Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture (r)

It has come as no surprise to independent observers that the Barbados government has to labour to govern as a result of its 2-seat margin. Prime Minister Stuart finds himself in a position where making decisions is heavily influenced by the political considerations. Now that the E11 faction has been effectively quelled and its whip – Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler – had to publicly throw himself at the mercy of the Prime Minister in the Big Interview with the Nation newspaper, an interview which will stain his legacy and perhaps has ended his political ambition to be Prime Minister of Barbados.

AND Perennialย  discontent Minister David Estwick made known his recent dissatisfaction in January that he will speak out on economic issues (words to this effect). Two weeks later he was reluctantly given an audience with the Prime Minister and cabinet to present a proposal of a lifeline deal sponsored by the United Arab Emirates (UAE). To be expected there was loud clamour in the public space about the workability of Estwickโ€™s UAE deal. It has been three weeks since Estwick presented to the Cabinet of Barbados and it has been three weeks the public, including local media, has gone silent. Yet again the politicians have been able to โ€˜’manipulateโ€™ the voice of the people by remaining silent. And off we go to the next topic the planned construction at Lower Greys.

BU recalls the promise by late Prime Minister David Thompson to usher in a level of transparency never seen in Barbados. The people on the 2007 general election campaign trail were lured by the promise of his party enacting transparency legislation as a priority if elected. Stuart led the party to a second win in 2013 despite not being able to proclaim transparency laws in the first term when he assume leadership after Thompson died in Office.ย  One is left to ask Barbadians what happened? Are we happy not holding our governments accountable?

When the Estwickโ€™s UAE proposal was leaked BU eagerly looked forward to serious debate from all quarters of civil society. There was intense debate for 7-days and now there is silence once more. Where is the pride of place which Barbados has enjoyed under Barrow and Adams? We have to listen to Prime Ministers of St. Vincent, Antigua, Dominica, St. Kitts and Barbadians wait to hear the voice of OUR Prime Minister.

Barbadians have been asked to play their part in the interest of supporting the national economy. Depending on who is listened to 3,000 to 6,000 public sector have made the ultimate sacrifice, no doubt the same in the private sector. While the a repeat of 1991 is happening we have a government who remains committed to a combative mode instead of calming and inspiringย  the populace by their words and actions. Whether the government likes it or not a similar number of Barbadians voted for the BLP in the last general election and this should should guide its communication with the public to build consensus.

If only out of respect for Barbadians the Prime Minister owes it to Barbadians to pronounce on the Estwick UAE proposal. As usual we the people wait on those sworn to serve them.

114 responses to “Estwick UAE Proposal and the Silence of the DEMS”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The priority of this Government is holding on to power in order to qualify for their pensions. Those elected in 2003 will have to wait until 2015 to qualify for two-thirds of their salary as a pension; and those who were elected in 2008 would have to wait until 2016 to qualify for half of their salaries. This is what is guiding everything that the Government does.

2. Steupsss
    Man Caswell ….Enuff of that pension tune now….
    ALL politicians cling on to power as long as possible.
    Pension shiite… Wuh at the rate they are going where the pensions will come from?
    If you were wise you would realize that they are hanging on to power in the hope that more mega million dollar deals can be executed…. Like the Sandals thing and the various “feasibility” studies…

Shiite man, what you think Sealy floating bout the Air Bridge idiocy ($20M) for…? ..to mek heself look foolish?
    …somebody GOT to do a ‘study’ and write reports…. Even if it turns out that (like we ALL already know) that idea is total shiite, …a couple million done slip by….

What pension what?!?

What YOU need to tell us is when you, BAFFY and David going to be ready with BUP….
    If you and Baffy can’t get along, have a duel – and the winner can work with David….. Bushie TIRED with the lotta shiite now…. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Caswell, this is not the time to spit in the soup. We all want to eat!

4. Young and Untrained Avatar
    Young and Untrained

Meanwhile, 800 teachers set be retrenched via multiple credible sources and they are bidding time to fat pockets with no ability to lead this country out of this mess. Education Policies failing children and country. The majority of those going to be retrenched will most likely be young teachers. Youth unemployment already a major regional issue in every country except Barbados…obviously. So all of the knowledge will retire with the aging teaching service, stupse. Clearly all these overbloated ministries being advised by ning nongs and the fox lying in wait the IMF. Dr. Estwick you are a disappointment. Do you know if you stand for nothing you will fall for ANYTHING? There is no honour in standing for a pension while the dominoes are toppling around you. Bajans are too domicile. Bees and Dees need to go. No accountability and silence bequeaths consent to what we are allowing.

