Submitted by Jane Brathwaite

BU understands Harry Husbands is the son of Austin Husbands and NOT Senator Harcourt Husbands – David.

Harry Husbands, son of Senator Harry Husbands
Harry Husbands, son of Austin Husbands

The truth is: Harry Husbands is a token and a mole for the Government of Barbados/Democratic Labour Party and has been placed by the party to get things done their way as the current President has been found to be very resistant.

For the signing off of many decisions that affect the University, the President’s signature is needed in order for the decisions to be implemented. The current President is often in disagreement with the government of Barbados and sometimes with the administration of the University.

Here are the facts:

1) Harry Husbands resigned a very well paying Personal Assistant position for the Minister of Labour Esther Byer-Suckoo, paying over $4000 monthly, to become the President of the Guild of Students less than two weeks before Guild Elections.

Related Link: Young Democrats: Value education

clip_image001

If he wanted time to complete his studies, why would he want to run for the position of Guild President and why just resign on the 2ND of March after being at UWI for the same two years that he has been the Personal Assistant? Why now?

You decide.

2) Harry Husbands is the son of Senator Harcourt Husbands [BU understands his is the son of Austin Husbands] who is currently the Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation. He is a long standing and faithful member of the Democratic Labour Party.

3) Harry Husbands refused to stand and support the position of the Guild to acquire signatures against the payment of tuition fees.

clip_image003
Harry Husbands publicly supported the payment of tuition fees in the Nation News Paper.

clip_image004

Harry Husbands is a full and paying member of the Democratic Labour Party and is heavily involved in the Young Democrats.

While Harry Husbands is charismatic, personable and relatable young man. The post of the President must be taken seriously and is NOT A POPULARITY contest.

203 responses to “Harry Husbands: A DLP Mole”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Robert Ross

Please don’t be hard on Freundel. It speaks to the type and quality of his legal skills.

2. @millertheanunnaki you clearly must be part of the remedial. You clearly need an audience. You are “not interested in the little boy’s education” but you are in him…so tell me, what is it about my brother that has you so mesmerised that your disinterest in him would cause you to spend your time talking about him based on a false article??? Are you in fact intimidated or is it that you sit there in admiration…you clearly need a life…As I have said before this article is based on clear misinformation and was posted and promoted by people with a “crab in the barrel” type of mentality— it is obvious that my brother’s charisma, intellect, talent and capabilities at such a young age have you stunned! So instead of using baseless attacks on his character just sit there and watch because people like you will only ever be spectators. Who seriously has time to sit and concoct attacks on people? you clearly do

3. @Mr. Austin Husbands

A submission was received and posted. We were alerted there was an inaccuracy which was noted [in blue]. If you are acting for your son in this matter feel free to advise him to email his response to this post which will be given prominence. At this point the BU household sees no need to apologize.

4. @Austin,

Please do not get sucked into the black hole of crap on BU.

I wish your son every success in his studies.

Your fellow kolijian Georgie Porgie does get licks pun BU for being too educated an he got a bariffle a degrees from Medecine to Theology.

5. and as for you Bush Tea— any great father would jump in to clear up untruths about their children— sorry if you aren’t privileged enough to have a father like our :P— if you want a brassbowl, look in the mirror….sick of y’all internet bullies!!!

6. Robert you know I am only kidding, I have been involved with six lawyers over the last few years,( will, realestate.business etc) and they are all great guys great sense of humour and good at their jobs Just trying to make a living like the rest of us slugs. Actually it is nice to see someone aspiring to better themselves rather than the alternative. But funny is funny.

7. David

You are right. Don’t apologize. It would destroy your reputation.

PS Who is this “BU household’? A gaggle of Davids?

8. Lucia wrote “any great father would jump in to clear up untruths about their children”

Blogs are cesspools of lies, innuendo and misinformation especially blogs that have a “yard” full of fowls.

BU is not for the faint of heart or the “righteous” so I respectfully suggest that you move on because the attacks will be relentless.

9. Lawson

You should know very well that, for the best of reasons, nothing you say will upset me. Besides you have a point.

