Minister Donville Inniss is at it again!

Minister Donville Inniss has acquired the reputation as the most strident in the Stuart cabinet, although not in the same vain as Minister Kellman. Speaking on behalf of himself he was quick to say, he pontificated that “I was always of the view that the public service is too big and needs to be reduced”. Many agree with the minister, especially those who proffered a similar view in the lead in to the last general elections less than a year ago. To be fair to the minister he magnanimously ascribed blame to successive governments for swelling the ranks of the familiarly known ‘army of occupation’ through the years.

It is evident that Donville, the Cabinet Crier, is privy to to the best kept secret in Barbados, which is, public servants will have to go home. Of course no sane Barbadian wants to see anyone put on the breadline but there is the inevitability as a result of government’s piss poor financial state.

What is sad about the state of affairs in Barbados is that we are to be blamed. We have allowed political patrimony and mendicancy to become paramount. All for the sake of the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party propping up populist ideals. Here we are at this dark place AGAIN because party interest trumped national interest. We are here because ‘educated’ Barbadians decided to toe the party lie or disengage from the system.

But are we surprised? Many who comprised the motley group who now litter the House of Assembly do so to suck hard on the nipples of the treasury. Before being elected to parliament some managed fledgling law and medical practices, sold flour and fried fish, talk sweet to a microphone, work at a hotel when not trying to brew a failed lager. Many if not all of them are clueless about managing a budget of more than $100,000 and worse yet effectively managing people.

It seems like yesterday when we had the likes of Tom Adams, Henry Forde, Richard Cheltenham, Lois Tull, Billie Miller, Bernard St. John, Don Blackman, Brandford Taitt involved in government.  Even with their faults the few names mentioned easily exposed the intellectual paucity which now pollutes our highest law making organ.

The big irony is that whether you agreed with Sandiford when he slashed public pay by 8% and sent some home a few, governments who followed had the opportunity to keep the public service lean. Twenty years and billions spent on education later we have come full circle.

154 responses to “The Motley Crew Who Govern”

1. Also miller who will be supporting the ten thousands after the layoffs and how much money would be taken out of the commercial side of the economy impacted by lack of consumer spending . don.t be fooled the impact would negatively impact all across the board in more ways than one. cause for sure. these families still have mouths to be fed .bills to be paid a sure downer for business as they seek to recover cost due inpart by nonpayment of bills as a result of these massive layoff.the die is not cast

2. Pacha…………..i agree, but knowing this selfish, self-serving lot of politicians, they will have a ready excuse why they should not do any of the above.

3. @ Caswell
    Don’t be simple minded…
    People ALWAYS suffer or thrive – based largely on who they elect/ allow/ concede to be their leaders. ….Nothing to do with what is fair or right….simply a FACT.
    No debate about that.

Secondly.
    It is shortsighted to rule out a dangerous medicine because its side effects may be unpleasant ….when that may be the ONLY way to save your life.

Thirdly
    If you REALLY want to see the people suffer, simply lay off 6000 rather than effect a broad devaluation through a GENERAL salary reduction…. In the end, those 6000 will be unemployed AND the others with their “full” salaries will be impacted by a CURRENCY devaluation….with the same effect…or worse.

…a little common sense always trumps the LAW (especially laws written by brass bowls…)

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | December 10, 2013 at 11:52 AM |

Again, we beg you to call on this blog for the PM NOT to send home public sector workers or else you ac are prepared to stop supporting the administration and become a political hermit of the propaganda type.

Direct your call to him instead of trying to justify an unsustainable position of keeping on workers for which there is no money to pay them. Do you really think that the government can continue to pay public sector workers by borrowing every month? Eventually, the cost of servicing the debts will exceed the payroll cost leading to total operational breakdown since there would be no resources to purchase materials for work to be undertaken.

