Submitted by Jahpaint
Citadelle Lafer­rire, Haiti

1.FULL FOR­MAL APOL­OGY, 2.REPAT­RIA­TION, 3.INDIGE­NOUS PEO­PLES DEVEL­OP­MENT PRO­GRAM, 4.CUL­TURAL INSTI­TU­TIONS, 5.PUB­LIC HEALTH CRI­SIS, 6.ILLIT­ER­ACY ERAD­I­CA­TION, 7.AFRICAN KNOWL­EDGE PRO­GRAM, 8. PSY­CHO­LOG­I­CAL REHA­BIL­I­TA­TION, 9. TECH­NOL­OGY 10. TRANS­FER,DEBT CAN­CEL­LA­TION

Read full text

181 responses to “Caribbean Repara­tory Jus­tice Pro­gram: Ten Point Action Plan”

1. @ac
    I was born in Bdos, remember? I saw Whites abuse Blacks as a kid. I am fully aware of the negative psychology of Slavery during it’s existence and after. However, today the USA has a President that is mixed and few can honestly say that they thought they would live to see that day. Why did Jesse J cry? It was always unlikely just based on population statistics that darker peeps would reach such high office. BUT it happened and very many Whites must have voted for BO.

My point is simply CORRECT and that is Blacks MUST NOT permit themselves negative thoughts which prevents them from achieving their best, raising themselves and families up. Reading Du Boise is essential for everyone, especially Blacks, BUT it is what you conclude from that info.The answer is to believe in yourself and resolve to take positive ACTION in terms of education (not necessarily University but self improvement in whatever form).

If you read such info and conclude that Whitey hates/ dominates me and there is NO HOPE then obviously one will become SELF DESTRUCTIVE ie drugs, alcoholism, shootings, broken family units etc. Today is different and much better for Blacks than ever before in US history. This incorrect behavior is exactly what happens in other communities among Whites in say the UK who feel disadvantaged. The Elite Whites dont give a damn for most Whiteys either. WE are all worker Ants to them. (same true for Elite Blacks in Bim or wherever) Many of these factors are NOT White, they transcend all races.Checkout the Elite Blacks in Nigeria and how they refuse to help or care for Blacks in the Delta where the Oil is.

The CORRECT APPROACH is to use Du Boise’s info and History as PSYCHOLOGICAL ROCKET FUEL to POWER YOUR WAY to the TOP!
    NOTHING WILL STOP ME!

2. Blacks have made strides because of advocacy, passive and aggressive, affirmative actions and otherwise, Black caucus groups and otherwise etc. it has happened because some of us are prepared to call out and make public injustices to Blacks.

THE FIGHT CONTINUES!

On Saturday, 26 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

3. MB….quite true about money/capitalism having no interest in melanin content.
    I wonder when last we looked at the wealthiest individuals in the world and realised that a number of them are melanin rich as well as being able to buy Bim at anytime……but they are not….hmmmm.

History shows that individuals achieve by getting off their backside and saying I am going to do that and persevering until such goal is achieved or die trying……groups agitating on the basis of a moral imperative have never achieved anything,unless when the sums are done and they dont add up into the black…..then and only then does change come about.

4. @Vincent

History shows that the minority elements in societies must get and work as well as to ADVOCATE AND AGITATE.

5. Can anyone say Rosa Parks??? now that made a rapid change in the Jim Crow Laws of the evil south…BUT…resistance must be consistent and ongoing and not only when that type of treatment becomes unbearable.

6. @David
    I have no problem with properly organised Advocating and Agitation, important elements for sure.

I am very sure that permitting a NEGATIVE ATTITUDE personally/ family is likely to lead to under performance or outright failure.
    Self defeating by thinking “woe is me” obviously cant work. Just blaming others and waiting for Reparations, no matter how justifiable, is not good enough a standard on a personal level.

7. @Moneybrain

And your OPINION is respected.

8. This was one of my Uncle’s favorite jokes when I was a child.

It became a bit of a bore after a while but I realize now he was impressing on his nephews and nieces the importance of having a positive self image.

