Submitted by William Skinner

The Hal Austin blog will return in two weeks.

Photo Credit - NationNews
Photo Credit – NationNews

Once again the powers that be, following blindly the developmental models of larger countries have blundered in their attempts to beautify Bridgetown. In this case, they spent millions of dollars to create a green space and forgot the vendors that are forced to set up their trade all over the place, in order to make a living. Supporting our families should be the goal of every single man or woman however believing we can only do so in urine infested allies is not my idea of black development. Also constructing ugly bits of rubbish with no proper storage facilities only encourages rodents. I am sorry but if this is all that black business people are going to aspire to in 2014, I politely ask to be excluded from that fan club.

I have marched with the vendors and have paid very close attention and support those who rightly defend them. I remain fully committed to regularizing vending but I fear that some people who are defending the vendors are also bit short sighted. In many cases they seem to suggest that the vendors should just be allowed to ply their trade but they seldom speak of really lifting the vendors up to another level. This vending issue is as old as slavery itself and colonialism. There were direct attempts by our colonial masters to stop Black people from vending and when several Black Barbadians returned from Panama with funds to buy land and businesses, there was legislation enacted to prevent their economic empowerment.

My involvement with beach vendors over thirty years ago taught me a very hard lesson-our politicians will exert any amount of effort to accommodate those who don’t look like them. I have seen the so-called planners fail to get the true economic rewards from St. Lawrence Gap and the famous Rockley Beach because they paid more attention to the propaganda of hoteliers, some local, who in my opinion were more racist than anything else. Those of us, who have addressed the designed exclusion of the small man from the bounty of the tourist industry, are usually called alarmists. Don’t forget how the beach vendors were harassed by the hoteliers and the politicians. Eventually they put some of them in little stalls. We note, how easily, the big boys have successfully moved their operations from Broad Street to Warrens while the vendors are all over the place like business vagrants. This is a very sad commentary on our country as we move toward fifty years of independence.

Once again the true feelings of the political management class toward the small struggling black business person are being exposed. What would it have taken to bring the vendors into the mainstream of economic planning? Why did they not understand that proper facilities provided by the state with classes in business and accounts keeping etc. could have lifted the consciousness of these creative business persons? Why could they not instil in the vendors that with proper planning, they could pass on a viable business to their children? Like everything else the BLP/DLP has turned the vendors question into a political football. It saddens all right thinking citizens that far from providing real assistance to those who want to help themselves ,these two parties have with great accuracy attached the price of a vote to every single thing they do for poor black people.

The story of Mr. Herbert Courtland, the vendor who tried to set up a shack on the green space is instructive. Here we have in 2014 and people being fired left, right and centre, a citizen trying to get away with putting up another shack. The bigger question here is: Are we the majority people going to be always by highways, byways and alleys? Are we always going to be “trying to do a little something”? I now publicly ask the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party: What are your real plans for the poor black people of our island state. Tell me why are you making spectacles of the poor and exposing them to economic humiliation while you wine and dine with the haves. Do you really care about the haves not or are they only there to prop up your selfish and self cantered ambitions? You may choose not to answer me but at least have a little chat with Mr. Courtland. Tell him and all the vendors that next time you will remember them when you upgrade Bridgetown.

162 responses to “Vending and the Small Black man”

1. @SSS

History records that Courtland operated – with a license – BEFORE the River Area was upgraded, he assumed he would have been allowed to continue. To the credit of the authorities he was removed read the law was enforced. What needs to occur is routine enforcement you are correct. However enforcement does not negate the pressing need to apply efficient manangement approaches to the problem of vending.

On Saturday, 3 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I concur. But where the authorities failed was not to make indications through the same law or authority that permissions will no longer be granted for the River Road new development. According to the law the Chief Supervisor can grant a permit for a vendor to operate within a stipulated kilometer radius of an establish market. Therefore it means that in consultation with the relevant authorities, the establishment of street vending can happen anywhere as long as “anywhere” is conducive for such activity. The authorities should have informed the street vending public that the decision in accordance with the law has placed a prohibition against vending period in the new development because the area is to remained green space and free from this type of activity. The authorities failed David even if the action of the police removed the illegal set up. Let me ask this David. What is to stop others from setting up an umbrella operation with a few wood contraptions, removable at the end of the day, in that area? Would this be permissible or reprehensible? Either we do not want permanent structures, but allow vending or we prohibit it entirely from this area because of all we know about the ills and isms of street vending,

