Henderson Bovell

The downgrade by Standard and Poors is proof that, you can hijack the truth – even hold it hostage for a short time (as it is now crystal clear the DLP did before the February 2013 general elections) but “truth” will always escape and expose you, as the DLP is now finding out.

Before the February elections, Barbadians were assured by the same DLP that said that: it will not “cheat;” it will not “steal” and it will not “lie” – that the economy was “stable.” But soon after February, “truth” was able to escape and the country heard “for the first time” (despite an alleged report to the nation during the general election campaign when nothing was said) that the QEH could not pay a multi-million-dollar bill for medicines and that the Transport Board had spent $30 million it did not have and having done that – licked-out an overdraft for a further $10 million. You see part of why Barbados is in serious trouble?

Trademark fiscal recklessness like the Transport Board spending that $40 million it did not have  – will hardly escape the Auditor General but it constitutes the same cost overrun the dems  said will not happen – under a DLP Government?  Do you see why you need to urgently reel-in the DLP and why no patriotic person in Barbados; sensible person within the Caribbean or  respected institutions around the world –  have confidence in the DLP; trust them or want to risk taking them seriously?

The Country was suppose to be “stable” but the Barbados economy is smaller now than in 2008! Stable, but the Foreign Reserves ‘nose-dived:’ from over  $3.7 billion in 2008 to less than $1 billion by September 2013: and the free fall continues!

The DLP brought policies in the August budget to reverse this trend, yet $400 million in foreign reserves has been lost since June. Clearly, those policies are flawed because the fiscal deficit is $117 million worse than it was in 2012!

So when a budget is presented, policies outlined and then there has to be an adjustment to the adjustment of the policy that was already adjusted – you know confusion when you hear it. Little wonder that the only “certainty” is that the economy is down by 0.7% and predicted to fall by a further 1.1 per cent in 2014.

If you still do not think the time is right to panic – or to put up your economic hurricane shutters – then consider that the VAT was increase by 2.5% from 15% to 17.5% – yet VAT receipts are down by $35 million.
I could probable go on to say that Corporation Tax is down $59 million or that Government’s overall revenue is $140 million less, yet despite this – the DLP continues to spend recklessly, to the extent that it owes over $700 million in arrears – all across Barbados; within the region and internationally. Perhaps then you will begin to better understand  the recent S&P downgrade of Barbados.

The real point in all this is, having said that it is responding to a persistent current account deficit and a high fiscal deficit -the downgrade by S&P is essentially: “a vote of no confidence” in the Government’s fiscal and economic policies –  a portfolio for which Sinckler is responsible.

You must recall that only a few weeks ago, the BLP brought a ‘no confidence motion’ against the Minister of Finance and instead of defending the interest of Barbados – those 15 DLP Parliamentarians in the Lower House – voted that they have full confidence in the Minister. It means that not only the Cabinet of Barbados but all 15 DLP Parliamentarians have already communicated to their respective constituencies – that they accept “full;” “equal” and “total responsibility” for the fiscal and economic direction in which the country is heading. It gets worse: “ALL” of them told you, that the country is and was: “STABLE.” Clearly now, that could not have been the truth! They must therefore be held accountable, especially having promised ‘good governance’ and that they ‘will not lie!’

Moody’s downgrade to “JUNK” and this S&P downgrade, in which they (like consumers and investors) clearly have “no confidence in the policies of the DLP” – suggests to Barbadians, that the way forward is: either, fresh and urgent general elections or an IMF/DLP Programme of austerity and suffering, perhaps one where the pain and human suffering will be even more severe than 1991.

But, why should you suffer when you had absolutely no reason to doubt that the country was other than “stable?” They promised “change” and that they will not “lie.” That they did – is a fundamental breach of truth, justifying fresh and urgent general elections.

People of Barbados, given the continuous decline, your collective call for fresh and urgent general elections is affirmative action by you to  protect your and Barbados’ interest, whereas to do nothing – is to most certainly commit to a DLP/IMF Programme of pain but definitely – to  allow DLP Ministers to safeguard their pension, while you suffer.

Choose one!

135 responses to “Choose Bajans: Urgent Fresh Elections or an IMF/DLP Programme of Austerity and Suffering Even Worse Than 1991?”

1. The economy is in recession, according to the central bank, yet not a word has been said about it.

2. Elections? Pray tell how? lmao

3. My good man, all what you have written may be true but the reason people generally have no enthusiastic desire for change is because of the sycophantic behaviour of political apologists like you when your party hold the reins of power. Appointed because of party allegiance and not because of competency to see after some aspect of Governance through party affiliation, your behaviours suggest one on a mission of self ascribed importance and self-centredness not one of betterment for the country and people. Parties lose elections because of such folly.

