Submitted by Guild Watchdog
(L-R) Guild President; Damani Parris, Law Rep; Daniel Davies, Guild Treasurer; Ital Spencer reviewing a student petition against paying tuition fees

While some University Students are worrying about the Governments new policy forcing them to pay tuition fees at The University of the West Indies. It was chaos and turmoil at The Roy Marshall Teaching Complex at The University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus on Thursday night; for the convening of a Guild Council Meeting when once-removed Treasurer of the Guild, Ital Spencer was the centre of contention and disruptive behaviour forcing University Security to end the meeting prematurely.

Mr. Spencer, who was also the Guild Treasurer on the previous Guild Council was accused of manipulating his authority to obtain absolute power and threatening other council officers. These accusations, which offend the Constitution of the Guild and the University’s Code of Ethics warranted him a trial of ‘No Confidence for Recall’ at the hands of the student population resulting in his removal last November.

Sources close to the Cave Hill Guild Council have stated Mr. Spencer dod not submit financial reports, has been accused and proven of using the students’ Guild funds for personal benefit, for example, a first class flight to Jamaica last UWI Games among other aggravated offenses. To this end, the President of the Guild, Mr. Damani Parris, has suspended Mr. Spencer pending another Special  Meeting of the Student Body to affect the removal of Mr. Spencer.

On Wednesday, 25th September, 2013 the majority membership of the student executive voted ‘No Confidence’ in Mr. Ital Spencer and have therefore recommended to the student population that he be removed.

101 responses to “UWI GUILD Meeting Ends in TURMOIL”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

hahahahaha

This foolishness has resurfaced.

2. Sir Hilary was carried on the news today agreeing that the tuition cost undergrads are being asked to pay is reasonable.

3. Students thieving the guild money is as old as lawyers thieving clients money. The Parris boy isn’t the sharpest tool in the shed. Parris is being bamboozled by Commissiong and the BLP on a hiding to nothing. The serious students have no time to waste marching up and down Duke of York stylee in the broiling sun. They have exams to pass and careers to pursue. Let Parris and Mia Mottley rub shoulders and continue to get punished with laughter. UWI has real work to be done and shouldn’t be distracted with Parris and the BLP’s foolishness.

4. Sir Hilary is also reported in the news that UWI will reduce its undergrad intake and move to a 40% post grad mix in student population by 2020.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

It will seem that UWI student acting like the MOF and other Ministers when dealing with the trust of the students ,and peoples funds.
    Sir Hilary is a crook himself and dealing with the devilish ways ,
    Puppet for the liars crooks ans scumbags in this government.
    If you all dont see or cant see , or dont want to see truth then hug and keep voting for crooks and keep asking why you all being robed .

The bigger the title the bigger the crooks. Why invest in Barbados when Barbados will not invest in its self.
    Going to other countries looking like beggars for CLICO and other fraud government back investments,
    Where the hell is all the road tax money ,,, Do away with this tax system and none will run for office of service. All after the money,
    All getting fat and lazy and now want to drive car well above their pay grade. Barbados soon will be a no fly zone. Then we will see how we stand and the Ministers will be on the run .Cuba may look good for them this time of year.

The World have to know they dealing with crooks, They better google before they come.

6. The more things change, the more they remian the same! same shi@t different day

7. Sir Beckles comments were made after he consumed a half gallon of Mount Gay rum at John Moore’s shop at lunch time today. It would be interesting to hear Damani Parris and Mia Mottley response to Beckles ‘new’ position on the UWI tution fees for students from 2014/2015.