3. The focus needs to be on a coherent approach to vending in Barbados. Like most laws in Barbados they allow for the tentacles of the political directorate to intervene and this is the root of the issue at hand. All the other issues Courtland included are symptoms of the bigger problem.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You seem informed that a political device is at hand in the River Road redevelopment project. What sinistral is a foot that made you allude to the involvement of the political directorate? Is that not an establish fact that most messes if not stenches reeks with the involvement of politics. Even if politics cancels the consent of vending in the now aesthetically eye pleasing river road development, do we really want the type of vending culture impacting on that? I am all for vending but vending that is controlled, well organized , well represented and well structured. Not the type of shite some of these vendors engage in.

5. AC…….I am not trying to be nasty here, but if you feel you cannot advocate for laws against racism and discrimination at least try to use your position within the inner circle of the DLP and advocate for some type of regulations for vending/vendors and classes that would instill discipline in the trade, one does not have the ears of politicians and do nothing, you can be the first lobbyist in Barbados, but sitting on BU talking when you have the ears of DLP ministers makes you look like it is all a joke, Houston will only have a problem if nothing is done about it…..I am going to take real issue with you cause it’s looking like all you do is enjoy sitting around with the ministers of the DLP, get yourself used to try to bullshit people on here, which will never work, and clearly you do not intend any real action to help your own people….and don’t act like if it’s left to us who live outside, at least we give the information all you need to do is use it..

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Well Well

You are asking for something substantial from this political idiot. David got a filter on me so I cant call her by her rabbit name. Let me try Skunt and see if that works. This idiot brings nothing of substance that could act as a propulsion for change. Just the fulfillment of a political agenda because she got a few dollars in her pocket that helps her live above the poverty line. Piece of useless shit is what she is. You attempt to reason if this idiot is a waste of your pearl before a swine.

7. first let me say that the hostility being leveled at ac by a member of the bu household one SSS has reached a point where physical threats has been made against the person ac..ac has taken such threats seriously and has adviced herlegal representatives to monitor all and such comments on bu directed towards her personnally.incase physical such acts are carried out and proper authorities are called to investigate

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh please ….frightening words about threats to you my ass. You are being asked to represent your views with balance since you are perceived as a pimp. Oh take me to court if you think a good ass whipping constitutes a threat to your person….

9. AC……take all that energy and direct it into making changes in Barbados, the one reason I am unable to is because i have very little patience and I am very trigger happy, but you, now i have to compliment you on how you can take a bouncing around, use that patience to affect change, if the DLP ministers don’t allow you the leeway to do the required advocating well, they are filled with even more shit than you are should you not use the opportunity.

10. Suuny…….AC is quite capable, look at the job she has been doing on BU incessantly, if she redirects that energy it can be put to positive use…..it’s her blind masters of the DLP who only see what they want to see and hear what they want to here, as the PM said, they are all in a dark room and are all blind men…..lol

11. look most who have commented see this from one side..however it is obvious that the bigger issue here is location..all the laws not gonna stop what is illegal activity by vendors who peddle their goods out side store fronts and back alleys .there must be a given priorty as to how these vendors livilihood is impacted to areas designated by govt which by all accounts are unable to fuel sufficient customer interest enough for a vendor to earn a satisfactorily living..wunna can scream and holler but that is a burning issue that needs immediate attention which can result in rectifying all other concerns

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You do not even understand the law. First WHO ARE YOU FOR ME TO BEAT UP. Do not even know who the hell you are nor do I gave two wuk ups. Where is the name of the person to whom the threat of violence is meted. AC stands for Air Condition or Always CUMMING. I am beating your ass on here with words but the problem with you in your defeatus state of mind is that the truth is cutting your ass and so you must thus resort to the only intimidating tactic you have in your pathetic arsenal and that is – a threat of legal action. You should repent and turn from your pimpy ways. Be more objective in your discourse as oppose to your blatant loyalty to your puppet master. Silly bitch! I am going change your views on here and then we are going to be very good friends. Mark my words pumpkin. Until that time I am your nemesis.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This Markets and Slaughterhouse Act is grossly outdated and in dire need of amending. Its penalties are no higher than a Sir Grantley and would make vendors just continue to perpetuate behaviours that are oppose to the law. It does not speak much about street vending but certainly covers public market vending.. One has to wonder why has the law not been amended by powers that be.

