Submitted by William Skinner

The Hal Austin blog will return in two weeks.

Photo Credit - NationNews
Photo Credit – NationNews

Once again the powers that be, following blindly the developmental models of larger countries have blundered in their attempts to beautify Bridgetown. In this case, they spent millions of dollars to create a green space and forgot the vendors that are forced to set up their trade all over the place, in order to make a living. Supporting our families should be the goal of every single man or woman however believing we can only do so in urine infested allies is not my idea of black development. Also constructing ugly bits of rubbish with no proper storage facilities only encourages rodents. I am sorry but if this is all that black business people are going to aspire to in 2014, I politely ask to be excluded from that fan club.

I have marched with the vendors and have paid very close attention and support those who rightly defend them. I remain fully committed to regularizing vending but I fear that some people who are defending the vendors are also bit short sighted. In many cases they seem to suggest that the vendors should just be allowed to ply their trade but they seldom speak of really lifting the vendors up to another level. This vending issue is as old as slavery itself and colonialism. There were direct attempts by our colonial masters to stop Black people from vending and when several Black Barbadians returned from Panama with funds to buy land and businesses, there was legislation enacted to prevent their economic empowerment.

My involvement with beach vendors over thirty years ago taught me a very hard lesson-our politicians will exert any amount of effort to accommodate those who don’t look like them. I have seen the so-called planners fail to get the true economic rewards from St. Lawrence Gap and the famous Rockley Beach because they paid more attention to the propaganda of hoteliers, some local, who in my opinion were more racist than anything else. Those of us, who have addressed the designed exclusion of the small man from the bounty of the tourist industry, are usually called alarmists. Don’t forget how the beach vendors were harassed by the hoteliers and the politicians. Eventually they put some of them in little stalls. We note, how easily, the big boys have successfully moved their operations from Broad Street to Warrens while the vendors are all over the place like business vagrants. This is a very sad commentary on our country as we move toward fifty years of independence.

Once again the true feelings of the political management class toward the small struggling black business person are being exposed. What would it have taken to bring the vendors into the mainstream of economic planning? Why did they not understand that proper facilities provided by the state with classes in business and accounts keeping etc. could have lifted the consciousness of these creative business persons? Why could they not instil in the vendors that with proper planning, they could pass on a viable business to their children? Like everything else the BLP/DLP has turned the vendors question into a political football. It saddens all right thinking citizens that far from providing real assistance to those who want to help themselves ,these two parties have with great accuracy attached the price of a vote to every single thing they do for poor black people.

The story of Mr. Herbert Courtland, the vendor who tried to set up a shack on the green space is instructive. Here we have in 2014 and people being fired left, right and centre, a citizen trying to get away with putting up another shack. The bigger question here is: Are we the majority people going to be always by highways, byways and alleys? Are we always going to be “trying to do a little something”? I now publicly ask the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party: What are your real plans for the poor black people of our island state. Tell me why are you making spectacles of the poor and exposing them to economic humiliation while you wine and dine with the haves. Do you really care about the haves not or are they only there to prop up your selfish and self cantered ambitions? You may choose not to answer me but at least have a little chat with Mr. Courtland. Tell him and all the vendors that next time you will remember them when you upgrade Bridgetown.

162 responses to “Vending and the Small Black man”

1. What concerns BU is we only hear abut the agitation after the deed is done. Why was there not advocacy when the River Complex was being built knowing that Courtland and other vendors were setup in the old complex?

2. […] David Submitted by William Skinner The Hal Austin blog will return in two weeks. – David Once again the […]

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Hill

@ David. .Agitation on the behalf of the vendors comes from whichever party is in opposition until that party forms the government. Once parliament reconvenes every promise made is quickly forgotten. We have now reached the stage where we are RUBBING SHOULDERS, with the masses. Exactly where will this exercise take us? We boldly claim to be the best educated lot in the region, but our actions beg the question ARE WE REALLY? How does a small black person gain access to the enterprise growth fund or some such facility so as to improve one’s lot in life? Just a few questions I felt compelled to ask.

