...A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed...
A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed

The World Cup is just around the corner and as Brazil prepares for this signal event of soccer, Brazilian players, of distinctively African origins, continue to face the leading edge of racism in all of Europe. In fact, all Black or African soccer players have been facing, increasingly, incidences of overt racism in the seat of the White race. When we say racism we mean the system as scientifically defined. We are not particularly concerned about personal likes or dislikes, we are here defining racism as the recent and historic power of White people to enforce social, legal, economic; cultural systems; which are anathema to the interest of peoples of colour. It is a system, or a set of systems which attaches more value to White people based entirely on the colour of their skin. This is the vast phenomena that we are interrogating, in broad terms and as it relates to soccer. We shall use Dani Alves as a case but there are tens of thousands with similar import.

This galloping rise of racism in Europe is associated with the rise of anti-Semitism, Islamophobia, ultra-rightism, and White nationalism. It comes at a time when the economic circumstances are getting worse for large numbers of White people. Black people are more used to these deprivations which Whites are now starting to feel, in greater numbers, for the first time in many years. It continues to appear as though White people in much of Europe see hopelessness as the order of the day. It comes out of the long pretence that we were moving towards a colourless world.

A world where race is to be of little importance. A time when Blacks have made some progress but where the majority of peoples of colour, throughout, the world are still largely dispossessed. It seems that White people, generally, could always find a resort to racism as the answer to changing circumstances. The Black soccer players are monkeys who are eating their lunch, or the lunch of a not so good great White hope. So they are calling for White supremacy today, White supremacy tomorrow, White supremacy forever!

But Brazil is essentially a Black country and its internal institutional racism is no less pervasive. So while we defend soccer players in Europe from racism we are minded that the global character of this phenomena remains as present as ever or can be called upon at short or little notice as a potent weapon in the quiver of the international Whitey. So this weekend we could have Barcelona’s Brazilian  wing-back, Dani Alves, joining the long list of players to whom bananas were thrown. This event is so normalized that Alves took the fruit and had a bite in his feeble attempt to respond. This is just an example. Of course, we can talk about the racist chants, fears of Black players going to some venues, the missiles thrown at Black players. There is also evidence of disparities in rewards systems between White players and Black players, and so on. However, Alves represents Barcelona. Barcelona is from the Basque region of Spain – Catalonia. The Basque have long sought separation from Spain. But it was Spain which was occupied by the Moors for several centuries. The Moors have indeed left their presence on the landscape of the Iberian Peninsula. So we here argue that institutional racism is culturally bound, has entered the DNA of White people, has been imbued by Blacks and maybe impossible to excise from the body politic. Some will however seek conform in the delusion that racism does nor exist or that it must be Blacks’ fault, the victims that are to be blamed, or that there is such a misnomer as ‘reverse racism’.

There are also some parallels between global soccer and global slavery. Of course, the wages bill is far higher. It provides an avenue for Black players from South countries to make a good living, has transformed world soccer by bringing together some of the best players in the world to play in the professional leagues. But all these contributions to White ‘civilizations’, as it is, can never remove the 500 years old mindset of White people that Black people are inferior to them. It matters not that Africans are their mothers of all people on earth. It matters not that there is now certain knowledge that Africans peoples gave Europe everything it now has of value. It matters not, regardless of the persuasiveness of arguments we may make. Racism is here to stay.

We are here making a critique of Europe but the Unites States is no better. In recent weeks we have had a White illegal farmer posturing that Blacks would be better off in chattel slavery. Los Angeles Clippers owner, Donald Sterling, who makes his money from his ownership of Black basketball players making the most racist of comments. Comments that show the crypto-racism which is deeply engrained in the American society. It is a racism that is highly scientific. It has become so effective that people like Magic Johnson, regardless of their notoriety, are not to be in an Instagram with a women. A women who appears white but has a mixed parentage. This is the argument from the demented mind of a White popular cultural stakeholder.

We have cited the case of Dani Alves but racism in European soccer is so unremitting that the players’ association and FIFA had some time ago started a marketing campaign to ‘say no to racism’. That campaign continues but racists have determined that there shall be no retreat, no compromise. But the game will go on, it must. Too much money is at stake. The industrial exploitation of Black soccer players and other peoples of colour is essential to this here plantation model. FIFA, as chief overseer, runs a world of its own. It is a world where FIFA rules do not represent treaties obligations but are however outside the preview of national courts.