10. Here is what you can do with Law degrees. I watched a documentary on TVO last night and a Lawyer was explaining the complexities of legal arrangements with Trade agreements.

Law & Policy Advisors, is a recognized international business and regulatory law expert with private practice, intergovernmental, academic, in-house and legal management experience.
    works directly for individuals, corporations governments and international organizations and indirectly in alliance with law firms providing flexible/agile risk-based legal and policy advice that is client-centred, solutions-oriented and cost-effective.
    Advising individuals, companies and law firms on various international trade agreements, including the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreements (e,g. Services (GATS), Investment (TRIMs), Intellectual Property (TRIPs), Government Procurement (GPA)) and the Canadian Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT)

Providing technical assistance and capacity-building advice to developing country governments and international organizations on WTO accession issues and designing and implementing trade laws

11. @dompey | March 12, 2014 at 5:17 PM |

Prodigal Son

What so wrong with supporting a party which shares one values?………

…………………………

I have no problem with this! This is the point I have been trying to put over to your fellow blogger with no sense. You Dems need to appreciate the fact that not too many people are drinking the DLP kool aid and that people have wised up and intelligent enough not to be fooled again by this lying destructive inept incompetent bunch of wild boys!

12. One wonders if a Vice President of the Young Democrats or any of the young men holding office would support the Guild in a march against the government for any reason. Is the Young Democrats political organization pro-government? BU notes that the weekly DLP/government political column is often penned by the Young Democrats.

Just asking.

13. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@ bush Tea,i have run my businesses for well over 40 years. And yes we,my wife and my family understand the need to protect the family. We will not apologize for that. Paul re bete

14. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

Pauvre bete

15. @David
    At this point the BU household sees no need to apologize.
    ++++++++++
    Some Jane Doe sent a post to you built around three central themes which you published as accurate. When Jeff C pointed out that one of the planks supporting the argument was false instead of a mea culpa on your part you try to buttress your argument by writing that the subject of your attack should write in to defend himself. Defend against what? Defend against whom?

The subject seems to be smart enough to avoid these pages like the plague because anything he wrote would create a vicious circle since it would encourage all the Jane/Jim Does to jump in with various accusations. He is better served by fighting his battles elsewhere.

So don’t apologize, but as the old Bajan saying goes when yuh start wrong yuh gwine end wrong.

16. The inaccuracy in the post is that Harry Husbands is the father of the Vice President of the Young Democrats running for Guild president which was noted by BU. What is your point again? Why don’t you deal with the other issues one of which is that the young man is a VP of a pro DLP organization and whether this maybe seen as muddying his judgement? Then again you slip has always been exposed when dealing with DLP issues.

17. Steupsss
    …so Lucia is another clan member too… 🙂
    Shiite man!!
    ….if somebody wants to get involved in politics at ANY level nowadays, they will need BALLS….
    Balls mean having the ability to face bullies, liers, gangsters, bushman and Annunakis…
    Thus damn righteous indignation because somebody said something uncomplimentary or even untrue about Harry is a lotta shiite…
    This is an OPPORTUNITY for Harry to show what he has got….not to hide behind he damn family’s skirts…..

The way to get a boy to “grow into a man” is for him to learn to fight his own battles and face his own damn demons…what protect what?!
    One protects a child and weak women (not vagabonds like Islandgal, Well Well, and ac).
    The fellow was doing quite well… Wunna family fans should advise him privately and butt out…..

Bushie knew squat bout him or wunna before this article and was actually beginning to like the fellow as a potential replacement for Caswell to run BUP …..when suddenly wunna rush in making it look like he has no damn balls….and need wunna for protection…
    Steupsss….Bushie sticking with Caswell…..

Wunna don’t need to apologize to Bushie …apologise to Harry for making him look like a 10 year old needing his daddy’s help….

18. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@David,I am not my son’s advisor. However, as a responsible adult I feel compelled to correct any errors. And when my family is involved I will go the extra mile to protect our name….he who steals my name steals that which does not enrich him but makes me poorer indeed..

19. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

Poor Bush Tea.need a bath of reality and a dose of manners

20. Time to shut this down. We are going no where with it. This to and fro just will not do! All of this is very immature!

Let’s dump the thread and move on to the elephant in the room…………that is for fiscal 2014, revenues will fall by 111.7 million dollars and that the difference between government income and expenditure is projected to be 1.44 BILLION dollars.

This should be our concern!

21. I can’t believe Mr Austin Husbands is here defending the paternity of his son….piss in muh pocket!! One would have thought that Harry Husbands would be the one here trying to declare to all and sundry that he is not the boy’s father. dwl

Anyhooo, the question remains: as an active and clearly popular member of the youth arm of the DLP would the young man represent the best interests of the guild given his public pronouncements against any anti-government positions taken by the current student body?

By the way I do recall certain sycophants on BU demonising the current President and calling him a Mia supporter. Talk bout hypocrites. Jesus take the wheel.

22. I think Austin should let it rest.Let his son do the writing if he is worth his onions.We are used to hearing Austin on Brasstacks and on the political platform.His party replaced him on the political circuit by placing Harry Husbands to represent the party in St James North.
    We welcome young Harry and hope he would respond to the blog in due course.I suppose we are looking at a budding Prime Minister to boot.

23. @ Daddy Husbands
    Bush Tea is NOT poor….and there is NOTHING that you can teach the bushman about manners…
    You however need a damn life…..and to leave the young man to live his….

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ GUILD INSIDER | March 12, 2014 at 6:57 PM |
    “Again,, persons come on here with misinformation and present them as the facts.
    THE TRUTH:

When you are accepted by UWI to second undergraduate degree in ANY subject area you are required to PAY your own tuition cost. So the taxpayers are not burdened by those of us who choose to pursue a second degree.”

Do you understand the difference between tuition fees paid by students and the economic cost paid by taxpayers towards a degree?
    Do you really feel the $7,000-$16,000 or whatever it is as tuition fees per annum is the total cost of providing an education at the UWI?

Try to obtain a degree overseas say in the UK and see what is the real cost of an university education.

My concern is not with little Husbands and his poor parents but with an educational welfare system that allows a person to pursue two degrees at the expense of the taxpayers (we are not talking tuition fees which is now right across the board but full economic costs) especially in areas that are not of any obvious benefit to the country’s development to increase its capacity to earn or save forex or in areas of environmental sustainability.

Let those who wish to pursue professional qualifications in Law (especially after a “free” first degree) invest in their own education and training.
    Lawyers in Barbados are known to be some of the biggest tax dodgers and lying scumbags around the place with a predilection for “misappropriating” monies of the vulnerable. Ask Caswell Franklyn if you doubt me.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lucia | March 12, 2014 at 7:38 PM |

Thanks for being a member of my much desired audience.
    But as you confirmed I am not really interested in your relative’s education or his pursuing some two-bit law degree attested by the quality of law practice in Barbados and the region’s stark incapacity to effectuate a simple CCJ for less than 6 million people, the population size of an average metropolis.

What I am concerned about is why should tax payers be funding an investment in lawyers unless they are prepared to work for the same taxpayers in the public service or at significantly reduced fees.
    To be brutally frank I really am not interested in any family call the “Husbands”, whoever they are. The taxpayer’s purse and the country’s use of its scarce (and fast dwindling) financial resources is paramount. The IMF will certainly back me on this one.

26. @Miller

When does a law degree equate to a lawyer?

27. @Pachamama March 12, 2014 at 9:53 AM “Inbreeding! It should be that a certain amount of the exportation of people was mandatory.”

The young man’s mother I believe is form Poland. I wouldn’t exactly call that inbreeding.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 12, 2014 at 11:32 PM |
    “When does a law degree equate to a lawyer?”

When does a degree in Accounting equate to being an accountant?

What’s the sense in taxpayer’s funding these “traditional” professions at the degree level for Tom, Dick and Harriet unless resulting in practical outcomes to the socio-economic advancement of the society?