4. This is true Hamilton BUT agitagion must come from NGOs and ordinary citizens. If the cause is just all stakeholders in society must be motivated to support the cause.

5. Ready to march.

6. Mr William Skinner,

First things first, we find it absolutely disgusting and repugnant that in this day and age you are unwisely referring to outdoor business people in Barbados as “business vagrants”.

We take very strong exception to that form of crass ignorance, ineptitude and insensitivity that you have – on BU and outside of it – demonstrated and signified in your puerile attempt to so describe the characteristic itinerancy and mobility of outdoor business.

Therefore, many outdoor business people in this country have not only not been able to avoid the rank political opportunism associated with many of the very rotten DLP/BLP political efforts of obscenely exploiting many people who are members of this very significant business profession and the wider retail wholesale distribution sector of this country to their own narrow political advantage, especially as it relates to how many principals of the DLP and BLP treat to those outdoor business people who carry out their professional responsibilities in Bridgetown, but also they have not been able to avoid the very condescending demeaning inappropriate terms, descriptions, attitudes and customs that have been and continue to be meted towards them by many other people in Barbados (as has been made by the writer so explicit in the above article).

Secondly, really and truly we do not have also to write about many of these outdoor business people’s contribution to the minimal respect many of them get from some quarters by their own lack of right professional behaviour and conduct and their own lack of sound customer relations and proper financial practices (which are sordid displeasurable human social features that are found – to whatever extent – in every profession in Barbados), even though there is broad moral political support by the multitudes in Barbados for the profession itself.

Thirdly, while you have so rightly written about the continued marginalization disempowerment of outdoor businesses in the national social political physical and other development of Bridgetown and in other specific areas in Barbados, versus the continued centralization and empowerment of the more established business classes in the said national social political physical and other developmental processes of this country, and with the intellectually politically bankrupt and discredited political managerial groups favouring one or the other set according to how their narrow political financial interests play out in different scenarios and at different times, you must no doubt consider the essence of your article, as in no way contributing to the elevation of the genuine ideological socio-political consciousness of many people in Barbados, as to the very substantial role that outdoor business has been performing in the historic and contemporary development of this country, since in this said article – you portray vendors as an entirely helpless pitiable dependent groups of professionals, when in truth and in fact such is the total opposite.

Mr. William Skinner we know that you can write and research far better than you did in this one.

7. @ PDC
    You have completely misread and perhaps misinterpreted what I said . My statement was very clear:” We note, how easily, the big boys have successfully moved their operations from Broad Street to Warrens while the vendors are all over the place like business vagrants”
    Vagrants here mean no fixed place of abode. The article is one hundred percent pro-vendors. You may want to read it again. I was merely making the point that the “big boys” have switched from Broad Street to Warrens , while our vendors are all over the place. In other words while one group can literally abandon a house and build a new one; the other is still putting up shacks ! hope this clears up ant misunderstandings. Thanks.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It does not matter where the Big Boys move to , We at PLANTATION DEEDS ALSO HAVE THE DEED FOR WARRENS ,AS WELL AS 73 ACRES OF KENSINGTON PLANTATION THAT ALSO READ BROAD STREET ,
    So unless they leave the island , the only other place is Haggett Hall PLANTATION AND WE also have the CONVEYANCE .

9. All metropolis’ have made sure their vendors are secured in CENTRAL LOCATIONS, they are not demeaned, discriminated against or ridiculed as in Barbados, they are not treated as pariah and hidden away as in Barbados, wealthy business people ARE NOT ALLOWED to call up their politician friends and have the police remove them while the local media cameras role as in Barbados, why? because when tourists visit these countries, the vendors are THE FIRST PEOPLE they want to see so they can see the real local culture.

