Submitted by Jane Brathwaite

BU understands Harry Husbands is the son of Austin Husbands and NOT Senator Harcourt Husbands – David.

Harry Husbands, son of Senator Harry Husbands
Harry Husbands, son of Austin Husbands

The truth is: Harry Husbands is a token and a mole for the Government of Barbados/Democratic Labour Party and has been placed by the party to get things done their way as the current President has been found to be very resistant.

For the signing off of many decisions that affect the University, the President’s signature is needed in order for the decisions to be implemented. The current President is often in disagreement with the government of Barbados and sometimes with the administration of the University.

Here are the facts:

1) Harry Husbands resigned a very well paying Personal Assistant position for the Minister of Labour Esther Byer-Suckoo, paying over $4000 monthly, to become the President of the Guild of Students less than two weeks before Guild Elections.

Related Link: Young Democrats: Value education

clip_image001

If he wanted time to complete his studies, why would he want to run for the position of Guild President and why just resign on the 2ND of March after being at UWI for the same two years that he has been the Personal Assistant? Why now?

You decide.

2) Harry Husbands is the son of Senator Harcourt Husbands [BU understands his is the son of Austin Husbands] who is currently the Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation. He is a long standing and faithful member of the Democratic Labour Party.

3) Harry Husbands refused to stand and support the position of the Guild to acquire signatures against the payment of tuition fees.

clip_image003
Harry Husbands publicly supported the payment of tuition fees in the Nation News Paper.

clip_image004

Harry Husbands is a full and paying member of the Democratic Labour Party and is heavily involved in the Young Democrats.

While Harry Husbands is charismatic, personable and relatable young man. The post of the President must be taken seriously and is NOT A POPULARITY contest.

203 responses to “Harry Husbands: A DLP Mole”

1. He is the son of the Senator which is a fact, running for Guild president is his right, it is good in the interest of transparency that Guild voters are made aware of relationships at play. It is up to them to do what they feel comfortable.

2. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

Harry, a Part II law student, is not in fact the son of Senator Harcourt Husbands, who is a childhood friend, but is the son of Mr Austin Husbands, a former candidate for the St James North constituency.

3. Thanks Jeff.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Jane Brathwaite

There is one seminal flaw in this submission

Unless you are saying that Harry Husbands, and the DLP with their long reach, was able to so corrupt the voting process at the UWI guild, to califlux the votes, and to have Harry Husbands, son of the PS Harcourt Husbands, elected (possibly using the same vote buying strategy that Fumble our great leader saw employed during our national elections and did not report to the Police or the DPP) then I would say that “the (people) students have spoken and they must be punished”

When is the next Guild election?

Wunna cant get rid uh he den like the people of Barbados gine get rid uh de festering inept lot soon?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Cumberbatch

The correct patriarch is noted.

Austin Husbands the father is a humble man who while guided by the floundering light of the DLP has neither the disposition nor the political clout to facilitate this scenario as posited by Jane Brathwaite.

My point still stands, the students voted for the young Husbands by a democratic process and they can/will vote again if they feel that their interest are not being served

6. @Piece

Agree with you, all that is required is transparency of the process. The young Husbands will have to defend his name and this is the way it should be,

7. Young and Untrained Avatar
    Young and Untrained

Forgive me, if im wrong but aren’t guild elections today?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

Thanks for the clarification. I was looking at the picture and saying, if he is Harry Husbands’ son: Harry got horned.

9. As someone who has been frequently told that “you don’t get it”, leh me see if I can get this. Someone submitted a post alleging that the occupier of a certain position is the son of H Husbands who holds a certain post within the Gov’t and by virtue of his pater’s position the occupier will pursue actions that will be inimical to the welfare of his constituents.

Then it emerges that the occupier (don’t want to get names mixed up) is not in fact the son of H Husbands but is the son of A Husbands (whose job is not mentioned). If the central argument rests on the assumption of the occupier’s paternity and that assumption is the equivalent of making an ass of you and me then shouldn’t this whole post be thrashed and assigned to the heap with the other bovine fertilizer.

