406 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World”

1. The Ebola virus aside one has to congratulate the doctors, especially the missionaries, who put their lifes on the line to help mankind.

2. this is a pox on the consciousness ( bigger than the Ebola virus) of a society who would only see the rapid need for invasive response when the Ebola has invaded the white man.s world

3. All contagious diseases are just a plane ride away from everyone’s world.

4. @Sargant
    Trust you to never see the grey. Historically the virus has been found in rural areas in Africa which has historically made it easier to isolate. Today it has breached borders to affect city populations etc which makes it harder to manage.

World Health Organization (WHO) increasing at a rapid rate.

Ebola crisis: WHO to announce $100m emergency response

Jump media player

Media player help

Out of media player. Press enter to return or tab to continue.

The response plan could prevent future Ebola outbreaks, says Professor Tom Solomon from the Institute of Infection and Global Health

Continue reading the main story

Ebola crisis

The head of the World Health Organization and leaders of West African nations affected by the Ebola outbreak are to announce a new $100m (£59m; 75m euro) response plan.

They are meeting in Guinea to launch the initiative to tackle a virus which has claimed 729 lives.

Sierra Leone has declared an emergency after 233 people died there.

Ebola spreads by contact with infected blood, bodily fluids, organs – or contaminated environments.

Initial flu-like symptoms can lead to external haemorrhaging from areas like eyes and gums, and internal bleeding which can lead to organ failure.

Ebola kills up to 90% of those infected, with patients having a better chance of survival if they receive early treatment.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-28593987

5. I’ve come across a documentary which suggests the Black Plague may have been Ebola.

I’ll see if I can find it.

It is a bit long.

6. John,

Is this of any help?

‘Black Death’ Was Caused By
    Ebola Virus – Not Bubonic Plague
    By Steve Connor Science Editor
    The Independent – London
    7-23-1

History textbooks have got it wrong about the Black Death, which they say was caused by bubonic plague spread by rats and their fleas. A new study suggests that it was in fact caused by an Ebola-like virus transmitted directly from person to person.

If the findings are confirmed it could mean that a modern form of the Black Death can emerge without requiring the insanitary conditions of the Middle Ages.

Generations of schoolchildren have been told that the plague bacteria transmitted by flea bites caused the great pestilences of medieval Europe which first appeared in the 14th century and killed at least 25 million people more than a quarter of the entire population ñ over a 300-year period. But two infectious disease specialists who have analysed the Black Death have concluded that it bears a closer resemblance to modern outbreaks of haemorrhagic fever caused by the Ebola virus.

They also claim that a key mutation in a gene that protects people against infection by the Aids virus is estimated to have appeared at about the same time as the Black Death and served a similar function in that it gave carriers some protection against the virus.

Both observations point to an Ebola-like virus rather than bubonic plague bacteria ñ being responsible, according to professors Christopher Duncan and Susan Scott, of the University of Liverpool.

“Intuitively, the Black Death has all the hallmarks of a viral disease rather than one caused by plague bacteria. The history books are wrong, there’s little doubt about that,” said Professor Duncan, who studies the way epidemics spread.

The first recorded outbreak of the Black Death occurred at the Sicilian port of Messina in 1347 and was brought in by Genoese galleys returning from the Crimea on the Black Sea.

A year later the disease arrived in the West Country of England and soon spread to towns and cities where it caused fear and panic among a superstitious population who thought the red blotches on the chest of affected individuals were “God’s tokens”.

Professor Duncan said people soon learnt that the only effective way of dealing with the Black Death was to put affected families and even entire villages into quarantine for 40 days. “A quarantine period was first instituted in the city states of northern Italy in the late 14th century and this was gradually adopted throughout Europe and maintained for the next 300 years until the plague disappeared,” professors Duncan and Scott say in their book Biology of Plagues.

A quarantine would not have been effective if the disease was spread by rat fleas,” said Professor Duncan. “Rats don’t respect quarantines. This disease was transmitted directly from person to person which suggests an infectious virus.”

Bubonic plagues spread in a complex fashion because they rely on the interaction of fleas, rats and people. Yet the pattern of spread of the Black Death was relatively simple and predictable, indicating person-to-person transmission.

“Endemic bubonic plague is essentially a rural disease because it is an infection of rodents,” the book says. “The Black Death, in contrast, struck indiscriminately in the countryside and towns.”

The symptoms of the Black Death point to a haemorrhagic fever caused by an Ebola-like virus. The fever struck suddenly, it caused aching and bleeding from internal organs, as well as red blotches caused by the effusion of blood under the skin ñ classic symptoms of Ebola-like illnesses.

