Talking Loud and Saying NothingGreat Philosopher, James Brown

shooting_missouri
An 18-year-old black man shot and killed by a suburban St. Louis police officer was unarmed, police said Sunday during a news conference that occurred while hundreds of angry protesters gathered outside to demand answers. (Aug. 10)

Black people and people of colour everywhere are in deep crisis. Wherever we go we see the indicators of cultural desperation. In some ways near slavery conditions still prevail. In others, there are attempts to reverse the hands of time. In still others, there is a pretence that real cultural advancement is irreversible. Underneath all this there remains a creeping and persistent destruction of African peoples in ways that fortify the notion that there was no clean break from the slavery period. In this article we will concentrate on the continuation of a silent genocide of Black American males. A genocide that connects with a straight line to chattel slavery, Jim Crow and this New Jim Crow. A genocide employing instruments of state and police powers against helpless communities.

This genocide has to be properly located within the wider context of cultural collapse amongst African-Americans in Detroit, the impoverishment of the middle classes, a normalized militarism at home and abroad, widespread perceptions of hopelessness by large swaths of the American population, the growing militancy of poor Whites as manifested by the rise in the numbers of Neo-Nazi groups, the privatization of the commons, a growing consolidation of capital; galloping and unrepayable household, corporate and national debt. Externally, the challenge to America’s dominance is growing; the world has fallen out of love with an Americanism made popular by movies and the over-abundance of consumer goods. This is the same America that has been killing young, Black, unarmed men in its streets as if there were to always be lynchings. And Black people seemingly have no permanent and legal redress. The police are seldom held accountable, unable to police itself. While the District Attorneys have continuingly shown a distaste for the prosecution of police officers to the fullest extent of what passes for law. By all other measures people of colour are targeted most. Whether it be Stop and Frisk or Driving While Black, police officers in the USA generally see people of colour as criminals, period! An easily available source for meeting daily targets.

This is a list of unarmed Black men killed by the racist New York Police Department in the last 20 years alone. Kimani Gray; Kendrec McDade; Timothey Russel; Ervin Jefferson; Amadou Diallo; Patrick Dorismond; Ousmane Zongo; Timothy Stansbury Jr; Sean Bell; Orlando Barlow; Aaron Campbell; Victor Steen; Steven Eugene Washington; Alonza Ashley; Wendell Allen. More widely, every 28 minutes a police department in the USA kills a Black man. The rules of most Police Associations dictate that officers do not have to talk to anybody about these killing for up to 48 hours afterwards. Giving them time to get their stories straight. And for the apparatus to use their people in the media to propagate all manner of false stories, including previous arrest records, in order to frame the victim as criminal even in cases where 41 shots are fired into the body of an unarmed Amadou Diallo.

To the uninitiated. Those who are law and order buffs. It maybe helpful to know that in most inner cities in the USA, and ‘inner city’ is a euphemism for places where mainly African-Americans or Hispanics live, policemen are mainly Whites drawn from the suburbs. Theyย  are not accountable to the community, like 150 years ago. All manner of devices, for example, having a second fake mailingย  address in a Black neighborhood to squirt around the regulation. More generally, Whites in NYC and elsewhere, especially the Irish and the Italians see it as a right to hand down their positions in police forces to their children or other family members. It is a cronyism, also within the Fire Department, that has no precedent anywhere else in Christendom. And nobody has been able to break this engrained culture of generational racism and entitlement which leads to the perpetual killing of Black young men.

It matters not that dey say a Black man is President. Or that Colin Powel was the ‘Black One’ that Nostradamus might have cited in his ‘work’. That dey say, slavery done. That most Black people like to think we are a distance from chattel slavery. None of this matters to the police departments within the USA and the wider world, for that matter. Every day in the USA we have dozens of Black young men being slaughtered by the current enforcers of the modern slave system. That system is undergird by a Prison Industrial Complex wherein more than 70% of the population are Blacks and Latinos. And they represent less than 25% of the US population. It is the commercialization of the prison system which helps to fuel the numbers and maintains a guaranteed occupancy rate of nearly 100%.