5. @David
    โ€œThe silence of the Demsโ€
    Did you ever hear that silence is golden? Why comment and lend credibility to something that you donโ€™t have any faith in? Estwickโ€™s proposal is gathering dust in the F & F (file & forget) folder.

On to other news have you been paying attention to the latest target of terrorists? None other than our friends in the land of Mao. First there was the slaughter of about 30 people by Uyghurs from Xinjiang Province who are Muslims and call the area (East Turkistan) and now a 777 has gone missing and it appears that some people were on the flight with bogus documents.

So far those in the know have been circumspect with their comments but yuh know if it looks like a duck etc.

6. @L Harper March 9, 2014 at 12:29 AM “Caswell, this is not the time to spit in the soup. We all want to eat!”

What soup?

De pot turn down.

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

No matter where you look , its all about MONEY,looking for money, getting money, hiding money, crooking money, taking money, giving money ,
    and how much of that same Money they get to keep for self,
    CROOKS, LIARS , SCUMBAGS, They want for self and We as a People have to pay it back when every they get RUN out of Office,,,AND still they will be paid by us for they ROB us blind.

All the money we need is already in Barbados in the accounts on the BANK from being over charged, The Bill is still running up.

More Land Fraud to come ,

8. Fractured BLP Avatar

BREAKING NEWS

Cabinet at its meeting on 6th March 2014 approved without reservation , the US $ 5 billion UAE loan.

As PM Stuart said on CBC tv (1st March 2014 ) last Saturday night โ€ it would be a foolish PM and a foolish government , not to look at all options on the table , including Dr. Estwickโ€™s plan โ€œ.

The first drawdown of this loan will commence on 1st April, 2014.

All the recently retrenched workers will be reinstated โ€“ just like the 2 Shop Stewards โ€“ Trottie was able to get back on the production line at the Transport Board !!!!

The reinstatement of workers will commence on 1st May, 2014 ( Labour Day ).

A symbolic reinstatement ceremony is slated for Baystreet on that dayโ€ฆ..where Trottie will be publicly commended by the government for keeping Mia Mottley and her opposition BLP at bay ( no pun intended ) by not taking the workers on the streets to protestโ€ฆ.while the UAE money arrived in Barbados.

That is what you call an ENHANCED SEPARATION PACKAGEโ€ฆ.for those who were thinking otherwise !!!!!

David of BU is extremely thrilled by this good news ….. though saddened that he was not the first to break this news to Barabadians !

So too are the keepers of the FATTED CALF โ€ฆโ€ฆProdigirl and Millerโ€ฆ.included !

Hoorray, Hoorray, Hoorray to Dr. Estwickโ€ฆ.at last the FATTED CALF has a new lease on life !!!!!

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Fractured BLP

Does this mean that Estwick who is Minister of Agriculture, having effectivly secured $$ to assist in the running of Bulbados will, due to his obvious expertise and financial acument that outshines that of Buffalo Sinckliar, will now be appointed Minister of Finance?

At least Estwick would have shown that he knows how to broker a deal, find money and of course know the difference about decimal points!!

Oh and does it mean that since the money has been secured from the UAE that we dont hail each other wid “what up B” or “whu going on skippa” but not must say “Assalaam Alaikam?”

10. Fractured BLP Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright

From what I understand, Dr. Estwick only wanted to find the best alternative to the crisis Barbados found itself in , and not necessarily being Minister of Finance.

Remember he publicly declared his support for Chris Sinckler as Minster of Finanace.

11. Michael Paine Avatar

Very interesting commentary here.

12. @Fractured

Look forward to cricketer Ryan Hinds being made High Commissioner to UAE, you will save some money in deployment expenses.

