Submitted by Douglas
Sandy Lane Jet service

When the hoteliers on the island like Mr Adrian Loveridge rejoice in writing every week the trifle and myopic vision for tourism, I am forced to ask if he ventures outside and into the areas that are really doing business in tourism and that are the ones generating serious inflows of foreign exchange for this island .

Take for example this fantastic innovation being created by Sandy Lane hotel, for the Winter Season of 2014 – 2015, we have a first for Barbados a Private Boeing Jet Service flying from. Heathrow to GAIA bring some of the most wealthy to our shores and to our wonderful Sandy Lane Hotel.

We also are now aware that despite his vocal claims that hotels do not make money and the industry will die according to the former BHTA President Mr Gordon Seale, despite his gloom and doom he has amassed enough earnings from tourism to now further invest in the same industry he has continually cried shame on the same industry that has provided him with lavish homes in Portugal and Barbados, the same industry that has provided him the luxury of owning the top of the line BMW’s and sports cars, the same industry that provided him the opportunity to buy another hotel in Amaryllis but yet still guys like Seale and Loveridge continue to cry down the same industry that makes them millions.

We will soon have a new Four Seasons Hotel and development and a Beaches Hotel and a new hotel on the site of Sam Lords and I am sure that the same ones who can find no good returns in tourism will be the same ones grabbing to get onboard this DLP tourism forward development tourism train ‎.

See the website attached: http://www.sandylane.com/pdf/Revised-Royal-Jet-flyer.pdf

174 responses to “Sandy Lane Private Jet Service Launched”

1. St George's Dragon Avatar

And what exactly was the Government’s role in this new Sandy Lane jet service which they are happy to take the credit for?

2. Adrian, tell Douglas, congratulations.

Sandy Lane is doing something right. Take all the credit for this,Douglas.

Congratulations and well done Sandy Lane!

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ Douglas….three words form the appropriate answer for you. NUMBERS DON”T LIE.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It took them a long time to put some thing in place once the CONCORD was caged in Barbados.Now we can use RED JET for the CC passport holders, The DBLP so dam greedy they all the money for self,

To much MUCH MINISTERS IN BUSINESS INSTEAD OF RUNNING THE GOVERNMENT ,

5. It is a good initiative. The problem with Barbados we feel we have to credit a public or private sector. The reality is that there should be only one sector BOTH working in the interest of Barbados.

6. head nod ! A SMILE ! AND A wink! TEK DAT MIA AND THE BLP YARDFOWLS…ha! ha! ha!….

7. Hamilton Hill Avatar

This Circus Clown Gathering continues to mark time, counting down the days towards the date on their calendar marked with the inscription” Pension Qualification”. Sad thing is the fact that the government in waiting is complicit in this charade. If Robert is Bob and Trevor is Jack, then a Dick effing tourism, and that’s a fact. Get loss DOUGLAS!

8. mr Allan Gordon Seale who owns Sand Acres hotel; Bougainvillea Beach and now he buy Amaryllis; always asking for concessions. you know how much property he owns? here an Spain and Bolivia and Florida! not filed a tax return in over 12 years. pays no national insurances.

9. this govt busting its as.,.s trying to get this country out of a hell hole and yuh got an opposition in waiting stirring up nuff nuff trouble,,trying to turn off investor confidence,,well this golden nugget,,,is just the beginning,,,wunna ain;t see nothing yet,,another cat in bag..but that one going give the opposition a heart attack,,,,,,wuhloss

10. David:
    Is this article from Douglas Leopold Phillips (DLP)?

11. AC:
    You are now in your element, enjoy!!

12. @Douglas aka Peter Gilkes, well said!

13. From what we’ve heard of the Gordon Seale chap it like he is a piece of work Plantation Deeds would say scumbag.

14. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ lemuel ….What element what? This government knew that the retrenchment program was inevitable, yet it made this callous choice to embark upon it without putting in place any mechanism to ensure that those affected would not be further penalized, like waiting indefinitely for money that is rightfully theirs. This administration can do nothing at this stage that would cause sane human beings to think about redemption.