10. As a supporter of the poor black man inclusive of vendors no matter where you place vendors they are never satisfied and they continue to move around dirtying up the country. How many times and with the vendors input have locations been set up for vendors only for a week later a “spokesman” says people don’t pass here we cant get no sales to feed we family. The indiscipline among vendors is unbelievable. Not all are like that but you go on the beaches in town on the highways and its all the same. The coconut vendors on the ABC will soon take up a lane of the highway near Warrens. They are encroaching on the actual road more everyday. Dare not suggest to them they are posing a traffic hazard. You will be roundly cursed at least. The coconut shells are left in unhygienic heaps across the highways. Check the coconut selling battleground in the Top Rock area. Its a mosquito borne epidemic waiting to happen. If the police or authorities caution vendors deliberately breaking the law the media quotes that as an attack on the poor black man so he cant feed his family. The unclean filthy surroundings the vendors seem to revel in and their terrifying behavior is only outdone by the ZR crews. The ZR men have set a standard so low and despicable you have to rub your eyes to believe human beings can be that callous and uncaring of their fellow man on the highways of this country..

11. Fan…..I have heard many of those complaints, maybe an early education system, the older ones would be too set in their ways to change, might help that situation……indiscipline among vendors and the minibus guys/gals can be deemed despicable…..i remember vividly as a young girl when i became aware of people catching the bus, i believe it was the 70’s, they used to fight each other like animals to board a bus, climb through windows, kick, bite and cuff like savages……..fast forward to 2013, and boarding a bus is now an orderly procession on the island, more discipline, maybe the same system should be used to educate and discipline the vendors/minibus people who act like savages…

12. Due Diligence Avatar

Well said.

Well Well

As one from the Great White North, DD agrees that “When tourists visit these countries, the vendors are THE FIRST PEOPLE they want to see so they can see the real local culture.

They can find the stuff they find at Cave Sheppard, Harrisons and Diamonds International at any Caribbean tourist destination.

13. Mr William Skinner,

There is nothing to misread or misinterpret about a reference by you to outdoor business people as “business vagrants” – giving that it is so undoubtedly clear for any person to see and read in the above sentence.

There is absolutely no justification for the unwise use of such a demeaning pejorative epithet in any context in which you wrote in the lead article.

None what so ever!!

14. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

IS THERE ANY TRUTH IN THE REPORT THAT THE NOTORIOUS BULLER AND WHITE COLLAR THIEF MICHAEL YEARWOOD WAS FOUND DEAD/POSSIBLY MURDERED IN A HOUSE IN THE TURNING?

CANT FIND A REPORT IN ANY OF THE LOCAL NEWSPAPERS

15. The word out to have been “given” and not “giving”.

Apologies to all concerned.

16. @ Fan | May 2, 2014 at 10:41 AM |

I agree with your contribution 100%.

I am a supporter of vending; however, I’m concerned with the indiscriminate manner in which it is being done. It seems that some vendors only realize it’s a business they are operating when health or police officers have to reprimand them for a breach of some health or legal requirement. In this regard, they often preface their grievance with the “poor black man trying to make a dollar” speech. Just take a look in front of the Fairchild Street terminal… after closing off the day’s selling activity, they often leave the side walk extremely filthy, with rotted fruits, vegetables, old wood and card board boxes.
    Vendors are setting up as they please in Bridgetown, blocking alleys, sidewalks and the general pathways. If you go into the old Fairchild Street Market, you will notice that Guyanese have been setting up bars indiscriminately, with a new one going up almost every month. That area has no toilet facilities…..allowing for both men and women urinate and shit anywhere… the place smells terrible and is unsanitary, yet these people are allowed to sell food.
    Over the past few years during the Christmas season, the police usually have their “Yule Tide Operation”, which sees them clearing the sidewalks and streets of vendors, as well as people liming and drinking alcohol. After the accompanying hue and cry, the status quo remains until next Christmas.

Another worrying trend is the recent establishment of “used car outlets” on the highway.