14. @SSS

Agree with your last comment which brings into question the political gimmick of this government ‘building a society and not an economy’. What better way t show the government is concerned about the disadvantage is to show leadership in the area of vending which is a small Blam man opportunity. BARVEN needs to get more militant. Our NGOs need to be more agitated.

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Venders on the street make the place feel CARIBBEAN,people talking and chatting, give a different feel , Going in to a store and looking at the indoor PLANTATIONS dont feel good, and people watching to see if you will take from their stores and sour puss workers. Looking for VAT and TAXES .
    super center , spend 180.18 and 16.48 is VAT.
    what can food can you buy with 16.48? Time hard , more PAIN to come, More people going home , Will they now end up selling on the street? Things may get so bad that PEOPLE may sell what is under their cloths.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The skunt AC wrote:

“…all the laws not gonna stop what is illegal activity by vendors who peddle their goods out side store fronts and back alleys…”

If the law was being enforced do you honestly believe that the alley ways, highways and by ways, store front vending operations would be happening. Do you not know PIMP that what is not hindered is thus allowed? Two public markets are nicely located next to transport terminals yet no pedestrian traffic passes through them because the markets have no pleasing aesthetics.. The authorities in their tunnel vision, your government and the one before, have not been diverse enough in their thinking to capitalized on these two well strategically place markets. In fact they have allowed the vast majority of the older market structures to run to ruin. Examples are Oistins Fish Market, Fairchild Street and if they don;t be careful Cheapside all over again.

Design a multifaceted facility that caters for those at the lower level but can still attract those at the higher level. Cater for the various classes and make the public market situation more diverse, more creative, more eye pleasing and more appealing. Without appeal you get less attraction. Without the element of interest you create disinterest. The markets lacks all the latter. The government needs to stop thinking about provisions for a certain element of people and turn the markets into striving revenue earning modern day multipurpose stylish structures.. In this day and age you think the fees cited in this Act are practical and justifiable? They are absolutely pathetic and promotes the culture of indifference reminiscent of street and public market vending. Do you understand Pumpkin?

17. Well Well

You should reframe from adding fuel to the flames here Well Well. Question: why do you think it is acceptable to malign a person for expressing an opinion that doesn’t necessarily coincide with the pervasive Orthodoxy? It is just share arrogance to try to beat someone into your particular position because you deem it right.

18. Dompey…..as you live in New York and may or may not care what is happening in Barbados, you can either sit and watch, cause you cannot change what i say, or help make the necessary changes, even if it’s just giving information……..and besides, AC likes to attack everyone, you just have not said anything that she thinks it’s a threat to the DLP, because you are more than likely an overseas DLP yardfowl. What fuel to what flames what? how much worse do you think it will get in Barbados before the ACs get off their asses and actually do something……in case you have not noticed Dompey, it’s mostly the whites in the US trying to get rid of the racism and discrimination, blacks like you take the defeatist attitude and it continues, either help or shut up.

19. Well Well

You’re certainly incorrect in your analysis of my feelings regarding my my country. I have a vested interest there because my eighty year old mother as well as my two sisters and three brothers still lives there.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Plantation Deeds

Open markets are always very appealing but they must follow a set of guidelines if not you get more bad than good. i do not think there is any one on here who would dispute the atmosphere created by the open type. Even the BARVEN operation in cheapside has a certain degree of atmosphere. However, you want this activity to be done in structures that though open are nicely done up. You want produce to be nicely displayed and vendors well attire. Our approach to vending here is absolutely pathetic.The poor man has continue in the ways of his early vending forefathers who had less to work with then the more that presents itself in these days.

21. So Dompey, maybe it’s time you act like you have relatives there who can be greatly affected by the behaviors of both governments as it pertains to the majority blacks, all my relatives are out of there in every corner of the earth, no one remains in Barbados, and look how much time i put into exposing what i see as a gross insult to and neglect of the majority on the island.

22. Well Well

You’re blessed. And you should thank your lucky star that your entire family is elsewhere in the world. But what about those young men and women who still showers and defecates in the out toilets after 16 years of BLP rule?

23. @Well Well

Those of us on here trying to carryon a relevant debate probably prefer that you don’t follow Dompey down the BS political line.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

http://barbadosparliament-laws.com/en/showdoc/cr/1958_73

The above site is a fee structure of the markets and slaughter house act. Darn in this day and age? No wonder government cannot maintain the public market buildings. The fees are absolutely useless.

