406 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World”

1. Thanks Jeff

I found this one linking the Black Plague with Aids!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpXJNpymNts

I’ll keep looking.

2. @Sargeant | August 2, 2014 at 7:35 AM |
    All contagious diseases are just a plane ride away from everyone’s world.

3 0 Rate This
    @David | August 2, 2014 at 8:35 AM |
    @Sargant
    Trust you to never see the grey.

Dear David: Sargeant mostly right and you are entore;y wrong.

Ebola is actually 2 plane rides away. One 4 to 8 hour plane ride from Barbados to North America or Europe, and one 8 hour plane ride to Africa.

So Ebola is about 12 hours away.

Scary.

Damn right.

3. AC……simply put, it means blacks are also up front in research for finding a cure for ebola and other life threatening/contagious diseases, blacks are pioneers at Ph.D. leve. What would you say if one or more blacks who now do research in many research institutes around the globe find a cure for ebola among other diseases………your brain was given as a gift, no politics involved, use it.

4. Within the last 12 months right here in Barbados. without going anywhere from Barbados. I was in contact with people from Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, Liberia and Senegal (one family were my next door neighbours)

It is only by the grace of God that Ebola had not yet hit the cities of these African countries.

But it is a small, small world David. A real small world.

Read the book “The World is Flat”

5. @Simple

To pars the comment for you, the virus based on reports has been a relatively forgotten virus by the Western world because it remained on the flats of rural Africa which as far as risk goes was minimized. Now that it has cross boundaries into cities it poses a greater risk. This is the context, you obviously missed it.

6. @GEORGIE PORGIE August 2, 2014 at 11:07 AM ” A CERTAIN JACKASS HERE TRIED TO MOCK ME”

Cheeze-on-bread GP.

Wha’ you teking on Bush Tea for?

Tek it light man

We don’t tek on Bush Tea and you don’t have to either.

7. @ac
    even if one understands that there is much work yet to be done in finding a cure…something is WRONG..WRONG..WRONG.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Sometime when these things reach our door steps, we work even harder to find a solution.
    Case in point; One Friday afternoon in 1976 ,not far from my camp,at the British Defence Science and Technology Laboratory ,in Porton Down, Wiltshire ,the leading Nuclear Biological and Chemical Warfare centre in the world, a scientist there pricked his gloved finger while working with Ebola. He was given some 48 hours to live, as there were no known cure for this disease. The establishment was locked down. No one was allowed to leave or enter. His colleagues,since they could not go off for the week-end, began to work on an antidote/cure, which they successfully did within the 48 hour time period. Sometime it take a crisis or a war for the Boffins to come good.
    This incident is recorded as the first known case of Ebola in Europe.
    Perhaps from this incident Europe / Britain already has the cure for Ebola .

8. David | August 2, 2014 at 12:20 PM |
    @SimpleTo pars the comment for you, the virus based on reports has been a relatively forgotten virus by the Western world because it remained on the flats of rural Africa which as far as risk goes was minimized. Now that it has cross boundaries into cities it poses a greater risk. This is the context, you obviously missed it.

THIS SUPER INTELLIGENT MAN WANT TO TEACH SIMPLE SIMON ABOUT DISEASE AND EPEDEMIOLOGY

HE KNOWS WHAT EVERY BODY MISS BUT CANT SEE WHAT HE HAS MISSED BY THE SHITE HE TALKING HERE TODAY
    HILARIOUS
    BUT IF YA IS A CHALLENGER YA GOT TO CHALLENGE
    I CHALLENGING TOO
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

9. I ent miss nuffin’ Dvid.

A virus is a virus is a virus.

And a human being is a human being is a human being.

It is only a matter of time before the virus escapes into the rest of the world.

And then it will be cat piss and peppa’ for the res ‘o we.

Some health systems with more money and more staff will do relatively well. The people in those systems without menough money or staff will suffer more.

BUT so far as we know there is no natural immunity to Ebola, and no vaccine. So everybody is at risk, black people, white people, red people, yellow people, rainbow people.

Viruses can’t see color.

How do you know that the person sitting next to you at home, at work, on the bus, on the plane, in church has not been exposed to Ebola. You don’t.

On my way to Bridgetown Market.

See you later.