17. See commentary below by Mr. Eddie Abed taken from the BCCI April 2014 Newsletter

Vending: Right vs Wrong, Not Rich vs Poor.
    I am always reluctant to discuss vending in Bridgetown as the discussion tends to become personal in terms of “big versus small” and “rich versus poor.” Instead, the focus should on “right versus wrong” and “legal versus ille-gal.” However as the economy hardens and layoffs intensify, I fully expect to see more people trying their hand at vending.
    It is a universal truth that retail goes where there is traffic. Consequently, ven-dors want to ply their trade where there is heavy, preferably pedestrian traffic. Bridgetown is ringed by at least 3 markets which by and large are under populat-ed. Why are they under-populated? They have not recognized the changing de-mographics of their shoppers and quite frankly have not stayed relevant in the twenty first century. Fairchild Street Market is a great example of not utilizing its geography to maximize the benefits to its tenants. Fairchild Street Market is ad-jacent to the main bus terminal in Bridgetown with thousands of commuters passing through daily. Why can’t the two structures be linked so that the com-muter traffic has to pass through the market when entering or exiting the termi-nal? Equally there is a large multi-story car park adjacent to the Cheapside Mar-ket. Why can’t it be linked to the market so that the mobile public can park and shop for produce without going outdoors?
    Instead the market’s tenants exit the structures and cram onto city sidewalks, which are not designed to accommodate both pedestrians and them in an effort to entice the public to purchase their wares. This is both dangerous and not sustainable! However, it can be easily remedied if all of the stakeholders combined their efforts into renovating the existing markets so that they not only reflect the needs of today’s shoppers but take advantage of their immediate surroundings. Assuming that these upgrades were done quickly, our existing markets would house most, if not all of the vendors in Bridge-town. But the markets would have to be advertised and they would have to be perceived to have an edge so that consumers would want to go there. Cheapside could be known as the centre for fresh produce and meats on the ground floor and the first floor could be a craft market selling local craft to visitors (an area sadly under provided for at the moment). Fairchild Street could cater to garments on the ground floor and food with daily essentials on the first floor.
    A new breed of vendor (entrepreneur) could be encouraged to set up on the board walk (in very, very controlled locations) selling flowers and perhaps doing caricatures and the like. It would give soul to the sterile and cold boardwalk as well as add more variety to Bridgetown. Vending is a business and MUST pay its way as other busi-nesses in Bridgetown have to. Hence change can only be afforded if license fees are raised to rates which reflect the costs in 2014. Once vendors are paying realistic rates they will then demand the conditions that any other business would be entitled to as they grow their enterprises, perhaps graduating from a vendor’s stall to a retail outlet in a few years. This necessary metamorphosis would rotate the availability of stall spaces for new entrepre-neurs on a yearly basis.
    I have tried to share my vision of incorporating legal and controlled vending within the retail environment of Bridgetown. This I believe offers sustainability and structure which will give our capital city both diversity and soul. It would be a welcomed change to the chaos and unregulated vending which generally speaking currently exists.
    Mr. Eddie Abed is the Vice President of the BCCI and sits on the steering committee of
    The Revitalisation of Bridgetown Initiative (TRBI). He also operates a business within the City.

18. SPerminatot the Originator -Cat got yuh tongue but I got yuh Clitoris Avatar
    SPerminatot the Originator -Cat got yuh tongue but I got yuh Clitoris

Vendors have been harassed for centuries. The Elite can not stand to see Vendors -making money

19. It is customary in our society to ignore reality. However the truth is that when all the fancy analysis is finished, the glaring reality is that in Barbados when we talk about the poor, we are really talking about black people. The reason that the vendors can be tossed about has a lot to do with the profession being seen as a hustle and there is no real attempt to bring them into the mainstream because the powers that be get some sadistic satisfaction from seeing their own people operate in unsanitary conditions.
    As the current economic conditions continue to bite, we can rest assured that many issues will emerge that we cannot hide from or ignore. This is going to lead to a real discussion about wealth distribution, the educational system and how we are governed. This is only the tip of the iceberg and those of us who are unafraid to highlight some realities, will be called racists and in some cases communists. However the underlying socio-economic decay that is growing very quickly cannot be denied.