25. Due Diligence Avatar
    Due Diligence

dompey | May 3, 2014 at 12:23 PM |

But what about those young men and women who still showers and defecates in the out toilets after 6 years of DLP rule?

26. Due Diligence

Have you done the math? Mr. Your argument falls flat on its face when we juggle the numbers, 6 compared to 16.

I think that it more than relevant to ask the question: why after 16 years of the BLP governance, we still have a great number of our young men and women, showering under the Standpipe and defecating in the out-house? This plays with their dignity as human beings; it did at once with mine. You done have take my word for it, just go to Utube and listening to the young Barbadians pleading their case.

27. @SSS

That Act needs some relevance. Wonder if they still ring the bell to open and close the market.

We need vendor legislation.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Can you believe this nonsense? Reference is drawn to a segment of the act that speaks to the predominant form of transportation being donkey cart. or was it horse driven buggy. David is your car a “Chevrolet Donkey 4.0 bray?”. Hahaha. Gosh it got me cracking up. This act can easily be challenged in a court of law. It was written in 1958 and undergo amendments three times: 1983, 1995, and 2005. Seems to be amendments to the fees but the not the law or regulations themselves. I mean the law is the law but as you rightfully cited is it relevant? People that break the market and slaughterhouse act are subject to 25 dollar fine. Pathetic. Government should be ashamed.

29. No Barbadians should be ashamed because these are the kinds of issues we should be debating instead of B or D did this or that.

30. islandgal246 Avatar

SSS I totally agree with you and David. This is the work parliament should be doing …updating the laws of the land and increase the ridiculous fees for vending. All they do is squabble and pass bills to extort more money from hardworking taxpayers. Many of these vendors can afford to pay a reasonable fee to obtain a license since many of them can find the hundred dollars fee for a ticket to attend a show. We are in a real sorry state where we elect people to do whatever they like instead of doing what they should do.

31. Before ANY license is issued by government a tax certificate should be required.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

David according this regulation Markets are responsible for all Cold Storage erected facilities for which meat, fish and other marketable perishables will be stored. My question is if the markets regulates the cold storage operation of BICO at the Sea Port. How regular does the markets oversee these operations because I have seen cold storage at some Supermarkets that are nothing short of hazardous. I also see that markets are responsible for meat shops. Does the meat processing operators around the island subjected randomly to departmental audits? I also have seen meat shops that look really crappy selling meat that appeaered like if some one spray it with grey paint. Just want to know. Reading this act and wondering if it is applied in light of vending.

33. islandgal246 Avatar

What about tradespeople…they have a thriving underground economy going. They should be made to pay licenses and be certified. That horse has gotten out of the stable a long time ago and it is almost impossible to reign it in.

34. IF vending across the island is not being properly managed by the Chief Supervisor of Markets why would we expect other responsibilities charged under the Act would be any different?

35. islandgal246 Avatar

Perhaps that dept needs restructuring and computerizing.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Islandgal

You should check out this Act of Cap 265. The majority of it focuses on slaughtering, meat shops, butchers etc. Very little on street vending though it speaks about permits, licenses and fines if laws are broken. But the truth is, it was written in era when there was donkey cart transportation and has not been amended to reflect modern times. I wonder how many people know about this act I certainly did not until I ran a Google search about vending laws.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You are right. Maybe the reflection of the controls needed to regularized vending in a proper way is a reflection of the modus operandi of the Chief Supervisor of Markets. It means therefore that the regulatory authority has not been doing their work since you have an out dated piece of legislation and an out of control flux of vending activity. This means David that there is some merit when you say “,,,Like most laws in Barbados they allow for the tentacles of the political directorate to intervene and this is the root of the issue at hand….” In this case the political directorate lends know credence to the building of a society and not an economy. There premise thus is false and severely skewed towards a misrepresentation of the facts, when they seek to build in one area and subsequently neglects another. The Act of Cap 265 reflects this.

38. David and SSS I am willing to bet that there was very limited planning put into building these markets.

The one at Eagle Hall is a total waste of money, poorly planned and ugly as sin.
    I was fortunate to find a vendor from St.Joseph selling bananas,figs, pears and mangoes but she was next to the road away from the market.

When in Barbados I have a preference for locally grow fruit and vegetables and usually buy from vendors in Spry street, Roebuck street and James street.

Clearly Vendors must be regulated but there should be planning that takes into account the increased vehicular traffic in Barbados today.

