...A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed...
A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed

The World Cup is just around the corner and as Brazil prepares for this signal event of soccer, Brazilian players, of distinctively African origins, continue to face the leading edge of racism in all of Europe. In fact, all Black or African soccer players have been facing, increasingly, incidences of overt racism in the seat of the White race. When we say racism we mean the system as scientifically defined. We are not particularly concerned about personal likes or dislikes, we are here defining racism as the recent and historic power of White people to enforce social, legal, economic; cultural systems; which are anathema to the interest of peoples of colour. It is a system, or a set of systems which attaches more value to White people based entirely on the colour of their skin. This is the vast phenomena that we are interrogating, in broad terms and as it relates to soccer. We shall use Dani Alves as a case but there are tens of thousands with similar import.

This galloping rise of racism in Europe is associated with the rise of anti-Semitism, Islamophobia, ultra-rightism, and White nationalism. It comes at a time when the economic circumstances are getting worse for large numbers of White people. Black people are more used to these deprivations which Whites are now starting to feel, in greater numbers, for the first time in many years. It continues to appear as though White people in much of Europe see hopelessness as the order of the day. It comes out of the long pretence that we were moving towards a colourless world.

A world where race is to be of little importance. A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed. It seems that White people, generally, could always find a resort to racism as the answer to changing circumstances. The Black soccer players are monkeys who are eating their lunch, or the lunch of a not so good great White hope. So they are calling for White supremacy today, White supremacy tomorrow, White supremacy forever!

But Brazil is essentially a Black country and its internal institutional racism is no less pervasive. So while we defend soccer players in Europe from racism we are minded that the global character of this phenomena remains as present as ever or can be called upon at short or little notice as a potent weapon in the quiver of the international Whitey. So this weekend we could have Barcelona’s Brazilian  wing-back, Dani Alves, joining the long list of players to whom bananas were thrown. This event is so normalized that Alves took the fruit and had a bite in his feeble attempt to respond. This is just an example. Of course, we can talk about the racist chants, fears of Black players going to some venues, the missiles thrown at Black players. There is also evidence of disparities in rewards systems between White players and Black players, and so on. However, Alves represents Barcelona. Barcelona is from the Basque region of Spain – Catalonia. The Basque have long sought separation from Spain. But it was Spain which was occupied by the Moors for several centuries. The Moors have indeed left their presence on the landscape of the Iberian Peninsula. So we here argue that institutional racism is culturally bound, has entered the DNA of White people, has been imbued by Blacks and maybe impossible to excise from the body politic. Some will however seek conform in the delusion that racism does nor exist or that it must be Blacks’ fault, the victims that are to be blamed, or that there is such a misnomer as ‘reverse racism’.

There are also some parallels between global soccer and global slavery. Of course, the wages bill is far higher. It provides an avenue for Black players from South countries to make a good living, has transformed world soccer by bringing together some of the best players in the world to play in the professional leagues. But all these contributions to White ‘civilizations’, as it is, can never remove the 500 years old mindset of White people that Black people are inferior to them. It matters not that Africans are their mothers of all people on earth. It matters not that there is now certain knowledge that Africans peoples gave Europe everything it now has of value. It matters not, regardless of the persuasiveness of arguments we may make. Racism is here to stay.

We are here making a critique of Europe but the Unites States is no better. In recent weeks we have had a White illegal farmer posturing that Blacks would be better off in chattel slavery. Los Angeles Clippers owner, Donald Sterling, who makes his money from his ownership of Black basketball players making the most racist of comments. Comments that show the crypto-racism which is deeply engrained in the American society. It is a racism that is highly scientific. It has become so effective that people like Magic Johnson, regardless of their notoriety, are not to be in an Instagram with a women. A women who appears white but has a mixed parentage. This is the argument from the demented mind of a White popular cultural stakeholder.