15. @ Hamilton Hill

pray tell me what is the purpose of your comment………… really rather than trying to assassinate the govt attempts to bring Forex and in the process rejuvenate the tourism industry in the best,,,interest of all………being the patriot that you are (LOL) u should be happy,,,,,,,i guess that is asking too much…almost as snickering as David comments about people taking credit,,,,,,it seems that unless it is all about doom and gloom..wunna malcontents never happy,,,even this week good news about the thousands of brazilian tourist arrivals was met with disapproval by the blp yardfpwls.don;t u guys realize that every piece of good news help the country,,just get it in wunna head the country belongs to the people and not the political party, kudos to the DLP,,,,,,

16. Sandy Lane is in a market that allows you to charge 17,000 US dollars for a return flight.

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/may/11/britain-worlds-most-billionaires-per-capita

THE RICH GETTING RICHER AND THE POOR………

17. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ ac….I spent several years cussing the Owen Arthur led BLP.You and I along with CCC were relentless in attack on an almost daily basis. We were promised care, concern and compassion, were we not? Tell me ac, has anything changed? Have you read the Deloitte report? If you did, can you honestly say that it sat well in your thought process? Ac my friend I was such a disciple that if I had come home and found David Thompson in my house I would have accepted that horn.Ya feel mah? Disappointment has made a malcontent of me and that ac, is the purpose of my comments .With every fiber of my being I despise this bunch of fraudsters, and every poor bajan should feel so too.These bitches don’t give two hoots bout none ah we!

18. Wait Boos still in the place, the self appointed business wizard disappears for spells then re-emerges to spew more foolishness than before. His latest utterances come perilously close to calling for the overthrow of the democratically elected government. The police should be taking notes. It is doubtful George Belle coached Boos to talk his coup tripe.
    Boos your sell by date is long past do us a favor ride off into the sunset for good.
    See ya!

19. Confidence will return when there is evidence that policies are working. So far Barbados continues to be one of the bottom performers in the region. So yes we are all happy to hear of initiatives implemented but if we don’t see the results in the numbers we are entitled to ask questions.

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Douglas, you clearly do not follow my utterings. I highlighted this several months ago. Please check my FaceBook postings and in fact sent the YouTube video highling the jet to Randall Wilkie.

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

corretcing HIGHLIGHTING….

22. 6 flights per year with 18 seats……hmmm..lets see that is a total of 108 tourists assuming all flights are fully sold and are all passengers are new tourists which is doubtful so lets cut that number in half. So we are talking about 50 people per year. Wow. That is sure to make a big difference.

23. Both these ramgoat billygoat DLP/BLP disorganizations must be driven as soon as possible by the broad masses and middle classes of Barbados from the Parliament of this country.

Enough said!!

24. Am I missing something here? Can Douglas and “ac” tell me what they are so excited about? The owners of Sandy Lane invested their money to implement a marketing strategy, without “Butch Stewart type concessions” from this administration, in an effort to make more profit. Sandy Lane is a luxury hotel that caters to some of the wealthiest visitors to this island, as such the introduction of a private jet service augurs well for the hotel’s image. This initiative is indicative of superior marketing strategy……. kudos to the owners.

I think ac, Douglas and the DLP should be hanging their heads in shame. Rather than trying to lead us into believing the DLP had something to with this venture and wanting to take credit for it, they should tell us what innovative marketing strategy this administration has implemented so far, to market Barbados, taking into consideration that they had 6 years of tax dollars to use.

25. ac | May 29, 2014 at 10:10 PM |

“this govt busting its as.,.s trying to get this country out of a hell hole and yuh got an opposition in waiting stirring up nuff nuff trouble,,trying to turn off investor confidence,,”

AC, when are you going to stop this nonsense??????? Stop regurgitating the foolish statements coming from the mounts of Donville Inniss and Sinckler. Ask yourself this question: what factors would actually cause an investor to lose confidence in Barbados?

October 23, 2010:
    “S&P complained about the Government’s delay in dealing with the nation’s economic woes as it dropped Barbados’ foreign currency rating down a notch to BBB-minus from BBB. At the same time, the local currency rating fell from A-2 to A-3.”

