...A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed...
A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed

The World Cup is just around the corner and as Brazil prepares for this signal event of soccer, Brazilian players, of distinctively African origins, continue to face the leading edge of racism in all of Europe. In fact, all Black or African soccer players have been facing, increasingly, incidences of overt racism in the seat of the White race. When we say racism we mean the system as scientifically defined. We are not particularly concerned about personal likes or dislikes, we are here defining racism as the recent and historic power of White people to enforce social, legal, economic; cultural systems; which are anathema to the interest of peoples of colour. It is a system, or a set of systems which attaches more value to White people based entirely on the colour of their skin. This is the vast phenomena that we are interrogating, in broad terms and as it relates to soccer. We shall use Dani Alves as a case but there are tens of thousands with similar import.

This galloping rise of racism in Europe is associated with the rise of anti-Semitism, Islamophobia, ultra-rightism, and White nationalism. It comes at a time when the economic circumstances are getting worse for large numbers of White people. Black people are more used to these deprivations which Whites are now starting to feel, in greater numbers, for the first time in many years. It continues to appear as though White people in much of Europe see hopelessness as the order of the day. It comes out of the long pretence that we were moving towards a colourless world.

A world where race is to be of little importance. A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed. It seems that White people, generally, could always find a resort to racism as the answer to changing circumstances. The Black soccer players are monkeys who are eating their lunch, or the lunch of a not so good great White hope. So they are calling for White supremacy today, White supremacy tomorrow, White supremacy forever!

But Brazil is essentially a Black country and its internal institutional racism is no less pervasive. So while we defend soccer players in Europe from racism we are minded that the global character of this phenomena remains as present as ever or can be called upon at short or little notice as a potent weapon in the quiver of the international Whitey. So this weekend we could have Barcelona’s Brazilian  wing-back, Dani Alves, joining the long list of players to whom bananas were thrown. This event is so normalized that Alves took the fruit and had a bite in his feeble attempt to respond. This is just an example. Of course, we can talk about the racist chants, fears of Black players going to some venues, the missiles thrown at Black players. There is also evidence of disparities in rewards systems between White players and Black players, and so on. However, Alves represents Barcelona. Barcelona is from the Basque region of Spain – Catalonia. The Basque have long sought separation from Spain. But it was Spain which was occupied by the Moors for several centuries. The Moors have indeed left their presence on the landscape of the Iberian Peninsula. So we here argue that institutional racism is culturally bound, has entered the DNA of White people, has been imbued by Blacks and maybe impossible to excise from the body politic. Some will however seek conform in the delusion that racism does nor exist or that it must be Blacks’ fault, the victims that are to be blamed, or that there is such a misnomer as ‘reverse racism’.

There are also some parallels between global soccer and global slavery. Of course, the wages bill is far higher. It provides an avenue for Black players from South countries to make a good living, has transformed world soccer by bringing together some of the best players in the world to play in the professional leagues. But all these contributions to White ‘civilizations’, as it is, can never remove the 500 years old mindset of White people that Black people are inferior to them. It matters not that Africans are their mothers of all people on earth. It matters not that there is now certain knowledge that Africans peoples gave Europe everything it now has of value. It matters not, regardless of the persuasiveness of arguments we may make. Racism is here to stay.

We are here making a critique of Europe but the Unites States is no better. In recent weeks we have had a White illegal farmer posturing that Blacks would be better off in chattel slavery. Los Angeles Clippers owner, Donald Sterling, who makes his money from his ownership of Black basketball players making the most racist of comments. Comments that show the crypto-racism which is deeply engrained in the American society. It is a racism that is highly scientific. It has become so effective that people like Magic Johnson, regardless of their notoriety, are not to be in an Instagram with a women. A women who appears white but has a mixed parentage. This is the argument from the demented mind of a White popular cultural stakeholder.

We have cited the case of Dani Alves but racism in European soccer is so unremitting that the players’ association and FIFA had some time ago started a marketing campaign to ‘say no to racism’. That campaign continues but racists have determined that there shall be no retreat, no compromise. But the game will go on, it must. Too much money is at stake. The industrial exploitation of Black soccer players and other peoples of colour is essential to this here plantation model. FIFA, as chief overseer, runs a world of its own. It is a world where FIFA rules do not represent treaties obligations but are however outside the preview of national courts.