We have cited the case of Dani Alves but racism in European soccer is so unremitting that the players’ association and FIFA had some time ago started a marketing campaign to ‘say no to racism’. That campaign continues but racists have determined that there shall be no retreat, no compromise. But the game will go on, it must. Too much money is at stake. The industrial exploitation of Black soccer players and other peoples of colour is essential to this here plantation model. FIFA, as chief overseer, runs a world of its own. It is a world where FIFA rules do not represent treaties obligations but are however outside the preview of national courts.

The anatomy of racism in soccer extends to the Russian Federation. This is by no means a Western European reality, alone. Even in the wider Russian society there has been a rise in membership of skin-head gangs. We could die on the Streets of Moscow or St. Petersburg for being Black. So even 80 years of communism, with all its faults, could not keep racism at bay, though through all their songs and marketing was predicated on the universality of mankind and Russia is not generally known for having involvement in the slave trade, though there were other atrocities to peoples of colour and indigenous peoples committed by these White people. Readers should see the statements of professional players at Russian clubs or make a study of the relatively fewer Black players in Russia as compared to Western Europe.

The flags raised, the anthems sung, the heart tugging rhythms, the music, the emotional outburst of the crazy Brazilians soccer ‘fans’, the energies from the Coliseum, the gladiatorial fights to death, the euphoria directed to Brazilian cities, the national prestige gained, the stadia renewed, the cup won, the money made or lost. After all of this, and more, of the World Cup Soccer 2014, racism will continue to be the constant companion of Black soccer players in Europe and African peoples everywhere.

363 responses to “Soccer and Global Racism”

1. The US is world famous for being among the 3 most racist countries in the world bu not many are about to let this one slide, the sterling jackass has a history for being RACIST against blacks, his fault for not seeing that his girlfriend is black, young, hot and would much prefer a black man to a dying lump of flesh, with more dollars than sense……

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/lupica-league-simply-rid-sterling-article-1.1772281

Konkieman I love your analogy and red herring:

“What would your reaction be if Bizzy started a blog and discussed how blackie acts, how blackie has such a big dick.”

Here is another analogy and even redder herring….if Bizzy tries that shit, blacks would finally see the light and stop shopping at his establishments, remember, blacks are the MAJORITY in Barbados, not so in the US and look at the reactions, and Bizzy depends on them in Barbados for his bread and butter, for his very survival, finally, he would have to shut to fcuk down and hopefully the sprinkle of other Bajans whites on the island would try pulling the same shit with the same end result….how do you like my analogy and red herring…….something has to open the eyes of black people in Barbados, let’s hope your red herring does so….

2. David

If you were to suggest that we call a crowd to eat bananas before the world’s press I would join you.

3. But Robert Ross, that is not the point. It is the underlying malady that we are pointing too. Not gimmicks, or snide one-liners

4. @David, stand your ground, you are sing in the same choir as a former baseball commissioner. When all is said and done Mr. Sterling has to be force to sell the team. Who is going to play for and coach the Clippers if he is not forced out?

Many people today are comparing Clippers owner Donald Sterling to former Cincinnati Reds owner Marge Schott, who was banned from running the team in 1996 after several racist comments. Sterling is alleged to have made racist comments on a tape leaked to the website TMZ over the weekend.
    Former baseball commissioner Fay Vincent says there is no comparison — Sterling is worse than Schott.
    “What she said was egregious, but what he said was probably worse,” Vincent, 75, told Bloomberg News. “There’s a question of where you draw the line. In this case with what this guy did and probably in Marge Schott’s case, you’re well over the line.”

So what should the NBA do in this case?
    “You have to start with the proposition that the commissioner works for the owners, and for him to be disciplining the owners is a very awkward circumstance,” Vincent said.
    Schott was suspended in May 1996 after saying that Adolf Hitler “was good at the beginning, but he just went too far.” Those comments came on the heels of previous racist comments Schott had made. Schott apologized, but Commissioner Bud Selig forced her to give up operation of the franchise. Schott sold the team after the 1998 season.
    “They made it clear to her that she had to sell,” Vincent said. “I wasn’t involved, but my recollection is that they pushed her out.”

5. David/Pacha

For Christ’s sake put your body where your mouth is….oh sorry was that a “snide one liner”?

6. ‘Christ”, who is he or she?

