Submitted by Jane Brathwaite

BU understands Harry Husbands is the son of Austin Husbands and NOT Senator Harcourt Husbands – David.

Harry Husbands, son of Senator Harry Husbands
Harry Husbands, son of Austin Husbands

The truth is: Harry Husbands is a token and a mole for the Government of Barbados/Democratic Labour Party and has been placed by the party to get things done their way as the current President has been found to be very resistant.

For the signing off of many decisions that affect the University, the President’s signature is needed in order for the decisions to be implemented. The current President is often in disagreement with the government of Barbados and sometimes with the administration of the University.

Here are the facts:

1) Harry Husbands resigned a very well paying Personal Assistant position for the Minister of Labour Esther Byer-Suckoo, paying over $4000 monthly, to become the President of the Guild of Students less than two weeks before Guild Elections.

Related Link: Young Democrats: Value education

clip_image001

If he wanted time to complete his studies, why would he want to run for the position of Guild President and why just resign on the 2ND of March after being at UWI for the same two years that he has been the Personal Assistant? Why now?

You decide.

2) Harry Husbands is the son of Senator Harcourt Husbands [BU understands his is the son of Austin Husbands] who is currently the Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation. He is a long standing and faithful member of the Democratic Labour Party.

3) Harry Husbands refused to stand and support the position of the Guild to acquire signatures against the payment of tuition fees.

clip_image003
Harry Husbands publicly supported the payment of tuition fees in the Nation News Paper.

clip_image004

Harry Husbands is a full and paying member of the Democratic Labour Party and is heavily involved in the Young Democrats.

While Harry Husbands is charismatic, personable and relatable young man. The post of the President must be taken seriously and is NOT A POPULARITY contest.

203 responses to “Harry Husbands: A DLP Mole”

1. News News News
    Pearlie News News News
    Ever heard that expression !!!

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

You and a few others did ask the central question which was “… as an active and clearly popular member of the youth arm of the DLP would the young man represent the best interests of the guild given his public pronouncements against any anti-government positions taken by the current student body?”

All of the paternity issues aside that question still remains.

David[BU] in placing the clarification of the younger Husbands paternity IN BLUE FONT did what an editor on a blog, having posted an article, for which a statement therein contained was incorrect, choose an action that was in keeping with a blog, to HIGHLIGHT AN ERROR, in a submission.

David [BU] did not compose the article, he posted it and upon being informed that a part of it was wrong, one which might have brought some discomfort to the real real father, and the purported father, he inserted a clearly evident correction. He is not the author of the article and does not need to apologise.

If you cant stand the heat get out the PHVCKING kitchen. “Ambition should be made of sterner stuff than is now rearing its head with parties hiding behind Mummy, Austin Sr. of sis’ skirts.

From time to time some of us come here and post truths, lies and if you are human, like me, we post a hybrid of them both for our own purposes.

“all cats have fur, a Russian sphinx or a Peterbald has no fur so a Russian Sphinx is not a cat”

Readers are encouraged that, in the examination of a syllogism (or a blog submission) to determine if the first construct is true and, if we accept that first premise, our ensuing positions may possibly be compromised

That is the nature of man, crafted in sin and all of that, to purposely or by accident, interweave misinformation in their commentary and thereafter we all get caught up by the inconsequential.

But the query still remains is unanswered and irrespective of whether the tuition fees are injurious to the poor man, or whether they should have been staged over a longer period or the rest of what is soundly debated subject matter, it is not unfair to comment that Husbands younger, irrespective of his affability, may, due to his avowed affiliations, not be the best choice of representative for (President of) the Guild as one who would represent many of its constituents as required by his office.

From time to time the issue of nepotism surfaces here in different fora e.g. when many bloggers speak about either the DLP “got dem people heah” and the BLP have they wife cousin incompetent daughter wukking deah.

Please let me know by what process the Junior Husbands has ascended that he cannot be similarly challenged?

Or is it because “his mother is from Poland” and dere fore this is his license?

3. I have been perusing this discussion and realise that Harry is now a public figure:
    a) He is running for president of the Student’s Guild.
    b) He is a member of the Young Democrats
    c) His father was unsuccessful candidate for the DLP
    d) The UWI Guild is fighting for the withdrawal of fees.
    e) The DLP is insisting on the implementation of fees.