8. The DLP got everything In Barbados in a stinking mess.There is more bush in Barbados now than 60 years ago. The Transport Board in a mess; The hospital in a mess and the virus in there aint making it any easier. There are more mosquitoes in Barbados now under the DLP than any other time. There are numerous cases of dengue and now swine flu,

THE DLP IS A BLIGHTED PARTY AND SHOULD BE DISBANDED, STOP BLIGHTING UP BARBADOS PLEASE
    You bought the last BUY ELECTIONS and now Barbados struggling with uncertainty and despair

DEMS NOW: DEMS NEVER AGAIN

The WPB -Womens Party of BARBADOS needs to become a reality Come on Nalita, Stop talking and form the party. Dont beg the srinking men for nothing. Mobilise the women. Give ac a real party to support , if she is really a woman

Back to the DLP AND ITS BLIGHTED WAYS

Economy in a mess, Public service in a mess , People desperate ;; crime down
    It down by you , you and you
    CRIME always increase under the DLP

Barbados is worst off now than anytime in its recent history. Barbados has the worst Government in the history of BARBADOS voted for by the most ignorant and uninformed hand to mout electorate ever in its history. None more ignorant than those people in St. JOhn who vote DLP when everybody is voting against them. When the DLP got 2 seats, St. John gave them one–ignorant bitches–St. John people.

A lot of people from St. John dont let anybody know that they come from St. John, the most backward and poorest parish in Barbados. The blight of the DLP starts with the blight in St. John and they are blighting Barbados, They need to all walk in the sea at BATH backwards with their eyes shut and their noses stuck up their asses–(picture the sight)

9. @Guild Watchdog “Mr. Spencer.. has been accused and proven of using the students’ Guild funds for personal benefit, for example, a first class flight to Jamaica last UWI Games”

What????

Here am in in my 7th decade, paying nuff, nuff, nuff taxes for over 40 years and I’ve never taken a first class flight in my life.

The flight from Barbados to Kingston is only 2 hours, that is one hour north to Antigua, and one hour west to Kingston.

Why on earth would a healthy young man need to go first class when the flight is only two hours?

Does he have an overweening sense of entitlement?

10. As a matter of fact neither the Guild nor UWI should pay for first class flights for anybody, and that includes students and the staff.

WE THE TAX PAYERS CANNOT AFFORD IT.

I feel bad as a tax payer that my money may be paying for first class flights for people who have just barely learned to wipe the snot from their noses.

I think that I should ask for a tax refund.

11. This article misstates many of the facts. Majority of the facts. First class ticket, not producing reports etc are all folly. There have been no misappropriation of funds claimss brought against Ital Spencer. The meeting was disrupted due to the President claiming to have suspended Mr. Spencer, when the President does not have such power. So this is nothing more than mere gossip

12. @David “Sir Hilary is also reported in the news that UWI will reduce its undergrad intake and move to a 40% post grad mix in student population by 2020.”

Good, move to encourage more post graduate education.

But first throw out all the laggards at UWI. If they are not serious about school WORK, send them away from the tax payers place, and don’t let them come back until a minimum of 2 years has passed. That would teach them to get real serious about school WORK real, real fast.

Another thing, if they fail a course, make them pay the economic cost to repeat it. That would teach them real, real fast to get serious about school WORK.

Oh and don’t let any of those people with lower seconds and pass degrees into the post graduate programs. Or if they want entry to post graduate programs make them pay the economic cost. That would teach them real, real, fast to get serious about school WORK.

Then I would feel happy knowing that my tax dollars wukking fa me.

13. JUST ASKING dont mix matters
    JUST ASKING calls it as it is in a simple raw and caustic style guaranteed to burn out yuh gall if yuh doing nonsense like this hapless government.

Fumble FakeSpeare wanted to be Prime Minister. He got his wish. He was prepared to cut down any one of his rivals. Now he is Prime Minister, he is dealing with the eager 11, he keeps Estwick from near the Ministry of Finance. He cut out Jones deputy Prime Minsiter ambition. He plans to deal with Donville Inniss that is why Donville getting piece off he now. Donvile knows that his goose is cooked. Everybody sees Donville as an alternative to Fumble FakeSpeare and Fumble deals with his rivals so Donville will feel it. ‘He go feel it ‘ He really friggup Jones though. Jones would never act Prime Minister again..BUT EVERYTHING will turn and Fumble will get tek down by those he now trying to neutralize

14. Oh and bond all those who earn post graduate degrees. Make them WORK in any one of the countries which support the university for at least 5 years.