7. David…..maybe it’s time for a capital of flight from the minorities in Barbados, something has to open the eyes of Bajan blacks, they know how to survive and can start again without the crappy believe that they need the minorities on the island.

Here is what a black male from another Caribbean country experienced at the hands of these little shithead bajan whites on the island, he works in Barbados, he was one of about 5 blacks invited to a shingding in Black Bess St. Peter, there were about 1500 bajan ‘whites’ in attendance including Cow Williams, well naturally he approached the group to thank them for the invitation because normally when he sees them on the street or in his work place they speak to him, well they acted like he was invisible and did not even answer him, that is normal in Barbados, he was shocked being new to the island, the shitty little minority ‘whites’ on the island do not speak to blacks when they are among each other, and if they do it’s to appear that they are the master and the black is the servant/slave, nor are they invited to their homes, only if they work there, so it is time something gives, that is an embarrassment, if only blacks could see.

8. Well Well

I know of similar experiences where the guest was white.

9. Thanks Bajan in NY, this is a stand your ground moment in history which Blacks and Whites alike recognize. The hour of 2PM is fast approaching, some sponsors have already reacted.

10. Ross the defender, Lawson, Vincent et al…….Obama has experienced racism that you, if you are black, i believe Ross is, will never recognize or would treat as a joke and smile, i have seen blacks do that…..AND…….it does not/do not stop.

Ross……..turn around is not foul play, and where pray tell do you think they learned that behavior from?/

11. I wonder if the anti-racist anti-segregation marches in the ’60’s were “gimmicks”, whether Pete Seeger’s songs were gimmicks, whether taking a black ballerina to perform in the south was a gimmick.

12. Well Well

“Turn around” spells ‘little people’, ‘silly people’. But fight, yes.

13. Ross…..I thought you are a retired attorney, did not know you were also a sound technician……you can be sure that they DN would have already checked the tape for authenticity, they are very thorough because of lawsuits.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I guess that I am guilty of ignoring, or not commenting on the football fiasco and being seemingly misdirected for a while.

The mob that attends the various sports of the world and hurl missiles at us people of colour have abounded and continue to abound through history I give you the Baseball Nigger/Coloured League and the purpose of the protective dugouts.

I do not take lightly the song by Brother Marley “until the pholosophy that holds one people superior and another inferior” lightly.

Time has taught me a few things to implement when dealing with the missiles that are physical and the other ones that are verbal and entrenched in the law.

The first is respect. You might not like me but I demand that you respect me.

The second is fashioned on the Borg i.e. the collective and if the Ninjas of BroadStreet and the Rihannas of this world behave like monkeys, madmens and sluts then it will give fuel to those who know no better than treating us as the missing link.

Supporting our champions, the Tigers, Sammy Davises, the Bolts, Oprahs Obamas, Peles, the ones who tirelessly stick to the grind, and unflinchingly being committed to replicating those instances through making a mechanism available so that we loose the crabs in the barrel mentality and understand that wherever a black man meets a black man in this world, we face one common challenge and that the struggle continues.

You see i dont believe that we are free, I consider it to be a myth that slavery ended in 1834 or whatever date that is ascribed to it wherever we are.

Here is what needs to happen for US NIGGERS to gain the begrudging respect of these racists, pseudo-racists, crypto-racists and then there are the ubiquitous, pervasive Uncle Toms, we have to build individuals, communities, villages, towns and then countries until our collective light DEMANDS that we are respected, but that is a nex blog David[BU]

We have to become respected like the x billion chines formerly just farmers, now a world power.

I am not constricted by the instances of Soccer fields. Where my rebellion has its focus is against racism, not only on the microcosmic field of soccer but on the wide field of life, one which includes MIss Ram flaunting a one door store for the niggers in Bulbados that defeats every single Town and Country Planning regulation and the CTO ent got the balls to close her down. That is my banana on my playing field.

Or where these ballsless union leaders dont have the gonads to demand that the working conditions for employees at her businesses are improved but bukunts like Sir leroy want to shut down cane reaping and strike on insignificant things round Bulbados so that he can be relevant

15. Gee Well Well…who said I was “retired”. LOL. Though, since the other day I mentioned cricket, I did once retire ‘tired’.