June 14, 2011
    Moody’s Investors Service lowered its domestic currency rating on Barbados to the brink of junk, citing concerns about the island nation’s ability to absorb high levels of government debt issuance as the already large deficit is expected to rise.

July 17, 2012,
    Rating agency Standard & Poors (S&P) on Tuesday downgraded its long-term foreign- and local-currency sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘BB+/B’ from ‘BBB-/A-3,’ (Standard & Poor’s lowered the short-term ratings to ‘B’ from ‘A-3’.) consigning the Caribbean country to “junk” bond status and pushing up the cost of future borrowings.

December 21, 2012
    Barbados’ credit has been downgraded to “junk” status by Moody’s Investors Service. The downgrade lowered the country’s foreign and local currency bond ratings to Ba1 from Baa3. A junk bond, or one that is “below investment grade” due to a heightened risk of default, is any bond with a rating of Ba1/BB+ or lower, according to the system used by Moody’s.

Novenber 21, 2013
    Standard & Poor’s has lowered its long-term rating on Barbados, the New York-based rating firm announced. The country’s long-term credit rating was lowered to “BB-” from “BB+”. S&P said the downgrade reflected “mounting external pressures associated with a persistent current account deficit and external financing challenges, as well as the ongoing high fiscal deficit largely because of a substantial fall in government revenues as a result of the weak economy.”

The above reports, which are a result of irresponsible spending and poor economic policies (fiscal and monetary), are used to influence investment decisions and ultimately determines investor confidence……. not the party political diatribe of an opposition party.

26. @David May 30, 2014 at 3:32 AM |

“Confidence will return when there is evidence that policies are working. So far Barbados continues to be one of the bottom performers in the region”…………………………………………..

Did you not read the clown prince Denis Kellman’s remarks to his branch last Sunday? He said so much confidence has returned to this economy that investors are falling over themselves to invest in the projects coming on stream.

Too bad the ordinary Barbadian cannot see what this clown is seeing!

27. Were the investors named?

Exclude Butch who was wooed by a washpan of concessions.

28. @ Artaxerxes | May 30, 2014 at 10:11 AM |

Am I missing something here? Can Douglas and “ac” tell me what they are so excited about? The owners of Sandy Lane invested their money to implement a marketing strategy, without “Butch Stewart type concessions” from this administration, in an effort to make more profit…………………….

Unless Artaxerxes, the inept incompetent wild boys gave Sandy Lane concessions of which the public has not been told. Remember the Minister of Tourism (by the way, where is he, they go underground when things are really bad) said that a umber of hotels had applied for the same concessions as were given to Butch Stewart. Who knows if landing fees or a number of taxes have been waived. We will not know for some time.

Let ac and Douglas take credit, God knows that this is the only thing they can brag about in the last six years……..they have been stuck on OSA and MAM.

29. No, David. Just empty rhetoric as usual! But he had the nerve to mention Pickering when we on BU know what really went down with that.

30. The rumour on the streets is that Jada is about to sign a deal to do the Four Seasons.

31. So ac is jumping up and celebrating because an extra 50 tourist a year visiting the country?

Yawwwnnnnn………. I could as well go back to sleep for the next 4 years like the sleeping giant who has been asleep for the past 6 years and only woke up to buy out an election.

Somebody please wake me with the welcome news that the next election has passed and these jokers have hosed out from de people Parliament.

32. Prodigal Son | May 30, 2014 at 10:27 AM |

“Did you not read the clown prince Denis Kellman’s remarks to his branch last Sunday?”

That is not the best Prodigal……. Kelly is trying to convince us that government’s retrenchment policy was a master plan, since they timed the layoffs to coincide with the start of projects such as Four Seasons, Archer’s Bay and North Point. So that those they “lay off are the ones who can easily get back jobs….. noting that if government kept the Public Service over-loaded, it would had have to import workers as the former administration had done.”

Man…. Kelly is nuff shiite, hear…… and you know that people are actually going to endorse this folly.