20. kathy yearwood Avatar
    kathy yearwood

Are any of the persons who have posted vendors. Are any of their families vendors. if you can concede that vendors include those who sell at regulated sites- Farmers markets, Festivals, Oistins, St Johns church etc, you will know that we are all rated the same – below the radar. It ought not to be impossible to police Swan Street, River Bus stand and deal with the troublemakers before they become a nuisance. And the zenophobic remarks about Guyanese and bars in Fairchild Street make me question why (or by whom) are they being permitted to operate. Otherwise regular police sweeps would deal with them. And vendors come in all colours and from all classes of society but if they want to survive they put up and shut up an don’t question the status quo. The problems are not unique to Barbados . And have you walked from Bridgetown Harbour to Bay Street and noted the derelict buildings. Where is the civic pride which would motivate the vendors to do better when the Government allows Bridgetown to be so squalid

21. As a country do we have a policy position on vending?

What is the vendors association about?

It seems we are just meandering along without leadership.

22. More importantly is selling peeled sugar cane, ackees, coconuts vending?

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vending is a regulated activity of the state for which appropriate laws govern the where, when and the how of vending, in areas designated for that activity. It is my belief that there is in place an act with rules and regulations that states categorically how vending is to be conducted on the island. For instance, the market structures of Cheapside, fairchild street, Oistins and Bridgetown cannot exist without appropriate regulations under a designated act. They constitute enclosed vending and therefore must be subjected to some law or laws governing what is permissible and what is not. It is thus my assumption that more than likely the entity that regulates or is the authority for vending activity throughout the island must be found in the government owned markets. I do not believe for one minute that vending is a liberated activity without rules and regulations and certainly not one that enjoys a utopia in a state of anarchy.

24. the problem with the vendors is not a simple one as others would want us to believe,,,,,,,there are a lot of social issues involve ,,,,health issues ,,,,,,,,environmental issues…….and also the ugly racial and racist attitudes towards blacks being involve by those who see black business as a threat to big business survival whether small or control……..it is interesting how abed maps out the area that he thinks fit best for the small vendors,,,i wouldnow ask Him he would like to move his business to such an area and give that space to the small vendors,,,,,, i bet he would say HELL NO< however he has the answer ,,the one that makes him feel less vulnerable ….the govt is batting on a sticky wicket,,one which if not careful could throw out the baby with the bathe tub……….houston we have a problem….

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

However that being said, one would wonder if vending activity is really and truly regulated in the city area mainly. And if it is regulated who are the enforcers of these regulations to ensure that high levels of compliance are followed at all times. What we see happening in Barbados is a pattern of non regulated vending activity that has evolved into a free for all mindset with an evocation that they can establish their peddling trade in any nuke or cranny, crevice or crease as their deem fit. This type of empowerment is the reason why the squalor prevails in places such as old fairchild street because enforcement is not meted to prevent the many things brought in to be controlled or even remove. Even where BARVEN as sought the open type market to its adjacent attractive looking close brother at the cheapside market, BARVEN’s open type farmers mart is still a clickatie clackatie collection of pieces of wood put together over a cover of old galvanized sheets. Its appearance, except when produce transform its look, is nothing short of a shanty looking town conveying the impression that no good thing happens here.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

YOu bettas get ready to BAN me Sir…every time I see this woman type I feel like biting out her swallow pipe. Especially when she writes the type of nonsense above. I mean how can vending conducted by blacks be perceived as a threat to big business survival. The vendors who peddle clothes do not affect Abeds, likewise do the fruit vendors in front of Cheffete broad street effect the food sales of this business. The main threat to these businesses are the many nuisances brought to their door steps in the form of blocks, disturbances, contraptions etc. I suggest you BAN me from this site because I am about to topple this PIMPY Political PUP

27. @ Kathy Yearwood

“And the zenophobic remarks about Guyanese and bars in Fairchild Street make me question why (or by whom) are they being permitted to operate.”