@Michael Paine

Don’t even start.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It all about the Money , Now make the bills out and let us see who gets what? More Money , More Money MORE MONEY,, Even more Bills to come Its All about the Money,
    Will the MOF get fatter ?
    CROOKS WITH MORE MONEY ,

14. Fractured BLP wrote “The first draw down of this loan will commence on 1st April, 2014.
    also known as “all fools day.”

Your “Breaking News” should have been released on April !st.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Fractured BLP | March 9, 2014 at 6:49 AM |
    โ€œFrom what I understand, Dr. Estwick only wanted to find the best alternative to the crisis Barbados found itself in , and not necessarily being Minister of Finance.โ€

So you have finally conceded the obvious reality to many on BU that Barbados is indeed in a crisis.
    The question to you, though, s who put you there. Is the fractured BLP who have been blaming since Adam was a lad or is it the easily placebo international recession?

What about the homegrown variety the same Estwick identified as being the cause cรฉlรจbre fatted calf policies and unnecessary (but vote buying) welfare programmes of your administration?

How therefore can the person who is responsible for exacerbating the crisis ever be expected to lead you out of it?

How else can Estwick plan be executed unless he is the man in the seat responsible for matters of finance and economics?
    The only alternative is for you guys to put Fumble as a figure head MoF with Estwick as Minister of State in the same Ministry pulling the strings while getting rid of the fat cat called Physical Deficit Ince and the quisling drone called Boyce.

Stinkliar can easily go back to Foreign Affairs to be the entertaining buffoon of the talk shops and the obese clown of the cocktail circuit while Maxine replaces the ravenous Suckoo since the fumbling impotent joker is unable to satisfy both.

16. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

There is a rumour going around that the PM will reshuffle the Cabinet. Possibly before the Estimates debate. This would appear to tie in somewhat with Miller’s take above.

By the way, for what little its worth, I agree with Caswell’s post above, with the addendum that incompetence along with inept leadership can be added to the reasons for the apparent impasse with Dr Estwick.

17. what nonsense …….what proposal…………bubbados not fuh sale……….dr.estwick ….plans or ideas just another
    “pig in the bag” gimmick…………..already the attention received have told eventual outcome ,,,,,,,,just hype and distraction,,

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ millertheanunnaki | March 9, 2014 at 9:26 AM |
    โ€œThe question to you, though, s who put you there. Is the fractured BLP who have been blaming since Adam was a lad or is it the easily placebo international recessionโ€

That paragraph should read:-
    โ€œThe question to you, though, is who or what put you there.
    Is it the fractured BLP whom have you have been blaming since Adam was a lad or is it the well-patented and easily-ingested by the masses soothing placebo called international recession?โ€

@ Fractured BLP:
    BTW, both your crew and the pro Estwick plan faction have only two weeks before Caswellโ€™s understanding becomes the only understanding of the present confusion between the Stinkliar torpedo and the Estwick dowry.
    We (including BFPBAF)are willing to bet 5 billion in dirham Estwick will back the Stinkliar plan just to prove how โ€œprognosticatinglyโ€ accurate you, Fractured, can be.

The Estimates debate and passing of the Appropriation Bill for the fiscal year starting April 01, 2014 must take place during the week starting 23rd March unless you guys plan to create an environment to crack some already dented heads and shoot (fire at) some additional 2,000 people including those from the NCC and Transport Board.

19. The issue here is also one of respect by the government for the people. The cabinet gave audience to Estwick and he should update or inform the people what is the decision of government.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ THe Annunaki

You said and i quote “How else can Estwick plan be executed unless he is the man in the seat responsible for matters of finance and economics?”

In continuing you also made oblique reference to the Biblical verse Matthew 9:17 “Neither do men put new wine into old bottles: else the bottles break, and the wine runneth out, and the bottles perish: but they put new wine into new bottles, and both are preserved.”

I one gives those three dimwiths Sinckliar, Ince and Boyce that money to apply to revitalization programming, in one year we will be back with the UAE.

If inspiration was the size of the Titanic, the three of them together would not be able to detect it even if it was being forced up their posteriors.

Dumb, dumber and most dumb (said while stuttering prolifically)

21. Now, how will that 5 billion be repaid?

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Well , Well ,@ were we 4 Billion in the basement and they went for 5 Billion? , Dont sound to balance to Me.
    What can COW and the Ministers do with and Extra 1 Billion in debt?