Those who wish to pursue the traditional professions in which there is a super abundance of practitioners by all means go ahead but certainly not at the public’s expense where quantifiable returns to the public good are a pipe dream with so many effectively underemployed.

29. I said a little while ago that my attitude to my kids was to let them go their own way and make their own mistakes because it is their lives not mine. To advise, sure, if it’s necessary or requested – but not try to intervene. Indeed, who am I to do so?

But BUSH TEA – let me tell you this – you who said I was wrong. I will stand by my kids through thick and thin BECAUSE they are MY kids. Not yours, no-one else’s. And in my book, if FAMILY means anything at all, it means just that. And I don’t mean this mythical, feel-good, incestuous ‘BU Family’ You, and those like you on here, turn this into an ignoble thing but then you would – playing god almighty to all things to stroke your petty egos with all the prestige that a nobody-very-much can muster on a blog.

Oh and yes, MILLER……let them all pay the ‘full economic cost’ then, pay this elusive, self-serving fiction, or maybe just kill them off as unproductive in the name of forex. Maybe the government – and the priest – have it right after all. YEAH for FUMBLE and GOD.

30. I am glad to see L. Austin B. Husbands and Lucia come out to defend their relative. The sentiments therein have sought to tarnish the character and integrity of their brother and son respectively. Surely, if this happened to the son, or daughter, of any one of us, we will feel the pain and react similarly.

However, Mr. Husbands, I know that you are now fully aware of the pain you have inflicted on other individuals when you and your other DLP colleagues use political platforms and constituency branch meetings to tarnish and insult the characters of their sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, as well.

Now, you personally know how June Fowler’s father felt when Chris Sinckler called her a “bald pooch cat”; or how Corey Layne’s brother felt when Chris Sinckler used the DLP’s the St. Michael’s North West constituency branch meeting at Ellerslie School to insult him for being a moderator on Brass Tacks.
    You and Lucia know how Mia Mottley’s brother feels when your son uses the forum of the Young Democrats to attack Mia Mottley day in and day out.

As a woman, Lucia, surely you can identify with the pain of Owen Arthur’s daughters, when they hear him being attacked on platforms by none other than your father and brother during campaign and branch meetings. Lucia, as a youth, you can also identify with the pain felt by the brothers and sisters of the members of the League of Young Socialists, when they are attacked by your own brother in the Young Democrats.

You people come to BU every day to attack any position held by supporters of the BLP; wunnuh cuss dead Lionel Craigg…… but all of a sudden….. Harry Husbands is Eliot Ness…. he Untouchable.

You people and all those who defend your position are hypocrites!!!!!!

Mr. Husbands and Lucia, the shoe pun de other foot, see now how it feels!!

31. But Art – ye also of the small hours – all that, apparently, goes with the job description no matter whose side you’re on. Sad innit?

But remember that the attack on H was made by a person of unknown lineage on a blog which on its face condoned another misdescription not yet noticed I think Whatever else, H is clearly not a “mole”. His colours, like stripes, are worn on his sleeve. And again, it can hardly be said that on BU BLPites are hard done by – as the voting here, at least, day-in day-out clearly demonstrates. So your cry of ‘foul’ doesn’t quite work. For me, the pity is that politics has to intrude at all in face of dishonourable conduct – no matter which side is responsible for it. ‘Two wrongs’ and all that.

32. Artaxerxes

Actually, it was one of your staunchest BLP proponent (Prodigal Son) who made the reprehensible remark after hearing the announcement of Lionel Craigg’s death here on BU. So check your facts before you get it twisted please!

33. Artaxerxes

And why is it wrong for those of us who supports the DLP narrative to rebuttal the haft-truths, innuendo and misrepresentation parroted by some here on BU? Which I may add, is fully intended to besmear as well as to vitiate what is left of the good image of the Barbados Democratic Labor Party? So then, if you stand by the belief that you’re a blog which prosecutes the truth with an impartiality, then there shouldn’t be a need to curtail our response to any particular topic presented here on BU because you somehow disagree with the opposing viewpoint.