Exactly how does questioning the legality of Guyanese erecting bars in the unsanitary conditions at the old Fairchild Street market, where they are selling food among the piss and shit can be construed as a xenophobic remark? Who on earth will give anyone permission to operate in those conditions, when there were supposed to leave that location? There are three chemical toilets in that area that were there since early 2013. Maybe you should take a look at the area before making such stupid remarks,

You talk about police sweeps; my friend I can tell that you do not frequent these areas when in Bridgetown. The ZR drivers do as they like… the minibus drivers plying the Silver Hill route were supposed to be in the River Terminal, but they refused to go there. Instead they remain on Probyn Street, sometimes blocking the fire station, and later in the evening they park at the corner by the old NIS building, impeding the free flow of traffic. Police officers pass there every day… and no one is asked to move. So what is your point?

28. kathy yearwood Avatar
    kathy yearwood

why is the law not being enforced?

29. lawd hav merci .cannibalism alive snd well…lol

30. The truth is everybody in Barbados thinks rules are for the other person, they don’t apply to me. If they are called on the carpet for flouting the rules they play the “poor black man” card and even the politicians are not immune from playing this card. The ZR drivers don’t follow any rules, the vendors want to set up shop wherever and whenever they want, the squatters set up house everywhere and judging from the number of food containers that are left on the street, garbage cans are a novelty. I can mention the willy waving exercise that is part of the national landscape when some men relieve themselves at any junction. I can add to the list but life is short…….

Any way here is something that is sure to occupy the minds of Bajans in the near future as a mosquito borne virus is almost at our doorsteps….

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/2014/05/02/newly_arrived_virus_quickly_spreading_in_caribbean.html

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@AC

You think it is a joke. I do not like you. I cannot stand anyone who profits from off the poor. And all you political parasites do not give a rats ass about anyone but wunna miserable thieving ass selves. You think I am going to stop pummel your ass bitch. You really do not know the SSS. You insult me as a woman calling me a man and think the negro in you can remain intact without the ass whipping you deserve. You defunct political loyalist.

32. Barbados is know for the characteristic of being an orderly society compared to other Caribbean islands, so whag are we saying?1

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You bettas censor all my comments because as long as this bitch remains unapologetic nothing is gonna stop me from cussing her ass

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What people seem not to realize is that provisions has been made for vending activity in Barbados. They are call markets. These vendors just do not want to use those provisions. It does not matter if you build a structure in a place they claim they want, they will still find excuses to go somewhere else. And as one blogger said, where ever they go they transform their particular settlement into an eye sore of junk and rubbish.

35. @SSS

Have not blocked anyone, just put a filter in to improve the language.

On Saturday, 3 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine

Now, don’t’ panic and run screaming into the street because it ain’t that serious sista. Okay, your Ego has been bruised a little? So what? Don’t sweat the small stuff sista, focus your efforts on what’s important and cool ya self. The use of gutter- language to convey your displeasure with others, only seeks to expose your true character sista. Sorry, I thought I give voice to what amounts to be an impending show down between you and a woman who can obviously take a punch.

37. ,,,,,,,,LOL….. jenkins missing a patient,,,,,,,,,

38. To whom much is give a hell of a lot is expected. Here is a forum for Bajans and others to discuss issues and some of you want to squander if by engaging on an incessant basis Lilliputian issues. Remember YOU make the forum. Perhaps Bush Tea is correct, this is the final phase.

39. look the issue here ,,,,,look the bottom line is that every person that have a businesses whether it be small or large ,,seeks out an area that they belive would be more favorable to attracting customers,,,the vendors dilemma which is problematic for govt is trying to put them in locations which the vendors believe would be more of financial benefit to them..the fairchild area as out lived it usefulness as far as the vendors are concerned and i believe what the vendors are asking the govt for is to allocate areas which would be more beneficial in attracting customers to them…no matter where the vendors are located or how well planned and organized it might be the bottom line is that at the end of the day ,,are the vendors benefiting financially from such a location,,

40. The issue here is there is no heavy priority given to vending especially so by the ‘small’ people. If there was a focus then dealing with the wayward elements on the margins would be a manageable exercise.