The anatomy of racism in soccer extends to the Russian Federation. This is by no means a Western European reality, alone. Even in the wider Russian society there has been a rise in membership of skin-head gangs. We could die on the Streets of Moscow or St. Petersburg for being Black. So even 80 years of communism, with all its faults, could not keep racism at bay, though through all their songs and marketing was predicated on the universality of mankind and Russia is not generally known for having involvement in the slave trade, though there were other atrocities to peoples of colour and indigenous peoples committed by these White people. Readers should see the statements of professional players at Russian clubs or make a study of the relatively fewer Black players in Russia as compared to Western Europe.

The flags raised, the anthems sung, the heart tugging rhythms, the music, the emotional outburst of the crazy Brazilians soccer ‘fans’, the energies from the Coliseum, the gladiatorial fights to death, the euphoria directed to Brazilian cities, the national prestige gained, the stadia renewed, the cup won, the money made or lost. After all of this, and more, of the World Cup Soccer 2014, racism will continue to be the constant companion of Black soccer players in Europe and African peoples everywhere.

363 responses to “Soccer and Global Racism”

1. @Konkieman

You can drag all the red herring you want across this blog BUT you cannot change that Sterling and Alves incidents occur and what it represents. Deal with it.

In Barbados a White minority controls the economic power, we are dealing with it but we must be careful BECAUSE we will have flight of capital.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

flight of capital. DAVID,@ Then they can go and take their money, Money and fraud is the problem , but the Niaaga Blacks are sell outs. from the Prime Minister down to his Ministers and Lawyers friends with pimp titles.are to blame,No matter how much they crook they can never be white , but white in how they behave,
    What to Bajan spend most of their money on? CELL phones, top ups, parties, drinking , Is this worth the condition the country is in right now, More VAT and TAXES to come ,

3. David, I have dealt with it. That is my point. Like Alves, I can move on from the idiots in society. You have no idea how liberating it is. Nuff said.

4. @ David
    One has to keep a clear focus on the REAL issue….and not be distracted with emotion and fluff…
    You CANNOT tell someone whether they should like you, love you or hate you. …to be quite practical…..it is their RIGHT.
    If someone is “racist” (and we may need to properly define the term for consistency) – perhaps because this is how they were raised, schooled and nurtured….what the hell do you want them to do…?

Take the bushman for example…..Bushie has a SERIOUS problem with people talking shiite……can’t help it…. (Which explains ac). Sterling probably GENUINELY feels that he is a caring, generous and fair leader. How do you kill the man for a PRIVATE conversation with his sexy but TOTALLY DUMB looking pieceuhmeat?
    …suppose you hear what Bushie and Islandgal may say to each other in private…? ….yuh head would grow….

This is why Bushie suggests that for once, Vincent is right…. 🙂 forgive the people for their ignorant misconceptions and their past atrocities…..AND LET US REALLY PISS THEM OFF BY BEING THE TRULY SUPERIOR RACE THAT WE Actually ARE…..
    ….not by begging at their table for “reparations” ….or by seeking to crucify a fellow for trying to protect his young thing from known village rams…..
    ….or even by hating them for their ignorant misconception about the inferiority of the black race…. That is THEIR way….
    There is a better, more powerful way….called love and forgiveness…

5. @Bush Tea

We can agree to disagree. We can’t force by legislation people to like each other BUT it does not mean BU has to agree with a view if it betrays a moral code of behaviour, in this case being OBVIOUSLY racist.

6. What about the Uruguayan swine Luis Saurez who purposely prevented Ghana from getting into the semis in World Cup 2010.This bastard continues to boast unapologetically of his action and simple minded Liverpool fans in Barbados continue to hail for that club.I wont forget that slimebag ever nor would I overlook Liverpool for giving him a safe haven.Pigs all!I wish Everton would trash Lpool asses all over again.