Anybody on BU buy fruit and vegetables from street vendors and the markets or wunna too hi falutin fuh dah.lol

39. islandgal246 Avatar

SSS I did take a look at the act and was rather surprised that it mainly referred to slaughtering and the selling of meat. I am very surprised that law has never been amended to include dry goods and food stuff. It is clear that previous governments never envisioned that the black man will own cars or work for themselves.

That mentality still exists today to some extent. The average black man still cannot see himself or believe that he can one day rising to the level of owning a large business employing people. Even if he has accomplished such he still feels uncomfortable buying a home in the Sandy Lane area and living there. I know some people who feel uncomfortable shopping at Super Centre. Some feel more comfortable shopping in filthy shops where they are being ripped off. Why do you think Mrs Ram has been so successful. Her son’s shop in Tudor street is a fire hazard. It is filthy, the aisles are blocked and the merchandise is dusty. The MOH must take another trip there.

40. Simple Simon Avatar

Fan May 2 at 10:41 am “The unclean filthy surroundings the vendors seem to revel in and their terrifying behavior is only outdone by the ZR crews. The ZR men have set a standard so low and despicable you have to rub your eyes to believe human beings can be that callous and uncaring of their fellow man on the highways of this country.”

I’ll comment on the substantive article later, but I regularly travel by ZR’s and I can testify that the facilities provided are shamefully, shamefully, inadequate.

I also take regularly take aeroplanes from the Adams airport and the toilet and other facilities are far superior at the airport to the facilities provided in the ZR stands.

Many times I take an airplane and a ZR on the same day.

The Adams airport facilities compare with the best of the best in the first world.

The ZR facilities are shamefully, disgracefully 4th world.

Why is this so?

What if the physical plant, the toilets etc were as good in the ZR stands as at the airport?

When I use the airport I am tax paying Simple Simon.

When I take a ZR I am the same tax paying Simple Simon.

Why are the facilities at the airport so good and the facilities in the ZR stands so bad?

We must ask some hard questions of ourselves, our politicians, our senior civil servants, and our media, even our cleaning staff. We must find out why are we so complacent, why do we continue to pay taxes and accept such poor treatment from those politicians, senior civil servants and even the cleaning staff who we pay so well and who still treat us so disgracefully.

41. islandgal246 Avatar

Simple Simon can’t you see who they are catering to? When some black people have to deal with their own they have no respect for each other and will destroy their own facilities because no white people ent gine see dem fuh what they are ……stinking pigs. At the airport dem ent gine behave like dat..dem gine show de white people dem got some broughtupsy. Dem cahn let de tourisses see dat!

42. Simple Simon Avatar

This is how you design a market.

A large square or rectangular space with plentiful parking at the outskirts

It must be situated in an area of high traffic, both foot traffic and vehicular traffic.

Since we are in a high rainfall area the roof should have an adequate overhang to prevent rain form coming in.

Overhead gutters, down spouts, and underground gutters should be included.

It should be tiled in a heavy duty easily cleaned slip proof material.

It should be very brightly lighted.

It should have roll down lockable shutters on the outside. These shutters should be situated on all four sides and should all be open during selling hours and all locked at the close of business.

Each vendors individual booths should have roll down lockable shutters also.

Each vendor should have display/selling space and lockable storage space,.

If the vendors are selling perishables they should have refrigerators/freezes in their booths.

The vendors who are artists/crafts people should have artistic license to decorate their own booths, and to decorate others for a fee.

All vendors should have a sink with hot and cold running water.

There should be an adequate number bathrooms for male and female vendors

There should be an adequate number bathrooms for shoppers

Ideally the commuters/shoppers should pass the market on their way home (not on their way to work)

Ideally the markers should be places for farmers to sell produce, including fruit, vegetables, meat, eggs, butter, milk, juice etc.

And for crafts people to sell needlework, leather goods, woodwork etc.

There should be restaurants in the market, where good Bajan cooks can sell traditional hot meals and snacks, food, coo-coo,pudding and souse, fish cakes, sugar cakes etc

And a place where artists can sell their paints, drawings, sculptures etc.

And include a place for the fresh coconut water vendors, since coconut water is one the the best things that we can drink.

In my market I would definitely favour those who are selling local rather than imported goods.

43. Simple Simon Avatar

I am sure that the architecture students at BCC and SJPP (under the supervision of their teachers) could design a fine market for us and get some real world experience at the same time. And that recent graduates under the supervision of MTW could build the project.