Professor Duncan said there was further evidence to back his theory in the form of a mutation in a key gene ñ called CCR5 ñ involved in conferring some protection against HIV. Scientists have found that this mutation arose only in Europe at about the time of the Black Death and its high frequency suggests it probably offered resistance against the virus.

Professor Duncan said: “Historians jumped on the bubonic plague idea in the early 20th-century when the disease was first described in India but … it was certainly not the causative agent in the Black Death or in any other of the outbreaks in England.”

http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/health/story.jsp?story=84800

7. David

What could I possibly have to say about Ebola, but that I hope it remained tightly contained in that part of the world, given the state of the Barbadian Healthcare System. God forbid this kind of an epidemic reaches the shores of the island in the sun and Bush Tea becomes its first victim. David, now that this disease has enter the White man’s world, as you so conspicuously articulates it, what is the ministry of health doing to educate the Barbadian public regarding this Ebola? Because let’s face it David, we can’t afford to let this disease from the Mother-Land fixed Bushie personal affairs as of yet, the old fogy has but a few remaining. And I hardly believe that blog would be the same without Bushie’s negative critique.

8. David, White man has an advanced Healthcare System that is capable of addressing this kind of a medical crisis, can’t say the same for the islands in the Caribbean. So it looks like once against we will have to depend of the White man’s Healthcare System, if the worse possibly situation materialized there in the Caribbean. But we’re on the twisted road to total emancipation, self-sufficience, and an unrealizable independence lol!

9. Yes ..indeed we might have to depend on the white man expertise and knoweldge to contain and combat..but only when it serves their purpose…and their lack of responsibity on critical life threatening issues that should be of service to all no matter race color or gender

10. I Agree!

11. “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World”

This is deliberate. Lest we forget, the Ebola virus was affecting certain parts of the African continent for some time now but with AIDS still serving the purpose of the New World Order in their systematic efforts through psychological warfare to control the minds of humankind; the Ebola viruswas not given the ominous publicity that is now presently given. The euphoria surrounding the advent of the AIDS virus imposed upon us some thirty yearsago has diminished and for the next decade Ebola will be the new face of fear of death confronting a rudderless world ripe for control.

12. 300MN+ that is a low estimate if Ebola gets out of control! I trust the CDC is working full tilt because surely the “powers” would NOT use this to CULL the population purposely. Surely it is better to use Flu Shots et al that are far easier to control?

13. ac…and Dompey???

Do give the world a break from your racial shit.

Sargeant

Your point is self-evident……but with the wilful nonsense of this post’s title clearly needed to be made. Gawd help us.

14. Interesting to hear a doctor recently returned from the affected area has placed himself under quarantine, more interesting is the fact his wife is off on a cruise, before or after his return?

http://globalnews.ca/news/1480791/victoria-b-c-doctor-not-in-quarantine-after-treating-ebola-in-africa/

15. Well said balance..however one should be mystified ..that in all of this mystery there seems to be a purpose ..one of the extinction of the black race..however so far the objective has failed ..as the race for the white race survival takes precedant ..giving reprieve to a black race that have been negatively and predominately infected.

16. The Economist explains How to contain an Ebola outbreak –

Sudden and deadly though it is, ebola can be contained, for three reasons. The first is transmission: the virus is not airborne. It is transferred only through direct contact with someone who is visibly sick. “It’s not that one person enters a bus, and half of the bus is infected,” explains Dr Matthias Borchert of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Because the early symptoms of ebola resemble more common diseases, reported infections quickly grow. Following the recent outbreak, suspected cases were flagged in Ghana, Sierra Leone and Mali, before the patients later tested negative (a few results from Mali have not yet been returned). The second reason is preparation. The WHO, Médécins Sans Frontiers and ministries of health devote tremendous resources to building wards, isolating suspected patients and tracking their contacts. “Even basic precautions reduce the risk of transmission,” says Barbara Knust of the Atlanta-based Centres for Disease Control and Prevention. Finally, ebola is treatable. Although no cure exists, the services available in an intensive care unit can help a patient beat the bug. – See more at:

http://www.economist.com/blogs/economist-explains/2014/04/economist-explains-6

17. @ac
    Why would U/ we have to depend on EVIL Whitey?

Wunna so self defeatist mentally?

U think that there are NO top Black peeps researching at the CDC?
    Researching elsewhere?

Please note Mr McCoy (1843-1929, son of slaves) invented methods for using Oil as a lubricant and 57 inventions in total! Great Canadian!
    U forget the great Black Sth African who was a leader in Heart replacement surgery?