7. look bush tea why don’t you crawl back under yuh old bushy mattress and leave the rest of the antagonist to figure this out,,,fuh once,,,we don;t want to hear no gooly junk lame as,,s excuse to support the racist bull.shit this ole fart said …..no go away please,,, look go find island gal….. she got a 2×4 all nicely gift wrapped to scorch yuh behind…….

8. @Gabriel

It will be up to Manchester City this weekend to hammer the final nail.

9. Monday brought a slew of sponsors distancing themselves from the team and a host of other owners and team officials condemning the comments attributed to Sterling, who has never been disciplined by the league.

Racism claims against Clippers owner Donald Sterling: This isn’t the first time

10. Owning a NBA team is a privilege and not a right and the commissioner and other owners can kick Mr. Sterling out if they believe he didn’t act in the best interest of the game. I submit that talking about his players as if they are slaves rather that contracted employees is not the message the NBA wants to send to the international sports community. Mr. Sterling can’t be taken to court for his views and comments, but he can be and should be kicked out of the NBA ownership circle.

11. This rancher fellow Bundy is he any family to mass murderer Ted Bundy?

12. Piece “here is an older man with a young woman who is taking pictures of younger men, irrespective of their colour, and posting the it on the internet. She simply does not understand what this man feels and is trying to say.
    I am supposedly involved with you and you are supposedly my woman
    You are, in taking pictures with other men, particularly balck men, hurting me in a way that you cannot understand and it is a waste of my time to try to explain to you because you are a dense rock.”

Let me break it down for you.

1. Magic Johnson is NOT a younger man. He is 55 years old for goodness sake. 55 years old is old man/senior citizen’grandpa/pops etc.
    2. Any man who has difficulty with his wife or girlfriend being photographed fully clothed in a public place with a celebrity has as they say issues.
    3. Any time a man believes that his girlfriend is a dense as a rock, he should exercise his intelligence and his legs and WALK.
    4. So would he have been happy if his girlfriend took pictures with an elderly, white male celebrity?
    5. Really there comes a time in life when elderly adulterers should get an HIV test and once the result is negative, they should beg forgiveness of their old wives, and return to the old wives AND REMAIN THERE. That is better for everybody.

13. @Well Well April 28, 2014 at 6:28 PM “It’s interesting to note that Sterlling along with many other people could not tell that his girlfriend is black”

As soon as I saw the girl I saw that she was black and I wondered what Sterling had against OTHER black people. I can’t believe that he let a little weave fool he. One of the girl’s parents is certzinly black. So he was in effect telling her I don’t want you to associate with your parent(s) in public.

If he was scr@w1ng the woman and could not tell that she was black the man got to be a real poppet den. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now I am beginning to question his intelligence…or his a truthfulness.

Maybe he is just a whinny old has been.

14. @Simple Simon,

\racist white slave owners fcuked black slaves. Sterling is no different.

15. World Cup Football Avatar
    World Cup Football

Soccer is a spectator sport designed to subdue and control the population

22 men kicking a ball with hundreds of thousands watching and participating

from subliminal psychological perspective it has hidden meaning of DNA genetics for racial superiority

winner in world cup is deemed master race fittest for reproduction

ball is the symbolic sperm, goalposts are symbolic for a womens legs

the sperm has to score in the goal so the chanting masses have a climatic orgasm GOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLL

16. ok

17. I have just listened to a fragment of the ‘tape’. My view is that these were not people talking naturally to each other but persons reading a script.

Simple Simon

“55 is old”….hey bugger off robin.

Pieceuh and BT

It may be an age thing, that’s to say been there done that, but I entirely agree with you.

18. Pieceuh

For Obama to be drawn on this issue was plain stupid. Imagine – Russia is at the gate and Obama, ‘leader of the free world’, witters and flounders, as he always does when scriptless, about what someone allegedly said to his girlfriend.

