Minister Donville Inniss is at it again!

Minister Donville Inniss has acquired the reputation as the most strident in the Stuart cabinet, although not in the same vain as Minister Kellman. Speaking on behalf of himself he was quick to say, he pontificated that “I was always of the view that the public service is too big and needs to be reduced”. Many agree with the minister, especially those who proffered a similar view in the lead in to the last general elections less than a year ago. To be fair to the minister he magnanimously ascribed blame to successive governments for swelling the ranks of the familiarly known ‘army of occupation’ through the years.

It is evident that Donville, the Cabinet Crier, is privy to to the best kept secret in Barbados, which is, public servants will have to go home. Of course no sane Barbadian wants to see anyone put on the breadline but there is the inevitability as a result of government’s piss poor financial state.

What is sad about the state of affairs in Barbados is that we are to be blamed. We have allowed political patrimony and mendicancy to become paramount. All for the sake of the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party propping up populist ideals. Here we are at this dark place AGAIN because party interest trumped national interest. We are here because ‘educated’ Barbadians decided to toe the party lie or disengage from the system.

But are we surprised? Many who comprised the motley group who now litter the House of Assembly do so to suck hard on the nipples of the treasury. Before being elected to parliament some managed fledgling law and medical practices, sold flour and fried fish, talk sweet to a microphone, work at a hotel when not trying to brew a failed lager. Many if not all of them are clueless about managing a budget of more than $100,000 and worse yet effectively managing people.

It seems like yesterday when we had the likes of Tom Adams, Henry Forde, Richard Cheltenham, Lois Tull, Billie Miller, Bernard St. John, Don Blackman, Brandford Taitt involved in government.  Even with their faults the few names mentioned easily exposed the intellectual paucity which now pollutes our highest law making organ.

The big irony is that whether you agreed with Sandiford when he slashed public pay by 8% and sent some home a few, governments who followed had the opportunity to keep the public service lean. Twenty years and billions spent on education later we have come full circle.

154 responses to “The Motley Crew Who Govern”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

We all saw the shit coming in the direction of the fan longtime ago. But the question for the present time is whether the man in charge intends to keep the Cabinet at the same size after he sends home thousands of public sector workers.
    What sacrifices are this man and his goons prepared to make in the interest of the country and to lead by example?
    Let us see if he would make an example out of Donville the rebel who is quite prepared to overthrow him at the quickest opportunity.

2. @Miller,
    Your words: “…a few, governments who followed had the opportunity to keep the public service lean. ” There was only one government since Sandiford, not a few. The one you don’t like me to harp back to, and the present one that you want to do the dirty work, and clean up the mess you(they) left.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 9, 2013 at 10:12 PM |

Your contention would be worthy of consideration if you can explain to us on BU how and why the public sector workforce increased by over 5,000 from 2008 to February 2013. Is it of the result of the guests invited to feast on the fatted calf which is now all skin and bones and they have to leave the scene of the carcass for fear of fiscal botulism?

4. Donville Inniss is setting up himself to be the next Leader of the Opposition. He jumps in everywhere making silly speeches without giving much thought to what he is saying. Did he know that the Public Service was too large when the DLP went about the country in February pledging not to send home any public servants while at the same time swelling the ranks with unnecessary workers just to buy their votes.

If he and his colleagues were aware of the need to make cuts prior to the elections, and I believe that they did, it would suggest that they are a bunch of deceitful liars, who would tell any lie just to win.

They were in possession of the economic data prior to the elections and lied when they promise no layoffs. It means that they withheld vital information and lied to win the elections. As a result, people voted for them in ignorance and they should now seek a new mandate from the people.

Mind you, in all fairness to Sinckler, I don’t think that he lied deliberately: he repeated what the others told him, he does not have the capacity to understand the economic data. After all, he did not appreciate that there was a difference between 0.7 and 0.07.

On the other hand, Inniss understands and should not be seen as washing his hands of the mess. Speaking for himself my foot! Nobody would want to hear him if he weren’t a government minister.

By the way, stop this nonsense about Sandiford. He was a disaster who deliberately created a mess and wants and is given credit for attempting to clean it up. Prior to the 1991 General Elections, his Government started to spend money like drunken sailors in order to win without a thought to any adverse consequences. That caused the crisis and some among us would have us forget.