Maybe they will not pay off the 4 Billion and and take the 5 Billion and then we will be in a bigger mess at 9 Billion in the core of the Earth?
    1 Billion in VOTE Buying. MIA will never see office .

More lies to come, lets hope they learned their lesson .
    KEEP YOUR HANDS OUT OF MY POCKETS

23. This proposal cannot be dispensed of by a YEA or NAY policy…..this govt is signed on to treaties and agremments with the USAthat have built in restraints and restrictions when dealing with other international govts……all parties involved must be privy and guided by proper prtocal and diplomacy….and not by political yardfowlism.. Bu need to stir the pot is not a solution.

24. @ac

You don’t need to comment on everything. And the issue raised in this blog is the right of the people to know. It is called transparency and it is what this government promided to deliver on.

25. Plantation…………Let’s hope they know that Arab Muslims (fomerly the Moors) are into Sharia Laws.

26. Fractured BLP | March 9, 2014 at 6:03 AM |

“BREAKING NEWS

Cabinet at its meeting on 6th March 2014 approved without reservation , the US $ 5 billion UAE loan.”

Where is the proof that this is true and not an April fools joke?

27. @Hants

It is a DLP JA trying to distract. Ignore.

On Sunday, 9 March 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Well Well | March 9, 2014 at 1:11 PM | @ Well we all know who is in office and who sign and vote for the loan can loose their Hands and a few might , be off with their heads , WANTED POSTERS LIKE OLD BIN.
    We are sure if it reach that stage the People will go hunting ,

29. the people has a right to know…….but only when factual,,,,,,,,not because some blog or other yardfowl decides the TIME……however you have no right or prerogative to curb my freedom of speech in any way order! shape! fashion or design, BUY LAW i have such freedom…….and can dispense of it as i freely choose……..the govt also have a right to protect its citizen from fly buy night con artist and govts presenting themselves like wolves in sheep clothing ,,,,, when will we learn

30. @ac

Your yardfowl inclination has long taken root. You right, it is up to Stuart to decide when to communicate to Barbadians espcially about promises made about enacting transparency legislation.

31. what is transparent here is your twisted and illogical view that rules and diplomacy should be bent under misguided perceptions such as yours and others who believes that unless the pm answer any and every call he is clueless,,,,,,the pm is head of govt ,,,,,but he also have to adhere to rules and guidelines of governance in reassurance to country and public of him not being a dictator,, hetherefore has a cabinet with whom he meets and iron out details or proposals affecting the country .meaning until himself and all cabinet members are in agreement he is hampered or stymied in his response ( quick or slow) in matters of a high sensitive nature,,,,it is not at all times our country should show up or act as a banana republic

32. What is twisted ac is the fact this government promised to implement transparency legislation and it has NOT, it promised it would NOT send home people, it promised it would NOT charge for tertiary education. A yardfowl who patrol BU night and day will never want to hold your party accountable.

33. Fractured BLP | March 9, 2014 at 6:03 AM |

โ€œBREAKING NEWS

Cabinet at its meeting on 6th March 2014 approved without reservation , the US $ 5 billion UAE loan.โ€…………………………………..

I am surprised that so many of us are falling for the lies that spew from this joker’s keyboard.

34. This inept incompetent bunch of jokers we have for a government just feel that they won and that they are accountable to no one. They have power for five years and we can moan and groan all we want, they do not have to tell us anything nor does the fumbler think he is obligated to speak to us.

So what can we do? The unions are in bed with the government. The BLP tried to highlight the issues and sensitize the people by rubbing shoulders and people’ assemblies but the people dont want to hear, they are afraid for their heads to be cracked or to get shoot. We can only wait then for the whole place to implode and then and only then will Bajans wake up when all that they had is of little value!

35. david david hitting below the belt is not good strategy coming from you it characterizes one modus operandi,,,and places one in the same category as those whom you criticized one you should avoid at all cost…….so what does transparency having to do with a policy that could not stand the rigors of a harsh economy…..or would you and other yardfowls prefer that the govt stay the course ,,,,,,i do not understand your ( again) twisted logic highlighting the fact that govt had to change course to save a country from financial ruination as lack of transparency coming from govt,,,,,,,,,,,,

36. Let us examine the stress the Estwick UAE issue has put the country through at a time when it calls for all hands on deck. It took two weeks for Stuart and Cabinet to rein in Estwick. BU took note that VoB quoted sources in the Cabinet during the saga very forceful in anti Estwick comment. Is it not obvious the Estwick affair and the always on combative approach to managing communication has done nothing to promote confidence in Barbados?