19. wow that was a long story.
    racism is not a one way street by the way.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racism
    all above being well and good as i have no interest in games ,when this whole planet is on the edge of distruction.
    BARBADOS- in summation as a person who has been a construction foreman in barbados and threatened to be killed and called all kind of names by the majority poor of barbados.
    to being mistaken for a tourist and tried to be sold 5 bds dollar goods for 20 us on the beaches of barbados.
    to living in canada where everything is politically correct and you can not speak and behave like a crude and wuck up type and not be at least jailed.
    this is what i have lived to see in my insignificant little poor boy life in barbados.
    BLACK PEOPLE IN BARBADOS DO NOT LIKE WHITE PEOPLE.
    THEY PRETEND TO BECAUSE OF TOURISM.
    BEING WHITE MYSELF FROM THE IRISH SLAVES THAT WERE THERE
    BEFORE THE BLACK ONES.
    i have seen barbados turn from a nice god fearing nation to a
    bunch of idiots wucking up and getting drunk and values are mostly non existent now.your nice insurance salesman behind his desk.behaving normal.to a wild ,sex crazed animal at crop over and at fetes every weekend.with music so vile and disguising/ it to a white bajan is like
    an immediate head ache.
    why this has become this way.
    MONEY,RAP MUSIC,BLACK BARBADIANS WANTING EVERYTHING THE
    WHITE MAN IN USA HAS.YET PRETENDING TO HAVE A SEPARATE CULTURE MADE UP BY ELOMBE MOTLEY.
    NO AFRICAN CONTENT AT ALL IN THE CULTURE.
    TRIBAL DANCES, DRUMMING,SPEAR THROWING CONTEST,
    AND THINGS AFRICAN IN ORIGIN.
    made in to a sex frenzied ,cheating,promiscuous,loud,nasty ,displays and
    hollering and cursing is the norm.
    this is barbados now.
    from a bank manager to a rum induced wuck up ,sex crazed animal on the weekend and then back to his shirt and tie on Monday if he can make it .
    there is no disputing what i am writing here.
    SADLY BARBADOS HAS BECOME to a traveled and christian person.
    a sad cesspool of evil and debauchery.
    possibly not noticed by some one that has not spent years abroad,
    which i find hard to believe,i think everyone knows.
    it is all about materialism,money,cars,tv,hell even satellite dishes on a shattle house that look like it may fall down at any moment,
    ravaged with pornography and the notion given by loose white women
    that black men are great.do these men realize that the white women are sluts and nasty whores where ever they came from also?
    so they are that way anywhere .
    so a false fantastic evolution of false beliefs,like tourist foolish,and so on.
    dem days done.NOW WHAT????????
    MORE DRUNKEN FILTHY BEHAVIOR .IT TO ME LOOKS LIKE A TRIBE
    OF AFRICANS DOING A TRIBAL WAR DANCE AND FRENZIED UP TO
    A TRANCE OF TOTAL MADNESS.AFTER DRINKING THE WITCH DOCTOR POTION.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THAT IS HOW I SEE THAT BEHAVIOR..
    SO SAD.!HOW TO CHANGE IT? IMPOSSIBLE.!
    TO LATE.
    IT IS TRULY A MESS. AND YOUNG BOYS PULL UP YOUR DAM PANTS
    YOU ARE NOT IN NEW YORK.
    AND THAT STYLE PROBABLY STARTED FROM HANDED DOWN OLDER BROTHER PANTS.
    i certainly do not want to see your under where.
    you are not biggie small,or 2 pack,
    that rap and crazy trance, and rap music videos , are the root of a lot of lower values,morals, and the down fall of mankind in general.
    are we animals or humans.YOUR CHOICE !!!!!!!!!
    OH YES YOU HAVE TO HAVE THAT IPHONE IN THAT TINY PLACE.
    SOME ONE MIGHT TWITTER YOU.NONSENSE IS WHAT IT IS.!
    AND THAT AND ALL I HAVE WRITTEN IS A FACT.
    BUT THE NEW TRUTH IS LIES.
    LIES ARE EASIER.
    I SAY AGAIN BARBADOS IS ONE OF THE MOST RACIST AGAINST WHITES IN THIS WORLD.even Rhianna said so.
    want me post the interview again???????
    overpopulation is going to cause huge crime and evil.
    you may become like Haiti or Jamaica . .the truth will set you free.!!!!