5. Inniss should be advising the Prime Minister that the Cabinet is to large. Most of them have nothing to do but draw a salary. The country is in crisis and rather than give it his all trying to find solutions, Inniss finds time to run the DLP as its General Secretary. It just shows that his job as a minister of Government is not a priority.

By the way, the Constitution provides that there can be a PM and five ministers to form the Cabinet. There is definitely room for cuts at that level.

6. @David “the motley group who now litter the House of Assembly do so to suck hard on the nipples of the treasury. Before being elected to parliament some managed fledgling law and medical practices, sold flour and fry fish, talk sweet to a microphone, work at a hotel when not trying to brew a failed lager.”

Cuh dear David. You don’t think ya being too hard on de fellas

7. @Caswell Franklyn “Donville Inniss….Did he know that the Public Service was too large when the DLP went about the country in February pledging not to send home any public servants while at the same time swelling the ranks with unnecessary workers just to buy their votes…If he and his colleagues were aware of the need to make cuts prior to the elections, and I believe that they did, it would suggest that they are a bunch of deceitful liars, who would tell any lie just to win..Inniss should be advising the Prime Minister that the Cabinet is to large.. the Constitution provides that there can be a PM and five ministers to form the Cabinet. There is definitely room for cuts at that level.”

Wuh you saying Caswell? That the Don is a liar? That the Cabinet is waaayyy, waaayyy too big. That the job cuts should state in Cabinet?

Hee!! heee!! hee!!! it would be funny if Freundel cut the Don first.

8. Can you blame Donville? The man name politician……In case some of you don’t know what that is…” Is all about ME”……”wanna ole talk duz bounce off MY back like water pon a duck”…..” Just re-elect ME and I will make more promises all over again”….”If the ship is sinking, don’t blame ME is the ressa DEM fault…it is ALL about ME and not THEE?”

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon

I am getting very angry with this lot. They are shamelessly incompetent and like rats on sinking ship, they’re all looking to save themselves none more so than Donville Inniss. It would seem that there is no honour among Dems.

They are about to abandon a main plank of their campaign and the only honourable thing to do would be to call fresh elections. But behaving honourably is the last thing that I expect of this Government. You would sooner see pigs fly. These guys want to secure their pensions even if Barbados has to sink in the process.

A popular government was just forced by the people of Thailand to call fresh elections because that government was seen as corrupt and incompetent.

Bajans, it is time to take to the streets in peaceful protest.

Oh, by the way, remember when I was called a liar and a street character when I disclosed that there would be layoffs in the Public Service. My sources now tell me that of the 6,000 people to go home, 550 teachers are slated to be among that number.

10. Sadly the people have no good alternative given the tenuous position MAM finds herself supported by all the infighting. What can do except change until something better comes along. Remember BU has been a stuck record on the issue of confidence or lack of it.

Nothing will improve until there is a steelier resolve we can do better. Sadly the private sector people are saying one thing publicly and another away from the glare of the public. Donvile is only echoing what his Rotary buddies are saying. They want their man in the mixup.

11. “My sources now tell me that of the 6,000 people to go home, 550 teachers are slated to be among that number.”
    I implore you to keep your information to yourself because whenever you reveal the administration reacts by changing plans for the worst further sinking the sinking ship faster.

12. why the jubilation?

13. We have had a problem at the Transport Board for years, what has been done to fix it? NOTHING.

14. if six thousand public workers lose their jobs there is nothing to be jubliant about especially when the fallout going to cost the taxpayers more and especially when the private sector would follow the same path.what the minister says is not a quick fix and a short term solution but a plan of addition pain with little gain. barbados does not have a private sector that is self sufficient enough to help shoulder the fallout from what the minister proposes and in the long run all would suffer,

15. The government has promised that it will be implementing a central revenue authority yet deny people will be displaced.

16. i meaning wunna blp yardfowls up and about early cackling like bald pooch hens like the minister found the Midas touch for solving the problems of the economy.steupse…….

17. BU remembers a firey and emotional speech in parliament by Denis Lowe defending his ministry hiring hundreds of people to walk about Barbados and cut down bush and then they could not be paid. And for what? For the whole country to burn. These guys have no concept of budget planning or discipline.

But there was an election in the air.