The anatomy of racism in soccer extends to the Russian Federation. This is by no means a Western European reality, alone. Even in the wider Russian society there has been a rise in membership of skin-head gangs. We could die on the Streets of Moscow or St. Petersburg for being Black. So even 80 years of communism, with all its faults, could not keep racism at bay, though through all their songs and marketing was predicated on the universality of mankind and Russia is not generally known for having involvement in the slave trade, though there were other atrocities to peoples of colour and indigenous peoples committed by these White people. Readers should see the statements of professional players at Russian clubs or make a study of the relatively fewer Black players in Russia as compared to Western Europe.

The flags raised, the anthems sung, the heart tugging rhythms, the music, the emotional outburst of the crazy Brazilians soccer ‘fans’, the energies from the Coliseum, the gladiatorial fights to death, the euphoria directed to Brazilian cities, the national prestige gained, the stadia renewed, the cup won, the money made or lost. After all of this, and more, of the World Cup Soccer 2014, racism will continue to be the constant companion of Black soccer players in Europe and African peoples everywhere.

363 responses to “Soccer and Global Racism”

1. Like PODRYR stated let us hope this matter acts as catalyst to make the world a better place.

2. @ David

Dream on my brother, dream. LOL

3. David, if you were a puppy and there are too many in the litter and you hold on to a teet, would you let go? Too much is at stake, too many people benefit from the racist systems, as they are. We would have to have some sort of cataclymic events. Like a massive die off! A burning of books. making religion proscribed, etc

4. @David
    BU finds it interesting there is a steely focus on Sterling and his comment but no similar focus on the fact footballers are routinely referred to as monkies and bananas tossed in Europe.
    What European countries have you visited? African Americans have been at the barricades against racism for years , when it is blatantly exposed they don’t remain silent. In Europe there are pockets of Blacks who are not a significant percentage of the population so when the bananas are thrown Seth Blather would dismiss it as an isolated event and move on. Occasionally the anger boils over as it has in France in the last few years.

Tell some of dem Europeans to come to North America and throw a banana at a Baseball, Football or Basketball game.

5. @Sarge
    The Euro Soccer Admin do have boards at the grounds stating “No to Racism”. Watch the Euro games and U will see.

6. “How can anyone have a GF that is mixed race and yet he discriminates against Blacks and Hispanics?”
    Reminds me of an experience in Liverpool many years ago when I used to attend a Friday evening lime organised by some black male friends where no whites or women were allowed only to discover that all the black fellows were married to white women.
    Really quite inconceivable.

7. @balance
    This race situation is VERY COMPLEX!

8. Only goes to show how sick those of Caucasian ethnicity are and yet we continually through our constant griping about racism this and that inadvertently beg for their attention and lull them into believing that somehow they are better than us; but why demonise Mr Sterling for speaking his mind. At least we know where he stands on the issue even if he is hypocritical about it or we prefer not to know how the others of like mind feel.

9. The NBA has finally acted, this man was known as a slum lord and harboured bigoted views for a long time and David Stern who ran the NBA ship for 30 years and never took any action. There are other owners of Professional sports teams who hold similar views but they manage to keep their traps shut in public.

Early on in this short saga I wrote about the NAACP giving Sterling a “lifetime award”, now the spotlight is on the LA Chapter who look like fools.

There is a view propagated by Donald “Birther” Trump and echoed by a few here that it was a private conversation and he was set up by his “Jump off”. It was never about the “jump off” she was seen with him publicly at games and rich men can always buy companionship. I would remind them that just a couple of years ago another rich man said a few words in private about 47% and we know what that cost him.

10. I saw the below comment from the Bush Tea and thought there is wisdom in it. Are we trying to create a world were beliefs are suppressed. If blacks are upset about this guy and there are working for him and don’t appreciate his comments there should do the honourable thing, but to called for the removal of man I think is nonsense.