34. @ dompey

“Actually, it was one of your staunchest BLP proponent (Prodigal Son) who made the reprehensible remark after hearing the announcement of Lionel Craigg’s death here on BU. So check your facts before you get it twisted please!”

My friend, firstly, what in my contribution gave you the impression that I am a supporter of the BLP? Secondly, if “Prodigal Son” or 10,000 BLP supporters made reprehensible remarks about Craigg, does that negate the fact that DLP supporters {e.g. BajanFuhLife} also made reprehensible remarks, and my initial point that trading insults and pot-shots is part of the political game? So dummy, dopey, duppy or whatever you call yourself……… what facts do I have to check?

I suspect comprehension was not a favourite subject of yours at school.

Additionally, I see absolutely nothing wrong for those of you “who support the DLP narrative to rebuttal the haft-truths, innuendo and misrepresentation parroted by some here on BU?”
    However, you will be very unreasonable if you do not agree that those individuals who “support the BLP narrative” have a SIMILAR right to rebuttal.

35. @ Robert Ross

“For me, the pity is that politics has to intrude at all in face of dishonourable conduct – no matter which side is responsible for it. ‘Two wrongs’ and all that.”

That is my point exactly, my gab gifted friend. Unfortunately people of your ilk recognize this only when the constituent/population/sample you favour is under scrutiny at the time.

36. David on March 12, 2014 at 7:13 PM
    @Fractured BLP

Austin Husbands please do not pay that joker , David of BU , no mind.

You will note that any adverse story about the DLP or its supporters always draw a negative response from him.

Do you hold a similar view when BU post your DLP weekly propaganda articles?

@ David of BU

David you often allow yourself to be easily influenced by the BLP propaganda being peddled by the notable likes of the Millers and Prodigal Daughters of this BU site.

Even your current handling of this particular story shows how shambolic you can become in dealing with important issues.

Even after Jeff Cumberbatch intervened and corrected you about the father of the young Husabands – you still persisted on your trajectory of folly.

I await the day when Mia Mottley use the technology she has in her possession to shut down blogs in Barbados.

Then you will be on the breadline !

37. L Austin B Husbands Avatar
    L Austin B Husbands

@Art
    My political opponent, Rawle Eastmond will tell you that not once have I attacked him personally during my 2 campaigns…and so too will members of the BLP.So many of them are my customers and friends, yes friends, but we differ POLITICALLY

38. @Fractured

Jeff corrected who the Vice President of the Democrats is you JA.

39. @ L Austin B. Husbands

That is very honourable, sir. Then you should pass that attribute on to your political colleagues and opponents, maybe we would experience something new and refreshing in Barbadian politics.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 13, 2014 at 7:29 AM |
    “David you often allow yourself to be easily influenced by the BLP propaganda being peddled by the notable likes of the Millers and Prodigal Daughters of this BU site.”

How can it be propaganda when all the miller is saying is what your administration is implementing? Was it also propaganda to argue against the DLP lies of “No Layoffs, No privatization”; a position that has been vindicated in recent months?

Aren’t you one of those bloggers who vehemently supported your administration’s introduction of tuition fees for all students at the UWI?
    Were you not supporting the decision based on the “fact” that the parents can afford to pay for their children’s university education and that the fiscal burden brought about by the new economic challenges since the last general elections cannot continue to carry freeloaders at the Cave Hill campus?

The miller wants to agree with you and is prepared to carry the freeloading matter further and argue that Bajan taxpayers, given the economic zeitgeist, should be asked to underwrite only the cost of university education that can contribute meaningfully to the economic and social development of the country. And Law is certainly not one of the those areas.

What advice would you offer (family planning wise) about a “single-parent” unemployed woman with 10 young children totally dependent on welfare and wants to have more. Law should be seen in Barbados in similar light. There is a serious overabundance with too many mouths to feed and support. Time for some tightly enforced family planning unless you can personally afford the full cost.