33. Four Seasons, Beaches & Sam Lords ?????

Author will be pushing up daisies long before there is a FOUR SEASONS(other than spring/summer/fall/winter), a BEACHES or SAM LORDS.

Better WAKE UP and smell the daisies while your still alive.

34. Due Diligence Avatar

Douglas said:

We will “SOON” have a new Four Seasons Hotel and development and a Beaches Hotel and a new hotel on the site of Sam Lords and I am sure that the same ones who can find no good returns in tourism will be the same ones grabbing to get onboard this DLP tourism forward development tourism train.

Douglas

Please tell us WHEN.

Please tell us WHO is going to build a new Four Seasons Hotel and development and a new hotel on the site of Sam Lords..

Please give us the names – besides Butch who was induced with unheard of concessions to come to Barbados.

Its all talk, talk, talk.

Please show us the money.

35. @Hoodie

A key measure is average spend. 100 tourists staying at Sandy Lane may well way above the average spens i.e.equates to hundreds of tourists.

36. Note the outbound stop in DUBLIN, a way to avoid Heathrow Air Passenger Duty (APD)

37. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Wily, I have been in contact with the MD of Norwegian Air who have now based their long haul operation in Dublin to consider operating a Dublin/Barbados or Dublin/Barbados/St. Lucia/Dublin service from 2015.

38. On this Sandy Lane operation APD is reduced some 300 British Pounds per passenger, 5400 Pounds per 18 passengers by stopping in Dublin on the outbound leg.

39. Who bought Sandy Bay Beach Club ?

If the economy is plunging into the abyss why are these people buying up properties?

40. Hants I was wondering the same thing. Could it be that “Butch-style” concessions have been already agreed with these investors?

41. So ac. Is jumping up and dowm so what …any good news that is going to. be benefical to the economy act have a patriotic right to jump up and down.unlike u yardfowls whose only interstate is self..there is much more good news. so wunna better get used to it…btw bro. arterexes how many down grades did the blp have in good econominally ecnomic times

42. Peltdownman I am not looking at this from a political point of view.

I am trying to understand if some who own land and or residential property should “hold or fold.”

In times like these the COWS come out to graze on cheap grass.

43. ac
    Are you one of the caterers who will now lose out on ripping off the taxpayers for the crappy lunches served to poor people’s children who attended those summer camps? This certainly confirms that the fatted calf is now a carcass. Wuhloss! More bad news, ac.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Q If the economy is plunging into the abyss why are these people buying up properties?
    A all the real estate gerus teach that these are the conditions for buying real estate. ‘

45. Douglas, ac and all you party celebrants. Looking at the jet in the lead story, I was expecting accommodation of over 100 people, but alas!, only 18 seats. I have one question Douglas for you. Did any of the 18 super rich passengers invest/plan to invest in the purchase of homes or business to say that we will be increasing our forex position? Forget the over 10 thousand pounds airfare (cost inclusive of 2 nights at SL) since it will not go to our forex. Poor travellers spends more money in Barbados than the rich. A poor person will buy nuff rum and beers in one day, whilst the rich will buy an expensive champagne and sip it for days. Do the maths ac.

46. Art…….poor Ac, don’t seem like she is reading the nation newspapers, have to agree with Boos, the westminister system was designed with corruption in mind, the johnny-come-latelys DLP/BLP has carried corruption and bribe taking to a new level using the old tired westminster system…….yeah, it’s time to retire that system, it really is working in the favor of corrupt politicians much too well.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/boos-turn-to-imf/

47. ac

Cuddear, more bad news…………100 more to go from the Port. When will this destruction of the lives of Barbadians end?

48. Here is Adrian’s initiative. Good job!

slider image 1

49. kinda agree wid boos PISS POOR MISMANAGEMENT OF GOVT OVER THE YEARS HAS LED AS TO THE ABYSS THAT WE ARE IN>>GEMS >>> NIGERIAN SOLAR HEATERS and the list is a mile and furlong long,,,BOO S GOT THAT PART RIGHT>>>>>kensington OVAL.and the empty cruise 15million dollar ship,,,,,man wuunna meking real sport to think that is all happen six years ago,,,,,,,,