What if he had said what he said in PRIVATE about prostitutes. Would it change the complexion of this argument?

Bush Tea | April 28, 2014 at 9:42 PM

“One has to keep a clear focus on the REAL issue….and not be distracted with emotion and fluff…
    You CANNOT tell someone whether they should like you, love you or hate you. …to be quite practical…..it is their RIGHT.
    If someone is “racist” (and we may need to properly define the term for consistency) – perhaps because this is how they were raised, schooled and nurtured….what the hell do you want them to do…?”

11. Another old fool (white) had this to say this about his sexual own behaviour (in this case the old fool, a lawyer asked a young black male client to have to sex with the lawyer’s middled aged wife who was a sitting judge. The black man graciously refused.

Subsequently the lawyer described his own behaviour as “bizarre, ridiculous, stupid, self-indulgent, grotesque and so on”

12. @anon April 29, 2014 at 8:52 PM “What if he had said what he said in PRIVATE about prostitutes. Would it change the complexion of this argument?”

Prostitution is often illegal, and is regarded by all major religious and all decent people as immoral.

Blackness is neither illegal nor immoral.

Are you a racist anon or just incapable of rational thought?

But then again racism is irrational.

13. @John April 29, 2014 at 4:02 PM “We have politicians who get up in parliament right here in Barbados (Owen Arthur the PM, Clyne Clarke etc.) and on National TV (Liz Thompson) to deliberately incite racial hatred and absolutely nothing is done.”

Indeed nothing was done because no inciting was done. We the majority black Bajans recognized that they were being idiotic and we ignored them.

14. i am indeed flabergasted not to mention the incipid and asinine comments made by oneBT that some would attached themselves to endorsing the language of sterling and concluding that in the all that he said his racist comments should not be the basis on how he should be judge..then i am suppose to believe that there is only one race..called human ..until such a time ..i would live in the reality and see the races as they are black ..whites.. and others…

15. MoneyBrain April 29, 2014 at 6:59 PM “The GF is obviously a Gold Digger! GF is a racist too, picking pun an Old, Rich White Guy that probably has Alzheimers. lol!”

To be fair I see no evidence that the girlfriend is racist.

A gold digger (maybe).

Shares her favours (perhaps).

But no evidence at all that she is racist.

16. @Simple Simon

Black slavery in this region was legal at some point, and was thought by some to be moral (various points were made as to why blacks should be enslaved). Gay sex is thought to be immoral by some, but gay marriages are being legalized across the globe.

Earlier this month Mozilla CEO Brendan Eich resigned under pressure after gay rights activists demanded that he step down or recant his support of traditional marriage laws. Eich in the past had donated $1,000 to support Proposition 8 in 2008. Eich argued that these religious beliefs — and beliefs popular as of 2008 — should not be used as a basis for dismissal.

I’m looking at the Sterling issue and looking down the road on how certain persons can be affected by belief that might be legal today but illegal tomorrow and vice versa.

The bible has spoken out about women having positions of authority in the church, and how the church should be structured, but today we see women fighting tooth and nail for such roles. The bible speaks against the gay act yet gays are fighting to be leaders in the church especially now that it is becoming legal across the globe.

Prostitution might someday become legal in our neck of the woods. I don’t see it as far-fetch in today’s world. What would it mean for religious and all decent people who are moral?

This is why I argue to be careful with the Sterling issue because religious and all decent people who are moral may harness points of view which run contrary to the world at large.

17. LOL @ ac
    You understand so little that one would not know where to begin to help you….
    Let us see…..
    A is for apple….B is for bat…C is for …..
    …check with Sunny Sunshine Shine for that one….. 🙂

18. BT is also understand that BT stands for
    backward thinking..cause for the past day and a half you have beem desd set on dragging some nincoomps like yuh self back to the days of intelluctal snobbery and authoratative nonsense.fortunately the natives rattled their spears and heads roll..thank god you and your ilk was not in charge cause the other rscist living in the closet would have had a field goal kicking blacks ass for a touch down.as for your friend sss u can ask him that is not my type he knows how to make cunts out of ole men like you a.ss hole