All these explosive issues are dear to the general public and I am asking who de hell his L Austin B Husbands and why he don’t let his son respond to the negative implements. Tom Adams had to fight for himself even though his father was influential. The great Errol Barrow never get involved with any discussions regarding his children, Thompson was criticized and his parents never get involved. Arthur had to fight for himself. Freundel family never get into war of words with his detractors (only CC and ac).

Now L Austin B Husbands, will you be holding Harry’s shirt tail if he win the Presidential election? Will you write his script for meetings? Will you direct him to accept the payment of fees by students on behalf of the Government? Will you try to control your son by making final decision for the Guild if he win?

L Austin B Husbands, we do agree in family loyalty, but your son is old enough to direct his ship, open his mouth when appropriate and make up his bed with his spouse without you getting involved and intimidating him. Left de damn man and concentrate on your own life and direction.

vita non potest aliquis vivere

4. @Prodigal
    Even if they tried hard to speak/write the truth the bag blind hoes of the stinking dems would not be capable.Lying Thonpson,lying Stuart,lying Brathwaite,lying ‘Quisling’,lying Sinckler,and the list goes on.God help Barbados.
    Ross,please say a prayer of deliverance for us bajans as the Canon Hatch did in the House some years ago and got fired.Hatchy is still here as compos mentis as ever and the ‘firer’floating all ’bout the Caribbean and can find no rest.After all the man boast that the versicles and responses are mumbo jumbo especially when then sung by the now deputy president in de udda place.So mote it bee!Mene Mene Miney More B government please.

5. sacci domicilus onca mensae duplici

-=============================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga—

6. David,
    I see BU is popular, this post made it in the Nation today!

7. Gabriel

Sorry. I don’t have enough holy water to go around. Besides, after my remarks on Fumble and the Myrie case yesterday I’m too busy dealing with death threats. Nothing new I suppose. What say you?

8. ‘BU is popular’

Does the item demonstrate that the Nation is not the B rag it’s held out to be? Does it demonstrate ‘popularity’ or ‘notoriety’? And with what consequence? A nice move from HH. No skulking around. Good for him.

9. This Husbands guy is to be stopped? Bajans wont get this voting wrong this time around. We made a mistake at General Elections. We wont make the same mistake at Guild Elections. Husbands, Shame on You!

Husbands strikes me as a guy who would sell his brother into slavery.

10. Husbands strikes me as a guy who would sell his brother into slavery.

LOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL !!!

we are heading into slavery
    so young Husbands might be on to something
    lol

11. Am currently designing a flier with an old image of the slave trade with Husbands being the black West African selling his fellow slaves to the Europeans.

12. @ time2act
    …and you can depict yourself as the house nigger enjoying a bit of massa’s freeness and hoping that it continues forever…

Barbados should have ‘grown up’ enough by now to recognize that this “free education train” was a TEMPORARY ride designed to create a large enough block of ENLIGHTENED citizens to become self-sustaining.
    Instead, we seem to have created a culture of mendicancy and entitlement where everyone is just looking to TAKE ….and have not a shiite to contribute back…..

Harry’s position is therefore a sound and admirable one….even if it is a politically hopeless position when seeking votes from brass bowl mendicants….
    Wunna could vote for Houdini…..but Freundel ain’t got nuh more money to fund freeness anyhow….the chickens have come home….

13. Oh dear, the Dems election machinery failed this time. Has his old job been filled yet?

14. Time2Act—you are too funny !

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

———Husbands lost the vote
    ———Status quo remains
    ———Parris is de manna from Leaven Bread
    ———Go Parris Go -Fight for yuh rights
    ———Victory-

15. @Prodigal Son

Which edition? This blog like all BU blogs are posted to Facebook and Twitter and attracted several thousand visits.

Congrats to Demani Parris who fought of a vigourous challenge from Harry Husbands the son of Austin Husbands.

16. Young and Untrained Avatar
    Young and Untrained

David, I don’t think he did a lot of fighting, word around the campus was that he didn’t do very much campaigning at all. Whatever he did or didn’t do? It worked.

