There is a cricket saying, if a batsman does not watch the ball carefully onto the bat, bad things are likely to happen. The local news will be consumed with the resignation of former prime minister Owen Arthur from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) after being a member for 43 years for the next week or two. Arthur’s resignation – which took many Barbadians  by surprise – has triggered a flood of speculation about how it will influence the porakey political landscape of Barbados. Sadly we have found yet another politically motivated event to distract from the important job of rebuilding Barbados. Has anybody noticed Barbados dropped from 38 to 59 in the Human Development Index?

The imposition of the Municipal Solid Waster Tax (MSWT) on Barbadians by the government has proved to be the most controversial government initiative since the 8% salary cut on civil servants salaries in the 90s. Coincidentally, that austerity measure was also imposed by a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government battling to manage in harsh economic conditions. What the MSWT has done is to provoke a greater level of interest by the public in how government is managing the affairs of the country. It has resulted in a strident call by ordinary Barbadians for government to be transparent in how decisions are being made. The MSWT is good for Barbados because it aggravated Barbadians to march, again. Because of the muni tax Barbadians were able to force the government to claw back on a policy measure which was signed-off. The tax forced a former prime minister of fourteen years, and a member of a political party for forty three to resign. The wreck caused by the muni tax is a work in progress.

Owen Arthur’s resignation will hog up the news space with stoking from the DLP spin doctors because it removes the spotlight from a government labouring to find ways to spur the economy. BU will not be distracted from the issue which has been the catalyst for unprecedented rising public discontent in the government. Unless there is dramatic improvement in the economy between now and the next general election the discussion will be whether Mara Thompson and Dennis Kellman will retain their seats, two DLP safe seats.  The BLP, currently in disarray, has time on their side to fix the wrongs.

There is a strong feeling the MSWT is unjust and unless the government is able to convince Barbadians otherwise this will be an issue on the next general election platform. What makes this issue upsetting for many is the refusal or inability of the minister of the environment Denis Lowe to effectively interact with the public to answer many valid questions and concerns.  No where in the world will a government propose to build a USD300 million Waste to Energy Plant using new technology (plasma gasification) and expect to implement as a business as usual project.  The discussion which is currently taking Barbados by storm should have been encouraged by the government BEFORE the decision to sign a MOU with Cahill Energy. Any sensible government would have engaged a more transparent approach to introducing the technology of plasma gasification to Barbados.  Even more disgusting is the flat refusal by Lowe to engage the most visible NGO on the environment in Barbados , The Future Trust.

It is interesting that two large initiatives the government has launched are being championed by two ministers who are not very forthcoming with sharing information with the public.  The government has placed a lot of store on a renewable energy program and a waste to energy initiative, BU agrees with the approach, but Ministers Denis Lowe and Darcy Boyce are two of the lease likely to win the hearts and minds of Barbadians on any issue which require a champion. If the government of Barbados is interested in being transparent it is advised to take the job of effectively communicating with Barbadians more seriously.  Frankly, Barbadians have become very frustrated at the corn beef approach adopted by BOTH political parties to secure popularity. This is the age of social media which has fuelled a different expectation how Barbadians want to be informed.

We hear from Jepter Ince  – his shortcomings notwithstanding – more than Darcy Boyce and Denis Lowe, why?

197 responses to “Solid Waste Tax Good for Barbados”

1. Bushie like you had a rough night ……wha happen? Mrs Bushie throw yuh outta de bedroom? LOLL

2. @islandgal

Why do you want to turn this into a gender issue? What is to prevent the retort directed at homosexuals?

3. David I asked that because many here believe that women should not lead and can’t lead. They blame all the ills in society Barbados on women. Especially that old fart Bush tea!

4. You have been around long enough to know that Bush Tea uses the ruse of provocation to disturb the pedestrian thinking that Barbadians appear to be comfortable.

5. Dem IDIOTS ent even Educated!
    Where did true leadership go? The talent run out?
    Grantley, Errol, Tom and Cammie spinning in dem graves like a F1 wheel at Brand’s Hatch. Cor blumma!

6. @ Islandgal
    …no problem..
    If Bushie was not a brass bowl do you think the bushman would be even engaging on BU ?
    It takes a brass bowl to call out brass bowlery….