Did the society collapse when the Sandiford led administration sent home over 3000 and cut salaries by 8%? You are just too shame to admit that this incompetent administration was warned over and over about the stupid policies and misguided inactions it was boastfully pursuing as the only way to go. Now it is crunch time and the medicine that has to be taken is going to be twice as bitter as it was in the 1991/93 period but this time lasting twice as long to bring any curative benefits to an economy badly in need of restructuring.

Why not see the sending home of thousands of public sector workers as a blessing in disguise? At least you will see some of the arable fields and hills (many in the fertile parish of St. John) once under production but now overgrown with bush and vermin now having starving mouths and willing hands to work. You just can’t take paper qualifications to the shops; only devalued “Grantley’s”.

From the cane fields they came many years ago, to the agribusiness fields they will have to return instead of the Guyanese. What goes around comes around.
    “By the sweat of thy brow thou shall eat bread!”

5. @Gabriel

You forgot to include debt on your legacy list for BLP governments.

6. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Yes David; BLP – debt; DLP – More Debt per term.

7. This might seem off topic, but how many of you are aware that Dr. David Estwick actually acted as Prime Minister in September. It is significant but passed without any fanfare. It tells me though that Jones is still in the dog house.

8. @ Caswell
    Why don’t you stop changing the damn subject…?!?
    We need to talk about BUP.

Don’t you feel guilty criticizing the pissy politicians that we have when, even though talentless, they have AT LEAST put themselves out there to make an effort….?
    How about YOU?
    …a man with a clear talent for openness and transparency.
    …a man that believes in the rule of Law (to a fault)
    …a man that knows the damn system inside out
    …a fellow who is not driven by the love of money
    …a fellow with the required size gonads…

…and what do you do with these talents…?
    – write shiite in the anti- Barbados Nation newspaper
    – represent wuffless workers against retarded bosses
    – and dressing up in that suit that got you looking like a politician…

Man start the ting nuh!!!?

9. Crossoverv effect using debt to pay off bad debt with the poor and vulnerable caught in the cross fire the forbearers of such astrocities hould be tarfeathered and hung at high noon

10. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Caswell

The only person that has acted as PM more than Sealy (a waste of time and space) is David Estwick.

The PM is playing a patient hand knowing full well that Sinckler is deading out there in the Ministry of Finance, the greedy ass pig and likewise Sealy is constantly outing fires and plugging leaking in the Ministry of Tourism.

Jones is just not competent. This is not a rum shop or bingo game being run here, how in the name can anyone seriously consider Jones, the man is a buffoon.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jack

I am not arguing against what you have said. As far as I am concern, what you said are taken as given.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2013 at 3:19 PM |
    “Crossoverv effect using debt to pay off bad debt”

Please explain what you mean by that.

Even a consummate idiot like ac should know if you retire old debt by incurring new debt then the overall level of debt should remain the same. The only thing that should change are the interest payments which could vary as a result of higher or lower rates.

The constant disingenuous attempts by you and others to ascribe blame to the BLP for the increase in the national debt from $4.7 billion in 2008 to a whopping $10 billion today will not succeed in convincing rational people with this debt swapping fiction.

Find another excuse like the need to keep thousands of electoral fodder still on the payroll or to finance free bus fares, summer camps or constituency councils and the myriad of statutory corporations like the NHC.

13. David….I am curious…..correct me if I am wrong…..This country of ours is in dire straits…….
    Why are our MPs presently using tax payers money on eulogising a great man for the whole day,could not the two leaders have paid tribute and then advise us the people on the long awaited new direction that we are taking?
    What am I missing?

14. Miller interest payments are also debt given that the amount has risen by 6billion one can conclude that the intial debt was unsustainable in a down economy and govt effotrs to suffice creditors was to borrow which could have been at a higher interest rate.no doubt about it. placing blame is easy and those that commit such dastardly act are now shouting at the highest level for the poor and vulnerable to pay the highest price.

15. @vincent

You are not missing anything, there is a script which says every dog must have his say irrespective of the rationale.