20. Reblogged this on Days Gone Bye and commented:
    I think given everything that’s happening in America with Clippers “Wow Racism who’d a thunk it” malarkey going on it would be useful to re-position our mindset and remember this is a worldwide problem and not confined to one american sport or even American sport in general. How many Black Managers are there in the English Premier league or even Football in general? Fact of the matter is that we are never and will proably never line in a post racial society because many of the institutions of this society have their foundations in a racist past and like a tree what ever is in the roots will appear in the fruit season after season, On that thought I think many of the problems with racism and prejudice in MODERN islamic society can be explained when we realise they are not rooted in the culture of the first Islamic state of Medina but in the cultures, creeds and indeed politics of monarchies of the power structures that accepted and adopted Islam, Only where the previous structure naturally allowed itself to be transformed did we get optimal Islamic societies. Just a thought. There are very few muslim countries in this modern world where I would acutally be comfortable living…

21. BT….chuckle…. ah getting worried……you agreeing with me a lot…

Konkieman…totally agree with your posts

I have noticed that this is a blog for venting not doing,no one wants to do something about what they appear to feel passionate about……interesting

22. @Vincent

We ate doing alrighy, we are exposing racism where it exist. The sponsors, all of tbem Whige, are doing in the US.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

You seem to misunderstand what “younger man” means

Donald Tokowitz Sterling born 1933 is 81 years, 81 – 55 is 26 years and for an older man seeing his nubile princess touting pictures of that, to his aging mind, competitor, what you have is a simple case of a man, dealing with his jealousies, short-comings, or whatever you want to call it.

You are a very smart female and i would encourage you and all of the others who think that this is a racist thing to take a look at the WRITTEN SCRIPT NOT the SOUND BITES!!!

THis is why the Commissioner Adam Silver WILL NOT DISCIPLINE the man Sterling.

Dont get caught up in the hype, this is NOT, AND I REPEAT, THIS IS NOT A RACIST CONVERSATION,

The girlfriend is dumb and antagonistic and simple putting it into a black thing she is simple, a good looking pieceuhmeat but phvcking simple.

THe ole fart like me, an octogenarian, asked her to remove all of the shite pictures of other men on her instagram posts.

It is the insecure pleadings of an ole man (be he phvcking black or white)

Oh, Ruby dont take your love to town Kenny Rogers Oh yes its true I’m not the man I used to be… and the wants and the needs of a woman your age…

Dont get led astray by the the other NBA owners who sought to use this fiasco to eliminate some competition, dont get tied up.

Oh one more thing, we may be old but we ent cold and as long as the machinery is still working and the hypothalamus still sending signals to the right parts men will be men.

24. Here comes Ross again.

Now tell us what reading a script has to do with it? Ok let us say you are correct Oh discerning one, what about his track record of bigotry some of it recorded in the courts? All of White America is condemning this White SoB and then there is you.

25. Robert you are right. At least Obama didn’t say, majic could have been my son. Millions of people losing everything to tornados , Russia throwing its weight around in the Ukraine, total dysfunction in the middle east and somehow he thinks it prudent to even acknowledge a situation that the NBA wasn’t even willing to comment on till it had done a thorough investigation. Anybody can be caught saying things they shouldn’t even Jesse Jackson. Let the investigation play out and mete out the appropriate penalty without political interference.

26. Obama is a Black man in the second term of his presidency. You can spin all you want Sterling is going down.

27. So what are you saying he has nothing to lose, and due process be damed

28. David…..in the grand scheme of things……how does sterlings going down change the price of rice in china?

If we are to be taken seriously we have a lot of things to get on with right here other than dealing with the ignorance/insecurity of elderly people.

29. It never amazes how this Robert Ross character, regardless of the circumstances, cannot once admit that racism was a radical departure from all that had happened before. He continues with his obfucatiuon, denials, lies and half truths. For him slavery happened but servitude was just as bad, what nonsense. For him racism exists but some how White people dont benefit are not at fault. We have called him a crypto-racist before, and he is!

Then there is a Vincent Haynes who would want to bury his head in the sand and think about nonthing that would upset White people.

30. @Lawson

Obama’s response as a second term president confirms what we know, it is about what is political expedient.

@Vincent

Sterling going down helps to shine a brighter light on racism in what is described as the greatest in the world.because it is morally wrong. It helps Black people who are less confident in a White dominated world to be more assertive by stirring the potential that is within.