What I truly hope is that the few hundred students out of the thousands that voted are a sign of the fact you can’t keep trying to pull blindfolds over people’s eyes. I think it wasn’t wrong of Harry to run but it it certainly represented a conflict of interest with what the student population is currently fighting for re:removal of tuition fees and what he adamantly supports (i.e. government policies) including the implementation of same said tuition fees. I believe the government would have loved that insider’s influence. After all, politics is politics at any level.

I wonder now though with Damani as the president again after indicating that talks had broken down between the government and the guild on the issue. What will be his next move? Deeds not Words was his slogan. Hmmmm.

Does he have the power to rally the student population to go forth and seek a resolution that is in the interest of all the students currently pursuing undergrad degrees?
    With less subsidy money being allocated to UWI and a great debt still owed by the government.I fear it may be invariably, pointless.

17. @Ross
    Look at it this way.If the big able Minister of Finance Stinkler went nito the poor rakey parliament and to a hushed membership sez,two big police officers overheard somebody threatening the life of the said lying Stinkler and up to now the blue eyed acking commissioner cant find this person,why brother ross,you will have reason to be concerned.So watch yourself,is my advice to you.And,for safety you should stop attacking Fumble for now.Wait your chance its coming soon.

18. @Young and Untrained

Didn’t the two get 400+ votes separated by 70 votes?

19. Young and Untrained Avatar
    Young and Untrained

Yes, this is what the twitter feed of the University of West Cave Hill Guild said.
    I am utterly confused as to why an organisation such as this has a twitter account and no website?
    In all fairness Damani did no campaigning and I was informed only put up posters less than five days prior to the election. I wonder if he takes politics seriously?
    Given more time, however, the popularity/noteriety of Husbands would have won him that President’s post.
    The writer’s post almost backfired simply, a matter of timing. I find with more knowledge Bajans do less. It is so ignorant. When will we learn to adopt a national culture of research and independent thinking? Not just a few who troll around here on BU but all Barbadians hold each other accountable for their actions and not be bought by empty promises from the mouths of liars.
    Everyone has an opinion but no one wants to do anything.

I’m glad H. Husbands didn’t win but I’ve had enough of what the current DLP machine stands for untruths and manipulation. His public comments never lead me to believe that his primary interest was deviating from the norm or serving the electorate. Then again which true politician’s ever is these days?

20. Unfortunately for you there were not a few who read this blog and BU suspects many of them were UWI students. Next time try dishing out iPads.

21. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I can attest to the fact that UWI students do read blogs and dishing Ipads would not have worked because the consensus from here on in is to eat them out drink them out and vote them out whenever the time comes and under any election circumstances even a club election.

22. Thankfully our hard work ensured that young Harry did not win the guild. Even if the students are to pay fees, it is preferable that it is seen that they are made to do so kicking and screaming and not by being silenced into acquiesce.

Applications to UWI have reduced drastically (unofficial figures at less than 50%) this year and there is expected fall out from the numbers that currently exist. This situation will have implications for the foreign and remaining Barbadian students who will more than likely be required to pay higher tuition, guild and amenities fees, as UWI seeks to mitigate its costs. Given the government’s slash to UWI’s budget, it is also expected that junior and part time teaching staff will be released, creating stress on the remaining as their hours increase in an attempt to fill the gaps. This situation remains dire and appears orchestrated to dismantle the institution, seemingly for personal reasons or worst yet due to sheer incompetence.

The act of keeping young Harry out of the guild president’s chair is to be seen as a victory. He is unfit and ill equip for leadership. After the guild debates he was close to physically attacking a female student who publicly opposed his actions and pointed out the conflict of interest. Young Damani attempted to shake Harry’s hand in an effort at good sportsmanship and was told by Harry to ‘fuck off’! Does the guild of students need such a leader? NO! He is likely to enter national politics and be quite successful and we wish him luck, but for now we will protect the rights of the students to have a representative that will speak out, act or march, even in totals of 10! against anything that they deem unjust.