16. Would someone please explain to me what ac means? Thanks

17. Enuff | December 10, 2013 at 5:19 PM |
    Would someone please explain to me what ac means? Thanks
    DONT WORRY ENUFF, IT IS NOT THAT YOU ARE STUPID, OR SOMETHING SO

AC DOES NOT HERSELF UNDERSTAND ANYTHING SHE WRITES ON BU

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2013 at 5:03 PM |

“Miller interest payments are also debt given that the amount has risen by 6billion one can conclude that the intial debt was unsustainable in a down economy a11nd govt effotrs to suffice creditors was to borrow which could have been at a higher interest rate”

Do you really understand what you have written here?
    Why don’t you get the other a person in the room to write on your behalf?

What you have written ‘simply’ means that the current administration has not been servicing the country’s debt obligations for the past 5 years but merely allowing interest and principal repayments due to go into arrears and accumulate as further debt.

Are you sure this is what you want to say about your most competent administration that has been telling the nation up to March 2013 every thing is stable and in good hands?

19. miller if that is your understanding so be it. the fact is that with debt the accumulative effect pays a big part in controlling that does not however means that the borrow is not paying, , where u get the notion that the govt was not paying is pure speculation. by all means the govt had to be paying however in order for some semblance of control it might have had no other choice but to borrow at higher interest rate,

@enuff

this is what i said.. THE BLP handed the DLP a basket of two barley loaves and two small fishes and now expect the DLP to feed five thousand
    bTW asked GP to explain that if u don’t understand……….

20. @ac

Really ac? Stuuuupse

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2013 at 6:31 PM |

Although you certainly did NOT benefit from EWB’s grand experiment of free universal education we are only left to presume your total lack of commonsense has been a huge impediment to you making any meaningful contribution to this thread.

It was you who entered the realm of SPECULATION. I merely offered an explanation based on knowledge and facts. An explanation that cannot be refuted by you or anyone with the requisite knowledge, reasoning and commonsense. Except, of course, the usual suspects wearing yellow labels marked “Yardfowl” arising from the George Street pen.

22. AC writes Cuntery .Plain and simple.Nothing to explain

23. Look Ll u BLP yardfowls now wht to do is try to shift the high debt and excessive borrowing multiplied by cost overruns with exhoberant projects and world cup grandstanding To the DLP. this hot mess started with the master tactacian and wunna Expect that it must be fix overnight . is that cuntery or waht Jason.

24. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@ Caswell. Finally someone else can see or at least admit that the DEMS are grossly incompetent. I would like to know if Donville’s statements are as an individual or as a MP in the DLP Cabinet, if it is the latter then we have to ask if his “views” are shared by his comrades especially Fumble. His views run counter to the “no one will be sent home” punchline the DLP won an election just 10 mths ago. I said already the DLP won the election by MASSIVE FRAUD. Now to the yardfowls and potstarvers of the DLP, it isn’t that we want people to be sent home but in this case you got to be pragmatic to halt the DAMAGE being done to the economy. Ya got a PM that adopting a laissez – faire stance causing the economic problem to get worse over 3-5yrs to the point that we got to go to the IMF that will recommend reducing the public service. How else are we going to address this $400m problem. If the DEMS had taken action EARLIER it wouldn’t have been 400m in the first place. Added to this, the Gov’t allowing salaries to be paid from the NIS fund under the guise of “investing” in the public service. That is an instant economic RED ALERT to every businessman, economist and potential investor to Barbados. The BLP advocated privatization which I feel is a valid way to reduce the burden on govt. One undesirable effect is people might be “sent home” but once the economy is shrinking that will happen anyway under any solution. I feel that once a sector has adequate competition gov’t does not need to be involved because “market forces” SHOULD benefit the “poor man” if not govt can easily introduce regulation. Hence the last BLP gov’t released its interest in banking (BNB) and now gov’t I THINK should allow the TB and CBC to be privatized ( ONCE competition is PROPERLY introduced)
    Barbados is greatly suffering from a PM that struggles to make decisions causing problems to grow and then cannot make the hard decisions to solve them. They will be “years of famine and years of plenty” A real LEADER would’ve seen this, tell the people what is the situation and make the decisions that may cause suffering in the short term but will have long term benefits. The problem with the DEMs is that they are TOO caught up in the PR, do things to hide the REAL picture but only really causing damage and sufferation.