4. Extracted from VOB’s Stetson Babb Facebook Page:

News keeps following me even when I’m on vacation. Catch some buckets of water folks. BWA workers planning to go on strike from this morning.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

All that you have said would suggest that there is a need for fresh elections, but who would replace the current administration. A government led by Mia Mottley? Don’t make me laugh!

6. I want to hear the alternative solutions to get us out of this mess when ” we decide to make a change”, not tired rhetoric

7. The news that Standard and Poor’s has again downgraded the long term sovereign credit rating of the government of Barbados from “BB+” to “BB-“, has not come as a surprise to us at all, although we did not expect it so soon given that, in a post earlier in the week, under another thread on BU, we did lend some credence to essence of the Tony Best written story in the Nation newspaper of Tuesday, November 19, 2013, which suggested that the Standard and Poor’s downgrade could have happened in months ahead.

Well, that was a miscalculation, indeed.

For, according to news.co.tt/public_hotmail – and other second hand internet sources, the downgrade took place yesterday, Wednesday, November 20, 2013.

That website – in referencing the Standard and Poor’s analysis behind the downgrade – stated, et al, that the downgrade “reflects the mounting external pressures associated with a persistent current account deficit and external financial challenges as well as ongoing high fiscal deficits largely because of a substantial fall in government revenue as a result of the weak economy”, and that “Barbados’ economic fundamentals continue to weaken, reflecting competitiveness and other structural shortcomings, as well as an only slowly recovering global economy.”

Indeed, we have been promulgating, and will continue to promulgate, that if the broad masses and middle classes of people do NOT permanently remove the DLP and the BLP from the political governmental landscape of this country in less than 5 yrs, that this country will become in many respects like Jamaica was in the 70s, 80s, 90s and even up to this point in time where the same Jamaica has reached a point of no return on its current dedevelopment ruinous trajectory.

Therefore, all right thinking progressive patriotic Barbados must in great numbers get up and rid this country of these evil parasitic stupid factions, before this once fair prosperous country becomes like how Jamaica is right now.

For it is both those idiotic factions that are directly primarily responsible for the worsening dedevelopmental ruinous stage to which this country has come.

Moreover, these change inspired significant groups of Barbadians must – in replacing these intellectually politically backward and discredited disorganizations- also install very disciplined coalition building progressive nationalist developmentalist people centered parties to help run the affairs of this country at the highest broadest levels.

So, this is not the time in Barbados to be so much debating any Standard and Poor’s downgrade and the adverse implications of it on the country affairs. NO, NO, NO! This is the time more than ever before for a serious call to popular action – for the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country to do all within their might and within the law too to permanently remove these jack o lanterns from the parliament of this country.

That is what is needed now more than ever before to save this country from further utter and certain social material financial degradation, decline and ruin at the hands of those dolts and fools.

8. Omission,

In the PDC post above, third line, first paragraph, the following was omitted from between the words Barbados and from: “, this time,”.

Our apologies.

9. @ balance
    Well said.
    Exactly the sentiments of all thinking Bajans.

The only thing worse that the set of jackasses we now have is the set we had before….who left us no choice but to saddle ourselves with these…..

@ Caswell
    When it all boils down, either you come forward and follow your calling as articulated by Bushie …..or Bajans are such with catch 22…

10. Rational Thinking Avatar
    Rational Thinking

Amazing that we give credence to some nonsense written by a fraudster like Henderson Bovine Ass, a person not known for his honesty both in his BLP affiliation when as Chairman of The National Assistance Board he was caught stealing from the baskets for distribution to the Poor and the Needy, now any man that can stoop to steal provisions for the Old and Needy is and must be a lower form of life.
    Add to theft his charges of rape and assault of a poor lady from St Michael East, and coupled with that Mottley working on his behalf begging the lady to drop the rape case against him.

Some how his crap appears on BU well I say to you that the day I take a thief and a rapist seriously it is time for me to get out of her, rather that writing his nonsense and having David post it here should be sitting in prison getting some of what he was dishing out to the poor lady.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rational Thinking | November 21, 2013 at 8:07 AM |

Now that is what you would call a “Rational”, well thought out contribution to the thread!
    Since that you have done a complete character assassination job on the messenger when are you going to deal with the real Message?
    Are you going to be rationally paranoid enough to cuss Standard & Poor’s and the IMF for ‘raping’ Barbados’s good image?

