Minister Wilfred Abrahams has come under fire for comments – see video. Does the blogmaster agree with him? Of course! The real issue is not the soundbite, it is the silence around the deeper problem.

Let us start with the obvious: Barbados is a 2×3 country with a small economic engine. It cannot absorb 100% of the graduates pouring out of UWI, Cave Hill each year. As others have done before them, they have to “shop around” to explore regional or international opportunities where their skills might be better matched. The commentary, if it is to be applied broad brush to UWI graduates, indicts the system to prepare them for global mobility.

Then there’s the other side of the issue. Barbados has openly acknowledged a skills deficit with an ageing population and is looking to immigration to fill the gap. If we are importing talent while Abrahams is exhorting our graduates to look outside of Barbados labour market, something is not adding up. It suggests a serious planning issue, one we have discussed often in this space, one that spans education, labour, and national development.

Where is the strategic alignment between what we teach, what we need, and where we want to go over the next ten to twenty years?

Are we there yet?

Home Affairs Minister Wilfred Abrahams is defending Government’s role in the free movement arrangement with Dominica, St. Vincent, and Belize, set to begin October 1st.

Responding to public concerns about security, Mr. Abrahams says Barbadians can be assured that strict protocols are already in place at the Grantley Adams International Airport, and that authorities will not be caught off guard by high-risk travelers.

Mr. Abrahams was speaking at a joint BLP Christ Church East and South Branch Meeting and also spoke directly to Barbadians about utilizing the free movement to their advantage – Source: Starcom

12 responses to “Degrees Without Direction”

1. School and Uni is just the foundation for life.
    When you have a degree no one can take that away even if unemployed or underemployed or just taking some time out on the beach, you still have your credentials.

What is missing is the self teaching process from adulthood to death after formal education where the lessons in life are an infinite and continuous intuitive process.
    People learn by going through shit.

2. Yawn!!
    Where has Abrahams EVER gone without displaying his trademark incompetence?

From his logic, since we can’t find competent politicians – RATHER than take the trouble to change what they are doing wrong, we should just send their donkeys overseas – where, hopefully, their incompetence may be ‘better appreciated’.

If the overseas market now has responsibility for absorbing OUR children, then what the Hell are we paying him and his other MANY useless co-leaders (who have been unable to make ONE shiite work) to do…?

These brass bowl politicians must be drinking or smoking something supplied by Kiki yuh…!!!

What a place!!

3. @Bush Tea

We have been exporting labour for years.

4. “We have been exporting labour for years.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    We have ALSO been NOTHING but CHATTEL …for CENTURIES.
    Should we CONTINUE with that mindset too…?

SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT is about making continuous improvement.
    If in 2025 we are saying that our leaders are INCAPABLE of providing for our children’s future, then someone needs to ask them about their STUPID plan to facilitate mass OPEN immigration and to INCREASE population by 80,000.

Is RATIONAL THINKING now obsolete???!!

What a curse!!!
    …only the situation with Pharaoh and Moses, as outlined in the Bible, matches the kind of IDIOTIC decision making by national leaders….

You would THINK that after the frogs and the ‘water turning to blood’, de idiot would have issued VISAS to the damn people…
    …or that after OUR not being able to make one shiite work – despite the lotta feeble hands, …that our ‘leaders’ would SEEK COMPETENT help…

But no…
    Jobby on top of jobby!!
    What a place!!

5. Bushie

This importation of 80,000 people is the continuation of the eugenicist agenda as started by the Family Planning Association in the 1960s.

Now it continues by Mia Mottley under the relics of a woke-ist agenda.

Now! Nobody has ever apologized for this genetic destruction of the Bajan. But yet this regime seeks to impose more of the same.

Should this proposal not be considered as genocide, a war crime, a crime against humanity?

Have all possible avenues been exhausted to increase the population from within the gene pool in place.

At a time when some on the right in America and Europe are animated by emigration patterns which they have determined as an aggression against their gene pool, is this not cultural aggression against Bajans too.

More fundamentally, governments of Barbados have shown an inability to properly provide for the population currently in place. And whereas weee must understand the demographic situation in relationship to development, how can this be properly approached without effectively providing for the Bajans we currently have?

We had previously argued that our women should be encouraged to mother more children with government support from conception to age 21. Concessions on the level that we give to business.

If this regime takes this radical step, the Barbados that we’ve known shall cease to exist.

6. I listening to Brasstacks. So could wunna.

7. Across the divide, politicians make statements to promote agendas usually devoid of credible analysis. Who remember: a) The promise to establish the University College of Barbados; b) The promise to have a graduate in every household; c) The directive that UWI students must pay tuition cost. What are the results: a & b turned up empty & c was reversed. Just another day & cry.

8. Bushie

Yuh feckah yeh. Repeating lies about Pharaoh. Based on a book of lies as concocted by White people to enslave you.

‘What a blighted place!’

Even as your chosen people commit genocide in the land of the Kemetyu. And all you can do is to try to blame the victims of the devil to justify your wicked god.

Your god want killing! Since your god who is always missing in action never intervened in a single atrocity. Not one!

9. Just to put this out there…

I have lived in Barbados for 24 years. Almost half of my life now.

I have never felt safer. Not only for myself, but also my many frends and family.

It doesn’t really matter how many degrees you have after your name. At the end of the day, one must feel comfortable standing alone.

Being able to speak freely is a right not all have.

10. Listen I don’t know why wunna letting this latest proclamation bout free movement worry yuh. I not getting worried till the third or Fourth date of implementation pass. So here is the schedule as I see it..

TINT LAW IMPLEMENTION COULD BE JANUARY 2026 OR MAYBE MARCH, OR SEPTEMBER OR….

SMALL MAN SHORT TERM NEW RENTAL LAWS TO MAKE SURE HE PAYING SOME TAX. 2026 FOR SURE BUT COULD BE LATER.

ADDRESSING CRIME SITUATION AND ZR CULTURE. NO DATE SET FUH DAT!

BRINGING MEDICAL SERVICES AND PUBLIC TRANSPORT UP TO SCRATCH. CHECK MUH BACK PUN DAT IN 2027.

OPENING WE DOORS FOR FREE MOVEMENT OF PEOPLE OCTOBER 2025

It is only me or something here sound like we got the cart before the horse AGAIN?

Life without a laugh is pointless!

11. @John A: “Life without a laugh is pointless!

Indeed. 8^)

Who would have thought that so many technical people would be replaced with AIs so quickly? Doesn’t really matter where your atoms are.

I’m just waiting for the first Artificial General Intelligence (AGI) to manifest, and then we encounter the promised Singularity. It will happen sooner than most think.

That’s meant to be funny, and serious, at the same time.

Until that happens, training in the arts that requires “hands on” work would be advised. Medical or electrical or plumbing, for example.