25. David
    Debt in and of itself is not injurious to anyone or economy.The BLP did not leave a legacy of debt.What took place is that a bunch of incompetent fools took control of the Ministry of Finance and Planning and a double fool was voted Primus inter pares by his poor rakey coterie of nincompoops.They promised not to lie,cheat or steal and they have done that with some aplomb that 6000 public sector workers are having the jitters for Christmas.
    Again,debt in and of itself is not bad.Most of us have attained assets through debt arrangements.The key is paying those debts principal and interest when due and if you are lucky to have a windfall,put that towards reducing your debt obligations.I believe that the BLP are more careful managers of the economy of Barbados if their track record is anything to go by.But why do you not look at the Gross Domestic Product of the country for the period 1980 to 2010.Barbados did well whenever the BLP controlled the government.Concomittantly,the country did very poorly whenever the DLP took control except during the brief period when EWB returned to Bay St.The moment Sandy took over the place turn upside down beginning 1989 and lasting to 1994.From 2008 we took a nose dive again and are still going down the hill.
    Therefore the DLP is more aptly described as a Destructive Lying Party.
    Sandy lied,the dead king lied and stole and cheated and the silent one lied through his false teeth when he promised the electorate,no public servants going home,no touching of the free bus fares,constituency councils,day camps,no privitization,the economy is doing well and plans are afoot for a new hospital,a new port,an airport in St Lucy spoken of by Kelly,Pickering on stream and the Pope was relocating to Barbados and the monsignor was going to the vatican.All ye like sheep,are led astray by insipid lying cheating thieving poor rakey parliamentarians and their nefarious fatted calf brigade that make bajans sick as hell.,People just falling down dead and people getting sick with worry all because of liars in power and looking after their leprous thieving party hacks.Who at the hellum?Anybody?

26. Gabriel
    Are you the angel ?
    You speak truth in a way that has not been spoken before

27. Until M.P’s stop the blame game and seriously address the economy in a matured manner, this country will sink and this government will have to carry the blame. It seems min of Finance thinks he is too big to take advice from the opposition, this behaviour is childish and should be abandoined while ALL m.P’s put heir heads together and save this country.

28. I hear a bunch of disgruntled BLP yardfowls cackling . Stupse !

29. @David
    “It seems like yesterday when we had the likes of Tom Adams, Henry Forde, Richard Cheltenham, Lois Tull, Billie Miller, Bernard St. John,”

Contrast that with the current BLP – the worst opposition this country has ever had, even with large numbers and the full backing of the largest newspaper and radio station in the country, this group of BLP jokers cannot put credible and serious alternatives on the table.

Led by the Chief “eavesdropper” and “wiretapper” Mottley who Clyde Mascoll called the worst Minister Of Education, this country ever had – read the auditor General’s report about what she allowed to happen under her watch as Minister of Education with tax payers money at St. Leonard’s School or under her watch at Glendairy Prison and the massive amounts of squadermania at the Crab Hill Police station project while she was attorney general- these are undisputed facts.
    Then we have Kerrie Symmonds – ask Dr. Boolani about his integrity or lack thereof. 95% talk and very little action. I will leave the BLP league of hypocrites, sorry I mean women to talk about the domestic violence issue.

Glyne “wuk fa wuk” Clarke – Country Park towers abandoned, 26 000 waiting for housing solutions at the NHC after 14 years of BLP so called housing policy.
    I do not even have to touch that waste of space called Dale Marshall or George Payne who created the Al Barrack problem for taxpayers while collecting a tidy sum in legal fees.
    Wake up Barbados, the BLP opposition is piss poor and would be a million times worse than the current administration.
    So when Caswell talks about incompetence, tell him check his pals in Roebuck Street first, he will find plenty there.