Why not make both credit rating agencies, the IMF and the IADB personae non grata? After all, like Bovell, they are telling lies on poor Bim and out to besmirch the good image and name of Bim aided and abetted by the BLP. Minister of Porn has started the cussing campaign why not continue in his foul-mouth trail?

The Goddess of Retribution is at the doorstep of Bim’s broken household.
    Let us hear you continue to trumpet the Mantra of “No Privatization, No layoffs” while the bailiffs enter through the open back door?

12. I thought Caswell liked Mia

People will vote against Dems
    Remember, they nearly lost -2013
    after 1 term

13. The Democratic Labour Party is destroying Barbados and sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo {dro
    ——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaagga

14. Man sell the Airport, Seaport , CBC, Transport Board and Post Office and put some money in the economy and in Bajan pockets wunna Idiots.
    Why you holding on to these things ?
    Now is the time for Government to shed these loads
    Wunna real foolish though
    You keep assets for times like these,
    Sell the Blasted things do
    —Fools !

15. It wudda do some people betta if duh tek thieves and rapists seriously.

Yuh mean to tell me dat dem in parliament thieving money evree munt and calling it salary, raping poor people pockets daily and wunna still can’t see dat de time fuh we to get dem from outta here long past.

By de way doh, I still young enuff to remember 1991.
    We shudda keep we ass quiet back den and tell sweet boy leroy to cah his, because things today worse for de workers and he and de rest o dem just sitting down drinking milk.

Talking bout thieves and rapists, wunna head gud?

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yagga

It is not a question of liking Mia: I don’t hate her. I just believe that she is self-serving and a truly consummate bluffer.

The only thing that would be worse than Barbados under the leadership of Freundel Stuart, perish the thought, would be Barbados under the leadership of Mia Mottley.

17. balance | November 21, 2013 at 5:17 AM |
    “…all what you have written may be true but the reason people generally have no enthusiastic desire for change is because of the sycophantic behaviour of political apologists like you when your party hold the reins of power. Appointed because of party allegiance …”

Barbados’ society is the way it is because people like you always take it for granted that if your views oppose those of the DLP, it means you belong to the BLP. how utterly stupid and silly.

the fact that the writer has made valuable points and laid out facts NOT assumptions for all to clearly understand, shows that even if he was appointed because of party allegiance’ it would be a wise choice, unlike the buffoons now in parliament who have no idea nor do they care how to govern your island..you ‘balance’ need to be pitied.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

PLANTATION DEED, CUP, PDC AND OTHERS KNOW THE PROBLEMS,
    HERE IS A BIG PROBLEM, MEDIA , NATIONS PAPERS AND ALL OTHER PAPERS, TV, RADIO,ALL RUN AND PAID FOR BY BOTH DLP/BLP AND THE LAWYERS THAT WORK FOR EACH,
    WHO BLOCK THE NEWS. A CROOK , Tony Best , Block the NEWS in New York , CARIBNEWS from getting out, Yes Tony Best We got YOU.and in Barbados also,

Their is now Free-Smart of the Press just free-dumb, No F.O.I.
    The press held back the truth and only print what was told to them to print and which party they like better.
    Ask the Nation papers for the info they kept and never print , Ask CBC what they kept and never print or show on TV in the last Elections , Keeping the People from making an informed choice ,
    Same cookie cutter News and only people they can not fool is the S&P and Moodys Numbers, The cant Afford to buy them off,
    Keep the People in the dark.
    Where is the Police and the DPP with vote buying ?
    Where is the Commissioner Of Elections. for a re VOTE?

When the Land Registry and Archives , Land tax, Inland Rev, UDC,NHC and the so called land taken in the Name of the Crown with out due process and non payment , = crook lawyers

Only people being paid is the Lawyers , the RAPING is a Nations by Agents of the Queen , by Way of the GG he got to know or should. Sir, QCs,Lawyers, Ministers . Senators, Who enjoy tax free , cars goods and service, As those who cant afford such must fill the Gap ,While being over paid ,and still give them self a pay Hike before the Elections, was it 9%?

All the Numbers in the Above post have Peoples names that goes with the Numbers and you will see the crooks,
    All of this was done by People there is no Ghost put a Name to the Bill, cost , hike , the fraud the rape of Barbados,

Where is all the money and where did it go or went ,
    10 % of the buildings projects went to the Ministers? and they already getting paid to be in office?
    150 Million for a High Court and still can not get Justice for there are more crooks in side the court rooms than ever before,
    Papers Missing when moved from the old court to the New Court, Who police the movement of the cases and the Documents ?
    DO we need to bring in the FBI , CIA , DEA, BI, Inter Pole ?