18. Because the virus has been contained to the African space there is not enough scientific evidence to fully judge the effects of the virus on general population. Now that we have White people contracting the virus – observed in the fish bowl of social media – we hope scientists are able to arrive at definitive conclusions about the “pathogenicity and virulence of this virus in humans”.

Ebola virus disease

Fact sheet N°103

Updated April 2014

Key facts
    • Ebola virus disease (EVD), formerly known as Ebola haemorrhagic fever, is a severe, often fatal illness in humans.
    • EVD outbreaks have a case fatality rate of up to 90%.
    • EVD outbreaks occur primarily in remote villages in Central and West Africa, near tropical rainforests.
    • The virus is transmitted to people from wild animals and spreads in the human population through human-to-human transmission.
    • Fruit bats of the Pteropodidae family are considered to be the natural host of the Ebola virus.
    • Severely ill patients require intensive supportive care. No licensed specific treatment or vaccine is available for use in people or animals.

However, the only available evidence available comes from healthy adult males. It would be premature to extrapolate the health effects of the virus to all population groups, such as immuno-compromised persons, persons with underlying medical conditions, pregnant women and children. More studies of RESTV are needed before definitive conclusions can be drawn about the pathogenicity and virulence of this virus in humans.

The above is from the World Health Organization website.

19. Robert ross..too early to be all bent out of shape.there are many worlds within this small universe..that lives within the minds of all.and getting to the surface entails lookingway beyond what u are spoon fed.

20. also it said that big pharm needs more of an incentive in helping to fight the disease..how appalling..

21. @Robert Ross

The title of the post is emblematic of the red meat which is randomly thrown to titillate some bloggers into responding with the worn out platitudes and claims about Whitey/West ad nauseam.

22. @Sargeant

Which in your OPINION holds no credence.

23. Sargeant | August 2, 2014 at 10:47 AM |

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT SIR

IT SHOULD BE FUN TO SIT BACK AND ENJOY THE RUM SHOP RANT AND RAVE ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH THEY KNOW NOTHING……AND DO SO WITH AUTHORITY.

THEY WILL EVEN GOOGLE FOR INFO LOL LOL MURDAH

24. SARGEANT YOU HAVE TO TOE THE LINE BOY!
    BE CAREFUL HOW YOU CHALLENGE BOY!
    YOU ARE NOT TO HOLD AN OPINION AT VARIANCE FROM THE HERD BOY!

TRY AND GET THE CORRECT HYMN SHEET SIR

LOL BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

25. We don’t know why the people that invented the virus that is racism, a social virus for which there is to be no cure, like with bottyism they dislike it so much when we tell them the truth about themselves. There is medical Apartheid, even in Barbados. There is environmental racism, and this foundational virus these people invented is no different to Ebola. They were both invented. The world cannot and will not change until these ‘made up’ people are removed.

@ Jeff
    We don’t buy the scam that Ebola is some old disease. An old disease we happen to learn about in recent decades. If this argument is to be made, where is the evidence? Just like we are not inclined to see AIDS as a new disease (virus) either. We, like the proud conspiracy theorists we are, see them both as engineered organisms, period. Not unlike the White Devil that has otherwise polluted all life forms.

26. Yes GP I am one of those who ” WILL EVEN GOOGLE FOR INFO “

27. old disease

28. Not too long ago to tell the world the USA dumped Agent Orange Vietnam would have been punished with laughter by those intoxicated by the koolaid.

29. THIS IS THE REAL VIRUS SPREADING ACROSS AFRICA.

30. @Hants

How were you able to locate the vid? Did you Google it?

31. David | August 2, 2014 at 10:27 AM |
    Because the virus has been contained to the African space there is not enough scientific evidence to fully judge the effects of the virus on general population. Now that we have White people contracting the virus – observed in the fish bowl of social media – we hope scientists are able to arrive at definitive conclusions about the “pathogenicity and virulence of this virus in humans”.

THIS IS A LOAD OF RUBBISH
    IS IT ONLY WHEN WHITE PEOPLE GET A DISEASE THAT WE ARE able to arrive at definitive conclusions about the “pathogenicity and virulence of this virus in humans”.

DOES THE DISEASE IN BLACK PEOPLE NOT HAVE “pathogenicity and virulence?
    BECAUSE The virus has been contained to the African space DOES THIS REALLY MEAN THAT there is not enough scientific evidence to fully judge the effects of the virus on general population.?

IS THERE NOT A GENERAL POPULATION IN THE African space?I
    WHAT A LOAD OF BULL SHIT!
    EVEN AC AND DOMPEY CANT DO WORSE!