It goes like this.

Once upon a time a man believed he was a grain of corn and a chicken would eat him.

He went to a psychiatric hospital where he was treated and duly pronounced cured.

The director of the hospital on the man’s last day walked him to the gate and as they were walking the man remarked to the director how silly it was of him to believe he was a grain of corn.

The director’s chest swelled with pride as he counted the man as one of his “cures” until upon reaching the gate a chicken crossed their path and the man hesitated.

The director asked the man what was the problem and why he hesitated.

The man assured the doctor he did not believe he was a grain of corn and that the chicken would eat him and the doctor asked “So what is the problem?”

The man replied “But does the chicken know I am not a grain of corn?”

My uncle never told me if the man was black or white!!

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

10. @John
    We must all understand that all races have members that fit into every category and sub category imaginable so this chap’s race is totally irrelevant.
    You know that even highly educated Black gents in Bim have to fear the actions of Black people in high places and in some cases more so than dealing with white people. So yes there are racial problems BUT we all have to be careful in not being afraid of irrelevancies like corn! We must/ should all choose to stand tall.

11. I think the other lesson he may have been trying to impart to us as children is that if you have a problem, seek help.

How many of those who claim to have been so scarred by the past have actually sought help?

I cannot see how reparations will help to remove individual scars.

Go and get some help.

12. Hell John you not seeing it analogous to Whites from the era of slavery seeing nothing wrong with it. If is only after advocacy and agitation interacting with other factors your forefathers saw the light.

13. @John
    Psyche Groups should be there to help with this where necessary. Even just self help groups encouraging positive self image.The Black Muslims had some good ideas in this regard.
    However, I suspect many men would refuse to attend, pure denial.

14. MoneyBrain

We have to ask the fundamental question: where was the Christian- Church during our four – hundred and some odd years of our enslavement?

And what position or positions did the head of the Christian- Church (the Pope) held throughout this never ending period of our enslavement?

Now we know that history provides us a record of the fragmented elements within Christendom, who fought vehemently against the evil institution. But it would be of great importance to ascertain the general mindset of the Christian-Church, regarding the enslavement of the man of colour?

15. MoneyBrain

Are you talking about behavior modification offered through Cognitive Science? Which helps us with the minimization of negative emotions and the maximisation of the positive ones. I have read a bit of cognitive shifting of negative behavior!

16. @Dompey
    The Church and most others thought that since they were bringing the Bible etc to the heathens just about anything else was alright. The Church thought it their right to dominate everybody. They were anointed by God.

Very sad history indeed! While I believe the 10 Commandments and other lessons, I have always been skeptical of the humans involved. Humans of all types are to be closely monitored in my experience. I laugh at those who seriously get sucked in by political parties, various religious groups etc. Where there are humans there are problems, misrepresentations and one must always be watchful.

17. We are approaching the end of April and all is quiet about when the country will be advised of quarter one performance. One would easily think that a country battling a negative performing economy we should be efficient how we inform the country on economic matters.

18. I think that I was taught to think from a very young age that black is beautiful. So therefore, those stereotypes regarding the African race, has had little or no meaningful impact on my self image. Now, this isn’t meant to be racist because I believe that every race actually brings something positive to the table of humanity. But when I was a young lad in Barbados, my friends and I sung the song: ” Black is power white is flower, we get stronger by the hour.” And it is funny how in the womb of this predominantly black nation, we were cognizant of reality race. Now, I have had a unique upbringing in Barbados: my mother spent her entire working years employed by several white families throughout the island of Barbados, and this brought me into direct contacted with them. So I played fought, cried and eat with many of the white folk my mother worked for during my early. But, more importantly, during the 1970’s many of the white folk in Barbados held they Horse and Dog shows at District A Police Station, where I had resided at the time. And what was interesting of this experienced: my friends I cemented a friendship with one of the richest white girl in Barbados during the 1970′ s. Here name was Rachel Dean and her father Mr. Dean, was one of the richest white man in Barbados during to 70’s. Now, Rachel, treated my friend and I as her equal, even though deep within she may have probably felt differently, she never showed it. I am quite sure many of the white folk here on BU knows who I am talking about?