19. the above song known as the Negro national Anthem was written by James Weldon Johnson…here is a brief history of this we ll famous black author and writer….now that the burning issue of racism is still out in the arena pf public opinion and has reached a pitched level….. i thought it best to highlight a black notable who was instrumental in bringing awareness to other people and cultures that blacks were just as significant and important to this world as other peoples and cultures and rightfully so,
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

James Weldon Johnson (June 17, 1871 – June 26, 1938) was an American author, educator, lawyer, diplomat, songwriter, and civil rights activist. Johnson is best remembered for his leadership within the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), where he started working in 1917, being chosen as the first black executive secretary of the organization, effectively the operating officer.[1] He served in that position from 1920 to 1930. He was first known for his writing, which includes poems, novels, and anthologies collecting both poems and spirituals of black culture.
    He was the first African-American professor at New York University.[2] Later in life he was a professor of creative literature and writing at Fisk University.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Weldon_Johnson
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

20. functional definition of racism Avatar
    functional definition of racism

Welsing proposes what she calls a “functional definition of racism”:

Functional Definition Of Racism = White Supremacy = Apartheid: As a black behavioral scientist and practicing psychiatrist, my own functional definition of racism (white supremacy) is as follows: “Racism (white supremacy) is the local and global power system and dynamic, structured and maintained by persons who classify themselves as white, whether consciously or subconsciously determined; which consists of patterns of perception, logic, symbol formation, thought, speech, action, and emotional response, as conducted, simultaneously in all areas of people activity (economics, education, entertainment, labor, law, politics, religion, sex, and war); for the ultimate purpose of white genetic survival and to prevent white genetic annihilation on planet Earth – a planet upon which the vast and overwhelming majority of people are classified as nonwhite (black, brown, red and yellow) by white skinned people, and all of the nonwhite people are genetically dominant (in terms of skin coloration) compared to the genetic recessive white skin people.”

21. Simple Simon | April 29, 2014 at 9:42 PM |

@John April 29, 2014 at 4:02 PM “We have politicians who get up in parliament right here in Barbados (Owen Arthur the PM, Clyne Clarke etc.) and on National TV (Liz Thompson) to deliberately incite racial hatred and absolutely nothing is done.”

Indeed nothing was done because no inciting was done. We the majority black Bajans recognized that they were being idiotic and we ignored them.
    If you believe that you will believe anything.

One only needs to read the racist expressions of hatred on BU to date the contributor.

The brainwashing was pervasive.

Arthur, Clarke, Thompson etc. cut their teeth believing Erroll Barrow to be God’s gift to Barbados.

Bajans are easily brainwashed and perpetuate what they have been led to believe is right by the loudest shouter…… regardless of whether it is or not!!

It had a lot to do with fear.

Read “The Prime Minister” by Austin “Tom” Clarke and you will see what I mean. I seem to remember hearing it was banned in Barbados at the time (late 70’s). It described corruption in Barbados back then!!

But it was not always so and much more importantly, it is not naturally so.

One day people will wake up, I see signs that are encouraging!!

I think the destruction caused the island by that brainwashing has resulted in the inability of the brainwashers to insulate the brainwashed from hardship.

Easy pickings are now not so easy.

There has been little incentive to create long term value and what existed has been tapped out.

We just need to get back to first principles and encourage people to think long term!!

Systems arising out of strong ITAL (man … where has that acronym gone …. can’t even remember what it stood for) legislation which ensure transparency need to be put in place but it is clear that is the last thing the authorities want.

22. Well…for once there’s progress of a sort. Pacha thinks there’s more to the tape than meets the eye and David wants a better world.

It’s sad though that some give respectability to the race issue by defining racism as one way traffic to suit themselves because, as they say eg, rooted in responses to ensure white genetic survival. I wonder what the Race Relations Act in the UK was about. But David, at least, has been even handed in that for him the expressions ‘white trash’ and ‘black trash’ are not racist expressions.

BT and Pieceuh – forgive me for saying – I think your contributions have been very, very wise.

AC
    It’s in the Golly post or WAS.