23. To H Husbands

I do not support your party but I am not opposed to tuition fees (subject to whatever they will actually be) which have been necessitated by the policies of those who head the institution. I am sorry that this post, and some of the nasty things which were said to and of you, muddied the waters for you but I guess you know that these things are really not that important in the great scheme of things. I send my respects to your Dad and wish you very well. But, to be a maiden aunt, PLEASE don’t put your political interests before your studies. Get those out of the way. Don’t be a ‘young man in a hurry’. It will reek of ambition – bad for you, bad for your chances, bad for the country you aspire to serve. When the time comes, ever keep ‘principle’ before anything else and so retain your integrity. Ultimately nothing else matters. All the best. RR

24. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

Good luck to Damani and his team. To all of you who hide behind pen names and speeches vitriol, I sincerely hope you follow the lead of those of us who have the balls to use our given names. I hope that the attempted polarization of Barbados does not continue. After all each of us has a right to choose which party we belong to. We all attend the same schools,churches etc,and join the same institutions. Why can’t we take the high road and stop the silly,remarks! I honestly believe that the majority who enter political life do do with the intention of serving the populace.

25. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

And BTW,imy wife and I have been together got 30 years. There is no racism taught in our household. We have friends of every hue, religion and political persuasion

26. Husbands,you forgot to mention where you went to school.Was it you who the Cement Man referred to as The Beach Bum?Is the boy’s name husbandski?

27. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@ Gabriel, my son,Harry,
    one if my daughters,Lucia,my father Harry and I went to the same secondary school, Harrison College. None of us through the back door. My grandson is currently there. I have run a successful water-sport business which is now run by my eldest son,Tony,a product of Ellerslie. The late cement man like you had a problem with identity. What does it matter where someone was schooled? It is what one does with ones education that matters. Grow up. I will not apologize for where I went to school or what I’ve done business wise. Have some balls and identify yourself

28. @The Husbands

Next time try to be strategic in your response. You found yourself in a situation with an audience and instead of planting a message targeting those visiting the blog you frittered the opportunity by engaging in irrelevant exchanges.

29. the dlp strategy is top put their people in key position to avoid being opposed. the gg- the cj- the comm of plce-the central bank gov. -next will be the chief of staff- thesup. of prison etc. etc. etc. the guilds of student failed

30. @Austin, who wrote “To all of you who hide behind pen names”.

Some of us do that for strategic reasons political and otherwise.

BU is like John Moore’s bar. In here you will find Bajans from all walks of life from the elite to the bottom feeders of society and of course the Bajans in the diaspora.

I wish your son continued success in his studies and in life in general.

However he must know by now that a lot of Bajans demonize people who are successful and ambitious.

31. @Hants

You continue to gloss over the central issue: how does a VP of the Young Democrats reconcile pro government views if he were to function as Guild president given the issues at play? The question was posted several times but remains unanswered.

32. David he would show true character and represent those who would have elected him.

He would then resign as a VP of the Young Democrats until his Presidency of the Guild ended.

Just to be clear David are you saying that the President of the Guild cannot be a member or supporter of a ruling party?

33. @Hants

No, just he must be willing to defend his canditature based on his record, it is what people running for office do.

34. And David I don’t gloss over anything.

I sidetrack distract and avoid saying anything that could negatively affect people I consider friends or acquaintances.

I remain a supporter of the DLP (not a member) and will encourage any youngster who tries to be as educated as Georgie Porgie and Bush Tea.

35. @Hants

By your comments you seem to want onlookers to give young Harry a free pass. If he OR his father had responded to the serious queries head on it would have deflected, to use your term, a lot of the flack e go. He was advised poorly and this is the problem with Barbadians seeking high office, they forget PR and effective communication comes with the package.

36. The president of the guild can have any affiliation he/she wants. We simply will not elect someone who on more than one occasion publicly supported the government on an issue that is contentious to 80% of the electorate. He has made his position known PUBLICLY on the issue of tuition fees, and then invited persons to lie for him at the debates stating that he was misquoted, how can he then ask us to vote him in as our representative? He had ample time nearly a year of discussions (on call in programmes of persons like Peter Wickham expressing horror at the position taken, even in his weekly article), to clear up any misquotes, he choose debate night! How do we know that he will represent the majority position on any agenda? Note that at the time he was making these comments that he was doing so as a member of the guild! You are called to serve not to impose. Our hope is that the national electorate at large will start to vote with their heads and hold politicians to a higher standard of politics. That would be a great first step in removing opportunistic, individualistic politicians from positions of leadership, and getting the country back on track. This is the bigger issue!