No more of this nonsense that the brightest migrating before the ink is even dry on their post-graduate degrees.

The old people used to say “do fah do ain’t na obeah”

If the tax payers pay for your education, then YOU OWE the tax payers, big time.

15. Just letting you guys know tax payers money is not what the guild receive the guild receives money that is paid directly to the campus from each student it is included in the 1000 and something dollars each student is required to pay tuition goes to run campus and programme so Hilary and the registrar determine how the money funded by the government is spent n the guild do not receive such … on another note the previous president would have to be held responsible and the officer assigned to the guild on behave of the university this is because she clear stated at the november 2012 meeting that all transactions passes thru here the guild shud publish monthly reports on its finances no need to hire some one for this there are students studying this ish that shud be able to form a committee and compile such documents …. the university shud also support its guild and have the fees staggered in so it does not just hit the students

thats it for now ah gone

16. @simplesimon ” Oh and bond all those who earn post graduate degrees. Make them WORK in any one of the countries which support the university for at least 5 years.

No more of this nonsense that the brightest migrating before the ink is even dry on their post-graduate degrees.

The old people used to say “do fah do ain’t na obeah”

If the tax payers pay for your education, then YOU OWE the tax payers, big time.”

Your opinion is rubbish if i dont have a position in none of the contributing states what is the person to do as i always say bajans dont think the simple solution would be work oversees but still pay some taxes to Barbados please think Most bajan just talk but situations need analysing do a swot analysis i think the current administration also lacks as it relates to research and thorough analysis before making decisions … we are suppose to be an educated state lets start to act like one cause the only resources this small island barbados got is its ppl

17. SS

Is there such a thing as a “Pass degree” at UWI?

Of course people with Pass degrees and Lower Seconds should not do postgraduate work save in very exceptional circumstances. But please note that a former Lord Chancellor, Lord Gardiner, had a Pass Degree and that the Lower Second may, in fact, be a sign of considerable promise and as authentic as an Upper Second, a grade so often reserved for mere plodders.

On the post, there is now conflicting evidence and it all rather sounds as if written by pro- and anti-Spencer people.

On the Beckles comments reported by David:

Are you able to confirm that Beckles orchestrated his opinions and proposals as a “bold” initiative created by himself in the name of “excellence” and designed to save his beloved Campus from a lingering death despite the over-arching threat from world economic crisis for which no-one is responsible?

18. this guy ital is doing finance at UWI now tell me who should hire him if he’s already stealing and pilfering money?? what a waste

19. GOOD MAWNING BU FAMBLI

@jac ass.ing

this is a WARNING. If you insist on bad mouthing the ST,JOHN people ac gonna mek sure that i find the best and most notorious obeah person to put some blight in your a.ssss .If You insist on getting on BU and exposing how igrunt you can be with those ridiculous attacks on STJOHN you ignoramus FOOL>.HAV A Shitty DAY>

20. The president of the Guild or others who sit on the Executive are welcome to message BU on this matter.

21. They did a in-depth study of people from St John moving to Christ Church and they found the IQ of both parishes went up

22. @ David
    “by 2020”
    Just about the time Mr. Beckles is due to retire … Pretty damned tidy I’d say …!

23. @Baffy

Give him credit for changing strategy based on exigencies.

24. This boy ital was a problem from bcc and is an egotistic power hungry individual….i wouldnt doubt that the accusations are true as he tried to do the same thing at bcc. He is manipulative and deceitful…his mouth is like that of a serpent and when he does not get his way he threatens to destroy his nay sayers and becomes extremely violent. Good luck to the uwi guild maybe next time you guys will realise that before allowing persons to submit bids for post before elections you guys should have them vetted.

25. David

OK….’I created a problem. It is a horrendous problem. It’s got me into trouble with the government, it’s caused a massive decline in academic standards and resulted in students paying fees. But don’t worry. In the name of excellence I will back track on all that taking no responsibility for anything……..now give me credit: maybe a national award or an overseas doctorate in something or other…for my far-sightedess. My Sagicor directorship will see me through if times get hard….’