19. Dompey

There were roles the Roman Catholic Church, the Anglican Church and the Quakers played in the Caribbean prior to the arrival of the Methodist and Moravian missionaries in the mid 1700’s.

In fact, you will find the Methodists have a direct link to the Quakers through the mother of John Wesley.

The Anglican Church had broken from the Roman Catholic Church under Henry 8th in the 1500’s.

The Quakers post date these two churches. They were/are referred to as dissenters. Their date of emergence was 1648. They arise after the publication in English of the King James Bible c. 1611 and evolve out of the understanding George Fox, their founder received.

If you go after understanding what role they played in Barbados in the 1600’s you will find most of what the historians tell us today is plain rubbish!! You need to understand what happened in the Reformation, the key period of history.

For starters, google The Forbidden Book and watch the Youtube documentary to understand how we got the English Bible.

You are doing yourself a disservice by not being able to differentiate these three roles, ie Roman Catholic, Anglican and Quaker.

Lumping the three as “Christian Churches” will get you no understanding of the effect Christianity had on the abolition of first the Slave Trade and then Slavery itself.

20. Dompey

It might amaze you to know that some of the names you call as white were/are in fact direct descendants of slaves in Barbados!!

21. John | April 26, 2014 at 7:35 PM |

Dompey

It might amaze you to know that some of the names you call as white were/are in fact direct descendants of slaves in Barbados!!
    …………………………………………………………………………
    Chuckle….so true and that is where the reparation argument falls flat on its face……we are interbred…..check the Wards……the left hand paying the right hand…..the melanin rich and poor have the same ancestry…

22. Chairman Fruendel Stuart is leading the charge for to claim reparations on behalf of Caricom. Who don’t like it suck salt.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/stuart-come-to-the-table/

23. David | April 26, 2014 at 8:13 PM |

Chairman Fruendel Stuart is leading the charge for to claim reparations on behalf of Caricom. Who don’t like it suck salt.
    ……………………………………………..

Soooo………………..????

24. @Vincent

We get it you are a skeptic. Some of us are NOT!

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

How does one appoint the village idiot or the country bumpkin who scores nought on the village team every time he bats or wears his jacket inside out while walking through the village dragging a tot on a string?

To lead the charge we have appointed Fumble, he who cant run the affairs of Bulbados is now being sent to champion reparations?

Game over, we have lost all that money being paid to those English lawyers to plead our case and then some….

26. chuckle…..while the nay sayers and the hate filled mongers in barbados heaped scorn and disdain on the Rght Hon PM Stuart.. the distinguished notables among his peers sees a picture of a man with high moral character and one destined for great leadership,…

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is not that I hate the Right Honourable PM Stuart, nor love him any less than my other fellow Barbadians AC, it is that I love my country more..

The operative part of your sentiment of endorsement incorporates as if by freudian construct the future perfect, a future event, “one DESTINED for great leadership” and therein lies the connundrum.

We bajans need a batsman for the here and now, not a once and future king…..

28. all can fumed and holler all u want,,,but the future of a country must be built by those parameters that are important for the well being of ALL.. that being people and country,,,,,and not decided by a few,,,, it should be important to note the importance of the role he was given as it is one reflective of responsibility and reflects on stuarts ability to lead,,,, it would be a part of his legacy

29. exhibit A davids amnno to downplay the relevance and the importance of pm stuart role in leading the CHARGE for reparations,,,nice job david,,,,as usual waving your colors high in the air and playing the grand master role of ALL THINGS NEGATIVE PERTAINING TO BARBADOS,,,,,,

30. THIS NONSENSE WILL NEVER HAPPEN. other wise all most all the world would have this nonsense going on.
    DO BAJANS THINK THAT AFRICANS WERE THE ONLY SLAVES IN THE HISTORY OF MANKIND?
    SORRY TO BURST YOUR BUBBLE BUT AFRICANS ENSLAVED OTHER AFRICANS.AND WHITES ENSLAVED OTHER WHITES. FROM THE BEGINNING OF TIME.SORRY NOT GOING TO HAPPEN./,FOOLISH TO EVEN THINK YOUR ENSLAVES WILL PAY YOU SOME 150 odd years
    after it was abolished.After slavery was abolished in 1834.
    i would tend to look to your slave masters in barbados right now,on the west coast and buying all our land as i write this.
    are we really so blind??????????