KEEP IT UP DAVID MAKE AN ASS OF YOURSELF SIR

I AM JUST CHALLENGING SIR
    THATS WHAT WE DO HERE AT BU ah lie?

32. I googled it David.

33. Hants | August 2, 2014 at 10:55 AM |
    Yes GP I am one of those who ” WILL EVEN GOOGLE FOR INFO “

i understand that Hants BUT A CERTAIN JACKASS HERE TRIED TO MOCK ME BY CLAIMING THAT THE PPTS I BROUGT HERE I GOT BY GOOGLING RATHER THAN DILLIGENT STUDY
    I INTEND TO HAVE MY FUN IN THE RUM SHOP SIR

SO YOU CA GOOGLE ON LOL

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP MAN

34. David I am not very well educated.

No University degrees so I have to rely on Google.

I also watch about 4 to 6 hours of documentaries and news on CBC and TVO almost every day.

35. @Hants

Academic ‘trophies’ is not a determinant of intelligence..

36. MoneyBrain | August 2, 2014 at 10:14 AM |

U think that there are NO top Black peeps researching at the CDC?
    Researching elsewhere?

100 % correct MB
    THESE MORONS DONT KNOW THAT THERE ARE BLACK PEOPLE IN “the african space” WHO DO RESEARCH!

PLEASE KINDLY GOOGLE UP SOME SENSE FOR THESE SEED PICKERS

INCREDIBLE! HILARIOUS!
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP MAN

37. @GP
    Sometimes I sit back and observe but sometimes yuh just gotta respond to the BS that one encounters.

Yuh see the red herring about “Agent Orange” that “David” just put on the shelf? I too slow to “connect the dots” but how does that relate to Ebola? Do you think that I should inform him that Agent Orange was first used in Canada at CFB Gagetown in a joint operation by the US and Canadian military?

Ah mean anyone can use “red herrings” or drink koolaid.

38. Have we read about any news release by the Barbados government advising protocol to deal with people traffic entering Barbados? Have seen a report out of Jamaica.

39. Hants | August 2, 2014 at 11:09 AM |
    No University degrees so I have to rely on Google.
    THAT IS VERY GOOD HANTS
    BUT I WORKED HARD AT MAKING THE PPTS I BROUGHT HERE FOR MY STUDENTS
    I SHARED THEM WITH THE RUM SHOP
    I WAS MOCKED FOR GOOGLING WHEN I DIDNT

I THOUGHT IT WA A SIN TO GOOGLE

I also watch about 4 to 6 hours of documentaries and news on CBC and TVO almost every day.

I ALSO SPEND MANY HOURS DOING THE SAME SIR

David | August 2, 2014 at 11:11 AM |
    Academic ‘trophies’ is not a determinant of intelligence.
    VERY TRUE NOR IS THE LACK OF KNOWLEDGE
    IT IS NOT INTELLIGENT TOPONTIFICATE ON STUFF YOU DONT KNOW AND TALK SHITE EITHER.I JUST CHALLENGING SIR
    THATS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU

CANT ANY ONE ELSE CHALLENGE BUT THE CHALLENGERS?
    I REALIZE THAT CHALENGING IS BARE SPORT

40. Lets hope that one of the first precautions that we will see the Health Authorities, here in Barbados take to guard against the Ebola Virus , is the banning of medical personnel ,especially those from the Hospitals and Polyclinics, from wearing working uniforms on the streets. This is long overdue.
    The old Baygon Factory had a system where a worker’s street clothing never came into contact with his /her working clothes, both signing on and off from work..

41. @ david
    TO ENLIGHTEN YOUR DARKNESS ON THE SHITE YOU WROTE WITH ALL YOUR GREAT INTELLIGENCE
    I
    WE ARE able to arrive at definitive conclusions about the “pathogenicity and virulence of this virus in humans” EVEN IN BLACK PEOPLE. THAT IS HOW MICROBIOLOGISTS DOCUMENTED THE INFO ON PARASITES AND BACTERIA PREVALENT IN THE .African space?

DISEASES IN BLACK PEOPLE ALSO HAVE “pathogenicity and virulence?

BECAUSE The virus has been contained to the African space DOES NOT MEAN THAT there is not enough scientific evidence to fully judge the effects of the virus on general population.?ACTUALLY A LOT OF INFORMATION HAS BEEN GATHERED.