But on the tape – has there been a final assessment? All I can say is that my experience has been, one way or another, with voices…and to me the voices, particularly the girl’s, sound like script-readers.

16. Ross……..as long as you advocate fight against the blight of racism, i am in your corner, when i say fight, i don’t mean whites and blacks calling out reverse racism at every turn when a black says something against or points out the disparity in what in happening, while the whites happily continue to practice racism against blacks without further interference….i am talking real resistance against the blight that is racism still being practiced by whites.

17. Pieceuh

Our bananas come from the same bunch.

18. Ross……again, DN they are the leading newspaper in NY, or TMZ , i believe it was, would not put a tape out there that was not authentic, they would be sued for billions if they did, so you can be sure it was well investigated AND Sterling is scared shitless and up to yesterday asking the young lady to settle things, his old wife is also suing the young lady for Sterling buying her half million in Bentleys etc…so you are a defense attorney, no wonder you defend any and everything…lol

19. Maybe it’s time to stop defending the indefensible, i am sure his Sterling’s son-in-law would know him a hell of a lot better than any of his defenders on BU.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/sterling-son-in-law-rips-owner-racist-remarks-report-article-1.1772382

20. Ross……I do believe his own daughter should know his voice and be able to recognize her father’s voice, don’t you think?, she did listen to the tape……

21. Well Well

It’s not a case of defending anyone. It’s about impression and perspective. My impression is that Pieceuh’s assessment is probably accurate and I have doubts about the tape. It doesn’t concern me that a newspaper, doubtless from mixed motives, has put the tape in the public domain nor what members of the family have said given the incestuous nature of it all. Since despite everything else you wouldn’t know the difference between Richard Burton’s voice and mine if I said “To begin at the beginning” I can readily conceive of someone being able to mimic the silly fella if the tape voice sounds something like his. The case that the girl is reading is stronger though.

22. Balance
    I have known of the traditionally torrid enmity of the scouser clubs Lpool
    and Everton for years and that’s why I thought there was no disgrace like the disgrace an Everton defeat would visit upon them thar Lpool 8 fellers.I speak of the times I have heard them cussing each other in the worst way many years one by.
    I posit that blacks and browns identify themselves big time as African brothers and sisters and cut out this Afro American nonsense.All New World folk of colour should refer to themselves as African and unite to confront this evil called racism.
    Ross
    Were you or were you not acused of racism when you inticted another white priest at a 99.9% black church not long ago?

23. Ross…..let not thine self be troubled any longer, the SOB is not worth your time, let him feel the brunt of his stupidity, Piece means well but if he knew whites, jews etc like i do he would be really concerned about the impostors posing as whites in Bim and work really hard at trying to stamp out the scrooge that is racism.

Ross…..take note that Bajan whites only speak to black politicians because they are weak and easily manipulated.

The Bushman……with all the love, sweetness, light and turn the other cheek crap you are projecting, don’t know what t he hell you were drinking this morning, you also better put your hands in and work on stamping out the racism in Barbados.

24. Gabriel

Are you at it again? You are beginning to sound like a spiteful old Harold.

25. The mob that attends the various sports of the world and hurl missiles at us people of colour have abounded and continue to abound through history I give you the Baseball Nigger/Coloured League and the purpose of the protective dugouts.

The is also of course, Cricket as the link below shows.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/246963.html

26. Racism is one of those realities that blacks, as well as many others minorities have to contend with here in America. And else way in the world I supposed? So it really doesn’t surprise me one iota when some people unmistakably show their true colours. I have dealt with racism in the working environment, and I have dealt with it in the public arena. And it is just one of those things you have to accustom yourself to because it is part and parcel of the America experienced. And with that being said: it becomes rather difficult for me to envision how some people of colour could live in America and do so without harboring any resentment towards white folk. And this resentment is perhaps grounded in ignorance because we shouldn’t allow the views of a few ignorant white folk (as well as black) to shape our perspective of the entire race of white. And finally, a comment of this nature, really does a disservice to character black’s everywhere because it only service to reinforced those stereotypes which are perpetuated by those who regard blacks as beneath them. Now, am I being racist, certainly not? But I like to look at myself as a realist who has dealt with this issue on more than one occasion.