30. and bajan fuh life don”t forget them solar water heaters OSA promised to get from the Nigerian company still waiting…….the billions of dollars this BLP vagabonds lost and have been unaccounted for is maddening.

31. not going to be stopping of anytblame game here .so wunna could get that out of wunna head , when the economic bleeding stop then maybe the BLP would catch a break. until then all gloves are on .fist cuffs and elbows involved.

32. Bajanfuhlife | December 10, 2013 at 9:28 PM |

this group of BLP jokers cannot put credible and serious alternatives on the table
    —————————————
    Bare SHITE !! from the above -Bajanfuhshite
    Stupid talk !
    ——————————————
    Put alternatives my ass
    Put them to who

The opposition does not have to put any alternative to these bunch of jokers – THE WORST GOVERNMENT EVER IN THE HISTORY OF BARBADOS .,
    You all get and vote for these shite hungs and instead of admitting that you all did NONSENSE , you looking to drag the BLP into wunna mess. You all stinking dogs cannot stop telling lies.
    The DLP has always been a frigging failure. This is nothing new so I dont know what shite you tawking
    Alternatives my ass !!
    Tell lies to get a Government and now cant get um run –and tawking shite bout the BLP
    wUNNA IS THE PHUCKING GOVERNMENT—RUN UM

I HATE TO HEAR SHITE TALK

33. wake the town and tell the people

JUST ASKING IS BACK
    BACK IN THE DLP CRUTCH
    Tormenting their (o)

34. How do you justify a 65 year old man who is large and in charge at the biggest Ministry and who deliberately treats an 18 year old school leaver that is desirous of learning the skill of carpentry as though they were garbage. On October 15 and 16, 2013 this incident happened when the youngster was sent to this man, who told him to come back the next day at 8:00 a.m. and never turned up for the ‘meeting’ with the youngster until 10:00 a.m. the youngster was sitting outside his door waiting for him to come and when he arrived said to the youngster that he do not have anything to say to him. But he can remain their until he can fix him, this wait period was until 12:30 p.m. and after a series of remarked directed to the youngster like ‘he is stupid,’ ‘he foolish.’ I don’t want him here because I do not have anything to say to him.’ The youngster was setup, entrapped and then shamefully ‘fired’ after having signed a three-year Contract to be employed as an Apprentice Carpenter, had enrolled at the SJPP and started to attend theory classes in Carpentry which he was so enthusiastic about. He was so fussy to be able to learn a skill and make useful contribution to society, but he was never a favourite of the 65 yer old man. He is a resident of the nearby district, Pinelands and historically not many people are favoured from this area to be employees of this ministry/ His mother should not have sought this opportunity for him, so she is literally slapped in her face by this act of contempt by the ;man’ in charge. the youngster was not favoured to become a valued employee. Ask Caswell what he did to him when he was a member of the NUP;.or the man who was seeking help with the operation of a compressor, that man is now disabled as result of this man’s callous attitude, he told the man that ‘he do not want work’ instead of getting him the needed assistance of someone to assist him with the operation of the compressor. there are many more people who have been hurt, demoralised, unfaired and shot because of this 65 year old man.

35. And baker who is this man does he have a name………if U are right about the allegations u have levelled at “this man” then fully exposed him. name and all

36. People like this are still in the Society causing plenty damage
    Heads of Government departments, supervisors and people in charge have hurt and cause pain to a lot of working persons over the years.

37. David….Did you hear the VOB 12.30 just now…..it mentioned the soon departure of the IMF and a possible date for the Nation to be addressed by our Leader….I missed the date…do you know the date?