10. so what again…where is the argument….that blacks have not play leading progressive roles in many areas of invention.so with all in agreement.maybe a critical eye should be cast on the white establishment who have the source of funding and a reservior of knoweldge in combating and containment..the fact that all knows how the Ebola is contracted should not have made it an isolated issue..but one high on the agenda to be contained.

11. Sorry, i was looking for an article to explain why the cure for ebola is challenging and requires the top minds to figure out.

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/cure-ebola-article-1.1885957

12. @Simpy
    You are correct about it spreading BUT DEAD WRONG that a Virus is a Virus! WHY? Most viruses are AIRBORNE and most viruses DONT KILL 90% of those infected!

13. @ac
    Suppose Ebola is extremely difficult to solve? Authorities are unlikely to tell everyone!

14. MoneyBrain | August 2, 2014 at 12:55 PM |

@Simpy
    You are correct about it spreading BUT DEAD WRONG that a Virus is a Virus! WHY? Most viruses are AIRBORNE and most viruses DONT KILL 90% of those infected!

…………. And a human being is a human being is a human being.

Not true also!!

Depends on genetic make up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpXJNpymNts

The descendants of the European population that survived the Black Death appear to have a survival advantage with AIDS according to this documentary … possibly Ebola

15. @Pachamama ”We don’t buy the scam that Ebola is some old disease. An old disease we happen to learn about in recent decades. If this argument is to be made, where is the evidence?”

So, the logic is ‘it did not exist because we did not know of it’???

RFLMAO…..!!!

And, how is there going to be evidence of a virus existing, before we knew about it???? Backstop thinking.

Do you realize that a large proportion of the rainforests are still ‘unexplored?

And a huge proportion of the sea?

Ebola, horrific as it is, may be one of a few or many, we have no idea if so or not.

But chances are, over time, as we ‘dig’ further, we surely will find out.

The problem is thinking that the Earth is a 1+1=2 environment , when we do not even know the constituents of the equation in the first place. Not really.

16. It’s like what happened with small pox and the new world …. millions died

Yellow fever out of Africa destroyed Napoleon’s Army in Haiti.

History shows all humans are not equal!!!!!!

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MB
    VIROLOGY IS A VERY COMPLEX AREA OF STUDY
    The genome of a virus can be either DNA or RNA
    THEY MAY BE SEGMENTED OR NON-SEGMENTED
    DNA-double stranded (ds): linear or circular
    Single stranded (ss) : linear or circular
    RNA- ss:segmented or non-segmented
    ss:polarity+(sense) or polarity –(non-sense)
    ds: linear (only reovirus family)

ALSO TO COMPLICATE THINGS VIRUSES GROW RAPIDLY
    A SINGLE PARTICLE PRODUCES A LOT OF PROGENY
    DNA VIRUSES SEEM TO HAVE ACCESS TO PROOF READING THAT RNA VIRUSES DO NOT SEEM TO

USUALLY AT THIS STAGE I WOULD SUBMIT IN THE RUM SHOP ONE OF THE PPTS I MADE FOR MY STUDENTS THAT I GOOGLED LOL

BUT I WILL NO LONGER BE A MOCK STICK FOR THOSE WHO HATE ME BECAUSE OF MY ACADEMIC TROPHIES (DONT EVEN KNOW WHERE THEY ARE NOW)

INSTEAD I WILL BE MOCKING AND CHALLENGING

BTW GOOGLING PPTS FOR TEACHING PURPOSES IS HAZARDOUS
    BECAUSE OFTEN THE MAKERS OF THE PPTS DONT EVEN UNDERSTAND THE SUBJECT. THIS WILL ONLY MAKE YOU LOOK STUPID IN THE CLASS ROOM

WATCH OUT NOW FOR A FEW AD HOMINEMS.
    SHOULD BE SOME MORE SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP

18. Every event that has happened in the universe leaves a mark. Even the Big Bang can still be heard to this very day. This is always true in nature. The evolution of viruses is no different and their histories can be reconstructed in the same ways we can reconstruct the evolution of plants and animals, all animals, including the sole bi-pedal on our planet. Now, there were and are some circumstances where certain interventions interfered with nature. We will contend that AIDS and Ebola represent two such examples.