The recent public lynching in Saint Louis County, Ferguson, Missouri of Mr. Micheal Brown and the equally grotesque and recorded public execution of Mr. Eric Garner by Staten Island, New York City Police Department, have threatened the American establishment. There is a widespread fear that mass civil unrest may erupt. Disturbances not unlike the 1960’s and 1970’s but more generalized. This time triggered by a straw that threatens to break the camel’s back but could be fueled, not only by Black genocide but White exclusion as well. The White middle class women and men, highly educated but lacking jobs or prospects for jobs. Military veterans living in the forests of Florida and elsewhere, homeless, sickened by war, forgotten and made mentally unwell by incessant imperial wars of aggression. The potpourri of forces that may be aligned against the American establishment may represent an existential threat to empire, from within.

We have to be very careful about the charlatans who make a living on the graves of innocent Black men killed by a racist police force. Rev. Al Sharpton can be dutifully relied upon to direct public anguish to a financial settlement. In this dressage he will be preaching all kinds civil rights rhetoric from pulpits and TV screens. Parading the parents of the dead to all the media houses. All aimed at being a cypher for the establishment. Sharpton has for years been compromised and is no more than an ambulance chaser. Politically, he has his overlords in the Democratic Party to answer to and therefore will never ask for a Special Prosecutor, for example. He can be easily turned away from having any marches in Staten Island. He can be relied upon to maintain his relationship with Stanford Rubinstein, his paymaster, from the proceeds of previous settlements from police killings. He is no more than the biggest civil rights PIMP going. This master pimp has a friend who is the grandmaster of pimps living in a House that is White. But he has other semi-literate lawyers like Benjamin Crump in tow as well. Crump is well known for his feckless involvement in the Trayvon Martin case and now hawks these civil rights legal actions to enrich himself buttressed by the political connections Sharpton brings. Why is Stanford Rubinstein involved in all the civil actions surrounding Sharpton and police shootings that spawned them? Are there no public interests lawyers who could seek a permanent solution to this genocide by policemen? Where are elected representatives been for decades?

One would wonder how these kinds of killing could continue to happen in the most advance country in the world, dey say, and they continue to occur. One reason is the ambulance chasing mentality of Sharpton and his boys who have made a business out of this. And the willingness of states to pay hush money instead of finding a fundamental solution. We are no lawyers but are sure our colleagues Jeff Cumberbatch and ‘Amused’ will offer guidance but we contend that this genocide of Black men in the USA is also allowed to happen because no non-monetary remedy has been pursued by the political and legal apparati in Black communities within the USA. This is the same New York City legal system which banned the only man, Alton Maddox, an attorney, for nearly 20 years, because he wanted to end the genocide of Black men and the ambulance chasing prostitutes like Sharpton and company who dominate the market in the killing of Black men in the USA.

308 responses to “Racism in a Collapsing Empire – The Lynching of Black Men”

1. @ David
    The NG will only nationalize this rebellion. There will be no difference. The second autopsy will confirm the findings of the first.

2. Hants | August 18, 2014 at 12:30 PM |
    You should also have figured out that the spelling of murdah was intentional as it is possible to be shot and not murdered.

YES I DID Based on intellect and common sense.LOL ………….AND CLINICAL EXPERIENCE

WENT TO MED SCHOOL AT MONA WHERE GUNSHOT WOUNDS WAS THE NORM. SEEN A LOT OF MURDERS AND GUN SHOT WOUNDS IN MY TIME

PERHAPS THATS WHY I DONT RANT AND RAVE WHEN A LIKKLE THUG GETS SHOT

DEATH IS SUPPOSED TO BE HANDLED WITH CALM

3. Pachamama
    There will be no difference. The second autopsy will confirm the findings of the first. AND SO WILL THE THIRD
    THE FINDINGS SHOULD NOT CHANGE………………BUT THE INTERPRETATIONS OR OPINIONS THEREON MIGHT……………BASED ON BIAS ONLY, BECAUSE THE SCIENCE CANT CHANGE EITHER

4. To make sure everyone understands clearly.

in my time at med school there was no forensics in the Pathology Course. However, I bought SIR KIETH SIMPSON’s TEXT AND STUDIED. IT came in very useful later when I had to give evidence in the Courts about MURDERS AND GUNSHOT WOUNDS.

