Talking Loud and Saying NothingGreat Philosopher, James Brown

shooting_missouri
An 18-year-old black man shot and killed by a suburban St. Louis police officer was unarmed, police said Sunday during a news conference that occurred while hundreds of angry protesters gathered outside to demand answers. (Aug. 10)

Black people and people of colour everywhere are in deep crisis. Wherever we go we see the indicators of cultural desperation. In some ways near slavery conditions still prevail. In others, there are attempts to reverse the hands of time. In still others, there is a pretence that real cultural advancement is irreversible. Underneath all this there remains a creeping and persistent destruction of African peoples in ways that fortify the notion that there was no clean break from the slavery period. In this article we will concentrate on the continuation of a silent genocide of Black American males. A genocide that connects with a straight line to chattel slavery, Jim Crow and this New Jim Crow. A genocide employing instruments of state and police powers against helpless communities.

This genocide has to be properly located within the wider context of cultural collapse amongst African-Americans in Detroit, the impoverishment of the middle classes, a normalized militarism at home and abroad, widespread perceptions of hopelessness by large swaths of the American population, the growing militancy of poor Whites as manifested by the rise in the numbers of Neo-Nazi groups, the privatization of the commons, a growing consolidation of capital; galloping and unrepayable household, corporate and national debt. Externally, the challenge to America’s dominance is growing; the world has fallen out of love with an Americanism made popular by movies and the over-abundance of consumer goods. This is the same America that has been killing young, Black, unarmed men in its streets as if there were to always be lynchings. And Black people seemingly have no permanent and legal redress. The police are seldom held accountable, unable to police itself. While the District Attorneys have continuingly shown a distaste for the prosecution of police officers to the fullest extent of what passes for law. By all other measures people of colour are targeted most. Whether it be Stop and Frisk or Driving While Black, police officers in the USA generally see people of colour as criminals, period! An easily available source for meeting daily targets.

This is a list of unarmed Black men killed by the racist New York Police Department in the last 20 years alone. Kimani Gray; Kendrec McDade; Timothey Russel; Ervin Jefferson; Amadou Diallo; Patrick Dorismond; Ousmane Zongo; Timothy Stansbury Jr; Sean Bell; Orlando Barlow; Aaron Campbell; Victor Steen; Steven Eugene Washington; Alonza Ashley; Wendell Allen. More widely, every 28 minutes a police department in the USA kills a Black man. The rules of most Police Associations dictate that officers do not have to talk to anybody about these killing for up to 48 hours afterwards. Giving them time to get their stories straight. And for the apparatus to use their people in the media to propagate all manner of false stories, including previous arrest records, in order to frame the victim as criminal even in cases where 41 shots are fired into the body of an unarmed Amadou Diallo.

To the uninitiated. Those who are law and order buffs. It maybe helpful to know that in most inner cities in the USA, and ‘inner city’ is a euphemism for places where mainly African-Americans or Hispanics live, policemen are mainly Whites drawn from the suburbs. Theyย  are not accountable to the community, like 150 years ago. All manner of devices, for example, having a second fake mailingย  address in a Black neighborhood to squirt around the regulation. More generally, Whites in NYC and elsewhere, especially the Irish and the Italians see it as a right to hand down their positions in police forces to their children or other family members. It is a cronyism, also within the Fire Department, that has no precedent anywhere else in Christendom. And nobody has been able to break this engrained culture of generational racism and entitlement which leads to the perpetual killing of Black young men.

It matters not that dey say a Black man is President. Or that Colin Powel was the ‘Black One’ that Nostradamus might have cited in his ‘work’. That dey say, slavery done. That most Black people like to think we are a distance from chattel slavery. None of this matters to the police departments within the USA and the wider world, for that matter. Every day in the USA we have dozens of Black young men being slaughtered by the current enforcers of the modern slave system. That system is undergird by a Prison Industrial Complex wherein more than 70% of the population are Blacks and Latinos. And they represent less than 25% of the US population. It is the commercialization of the prison system which helps to fuel the numbers and maintains a guaranteed occupancy rate of nearly 100%.