THERE IS INDEED A GENERAL POPULATION IN THE African space sir?

sIR I HUMBLY SUBMIT THIS CHALLENGE TO YOUR BULL SHIT WITHOUT ANY INTELLIGENCE.
    ALWAYS REMEMBER CHALLENGING IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP

42. @Sargeant

For many years the world was ignorant about how Agent Orange was used by a sovereign country on another. That is the point you have failed to grasp. Unlike swimming in the koolaid some have not forgotten how the US fed Iraq with chemical weapons until geopolitics caused a convenient shit in foreign policy. The moral of the story, all is not always what it seems because a government says so.

43. When I first heard the name EBOLA, I thought that it was an acronym for Errol , Bree, Owen, Lloyd and Arsehole. (Insert as applicable)

44. Sargeant | August 2, 2014 at 11:14 AM |
    Sometimes I sit back and observe but sometimes yuh just gotta respond to the BS that one encounters.

SARGE THATS WHAT I DID FOR YEARS AND COMMENTED ON VERY FEW TOPICS BUT CHALLENGING IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU—-COMPLETE WITH INSULTING AD HOMINEMS. SO I DECIDED TO START CHALLENGING TOO.
    ITS BARE SPORT AFTER ALL
    Academic ‘trophies’ is not a determinant of intelligence..LOL
    MAN I WISH I HAD SOME MORE OF THEM
    DO YOU KNOW THE AMOUNT OF ONLINE TEACHING JOBS I COULD LAND?

OH WHY DIDNT I GET SOME MORE Academic ‘trophies?

45. Dompey said:

“God forbid this kind of an epidemic reaches the shores of the island in the sun and Bush Tea becomes its first victim.”

The Bushman…..lol, Dompey got it bad for you.

Well if the minister of health refuses to say who paid for the HPV Vaccine that was imported into Barbados despite it’s still being under FDA investigation. do you think Boyce gives two shits about educating Bajans about the deadly Ebola, let’s hope if there is an outbreak that it’s only confined to parliament.

Moneybrain…….why waste your breath on AC, she knows nothing about black inventors, her masters in the DLP makes sure she believes only what was programmed into her psyche, we can bet she would not know that because of a black man’s invention of filament for bulbs, Thomas Edison would not be able to patient electricity as we know it, lots of blacks at NASA, NSA, the whole alphabet soup, Bajan black women one in Canada developed and cloned the Calypso gene, another black female microbiologist who completed her cape studies at QC also patented another microbe, but you hear nothing of this in Barbados, only blah, blah, blah from the dumbo AC, one young black male a mere 19 years old is now working assiduously on a cure for colon cancer, and he is close to discovery of the cure. ….education is seriously lacking, that lot in Barbados is only educated to be yardfowls for political parties, end of story.

46. Sargeant | August 2, 2014 at 7:35 AM

WROTE CORRECTLY THUS All contagious diseases are just a plane ride away from everyone’s world.

THIS STATEMENT CAN NOT BE REFUTED EPEDEMIOLOGICALLY…….
    BUT HE WAS CHALLENGED THUS

David | August 2, 2014 at 8:35 AM |
    @Sargant
    Trust you to never see the grey. Historically the virus has been found in rural areas in Africa which has historically made it easier to isolate. Today it has breached borders to affect city populations etc which makes it harder to manage.

THIS CHALLENGER WITH HIS SUPER INTELLIGENCE FAILED TO NOTICE THAT THE BREACHING OF BORDERS WAS EFFECTED BY just a plane ride away from everyone’s world. EXACTLY AS SARGEANT SAID

AT LEAST THAT IS WHAT WAS DETERMINED BY THEEXPERTS WITH THE ACADEMIC TROPHIES AS GIVEN ON TV

AFTER ALL THE VIRUS IS NOT AN AIRBOURNE VIRUS

BUT SARGEANT WAS CHALLENGED AS IF HE WAS A MORON WHEN IN FACT HIS SIMPLE STATEMENT WAS 100 % CORRECT.

BUT CHALLENGING IS WHAT WE DO ON BU
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

47. Dompey said:

“God forbid this kind of an epidemic reaches the shores of the island in the sun and Bush Tea becomes its first victim.”

NO DOMPEY NO
    WE HAVE MORE RESPECT FOR THE VIRUS

48. Not airborne virus! Saving grace?

49. So the point that a black person is one of the many teams working to find solution means what? thr bigger picture far bigger than one black man or for purpose of argument involvement…is how as one scientist stated that the ebola virus whose origins was well known and detected was allowed to get out of control..given that supposedly leading scientist and millons of dollars was imvolved in finding solutions..even if one understands that there is much work yet to be done in finding a cure…something is WRONG..WRONG..WRONG.