I’m sure that copies of this text are available in the Law library at Cave Hill

5. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

You cannot pop off a youth in the cap for shoplifting which is a petty crime with a fine and no jail time. In addition he was not charged with the crime, so Fergusson’s Finest Pigs have prejudiced two cases when they killed the young man and smeared his character

Bonny Peppa requested this tune 4 years back, sorry for the delay BP

Blues Busters-To Love Somebody

http://youtu.be/5nvrP9K-lsQ

6. David please explain how if he was shot 4 times in right arm and shoulder , and not the forearm , how can he have had his arm raised and if he was hit before he raised his arm how could that be raised with it all shot up .? All I am saying there are a lot more things to this story, and the initial witness seems to be unbelievable.

7. lawson
    behave boy
    you will get in serious trouble on this blog, yuh
    you are being logical and not emotional and you are challenging too hard
    you are not toeing the BU line

we all ready know that the co-thug Johnson is a BIG LIAR, as he gave two different stories to the press

8. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Yesterday Dr GP was using the “N” word like it was going out of style
    Maybe he was passive aggressively calling all BU Protestors “N’s”

Truth Fact & Correct-Babylon Deh Pon Fire

9. @Lawson

The experts will have to answer your question. What anyone who has handled a weapon may add is that a body shot under pressure from distance by someone not use to the situation will bring unexpected results.

10. Too bad there was no Torontonian with a video camera in Ferguson.

11. RE The experts will have to answer your question.

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttt
    I THOUGHT THAT ALL THE FORENSIC ILLITERATES IN THE BU RUM SHOP WERE EXPERTS?

MURDAH!
    WHERE DE FORENSIC ILLITERATES YET EXPERTS IN THE BU RUM SHOP GONE TODAY?

I WANT SOME FUN MAN
    JUST LIKE THE OL ON CNN YAPPING YAPPING WID OUT ALL DE FACTS
    EVEN O MARA TALKING SHITE BOUT EYE WITNESS ACCOUNTS ARE NOT IMPORTANT

12. David you are almost talking the john f kennedy majic bullet, how did these bullets do a 180 and hit on the top of his arms if his arms were up.?
    Hants lesson learned if you are jerking off on the bus… don’t expect the police to wait till your finished

13. GEORGIE PORGIE how yuh like de Toronto video? 9 shots and then a tazer.

At least the cop was charged with manslaughter.

14. @Lawson

A couple eye witness acounts confirm that Brown was shot frontal which conflicts with Brown’s sidekick. When bullets are flying there is a tendency to not be careful with the facts. Hopefully the DOJ will bring some leadership to this matter to prevent the twitter driven by the vacuum. A good thing is that freedom of information rules apply in MO.

15. David hopefully someone will create an animation of the event.

16. RE A couple eye witness acounts confirm that Brown was shot frontal which conflicts with Brownโ€™s sidekick.

THIS CONFIRMS THAT THIS TWIT IS A LIAR
    TOLD TWO DIFFERENT STORIES TO THE PRESS

LAWSON YOU HAVE ASKED A FEW GOOD QUESTIONS, WHICH SO FAR I HAVE NOT HEARD DE TV PUNDITS ANSWER ESPECIALLY THE LAWYERS

WHAT IS CLEAR TO ME FROM THE ACCOUNTS I HAVE HEARD IS THAT IN MY OPINION THE OFFICER OUGHT TO HAVE EXERCISED MORE RESTRAINT, OR CALL FOR BACK UP OR HE SHOULD HAVE SHOT MORE ACCURATELY IF HE FELT HE WAS IN DANGER

BUT WHEN YOU LEAVE HOME TO GO DOING SHITE AND PUSHING AROUND OLDER FOLK SOME BODY MIGHT JUST DO YOU IN WITH GREATER FORCE

17. Hants how do these.. pardon the pun.. whack jobs get into the country in the first place. Ask any parent of the 3 girls he was threatening to kill with the knife if he got what he deserved. Or that mother who’s son s head was cut off on the bus out west by that nice mentally ill immigrant who is out on day trips now . if she would have wanted police to kill him.

18. David | August 18, 2014 at 9:39 AM |
    How come the Southern towns have been able to democratize their entities and not Ferguson in the Midwest?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    I had a stop over one Sunday in a Midwest town, and was slightly amused to see that on one side of the street a Black Church and on the other side a White Church, and this was the picture throughout.

19. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

“was slightly amused to see that on one side of the street a Black Church and on the other side a White Church”

=
    What side of the track were you?