18. prime minister said everything is on the table BUT layoff would be a last resort…what so hard to understand about that, However wunna so desperate to be proven right wunna using scatterbrain reasoning to satisfy wunna point of view and looking to innis comments as proof

19. @ac

Can’t you get it through your skull the government is broke and to access funds from external financial institutions conditions will apply? Where is the jubilation? We are angry.

20. so innis float a trial balloon in the air, with the notion of PRIVATIZATION. which was rejected by the public about two years ago when floated by the then PM OSA.

21. During the just concluded general election didn’t the same PM promise no layoffs? Guess what, there is a YouTube to prove it. Even at this stage you can’t hide your stripes. Yardfowls indeed!

22. So u angry… Then do your share how about paying more taxes? u can afford it,, Why make the poor and vulnerable pay the heaviest price like putting them out of work, they have families too and bills to pay, i haven’t read where these peoples livelihoods are of a great concern by any of these comments. it is as if the laying off of thousand of people is aproper and right thing to do . is their a social and moral component attached to these decisions or it is just that we as a people only REALLY care about what is best for ourselves and to hell with the other guy,

23. ” The big irony is whether you agreed with Sandiford when he slashed public (servants) pay by 8 per cent and sent home a few thousand (of them), governments who followed had the opportunity to keep the public service lean”. A representation of what was stated in the last paragraph of the above lead article. The words in brackets are ours.

The author of that point in the last paragraph is very true.

We have been saying it on this BU network and in many places, that the size of the government is too big, and that it is unwieldy, inefficient, unrational and unproductive.

The fact is that the Owen Arthur BLP governments and the Thompson/Stuart governments must be condemned for bringing about this very unholy disgraceful state of affairs of swelling the ranks of the public service of this country.

These governments were more concerned about their narrow selfish partisan political agendas than about what was good and right in the national interests.

They have been in the process of the swelling the ranks of the public service with many workers causing massive political, material and financial problems for this country.

They have been destroying many of the opportunities for greater private sector generated material productive growth and development in this country.

Former prime minister Mr Owen Arthur, in particular, must be castigated for his contribution to this very grave debacle. For, we recall that in the 1994 general election campaign that Arthur had promised hordes of voters that there would have been coming out of the very austere 1991-1994 period, export led growth and private sector led growth in this country. But very contrary to those very laudable ideas, Arthur, as Prime Minister and MInister of Finance for near fourteen years (and as Minister of Economic Affairs for a lesser number of those years) helped to make sure that there was instead import led material stagnation decline and government led material stagnation decline in this country.

While the slogan of 30000 jobs helped to ensure victory for the BLP in two general elections (1994 and 1999), the fact that a sizeable number of those jobs went in the direction of the public sector meant the exercise’s contribution to eventual financial havoc for this country, and especially in a context where Arthur brought to fruition the evil wicked VAT upon the remunerations of the more efficient more rational more productive private sector; got many excessive credit transfers (so-called loans) from many local and external financial institutions; and manipulated countless false fictitious financial numbers in government’s accounting books.

So, rather than helping to further reduce the government sector below the levels that he found when he became prime minister, and rather than helping to further reduce the levels of chronic social welfare dependency by many people and businesses on the government on acceding to prime ministerial office, Arthur, as Prime Minister, helped to do the opposite, and helped to create the massive political material and financial problems that currently face the country.

24. Quote “THE PM SAYS NO LAYOFFS>>> so far have there been any ,,,,,,,,,,,,,so then David where have the PM gone back on his word. Speculation is not evidence as being bandied about on her on bU as a daily occurrence, Now show the prove ! the problem is that with a weakened economy choices of any and all kind would be made but this hyperventilation of strike while the iron is hot makes good political banter but the bottom line is WHO and what will be impacted before making major decisions the kinds the BLP yardfowls relish with thought of winning the next election.

25. People in Barbados are aware layoffs have been taking place just not in hight numbers.

26. @ Caswell
    “I am getting very angry with this lot”
    …angry enough to BUP?

27. If layoffs come in the public service, the private sector will follow. Many Barbadians will have to migrate to find something to do to help themselves and families left behind. I hope the receiving countries will not treat Bajans like how Bajans treated non-nationals when they too had economic challenges in their countries and tried to find something to do in Barbados.. “Ever so welcome wait for a call”. Be careful what you do, or say in life, it can come back to haunt you.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2013 at 6:57 AM |
    “So u angry… Then do your share how about paying more taxes?”