37. David | March 9, 2014 at 4:00 PM

Let us examine the stress the Estwick UAE issue has put the country through at a time when it calls for all hands on deck. It took two weeks for Stuart and Cabinet to rein in Estwick. BU took note that VoB quoted sources in the Cabinet during the saga very forceful in anti Estwick comment. Is it not obvious the Estwick affair and the always on combative approach to managing communication has done nothing to promote confidence in Barbados?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………what stress david are u talking about,,,,,,,,as far as i know the policies put in place by govt to handle the economic crisis are still on course……..maybe a few stragglers and those holding outs complaining ,,,,,,,, but as for suggesting that the estwick uae proposal have put the country in stress is balderdash and political poppycock,,,,,,,again all bent far out of proportion and should be sent to the peanut gallery for laughter,,,,,,,,,,,,, what is obvious is this ongoing” make believe” controversial strategy concocted by deceit ……rooted by political yardfowlism propaganda indulging willfully and intentionally hell bent on making govt policy….. which this govt refuses to partake,,,,,,

38. @Ac

Please read with understanding. It is the stress to the country of havinv to manage the Estwick issue which creates a perception of confusion. The comment is not about the actual proposal which the president of the BEC is on record recommending public discussion.

39. David | March 9, 2014 at 4:47 PM
    @Ac

Please read with understanding. It is the stress to the country of havinv to manage the Estwick issue which creates a perception of confusion. The comment is not about the actual proposal which the president of the BEC is on record recommending public discussion

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

listen david i am not trying to be difficult but the rational seems a bit disingenuous and farfetched from my vantage point i believe that the public would resist the temptation one way or another of engaging in a fist fight over what estwick did after all he is a cabinet minister and entitled to his views ..not at all do i see any evidence of stress but only one of a political perception,…….,case and point ……..the country seems to have eased away from the uea subject as your article suggest and now have arrived at a level of restraint one which borders on a level of maturity and breeds or ensues confidence coming from its citizenry, .most bajans are die hard politicians and not going to bend too far east or west until their are comfortable and know what they are fighting for, the estwick debacle is such case so at this point the stress levels one can say is tolerable in such a regard ……no need to hoot and holler,,,,,

40. @AC, do you know the definition of political yardfowl?

41. Christ Resident Avatar
    Christ Resident

I agree with Dr Denis Lowe a

http://youtu.be/oFw0vCQXej0

42. Dishonesty of Barbadian political actors

http://youtu.be/a5QEwY0OHTM

43. Incompetent Musketeers who were power hungry. Do not watch if you have eaten as you may throw up. Seriously.

44. Small Farmer | March 9, 2014 at 5:15 PM
    @AC, do you know the definition of political yardfowl?
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

YES One who believes that their propaganda must be endorsed and entertained by all,,,,,,,,,
    EXHIBIT A a small farmer …..trying to score political points,,at the expense of others

45. Here it is the government has had to veer from its medium term fiscal strategy, accept technical assistance from the IMF when the GoCB and Frank Alleyne aessured the country many times the IMF was not an option, then we have to borrow the Credit Suisse loan at a rediculous rate…

And ac tells us we need to gibe the government’s policies time to work.

46. DAVID Stop it u are smarter than that……….ac not going to fall into that political trap……i am surprised that u would use that yard stick to measure the govt policies as failures or even success,,,,,, given the volatile and overheated economic climate ……….however i hope that you would be mindful of the fact that if the now revised policies worked you would be equally adamant and sincere in giving govt credit for rebuilding an economy which was heading for disaster,,,,,

47. @ac

Which policies? You mean sending home workers? The economy will reboud if private sector show confidence in government’s handling of the economy. However bitching with the private sector will not do it.

48. @ David (BU)/Guys and Gals

What do you make of Bernie Weatherhead’s desire to continue with the Almond brand and forget about Sandals?