Son of Yvonne

http://youtu.be/KO1aWYQ4qyI

20. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Brown Church / Temple the Middle of the Road
    http://www.fodian.net/world/zzgse.html

21. so a BLACK MAN goes into a convenient store ,,,has an altercation with the owner ova a pack of cigarettes……OOPS….in police lingo ….STRONG ARMED ROBBERY…..walks in and out traffic……and is GUNNED DOWN by a officer of the LAW,,,,,,,,,,

22. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

The World Is A Ghetto

I’m from the ghetto so I’m used to that
    Look on your mutha fu@kin map and find Texas
    And see where Houston at
    Its on the borderline of hard times
    Five hundred niggas died in guerilla warfare
    In a village in Africa, but didn’t nobody care
    They just called up the goddamn gravedigga
    And said come get these muthafu@kin niggas

Just like they do in the 5th Ward
    In the South Park and The Bronx and the Watts
    You know they got crooked cops
    Working for the system
    Makin’ po muthafuckas out of victims
    Don’t nobody give a fuck about the po
    It’s double jeopardy if your black or latino

They got muthafuckin drugs in the slums
    Got us killing one another over crumbs
    Think I’m lying? Well muthafu@ka I got proof
    Name a section in your city where minorities group
    And I’ma show you prostitutes, dope and hard times
    And a murder rate that never declines
    And little babies sittin on the porch smellin’ smelly
    Cryin cause they ain’t got no food in they bellies

Another mariwanna smoker stoned killed by a cop death statistic

23. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

@ Mr King
    Could you check your bucket where the posts go please
    many thanks

24. @David
    The National Guard will enforce curfew tonight in Ferguson.
    +++++++++
    The curfew has been lifted

25. Have either of the autopsies addressed the absence or presence of drugs in his blood?

Why was Michael Brown walking in the middle of the street as is alleged?

Why would he think he could take a cop’s gun as is alleged?

Going by the size of the man manhandling the sales attendant he was extremely strong.

Was his behavior in the store normal?

Did the cop fire six shots because that was what it took to stop him?

We just don’t have enough facts to figure this out but we do have enough to realize that the behavior of both Michael Brown and the policeman were not normal.

What would make both persons behave abnormally?

26. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) | August 18, 2014 at 4:54 PM |
    โ€œwas slightly amused to see that on one side of the street a Black Church and on the other side a White Churchโ€

=
    What side of the track were you?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Near middle of the road in a tour tram.

27. John I saw a pre-emptive strike by don lemon and the attorney saying if marijuana was found in the system it means nothing. I beg to differ , by all accounts he was a gentle giant, but his actions in the store showed him completely acting out of character stealing, roughing up the clerk and threatening, even walking in the middle of the street seems odd nobody wants to be noticed after committing a crime, and his own attorney said there was a scuffle in the police car again out off character for this prospective college student. We all know people after only a few drinks change maybe this if confirmed could have contributed to the confrontation. Even the pathologists suggest that the head wounds more than likely show the person was coming forward head down brock lessner bull rush or person tripping forward.

28. Despite the miscreant here seeking to disparage eye witnesses the physical evidence STRONGLY supports eye witness evidence. Not proof!

29. John I saw a pre-emptive strike by don lemon and the attorney saying if marijuana was found in the system it means nothing
    Talking about pre-emptive strike, what about the friend of the Officer who called in to the radio station alleging that he was โ€œbull-rushedโ€ by the victim? I suppose second or third hand information is more credible than the eyewitnesses because the Police are never guilty of any wrong doing and this โ€œrushingโ€ will show on his statement whenever we are allowed to see it. I wonโ€™t be surprised if somewhere in that statement will be some indication that he was aware of the โ€œrobberyโ€ at the Convenience Store and that is why he made the stop, โ€˜jay walkingโ€? What jaywalking? Of course that would make the Police Chief a liar but they will circle the wagons.

I think there are a few thousand Black Police officers in the US and I was trying to find some information where a white person was shot by a Black Officer and I couldnโ€™t find anything-dang white people donโ€™t even jaywalk.

30. @ Sargeant
    We have had our disagreements in the past and we will again in the future. However, you being a former cop, we thank you for you intellectual leadership on this matter.