Trust brass bowl Bushie on this…when we reach the stage where it makes sense to use women as leaders, we may as well all drink the koolaid…. ’cause de dog dead!!
    BTW…this is why the “bulling thing” is so fundamentally DESTRUCTIVE to any society….no matter what Ross or the UN says…

Bush Tea uses the ruse of provocation to disturb the pedestrian thinking that Barbadians appear to be comfortable.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Why don’t you tell her that Bushie learnt from the master himself…..David of BU 🙂

MoneyB
    You have identified the basic problem. The causes are REALLY interesting. Wisdom don’t fall off trees.

7. @Clone | July 27, 2014 at 9:13 PM |
    Prodigal maybe you should go to a Q in D community and release some your stress because 2018 real far fromnow………………………..

Hell no, you would never find me in such settings, not my cup of tea!
    For your information, I live a happy, contented, peaceable life. I want for nothing.

You dems may have the government but you do not care about Barbados. You really think that this country can continue on this downward skate path until 2018?

8. ac

You speak of “respect” for the office of PM. It’s a very Bajan thing, this word “respect”. Bollocks – all respect is or should be deserved respect even if it should be at the most trivial level of the office holder respecting it himself.

I am neither DLP nor BLP on this issue. In fact, most strangely I suppose, I am with David and the post writer. ANYTHING to stop the talking and register feelings – and then let “respect” enter the arena.

As for Mia – let the poor woman alone. I can think of some dreadful women office holders. But I can also think of great ones. Thatcher is one; Golda Meir another. I respect Owen enormously. But now let him stop acting the brat. The mark of a man is what he calls from the cross.

9. David

Is there any distinction between a “ruse” (to provoke) and honest-to-goodness views (which in fact provoke)? Or to put it another way – is Bush tea by these standards a hero and RR (or Dompey or ac inter alios) a villain? I guess it’s a question of ‘respect’. What do you think?

10. The life Changer + Avatar
    The life Changer +

Deleting blogs.

When you invited me to blog on the site through LinkedIn, you appeared quite genuine.

It seems as people are informing me, you are a spin doctor?

Selectively presenting facts and quotes that support one’s position (cherry picking)
    Non-denial denial
    Non-apology apology
    Mistakes were made
    Phrasing in a way that assumes unproven truths, or avoiding the questions
    “Burying bad news”: announcing one popular thing at the same time as several unpopular things, hoping that the media will focus on the popular one.
    Misdirection and diversion..

For years businesses have used fake or misleading customer testimonials by editing/spinning a customers clients to reflect a much more satisfied experience than was actually the case.

*In 2009 the Federal Trade Commission updated their laws to include measures to prohibit this type of “spinning” and have been enforcing these laws as of late. Additionally, over the past 5 to 6 years several companies have arisen that verify the authenticity of the testimonials businesses present on the marketing materials in an effort to convince one to become a customer.

Another spin technique that is relevant, involves a delay in the release of bad news so it can be hidden in the shadow of more important or favorable news or events.

11. @Ross

We are all different and when confronted with the same situation may choose to walk a different path.

12. Owen Arthur, have you been promised a Knighthood? I once had great respect & honour for you, now I feel you should get out of politics completely, you have been a let down to the poor working class people of Barbados. So many pensioners are so disappointed in you, so go home & retire completely.

13. cuss PM stuart all u like but he does not have ownership of the. office..he was placed their as an administrator or overseer.on his arrival there were rules and regulations that he swore to upheld..and it therfore behooves him or anyone to have the audaucity to regulate or make any changs that have not been documentated or agreed by law..ln the day to day functions of the PEOPLES OFFICE..mia was out of order with her ridiculous .demand of PM Stuart…and as OSA quite rightly stated should have been put in her place…with a few muscular words…

14. David

Are you saying that faces change cases? If so, would you say you were without (a) scruple, and (b) principle? I don’t think you can possibly be saying this though.

15. The Life Changer

Have I missed something? Please explain.

16. ac

The marchers presented their grievances to government. Government, in the person of the PM, told them to bog off and eat cake. So – now the Office is more important than the grievance. Democracy is a toy to be talked about. It’s not to be lived and experienced. Protest is formally contrary to national interest. National interest is what the PM says it is.

Very well. Let’s see – remembering that both the French Queen and Wat Tyler lost their heads.

17. ac | July 27, 2014 at 9:20 PM | IN the interview,,,,,what strikes me most is OSA respect for the office of PM,,,,
    cannot believe my ears, AC praising OSA. Does she no longer want to know about the $75,000. campaign contribution CLICO cheque she continually accuses of stealing.