DO we need to take them to CUBA to get the Truth out of them ,?
    Barbados is running on lies , We need to truth to fix it for the People ,
    Once the truth is out , There is only 2 places where money will be made ,
    Jet Blue or LIAT for they will run to the Airport.
    It will cost Barbados again , As we are forced to make the JAIL bigger to hold the Crooks,
    Well we also have get out of Jail free cards ,
    Just tell the truth and then go to UDC and see if they have a Land Bank for you to get housing , No No , where you live now Crooks you dont own , You can not gain from fraud , Is that not the Law,Oh sorry ,, You have not use the Law in over 27 years,

Audit a word you run from , Will be first and then we will check the Bank to see what is really there , and the BASEL 3 new banking rules that will catch you all .

19. Rational thinking Avatar
    Rational thinking

In PM Stuart we have honest leadership and a man of high Integrity and a man who will not be part of any dishonest acts and certainly will not instruct any Commissioner of Police to WIRETAP or EAVESDROPPING of private communications as Mottley is known to have done.

20. Has Bovell been convicted of any crime?

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Rational thinking | November 21, 2013 at 9:00 AM |

A person of ‘honest leadership and high integrity’ does NOT lie or go back on his word. Neither does he “bad talk’ or refute decisions made in his own Cabinet even if it is full of wooden puppets.
    Ask Sinliar if the decisions and proposals made and publicly announced were not agreed and sanctioned by his boss; only to made to look stupid by the same boss denying every pronouncement by the MoF.
    Case in point:
    Here is a proposal made by the MOF in the Budget of June 2012 about the divestment of the GAIA:

“…Undertake an Initial Public Offering of 30% of the shares of Grantley Adams International Airport Inc, the Oil Company and Barbados Port Authority, and the listing of these companies on the Barbados Stock Exchange. Over the next few months, a valuation of the entities will be undertaken and the IPO process initiated. The listing of these three major entities on the stock exchange will serve to inject some much needed life in the exchange. The IPO process will be undertaken in a manner that will ensure broad share ownership which promotes economic democracy and market liquidity.”

We don’t have to repeat what his boss man said in Canada in a recent visit.
    Now is that the behaviour of a man of leadership steel and integrity moral?

22. Caswell Franklyn | November 21, 2013 at 8:49 AM |
    Yagga

It is not a question of liking Mia: I don’t hate her. I just believe that she is self-serving and a truly consummate bluffer.

The only thing that would be worse than Barbados under the leadership of Freundel Stuart, perish the thought, would be Barbados under the leadership of Mia Mottley.

HAVE MERCY ON BARBADOS OH LORD
    If what Caswell says is true
    Some how I cant believe Caswell
    Things cannot be so bad- eh ?
    There have to be alternatives
    A third party to carry Barbados forward.
    Man somebody needs to do something
    Where are the brave ambitious people ?

23. A third party must emerge out of a philosophical departure from what exist. It can’t be because of personal conflict.

24. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Rational thinking | November 21, 2013 at 9:00 AM |

In PM Stuart we have honest leadership and a man of high Integrity and a man who will not be part of any dishonest acts and certainly will not instruct any Commissioner of Police to WIRETAP or EAVESDROPPING of private communications as Mottley is known to have done.@@@@

what will you do , when you read this post in months or years and see how wrong you are and were, How will you feel for having eyes and not see, to have ears and not listen , to read and still not understand . What and how the crooks you look to is the problem of you and Barbados, taking turns slapping your face , right hand BLP left hand DLP , when will you learn to step back and see who is slapping your face and your life, What will you do ? where will you go?How will you reply to your self and friends and Family that you were WRONG, You are in love with those who rape your family, and you are not alone, please THINK FOR SELF AND NOT FOR PARTY, REMOVE PARTY AND SEE CLEAR ,

GET IT IN YOUR HEADS PEOPLE JUST BECAUSE YOU VOTED FOR THEM OR YOU GOT THINGS YOU WERE NOT TO HAVE ONLY FROM PARTY CROOKS, ? BOTH PARTIES ARE CROOKS, YOU ALL ARE FIGHTING TO KEEP YOUR OWN CROOKS IN POWER,AND THEY WILL KEEP TAKING?