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC.

While i do not retract what i have said about FUmble being a bad batsman for the wicket that Barbados presents at 2014, I must admit to a little dissembling.

The Chairmanship of CARICOM rotates among the leaders of CARICOM Prime Ministers every 3-6 months so it is not by virtue of his skill sets that he has been accorded this function but by lots, much like how to become a permanaent secretary in Bulbados, you dont have to be the brightest (I give you Edison Alleyne of “I want to squeeeze your botsie miss young secretary fame”) but just be there long enough while your other colleagues either die, retire or cuss one of the former inept DLP or BLP Ministers

De ole man really should know better that do these naughty things and lead on the neophytes but dem tek way de license and dere is only one space in de car pool for de church car dat is pass fuh de madam, so i is lef home to cook, and to try to cook up storms heah pun BU

I sorry doah, you did doing so well wid you chant bout “reflective of responsibility” and all of that goobledygook real impressive en ting… wheel and wheel again….

32. @ac

Congrats, you remain seated in the JA club.

Surely you have been around BU long enough to know your asinine comments only serve to motivate. You can tell it to your soul mate Dompey as well.

33. @ Piece
    Bushie begs to disagree with you….
    Putting Fumble in charge of reparations is a master stroke by the other CARICOM leaders….just like putting Arthur in charge of CSME.

….send the brass bowls out front…..
    If they get through – we benefit
    If the fail – we laugh at their asses
    In any case….we lose nothing.

34. well expected the brick bats would pelt there usual resources my comments are reflective of my observations here on bU over the past seven years,,,,,,

PDYR,,,,,, For Your info,,this is a new role irrespective of all or other roles given to past leaders or leadership of Caricom……..this role is higher on the list as it entails and encompass the past and future of carribbean countries connecting them to countries which have refused to answer the call for past injustices such a role would be played out on an international platform for all to see……having said that would not expect you to comprehend or validate such importance and to whom it was given…….have a bless day,,,,

35. @ac

You have not been posting on BU for 7 years, you joined in October, 2009.

36. Lol @ David
    Ac joined in October 2009….but who was she BEFORE then…?
    LOL. Ha Ha.

37. good question bushie,,,,,,,,the most pertinent question you have asked in my five years……GOOD JOB……. NOW GO FIGURE.

38. wait and see if you get then.
    best of luck .

39. Rather than target the injustices of slavery which have been around for millennia I think there should be a committee set up to try to understand why after all those millennia, some humans were able to figure out slavery was wrong and do something about it.

This is the message to spread, it is wrong and it took the experiences mankind gained right here in Barbados for a stop to be put to it.

Instead of concentrating on the bad and the ugly, look at the good and the beautiful.

Let that message go out to all the places where slavery is still practiced in whatever form or fashion.

Our problem is we have become less capable of seeing past the bad and the ugly than we were at one time not so long ago.

40. @ John
    …trust you to come with some shiite again….
    Who are these “good” people that decided that slavery was “bad”?
    There are always a few who have a conscience, …but slavery ended when it became uncompetitive as a means of production. When the plantation owners started adding up the cost of having so many damn slaves to house and feed – (not to mention the hoards like you and Islandgal – who were actually family due to the percolation) they ended the slavery thing, ….and went for “emancipation”, where the blacks were then forced to pay their OWN way, while doing the same plantation work for pittances….

Steupssss….

41. @Bush Tea

Better known as the apprentice period.

On Sunday, 27 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

First issue – bless is a verb, blessed is the adjective as in “Whom Jah bless, let no one curse…” you must be guyanese cause only they say “have a bless day” but at any rate, and you can ask our Guyanese DPP to comprehend or validate that, it is bad grammar.