38. GABY punching above his/her weight!!!

Bajanfuhlife finds his/herself in partisan skidrow!!! LOL

The rest of the political, ideological & religious “gangstas” on BU are looking for any excuse to lob some kerosine oil into the dying embers of what is increasingly becoming a “FAILED STATE” (if it continues on its present tract)!

David (BU) – one of the few voices in BIM spitting “REASON” (a brotha’ with superior knowledge, insight and the ability to incite the polarization of ideas on both sides of the spectrum) while at the same time he recognizes that giving BAJANS a “VOICE” as well as (properly) educating them about the 3 sides of argument – (your side, my side & then the “TRUTH”)!

Kinda’ make you wonder what the ADVOCATE & NATION doing to move the people from being DUMB SHEEP to proactive revolutionaries? But that’s the mainstream MEDIA for ya’!

As this topical piece pertinently implies – (MOTLEY CREW) LOL – a bunch a “FOOLS” who are leading a DEAF, DUMB & BLIND nation down the creek! “And the people seem to like it so”!

On a more serious note guys –

(1) We are witnessing tonite, a revolution in KIEV, Ukraine which will bring the gov’t to its knees!

PEOPLE POWER!!! CAN’T BEAT PEOPLE POWER!!!

(2) The URUGUAY gov’t has just “LEGALIZED” (CANNABIS) in its country given the MULTI-BILLION $$$$$$ asset this HEMP PLANT is and the “TAX”, JOBS & INVESTMENT that will ensue from the pharmacopeia that emerges from CANNABINOIDS! Let’s not forget the “MULTIPLE” applications “HEMP” has!

(3) Today, STUDENTS* from across the UK are out in their 1000’s to demonstrate in the streets of LONDON because last week a police officer punched a student in the face… Let us not forget LONDON 2011!

(4) ANTI-FRACKING protestors (NATIVE PEOPLES) in Canada’s midwest have been holding BIG BUSINESS & the Harper gov’t over the coal flame in order that they account for any damage to their way of life, ecology but especially their ground water!

Need I go on?

What is the “PROBLEM” in BARBADOS?

39. Anon….
    We are docile…..we are sheeple and need a leader…..Why not apply,loads of perks available,based on what is written on the bloggs…

40. @Vincent

Missed it!

41. @Vincent

Heard it at 5:30, pundits expect the government will make a statement by end of week to signal the market government’s plans.

BU has it on good authority the government has met with the union.

42. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

This is FS moment of weakness. Expect a challenge.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Back in Time Jack | December 11, 2013 at 6:42 PM |

Any viable challenge can only come from Donville. He senses his moment in time and could make a bid for the position, not of PM at this point in time, but that of MoF.
    Chances of a coup d’état to replace Fumble are very farfetched since he is holding the ace card of calling elections and bringing down his own government (with his full pension intact) like the sword of Damocles over the heads of the other jokers in the pack.

44. Bermuda reduced their CABINET
    Hint to Barbados

45. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Miller

A promotion of Donville to MoF brings the short lived Stuart administration to an end.

46. The Government will not make any statement this close to Xmas
    I will bet your money on it…..

New year–1st week

I will bet your money on it

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Back in Time Jack | December 11, 2013 at 7:35 PM |

Who would rebel against this move other than David Estwick?
    The current holder who has run out of bullshit would be only too glad to be relieved of a job in which he has been terribly a miserable abject failure. Sinkliar would only be too glad to getaway from the fire and take a ministry like Foreign Affairs until he qualifies for full pension.

But why would Estwick want to take on such stressful responsibilities to save Fumble’s ass? He is not too well a man and prone to severe mood swings. He will never become PM as long as the boisterously ambitious Donville is around and Leroy Parris has financial clout in that party among the “Thompsonites”.

48. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Leroy cannot even keep a bank account in Barbados and you talking about him wielding power? Stupse………..don’t be ridiculous man.

FS can’t afford just one rebel. Estwick will walk and FS knows that only too well, remember the swearing in and the long nights of shitting bricks until oil was thrown on the water?