YOU ALL HAVE A CASE OF P.O.W LOVE FOR YOUR CAPTIVES ,YOU CAN NOT SEE THE CANCER EATING YOU ALIVE AND YOU FIGHT THE DOCTORS,
    GET ON A PLANE , LEAVE THE ISLAND FOR 30 DAYS AND THINK , ITS MUST BE IN THE WATER, FILTER YOUR WATER WITH A BRITA WATER FILTER, STOP EATING PORK THAT SLOW DOWN YOUR BRAIN, STOP DRINKING AND LOUD MUSIC,
    RELAX YOUR SELF AND THINK , THINK THINK , LOOK LOOK LOOK , STUDY STUDY AND TALK ON FACTS AND NOT FEELINGS,
    WHEN WHEN YOU WAKE UP , WHEN THE ROPE IS AROUND YOUR NECK?SHIT MAN GOOGLE

25. The issue of downgrades will lead to questions being asked by the IMF of how are we going to pay for the import bill. FX reserves are in serious decline. The fixed dollar peg rate is going to be under serious pressure. Nobody we buying all of our imports from want to be paid in Barbados dollars. They can’t be traded into our trading partners currency. Hard times coming. Save your personal fx exchange under a mattress.

26. Doesn.t even worth the time entertaining the BLP malcontents and drivers of the last visionless economy. however this i must say in reference to rating agencs.they are the right arm of the IMF.they role is multifacted 1 making the job of the IMF a lot easier as the embarked and advise poor countries into getting loans imf backed with lots of impositions.2 using physchological threat whereby ends justify means. it takes careful thought and forsight to capture purpose and whose interst these agencies serve

27. Pinkie
    thanks. i await the personal delivery of your pity.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM |

What are you saying? Is this your attempt to surreptitiously “cuss out” the credit rating agencies and IMF?
    You guys were warned ad nauseam for many months now.
    You cussed the BLP, you cussed Ryan Straughn et al, you cussed S&P and Moodys. You even cussed off the stupid miller, Prodigal Son, Observing (…), Old Onions bag and a host of people crying in the wilderness giving fair and early warnings; even David of BU you cussed off.

Now it’s time to face the music. But you can take comfort in the old limerick:
    “Pack up your troubles in the old kitbag and Smile Smile, Smile!”

29. The day any sane person takes advice from a double dealing pimp like Bovell is the day we can all pack it in. What a piece of sh*t, he makes Caswell look like Einstein and Ghandi rolled into one. Hey are they related there’s resemblance in the duo of jackasses.

30. Miller all i am saying that even the IMF has foot soldiers who lay the ground work. in any case won.t be surprised if they are one of the same.the biggest mistake right now would be for govt to get IMF involved .the govt has set goals and have projects some of which thave already started whch would put barbdos on a steady path to reduction of deficit and long term growth. on the other hand IMF proposal would be catastrophic with short terms solutions and long term ramifications.

31. ac…….i cant reiterate enough how both DLP and BLP were warned……and warned…….and warned…….for darn nearly A DECADE to cut spending, diversify WISELY, stop sitting on their asses WAITING AND WAITING AND WAITING for tourists…>>Charlie Skeete in Washington also warned the DLP, over……….and over……….and over………by the way, someone sent me an MP3 recording of Mr. Skeete speaking to someone on VOB from Washington this morning, once again warning the jackasses who make up the DLP of the serious doo doo Barbados is now wading in……what are the ministers saying now??? Lies will no longer cut it, this is the REAL WORLD now, no longer paradise sitting and waiting and waiting and waiting for tourists.

32. Word out is that First Caribbean is about to undergo a measure of restructuring of its operations – which would include branch consolidation, voluntary separation for especially some older staff from the institution, something akin to what has been taking place at the Royal Bank of Canada.

Now, such is further evidence that liquidity within the core financial sector is low or running low.

This is another argument that we have been making on here in the face of the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. Delisle Worrell, having been suggesting the liquidity within the core financial system of Barbados is high.

What a sick joke by Worrell, indeed.

33. @David, and Yagga Rowe,
    Don’t we presently have a third party? Didn’t we have third parties in the past, with the leader of one of them representing that party in the house of assembly, and even; for a brief moment, leading the opposition? Are your memories so short?

34. But we also have a black govt which must not be intimidted! hood winked! or bambozzled by the rating agencies and there bidders. Barbdos has too long be dependant on the advice of outside interest and it has got us no where. This govt is on the right path seeking and listening to those who have barbados best interest at heartand would not deter or fall into a trap of false hope by those wishing for the IMF to come knocking on our doorsteps with short term solutions.