Second point, a batsman comes onto the cricket field when his team mates have scored 265 runs, the clown in this case Fumble, is only “inheriting” that score and has done nothing to aid in that score, so your statement about this being a higher role is again, ingrunce.

The role, and importance thereof, is not assigned to Fumble alone, AC, his predecessor and his successor, in 3 months will have the same role of advancing this Reparations talk on the international stage..

I oan know why I does do did to meself doah… like i gots a likig for self mutilation or someting….

@ Bush Tea

The Johns (almost said Johnies of this world are always very quick to intone the “why cant we all just get along” line

I would wish to pose this question to John

Suppose you were to be tasked with the matter of Aribert Heim, Dr. Death the Nazi criminal hunted by Simon Wiesenthal” what would your response be?

Would you tout this which cant we all just get along line then? Do you thing that what the Nazis did was any less dehumanizing that what the slavers did, and do you think that they should pay in some form or fashion that even I ole fart that I am, am still grappling with?

I believe in self actuation and i will never hold this woe-is-me line but when i look at Haiti having to pay France because of taking a stand on the wickedness that is slavery and the companies and aristocracy that has and still does benefit from the legacy of slavery well it jes doan seem right to adopt this let bygones be bygones line do it??

Jes’ me me a bearing here though. Is one of dem who feels dat de two white fellows dat bun down that field should get leggo pun bail?
    jus asking!

!/2 hour till de insulin, de madam soon home, and de food get cook and ‘ent burn nor nuffin so I still in de main house and not de dog house…

43. Suppose you were to be tasked with the matter of Aribert Heim, Dr. Death the Nazi criminal hunted by Simon Wiesenthal” what would your response be?

++++++++++++++++++
    I would go to Wikipedia to find out who Arbeit Heim was where I would discover he has been dead since 1992

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aribert_Heim

Thereafter, I would not waste my time !!!

44. Do you thing that what the Nazis did was any less dehumanizing that what the slavers did, and do you think that they should pay in some form or fashion that even I ole fart that I am, am still grappling with?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Slavery is dehumanizing and has been for the millennia it has existed.

Atleast even you recognize slaves were of value to their owners and so unlikely to be harmed …. more likely to be treated well.

The Nazis in their final solution sought to expunge the Jews from Europe.

They indulged in some slavery along the way but their goal was the annihilation of the Jews.

There really is no comparison.

45. @John

if there was any lingering. Doubt about your capacity to understand the devastating impact on Blacks under the rule of slavery you just confirmed it. The words are there for all to see. What Bolshevik shit!

On Sunday, 27 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

46. Grapple no more!

Germany paid reparations to the survivors, not their descendants.

47. David

I am a descendant of the same slaves as the people who claim to be Black.

My ancestors went through the same trials.

48. David | April 27, 2014 at 12:20 PM |

if there was any lingering. Doubt about your capacity to understand the devastating impact on Blacks under the rule of slavery you just confirmed it. The words are there for all to see. What Bolshevik shit!

It took a bit of time to sink in but I realize that I have never been called a Communist before on account of what I have said. That is not to say that I don’t see the theoretical benefits of Communism, I am just a bit leary of its practice.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John

You seem to like the Internet alot so you may like this (uncorroborated, generally not sound) source as the azimuth for your flawed reasoning about survivors versus descendants receiving reparations.

“China refused war reparations from Japan[5] in the 1972 Joint Communiqué, Japan gave ODA (official development assistance), amounting to 3 trillion yen (30 billion USD, 90% of which are low interest loans). In Japan, this was perceived as a way of making amends to China for past military aggression. According to estimates, Japan accounts for more than 60 percent of China’s ODA received. About 25 percent of the funding for all of China’s infrastructure projects between 1994 and 1998 — including roads, railways, telecom systems and harbours — came from Japan”

Who was this US$30B directed to survivors or descendants?

The thing is that when you idiots are stripped of the leave it alone and let bygones be bygones drivel you resort to the survivors versus descendents position much like trying Castling Chess) in the case where your king will cross the path of an attacking piece (of the rock yeah right)

Sorry could not help that last one…