honest, transparent leadership we all want?

If NO SUCH MEN exists bout here, then let’s just endure our lot as BBs and do as Crusoe says and keep our fingers and toes crossed and our backs bent forward…..

8. There is nothing defeatist about it. It demonstrates that a population has had enough and forces the administration to asses the process or bare the embarrassment on the international front. Of course the public will be presented with an alternative form of governance before they are asked to refuse the present way they are doing things. Elder, with respect, back down and let some younger turks do their thing. It is imperative that the election figures show a huge rejection of the way things are being done.

Crusoe … You will be dead and your children will follow you before there is any semblance of change. Stop with the foolishness … please

9. BAF,,,,,,,i keep telling them, generations of the same mentality produces generations of the same idiocy, the cycle will not break, therefore there will be generations of no change = centuries of no change.

10. As far as was told to me a think it was about 2 years ago Arthur and Wilkinson had a falling out…lol

Dompey…….you are not dealing with an American mentality that is flexible to change for the common good…….you know full well you are dealing with a culture in Barbados that is very adverse to any type of change, particularly if it’s for the common good of everyone on the island, there is always some jackass(es) who would oppose any type of positive change….ah lie? GP..I am borrowing..lol

11. @ BushTea

I wid you!!

12. Tell me it ain't so Avatar
    Tell me it ain’t so

While we are at it and discussing theft, how can it be that accounting firms charge companies thousands of dollars to carry out due diligence reports but it is obvious to me they seem not to likewise when hiring for filling their senior positions, had they done a due diligence check on Mr Oliver Jordan formerly of the BTA formerly of First Caribbean formerly of the accounting firm that he and Toppin parted company over because of his unhappiness with the split of the proceeds from the Clico project but even more stunning is the man slides smoothly out of that job into an even higher level on at Price Waterhouse, the same firm who did the audit at the BTA and pointed out to Barney Lynch that he and one other at the BTA were the two directly linked with a missing $750,00.00 the property of the BTA and was eventually fired from the BTA ???
    How can it be that guys like this keep rolling from one high profile job to the next and they are nothing more than low life crooks.

13. Well Well

I’ve noticed that you have tendency to advanced and Absolute in many of your points of contention.

14. Bush Tea | September 8, 2014 at 7:30 AM |
    ……………OPTIONS such as having a few good men step forward and OFFER themselves with a commitment to provide the kind of honest, transparent leadership we all want?
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    You mean as Captain Jerry John Rawlins did?

15. @ Colonel Buggy 🙂
    …or perhaps we can invest in a higher rank ….colonel perhaps?

16. Just read page 4 of Barbados Today.

Feel sorry for Freddie Hill.

17. We still have not grasp it? When are we going to get the message that the Political Class looks after its own, and by extension , its financiers ,.

18. @Hants | September 9, 2014 at 10:55 PM |
    “Just read page 4 of Barbados Today.
    Feel sorry for Freddie Hill.”

Trying to understand this situation. Is it that Hill bought/paid Executive Rentals $158,000.00 for a Nissan Murano vehicle but that vehicle was really owned by a finance company and not the seller?

19. @Hants September 9, 2014 at 10:55 PM “Just read page 4 of Barbados Today. Feel sorry for Freddie Hill.

What if Hill is not the only one. What if there are dozens of Hills?

20. Extracted from Pudding&Sous

Sat, September 13, 2014 – 12:00 AM

PEOPLE IN THE know are looking forward to arrests of some high-profile people involved in a million-dollar scam.

They said that when the news breaks, a lot of society types will either leave Barbados for long vacations overseas, or will have to mortgage their houses to repay the money they illegally got.

From what Cou Cou was told, the scam involves getting loans for the purchase of high-end vehicles that do not exist.

It seems those involved somehow get valuations for the vehicles to enable them to be licensed. This information is given to someone who works in a job that earns them a salary big enough to afford a $1 600 a month vehicle loan payment.

The unwitting finance company relying on the documentation in front of them grants the loan for $100 000 to purchase the vehicle. The loan is paid for a few months and then what we understand happens is that the “vehicle” is stolen. The insurance has to pay, and someone walks away free with a lump sum of ill-gotten cash.

Insiders are saying the police are sniffing around but aren’t on the right track as yet because some of the companies involved want to hush up what is really going on, so no one is talking.

But since God don’t like ugly, Cou Cou is sure that someone may get the strength to come forward soon to talk – then fireworks’ are expected to fly.

21. Let’s see how the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions is going to move on this. From what has been carried in the press and Pudding and Souse above it looks like fraud and money laundering. Or are they conveniently waiting for the “society types” to “leave Barbados for long vacations overseas”.

If it is fraud and money laundering then time to lock some people up.

22. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@david

has there been any arrests

23. A formal complaint has been lodged by two finance companies which has triggered a police investigation. It will possibly take time given the players and their connections.

24. @David”will possibly take time given the players and their connections”

Are one of the players Rodney Wilkinson of Executive Rentals? and just as Leroy Parris is Freundel Stuart’s not-a-leper friend, is Rodney Wilkinson Owen Arthur’s not-a-leper friend?

25. David I put it to you that “former Owen Arthur bagman” is not in a jam.

But a lotta lotta people and companies may be in some serious jams

Just like Leroy Parris int in no jam neither.

But a lotto CLICO invistors in serious, serious jams.

And of course the poor Bajan taxpayers in some serious jam.

David has BRA started to send our income tax refunds yet?

26. The BRA had experienced it fair share of problems, the refunds are being released slowly from last week.

27. So someone has been pulled in for questioning…who is it and is it just the top of the iceburg. I hear globe gave the dpp a list of defaulters. The people involved if prosecuted will be shocking to most. They are serial frauds terms and hopefully they will get locked up for this. Let’s c if Leacock got what it takes as I am sure he rubs shoulders with many of them at fancy dos.

28. Mia firing of Maria Agard Avatar
    Mia firing of Maria Agard

Seems like the chickens have finally comechome to roost, there should not be too many headaches getting a person orcpersonscto stand bail for Rodney Wilkinson after all David Shorey has negotiated on his behalf to getvhim out of a similar situation in Angullia hecwas sent there by Arthur to make Wilkinson’s issues go away, and they did go away, but with his connections to David Shorey, Hallam Nicholls and theShort Man finding bail should be easy peasy for Wilkinson to achieve.
    Keeping him in Barbados maybe somewhat more difficult, after all with nearly $10 Mil received from the proceeds of fraud at his disposal travel may not be difficult to arrange to escape the island and escape the police charges.

29. […] posted the blog Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam earlier this month. Today local media reported that the police has taken a man into custody for […]

30. @Simple Simon September 17, 2014 at 11:33 PM #

@David”will possibly take time given the players and their connections”

@Simple Simon “Are one of the players Rodney Wilkinson of Executive Rentals? and just as Leroy Parris is Freundel Stuart’s not-a-leper friend, is Rodney Wilkinson Owen Arthur’s not-a-leper friend?

Dear David: i asked this question more than 2 years ago. Have you found an answer as yet? If I recall correctly Rodney was granted $1.5 million bail, and his trial was supposed to begin in 2015. Has he been brought to trial yet?

As we know justice delayed is justice denied.

And is there any update on the CLICO matter? Have those people owed money by CLICO received their monies yet? And if so did such monies come from CLICO and or its principals or did it come from the poor over burdened taxpayers?

And the “Four Seasons” at the bottom of the University Hill. Has construction resumed?

31. @ Simple Simon
    None of the above…..
    But they did construct a monument to Satan at the Garrison with a big-ass black pitchfork sticking outa the ground……