An Urgent Call for Caribbean STATESMEN and PATRIOTS

The following is the foreword to an article authored by David Commissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement by RAS JAHAZIEL
Will ur leaders please raise their hands!

Will our leaders please raise their hands!

It is time for us to admit that up to this day, the wind in our sails as a Caribbean peo­ple has been the wind that drove the slave-​ships to these shores, and the com­pass that we have been using is the same one that charted our colonization.

Under that form of guid­ance the per­fect mar­riage was seen as one between slave and slave owner. Hav­ing been indoc­tri­nated to strive for this form of rela­tion­ship, we as a Caribbean peo­ple have been sel­dom able to cul­ti­vate the sort of imag­i­na­tion that is so elo­quently out­lined in the arti­cle below.
But our romance with the devil was bound to lead to dis­ap­point­ment, and now that the slave-​ship is run­ning into trou­bled waters it is the human cargo from Africa that is being scut­tled. So there is no one else to turn to but your fam­ily, but we have to take an enema and purge the nigga-​mentality that mek we feel that we bet­ter than dem. Read arti­cle below and see video at the end.

Read full article

15 thoughts on “An Urgent Call for Caribbean STATESMEN and PATRIOTS

1. We have to stop looking for the so-called ‘leaders’. We are all the ones we were waiting for. Unless be ditch that mindset and assume the role as leaders of ourselves we will always be disappointed by the systems that impose people who expect us to follow them. While we thanks all of those who came before and made their contributions, the time has long come to lead ourselves and fill the inevitable vacuum that has presented.

2. We are not Africans,Europeans,Asiatics,Mongols or whatever….we are the detritus of the various tribes that passed through the Caribbean waters over the centuries.
    Once we get that through our thick skulls we can decide who we want to be and what we want to do during our brief sojourn on this planet ,then start charting our course through uneasy seas ahead.

• But Vincent one must be philosophically and otherwise aware to travel that road. Does it not seem we are meandering along under the influence?

3. David

I think Pacha and Vincent are both saying, essentially, that it’s time to sober up and it’s hard to disagree isn’t it? It’s one reason why I take such exception to the Beckles idea that we are a sea-full of backward, sleepwalking morons for whom there is no redemption.

I was trying to work out who a ‘patriot’ is in the context of the post (which presents a beautiful idea).

• Ross

Many of us accept we need to chart a path which defines who we want to be but this is as far as we reach, every time. We can’t serve two masters. Are we eurocentric or African? What are we teaching in our schools anyway? Many remain confused despite billions spent to educate. We can’t get anywhere where Pacha suggests unless we rationalize contextualize our history. Who are our heroes? Why are they our heroes? How does our lineage drive contemporary thinking in a way that is relevant to mobilize the spirit and identify of our people? Our survival depends on lining up these ducks of which they are many.

• The crux of the matter is the concept of serving two masters…..as we are a new tribe ,about to define ourselves….that becomes irrelevant
      ….our lineage is a dirty wash rag that can be thrown away….our survival depends on defining ourselves and we have a golden opportunity to create a new tribe/being without baggage that can objectively view the world and its tribes and see the mindless desecration of mother earth and change the thinking.

4. In any serious democracy, where accountability matters, Mr. Sinkler would be in the ranks of the unemployed since he has failed to even begin to institute any real economic policy; we would be going back to the polls to allow the people to determine if there was indeed a “betrayal”.

THE DLP LIED TO THE PEOPLE, HAVE FAILED TO MANAGE THE ECONOMY AND JUST CANNOT MANAGE

THE DLP SHOULD RESIGN AND CALL FRESH ELECTIONS.
    LET THE PEOPLE DETERMINE WHAT PROGRAMME THEY WILL SUPPORT.

ALL THE TALK ABOUT SENDING HOME PEOPLE AND CUTTING SALARIES SHOULD CEASE NOW. GET BACK TO THE POLLS.

THE REAL DISCUSSION SHOULD BE ABOUT SEEKING A FRESH MANDATE.
    THERE MUST BE FRESH ELECTIONS
    THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD RESIGN
    THEY HAVE BETRAYED THE PEOPLE AND CANNOT BE TRUSTED TO KEEP THEIR WORD. THERE SHOULD BE ONE DEBATE GOING ON RIGHT NOW !

THEY WANT TO CUT THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND CUT SALARIES TOO
    WHO IS TO GUARANTEE THAT THEY KEEP THEIR WORD ON ANYTHING
    L——I——–A ———R————S
    THIS IS NOT JOKE WE JOKING
    THIS IS SERIOUS BUSINESS

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad on said:

JUST ASKING | 26/12/2013 at 4:12 pm |@ Now you are getting the Xmas feelings. You called them LIARS you forgot SCUMBAGS AND CROOKS.
    If you want thing better , you must vote 3rd party, This is why they will not go for elections and they want their 2nd term to get a pension for crooking and lying to the People them Scumbags.

As soon as you can agree the ROOTS of this Poison Tree is the land Fraud , Laundering and PNOZI ,, you then will see why , The BLP nor the DLP or the unity Government of the NEW DBLP will not make a move.

All the money in the World can not fix this fraud nor all the lies , It is out , most just have to take a good look at PLANTATION DEEDS words.

We will keep saying this until you all get it , Some did , some still will stick to PARTY junk thinking or lack there off.
    We dont like the new system of Voting ,BU,,, But thanks for making the word bigger and easy to read again,

6. David

Thankyou. Are we Eurocentric or African? I want to say we are neither. We are Caribbean peoples first and human beings next – or, indeed, the other way round. Of course we draw upon the streams of the past. But we are not the past. Yes. every time I stupse I am west African. But so what? Every time I say ‘do your own thing’ I am a hippie from the summer of love. But so what? I guess the question for all of us is ‘Where is your heart?’ (‘My heart’s in the highlands, my heart is not here”) Where is my ‘country of worth’?.

• Whatever we are when and how will it manifest in abundance? When will it become a force to take us as a collective forward. This is not about ‘I’ or ‘me’.

7. @ David
    We aren’t fully conditioned neither determined, as a people of color. But we ought to determine for ourselves: whether we’re going to give into the conditions or standup to them.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.