I do wish people would get it in their heads that though living on immoral earnings is an offence, plying for hire as a prostitute, at least in Barbados, is not unless the tart makes herself a nuisance.

23. Sons of the devil Avatar
    Sons of the devil

The Bible says that the man of lawlessness controls from high places and that Satan is his father and sustainer. They are as sons of the devil …
    http://www.assatashakur.org/forum/black-matrix/26772-white-people-man-lawlessness-bible-speak.html

24. […] David Submitted by Pachamama The World Cup is just around the corner and as Brazil prepares for this […]

25. ” David | April 29, 2014 at 7:48 PM |

Like PODRYR stated let us hope this matter acts as catalyst to make the world a better place.”

Pipe dream, Brother, PiPe Dream.

26. “Pachamama | April 29, 2014 at 7:51 PM |
    Dream on my brother, dream. LOL”
    What an apt comment, Pacha.

27. @ robert ross

The difference between us and you is that you are incapable of critiquing your White people. On every issue, whether it beTrayvon Martin, Cow’s wife, etc, you make the same racist defense. For you, Black people could never be the victims of your racist mindset despite the abundance of evidence to the contrary. Welsing has long thought us how a racist mind like yours works. And White people are the authors of this Western phenomenon called racism. We do not reverse anything we have said. We are adding that all the forces at work should be interrogated, not just Sterling. Again, this suits you because it take your nature from under the spotlight. For there is the only place you can hide.

28. “Sterling is done and not because of a principled stand.

The advertisers will pressure the other owners to remove him.

The big money will talk.”

Sterling is done because he dared to openly though hypocritically express thoughts now considered to be socially incorrect. Are we failing to ignore the reality that they are many more Sterlings out there eating and drinking and laughing with us for their own ends even the very same Advertisers involved in the pressure to remove him to keep their marketing income flows intact. Oh, what a mangled web we weave.

29. @ robert ross
    Your worn out lie about racism being a two way street is patently false, is not scientifically founded and represents the height of escapism for the past and present racist systems Whitey has given the world. Black people nowhere on earth have the power to enforce a racist mind set. Like aparatheid South Africa you White people have for 500 years as it continues. But your sickness prevents you from once acknowledging this truism.

30. History is replete with examples where episodes in sports were cause for change. Mankind must live with hope as a beacon on the horizon.

On Wednesday, 30 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. @ David
    We are not so sure. Look at the NBA, which is a modern day slave plantation. With more than 90% of the ownership by White people. While 90% of the players are Black. And we could look at all other indicators. To us the model of a slave plantation maybe the right one for understanding this case.

And what have past episodes in sport left us with – a more scientific racism. Better house niggers deceiving us. The continued empowerment of White systems. No, we say the whole construction of Western systems must be dismantled for us to get the rid of racism. For example, the church was a key pillar in racism. Therefore, we can’t get the rid of racism unless be get the rid of the church, the Bible and everything it teaches. And so on…….

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

Racism is not a one way street, neither is it a two way street but a three way…

I guess that long life does have its benefits, barring insulin shots and incontinence, alzheimer’s and ole farts like Sterling and your humble servant, and the few of us who would admit it, lusting for young nubile flesh.

You get to see many faces of death, hatred, love, envy, racism from many different quarters.

Take for example, RWANDA.

My query is then if you consider this racial genocide to be racism at its highest and, given that it is not white on black, nor as i have seen, black on white, but black on black, how does this reconcile with your recent posit?

33. @Pacha

Blacks in the US are a little over 10+ % of the population? Two of the 30 teams are owned by non Whites. Are they examples where Blacks have been barred from owning a team? Maybe it is a separate issue.

34. Both of those two owner are non-Whites but not African or Blacks

35. @Pacha

Michael Jordon is not Black?