26. @Ross

Agree with your last comment.

27. @truthinit
    so in essence de Ital boy as you call him got what it takes to be a good politician. I lie?

28. Ital Spencer was the treasurer of the and pevious guild council and a no confidence motion was brought against him and the students voted to remove him from the council.

Ital Spencer ran again for treasurer and won and is now faced with the same situation.

Ital blamed the fact that other council members did not like him and as such they brought a no confidence motion against him… How ever this is a new set of guild councilors and they have moved a no confidence against him. So do these councilors not like him or is it his actions that bring these no confidence motions?

On neither guild council did Ital Spencer produce a financial report to the guild council. 

This 30+ Ital Spencer has physically and verbally assaulted fellow guild councilors when ever they challenged his actions or query questionable spending.

And the fact that security had to be called because the president refused to let him deliver a financial report no council member has seen is testimony to why he should be removed once again

#factsonly

29. […] Reblogged from Barbados Underground: […]

30. what exactly did the principal say about the fees?

31. this nonsense should have never occurred, when he was no confidence last time , that should have been a signal that he not be allowed to run for Council for a certain period of time. But these things happen when an Administration wants persons who they can manipulate. Deputy Principal and HR Director loves these lackeys just as they love the BWU Union division President. They fear those who stand up to them. The guild needs suspending, not only ital and the money that is deducted put to better use, why do you think many barbadians ignore the guild meetings and elections. A waste of time

32. @Simple Simon

“and don’t let them come back until a minimum of 2 years has passed. That would teach them to get real serious about school WORK real, real fast.”

I can only speak to the Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences. But once a student has been required to withdraw, he/she may immediately apply for admission into another faculty and entry is on the discretion of the Dean of the faculty. They must wait for at least one year afterwards before reapplying for admission into the same faculty for which they were required to withdraw from.

In addition if they are required withdraw for a second time, they must wait for a minimum of 5 years before reapplying for admission.

“Another thing, if they fail a course, make them pay the economic cost to repeat it. That would teach them real, real fast to get serious about school WORK.”

When you say A, then B must be said. A blanket solution cannot be applied to this problem of failing a course, it needs to be done on a case by case basis. I know of one course in particular where the fail rate was 80%+ in the first semester and because of it, the course had to be offered in the second semester where there was a 70%+ fail rate, it is not the students fault for this failure but rather the failure of the lecturer. In the case of many students in this course, they are normally A and A+ students, so the failure is not for their lack of trying.

“Oh and don’t let any of those people with lower seconds and pass degrees into the post graduate programs.”

In order to qualify for a government post-graduate scholarship or any post-graduate scholarship, you are required to have a minimum of Upper Second Class honours. The same class of degree is also necessary for entry into the programme as well.

So before you continue to talk all over your face and cry down the current and future students of this institution, please educate yourself and avoid misrepresenting facts and otherwise misleading the public. I will concede that the process currently in place may not appear to be perfect, but there is one in place.

I however agree with you though. I was under the impression that how many ever years I spent studying I would be required to spend giving back to Barbados, but alas that is not so.

33. UWI is being given a gold (sur)face. But, under the shiny layer you can find a stinky substance. A misappropriation of students’ funds by a student is a bad thing. Unfortunately, this should be the less of your worries. Academic corruption is a bigger trouble for the tax payer and the students themselves. The worst affected will be the good students ( and teachers) that put all their honest effort in their university work. It is not rare to find in the newspapers of other countries ad for jobs that say ” graduates from x or y university please abstain from applaying”. They get sued but in the end they put the CVs of the graduates from x or y university in the trash bin. UWI is risking itself of becoming one of the x or y universities. When that happen your UWI diploma will become just a single piece of paper.
    auf wiedersehen.