The recent public lynching in Saint Louis County, Ferguson, Missouri of Mr. Micheal Brown and the equally grotesque and recorded public execution of Mr. Eric Garner by Staten Island, New York City Police Department, have threatened the American establishment. There is a widespread fear that mass civil unrest may erupt. Disturbances not unlike the 1960’s and 1970’s but more generalized. This time triggered by a straw that threatens to break the camel’s back but could be fueled, not only by Black genocide but White exclusion as well. The White middle class women and men, highly educated but lacking jobs or prospects for jobs. Military veterans living in the forests of Florida and elsewhere, homeless, sickened by war, forgotten and made mentally unwell by incessant imperial wars of aggression. The potpourri of forces that may be aligned against the American establishment may represent an existential threat to empire, from within.

We have to be very careful about the charlatans who make a living on the graves of innocent Black men killed by a racist police force. Rev. Al Sharpton can be dutifully relied upon to direct public anguish to a financial settlement. In this dressage he will be preaching all kinds civil rights rhetoric from pulpits and TV screens. Parading the parents of the dead to all the media houses. All aimed at being a cypher for the establishment. Sharpton has for years been compromised and is no more than an ambulance chaser. Politically, he has his overlords in the Democratic Party to answer to and therefore will never ask for a Special Prosecutor, for example. He can be easily turned away from having any marches in Staten Island. He can be relied upon to maintain his relationship with Stanford Rubinstein, his paymaster, from the proceeds of previous settlements from police killings. He is no more than the biggest civil rights PIMP going. This master pimp has a friend who is the grandmaster of pimps living in a House that is White. But he has other semi-literate lawyers like Benjamin Crump in tow as well. Crump is well known for his feckless involvement in the Trayvon Martin case and now hawks these civil rights legal actions to enrich himself buttressed by the political connections Sharpton brings. Why is Stanford Rubinstein involved in all the civil actions surrounding Sharpton and police shootings that spawned them? Are there no public interests lawyers who could seek a permanent solution to this genocide by policemen? Where are elected representatives been for decades?

One would wonder how these kinds of killing could continue to happen in the most advance country in the world, dey say, and they continue to occur. One reason is the ambulance chasing mentality of Sharpton and his boys who have made a business out of this. And the willingness of states to pay hush money instead of finding a fundamental solution. We are no lawyers but are sure our colleagues Jeff Cumberbatch and ‘Amused’ will offer guidance but we contend that this genocide of Black men in the USA is also allowed to happen because no non-monetary remedy has been pursued by the political and legal apparati in Black communities within the USA. This is the same New York City legal system which banned the only man, Alton Maddox, an attorney, for nearly 20 years, because he wanted to end the genocide of Black men and the ambulance chasing prostitutes like Sharpton and company who dominate the market in the killing of Black men in the USA.

308 responses to “Racism in a Collapsing Empire – The Lynching of Black Men”

1. PACHY
    I SUGGEST YOU DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH ON THIS SIR
    I AM NOT A HISTORIAN I STUDIED SCIENCE AND MEDICINE SIR
    AND FRANKLY I DONT CARE
    MY INTEREST THESE DAYS IS PREPARING FOR THE RAPTURE

2. if it was a black police shot a white man in a white neighborhood.
    do you think the whites would riot and destroy businesses and loot and rob?
    i think not.!
    why? i just can not say! weird huh!

3. David | August 17, 2014 at 12:16 PM |
    Those who have served in the military know in a situation where there is civilian protest the rule us to stay low and not act as provocateur.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    You are so right David. What is known as keeping a low profile. I can recall a situation where I was on patrol in one of the toughest areas in that trouble torn British City. We were wearing steel helmets,fitted with perspeck visors, a frightening sight in those days. Up came the Company Commander and ordered us to replace the helmets with berets,as the locals may think that a riot is in the making, and if there isn’t ,now would have been a golden opportunity for them to start one, beginning with our patrol.

4. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Ok Boss
    I will stand down
    and hold my fire

I was only challengin’ tha mo’ fo’

5. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

“if it was a black police shot a white man in a white neighborhood.”

Doh dummy
    how many pasty faced white youths have been shot by a niggy piggy
    if they did shoot a sob they be lynched in good ole USA

6. shooting is lynching??????????? do you know English?
    so shooting is the new lynching . and of a black man not just a man.so see!