19. Life changer + Avatar

@ Well Well
    With 170million people, Nigeria is Africa’s most populous nation, and “If the disease gets going in Nigeria it would be cause for concern. Nigeria has close links with the UK and many other countries including the caribbean.
    Nigeria, Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone are now screening ” Air” passengers, but doctors say this may not be effective because Ebola has an incubation period of two to 21 days and cannot be instantly diagnosed.
    “”Symptoms include high fever, bleeding and damage to the nervous system. There is no vaccine or cure. It is spread by contact with infected blood or other bodily fluids including sweat.””
    Perhaps, the bloggers are alittle more informed now……

20. GP
    People always take aim at those that lead in any endeavour/ field, that characteristic knows no racial bias.

21. @
    John
    Good point.

22. HIV 2.0, In fact this disease is worst than.

23. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Life changer + | August 2, 2014 at 1:41 PM |
    RE “”Symptoms include high fever, bleeding and damage to the nervous system.
    PROBLEM IS THAT MANY DISEASES ORIGINATING IN THAT AREA PRESENT WITH THESE SYMPTOMS

WHEN I TAUGHT MICROB, I DEVOTED A PART OF THE SEMESTER TO THE STUDENTS HAVING TO REVIEW ALL THE DISEASES PRESENTED, AND THEN GIVE PRESENTATIONS ON DISEASES THAT PRESENT AS nervous system PROBLEMS, OR BLOOD PROBLEMS, OR GI TRACT PROBLEMS OR KIDNEY PROBLEMS ETC.
    NOT ONLY DID THIS FACILITATE THEM PASSING THE EXAMS WITH VIGNETTES INVOLVED, BUT IT SHOULD HELP THEM THINK IN THIS WAY WHEN CONTEMPLATING THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS THAT MIGHT BE INVOLVED

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Pachamama | August 2, 2014 at 1:36 PM |
    PATCHY
    STICK TO WRITING SHITE BOUT HAMAS AND ISRAEL LOL
    GO START A NEW THREAD ON THAT

25. @Barbados Government

3.1. Recommendations for countries

3.1.1. Raise the awareness and knowledge of travellers
    Travellers leaving for or arriving in an area where EVD is occurring should be provided at points of entry (e.g. in airports or ports on boarding or arrival areas or at ground crossing points) with information on the potential risk of EVD (see proposed template below). Information should also be spread among communities that may include cross-border travellers and near all relevant international borders.

The information provided should emphasize that travellers or residents in the affected areas of countries can minimize any risk of getting infected if they avoid:

Contact with blood or bodily fluids of a person or corpse infected with the Ebola virus.
    Contact with or handling of wild animals, alive or dead or their raw or undercooked meat.
    Having sexual intercourse with a sick person or a person recovering from EVD for at least 7 weeks.
    Having contact with any object, such as needles, that has been contaminated with blood or bodily fluids.
    http://www.who.int/ith/updates/20140421/en/

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MB
    YOU KNOW THAT SUGAR IS SUCROSE RIGHT?
    we usually get it from beets or canes RIGHT?

YOU KNOW TOO THAT SUCROSE IS IS A 1:1 MIXTURE OF THE ISOMERS FRUCTOSE AND GLUCOSE RIGHT?

YOU KNOW THAT GLUCOSE IS CONVERTED TO ITS ISOMER FRUCTOSE IN THE GLYCOLYTIC (or EMBED MEYERHOFF )PATHWAY RIGHT?

YOU KNOW THAT FRUCTOSE IS ALSO METABOLIZED IN THE GLYCOLYTIC (or EMBED MEYERHOFF )PATHWAY RIGHT?

YOU CAN GOOGLE IT IF YOU DONT KJNOW

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT A BU RUM SHOP JACKASS WENT ON LINE AND READ SOME SHIT ABOUT HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, AND COME IN HERE TO CHALLENGE ME ABOUT BASIC BASIC BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY

GUESS WHAT? HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP IS A MIXTURE OF THE ISOMERS FRUCTOSE AND GLUCOSE AND IS METABOLIZED IN THE GLYCOLYTIC (or EMBED MEYERHOFF )PATHWAY.

THIS IS THE KIND OF SHITE YOU GET ON BUIT IS CALLED CHALLENGING FOR THAT IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU

WHY WORRY THEN TO COME SERIOUSLY?

IT IS FAR EASIER TO TALK SHITE LIKE EVERY ONE ELSE AND CHALLENGE

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE BU RUM SHOP

27. “We just have to keep the patient alive long enough in order for the body to control this infection,” Ribner said.
    Writebol was given an experimental serum this week, Samaritan’s Purse said, though its purpose and effects, if any, weren’t immediately publicized.