34. A lot of those guild members are non-bajans and they stir up a lot of strife. Just saying.

35. Some Bajans said the same thing about the person who pelted the Molotov cocktail in Baxter’s Road.

36. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

I like this. Corrupt politicians or politicians in way over their heads, should be recalled and removed. Imagine, every thing;utilities, bills, fees and taxes gone up under this DLP. Their original campaign ticket was to lower the cost of living, the citizens now recognize this was all lies. Just like in their last campaign for re-election they lied about,
    1-No layoffs
    2-The economy was on solid ground

Now students got to pay tuition fees, garbage tax, temporary workers axed,
    less vat returns for the lower income earners. Now I’m hearing that they are thinking about asking us to pay fees for QEH.

This DLP regime is retrograde, and is taking us backwards not forward. Is there any person who knows the law or the workings of politics who can explain to us on BU how to go about impeaching this whole lot out of government. It is clear neither party really won in the last election. If Fumble words were true vote buying occurred thus corrupting the process.

Lord have his mercy, who will we replace them with if we succeed though? The whole political barrel is compromised, political purging must take place. Serious integrity legislation must be implemented and I don’t trust the cats (politicians) to bell them self. Like all other places that implemented integrity legislation they put in loopholes for themselves.

I repeat who knows the inner workings of law and government to advise the people on impeachment or recall. This is no partisan call this is all about Barbados first, to hell with parties!!!

37. Demani Parris is a clown. He can’t even speak properly. Mr. Parris should not that the only place a clown is important is in the circus.

38. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

@Marmite
    Public speaking doesn’t come easy to all, with time speaking in front of crowds, he Should find his rhythm and confidence. If he doesn’t, that will be his misfortune.

39. One can learn public speaking. I remember the first time I heard Owen Arthur speak in public I winced and was sorry for him. I was I think during the 1987 by-election to fill the late Errol Barrow’s seat.

But Owen improved greatly with practice, and of late it is a pleasure to hear him speak,

With coaching and practice young Damani may yet improve.

He should not despair, and he should not give up.

40. Yes Mr Chief Education Officer Laurie king, you picking up Ronald Jones fire rage about not letting media personnel onto a school compound or talk to the media!!!!!!!!!!! ……..Well the information that the media wants to know, and should know, will fall off the back of a truck. OR it will be on the Underground. The media can be contacted and given all the information it needs without coming on the compound you dummies.

41. @oilman I pray that my generation does not think like you. I hope that we realise that these elected con men and criminals are just a disgrace to the title of polition…i understand you were being sarcastic but this is not the time…too long have we sat aside and let things slide it is time our judiciary became more serious and started indicting these ppl instead of creating special units for camoflage.

42. @truthinit
    Boy de reality is that this is what we got. I don’t know which generation you belong to but I know I too old to worry any longer. Truth is that all over de world, not just in Barbados, de ones who does mek it in politics is de ones who know how to tief, back stab and anything in between. If you want to see a politics that will attract de holy and righteous I don’t know where you finding that. You can’t even find holiness and righteousness in de church now.

43. @Oilman

When the elders in any society get to a point where they don’t care then you know it is hopeless.

44. @David
    One thing that hold Barbados above water was de quality of politicians we had in this country in years gone by. What I see going on now is not only bout de global financial crisis but about de piss poor set of politicians we got in this country. We heading straight into de IMF hand. This last trip de finance minister and de central bank governor mek is to my mind a last ditch effort to try and stop de complete collapse from happening but it too late. De Dog Dead and starting to smell already.

45. It is all about creating a climate of confidence to spark industry.

46. @David
    Man when things did relatively stable, that is when this industry spark you talking bout should have started. It is very difficult to build anything when you got to be looking behind yah back to secure what little yah already got and that can be easily lost.

47. Part of the issue is the political divisiveness. If the two main political parties can find a way to pull the country together there is hope e en at this late stage.

48. @ David
    When you could got an oilman and a bushman telling you the same thing…..is it not time to get real
    Man the lifeboats….???

That “spark” you talking ’bout may be de final fire yuh… 🙂

49. If the two main political parties can find a way to pull the country together….
    LOL..
    ……but first “If the two main political parties can find a way to pull THEMSELVES together….”