The feedback is not exhausive.

31. Pacha….Chuckle….your Agenda seems to be gaining some adherents,you must at some stage lay it out fully for them,hope they can take it…..have fun.

32. @Robert Ross
    For Obama to be drawn on this issue was plain stupid. Imagine – Russia is at the gate and Obama, ‘leader of the free world’, witters and flounders, as he always does when scriptless, about what someone allegedly said to his girlfriend
    ++++++++++++
    He was asked a question and he responded, The President is always asked (for obvious reasons) questions by the US media when it comes to matters of race e.g. Henry Louis Gates and Trayvon Martin among others. They always ask him questions about domestic issues when he is visiting other countries, they don’t focus on his visit or the USA’s relationship with the other country, there were other questions asked but the US Press focused on that response rather than on other issues because that sells newspapers and draws eyeballs to the tube and is the big news story at the moment. Would you be happy if he responded with a “No comment”? or would you prefer him to say something along the lines “could you rephrase that question to include Ukraine so I could make some people happy?

33. Trip:

Throughout your diatribe and painting everything with your broad brush, I sensed a deep concern for Barbados that I too have; we really need to look at what we consider to be culture. it certainly is not jumping and wukking up.

34. “wish Everton would trash Lpool asses all over again.”
    You need to check your Liverpudlian family history, Gabriel. Everton is by far the most racist club in Great Britain and i should know, part of my navel string was nurtured there.

I do not wish to get into the seemingly never ending griping about racism which only serves to give the Caucasian race the impression that the Black race is begging for their attention and they are better than the Black race, when in truth and fact none of the ethnic groups are better than the other but our inclination to be part of them despite their insults never ceases to amaze me. We can talk till the cows come home and legislate as much as we might but the ill-will and mistrust which is prevalent at times in the closest of families of the same persuasion is bound to rear its ugly but un-avoided head when persons of different colours and cultural phenomena try to co-exist. It just can’t work in this era or the next. All hail apartheid with equality. All hail Marcus Garvey.

35. Sargeant

Of course I know he was asked a direct question. Politicians are asked them all the time. But you don’t necessarily give direct answers and most especially when you’re dealing with allegation not fact. Is he that naïve?

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

I do not rise in defense of Robert Ross with regard to his positions on other things (not so few of which i disagree with), he is quite capable of doing that and needs no counsel

Just look at this Sterling matter without the blinkers.

That Sterling may be/is racist and have expressed other racist comments needs to be fairly examined as a single instance, like the famous OJ Simpson glove, inasmuch as I might have felt that OJ did do in Nicole Brown Simpson and Goodman, the evidence did not conclusively point to his guilt as the murderer and OJ was afforded due process and released.

This is not like the Bjerkman matter where a Glock, during a cleaning exercise, impossibly kills one’s son and an ingrunt DPP (guyanese remember that i am always putting in that nationality thing for no real reason other than i am a xenophobic ole fart) concurs with that defence and, even during the investigation, allows said murderer to leave the jurisdiction. No the facts are quite simple

As i said, go to the transcript.

Donald Sterling says and i quote “”It bothers me a lot that you want to BROADCAST (my capitals) that you’re associating with black people.” And: “But why publicize it on the Instagram and why bring it to my games?”

Another precis from the script states that “Sterling also states that his girlfriend is free to sleep with black men, as long as she doesn’t bring them to Clippers games (or appear with them on Instagram)”.

An insecure old man, who is incidentally white, has racists tendencies, is rich, owns an NBA team – all insubstantial to the matter at hand.

So Lebron James, he who was doing the nasty with Carmen Ortega while engaged to his current wife and the paladin of morals, Snoop Doogie Dogg, he who is high in the league of ethics and morals, as evidenced by Sexual Eruption by Snoop Dogg XXX Version Jerk It Out.do have the moral right to decry the ole man for trying to keep this sweet sultry babe close to his heart and away from all of the virile black, white, hispanic, jew, chink, wop competition.

I guarantee you that “We were Once Young” is not the chant that is playing in Sterling’s head, either of them, he still is feeling “young at heart”

37. Pacha

A lie is a wilful untruth. Will you please remind me of one lie I have uttered? Or is your paranoia particularly acute on Tuesdays – in which case I understand?