Ah but I still don’t get it.

10. Sargeant

You got it all right. Jefferson xxx

11. @Sargeant

You need to consider the thesis is that the candidate is a young Democratic.

On Wednesday, 12 March 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. @David
    Should “young democrats” be prohibited from running for a post? Barbados is a small place so everybody knows everyone else’s business (excepting for certain issues of paternity) :-)

13. Much more difficult is the case of priests who wear their colours under their chasuble. This fella’s politics are a matter of pubic record apparently.

David……have you had a change of heart? Have you seen the light DV?

14. Is BU big enough to offer an apology to Mr Husbands?

15. This is the modus operandi of the DLP, infiltrate every organisation to promote the DLP agenda.

A few years ago, a DLP senator turned up at an AGM of a certain young organisation with persons he thought he could get voted unto the executive of this body.

Well, the young people who hitherto were in the organisation working and making a contribution to the group saw what was being tried to be perpetrated on the organisation. Smart ones they are……they decided among themselves not to go up against each. They each decided to contest each position separately and each one won their position, defeating the plant.

Not all of our young people are fooled by this inept, incompetent government and its operatives!

16. Good Morning to All,

There are a few concerns I have going forward.

Firstly, the manner in which council has been going about trying to address the Budget of Barbados, I am not SUPPORTIVE OF and I will not stand in Solidarity with the guild on this.
    Secondly, if my memory serves me correctly, I saw an email in my inbox which spoke towards non attendance of a meeting being regarded as a resignation. Let me state it abundantly clear, that all of you councillors, MUST KNOW that this is unconstitutional and can have no weighting, and it comes across as a tasteless threat to me as a councillor.
    Furthermore, the terrible communication is not acceptable. With the first emergency meeting, I did not have access to the Guild email, but other councillors see it fit to call me or facebook when they have a matter of urgency arising. Secondly, the calamitous mistake of saying “tomorrow” on an email instead of providing a date for the second Emergency Meeting, caused me to try attend a meeting with the Principal on Tuesday August 20th at 10:00 am when in fact it was on the same day the email was sent.
    If a bit more time was spent on being more precise as opposed to seeking to send threatening emails of resignation, we would be a bit more productive as a Guild.

In addition, having weighed my options and not being given the opportunity to speak on the Budgetary Proposals, I am not supportive of ANY of the Measures the “majority of Council” has agreed to. As a result, I will not be supportive of any of the functions in relation to this. The Guild’s mandate is not to be seen as political, yet attendance at a Political Party’s meeting for signatures would negative that, thus I will have nothing to do with anything in relation to the Petition.

I will not operate as a Guild yardfowl and have no say in anything that affects me and follow blindly. In my opinion, the shabby and classless handling of this situation by this Guild, can only seem to be towing a political line of which I will not be a part.

Respectfully,
    Harry A Husbands
    Librarian
    Guild of Students 2013-14

17. Why are the politics of the Guild being played out here other than as a mirror of what goes on here? I find it very sad that this young fella should feel obliged to defend himself in a forum where admitted nonsense is being perpetrated in the name of what – well, maybe PS has said it all?

18. Inbreeding! It should be that a certain amount of the exportation of people was mandatory. Maybe the first born. This inbreeding, on all sides, is the main causal factor for the unsolvable problems Barbados now has and will continue to have until an inevitable finality is reached.

19. This article is immature and stupid. What does a young man running for UWI office has to do with political polarization? To try to attack a young person based on perceived political affiliation is nonsense. A few years ago when the BLP were in power no one had a problem with it, why now?

20. @Sargeant

See BU comments above.

21. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

I am saddened by the fact that my son’s affiliation with my party,the DLP, should be considered as a reason to ” disqualify” him as a contender for the guild presidency. Harry is in no way related to the senator. And is so named because my father, Leonard Harcourt Husbands well respected St Peter school teacher,was given the assurance by me that my sons would bear his names
    My 5 children have all been raised as independent thinkers.he will rise above this purile assault on his character.satis

L.Austin B.Husbands

22. Given “UWI FeesGate”, the young man’s position on the issue and his political affiliation, questioning whether he would represent the interests of the Guild without bias is a credible concern.

23. @Mr. Austin

Your son running for office in the Guild is news and he must be open to salvos of this variety. The controversy which the Guild has attracted to date – and highlighted on BU – should be considered. What any candidate has to do is to defend their record.

24. #2 is a fail so you could delete that…and the article is pure speculation…you didnt mention that he was the BSA president, or the deputy games committe chairperson, or even that he served as guild librarian. the man literally lives to serve both school and country.

25. “………..the man literally lives to serve both school and country.”…..

You really meant to say……the man literally lives to serve the DLP.

26. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@ David, you cannot attempt to sully a person’s character and throw nasty untruths and then demand that the individual defends himself. Your duty is to obtain the facts before rushing to print.. Btw my name is Austin Husbands,not Mr Austin, another slip I suppose

27. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

This is the pure shite that does get me vex.

See how most persons with a modicum of fairness and integrity recognise the wrong done against this young man.

But read prodigal daughter how quickly she jumps up to malign the young man.

How this piece of shite advance the cause of this country.How is it uncovering corruption and wrongdoing.

What wrong has he committed.?

Again I ask what wrong he is supposed to have committed?

This is why decent people get turn off the BLP because everything must be seen through political lenses and there must be one aim destroy anyone who does not sing on their hymnsheet.

This country is too small for this nonsense.

Respect the right of others to have a different allegiance and disagree if you must but respectfully.

28. What huge wrong has been done to the aspirant to office? A question has been asked whicb is valid when one becomes exposed to public office. Based on the responses we then form a conclusion. Are we comfortable with an active Young Democrat taking the office of President of the UWI Guild at this time?

29. This article is quite disturbing on many levels. The TRUTH IS is that this article was intended to smear, defame and damage the reputation of an innocent young man who only wishes to serve the Barbados student population. In response I will STATE the TRUTH.

THE TRUTH IS

The current guild president Damani Parris organized a protest in Bridgetown in Coordination with the opposition BLP against the implementation of tuition fees for Barbados students. 20 Students attended, 12 OF WHICH WERE NON NATIONALS.
    The truth is the current president MET with the Minister of Education before the announcement of the tuition fees increase and LIED to the Student Body by claiming he had no knowledge of such a meeting of proposal.
    The truth is Mr Parris was asked to submit an alternate proposal for consideration in light of the proposed tuition fee increase. No proposal was forthcoming, Instead Mr Parris pursued a path of “Show Boating” in the Nation newspaper with the intention of trying toimprove his WEAK image among the student body
    The truth is Mr Parris campaigned on a promise to fight against any amenities fees increase at the Cave hill Campus however in his first meeting in his capacity as President, Mr Parris voiced his opinion that such increases were necessary.
    The truth is the close relationship between the Principal of the Cave Hill Campus and Mr Parris has caused quite a bit of eyebrows to be raised among the student Body
    The truth is Mr Parris Travelled a total a total of 8 times for 2 week periods on “GUILD BUSINESS” and PAID HIMSELF A PER DIEM OF $500 Barbados dollars per day for a total of $56000 of Guild Money. Yet Mr Parris claims the Guild is broke and no Money can be found for Campus Carnival.
    The truth is Mr Parris stated at a meeting that ” He was the guild President and he could spend the Guild money as he pleases”
    The truth is Mr Parris allowed the guild treasurer to stay on Halls for FREE, at a cost of $5000 a semester of student`s money at a time when students can hardly find affordable housing in an around the cavehill campus.
    The truth is on election to the guild Presidency, Mr Parris spent Guild money in Cave Shepherd to buy Clothing because he believed he did not have a presidential image.
    The truth is no matter how many flyers Mr Parris circulates or how many articles his cronies write or how many lies they attempt to spread or how often he allows himself to be misled by political oppurtunist and 3rd DEGREE YARDFOWLS… The upcoming uwi election is not about Mr Husband`s or any of the other candidates political persuasion but about a FAILED President trying to cling to power. A Weak cowardly man whose only hope left is to “slash and burn” all others