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/08/02/health/ebola-outbreak/

28. Another view:

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

re “We just have to keep the patient alive long enough in order for the body to control this infection,”

THIS IS ROCKET SCIENCE DAVID. THIS IS STUPENDOUS
    IS THIS NOT WHAT IS BASICALLY DONE IN ALL INFECTIOUS DISEASES EVEN WITH ANTIBIOTICS TODAY

I ONLY CHALLENGING SIR

30. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

The white man planted Ebola in the Black man’s world…! Now they’re getting it back…! The withe man has sown so many seeds, it’s reaping time for them…!

31. No..ac not into “what if,s” but obtaining sufficient and substantial information with verifiable proof which are relevant to my comments..hence society is now looking down the nose of a double barrel shotgun called Ebola which was belived to be a cause of concern for African continent..and isolated.which now has turned out to be false…giving such information every one should be concern as to the truthfulness of the scientific information coming from who and how it is source and dispensed in the West..it is obvious from the recent turn of events in reference to the two cases and how they are being handle..one can’t help than to be observant ..that under the same factors and enviroment involved that others were dying..while the overall outlook was there was no cure or help for survival within a time frame..needless to say another misrepresentation which might only be true if all the necessay percautions where not put in place and a deliberate attempt to stone wall ..or withhold viable information to the african people..and rather rely on a concept of fear towards combating..than medical solutions..which by now would have reduce the outflow of contamination.
    t

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Mr Watson Parkinson | August 2, 2014 at 2:46 PM |
    The white man planted Ebola in the Black man’s world…! Now they’re getting it back…! The withe man has sown so many seeds, it’s reaping time for them…!

SIR EVEN AC AND DOMPEY DONT WRITE SUCH SHITE
    WHAT IS THE EVIDENCE SIR?
    JUST CHALLENGING

33. @ GP
    You have a foul mouth, for a cushion. Leave that to us. We have no desire to be in a fictitious heaven, like you. You are a fairly ignorant person. Maybe that level of ignorance is required to believe in your heavenly fiction. If we wanted to be charitable we’ll say you known too little about too much, but we don’t.

34. Maybe the people with the Malthusian ideal might have a point. Every so often we are presented with flare ups of a range of viruses. These have includes AIDS, SARS, and Ebola. Then as soon as they flare up they disappear. Could it not be possible that something else is at work here? Surely, if our business was in the pharmaceutical industry we might want to create marketing circumstances for some new drug we were trying to sell them. Thanks is only one possibility, there maybe others. But when you have assholes like Georgie Porgie around, longing for something to believe in, we could create a problem and then present the solution. No? And foolish GP will think we were geniuses or god send, while we make money. Any idiot could read a foolish bible but one needs a brain to think for one’s self. What it come to thinking Georgie Porgie needs not apply.

Secondly, there are documented cases were the United States government released dangerous strains from their banks of warfare viruses. Could this not be some biological war these clowns like GP are cooking up time and time again?

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

PATCHY
    YA TOO SWEET THOUGH WITH YOUR AD HOMINEMS
    GP DOES ONLY COOK EGGS AND SAUSAGES AND RICE ETC
    AND THEN WATCH TV , CORRECT A FEW ESSAYS ONLINE AND THESE DAYS I CHALLENGING ON BU

BUT I STILL ASKING FOR THE EVIDENCE MAN
    BRING THE EVIDENCE PATCHY

BTW I THOUGHT YOU WERE OUT BUILDING TUNNELS IN GAZA, MAN LOL

36. Whitey stupid too bad! Mek up Ebola to kill blackey! Why then would Whitey NOT develop it to ONLY ATTACH to to peeps with loads of Melanin??? Why take a chance with its 90% kill rate?

Why not drop couple nukes in Nigeria and kill 10MN instead???

How come no one talking about the White Drs helping Africans? Doesnt fit the propaganda?

37. @ PG
    We are fighting a lot of battles at the same time. Only small brains people like you have trouble walking and chewing gum!

38. GP Are U suggesting he has TUNNEL vision?

39. We don’t even know whether you are a Porgie that is a George of a George that is Porgie! LOL

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MB
    YOU NOT TOEING THE LINE MAN
    YOU LIKE YOU CHALLENGING TOO YUH

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MoneyBrain | August 2, 2014 at 4:22 PM |
    GP Are U suggesting he has TUNNEL vision?