What is the university doing to fill the crying need of the skills to build out the recently passed Cultural Industries Bill promoted by your administration as one of the planks to support the local economy and carry it forward as a forex earning industry?
    What about the much touted renewable Energy movement destined to transform the current “blackened” economy into a green one?

We are sure taxpayers would not mind financing such skills training and vocational advancement. Even scholarships in law specializing in aspects “directly” relevant to cultural activities and international business transactions in an e-commerce type environment can be made available to bright sparks like young Husbands using his political associations as advantages and not as handicaps.

41. Stupse, no one attacked young Husbands!!!

Seems that this quest to have him elected to the presidency of the Guild is indeed a calculated attempt by the DLP to thwart the guild’s opposition to the imposition of tuition fees.

42. Artex

I see you fall into your own trap and like to ‘give it’. Hypocrite.

43. @ dompey | March 13, 2014 at 4:38 AM |

Artaxerxes

Actually, it was one of your staunchest BLP proponent (Prodigal Son) who made the reprehensible remark after hearing the announcement of Lionel Craigg’s death here on BU. So check your facts before you get it twisted please!…………………….

You are a destructive liar. I never commented on Lionel Craig’s death on BU. You need to check your facts. Wait, your are a dem, you cannot hep lying.

44. Essentially, when we examine this situation, there are some very important underlying issues that Husbands Junior must take into consideration, despite the glowing accolades he has been receiving from his supporters. Harry is being viewed as a DLP through his affiliation with the Young Democrats, it is therefore expected he will support the measures of his government; i.e. students paying tuition fees at UWI.

Now, if we put everything into context and take into consideration the fact that Harry has a first degree, which he obtained at expense of the tax payers of Barbados, and his family is funding the cost of his second degree [this situation may very well prevail among many other families in Barbados].
    Harry is aware that many of his constituents are the children of those Drainage Unit, NHC, Transport Board, NCC, Post Office and all the other public sector employees who were and are about to be retrenched; and those temporary public sector workers who, though fortunate to maintain employment, are not eligible for loans from the banks, because of their temporary status.

What will Harry do, if elected, for those students whose parents fall into the above category?

45. Gawd – give it a break.

46. Bush Tea has met his match
    Bush Tea has been floored by Lucia
    What Lucia wrote sounds good
    Bush Tea’s writings make me angry
    Lucia’s intervention made me happy
    She called Bush Tea an internet bully
    However
    A warning to those who would want to trivialize BU
    You are making a musstake – yes a musstake
    (bigger than mistake)
    BU is powerful
    BU has the power to draw people to these pages
    BU is my first and last stops
    for real News–This is where it happens
    Close down BU ?
    Dont try that ! — @ Fractured

============================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga

47. @ Robert Ross

“Artex
    I see you fall into your own trap and like to ‘give it’. Hypocrite.”

My friend, your gift for gab is noted, but it would tarnish my intellectual superiority to bring myself to your miniscule level so as to trade wits with you. Have a most enjoyable day.

48. Well there you are then – both mole and fool.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes | March 13, 2014 at 9:52 AM |
    “What will Harry do, if elected, for those students whose parents fall into the above category?”

Very good point., “Art”! Will the “objectivity” of guild presidency win over his partisan political ties to a lying administration who promised never to make students pay for the UWI education?

Here is a pledge of support to young Husbands:
    We will support you for president if you promise to put the fire under the current administration for breaking their promise and compensate by immediately restructuring the Student Revolving Loan Fund (SRLF). Why not capitalize it to make it fully accessible to those poor “students whose parents fall into the above category”?

Here is a suggestion to the young bright and creatively imaginatively Harry “the Potter” Husbands:
    Why not demand his preferred administration introduce a lottery to help ‘beef up’ the SRLF?
    Sports (including elite sports) benefit why not university education. You might even wish to consider urgently the BLP proposals for a Registered Educational Savings Plan (RESP).

50. David

Would you be prepared to support a march against the government, incite a march against the government and stand at the barricades facing the government? I doubt it. Tell me I’m wrong.

Yagga Row

I wonder what “real news” is. This post suggests it’s hearsay.