41. Selling peeled sugar cane is NOT vending. It is peddling stolen goods; t’iefing and bragging in public. Those people should be locked to fcuk up ..!

42. Selling peeled sugar cane is NOT vending. It is peddling stolen goods; t’iefing and bragging in public. Those people should be locked to f##k up ..!

43. islandgal246 Avatar

If customers keep supporting stalls that are nasty looking with garbage and litter strewn around then there is no difference between the two.

The masses on this island drop litter everywhere and seem very comfortable with that. Until the law is rigidly enforced there will always be chaos in Bridgetown.

Let us face it, there is a lawless bunch of people who do as they like and have gotten away with it for years. It goes right back to the type of leadership we have become used to.

44. We need to create garbage with a WTE plant in motion.

45. There is too much hostility directed at itenerant and other vendors and too little management of it by the authorities. Is it because these are usually members from the lowest rung on the social ladder AND Black?

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Listen up Miss Dompey. My character has already been establish. I made no excuses for the gutter in me. I am bitch and when the need arises for me to act out my true nature I have no qualms about that. Where in my discourses i perpetuated any notions that I am lady? I prefer to be true to myself than allow status and the quo to make me into a discriminating bias base pompous ass – one who looks down on others as being less or lower then themselves. Decorum is not beyond the SSS and that is trait that can easily be exhibited but so can the black-gardish behaviour that is ingrained in me as it is in all of us. You honestly think the SSS give a shit what you or anyone on here think about me or my perceived nastiness. Oh please!!! You should realize by now that the SSS do not give two wuk-ups and a pooch back what you or that idiot AC thinks. My focus is affixed on the PIMP AC. Perceive how you wish that is your prerogative.. I am not phased. This political PIMP is a beneficiary of her masters crumbs. She thus have to do her masters bidding. That type of thing makes me mad is ass. So Dompey I hope you are made clear. I am a bitch, a down right gutter bitch. A low class bitch with filthy language and a twist of perversion. Any more descriptors you can find feel free to express. But let it be known that I know who I am but some unfortunately are still trying to find that out. Capish?

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Now back the story of vending. I did a bit of researching – Gosh I love the internet and the fact that the government has placed most their legislation, rules and laws on the internet. The site below is CAP 265. Its the markets and slaughterhouses act and has some interesting things vending activity as well as other regulations. The authority for street vending and its regulations resides with the management structure of markets.

http://spsenquirypoint.gov.bb/files/CAP265.pdf

48. @SSS

The authority resides with the Chief Supervisor under the Act but it us interesting to note as well the Commissioner if Police must consent under the Act before a permit is issued.

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

PIMPY AC

Read the PDF file. Deduce from that file that there are regulations in place for street vending and write something worthwhile pumpkin. I want to read something more substantial OK eat spit

What is happening on the streets of Barbados is a lack of enforcement and proper management of these vendors. The authorities have failed street vending by allowing vending to spiral out of control and be perceived as a nasty practice fitted for those with out much class.

It may be the least intellectualized activity but that does not mean that it should not be considered for a massive educational drive. The vendors are poor but poor does not mean despicable and deplorable. It means if guided seek to comply and conform to best practices. Not excuses to continue in the poor-rakey. Many of these vendors have great difficulty with regularize organization.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ah huh. Which means that no vending activity can occur unless consultation between the two is had. The question therefore needs to be asked: under what consent, advisement or permissions was Mr. Herbert Courtland operating under. Also too, if consultation must be had between the markets and the police why therefore is vending spiraling out of control in the city and other places around the island. i stand to be corrected but both these agencies have procrastinated on the issue of proper management of vending. The law is clear but the actions of vendors flaunt the law in the face of the law. what does it equates too: LACK OF ENFORCEMENT