27. David | April 28, 2014 at 9:56 PM |
    @Gabriel

“It will be up to Manchester City this weekend to hammer the final nail.”
    And how will that add or subtract to the on-going diatribe of whites disrespect for blacks issue or will it prove that Manchester city is a club more tolerant to the ways of the black man. Bunch of misguided idiots are we.

28. And Gabriel couldn’t your submissions as wells the other posts be regarded as racist as well?

29. We might as well accept our lot in life because it ain’t going to get any better for us. This historical cursed has stained our character and any hope of resuscitating it is futile at this point.

30. @PODRYR

To win a battle it must be fought on all fronts.

@balance

Yes we can be idiots even those who miss intended humour.

31. Dompey…….what is with the slave mentality,??if your enslaved ancestors had accepted their lot in life and not resisted and fought against it BEFORE slavery started to become non-profitable to their masters, your ass would not now be on here typing that shit, you would more than likely still be accepting your lot in life as a SLAVE, now we clearly see why blacks in America are no better than blacks in Barbados……..Christ…

32. Vincent……I left a comment for you on the reparations thread, i am surprised no one answered you for days now.

33. bush tea needs to stop drinking the bush tea..ithink it got him hallucinating..

btw…ross i ran the halls of bu trying to find the april 26 ..1.03 am comment u accused me of..till i am exhausted..you got to be hallucinating too.

34. Well Well
    I am talking about man’s inhumanity to man. You have heard the saying: “Once the human mind is expanded by an idea it never regains its true dimension.” The racist ideology remains an integral part of our human existence.

35. Dompey….. don’t mind all of that, racists tend to be all laid back and arrogant until they are exposed.as i was saying on another thread, there is not one racist wants to be in Sterling’s shoes today, don’t care how filled with hatred they are, no one wants to be that exposed…..lol

36. Well Well
    You should have look beyond the text…. in an effort to grasp the context sister.

37. Pretty pathetic trying to link the standard practice of throwing bananas at footballers to racism!!

…. but totally predictable if the comments are checked in this link.

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/bundesliga/119251/manuel-neuer-pelted-with-bananas-by-dortmund-fans-video.html

Sometimes coins are thrown too, just a result of security clamping down on hooliganism at football matches and restricting what fans can take in so as to limit what they can throw.

Lunatics attend football matches!! …. but as can be seen, cricket, the supposed “gentleman’s game” is not immune from these lunatics.

Burning of effigies is also common in Cricket …. wonder what that demonstrates?

38. Dompey…..you projected defeat and nothing else.

39. Well Well
    I agree. But he is entitled to his own opinion. The law offers him this privilege but morality exacts a different price. It’s going to hit him where it hurts the most.

40. Dompey…….if it was up to you, with that defeatist attitude Hitler would have won the war and spread more evil than the specter of racism, evil it has to be fought and won, racism is evil and destructive…..don’t know if you were in the US for Marge Schott who owned another team and spouted even more crap, they reduced her to nothing until she died, it has to be fought and won.

41. Well Well
    I have accepted these people for what there are. Ignorant and small minded.

42. Well Well
    There isn’t any defeatism on my part with respect to Racism. I am just being real and pragmatic regarding this moral evil.

43. Racists should NEVER be accepted, they should be treated just like the scum that they are until they are destroyed and chased off the face of the earth.

44. Well Well
    After four- hundred years of slavery. One would have thought, that we would have been able to rid society of this disease.

45. Well Well
    I have to run. Later!

46. The NBA has authenticated the recording.

Whether throwing bananas at Coloured players is racist does not merit a response.

Dompey and Well relax and let others jump in.

47. stop the presses….sterling gone..gone ..and fined two million dollars…may the gods of the universe rained down fire and birmstone on his racist head

48. @ David

The idiot above, it at it again.