THATS A GOOD PUN SIR?

42. Pachy,
    Please dont expose yourself by saying you fighting so many battles simultaneously! Clever people know how to FOCUS and PRIORITISE!

43. @MB
    Have you ever written anything here. Thanks for exposing yourself.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

BUT PATCHY YOU AINT GOT NO BETTER ANSWER THAN THAT?
    YOU ARGUING JUST LIKE THE SEED PICKER WHO SUGGESTED IT WAS WRONG FOR ME TO READ THE OT AND WATCH CRICKET
    LOL WUHLOSS

45. Yes it is usual to consider administering a vaccine before FDA routines have been completed but is there a case in Africa to administer on compassionate basis?

Experimental vaccine used in Ebola exposure case
    BERLIN
    By Melissa Eddy And Mike Stobbe, Associated Press

It was a nightmare scenario: A scientist accidentally pricked her finger with a needle used to inject the deadly Ebola virus into lab mice. Within hours, members of a tightly bound, yet far-flung community of virologists, biologists and others were tensely gathered in a trans-Atlantic telephone conference trying to map out a way to save her life.

Less than 24 hours later, an experimental vaccine — never before tried on humans — was on its way to Germany from a lab in Canada.

And within 48 hours of the March 12 accident, the at-risk scientist, a 45-year-old woman whose identity has not been revealed, was injected with the vaccine.

So far, so good. If the woman is still healthy by Thursday, she can consider herself safe.

Ebola hemorrhagic fever, seen mostly only in Africa, is one of the world’s most feared diseases. It begins with flu-like symptoms, followed by bloody diarrhea and vomiting. Days later, some victims begin bleeding through the nose, mouth and eyes. Depending on the strain of virus, it can kill up to 90% of victims.

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/story?id=7198628

46. GEORGIE PORGIE | August 2, 2014 at 3:06 PM |
    Mr Watson Parkinson | August 2, 2014 at 2:46 PM |

SIR EVEN AC AND DOMPEY DONT WRITE SUCH SHITE
    WHAT IS THE EVIDENCE SIR?
    JUST CHALLENGING

…………………………………………………………………………………………..
    He could be right about that. Ever so often the good military, British, French ,Americans, etc go to these poor countries and under the pretext of engaging in a Hearts and Mind Operation, where they supposedly are looking after the health of the natives, often administer experimental drugs , that they are unable to test on unsuspecting soldiers , or even animals at home.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/412718.stm
    The only known case of Ebola in Europe was in 1976, when a scientist at Porton Down laboratory in Britain accidentally pricked himself with an infected needle. He survived.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/science-news/3292496/Porton-Down-scientists-face-charges-over-1950s-experiments.html

47. Life changer + Avatar

Now that the world has been put on notice about Ebola, it’s time to try facts instead of scare tactics from misinformed rum shop bloggers on this site.

The World Health Organization (WHO) is the primary reporting agency on case numbers and deaths. Taking their stats with a few grains of salt, but recognizing that mainstream accounts come from WHO, here is their July 25 update, “Ebola Virus Disease, West Africa”:

1201 total cases. 672 deaths. These numbers cover Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia—the Ebola focus areas.

Looking a little deeper, we see that WHO divides each number into categories: “confirmed,” “probable,” and “suspected.”

Diagnostic methods for IDing Ebola in those 3 countries are uncertain. Therefore, we should only consider the category labeled “confirmed,” and even then we should have doubts.

So let’s look at the total for confirmed Ebola case numbers in those countries.

It’s 814.

Confirmed number of deaths? 456.

Now consider another WHO report. This one is titled: “Influenza (Seasonal) World Health Organization,” dated April 2009.

It’s the WHO fact sheet on regular seasonal flu, the kind that is said to infect people globally, year after year, like clockwork.

Ready?

Annual number of severe cases: 3-5 million.

Annual number of deaths: between 250,000 and 500,000.

Remember, that’s every year—not a one-time shot.

When it comes to seasonal regular flu, the World Health Organization issues no scare reports, no dire warnings, and the press mentions nothing. Zero.

However, with 814 confirmed cases and 456 deaths from Ebola, the whole world is put on notice.