It ain’t rocket science folks.

It is a market and humans beings have been designing and building, working in and buying from markets for thousands of years.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Hants

I do not know the history of markets but in all fairness, when the government embark on their construction they probably built them to reflect what was current at the time. I have heard that the market at Eagle has been described as the 8th wonder of the world because it still has many wondering what the heck it is suppose to be. i think the design concept was to reflect modern but constraints have been proclamated concerning its functionality. The Cheapside market, which should have been a modern construct only underwent a few internal modifications with the installation of second floor. Other than that its design and layout is absolutely not modern. The belief therefore is lent that the government’s input into design and planning was reflected into whom they were catering for and that is the poor black man.

If you build a sty you put pigs in it.
    If you build a palace you put a King it
    If you build an airport you see internationals in it
    IF you build a market you think nothing of it.

This is how I see the Act, the markets and governments approach to Vending.

45. @ island girl
    I agree with you the time has come not only to manage all economic resources properly but to streamline and regularise them so that funds will flow in some form or other from the economic activities into the treasury for the benefit of all. We are a very interesting people; while we big up and aspire to be bank clerks , it is a known fact that motor mechanics/body work professionals make and have always made more money than the “sophisticated” bank clerk. It is time for brutal honesty. If some people can adorn themselves with thousands of dollars of jewellery, brand name gear and attend all the entertainment events, I really cannot see why they cannot or should not pay taxes on their earnings. By contributing to the treasury, they will have the power to demand better treatment. When all the talk is done and the BLP/DLP apologists step down from their soap boxes, it becomes very clear that all free rides must come to an end because the country cannot maintain certain services without endangering the treasury. I believe strongly, that all state assisted services should be linked to income and only the poor should be allowed to benefit from certain freeness. Regardless of what jokers are spouting, the truth remains that we are a very poor country and there is a lot of nation building to be done. And we must all endeavour to not just say we are proud to be Bajan but actually live it every day.
    We have big shout business people living in absolute luxury , who don’t pay in workers NIS contributions; we have big up professionals who don’t or won’t pay income tax; businesses that won’t hand over the VAT. All of these dishonest acts must cease at ALL levels.

46. @Hants

Most of the vendors sell imported fruit which they buy from Hanchell Inniss or other wholesalers. To buy local fruit is a big deal.

47. islandgal246 Avatar

“In my market I would definitely favour those who are selling local rather than imported goods.’

Fantastic Simple Simon! I loved the way you have laid out the marketplace. Why don’t you send your proposal in to the Ministry? Also ask to be in charge of the project, I will come and assist you for a small fee of course.

48. Simple Simon Avatar

I don’t buy your argument island gal.

ZR men and market vendors catch planes and go the New York and Miami and London, and maybe even Tokyo, and Bejing to buy their equipment and stock. And they treat the facilities at the airport and the aircraft properly.

It isn’t that we are stink. It is that the facilities provided are worse that my parents ever provided for their pigs. My parents washed down their pig pens every day. I don’t know that anybody is paid to wash down the River bus stand or the ZR stand at Cheapside. I have NEVER witnessed any washing. If you give people pig facilities, you get pig behaviour. There is no shelter at Cheapside. There is no toilet in the Cheapside ZR stand. There are too few seat at Fairchild and NONE at Cheapside. Why do we have hundreds of chairs at the airport and NONE at Cheapside of Fairchild. We are the SAME PEOPLE where ever we are.

If you give people decent facilities, you get decent behaviour.

I think that we need to re-imagine Barbados. A Barbados where all are equal, and where all are deserving of decent treatment. decent facilities.

BECAUSE IF YOU GIVE PEOPLE PIG FACILITIES, AND TREAT THEM LIKE PIGS THEN YOU WILL YOU GET PIG BEHAVIOUR.

49. @Simple Simon

There is one flaw in your design, the market must sell no ‘sweet drinks’ and mauby must be derived from boiling the ‘bark’. It is time we try to win back some of our past cultural traits from the Americans.

50. islandgal246 Avatar

Simple Simon then why is it that most public facilities are torn up and filthy soon after they have been installed. They were all once nice and clean the first few weeks after opening. Ok even if they were not enough to serve the public, they should remain clean and well kept shouldn’t they? Check out the beach facilities. We have a serious problem maintaining these facilities.