I don’t give a monkey’s about his past. It is THIS issue we are talking about. Frankly David, you’re a f’ing racist yourself and I have as much time for you as you have for me.

38. Pieceuh

Leaving aside the actual words supposedly spoken it is the intonation of the voices, particularly the girl’s, which makes me conclude it’s a script.

39. @ Vincent Haynes

Why don’t you write something and present a coherent counter narrative. Instead of being the quinessential Bajan who is afraid to write, petrified about having ones own ideas, even if those ideas are wrong! Poor David is trying his best here and we try to help him out with our own thoughts, from time to time. Were are the articles you have written here or elsewhere? Are you to be content with gutter snipping all the time? Write something so that we will have a chance to critique you and you mal-informed ideas. Write something! Don’t just settle for sporadic wanderings.

We don’t understand the agenda about which you write. In this article we cuss Russia as a racist place, elsewhere we praised they foreign policies. We defended a Brazilian soccer player but criticised racism in Brazil. We identified systemic racism in Europe but saw no significant difference in the USA. We critique the business culture of global soccer but recognized the game’s role in the lives of many people in the South. And on and on ………
    On balance you are a coward who can only wait for your White masters to tell you what to think. You are the perfect slave! Afraid to honest consider the circumstances of African peoples in today’s world.

40. Pacha are you David?….oh “pooooooooooor” Davie Baby….come to mama. Well, anyway, there you are BU bloggers who don’t submit posts. Mad Pacha says you’re “guttersnipes”. Don’t we all feel humbled?

41. @ robert ross
    Everything you have said here is informed by racism. You may continue to defend the indefensible racism of your white people. Time is longer …………

42. Hahahahahaha…..Pacha…..yuh shoting boy……keep it up,more disciples coming.

43. Pacha

Yes it is…informed by the racism on BU.

44. But BU has only been here for a few years. It is you White co-racist, for hundreds of years, in Barbados, that have constructed a cryto-racist society as defined by the UN, less than 10 years ago.

45. Oh Pacha…do rest yourself.

46. Pachamama | April 29, 2014 at 8:53 AM |

But BU has only been here for a few years. It is you White co-racist, for hundreds of years, in Barbados, that have constructed a cryto-racist society as defined by the UN, less than 10 years ago.
    ……………………………………………………………………….

Oh lordy…..defined by the UN 10 years ago……wait…..what we had before then?

47. robert ross
    Even that is racist. You should go and tell Bizzy and Cow and all yuh white people that as long as we are alive we will continue to tell the racist White people in Barbados about themselves. There shall be no end.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Ross

THAT IS AN INTERESTING ONE!!

It is a script of a script!

THat has interesting implications, it would mean that Sterling has someone in his camp that is trained in psychological warfare, that is not the norm for fighting public opinion of this sort.

That is a carefully crafted, well timed, counter strategy, without skipping a heartbeat, befitting of the team that ran the intelligence dissemination post the CIA orchestrated Kennedy murder.

One would need a baseline of (her) normal speech and metre of intonation, (you focus on the simpleton’s speech pattern since she would not be as practiced as he would be)

There does seem to be some missing inflections, and protracted instances in their dialogue but…

Hmmmmm… i guess the why behind all the construct would be what he would loose….hmmm

That is really a good one Ross, I dub my hat to you…

49. BU finds it interesting there is a steely focus on Sterling and his comment but no similar focus on the fact footballers are routinely referred to as monkies and bananas tossed in Europe. It surely exposes the extent to which US media messages have penetrated. Such an assumption maybe extrapolated at will.y

50. Pacha

Sure…if that’s what you believe never surrender. I suppose a Buddhist who knew his Heart Sutra would say you suffered from a surfeit of ego. And then again we’re all waves in the ocean who don’t amount to that much for very long.

Pieceuh

My take on the male voice is that a skilled actor would be able to mimic the real voice (which I haven’t heard) if that voice is anything like the real. He fumbles the words at one point. It’s not an uncontrolled and angry (lover’s) rant – more a series of isolated statements. The girl’s voice rises in all the wrong places like a novice reading a Biblical text at 9.15.