18. oh,dear ,,now i asked that question many times over,,,,,,even though it is hard to erase the past,,,,,one must give credit where credit is deserving even to an old tyrant ,,,,like OSA….

19. ac | July 28, 2014 at 12:57 PM |

cuss PM stuart all u like but he does not have ownership of the. office

What a joke.

20. @AC et al…

But you MAY be right. Nowadays in Barbados, no one ‘takes ownership’ of anything. Not the PM, either, though the little political actions and shifts are surely with his direction or agreement, it could not be otherwise, anyone thinking that could only be foolish……

And as for others…. a lot of talk, no action……

Remember this however… ”Politicians are masters of the art of deception.”

21. ”Politicians are masters of the art of deception.”
    And so is Religion Crusoe! People prefer to be deceived and whenever they don’t want to face the facts they leave it up to their “God” aka Politician.

22. now island gal u have spoken a mout fullll…….however deception did not dissuade u from from marching in the hot broiling miday sun ……ummmm led by a politician

23. @RRoss
    The marchers presented their grievances to government. Government, in the person of the PM, told them to bog off and eat cake.
    ++++++++++
    The marchers’ grievances or Mia’s? Barbados is more leaky than a sieve and that list hasn’t seen the light of day. Perhaps you can make up your own list and I’ll work on mine. Even better “David” can have a blog where everyone can submit their own list, that can be a cathartic exercise, better than a sea bath at dawn.

24. @Sargeant

Here is what we will do, nothing.

25. Sarjeant

We’ve discussed this…see above. The letter and Mia’s address prior to delivery struck a chord with ALL present. I’m sorry you weren’t there to experience it. But of course, it would be surprising if there was no element of self-interest….a bit like going to church to claim eternal life..

26. Wunna bout here fighting among wunna selves for a party while Donville and Mia was drinking at de Stadium until de where drunk. Mia ain’t take a paycut despite Sinckler gave her de Four Seasons legal work which paid her over $5,000,0000

27. Ross @ ac

The marchers presented their grievances to government. Government, in the person of the PM, told them to bog off and eat cake. So – now the Office is more important than the grievance. Democracy is a toy to be talked about. It’s not to be lived and experienced. Protest is formally contrary to national interest. National interest is what the PM says it is.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

ross as lawyer u should have known better to present the above argument …. what u should have first done is do a research on constitutional law and provide a more plausible defense,… Instead ..what u did is to grab hold of your political hat,cock it on one side of your (almost) bald head and over react in a……”mottleyism ” reactionary style of politics,,,,NOT good..

28. Interesting the Muni Tax Bill was implemented with the promise that the MoF will consider requests for waiver/refund. Yet, the government in all their planning puts two cashiers to accept muni tax payments. Again poor execution.

29. What are u saying ,,david,,,,be more explicit,,,,,,,

30. ac

Please tell me what constitutional law (a) forbids adverse comment on the antics of a PM; (b) forbids the presentation of the grievances of the people lawfully to the PM?

What would you regard as the grundnorm of our constitutional framework? You are a prudent jurist so you’ll know the answer to that.

And I AM reactionary? LOL

Oh and I must tell you lest you totally destroy my already bad reputation – I am not bald nor nearly bald.

PS when you write ‘ECHR’ your slip shows.

31. It is terrible that a song promoting the use of the lethal drug alcohol can come and win a National Competition . It shows the depths to which Barbados is sinking. What influence will this have on my 13 year old ? answer: –a bad influence –I dare say !

32. The muni tax stays so says the MoF.

33. Jan Jan | July 29, 2014 at 4:07 PM |

It is terrible that a song promoting the use of the lethal drug alcohol can come and win a National Competition . It shows the depths to which Barbados is sinking. What influence will this have on my 13 year old ? answer: –a bad influence –I dare say !

and i dare say……train up a child in way he / she should go and when that child grows ……..they will not depart from it……..words of wisdom

Proverbs 22,vs 6….

34. robert ross | July 29, 2014 at 11:17 AM

Oh and I must tell you lest you totally destroy my already bad reputation – I am not bald nor nearly bald.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

NO! ross i was not speaking about your Head,,but that side of the the brain that no longer functions,,,,,,Errrrrr,|

35. It would been a better statement by the MoF if he shared the total muni tax collected to date. To say lines snaked out of the Treasury was unscientific and meant nothing. A vacuous statement.