7. To repreat, the DOJ has ordered an autopsy. Bear in mind the state has already done an autopsy and the parents have brought in the famous Bawden to perform another. He is the pathologist who gave evidence in the OJ case and performed similarly on MLK and Lyndon Johnson.

Clarifying and NOT mocking.

Eric Holder Authorizes Second Autopsy Of Michael Brown

The Huffington Post  | By Mollie Reilly

Attorney General Eric Holder has authorized a second autopsy of Michael Brown, the unarmed African American teenager shot to death by a police officer in Ferguson, Missouri on August 9.

"Due to the extraordinary circumstances involved in this case and at the request of the Brown family, Attorney General Holder has instructed Justice Department officials to arrange for an additional autopsy to be performed by a federal medical examiner," Justice Department spokesman Brian Fallon said in a Sunday statement. "This independent examination will take place as soon as possible. Even after it is complete, Justice Department officials still plan to take the state-performed autopsy into account in the course of their investigation."

Brown’s family had asked the Justice Department to oversee a second autopsy in order to ensure objectivity. According to the Associated Press, the family has put funeral arrangements on hold until a second autopsy can be performed.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/17/michael-brown-second-autopsy_n_5685747.html

8. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

“shooting is lynching??????????? do you know English?

so shooting is the new lynching . and of a black man not just a man”

Time longer than rope
    don’t take me for a joke
    people are dying &
    children are crying

http://youtu.be/HwBm0KyoUlg

in old days in backward back water Hiscksville USA white folks and their pasty faced children used to barbeque picnic & take selfies at community lynchings. They were paranoid black slaves & sons of slaves would do their wifeys . Americans are bumpkins more arse than class (or ass than class)

9. @barbadosundergrounded

Change your name, you must have more sense than that.

10. Autopsy Shows Michael Brown Was Struck at Least 6 Times

By FRANCES ROBLES and JULIE BOSMANAUG. 17, 2014

Part of a preliminary private autopsy report by Dr. Baden and Professor Parcells showing wounds on Mr. Brownโ€™s body. Credit Dr. Michael M. Baden

Continue reading the main story

• the buddy says he was shot in the back and turned around with hands up, funny the autopsy says all bullets entered from front???? oh yea the same buddy who forgot about the robbery and was just walking down the street . It would be a shame if all this destruction and pain turns out to be based on bullshit. Act in haste repent at leisure. Maybe it would be wiser to wait and get all the evidence before crying wolf. you know like intelligent people do. What a waste of resources .

• We see 9 bullets. This was an execution. Not unlike the others. Maybe he ran out of bullets. Satisfation for the engrained racist demon.

• He was not shooting a flintlock musket, do you honestly believe that someone got up in the morning and said I am going to kill the next black man that pisses me off after 6 years of working as a policeman with an uneventful record?. Let the evidence come out so then everyone can make an informed opinion. All this rioting is not helping anyone

• @lawson

Life is complex sometimes. We keep getting these inner city racial flare ups that is obviously being fueled by some dysfunction in the society. From the reports the large majority of people are protesting peacefully but a few bad apples will always cause the barrel to rot. It is clear if the police had managed the comunications better a greater level of trust may have been engendered. Fifty years later the civil rights experience continues.

By the way, this matter is being discussed in forums all around the world, CNN, ABC,BBC etc. It is NOT only being discussed in the BU forum.

• We don’t know why anybody would want to wait for an investigation to form an opinion in light of the history, present circumstances and commitment to leave things as they are. The process itself is racist and all the people invovled hold up racism as the standard. We had Diallo with 41 shots, no gun, no criminal history and yet there could only be a financial settlement and a slap on the risk for the fire squad but the killing continue Anybody calling for a delayed judgement could only be promoting the status quo.

• No not the status quo, but if you are going to back a horse make sure it is a winner. When everything comes out this officer may not even be indicted. They haven’t even got the toxicology results out yet, it may not be just cigars they smoke. Back sure cases that offend everybody’s sensibilities, quit crying wolf all that is doing is negatively polarizing people that would normally agree with you.

• Lawson you are not seeing the grey. For example, a Black man shot and left exposed for hours. Simple things which will piss off Black, Blue or yellow. What matters is that Brown shooting continues a worrying trend that even White America talking heads admit to.