37. Ah!Husbands finally got to mention where he went to school.That was his mantra and which made the ‘cement man'(who got a boy up on the hill with a big able PHD) to call brasstacks and said’This fella Awstin Husbands always calling this programme and say he went to Harsun kolig;so how come if he went to harsun he ’bout de bayside humbugging tourists all day long say he wanta sell dem a jet ski ride.Whah he en no mo than a beach bum!
    Husbands,go and bag yo’ head,ya beach bum!

38. David

And you should have done the decent thing and apologized. Who are you to dictate what people should do? Should answer how YOU think they should answer? Last evening you accused H Snr of trivializing the discussion. Such god almighty condescension. In fact he was responding to what was said to him. Did you pull those people up? No, you didn’t – but expect people to mirror your agenda. and jump accordingly.

On the substantive issue – there was apparently no conflict of interest since H’s campaign focused, as I understand it, on the inadequacy of the opposition not on a party agenda. Moreover, I assume his membership is educated enough to cut through the party political crap should it have become necessary to do so. What then is the problem? You are in no different position from H – save that he wears his stripes on his sleeve and so can be reigned in. We all know whom he is. You don’t and can’t so in fact you are far more insidious. You’re the man who pushes all the buttons and has tabs on all of us who enter this holy of holies, this hole in the corner. Fact is, we can’t do the same with you. So who are you to judge HH?

39. @Ross

MCI 2 – Hull 0.

40. Oh dear. Pity.

41. @ David

Why is Robert Ross, week after week, always chiding you for you impartiality or lack of it. If he is unhappy with the way you run the forum he can walk away. Find something more interesting to do.

42. H Austin

Use your brain and READ. Oh creepy one.

43. @Hal

He has always been a BU detractor, don’t worry about we all have roles in which we feel comfortable.

44. @ David
    I think he needs excitement in his life.

45. Yes.of course if you mean an opponent of lies, hearsay, anonymous character assassination, ad hominem arguments, power without responsibility, brainwashing, bullying, sucking-up, snidery, hypocrisy, pharisaism and all the rest – and that includes those like Austin – this ‘senior editor’ who refrained himself from correcting the blogger who misdescribed him as ‘THE senior editor of the FT’ and had to be reminded to do so.

But then it’s all only a mirror of life isn’t it, the world in miniature? And THAT Austin is the point. We are not indentikits, robots, programmed zombies. And in a democracy, that’s how it should be. Or don’t you agree? BU is NOT a private club. It professes to be a window to the world- and that means putting up with people like me, and Sarjeant, and Dompey and ac, and the real nasties on here, and even boring old sycophants like H Austin peddling the second hand in the name of truth week in and week out.

46. @ Robert Ross
    Have you taken your pills?

47. Yeah – they’re called ‘life’ pills and ‘truth’ pills. Try them sometime. They can even work miracles.

48. @Ross

Let us set the record straight:

In the same way you disagree with BU positions the BU household reserves the right, always, to disagree with you. Regarding Dompey aka Fenty, Michael Paine, Obsonky etc, the issue is using multiple monikers in the same conversation na dbeing a pedantic pain in the backside when he resorts to what we describe has ‘dribbling uncontrollably on the blog, we are responsible for the quality of the blog as the final arbiter. ac has never been banned from BU and her only crime is that he or she is an unrepentant DLP yardfowl and from time to time BU will expose the idiocy of marrying all positions to one political party. Sargeant [Sarjeant] has been one of the earlier BU bloggers who we have engaged robustly from time time but one who we respect for what he brings to the blog. He has even been persuaded to submit articles to BU all too infrequently. The BU household takes this opportunity to encourage you to add value to the BU blog space…lol.

49. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@Gabriel,, you asked where I went to school and you got the answer. I will not go into a gutter unless I am going to clean it. Unfortunately, your ad hominem attacks indicate that that is impossible in your case

50. Hal

The blog claims to be one which adheres to the principle of impartiality but the apposing narrative sees it quite differently.