THAT IS THE TRUTH

30. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@david,you did not ask a question. You stated”facts” including who was Harcourt Alexander Husbands ‘s. Father..and maligned the man..apologize and move on if you have any modicum of decency

31. @ the person with no sense

Why do you have to attack everything I write, have I done you a wrong? You support every ……ite this inept incompetent government does, I dont. Get use to it. I am entitled to my opinion just like you……if the present President is using politics now, it is wrong and two wrongs dont make a right………..electing a partisan person will further do harm to the guild thus doing the students no favours.

You can support the DLP but you always have a problem with anyone who supports the BLP. You are the judge, mind and brains of every voter, you know that people hate the BLP and every body will always vote for the DLP.

Well, I have news for you, the person with no sense, the electorate will deal with you Dems worse than in 1999.Then again, Dems are liars and cannot help lying. Be off!

32. This is not the first time someone has made mention of the fact that foreign
    students made up the majority of students protesting the recent proposal to institute tuition fees at Cave Hill.
    Obviously, all that is being taught to the bajans up there is how to be like
    the black belly sheep we hear so much about here.

33. @Mr.Austin

Can’t you read? What do you see in blue on the blog?

34. I think u need to learn to read and comprehend. You clearly need a life trying to pull down a progressive youth like Harry. If you couldn’t research well enough to know his father is Leonard Austin Belle Husbands and he named after his grandfather Leonard Harcourt Husbands and NOT the senator then why is the rest of your tripe relevant????—-You all need to get your facts straight!!! Harry is a graduate of the UWI who is doing a second degree and he resigned to complete his law degree which is intense study! Furthermore he never publicly supported anything– learn to read and do proper research!!!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lucia | March 12, 2014 at 4:38 PM |
    “Harry is a graduate of the UWI who is doing a second degree and he resigned to complete his law degree which is intense study!”

Why the hell should the hard-pressed taxpayers of Barbados be asked to underwrite such “stupidity and waste?

Those people who want to do law as a hobby should be made to not only pay the tuition fees but also the economic costs of this past-time in folly.
    Barbados already has an overpopulation of lawyers with too many of them crooked and incompetent. Just look at the state of the local legal and judicial system!

Why must the taxpayers put up with this “fcukery”.?
    If it was in some other area of specialization that could contribute to the development of the country or earn foreign exchange we would understand. But law, OMG!
    Even Stinkliar would soon be doing law graduating with first class honours, with his specialism the “Lyingology of Numbers”.

36. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@millernawhetever. Harry’s law degree is being financed by us,not the taxpayers…typical misinformation again…hopefully you will apologize..and by the way he completed his first degree in accounting with a semester to spare

37. Prodigal Son

What so wrong with supporting a party which shares one values?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ L Austin B Husbands | March 12, 2014 at 5:17 PM
    “Harry’s law degree is being financed by us,not the taxpayers…”

Are you tell us you are paying the full cost of that law degree i.e. tuition fees plus the full economic costs?
    If that is the case we have no problem ‘whatsoever’.
    Let him stay as long as he likes then.
    He can even proceed to do his PHD in Political Science as long as the taxpayers are not burdened by another parasite.

My criticism is not leveled personally at the lad since I don’t know him, or of him.
    It’s against a system that promotes mediocrity and wastage at the tertiary level in a country that ought to have different developmental priorities especially in these very challenging financial times.
    Law is an already well-established and oversubscribed profession whose contribution to social development is somewhat debatable. You only have to look at the quality of intellectual resources currently residing in the Parliament; both houses of which already have more than their fair share of “legal” con artists.