36. David leave it up to YOU and MIA . .THe PM and MOF would spend most of their time talking to the people, instead od doing the business of finding solutions …,for as many problems that this country( has) that needs to be address it would take at least a full day almost everyday in front of the media,and one can guarantee , in the end no one would be satisfied cause some body or some entity question would be left out,,,, now as far as the collection update…. i belive that the various collection agency or offices would have to be all up todate precisely. in order for the MOF to give you an accurate account,,, needles to say that it takes time,,,,, stop displaying childlike behavior and demonstrate your ability to be practical instead of irrational,

37. @ac

Did you read the comment? You did not even hear the comment by thw MoF dis you? Have the last word, you remain clueless about what goes on in Barbados. You have just inspired the next BU post.

38. i stand by my comment,,,,,,,,,,,

39. Isaiah 1:23
    Our rulers are rebels, companions of thieves; they all love bribes and chase after gifts. They do not defend the cause of the fatherless; the widow’s case does not come before them.

Isaiah 10:1-2
    Woe to those who make unjust laws, to those who issue oppressive decrees, to deprive the poor of their rights and withhold justice from the oppressed of my people, making widows their prey and robbing the fatherless.

Dear David or maybe Georgie Porgie or Bush Tea Zoe:

Was this Isaiah fella writing about long ago or was he writing about our present government?

40. Jeremiah 5:27-29
    Like cages full of birds, their houses are full of deceit; they have become rich and powerful and have grown fat and sleek. Their evil deeds have no limit; they do not plead the case of the fatherless to win it, they do not defend the rights of the poor. Should I not punish them for this? declares the LORD. Should I not avenge myself on such a nation as this?

41. Should we assume this Church asked for a reprieve and was denied? 

FALLOUT

Solid waste tax will hurt churches’ social programmes

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on July 30, 2014.

Saved under Economy, Local News

Some of Government’s church-supported social programmes may fall victim to the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

President of the Barbados Evangelical Association (BEA) Dr Nigel Taylor told Barbados TODAY this afternoon that some churches will struggle to pay the levy, which could put them out of pocket to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars.

The BEA has called an emergency general meeting for Thursday night at the Jackson Church of God to consider the implications of paying the tax and cutting back on programmes it operates on behalf of Government.

“In the past, we would have had churches that would have been doing yeoman service in terms of assisting Government with the social programmes. You may not know this, but we have a host of churches which [do] a lot of community work, like meals programmes,” Dr Taylor said.

“If you followed market prices today, you are going to find out that . . . financing of these programmes are done by the same people in the local congregations. So the churches will have to decide one of two things: either we modify the programme, whatever the programme is, and look at the tax, or appeal to the sensitivity of the Minister [of Finance Chris Sinckler].”

The BEA head said he was certain each denomination would have slightly varied positions on the matter.

“You ever thought how the Anglicans would fare in this or the Roman Catholics or other groups. I have extended the invitation to all the ministers. This is not really a BEA thing. Somebody has to sponsor it, somebody has to give leadership to it and the BEA executive has created the forum where people could come and talk. But not only talk, we need to look to see how we can engage this whole process,” he noted.

Dr Taylor said that the association’s executive recently met in emergency session and recognised that churches were being asked to pay significant sums based on their tax invoices.

“Persons have been saying we have [to look for] in the vicinity of thousands of dollars. Obviously some now still have to tabulate. . . You would find this to be true in [denominations] like those that have like 30 something churches because I suspect that because they are under the denominational umbrella they are not going to be paying church by church, I suspect they are going to be paying in terms of a denomination. You will hear them mention something like, ‘we have to pay thousands of dollars now,’” Dr Taylor told this newspaper.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/07/30/fallout/

42. The Churches have behaved like if the lived in another Barbados while ignoring the plight of its congregants. Something had to wake their religious asses up.

43. Wait ! John Boyce had the guts to visit Bank Breweries, and to be seen in todays Nation, being enlightened by one of the Brewers on some aspect of beer making. Wuhloss

44. David | July 30, 2014 at 9:34 PM |

Should we assume this Church asked for a reprieve and was denied?

So, David, what happened to Thompson’s ‘society not economy’….?

Sad, a destructive government, very destructive.

45. @Crusoe

The Church will obviously be listed as delinquent, expect no money from the Anglican and other denominations many who are land rich and cash poor.

46. No David the Anglicans will pay their taxes, but this government and others past and present ought to remember that many of us went to school in Anglican church buildings bough with the blood of our ancestors who are survivors of the crossing.

The Anglican church might be cash poor but we are still rich in the spirit.

47. Many Churches are begging for money to fix their roofs.