36. ross…….to coin your term..”please forgive me” but i find it very hard to understand your stance on racism and your many opinions on this issues,,,many of which are not wrong when pinned to less complexities of life but when applied to racism and racist attitudes they just do not past the test,,,,,,,i do believe that you are a man of principle and is trying harder than” harder ‘to convince yourself that “IF” blacks would put the past behind and just forgive and forget that issues just like sterling would be frowned upon by society just blow over or simply go away( in other words) the need for response by those who would see a wrong only creates more harm than good……or as the old folks say,,,:Let sleeping dogs lie,,,,,,that is the only analysis i can draw from your simple responses and comments that you are making on such a complex and complicated manner such as racismor just maybe you just don’t see any reason for others to put any relevance or importance to racism or racist attitudes in 2014 …….. as for BT his vexation makes him a very a complicated and difficult person and the manner in which he approaches a problem comes from such a vexed attitude and one not having any hope for mankind,,,, just be careful how much importance and significance you give to his opinion as in all other issues he has a propensity to talk from both sides of his mouth not unlike the weather his views and opinions changes with each and every passing day,,,,,,,

37. David
    Yes, forgive me but he is very recent.

38. David
    Also we had Magic before, but the exception sometimes proves the rule. The rule of racism in the NBA and everywhere else.

39. David
    All the other major sports are no different. The NFL, same thing

40. Yes Pacba, it is a function of a close loop White establishment but is it racism?

41. I was listening to commentary last night ,and a lot of people said it doesn’t matter if it was a private conversation the information was too important to worry about if laws were broken in getting it out there. It seemed odd to me that they are chasing the wiki leak guys all over the world and charged others….. strange.

42. Lemme show you how effective the brainwashing has been …. it has caused a complete reality disconnect ….. if it were not so sad it would be funny.

The invective is directed at white Bajans for owning all the resources in Barbados.

In reality, foreigners own the largest conglomerate in Barbados and numerous other plums, some of which have had to be sold off by GOB.

….. and yet, I have seen contributors still blue vex with so called white Bajans for selling off an asset …

Meanwhile, Rome burns!!

Now if that isn’t effective brainwashing I don’t know what is.

It is utterly ridiculous.

43. @David

Yes Pacba, it is a function of a close loop White establishment but is it racism
    Ownership of Professional Sports team is more like belonging to an exclusive private club and provides the owners more exposure that they would normally receive no matter how many billions they have. Ownership is a reflection of Corporate America where rich people own companies that the majority works for. It is not a in any sense of the word a “modern day slave plantation”, the players are represented by a Union, they negotiate contracts and are able for the most part to ply their trade at any venue subject to the rules agreed to under collective bargaining.

If one wants to talk about “Plantation”, it should be in reference to baseball some years ago when the players couldn’t choose their own team until Curt Flood challenged that rule and the era of “free agency’ began. Today the baseball and Basketball Unions are very strong while the NFL Union is weak. The NFL players can earn a lot of money in a short span but contracts are not guaranteed so players ask for large sums upfront ( signing bonuses) which acts as some protection if their career comes to a premature end they would at least have some money.

We can apply the word “Plantation” to the NCAA where the majority of the players who represent the colleges in major sports i.e. Basketball & Football are Black and in exchange for “free education” are prohibited by archaic rules from earning money in their downtime while the colleges, coaches and many other people make tons of money from their efforts while about 80% of the students leave school without a degree or are channeled to “basket weaving” type of courses. As an example of these rules the University of Connecticut won the NCAA basketball Championship this year and one of the players complained that he often went to bed hungry because the rules prohibited him from eating at the cafeteria at certain times, as a result of the bad publicity this rule has now been rescinded. The NCAA is under fire as many are of the opinion that the players who provide the labour and profit should at least get some of the honey so look for this issue to be at the forefront in the coming years.

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

We are not to join , we are to have our own and if needed play against their teams as in Hitler and Jessy O. Running in the games,

As in the movie Rosewood, as in Black Wall Street 1920s,
    If and when wee seem to be living better they love to come and burn .The Back up for America is the KKK,

When do do better they say, if you were not there living well , it would be us,So even after they take it from you , they still live the same way, and yet we get the blame,
    On the Back of the One Dollar Bill has to Nations , who can live apart but equal, The Grammar in the English gets blur, when in America,,,,American is study in schools and not English until you study law.
    So I can see both sides of comments ,
    Dictionary before 1950 have different meaning and NOAH Dictionary have more meaning than any other Book, But those also was removed from the stores and some are in the law Libraries . We have about 4 one is 1959 NOAH WEBSTER L.L D. 2129 PAGES +160 PAGES+18 PAGES OF MAPS another 16pages before the letter A meaning,

45. ac

Let me say three things.