How about getting the incompetent and corrupt DLP administration to go after Greenverbs to collect the hundreds of thousands due in income tax which he evaded like the artful dodger in collaboration with his crooked cronies like Thornhill and Thompson.

Greenverbs’ remuneration package over the years was channeled away from the PAYE tax next as payment for management services to private companies he owned and solely controlled. Not only did the fraud engage in tax evasion but also laundering of money from criminal activities involving the same tax evasion schemes.
    Why do you think the overseas-owned banks have refused to accept his dirty ill-gotten money for fear of being tarnished and sued by international lawyers appointed by the aggrieved policyholders?
    Let him take his money to the credit union controlled by the NUPW where he has big friends in high place to accommodate him in the continuing breaking of the law.

Please tell us ac, since your hubby has gone back to guiding your pen with his hand who would you call now the Prophets of Doom & Gloom, if not Inniss backed by the puppetry in the Cabinet now fully invaded by termites?

29. Isn’t it apparent now that to change the constitution to prevent future reductions in public service pay was a foolish gesture born out of hubris and political expediency? Which is better, laying off thousands, or reducing their pay? If it was my job I know which I would choose.

30. @ Peltdownman
    Agreed!
    That had to be one of the most stupid pieces of legislation ever conceptualized….

It is like ….
    “last time you had a heart attack the EMT applied CPR and saved your life….but he broke a rib in the process……we hereby pledge that we will NEVER again apply that terrible CPR shiite….so help us God….” 🙂
    …brass bowls…

31. @Bush Tea

Hopefully you have factored the constant variable? The ability of the government to change or not change public sector renumeration does not change the stupid policies which have brought us to this place, again.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Peltdownman

Reducing employee’s pay, without his /her consent, is dismissal anywhere outside the Public Service is tantamount to dismissal. Why should public officers have least favourable employment terms and conditions of employment than everyone else? It is even wrongful to reduce the salaries of employees of statutory boards without their individual consent.

Reducing salaries only become necessary when the Government so poorly manages the economy and they seek to correct the problems by punishing public officers, rather than take the blame for their poor performance.

If any member of the current Cabinet were a private sector CEO and they were performing so badly, the board of directors would have dismissed them long ago. Fortunately for them they are in effect the board of directors, so the only thing left is a shareholder rebellion.

33. @ Caswell Franklyn | December 9, 2013 at 11:02 PM |

Excellent post! Excellent synopsis!

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Stop writing crap! Why should public officers suffer because of the Government’s incompetence? The members of the Government should suffer the consequences of their massive spending, around election time, in order to win at the polls.

Reducing an employee’s pay is not an option that should be available to any employer.

35. Employmf!ut
    The number of persons employed rose from 100,200 in
    1981 to 107,000 in 1991. However, the recession in the early
    1990s and the data adjustment discussed earlier, resulted in a
    significant decline in employment to 100,400 persons in 1993.
    Since then, employment has gradually increased, with the
    number of persons employed reaching 125,900 in 2000 (see Table
    7.3).
    In 1981, government and other service-oriented
    businesses were the largest employers, accounting for 37.1 per
    cent of total employment, followed by commerce and tourism
    (23.4 per cent), and manufacturing (14 per cent). In 2000,
    although government and other services along with commerce
    and tourism were still the leading sectors for employment,
    construction and quarrying, which has grown steadily since
    1981, replaced manufacturing as the third largest source of
    employnlent, accounting for some 13.8 per cent of total
    enlployment.”

36. The public service remains Barbados’ largest single employer. Total labour force has increased from 126,000 in 1993 to 140,000 persons in 2000, and unemployment has dropped significantly from over 20% in the early 1990s to 9.3% at the end of 2000.(IS THIS A GOOD ACHIEVMENT OR BAD ONE ?)

37. “The ability of the government to change or not change public sector renumeration does not change the stupid policies which have brought us to this place, again.”

WE DO NOT USUALLY SING IN THE SAME CHOIR BUT WELL SAID, DAVID.

38. The sorry situation in which Barbados now finds itself is not cause for jubilation, ac, it has us all angry as David said.