• We have no hunger for people who agree with us. We are not politicians and therefore find some pleasure in going against the majority, any majority. After all they call us the Anarchist here. We said earlier that riots have gotten us no where in the past and that the riots should be better located in state houses, HOR, Senate and so on. No country can claim to be civilized and allows those who are supposeded to protect citizens, with their own lives, then over decades have a racist culture of killing the same people they are supposed to propect.

• @Pacha

How do you respond to the argument that no democracy is perfect and racial tension is a reflection of such a position. The irony for some is that the US continues to fight several battles in the global arena to help others grow democratic systems. Conclusion, some countries are further along than others.

• Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

• @ David
        That is a red herring. Like what the West had tried to do for 500 years. You can’t have it both ways. Claim you are a democracy society while still holding on to the very expression that most epitomises the most undemocratic system.

• @ David
        The Dredd Scott Supreme Court decision is emblematic of your central question. A supreme court in 1857, I think, ruled that Black people had no rights that White people had to respect, not even a right to life. Indeed, the very body of Dredd Scott lies not far from Ferguson. The Scott decision was the worst in the history of American ‘democracy’. So when people come here and talk foolishness they cannot know their history. Further, in recent years the same Supreme Court has rolled back a lot of the civil rights gains made over centuries. Including this present Supreme Court. Ferguson and MO, more generally, are still White Supremacy states by all measures.

• @Lawson
        Cry wolf? Thanks for the admonition; an unarmed man has been shot at least six times by a Policeman and we should shut up until the โ€œauthoritiesโ€ investigate and provide their verdict. Itโ€™s a pity that so many unintelligent people are making comments in the news forums and all kinds of social networks. The intelligent ones are backing winners and are speaking of more pending issues and not โ€œlosersโ€ like this overgrown teen.

Move along folks nothing to see here- we will let you know what really happened.

• @ David
        So history cannot be separated from the present or the future. If a society claims to be ‘democratic’ there has to be an unearthening of the histories of how we got here, first, before we could dare pretend to be civilized. Black people may yearn to forgive and forget but this history is integral to the DNA of all of us. And human beings, like the animals we are, will use all tools in the battle for survival, even racism, in all its forms.

• David I feel for the family , but lost in the emotion are the facts. This is a small dept. limited training, probably no coroner or forensics on call, maybe told not to disturb or contaminate anything or shift evidence until forensic team can see the body and check for residue etc.Maybe an outside agency must come to do the investigation I cannot believe that a country ( both black and white and whatever) will go to the ends of the earth to help people from anywhere who are oppressed or in need would not have the feelings to give this body dignity unless there was other factors at play .I know from my experience it was preserve the evidence ,disturb nothing wait for investigators. Emotions are running high and are going to get higher before this is over. But don’t be surprised that maybe this wasn’t an execution but a tragedy

• Yes sarge cry wolf…..this case is under the microscope… it will be resolved, maybe not the way you want ….yes an unarmed 300 pd plus 6 ft odds child in a mans body. If you think I called this boy a loser think again, I was talking about using this case as the one to promote racial bias no-matter what cnn says .There is to much baggage here

• Again you are attempting to minimize the gravamen of what is happening here in an irrational quest to subject this incident to current understandings, absent the histories. Ferguson has 70% Blacks population and out of 53 cops only 3 are Black. On the School Board, 6 of the 7 members are White. The Mayor is White and by all other indicators it is a White supremacist place. We agree that is is important to preserve any crime scene. However, what about the biggest creime scene of all – a history of racism, Jim Crow and Jim Crow esq. This is the real crime scene. And until that crime scene is subjected to an honest interrogation your children will be foever sons and daughters of chatel.

• Remember this Lawson?

“Yatim died after being shot multiple times at about midnight on July 27. Eyewitness videos of the police shooting indicate nine shots were fired, three initially, followed by an additional six, about five seconds later. About 30 seconds later, with Yatim lying on his back, a Taser was deployed.”

http://news.nationalpost.com/2013/08/19/toronto-police-officer-charged-with-second-degree-murder-in-streetcar-shooting-death-of-sammy-yatim/

• How come the Southern towns have been able to democratize their entities and not Ferguson in the Midweat?