31. @Pacha
    Donโ€™t let the moniker fool you, wasnโ€™t a former anything but I do have connection to members of that organisation so am aware of the mindset. You wonโ€™t believe how many Black Officers are marginalized or forced to accept some things because they want to be part of the โ€œbrotherhoodโ€ and who wants to be ostracized? Of course we have had our disagreements in the past and may well do so in the future but on some things we can have common ground.

MLK and Malcolm were at opposite ends of the spectrum and they found a way to agree on some things and many Black people no matter their status may not be on the streets but they are quietly cheering on those with the courage to do so because they know that they may be only one traffic stop away from a similar fate.

32. @Sargeant

The police including knowledge of the robbery to justify Davis’ action negates the argument by police why they released the video read it was unrelated to the investigation.

33. The woman who called in should be discounted
    The witnesses are unreliable
    The forensics will be the decider on this case
    Pacha you are anally stupid, I know it is easier for you to believe that a raving racist rogue cop waited 6 years to enact some hate filled fantasy than to believe the alternative
    But here is the test can people cause enough of a problem that forensics, toxicology and common sense will be disregarded to appease them.
    Is the govt willing to throw the cop under the bus before all the evidence is in.
    David to say the video is unrelated to the incident is just wrong.It goes to mindset. Should it have been released ? who knows but it will play a major part in this case if it goes forward.

34. http://news.msn.com/us/as-missouri-violence-flares-fingers-point-to-outsiders

If it is proven outsiders are involved I hope the people of Ferguson send the bill for the National Guard and police overtime to them.

…. and if it turns out that drugs played a part in this mess as well, I hope the authorities rinse those outsiders in criminal charges …. from top to bottom … reverends and all.

35. Sharpton, Jackson et al will head to the city St. Louis bigger venue more exposure Mike Brown is old news

36. my focus on this video and the timing and release is not unreal..the video would play an important role in cover up or the tampering of evidence to portray Browne as a robber..
    here is another copy of the video release in real time along with an article
    http://www.alan.com/2014/08/18/ferguson-pd-video-backfires-brown-seen-paying-for-cigarillos/

37. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Stepping back looking at the bigger picture none of this protesting and rioting is unexpected for America, with it’s heavy handed military style policing, unmanageable and unacceptable use of guns, massive wealth inequality, and also taking into account its covert activities encouraging violent civil disobedience in other countries its not undeserved either

http://youtu.be/qJ4ovJVderA

38. wait this is only the begininga as truth becomes a reality,,, and the effort to shade and infiltrate the public minds with false perceptions and shady imagery,,,,,all hell gonna break loose across amrica,,, .an unknown black boy gunned down in the street and labelled and branded as a thief to protect a white police assassin..

39. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

โ€œThere are a dozen views about everything until you know the answer. Then there’s never more than one.โ€

Overcome BABYLON
    B-elieve
    A-nd
    B-e
    Y-ou
    L-ive
    O-mnipotent
    N-ow

Cutting Razor

http://youtu.be/skphZGXhDcs

40. today a gran jury convene today that would set the stage to determine the police officer fate,,,,however it is supposedly to take two months,,,,by then every body would have had a chance to retool or rewrite certain events,,,in favour of the police officer,,

41. you got it ac

they will retool and rewrite the autopsy results and the medical report on the officer too so that it accords with what holder and the governor of the state and the niggers of missouri want it
    you got it ac

42. like the flying mule call a video with police interpretations,,meant to twist and taunt the minds of the public….don.t be surprised when the trial gets under way to hear jaw dropping evidence to make one eyes roll back in there head and for one to clutch their ears in disbelief

43. ac

facts are facts
    you cant manufacture such
    this case is certainly not shut and closed as we thought it was

what is clear is that the politicians are gettingi nvolved where they should not

HANTS
    IT SEEMS THAT THERE WAS REALLY A VERY GOOD CAUSE FOR WHAT I INITIALLY THOUGHT WAS POOR SHOOTING BY THE POLICE OFFICER AND THE REASON WHY HE HAD TO FIRE SIX SHOTS

44. Unacceptable!

45. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

“Unacceptable!”
    So is “Nigga Georgie” with his use of the N-Word
    http://youtu.be/b6GV1J6DBg8

46. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

In America there is still a black community and white community when it should be a mixed community without grudges and fears.

US Genocide & Slavery History is still manifesting in the Present (& Future)

http://youtu.be/pXvui3Yt1gQ