I kept all the election newspapers and was checking through them to actually see what Donville Inniss was saying in February. He is a cold blooded liar. This DLP government needs to be impeached for lying to the Barbadian electorate just to win an election.

The DLP’s chickens have come home to roost! We take no pleasure in saying so…………….Barbadians are the biggest losers!

39. Inniss was always of the view that the public services was too big but yet he and his cohorts could care less since they kept on employing more people just to get a vote…i pity those who were naive enough to vote them back into power. the whirlwind is upon us

40. If u miller always go back to your political hubris. as gline clarke said recently the BLP has no answers……..are we forgetting that these thousands of public workers are consumers a vital and necessary ingredient to the economy and that the exit of thousands would be devastating on the consumption of goods and services with an impact for more business closure. So what then has the govt gain a few million dollars social upheveal and economic armageddon

41. The simple truth of the matter is that the DLP cant drive
    If you a vehicle in a non-driver’s hand/driving will be hard and dangerous/corners too sharp/seeing ahead too difficult/braking impossible/over a cliff-quite possible—when you have a driver who cant drive and wonders how the BLP does it

The DLP simply
    CANNOT DRIVE
    so everything is difficult for them/accidents will result/and you know what can happen with accidents

42. A-ngela C-ox why dont you STHU, yardfowl! You really intend to sink with the ship.

43. ac.please,…… Inniss as usual is blowing his self-serving hot air, he should speak of the bloated cabinet that also needs to be trimmed by at least 10 bodies and those ridiculous salaries from which the taxpayers are not seeing any great returns. Him (as well as the other idiots) need to refrain and resist at every turn mouthing that the IMF cannot dictate to Barbados, cause, if Credit Suissse does not get that report from IMF Barbados will get NO MONEY…..and the IMF REGIME will definitely be dictating financial policies going forward for Barbados if there is no clear policy to rescue the island coming from the ones who claim they know what they are doing..

44. The general tenor of this discussion will only lead to a change of government, DLP for BLP, and that will make no difference. We do not consider that current policies are any worse than former policies, in the main. And where would such a short sighted re-alignment leave us. The same place we are now, or worse. Our own judgment that any ‘Motley’ crew will be as ineffectual as any other. In other words, no part of the system is able to do any better. It is when the commentariat realizes this, that we would have reached critical mass and the beginning of the end.

45. Pacha said:
    ” Our own judgment that any ‘Motley’ crew will be as ineffectual as any other. In other words, no part of the system is able to do any better. ”

If the local politicians can only recognize that the world has moved way past being a political game they would see there is no longer any need to be continually performing for their equally idiotic yardfolwls……what will it take for them to notice that the jig is up.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2013 at 10:26 AM |

Why are you aiming your vitriol against the miller and not at the executioner of the programme to send home thousands of public sector workers?

It is at Donville you should be aiming your caustic barbs of hypocritical concern for those poor long suffering workers taken on for pure electoral advantage in the DlP’s zest to carve up the fatted calf. We know you would not be so concern in the least bit if the retrenchment net was being cast only at those hired between 1995 and 2007.
    Ask yourself how is the government going to pay workers for doing nothing in a contracting economy. Are you going to pay them with cut-plate or monopoly money? Why should the private sector have to carry the full burden in order to continue to prop up a most unproductive an inefficient public sector starting at the apex where the Cabinet of incompetents reign insulated from any sacrifices ordinary workers are required to make?

47. Miller……we all know that none of the politicians in this corner of the world is nor will they ever be a Nelson Mandela, but jeesh, they could at least have a goddamn conscience and take a salary cut., why must it always be the taxpayers only in Bim making and taking sacrifices.

48. The choice is clear.The DLP is the worse thing to have happened to Barbados.The BLP would therefore be the logical choice and in any case the BLP has a good track record.Airport,Seaport,QEH,ABC Highway,Govt funded secondary education and add-ons,Credit Unions,Tenantry Act,Health Services and counting,in other words there is a tangibleness about the BLP that is in your face.

49. @ Well Well

We disagree! They should take a 100% salary cut, retroactively, then walk the lenghts and breath of Barbados, stopping at every house, begging Bajans for forgiveness for all the wickedness done in our names.

50. Both Bees and Dees!