35. There is a line that must be drawn in the sand when it comes to our internal affairs and it must also be as far and outwarldy reach to the IMF. our country must look inward ride this economical storm with pride and dignity.A blackgovt and a black people in control is a long time coming. the detractors would always get in the way but sooner rather than later they to will understand that it was all about our destiny.

36. @ ac

ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Go join the goodly Pastor and Apostle in prayers.

37. We want a third party elected to Government thats what Yaaaaaaaagga means

PDC. PEP , (CUP) need to join forces with other progressive forces
    and wrest control from the Bees/Dees

It is about time
    But Be warned .running a government is not easy
    I see that Donville Inniss stir up the Jamaicans.
    He seems to juck he mout in everything
    Now strained relations between Jamaica and Barbados will follow
    This Government is something else

38. Yagga Rowe,

Again, Thank you for your inspiring comments.

39. And u know what ENUFF in my prayers i asked GOD that barbados never have the kind of leadership and lack of vision lke that of past fourteen years that have us limping to the finish line

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 21, 2013 at 1:55 PM |
    “But we also have a black govt which must not be intimidted! hood winked! or bambozzled by the rating agencies and there bidders.”

Barbados has had a BLACK government since 1966. What is the point you are making other than the current black government is the most incompetent lying deceitful one of the lot that have presided over full self government. The outside agencies, whom you seek to attack, will soon be bringing you guys to Christian understanding of the true meaning of ‘living within your means’.

You guys can continue to blame others and OSA 14 years, pray to your Bajan god a billion times a day, complain, cuss and sulk as much as you like but the time is at hand to pay the piper. The days of easy sweet life living off other people’s money are over.
    By the sweat of thy brow thou shall eat bread!’

“In plenty and in time of need
    When this fair land was young
    Our brave forefathers sowed the seed
    From which our pride is sprung
    A pride that makes no wanton boast
    Of what it has withstood
    That binds our hearts from coast to coast
    The pride of nationhood”

41. Miller not nice to piss on your parade. which govt had the reigns more than others and have continue to side withthose who control the nations economy at the expense of the taxpayers . A black govt did not expect you to Understand the term.

42. I have to wonder if Henderson Bovell was outside some of your homes shouting FIRE, if you would go back inside and lay down because you know, he is a fraudster and rapist.

even as the ship is going down we liking to shot the ppl on the side.

how sad.

43. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

That is how stupid Barbadians have become. Something is terribly wrong.

44. Miller not nice to piss on your parade. which govt had the reigns more than others and have continue to side withthose who control the nations economy at the expense of the taxpayers . A black govt did not expect you to Understand the term.”
    White businesses like k r hunte and david seale expanded and some like the WIlliams bros, and the Kyffin Simpson of Seafoods Fame were nurtured under the Barrow administration. to be fair black businesses like leo leacock, paramount funeral home and taxi service, rawle brancker, amory philipps lumber co were nurtured as well. . I have no quarrel with creating the climate for business to thrive for employment follows in their wake. but to peddle the notion that white businesses were facilitated by the bLP only is false.

45. @Alvin

Do you understand what effective means? Is there a credible third party in Barbados? BU defines as garnering greater than 3% support.

@all

Now that the vilified Ryan Straughn has been replaced by Jerry Stephens at the BEC, and he is saying the same thing as Straughn, will some label him a Bee?

46. @ac

We try to avoid debating you because your intransigence which borders on crassness is a turn off. But hear this: the credit rating agencies are the entities which the financial markets use to factor credit decisions which will impact sovereigns like Barbados. It does not matter what you think. Therefore we have two positions at play here, the esoteric view of credit rating agencies and the role which credit rating agencies play in the markets today. We should not get tie up!

47. David,
    I really like the header. Congratulations!

48. Thanks Prodigal, trying to keep it fresh.

49. ac……..what will it take for you to stop assigning blame to one party only?? i can just see you 4 years from now typing the same garbage and wishing someone is dumb enough to believe it…..Charlie Skeete warned the DLP as recently as this morning that they are the ones in charge and should be the ones finding solutions for the island’s debt problems, he also reminded the DLP that they HAVE TO BORROW TO SURVIVE, he meant money……….now you nitwits need to stop cussing the credit rating agencies, they are only doing their jobs, remember that is what the DLP signed onto after independence…by the way, why is SInckler so quiet, Stuart as well, Alvin maybe you can enlighten us idiots…..

50. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

The PM is rumored to have asked David Estwick to consider taking over the Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs from early January 2014.