• Please help me here Paccha are not the mayor and sheriff and aldermen prosecutors etc elected positions????? If so how can that be

• @ Lawson
        Yes. We know where you are going and your rejoinder is destined to underestimate the scale of racism and a history of today’s institutionalized hatred of Black peoples. That construction uses all kinds of mechanisms to stay in power. In Barbados, a place where you make be, there were always tens of Blacks for every White and they were still able to stay in power, even up to today. So it matters not that Black people turn out and vote for Blacks if the underlying anti-democratic system is still in place. All that would mean, like it is now, is that we’ve have some Black faces in high places managing the racist construct, like Barbados.

• @Lawson

Good point, Blacks are at the lower socio economic scale in Ferguson and have not actively particpated in the system to the level civic duties require. Let us hope Black and White leaders alike will address the issues exposed by the Brown shooting.

• @ David
        You don’t seem to understand. What makes you think that if your simplicitic suggestion has not worked before that it will work now? Do you really appreciate how long this has been happening? Have you ever met a mother of a victim? Do you really properly estimate the intent of the protectors of the system to keep things as they are? This hopefulness is trite, at best.

Now Generation

http://youtu.be/FyzkoKf52U0

• I
          Am
          Blessed

• Yo be clear.

This happened last year in Toronto.

โ€œYatim died after being shot multiple times at about midnight on July 27. Eyewitness videos of the police shooting indicate nine shots were fired, three initially, followed by an additional six, about five seconds later. About 30 seconds later, with Yatim lying on his back, a Taser was deployed.โ€

• @ David
        Further on the question of the viability of ‘democracy’. We have to remember that democracy is essentialy an economic system. It has very little to do with politics, party politics. White people in Ferguson, MO have benefited from the system as it is. Real change must therefore mean economic transformation for Blacks along economic democractic line. Remember, nobody ever got 40 acres and no mule. If you were White and had economic hegemony would you want to give it up for the sake of adherence to somebody’s notion of real democracy? That is the real question.

• breaking news!
        we are here in de BU rum shop dis mawningh
        DIFFERENT DAY BUT SAME SHITE!
        LOTS OF HEAT BUT LITTLE LIGHT!

carry on smartly

• from the autopsy it is very clear that this policeman boy cant shoot very well

murdah! (pun intended)

• @GEORGIE PORGIE

6 shots hit the target with the last 2 appearing to be kill shots.

Pretty good shooting for an ordinary policeman.

• and Yes GEORGIE PORGIE

Shooting an unarmed person is murdah.

• @Pacha

And you intend to dismantle this system to one that is not influence by an economic model.

• no hants even I, A BLIND MAN when shooting a rifle once AND for the first time shot a half inch

if this likkle boy was trying to stop the thug———-he ought not to have killed him, the kill shots were not needed

if i was a police i would seldom aim to kill
        i would shoot to maim—knees shoulders ankle joints——-DAILY PAIN FOR LIFE

i saw a man tek out a bad boy from holders hill one night in the 90’s in a fairly poorly lit place

four shots in the left sixth intercostal space i.e heart, and one in the liver as the lad folded
        NOW THAT IS SHOOTING. THAT WAS HITTING A TARGET

• Hants | August 18, 2014 at 11:54 AM |
        and Yes GEORGIE PORGIE

THANKS FOR THAT PIECE OF EDUCATION SIR
        SEEMS I MISSED THAT IN MY FORENSIC PATHOLOGY TEXT WRITTEN BY THE CHAP FROM SCOTLAND YARD

• @ David
        No, we have no such loftty ambition but trust that the tide of Rebellions now brewing in the world, and particularly the USA, will lead to revolutionary transformation that leads to better system that is fair for everybody. Ferguson may yet be a signal moment. And believe us, the powers that be know well that there is an historic boiling of discontent all over that country. Hence, the decades old militarization and integration of polices focres into a national security architecture. This is no accident.

• @GEORGIE PORGIE and

To make sure everyone understands clearly.

I Hants does NOT have a University degree so my opinions are solely based on intellect and common sense.

• YES HANTS

I FIGURED THAT ONE OUT TOO solely based on intellect and common sense.LOL

• You should also have figured out that the spelling of murdah was intentional as it is possible to be shot and not murdered.

• The National Guard will enforce curfew tonight in Ferguson. It will be interesting to compare3 autopsy reports.