First, for me racism begins with the interaction between people. I am not concerned with over-arching theories used to indoctrinate of the Welsing kind.. And by racism I mean the use of colour and ethnic origin to take away a person’s respect for himself and in the eyes of the world. The usual method is by discrimination; another is by name-calling as if THAT is an argument. And yes, I would also admit programmes to destroy, exclude or control.

Second, it follows from this, as Piecehu suggested above, that it is a three way thing. By and large people have not voted on this post thank goodness. But in reading through the comments just now I noticed that someone had given me a negative vote for pointing out that I have known cases where a white guest had been given the same treatment as a black guest. Now Well Well will say ‘oh but whites deserve it.” I say ‘bollocks’ – as people, black, white, whatever, we all have responsibilities – and one of those is to treat with respect a guest, a stranger and, yes, it is a very African thing. It is also a very Biblical thing. And, you know, I am not a believer in sin as carry over – and so say ‘you are not entitled to crush me (or whoever) because of the sins of my ancestors. If you seek to do that you are no better than them.’ Now I quite agree with BT that you cannot legislate away people’s prejudices and superstitions, their plus or minus reactions to people. And that is why, whatever else is involved, it does concern me that a private conversation leaked to the world is being used in the way it is. The ramifications are horrendous.

Third, in one of my comments I suggested to David that if he were to call us to eat bananas before the world’s press I would join him. This was dismissed by Pacha as a “gimmick”. One of my greatest regrets is that I was not in the right place at the right time to join the freedom marches against segregation. I would happily have been some kind of martyr in that cause – and still would. In other words I’m saying – ‘all this talk proves what if you’re not prepared to do something?’ But of course we won’t. Think of the loudmouths on here who have NEVER said ‘yes, let’s march against the government you (ac) support’. Now of course David uses the cop-out (essentially) ‘the pen is mightier than the sword’. Yes, Zola proved that. That was one man against a whole system. But we are not ‘one man’. We are a people seeking, as David says, a better world and where there are men of goodwill of like mind it really doesn’t matter what colour they are. The cause is the same cause, the heart beats in the same place, the right arm wields the same Excalibur, and all share the same vision.

46. Moneybrain…….I do apologize for saying shittly little whitey, just in case you do and i like it…lol

In reality NBA basketball in the US is a trillion dollar industry, it makes billiionaires of owners, millionaires of players and trickles trillions into the US economy, in saying that, most of the players who generate these trillions of dollars are BLACK and the white basketball players will swiftly close ranks with them, the other owners have no problems deleting one of their fellow billionaires, no big whop….to reiterate, the keywords here being most of the players whom are black.

47. Ross m y love, sorry if i hurt your feelings but they (i will not call who cause Moneybrain is watching) need to realize that they do not have the monopoly on ill-treating black people or any other group of people….apart from that, i really don’t believe in retribution, but i do believe in Karma..

Vincent my love……we are all one race from the same place, no extra race involved, anyone thinking that is deluded, what has happened is one group of people decided to create a fantasy system that over the last centuries benefited them only, fortunately for those who were grievously injured by that system and as with all things man made on this earth it has run it’s course and is crashing, it can now honestly be called destructive, even to their own group……..and that’s the bottom line.

48. @RR
    Well put.

The reality pun here is that some Black peeps attempt to explain White racist behavior by committing the exact same racist sin in response. This then forces someone like myself to enlighten by pushing somewhat in the opposite direction and sometimes too far, just to make a point.

People must be treated equally and the old saying
    ” if U White U right, if brown stick around, if Black stand back” must be vanquished permanently.

49. Well Well

Now I know you better I don’t think you can hurt my feelings. (Lawson aint around….kiss)

Which causes me to say what I’m sure David knows……there is a post in another place which suggests that through wordpress the identity of bloggers is being sought by those who believe they have been defamed.