39. Austin Husbands please do not pay that joker , David of BU , no mind.

You will note that any adverse story about the DLP or its supporters always draw a negative response from him.

40. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@david,it is obviously you who have difficulty with facts. Oh by the way,i can not only read,but am perceptive enough to read through your ploy. Again please address me as either Austin or Mr Husbands. I am still awaiting your apology to my son. Good manners dictate that.

41. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@ miliwayevrt,Harry is accumulating the necessary education for what he eventually wants to become…would you prefer that he spent that time liming?oh what puerile thoughts! hold David hand and walk down the valley of ignorance

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ L Austin B Husbands | March 12, 2014 at 5:43 PM |
    “…hold David hand and walk down the valley of ignorance..”

Mr. Austin Husbands, as David suggested you do, can’t you read and understand?

I am not personally interested in your little boy’s education. By all means let him accumulate as many degrees as he possibly can and adorn the walls of your house with his Muttley’s medals. But NOT at the tax payers’ expense in areas that are of no value to the further development of your country!

You still have NOT addressed the poignant question:
    Are you financing the economic costs of your brat’s law degree?

43. Foolishness. Not worth a comment. All brassbowls.

44. David

David where is ac? Doesn’t it strike you as odd that ac hasn’t made his presence known by now?

45. @millertheanunnaki. Again,, persons come on here with misinformation and present them as the facts.

THE TRUTH:

When you are accepted by UWI to second undergraduate degree in ANY subject area you are required to PAY your own tuition cost. So the taxpayers are not burdened by those of us who choose to pursue a second degree.

THE TRUTH:

The majority of the Barbadian students who are pursuing a Law degree are required to pay as most of them have a first degree. Yes they are some who are doing their first degree but these are in the minority.

Please no your facts before you spot ignorance concerning wasting of taxpayers money. Before you posted your “facts”, did you call Uwi to ascertain if what you were saying was true?

46. @Fractured BLP

Austin Husbands please do not pay that joker , David of BU , no mind.

You will note that any adverse story about the DLP or its supporters always draw a negative response from him.

Do you hold a similar view when BU post your DLP weekly propaganda articles?

47. Miller you are so off base… areas of no value to the country… nonsense….as Barbados changes from a tourist economy to one of research and science they will become even more of a necessity. They will be an integral part of this new direction and experimentation for three reasons they are more plentiful than mice , the lab assistants do not get attached to them, and they will do things that even a rat wont do

48. @Miller

Many jobs although not requiring a law degree is a nice to have especially if ones job requires the reviewing of agreements, terms and conditions etc.

49. As some have said – this is becoming ridiculous.

You got it wrong.You have retracted. Now be a man and apologize. Husbands Jnr doesn’t need to justify himself to you. Look in the mirror. Do you really see god almighty?

Miller

You know I love you. But sarcasm at this kid’s expense doesn’t become you.

I am sure that Jeff will corroborate what has been said about paying for second Degree studies.

Some of you people simply cannot resist turning this into a political dog fight. The student DIDN’T do it – so get off his back.

Husbands Father and Son

You are dealing with puerile ninnies. Don’t feel you have to say anything.

Now much more interesting is Fumble’s statement, recorded on the 7.0pm news, that Myrie has not been paid her damages because of a dispute about costs. That is total bollocks. The man is lying. The one is NOT conditional on the other.

50. @ balance
    Foolishness. Not worth a comment. All brassbowls
    +++++++
    Well said.
    …biggest brassbowl so far is a father jumping in to defend a big-able hard backed man ..who is seeking to take on a leadership role among the intellectual elite of our future leaders of this country…and his daddy acting like a protective hen?!?
    …perhaps it was dad who stopped him from attending the fees protest…?
    What the hell!!! …and picking a fight with David too boot…

Look BOSS, the damn boy sounds to be quite intelligent and competent….butt out and let him grow up do!!,

…damn civil servants are all the same….